SUPPORT GROUP - INFERTILTY

Im a newbie here.
Juz wana to know if anyone has an unexplained fertility & conceived naturally or otherwise?
Pls share.
Been 4yrs trying to conceive naturally but to no avail. Still deciding hard whether to try SOIUI...*confused*

Went thru KKH, diagnoised with no ovulation. Thus prescribed with clomid tablet.. i am still rather unwilling to take it cos considering the side effects.. HB suggested to go for TCM.. any views on it?

Hi sunnyday,

I'm seeing TCM now, I feel that it will definitely help to improve your condition. Do go for TCM and don't give up!

Hi I'm back.

Following up from my last post, my HB's most recent SA in end Nov showed his morphology was 80%, a significant increase from the less then 1% in Apr and 3% in Aug. No kidding, it's right off the scale. I can scan the reports to attach if this forum allows. I thot the lab tech got it wrong or it belonged to some1 else. Even if the percentages were reversed; 20% is very good too.

But this most important confirmation is that I'm already 14 weeks pregnant. Didn't want to announce during my 1st trimester due to certain reasons. My gynea is from Mt E.

Btw, my HB did his last SA at Quest Laboratories (http://www.questlabs.com.sg/contact.htm). It's not only cheaper, quicker (report in 1 day), opened on Sundays; its branch is also very near my home. So my HB's specimen will be in good shape during the short transport.

Please refer to my previous posts for more info on what my HB did to improve his condition.

juz popped in to share my experience. Had my 1st kid at age 35 after my miscarriage (m/c)at age 33. Subsequently had another m/c 1 year after gave birth. So unfortunate after my 2nd D&C, my fallopian tubes were blocked and underwent keyhole ops to open up. Last December I delivered my 2nd baby at age 38. My pregnancy journey isn't a smooth one though, but do not give up easily. Also, I had been taking TCM b4 conceiving my 2nd bb all the way until I delivered. She's a strong baby and able to lift up her head at 1 month +. For both pregnancies, gynae gave hormones injection to sustain the pregnancy. So ladies, jia you.

I am trying to reach Felicia too to ask her if she can share the brand of vitamin that her husband took to increase sperm action with me. Does anyone know what these are?

Hi babyguess,

thanks for sharing, I think it is very encouraging. We must stay strong and positive, don't give up easily. but in order to sustain, really need a lot of $$. I really hope can get more help from the govt.

I was diagnosed with pelvic infection last year in June. Thus, while seeing the gynae for medication, she discovered my tubes might be damaged due to the infection. I was sent for 2 HSG in Mount E but the results were negative.
Thus, I changed to another gynae in Gleneagles and did a laproscopy last friday. Sad to say the results are not good too as my gynae feedback to me my right tube is totally damaged and it doesn't look positive on the left tube either. She told me I can still try for pregnancy tho chances would be slim. It's so disheartening hearing that. But life still goes on...I guess I really gotta hope for a miracle.

hi Star night,

sorry that you have to go thru this.
pls do not be dishearten.
did the gynae suggest any alternatives such as IVF?

Hi Starnight,

Sorry to hear that. Don't be dishearten. Both my fallopian tubes are blocked. I am going for IVF, may be you can also try IVF?

I need some advice from all of you who have seen Dr Tan Kian Seng (Chung Hwa Clinic in Toa Payoh) and/or Dr Tan Siew Buoy (Thong Chai)

1)I've seen Dr Tan Siew Buoy for few times.She is generally nice but I find that she doesnt explain your body condition to you. When I tried asking her my condition and what food I shd take or avoid. She just said she wouldnt explain condition coz we probably wont understand. And said just take her medicine and didnt advise on what food to take or avoid. How is your experience with her? She seems to have moods. Its like you need to watch what questions to ask her else she will tell you off type. Its jus so hard to discuss things with her, including how to increase chances with IVF.

2)Does Dr Tan Siew Buoy do acupuncture? or does she reccommend you to do acupuncture?

3)Dr Tan Kian Seng (at Chung Hwa Toa Payoh Clinic)- when I called the clinic, they said that he is with the male sheng yu group, that means he only treat male problems. But I read in the thread that he seems to be seeing some of you ladies. I'm quite confused. Can someone advise me?

4) Does Dr Tan Kian Seng do acupuncture? or does he arrange acupuncture sessions for the ladies?

5) Do you know which TCM doc (at Chung Hwa Clinic) I should see for female problems? I'm hoping to see docs for me and my hubby plus do acupuncture at the same place.

I hope some one can advise me on my questions, cause I'm quite confused and not sure which TCM doc to see now. Thanks all for your advise !

Hi Happyhippo

I can only answer your questions on Dr Tan Kian Seng as both me and my hubby are seeing him....

Besides Chung Hwa Clinic, Dr Tan runs his own clinic :TCM healthcare medical centre, Blk 433, #01-266, Clementi Ave 3 Singapore 120433 Tel:6872 3237

He treats both women and men at his own clinic and I see alot of women who go with their husbands for treatment.

