Fong's Clinic for Women & Fertility
Blk 18 Jalan Membina #02-02 S'pore 164018
(Next to Tiong Bahru MRT)
Tel: 62767727
290 Orchard Road #15-09 The Paragon
S'pore 238859
Tel: 63336636
*Must call to book appointment.

My TCM is at Thong Chai Medical @ 50 Chin Swee Road (sinseh name is Loh JinYan)
I have also tried TCM at Jurong East St.21 (sinseh name is Tan Lee Kee)
If u interested, i will get the tel nos. for u cos i dun have it on-hand.

QingQing & me now at Jan08 MTB thread.

<font color="ff6000">Ah_Kat</font>
Enzyme therapy is a complimentary alternative medicine that use plant extract digestive enzyme to help with illness related to digestive organs & blood. You can google on "Digestive enzyme", "enzyme therapy" for some understanding first.

Depending on your condition & presciption, pdt range from $45-$130.

I can't PM you, perhaps you could PM me & we can chat over the phone.

kat ..... i am still here in the thread reading ... cos so long u never post me and steph so worried abt u ......

hi ah_kat, i would suggest that you continue with your tcm cos it takes at least three months tiao2 the body, more if you've got lots of imbalances and deficiencies to begin with. i agree with steph77 about the clomid; do give yourself some time before you decide if you want to go on it. stress can play more havoc on our reproductive system then we know. do give yourself a break and clear your mind of worries for a while. take care!

Hi Step77
Thanks so much for the contacts. I am still waiting for my blood test result to come out to do a comparision from my last test done(see if it gotten worst). I have a TCM w Yu Ren Seng - be seeing her again coming sat w the test results... I prob will go to yr gynae for a second opinion as I tink I shld be going to one that is specialize in fertility then a normal gynae.

Hi Qingqing, thanks for yr concern...was MIA for a while and have been waiting for this cycle to come in order to start afresh...but who know all this wld happened??!!

Hi Xuanting, I have been on TCM coming 3mths liao and still see no results (nothing get better or worst)...anyway, now juz waiting for the result and seeking second opinion.

Hi Kook_Car - let me go chk out gynae 1st before I try anything else...really don't want to start anything new now with the already confuse system.

ah_kat,
continue wif your TCM at Yu Ren Seng. TCM is slower but it really do helps to tiao the body. I've been seeing TCM for 6mths to see gd improvement in my menses cycle & my cyst stop growing bigger.
If u r going to my gynae, do bring your test results & past results/history to show him. He will then be able to advise the next course of action/treatment for u.

Keep us posted on outcome k & take gd care!

Thanks Steph77

Just called my gynae to chase for the test result....keeping finger cross that the numbers are not getting worst

Dear ah_kat,

Things will get better... I see some improvement during my last cycle more than 1 year after my D&C. I used to "hate" AF (means not pregnant) but these days, I sometimes do appreciate the timely, red AF to indicate that I am normal.

Best wishes for you

Hi Jade

How's Dr Loh? I'm still looking out for a good gynae. Tried IVF with Prof Chen. Very disappointed with him. Could you believe he was late in the theatre during my embryo transfer.

Well, I wish you all the best for your IVF. Could you furnish me with Dr Loh's information (Add & contact)?

Hi Steph77 (steph77)

Could you tell me more about Dr Fong Yang? Was he introduced by Chinese Physician Tan @ Jurong?

Hope that you can share with me. Trying very hard to ttc and on the look out for a good, gentle gynae.

kao_smile2.gif

Hi Lin,

Had some "experiences" with Prof too but not IVF. Are you refering to Dr SF Loh from KKH? My friend had IVF with him and told me that he is quite good (she is pregnant now). The central appointment number is 6294 4050. IVF number is 6394 1694.

