SUPPORT GROUP - INFERTILTY

Cheerbear - same here Dec is 3rd yr anniversary, i ttc for 2yrs liao! no news.
Gillian - the first IUI i did is own decision. This time round Dr Loh ask me do SO-IUI cos he say IUI nt much effect.

liz,
thanks for the website.. will read over the wkend if i am free

babydust,
so SO-IUI shld be better than IUI right? How much does it costs for IUI and SO-IUI?

SO-IUI incl injection and medicine to induce the hormones and eggs, supposed to be more effective. However luck plays a great part, if you are lucky, either IUI or SO-IUI will also strike.
IUI abt 500, SO-IUI abt 1kplus.

hi koori, just read your reply here. Hmmm has been busy this week.

I onli plan to try for IUI on alternate cycle. Don't think will go for SO-IUI lor.... hopefully can strike with the help.

Hi Koori,
Sorry, I am late as I don't logon everyday. It is better to call and make appt, otherwise you have to wait and may not even get a slot.

Hi Cheer Bear,
I had HSG 1-2 month ago. It is a fast process and not as scary as what we think. The procedure takes < 30 minutes and a little discomfort during the process. After injecting the dye, the doctor will ask you to tilt to left and right for x-ray.

The nurse told me to clean up when I go home. Very small % of people may develop some kind of infection.

Rabbit - yes i called and went yday, dr Tan did acupulture on me and ask me track my BBT so that he can check if my hormones are ok or not.

hi rabbit,
u done ur HSG at TMC too? i jus had mine today.. took 1/2 day leave and went TMC with my hb, who had finally agree to do the sa test.

wow.. the hsg was veri ex leh.. $192.60 include gst. i thot the charges was like less than $100. anyway, like what u have said jus a little discomfort but was still ok and the nurse say will send the report to the clinic. cross my fingers and hope everything is ok

Hi koori,
I also went on weekend...and a couple came to report good news

Hi Cheer bear,
I had mine at kkh..the nurses are great.
Glad that you are feeling ok..it is quite ex though. You should get the results in 2 weeks time and will know if there is any blockage etc...ensure that you clean yourself so that you do not get infection. There will be some stains but it should go away soon. Frankly, I was so scared before the procedure but all turned out fine.

Hi koori,

May I check - is it recommended to do IUI or SO-IUI? Apologises as I am not sure of the difference and am thinking to go for it.

Rabbit - we saw many couples reporting good news when i saw my previous TCM, but i don hv good news. I scheduled for this sat afternooon appt. Did Dr Tan do acupulture on u? He asked me to do BBT, tik my hormones level might not be good enough. Lets see wat he say after i showed him my this week BBT.

IUI - to wash the sperms and inject into the woman. SO-IUI includes injection and medicine for the woman to create more eggs and hormones to increase chances of fertilisation since there will be more eggs. I have tried IUI before but din succeed. Must be very mentally prepared if u decide on IUI or SO-IUI cos the failure might cause much emotional unstability.

Me and hubby started trying for a bb beginning of this year. We striked 2nd month but unforunately ended up with a m/c

Since the dnc, my periods have been very irregular and when I thought it was starting to be regular on 4th cycle after dnc, I realised i have been having non-stop slight bleeding from mid cycle for 10days already. My current gynae is unable to tell me why.

Is there any specialist i can see for this and also to check our fertility? Thanks!!

I'm new to this forum. We've been ttc since Oct'05 but after one year of trying on our own we decided to see a doc.

Started seeing Dr. Gordon Tan in Gleneagles and have been doing Clomid + hCG jabs for a few months now. My husband has a slight problem with his sperm which he is taking meds for. But no good news yet and lots of strain and heartache.

Since the last cycle also failed Dr. Tan suggested laparoscopy. I thought I would read up on it first. I found out while reading through another thread that IUI is a good thing to try before IVF but our gynae never even gave us that option. This and a lot of other things are prompting us to think about seeing another doc-- maybe a fertility doc. Any recommendations?

P.C.Wong? Arijit Biswas? Someone else in Gleneagles-- L C Foong?
Suman

Sumann - seeing a fertility doc might be a good option cos a normal gynae might not be specialised in this area.

Hi koori,

Thank you for your explanation.
I have only started with Dr Tan this year (on-off) as I was initially with Jurong East. So far, I have been quite "unlucky" with gynae since my last D&C so I have been just taking chinese medicine and not have tried acupuncture. He also says that my homo is not good and asking me to plot my Temperature. ;)

I think gynae ask me to do SO-IUI since need injection..a little hesitant...sigh..

Hi Suman,
Beside taking vit E & Zinc, I was told that it is good for men to take Chong cao (chinese medicine) plus exercise.

One gynae suggested the same thing but another suggested HSG instead of laparoscopy to check on the condition of the womb etc. Perhaps you can check with Dr Tan on the reason for laparoscopy or if there is any other workaround?

Sorry I am not sure about those doctors that you mentioned. I agree with koori and it will save you the effort of going round in circles.

Hi roxyz,
Sorry to hear this....

Hi koori..
just realise that you are also seeing Dr Loh. Do you go to him once a month? Was asked to go back some months later..quite different from private gynae which I used to visit at least twice a month. Thank.

rabbit,
same as u.. i am so kan cheong when inside the room then the nurse keep asking me to relax.. they quite good leh.. veri friendly

so u thinking to do IUI or SO-IUI is it?

Dear koori
I have not fixed an appt with him since trying natural for couple of months.

