SUPPORT GROUP - INFERTILTY

Cheerbear
oic. Male doc. He is a fertility doc. He heads the TMC Fertility clinic. Anyway, don't worry too much okie. Take care!

Need some advise here. Can clomid help to produce more than 1 egg during ovulation? My gynae will be prescibing me medication for me to have more than 1 egg during ovulation to increase my chances and I forgot to ask what is the name of the medication.

Thanks for responding to my post.

Koori, I am planning to see a fertility specialist but just don't know who to go to. Has anyone tried doctors in the Gleneagles Annexe building- can't remember names?

Ms. Blur, I know what u're going thru'. Tho' HSG is an option, its not as thorough as lap.scopy and hence he suggested that I go for a lap.scopy. I'm just not mentally ready for that yet.
Am considering doing an HSG and then IUI unless the doc suggests something else. I just need to find a doc!! Help!

Good luck to all those who are ttc. My prayers are with you all.

Suman

Been TTC-ing for the last 5mths. This will be my 6th mth trying. Been to Dr Xia at EYS for 2mths. My 3rd mth with her now. My BBT has always been very low ranging from 35.8-35.9 before O and ard 36.39-36.6 after O. The worst thing is, my LP is only 11days. Dr Xia suspects that my hormones are not enought to trigger a release of the eggs. Anybody has the same symptoms?

Hi Suman,

there is fertility doc at Gleneagles - Dr LC foong. Not sure if he is good, but u can check out one of the threads about him. I have just gone through HSG - it's a procedure to check if your fallopian tubes are blocked. If they are, will have to go for laproscopy....

Now i m wondering what is the next course of action as my tubes are not blocked. My gynae is bound to ask me to try another round of IUI. Anyone tried IUI and successful???

trying,

if ur tubes are not blocked then doc will usualli ask u to do a blood test on day 23(for pple with 30 days cycle) to make sure u r ovaluting. then if u r not, then doc will give u clomid. even if u r, some doc will still give clomid so help a better ovulation so can increase the chances of preg.

u tried iui b4? at where? tmc? can i know the charges? u r under which doc? sorri for all these qns.. me thinking to try iui too

Hi Cheerbear,

Sorry for delay in my response. Very busy with work. I have been on 6 cycles of clomid and tried IUI. Chances of being successful for IUI is abt 15%. My gynae did not do a blood test on me cos thru the monitoring and regular ultrascan, i have very mild PCOS. Also, since i respond to clomid, means my PCOS is not that serious.

I did mine at gleneages. Cost of IUI is about $400 (max) including the washing of sperms.

Normally, IUI is suggested when the husband's sperm quality is not that good. Did ur hubby go for checks yet?

hey suman,

i was wif dr charles mp lim of mt e.was ttc-ing for about 3 years plus without result. also tried tcm in the process but to no avail. however, i tried so-iui with dr lim in feb/mar this year and was successful 1st time round. i had 3 injections to stimulate egg growth and an iui following that. am now about 7 months preggie with my daughter. his number is 67373666.

don't give up ladies! try cordyceps too (for both u and hubby). it works for me and hubby. also, please get your hubbies to bath his "jewels" in cold water and avoid bathing in hot water. get him to take vit e from gnc every morning. Good luck! sprinkle lots of baby dust on you!

to add on... i also had a laproscopy done 1 year b4 my iui due to severe endo. was under a different doc then.

Hi I am new here. Have been TTC for 6 months now and went to see gynea after having vagina bleeding even though after menses, which started only this cycle. Very depressed after get diagnos for polycystic ovary though I hv no syndrome at all. At the same time through ultrasound my gynea told me there's endometrial polyp as well. I am reading through internet and so glad that I found a support group here in Singapore website. What should I do next? My gynea ask me to go for ovary drilling straight and removal of polyp whithout even going for further testing. Is this suppose to be like that? She just did ultrasound and decide straight on surgery. No words of console and sound very cold. No mention on risk of operations. Just mention the cost of surgery. Sigh... Are all gyneas like that? Is it due to they have seen so many patients with different problems that they have become heartless?
Anyone with similiar problems? Can advice what should I do next?

Hi Toey

Which gynae are you with? If you are not comfortable with what she has suggested, i suggest seek a second opinion. And always leave surgery to the last resort when its really proven that surgery is required.

