SUPPORT GROUP - INFERTILTY

hi liz,

i just told gynae we trying for baby but unsuccessful, so he prescribed clomid for me... he didn't even explain to me what complications, side effects, etc... that's why decided to stop seeing him and try again naturally

well, don't be disheartened okie... i think one must have a happy mindframe and not have so many worries before she can conceive

jia you

hi mooniie
har? your gynae so weird? nevr do any test then prescrbe med for you? better seek second opinion cause clomid increase chances of miscarriage.

mine tested me and discover I have a problem

ya. am seeing TCM now. will try and tiao my body. not taking clomid next cycle. will monitor my cycle. Good luck to you okie.

hi liz,

huh it increases chances of miscarriage??!
i definitely didn't know that!
luckily i've stopped already... he did do SA test for my hubby and it's all clear... so i tot prob lies with me... but he didn't do any test for me, only scanned and said i didn't ovulate for that cycle, so gave me injection... but that cycle not successful hahaha

well, i think TCM is good. last year i only on TCM for a few months but not for fertility reasons... and could feel health was better, but it's too far and inconvenient for me, so didn't go in the end already.

yup, you try to monitor your cycle while your hubby not around... good luck to you too!

ya mooniie.
so if can better to not take clomid. But I confirm no choice cause the doc did blood test and discovered that my hormones levels were too low.

you should find out more the next time when you see the gynae and do more tests.

erm... usually the gynae will give you injection to induce ovulation when your body is not able to produce the LH surge to release the egg. And he needs to monitor you closely to ensure that the clomid does not give you other more serious problems.

Anyway just my 2 cents worth of info. But feel that you should still check with your gynae so that you can get a better pic of things.

But hope you no need to do so liao... maybe this round BB on the way liao.

haha liz, i also hope so... anyway, my DH and I have decided to seek help from another gynae at end of the yr if nothing happens still.
thks for your info

Hi ah kat,

glad that you have found the direction.
Jia you! Best wishes!
Keep mind positive and continue walking ..

Oh and one impt thing.. don't treat this as a illness .. it is just a condition that we need to live with...

I fall into the trap of self-pity for a period of time 'cause i treated it as though i had a illness.. And i went into mild depression.

After my gynae guided me.. i slowly see this as a condition.. and i slowly walk in the positive direction towards handling the condition. Things are much better now.

And one thing to note, our diet would improve the condition.. such as try to avoid soya .. as it will lead to a higher level of estrogen...
U may wish to confirm this with your gynae when you next visit him

Hi Findingmiki,

Thanks - have been taking soya bean milk for breakfast for some time!! Gonna stop then!

ah_kat

am new here... am 25 and DH 31. married in mar this yr... into my 4th mth ttc since apr... like many others before i started my ttc journey i thought its easy to conceive~ each mth i see my AF report, my heart just teared... jsut cant control the tears rolling down my cheeks. guess am giving myself too much stress. so i tell myself to relax and eat will so i can have strong body to conceive naturally... i wont give up and so do u all...

have a nice weekend ahead everyone

Hi all, we went to see KK - SFLoh today. I tik we are damn unlucky cos we have no probs but cannot conceive. Dr Loh checked both of our records and confirm there is no prob. Its called unexplained infertility. The best part we duno wat to do now cos doc say really no prob. We can opt for SO-IUI or try normal. See how lah, been trying for 2yrs also no news. I tik i continue with my TCM for the time being. CLUELESS now, any suggestions?

Chessycake - time is still on ur side, furthermore 4mth is nothing. DOn be dejected, must have faith. I 2 yrs now also like tat, i get immune over time. nevertheless hope bb dust fall on u soon.

Hi Koori,

Seems like we have the same fate. I am going to try out IUI.

Actually it is not necessary for you to do SO-IUI if you can ovulate. did your gynae explain why SO-IUI?

Something to share on acupunture.When my 2nd Ivf failed early this year, i decided to resort to tcm. My cycle is about 45days. I consulted the tcm clinic in raffles hospital and is on on chines herbs to tiao my body. i did acupunture with the acupunturist there and the nite after the first session of acupunture, i can feel that my ovaries are being stimulated. 2days ago, i did a round of acupunture in china with the points written down by the acupunturist in s'pore. It is done close to my ovulation as i noticed EWCM in the same morning. This time I can also feel that my ovaries are being stimulated. I have done 10 sessions of accupunture 3 years ago when i did my 1st round of ivf at Eu yan sang. Acupunture done in Raffles hospital is very different (mayb i have nt tried other acupuncturist beside EYS). Beside needling on my body she did acupunture on my ear too.after consulting few tcm physician, i tik acupunture alone will not improve infertility, It works best when the body is being tiao by chinese herbs.

i am new to this thread and oso TTC. In fact, i have tried 1.5 yrs plus liao and still no news. Have decided to see a doc but b4 that jus wondering if any1 can answer my doubt.