Hi Cheer Bear,
Yap...me too.
Worry not, cross your finger. I thought of different permutation of the outcome but it turned out fine.
From the nurse description of the process, I think doctor may have recommended me SO-IUI as need injection.

hi liz,

nope, AF reported hahaha
cycle really gone haywire after taking the medication.
hehe i've decided to go for lasik!

hi mooniie
Oic. Never mind lah. try again.

your cycle haywire after taking clomid?

wah... go lasik ar? I don't dare to go leh. when is your op due?

hi liz,

yup, my cycle used to be about 31~33 days... this cycle was 39 days!
made me wait so long for it to come... so i guess maybe the med has a part to play lor hahaha

haven't schedule the op yet.
my consultation will be end of next month hehehe

hi mooniie,
oic. like that I dunno when my AF will report for this cycle. mine is irregular. usually takes around 6 weeks. haiz. why so difficult to get pregnant?

oic. good luck for you op then.

thanks mooniie!
recently have been feeling rather disheartened. wonder if I ever get pregnant. seems so easy for others. haiz! althought still left with 2 rounds of clomid but not much confidence that it will work.

I read that before gynae prescribes clomid, one needs to be given a blood test?

My gynae did not, and todate, i have had almost 6 cycles of clomid, and already into 2 IUIs. M thinking that if this still does not work, she wants to recommend me to IVF.....

But m thinking of changing gynae, to Dr Gordon Tan - Gleneagles. Any feedback, otherwise, which gynae would u recommend for fertility issues??
I m also seeing my TCM doctor at Hougang, but I do not really have confidence in her.... sigh... m feeling quite demoralised and each time, i see "red", i feel so sad....

hi liz,
i cannot remember this name, but always need to wait for more than an hour. Also the shop front is like a normal medical TCM shop, and does not look like have any doctors. Also, there are always 1 couple helping to tend the shop + take the right medical herbs for patients....

Is that the one u have visited too?

trying
yap. sounds like the same one. Met a couple there who managed to conceive after staying with this sinseh for 2 years. according to them, the docs told them that the chances of them conceiving naturally were close to zero.

Did you ever find out why your gynae prescribe you clomid? mine gave me clomid because I was not ovulating. they did a blood test.

Can't recommend you any fertility doc as I have not succeeded yet so can't tell you if mine is good or not.

hi Liz
i checked... yes, it's teck chua. I started only about 2-3 months ago.. heard about them from a friend who was trying for 7 years!! But somehow, everytime, i see her, she only took my pulse and give me medicine to concoct... Abit leh chey. And at the same time, i was seeing my gynae and just did my 2nd IUI recently.

I was given clomid cos after doing the ultra scan, she found that i was not ovulating enough. but never did any blood test too.

I read that before doing IUI, at least check if tubes are blocked, but not in my case. Now, i can only start praying hard that i +ve this cycle. How long have u been trying?

Hi trying,
abt 1.5 years liao. but just started clomid 2 cycles ago. Started with TMC just this month.

Oic. Does your gynae specialise in infertility? erm... i thought most gynae will do a HSG first to check if there are block tubes.

oh.. so you on IUI now? in 2ww? Hope you have good news soon

Hi liz,
me too! i also started trying for about 1-1.5years already. Initially, not so stressed, now getting more and more stressed.

My gynae does not really specialise in fertility but she has been my gynae for a long time, and has all my records. Only after reading this website recently, then did i find out that i need to have HSG first before doing IUI, otherwise, it may be waste of money.

M trying via IUI now- 2nd time.... Thanks I hope to have good news too.... what is 2ww?? sorlee, some terms used in this forum, i m still not familiar with...

Hi trying
2ww - 2 weeks wait to test if you get a +ve or not.

ya lor. nowadays I getting more stress. btw where is your gynae? And what is the cost like for IUI?

Hi Liz,
oh ic... yup, now waiting. And at times, i m very tempted to start checking, but guess i will tahan. The waiting period is always very unbearable.

my gynae is Dr lisa chin at gleneagles. The cost is 200 for IUI - the procedure itself, but add the ultrascan, 1 X jab, plus washing, altogether add up to about almost 500. Are u also going for IUI?

Hi Trying
nope. not yet. Still got 2 more cycles of clomid to go. No offence. but hope I don't need to go for SO-IUI. I will be very stressed. But my gynae says that it will be the next step if clomid fails.

Btw, when will you know your result?

Hi Suman,

I'm also with Dr Gordon Tan from Gleneagles.
Dr Gordon Tan has given me clomid + hCG jabs for a few months now. And also no good new, so he also suggested that either i go for HSG or laparoscopy. but the pricing for laparoscopy is so ex. So now i have tempoary stop seeing him and might seek for TCM and see how.

trying - i also tried lisa chin for IUI, but din succeed. I stop going to gynae cos i have unexplained infertility, seems like there's nothing they can do leh. I trying TCM now.

hi trying and koori, i am going to try IUI with Lisa Chin. went to here for scan, follicle to small.so this cycle not doing liao.

as usual she prescribe clomid for me. Still hesitating whether i should take.

Koori - I am still with the same TCM. found her medication good for me. but nowaday i not so on.... always skip :p

hi liz,

think the other day u r asking me abt my results ya.. is out but the nurse say cant tell me over the phone
and doc need to see us. already make appt to see him this sat, realli hope is nothing.. so worry leh..

Cheerbear
don't worry too much. You are with TMC also? Dr Cheng? I'm also seeing him this sat. hope you have good news.

liz,
ya with TMC but is Dr Adrian.
Dr Cheng good? Male or Female doc? Is he a fertily doc or gynae? dr adrain is a gynae so dunno shld i change doc leh.