Best wishes for your IVF.

hi Lin,

I think Rabbit has already furnished Dr Loh's contact. I quite like him actually. Friendly and informative. He is generous with his answers. :)

I don't have major issues with Prof Chen just that I can no longer keep up with his charges. Of course, all my IUIs fail lah. I had 7 altogether. How much did u pay for the IVF? His nurses quoted me 25K - way beyond my budget.

hi Lin,

Yes Dr Fong Yang was introduced by chinese physician Tan Lee Kee fr Ying Chuan Chinese Medical Hall, Blk202 Jurong East St 21 #01-117
U have seen her b4 ?
I was very impressed with her skills, she knows my condition exactly aft she feel my pulse without having me to explain anything history to her! However, after taking her TCM (in pills) for 1yr, there is still no results of conceiving so she propose IUI at Dr Fong Yang's clinic & seek his advise.
Without further delay, me & huuby visited him & he say my womb condition is not ready for IUI treatment. After seeing him for 4mths, i managed to conceive naturally in April07, now at my 10weeks.

Dr Fong Yang is a very patience gynae, he is friendly, experienced, gentle, informative & he listens to what u say...cos some gynae tends to rush thru' consultation. Me & hubby trusted him & so we go ahead treatment accordingly.
He advised me to go for another lap to remove the cyst so as to increase conceiving chance but i reluctant to go thru' the procedure. So, he suggest injection (GnRHa) to stop my menses..to help reduce or shrink the cyst, clear the womb lining cos very thick. I took 2 jabs...menses stop for 3mths and now i've taken clomid (2pills for 5days) and on 27Apr, gynae gave another injection to induce ovulation (to release the egg). And we hit jackpot !

Hi Steph77

You mention that you seek TCM at Thong Chai Medical & Ying Chuan Chinese Medical. May i know which TCM will you recommend. Cos i heard alot of negative remarks abt Ying Chuan so now i'm so blur about with TCM i shld go.

Thanks ya!!

Hi Ms Blur,

Honestly i find both TCM good. For Thong Chai Medical, u have to brew the herbs. Ying Chuan medicine comes in pills packaging, more convenient but 2wks medication cost ard $49 whereas Thong Chai is a charitable institution, providing free medical services but u have to DIY the herbs.
All depends on the sinseh u see, how comfortable u are & the trust must be there for positive treatment. You must have alot of patience for TCM to work & reap gd results.

Hi Steph77

Thanks for the info. I will probably see Dr Fong Yang. I'm happy
to learn that you are 10 weeks pregnant. Take good care and let us know your progress.

I have been taking Physician Tan's medication for the last 4 years. I did conceive last year with her medication but lost it in my second week.
kao_sad2.gif

Now, I just have to pray hard and keep on trying.

Hi Jade and Rabbit

Thank you so much for the info. I spent too much money on Prof Chen.
kao_angry.gif
I have stopped seeing him as he does not give enough attention & care to patient. Now, I will try Dr Fong Yang.

I wonder if accupunture helps? Has anyone been thru?

Hi Steph77 & Qing Qing..
Result came back - bad..hormones worst then before and I am still not O-ing...Doc suggested that I induce this cycle immediately to start afresh..Went to TCM, she also said that my hormones quite bad and asked me to eat her med for another 2 more weeks (by then 100 days) and if still no menses - to proceed to induce w Western Med...

Just want to chk - does TCM ask u to induce menses or TCM can actually force menses to come?? I am losing some faith now..

Hubby & I have come to term that we might never have children but now just want to get the cycles back! I have been putting on weight despite exercising and dieting and the stomach have been bloated for many days...and its even harder when pple around me kept commenting that I have put on weight!! Yesterday, finally clear my wardrobe and put away clothings that I cannot wear...was so sad as some of them are my favourites... ...

Hi beautiful,

Thank you so much for the information.

Btw, may I know the cost and what kind of medication does Dr Zhong give? (Pills form or do we have to purchase herbs to brew ourself)
kao_confused.gif

How are you doing so fair afer Dr Zhong's medicaton? Just wondering if you have seen the Physician Tan (Jurong) before?

Sorry for all the questions asked but just felt that I should be trying all ways to improve my health. I love children and yet not able to have one of my own.
and age is also catching up.I'm looking for all ways to conceive very hard naturally.
kao_sad2.gif

Hi Rabbit

How are you doing yourself? It's nice to have some support group here. I sometimes feel very lost and confused.

Do keep in touch.

Hi Lin, usually it will costs me about S$140 each visit for both consultation and 2 weeks medicine in packet form. No need to brew the herbs, just mix the medicine with warm water and consume 3 times a day.