Does having monthly menses = ovalution?

i have regular menses but jus dunno why no good news

Hi Cheer Bear
sadly no. monthly menses doesn't mean that you ovulate. But what ever it is, you should still see a doc to check your hormone levels. You can also use OPK to see if you have LH surge but the doc can confirm for you by testing your progesterone levels after ovulation to determine if you have indeed ovulated. Ask you DH to go for SA test also. Maybe problem not with you leh.

I also TTC for 1.5 years liao but I have irregular menses and doc confirmed I not ovulating. so now on clomid

Hope the info helps.

Bettlebug - doc say no use trying IUI cos its like BD. He say the washing of sperms wont make it any better. The reason for SO-IUI is to produce more eggs to enhance the success. My DH wanted to do it but i am not so keen, it will be a lot of stress added to the current situation.
Where u be doing ur IUI?

Rabbit - Hows TCM Dr Tan? Is he good?

Jade - care to share if SO-IUI needs injections for 7 days? I tik i cant take it if i decided to do SO-IUI.

Hi koori,

I feel quite comfortable with him...just taking chinese medicine and feels that he is quite careful. So far, no +ve results yet.

I agree with most that TCM is just to tiao our body.

hi Koori, just to share with u abt the SO-IUI jab... someppl only few for 5 days. i jab for 9 days cos my body din respond well to it... on my eve of IUI, had another jab to release the egg...

the jab is due to a pen-like thing... my hubby helped me to jab...

let me know if u need more info...

hi babydust and luck, how do you find Dr Loh SF? Did you claim medisave for IUI? how much in all did you spend on IUI?

Does it mean that you can ovulate and Dr Loh suggests you go for SO-IUI to increase the chance to conceive? Since you said that IUI is like BD, why don't you give SO-IUI a try then?

My case is quite similar like you. No problem in our health.

hi Gillian, i done my SO-IUI at Raffles hospital. my whole procedure costs $1700...i claimed from my medisave...

Hi dorothy, thanks. Oh my, that's kinda expensive for me. Wonder is KK is cheaper on SO-IUI.

You manage to claim all on medisave? I heard that we can only use 3 times on reproductive, but not sure if its true

HI Gillian, no prob... i think KKH is abt $1200 or more.... but the cost depend a lot of the jab... if yr body respond well to the jab... then the cost wont be that high....

ya... i claimed all... we can claimed three times from medisave... i think 6k for this time, 2nd time is 5k n the last time is 4K(if i not wrong abt the amt)

Hi Liz,

thanks for the info.

i already did a health and hormone test in jan and the result is i am ok. i tried to test for LH but is always -ve. anyway, went to see dr adrian at his sk clinic and was ask to do x-ray next mon to see if my tube was block. he oso ask my hubby to do sa test but he dont wan leh say veri pei seh. ur hubby got do sa test b4? how is the procedure like? how did you manage to persuade him to do it?

oh dorothy, but i read before that its $500+. So IVF can use medisave too? If so then we must use it wisely. Wonder why must go through so much just to have a baby

hi gillian, $500+ is for normal IUI cos they no need to jab.... the med for jab(SO-IUI) veri expensive...ya, got to discuss with hubby whether is it feasible to claim or not...

we decided to claim because we are veri certain that we wont go for IVF....

Hi Cheerbear,
it's good that you are ok. eh... I didn't really need to persuade my hubby leh. He was quite ok with it. My hubby says that don't want to try and fix my prob then later discover he also has prob. waste time and money.

Anyway, here is how the procedure goes. What he needs to do is abstain from BD for 3 days. then "harvest" at home then send to the clinic or go to the clinic and "harvest". The clinic will need to provide a container for your DH.

Gillian
IVF can use medisave but I think the limit of claim per year is $6k if I'm not wrong.

Cheerbear
what kind of hormone test did the doc do? Did he do a scan for you to detect if you have the the folicle a few days prior to ovulation? After that, did he perform another hormone test to confirm after your ovulation to confirm you have ovulated?

What kind of OPK did you use? maybe you try the very ex but very accurate clearblue OPK for 1 cycle just to determine if you have LH surge.

hi liz,
so my hubby will have to go clinic take the container first then go home do then bring back to the clinic ah? wow then veri troublesome leh.. coz my appt is at tmc too far from my hse liao.. and i dont think he wan to do at tmc lor.. coz he say feel veri uneasy.. sigh.. dunno wat he want la.. i surrender in persuading him liao.

mine is a health and hormones test together one. the doc draw 2 tubes of my blood to do all the test and no scan but i know that usually doc will take a blood test on day 23 to see whether u r ovulating.

my opk is buy online one.. last time there is a gal in this forum organising a bulk purchase so i jus join lor.. cant rem wat brand liao.. actualli wan to buy clearblue to try but was thinking the one i buy all test liao is -ve (not even once is +ve) so think dont wan to waste $ liao.

Gillian - i seen Dr loh first time only, he seem very friendly. Btw, i might try SO-IUI after few mths, cos i still not prepared, still stress over the last failed IUI. My 1st IUI cost $500, i tik SO-IUI cost 1kplus.

Rabbit - roughly how much are Dr Tan's charges? I tot of going to see him. Wat are his operating hours?