You know ... for me, i went thru a total of 3 gynaes, all in the infertility field before deciding the ultimate. So its important to be really sure of your case before you do anything major. Cos you wont want to waste $ or time if you really dont need those surgery so much.

And ultrasound alone sure wont be convincing. Did you do any blood tests to assess hormones?

hi there...been away for a while..just don't wanna think bout TTC...but that doesn't help for me...was on clomid for 4 cycles...all in total for about 2yrs..then metformin..did ovarian drilling last Feb...as i don't have my menses for sooooo looongg....and still AF never come..therefore no menses till aug...so no ovulation...just went back to see my doc...and last resort..IVF!!! i'm scared..what should i do? is this it?i really wanna have a baby...i'm only 25yrs..doc says since i'm young chance for success for IVF is very high..

hi maplebabies,
Thanks for your advice! But would like to ask some questions, which fertility doctor did you approach? Is the doctor good with PCOS? Sorry for asking so many questions. But I am at total lost now on what's the next step to do. Thanks again.
The gynea suggested that I go for blood test today. What does blood test do? She just tell that blood test can check my hormone level. No further detail explanation. I was thinking how to tell from blood test that I am PCOS?
Really confused.

Hi Toey

I started with Dr Fong Yang (private) then Dr Fong Chuan Wee (private at GlenE) and now Dr SF Loh (KKIVF). They are all fertility specialists. Preferably to see a fertility specialist not a normal gynae as fertility specialist knows best where to sniff for potential problems.

Then for a thorough check, usually ultrasound followed by day 2 hormone blood test and womb xray (HSG). Ultrasound to check if your womb got any structural defects or blockage. I found my adenomyosis from there and thats where your gynae found your polyp too. But sometimes scan not clear also can give wrong diagnosis thats why i say if in doubt, seek a 2nd opinion.

Blood tests to see if your hormones ok. If hormones ok, likely you can ovulate. Or if not ok, doc may recommend fertility drugs. Or you can try TCM to improve the hormones.

HSG mainly to see if tubes blocked. Cos if tubes blocked then no matter how you try also wont work cos egg cant meet sperm. If blocked, doc may suggest laprascopy to open it or IVF.

Lastly, you may want to get your hubby to do an SA to see if his sperms ok.

With regards to PCOS, the above ultrasound and blood test results must gel to conclude. Ie.must see pearl necklaced like formation on ovaries and blood test should show LH higher than FSH. On top of that, do you have irregular menses? Are you overweight and hairy? Cos all these present then can conclude PCOS. If some criteria not met, likely no PCOS or if have, very very mild PCOS.

My case: FSH and LH equal, menses very regular and i am not overweight but 1 ovary look PCOS so i am diagnosed as mild PCOS.

Maybe your gynae intend to explain only when your results are out.

hi maplebabies,
really appreciate your prompt reply!! Very informative and helpful to me... Now at least I know what to do next and not felling despair like end of the world. Really thanks a lot... At least now I know that not all PCOS can be severe, ur condition really giving me hope now that I might be ovulating...

I have regular menses, not overweight, not hairy. I think maybe you are right, my gynea want to wait till after my blood test then tell me about it. She said something like MIGHT be PCOS and ask me to go for blood test today. How long will blood test takes usually? I am so anxious now... Keep on browsing internet on PCOS.. The more I read the more afraid I become. But I can't seem to match PCOS with my condition whereby I have none of the syndrom at all but internet say it's not uncommon for one to have PCO but with no PCOS syndrome but anovulatary. My heart sank after I read that statement. I really hope that I am ovulating... Praying hard now... She is saying that I should test my hormone during day 23 onwards since my cycle is usually ~30-32 days. What's the reason for this? keke... asking you so many questions again.. pai seh...
Is there any one of the doctors Dr Fong Yang (private, Dr Fong Chuan Wee (private at GlenE) and now Dr SF Loh (KKIVF) female? I prefer female coz feel awkward with male doctor. Which one do you recomend? Any TCM to recomend as well? I am thinking of going to Eu Ren Sheng this weekend, but don't know which sensei is good with infertility.

Will keep u updated once I receive my blood test result. Then plan for the next steps... One step at a time...

Cheers to this support group that is helping many future mummies not to give up hope!

Hi Toey

Since you dont have all the symptoms, maybe yours is mild PCOS, same as me. Maybe your gynae did see some pearl necklace like formation on the ovary but also see that you dont have other symptoms, so want to use blood test to ascertain. The blood test on CD23 is to further confirm whether you ovulate on your own and if you do, all the more so that you are just mild PCOS. Blood test generally take a day or two to get ready results.