I think her medicine does help me in terms of ovulation.

Nope, i have not seen the jurong physician before.

No worries, I can understand how you feel cos I have went through 3 miscarriages and indeed it has not been easy...

What is your ttc history so far?

hi ah_kat, in tcm terms, the menses don't come cos of some imbalance or blockage in the body. what the physician will do is to help you adjust your body back to the ideal balance of yin and yang energies, and achieve a smooth flow of qi all over. once you are balanced and have a smooth flow of qi, your body should be capable of doing everything it is supposed to do naturally, like menstruating, conceiving and carrying a foetus to term.

from what i've read about tcm, most of us with problems don't just have one area of imbalance; there are usually several overlapping deficiencies/blockages etc that need to be worked on, step by step, until the body reaches its optimum condition. most tcm practitioners will recommend at least three months of herbal supplements and/or acupuncture etc, plus cooperation on the patient's part to keep to a strict diet, to see results.

tcm takes time, but offers long-term results. try to communicate more with your tcm practitioner: ask more questions like whether your body has responded to her prescription, and if not, why; ask about the food you should take/avoid in order to complement the herbal medicine; ask for an estimate of how long she thinks it will take to see results if you decide to continue with tcm; whether you should be exercising etc; and if you feel any sort of difference after taking the medicine (thirstier, more urination, worse/better sleep etc), do let her know also. the more info she has, the better diagnosis she can make to help her zoom in on your problem.

please don't despair; don't give up. after reading so many case studies about tcm on different websites and learning about its approach in treating fertility problems, i'm quite confident that many things can be tiao2 back to normal, even the seemingly serious and 'hopeless' cases. give it a little more time? please stay positive ok. stress is as bad as a bad diet for ttc-ing folks like us.

take your mind off this for a while and plan something light and fun for yourself ok.

hi Lin,
no prob, u r welcome.
So are u still taking Physician Tan's medication now ? Did she ask u to use the urine stripe to test ovulation ?
Thong Chai Physician ask me to take body temperature daily & plot graph to detect ovulation. It was only Dr Fong Yang aft reviewing my temp graph says it is difficult to know when i actually ovulate. So he suggested clomid & injection to release egg that helps in conceiving successfully.
Yup, i hope u get gd results soon & babydust to u!

ah_kat,
don't be despair. xuanting's recommendation & advise on tcm is very true. After u have induce this cycle, i suggest u stop any form of ovulation treatment for a while, at least tiao yr cycle to normal then consider treatment to conceive. Take care & keep in touch.

Hi xuanting, thanks for the explaination...what I dont understand is that my TCM is now asking me to take the western med if my menses is still not coming 2wks later...I thot TCM is capable of inducing menses as well?

Hi Step77
Thanks for being there and listening in this confuse and difficult time.

ah_kat

hi ah_kat, i think you need to get your tcm doc to sit down and review and explain your progress with you properly. i also find it hard to understand her advice cos most tcm practitioners would not recommend something like that. usually, they will tell you to have patience if they think it will take a long time to tiao2 you not send you back to western med. will you be seeing her again soon? from what i know, tiao2-ing the menses back is not impossible for tcm. don't worry ok, it's just frightening now cos the doc didn't explain her approach to you. see her again and talk to her, ok. (HUGS)

Hi Lin,

I am fine. Thank you for your concern. Frankly, I am quite tired of all these doctors (western, chinese) visits like Prof CC, Jurong East etc. I am considering to try 2 more months of natural before proceed with IUI. Hopefully my work will not conflict with my schedule.
It feels really nice to participate in all these discussions.

Hi ah_kat,
I was visiting the chinese doctor in Clementi and he told me that can help to regulate the homos. I am not sure if it is true as I have not tried (after my experiences with some of the doctors).
Wishing you all the best that your cycle will be back to normal.

Ah_Kat,

Totally agree with XuanTing, taking time-off & plan for something fun & relaxing might be good for you now. Keeing an open mind & staying positive is very important.

I recently watched a dvd "The Secret". I wish I could share that with you. It is abt the power of our sub-conscious mind. I sincerely hope that all MTB can watch this and it be able to help you all. You can watch it on this site. It last for 92 mins:
http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=2462661970266709753&q=the+secret

Hi Ah_kat,
Sorry. I don't have any advice for you. But just want to wish you all the best and hope that things work out for you.