Hi Koori,

I can't remember his actual hours but he is opened on some nights and weekend. His charges depend on the medication he gives you..mostly less than $40 for me [different medication at different phases of the cycle].

Going to visit him again after stopping for a while.

Cheerbear
glad that you are ok.
at least one less prob. I'm also with TMC and I live in Hougang. My DH did it at TMC. There is a private room there specifically for them. Tell him don't shy lah and it is a one time thing. A lot of guys do it there. For baby no choice leh. Takes two to make a BB.

Anyway, hope that your DH will change his mind.

cheerbear, my hubby did at TMC too. He waited for a guy inside to finish his task before he went in for his turn and even said he took a longer time than him.heez, he's not shy coz he knows he can't afford that if he wants baby. Last month he said he want to go again. The last time he did SA test is in Apr. But i told him not so soon yet. Wait for few more months as he is still taking supplement and just started TCM herb. By then we will know if both supplement and herb help improve anot.

Babydust, fist time with Dr Loh? Does it mean he is not the one who asked u go for IUI?

Liz, yah, most likely i will use one time for IUI/SO-IUI and reserve the remining for IVF. Pray that i do not have to go through IVF path. Quite a tough process.

Gillian
Oic. sorry. your DH has problems? mine has slight prob also. taking TCM but gynae say not need to worry.

erm... april har? my hubby also went to test in April. He say he came out then got a guy waiting outside. scarely it's your DH. ha ha...

Are you going for IUI? I also pray that I don't have to go through IUI or IVF. very stressful. Btw, which doc you seeing in TMC?

haha, liz, don't know leh, maybe our hubby met each other, keke...

Oh my hubby result is 4%, although my gynae said good liao, but i still feel not that good enough. so he ate supplements and herb to see if can improve further

Gillian
hey! my hubby also same same leh. I also feel not good enough so making him take TCM and supplements. eh... you doc LC Cheng?

liz,
i dont dare to say 100% that i am perfectly ok coz i dint do the scan etc so now thinking to do all the things that dr adrain say and see wat is the result. cross fingers that i am realli ok coz my mil keep asking until i veri fed up liao.. at least if the result come out then i can tell her i am ok is not my problem.

gillian,
oic.. must take turn one ah? dint know that. btw, can the wife go in as well? how does the room look like? one small plain empty room?

is good that ur hubby can think this way.. maybe i shld quote wat u say to my hb "he's not shy coz he knows he can't afford that if he wants baby" and hope this will get into his brain :p

cheerbear, im not sure if wife can go in anot leh. I was in another dept for my HSG test. But i doubt so because i heard from hubby that can request for 'DVD' to watch for those who has difficulty to eject out at that time. I heard from my hubby got sexy dress girls magazine too and even got pages torn and gone, haha

Yes, shd be a small room if i can re-call it correctly and he never mention that wife can go in

liz, hehe i hope so. but every cycles i was telling myself that and im still telling myself maybe it might be next cycle .....

How long have u been TTC? first child?

gillian,

thanks for the info. will tell my hubby then let him decide for himself.

ur hsg test was done on which day? day 23?

gillian
have been trying for 1.5 years liao. ya. first child. Same here loh. keep hoping that will strike soon but after so long still no news leh.
my mother also got prob conceiving me. guess it's genetic lah.

Cheerbear
how long have you been married? your mil knows you ttc-ing? My MIL doesn't know I have prob and didn't ask me also. but can tell from the look on her face that she is hoping for grandchild. aiya but not I don't want leh. But not my turn yet leh.

ya. tell your husband that it's small scacrifice. We also paisei for doc to do V scan. He one time only we got to do many times leh.

gillian,
hsg is the blood test right? then y dr adrian ask me to go x-ray on the 7-10 day? errrr... hope the nurse didnt tell me the wrong thing. ya..i know that no BD for the 3 days b4 the test right :p

liz,
this dec will be my 3rd anniversary liao
u leh?
but we onli start tcc early 06 so till now ard 1.5yrs liao and no news

this yr cny my mil already ask us when going to give birth liao (in fact, this is not the first time) and oso lots of relative oso start asking liao.. sighzz think next yr cny i am going to go overseas to escape all these.
good point to tell my hubby that we oso paiseh to do v scan hor.. but i never do b4 leh :p

cheerbear
HSG is x-ray. they will inject a dye into your uterus then perform an x-ray to see if there is any blockage of tubes.

ha ha... will have to do sooner or later the v-scan. Just had my 2nd anniversary in May.

oh ya. I hate CNY too. relatives keep asking then say why don't want to have BB. Not don't want but trying but don't have yet. can't these pple just back off.

CheerBear, HSG is the x-ray which you will be going. But its a No No to BD from the day your mense come to the day of the HSG leh. Did you BD? it's hubby that he should not eject 3 days before the SA test date.

liz,
wat do u mean by inject a dye into uterus? wow.. the way u say like so scary and painful leh.

gillian,
thanks for the info.. think i mix up liao.. getting veri blur with all the info that i read up.. think read too much liao until i mix up liao :p but lucky u remind me.. heng ah