He does acupuncture for both men and ladies as well. I've read quite good feedback from others who have seen him. Both my hubby and I have seen him for about 3 months, no good news yet, but the best thing that came out from my visits is that I have managed to pinpoint my ovulation days. Previously, I always thought my ovu is around CD14 but Dr Tan insisted that I temp and use OPK and I found out that I actually ovulate very late......CD18-20!!

I'm hoping that I will have good news soon, because we've been taking his chinese meds and going for acupuncture regularly.

Do book in advance if you decide to see him, as he is always full during weekends...

hi happyhippo,

I have seen both Dr TanKS and Dr TanSB.

I started with TanSB, seen her for almost 1 yr, but no result. Find that she doesn't like to explain, and you're right, she got mood swing sometimes, esp when more patients.

In the end, I switch to TanKS. Though he is quite expensive, but at least he is patient and will answer to all your queries. He also does acu which TanBS doesn't, which I believe will help to stimulate the result. I have been seeing him for 3 months, though no news yet, but I feel my health has improved.

I think Santorini has answered the rest of your questions. Let's jia you!

my wife n i had 1 daughter of 7 years old, we are 29 years old this year but been trying for 2nd child for 2 years already, still no news. currently seeing a chinese doctor at her home n a chinese doc at a temple which many claims he is good. i wanted to believe in both of them but at the same time i wanna get professional medicine help else where as these 2 doctors does not do any tests to check our body conditions.

pls enlighten me where shld we start from?

Hi avon,

I guess most of the couples will start with doing tests, such as the hormone test for female and semen analysis for male. Then you will know why and what kind of treatment you should go for.

Hi leapgal,

i'm also a newbie here..i've been trying naturally for 3 yrs liao but unsuccessful too..guess i'm also in the unexplained infertility category. Hope to hear from u.

Hi schnappi,
Did my first IUI last mth & it turned out neg. The waiting time really bring me alot of stress. Now can enjoy my holiday trip with no worries...tho abit dissapointed with the results.

Hi there! I'm a mum to a 3 year old Girl. I have tried to conceive again (for more than a year) but have no luck.

I failed my 1st SO-IUI cycle at KKH which was done on 10th March 08. I called up to the clinc when my period came on monday. Sigh - very sad : ( The nurse actually suggested me to consider for IVF instead. Should i try IUI again or go straight to IVF? i'm at loss...

Anyone going through IVF @ KKH? I was wondering if anyone of you could give me some advice, suggestions on what the whole process involves and how much I should be willing to fork out (everything included). Are you happy with your treatment at KKH?

Just any advice at all will be very very much and gratefully appreciated.

Hi Leapgal/ Baby123

Baby123, my girl is also 3 yrs plus now.I have tried to conceive again for 2 yrs now.
Is IUI painful and were you on clomid or with injections? I'm diagnoised with no ovulation. Thus prescribed with clomid tablet. Tried 5 cycles now, still no result. Thinking of IUI, how much does it cost?

Hi Jamie,
Clomid was taken on the 2nd day of menses followed by injections for 5 consecutive days.
IUI wasn't painful actually but need to go down to KKH for scanning, HCG injection etc, before the procedure which can be quite stressful for some working ladez.
As for the cost, I think it depends on case by case basis. But as for myself, I paid almost 1.5K for everything.

avon

can you share more abt both chinese physicians you are seeing? are they good? if u r not comfortable sharing here, pls pm me. thanks

baby123

how many times have you tried so-iui? i have also gone thru 1 cycle of so-iui at kkh early this year. Failed too. sigh

Hi Leapgal

Do u mean you took Clomid only on 2nd day of menses and day 3-6 is via injections?
What's the HCG injection and the other injections you had for 5 consecutive days?

Hi Leapgal,

sorry for MIA 'cos i seldom come into this thread. I did my 1st IUI in January but was unsuccessful too..guess we r both in the same boat. I was extremely stressed b4, during & after the procedue which explains the failure i guess. Sometimes really wonder why with no problems from HB & myself but cannot conceive...haizzzz....very sad....

Hi,I'm new here TTC for 3 yrs. Underwent 3 failed IUIs. Recently shifted to Singapore. Can anyone suggest a good infertility specialist. I plan to go for IVF now. So, any one with positives for any doc for IVF??Wait for replyCheersjaas

hi noscon,
unfortunately, we are still trying to conceive, so i cannot tell whether the doctor is good or not but quite a number of them said he is good. apparently, if u r non-buddhism, i do not encourage u to go unless u r willing becos religious is quite a sensitive thing to talk abt if u ask me.

if u insist, i can pm u the address but then i need time to find the address n telephone number as i remembered the place n not the address.

Hi Jenn,

which doc do u recommend me to start off with? saw a lot of members here recommend doc from gleneagles. treatment there r relatively expensive n we r not very well off but we r quite desperate to have a second child. my gal is already pri 2 this year, do not wish to drag too long.

hi avon,

quite a number of members here are seeing Dr SF Loh at KKH and Dr LC Cheng at Thompson Medical. I'm seeing Dr Thong at Raffles Hosp. They are all very experience, it depends on your budget lor.