For TCM, you might want to try Dr Xia Rong (EYS, Paragon) 67389796.

I have never tried her before as I have not started on TCM but heard from my friend that she is really good. But it is quite difficult to get appointment with her as she is only in Singapore twice a month or something like that.

kook_car, the link doesn't work. i googled it and got linked to youtube. there are several videos with the same name but all are quite short. can you tell me more about the video? i watched a short opening clip of it with all the positive affirmations and am really interested to know more!

Hi Xuanting,
Yes, I will be seeing her again coming Sat to check the progress - in fact I have been on the inducing menses TCM for some time (few weeks) and it doesnt seems to work. She mentioned that it is not good for body to keep the blood too long, hence she suggested the western med.Honestly, I am losing some faith in her too...WIll take yr advise and ask her coming sat when i see her - she is from Yu Ren Seng at the main branch.

Hi Rabbit - the chinese word u typing cannot be read - can you give me the han yu pin ying instead? Thanks. Also, may i ask which TCM u are seeing from clementi?

Kook_car, the trouble is I just got back from a holiday in Vietnam 2 weeks ago - don't tink I am that stress yet as I have given up the idea of having kids but to tiao my body... : P

Hi ah_kat,

Sorry, I mean 'zhen jiu'. Personally I have not tried (just take medicine). I have not been to see him...because I was having some problem with the western medicine and wanted to isolate the cause of the problem.
Best is to talk to him to check if it helps (if you decide to see him).

Dr Tan Kian Sing
TCM Healthcare Medical Centre
433 Clementi Avenue 3
#01-266
Singapore 120433
Telephone: 68723237

Wishing you all the best.

I did one session of accupunture a few weeks back but no see results and the TCM that I am seeing did not suggest that I take another session.
I am staying in the west side and Clementi is a convenient place for me to go - do you know if this TCM are in powder form or I need to brew it?

ah_kat

Ah_Kat,
I hv a proposal, but not sure if you'll like to try it. I met a biomedical research scientist recently and he has an invention, which is a mat embedded with tourmaline and link to a micro-computer, this mat emits far infared & negative ions to increase our body's blood circulation by 34% & oxygen intake. Our blood carries nutrient & oxygen to all our organs. It is also our defence system whereby our white blood cells do its work.

I do think that it might help you "tiao" your overall health.

hi ah_kat, did the acupuncturist say anything about your condition? i think the problem with seeing tcm practitioners is that they sometimes just do their own thing and don't explain very much to us cos maybe it's not easy for us to understand the details. but i still think they have the responsibility to keep the patient informed lor.

i just read last night about menses. apparently it can stop for different reasons, like not enough blood or too much blood (blockage), and different treatments are used depending on the cause (seems like yours is blockage since she mentioned not gd to keep blood inside for too long?). maybe can list out your queries and clear them with your tcm this sat; it'll help u make a better decision about the western med plus if u change tcm, can tell your new tcm what the old one diagnosed and prescribed for u so that he/she can have better idea of your history also.

Hi ah_kat,

The medicine from Dr Tan comes in powder form.
I agree with xuanting to discuss the details with the doctor. Do not attempt anything when in doubt.

hi ah_kat,

I belong to the group that has PCOS and my menses does not come on its own. And i had suffered from atypical complex hyperplasia before. For me, i had reply on both TCM and western to make the menses come.. to make ovulation works.

For fast results, it is always the western. TCM though complementary, still important. It complements the western medicine.. making it work better.

I had rely on western medicine to make my menses come, to ovulate, to have high LH. You can say that every single step in the female cycle for fertility is assisted by western medicine, complemented by chinese.

My western doc did tell me before I would need to rely on western medication in the future as well to have the normal menstrual flow. 'cause if the blood is not purged out, i.e. not having normal menstrual flow for a prolong period, my previous case of hyperplasia would recur.

Fear not.. ah kat.. just solve 1 problem at a time..it took me 4-5 years to sort all these out..finally seeing some light..

Thus have faith..1 problem at a time.. fear not.. don't give up..