Hi, anyone here have PCOs and conceive naturally or with medi but not IVF? pls share with me... i had 2 miscarriages last year (i'm 28), have endometriosis did a lapro also last year .. super stress out when i heard i got PCOs and adenomyosis last week and advise to go for IVF. But i heard the cost is very high. i'm taking TCM not sure if it really will help but i'm worried if i go for natural & fertile the unhealthy small egg (bcos i got PCOs) , i end with with another disaster... having gone thru it twice, i'm really skeptical...

I read PCOs ladies tend to get diabete & cancer & balding! i seems to start balding liao! every day see alot of hair on the floor and colleague ask why i getting more & more empty up there! sigh... i'm having lower backpain, i wonder if it's due to endo or adenomyosis...

anyone have IVF recently, can you share with me what's the cost like? are we suppose to try medi like clomid then try IUI then IVF go up the pyramid? sorry to ask so many question haha thanks gals!

Schnappi,
Currently I'm only taking supplements to improve my health & hormone sys.
If possible, wld like to be PMed on the vitamins that Felicia took prior to success too.

Jamie,
Clomid was taken from 2nd day of menses, not only on the 2nd day. As for the injections, can't remember exactly what is it called.

Hi leapgal,

No one has PMed me on the vitamins that Felicia's hubby has taken yet. Will inform u once there's a reply. Is ur hubby taking supplements as well? Hmmm...both of us fall under the unexplained infertility category since we have no problems..our partners too have no promblems. Have u considered IVF? Btw, tis will be my last resort. I would like to "bu" myself & hubby 1st & try naturally 'cos i read that if our bodies r not strong enough for pregnancy, going for infertility treatments may not be successful. Rather spend the $ on TCM & supplements to prepare ourselves & in the hope of conceiving naturally. If there's anything u would like to ask or share with me, can always PM me. Take good care & lots of baby dust to u sweetie & myself *hugs*

hi schnappi, how shd the man "bu"? we just started seeind sinseh , tking TCM and i occassionaly feed him vitamin and omega pill. my hubby tadpole's head got 95% defect. doc ask him to do surgery but i wonder if it can be avoided. i have been taking dong cong cao but PCOs and endo not giving me a good chance to conceive and maintain the baby. doc say my secretion mucus too poisonous unless i do another lapro. not prepare for another surgery so soon.. past 10mth been hospitalise 3 times about 50 days liao i so paiseh to be on hosp leave again sigh...

Hi createjoy,

u poor thing! it's good tat both u & hubby r seeing sinseh. Taking TCM is effective but it takes time, at least 6 months or so. Have u seek a 2nd opinion regarding ur condition? How long have u been ttc? It's important to "bu" our bodies first b4 we decide to go for infertility treatments. If not, waste of time & $ & not to say all the stresses & anxiety that follows. As how to "bu", ur sinseh will advise u accordingly. My hubby's morphology also no good & gynae said it's due to stress. My hubby is taking supplements to tackle his problem. I guess we have to be patient. Maybe it's not the right time yet.

Hi createjoy,

sorry for being lor soh but i feel u should go for 2nd opinion 'cos some gynaes i feel r out to take advantage by giving wrong diagnosis to make more $.

This is my first post here. i just started my journey with Dr SF Loh at KKH. Wondering if anyone here was being prescribe with Metformin together with Clomid? I feel i get tired throughout the day and have diaherra everyday or alternate. Is it normal?

Hi schnappi, ya i going to see my frd's doc at MT E a fertility doc also. see if his advise is the same as my dco at gleneagle. sometime i think they ask pple operate as a fastest result-oriented solution but not a must lor... sigh dunno lah dun wanna put hubby into operation unless he keen. but i think i gotta prep for another lapro .. since last 2 week i seems to get more pain at the lower back. according to doc is my blood remain at uterus and infect it causing it to swell & pain.

i hope after lapro can tk clomid to overcm PCO prob & get preg.. but i think will be another 6 mth later then can tcc liao sigh... 28 liao hoping to be mum this yr.. if didnt misc either one of my bb would have given birth liao.. what a twist of fate!

Createjoy,
Who is ur doc from Gleneagles? Which sinsey u go to? Actually, i prefer to take TCM to increase sperm morphology & count. Createjoy, ur only 28, still so young..be patient okie? There's a time & place for everything. For me, i have no problems but i never conceive b4.

Hi all, we've been TTC for more than a yr after my boy turns 1 now he's 2.5yrs. we did 5 IUI all w clomid but failed, so now we're on our 6th try via IVF at raffles hospital, apparently my doc is very good n accurate in dates n treatment, dr Sheila Loh. she advised TCM now we're gg thru acupunture n chinese med, IVF booster treatment of 5 acupunture is only $350 which is quite good price compared to the TCM outside, we sense great change in our body especially for me, i'm said to be too weak to get preggy. IVF avg cost is $12k n $6k can be taken from medisave if u have left some. i hope this may is successful for us n i hope all of u too get good news. I'm glad I found this site as I'm able to read abt wat is happening ard me gives me great comfort that i'm not the only one. thanks. best wishes for all