Went for my TCM session last Sat - doc mentioned that she want to start on a 10-course accupuncture session for me to see if it work or not..she mentioned that I will need at least 6mths to see result and if I really fed up w missing AF, I can proceed to take the western med.

Hi Kook_car: Thanks for the offer but not game to try anything new now.

Rabbit: I will keep yr TCM in view and consider switching if I still see no results after the 10 sessions of accupunture.

Hi Findingmiki:thanks for sharing..yeah, I am really in fear..missing AF, putting on weight for nothing, seeing no results from taking so many med, have a miscarriage before.... ... ..sigh...

Be seeing another gynae for a second opinion tomorrow....hope he can give better advise.

Hi Ah Kat,

Sayang.. I had a miscarriage before (conceived thru so-iui) too.
And after the m/c, my mens did not come on its own.. but I kinda of expected that 'cause my system was originally screwed up.

Thus my mens was induced.

Good to see another gynae for second opinion at times..

For me, i kinda of wasted 2-3 years with my previous gynae who does not handle PCOS patients in the right way. Till one day, I finally gave up and turn to another gynae for help. Thus phew.. things are working in the right track now.

U know something.. my prev gynae had said to me.. that he wants to remove my womb if i am not intending to get pregnant ... i felt so dejected at that time .. it is like taking my life again..

Luckily my current gynae came to the rescue. phew.

Hi ah_kat,
i saw yr posting in the m/c thread & reply u but i think now the reply is in the archive.
I was asking if the 10-course accupuncture by EYS would guarantee to induce AF? If not, try western med (normally is jab) faster results.

Are u seeing my gynae today?

Hi findingmiki,
Yeah, spend $500 seeing this new gynae which is supposed to be advisor for TMC infertility centre and ex KKH reproductive head. He went through the whole "education" process w me and hubby and did all the necc test all over again. I think the path is pretty clear in front of us now - induce menses, take clomid on day 2, go back to scan on day 21 to see if O and then try n try..repeat cycle for 3 more times and if still do not work SO-IUI or IVF. If we chose the other path, i.e. dont want a BB, take conceptive pills for AF to come each month.

As for the accupuncture, Step77, nothing guaranteed, AF may not come after 10 cycles of accupuncture.

Discussed w hubby, will be going ahead w the inducing of the cycle, to try and lose some weight (have unknowingly put on 7kg since the miscarriage!!) and proceed w the clomid (at higher dosage) again...if all still fail, we will give up on the whole child bearing thingy and come to term that we will neber be able to have kids...I mean, we feel that (at least at this pt in time) this is really that much we can stretch ourselve to do (finance and mental)....anything more then that, we dont tink we can cope....

Anyway, really thanks for all the concern and suggestions given all these while...really appreciate that...the comments and concern that u have given me are much stronger and more then even some friends whom I know for very long..thanks ladies!

Hi Steph77

I've seen Dr Fong Yang already and he wants to give me jabs to stop my mens when my next mens due. It will take another 2 months before I can do my IUI.

My uterus wall is thick measuring 85 and normal wall lining is 60. I still have small cyst even after my laproscope done late last year.
kao_sad2.gif

Well, now I have to try all ways to conceive.

Has anyone heard of Singapore Chung Hwa Medical Institution in Toa Payoh?

Kindly advise.

Hi Beautiful

My history is long. Trying for so many years now. Very tired. Now seeing Dr Fong Yang. Hope that he can help me.
kao_sad2.gif

Have your condition improve after seeing Dr Zhong? How long does it take before medicine works on you? I'm quite confuse. Do not know who I should see for TCM. I'm still taking chinese medicine from Jurong. Left with 1 more week of medicine.

Have you heard of Singapore Chung Hwa Medical Institution in Toa Payoh?

hi liz,

yup i'm still reading... but i seldom post, coz busy at work and don't wanna give myself stress =)

not sure leh... now waiting for AF to report... dunno if it's coz i'm not taking clomid anymore, so cycle gone haywire... sigh...

how about yourself?
must try to relax okie =)

Hi mooniie
fail again this cycle. so got to skip next cycle and wait for DH to come back.

ya. the relax part is hard to do.

btw, can ask you why your gynae prescribe clomid for you?

erm... maybe this cycle will succeed for you cause AF haven't report right.