Well, the good news is PCOS can be overcome by using clomid and/or metformin. Maybe she will recommend you for these soon.

The 3 doctors i mentioned are all males. I know what you mean. In fact i feel paiseh myself. In only a year, my private part has been seen by so many males and so many times, haiz ...

hi maplebabies,
collected my pap smear result yesterday. No cancerous cells! At least I clear my pap smear

When I ask further, then only the gynea told me that I didn't fufill all PCOS syndrome (hairy,obese,irregular menses) so she ask for further blood test on CD23 to test on my progestrone level. Just like what you mentioned. She should have told me earlier. Sigh. I think you are more informative and assurance than her.

She asked whether I hv any ovulation symtom for this cycle. I told her I've seen cervical mucus with egg-white like formation. She said good. Hopefully I am really ovulating...

Then she said I definitely need to remove endometrial polyp coz will hv high M/C chances. She said since I am going for GA to do this surgery might as well I go for a Laparoscopy to check for any blockage. I thought checking of blockage no nid GA one? Then she also suggested that if my ovulation test fail, I should go for ovary drilling at the same time. Sounds scary... drilling...

Back to fertility doctor, I feel the same way like opening my private part in front of male doctor... Abit uncomfortable... But if no choice then have to bare with it... And you brave ger already did tat. I should be able to do that too!

Hi Toey

Ok, thats good. At least now u know what you are getting yourself up for. If you have been seeing EWCM, then chances are you are ovulating. So the next thing is to check tubes. Guess your gynae want to kill 2 birds with 1 stone thats why suggest do both. But ovarian drilling, abit extreme leh. I wont consider that unless very necessary. Aiyo ...

Hi maplebabies,

yup yup. at least now I know what are the options and don't feel so despair anymore. I was thinking I need to be relax and happy in order for my hormones to work right? So now must try to think of happy things and wait and pray everything's ok.

I was thinking drilling is very very scary ler... Read somewhere from internet if the surgery not done properly might hv ovary failure. Means no chance to conceive even through IVF after that.

I am staring to do yoga nowadays, try to relax. keep myself busy on work, going out... Coz I am that kind of person that always think of the -ve things. I think you can guess by my prev posting.

Wonder what else can I do now to keep my spirit up and work towards my goal of TTC. Any suggestions?

Haiz ... Toey, i am just like you. Always thinking of the worst and a super duper worry Queen!

Ya, try to relax if possible. My only suggestion is to try exercising as well, like do favourite sports ... mine are swimming, cycling ... so that can be relaxed yet stay fit!

Good luck gal, press on and we should be able to succeed hor?!

Hi, hubby and I have just recently consulted a fertility sepcialist, since we have been TTC for the last 6 months+ & had no success. I have always have my regular menses of 28 days but, the doc gave me 1-course of clomid and did an ultrasound and the result was pretty normal (seemed to be ovulating). Hubby did sperm test too & found that the normal shape of the sperm is below average of 14%. Anyway, after 1 course of clomid & calculating ovulation time, still no success and doc recommended to do HSG scan. May I know if anyone done HSG scan before? Is that the usual test to do? Any major risks involved? Contemplating to do that or not...

Hello all, This is my first post, although I have been an avid reader for a while.
My husband has severe teratozoospermia with normal forms of less than 1% reported by his SA in Apr. I was seeing Dr SF Loh of KK, he told us not to worry as less than 1% does not mean 0% & it only takes 1 to make the difference.
However I feel that statistically, less then 1% means so little that it is negligble by the lab techician cannot confirm that there is none without counting all cells in the sample. That's why thee are reports of 0.5%.
From the previous posts, I read that Dr Loh seems an advocte of IVI/IVF. He told us to keep trying. My husband tried to discuss with him abt the seriousness of this condition from web searches & Dr Loh told him not to believe everything he reads online. My DH then asked if there is any supplements to take & Dr Loh then said he will prescribe some "herbal medicine" which turned out to be Tribestan. Incidently this tribestan aids sperm count not morphology.
From the posts, Dr Loh also seems approchable & responsive. In person, he is assuring but he does not respond to repeated emails. This was regarding viewing of our medical report before the appt. Personally, I do not have much faith in him or maybe most western doctors are like that; waiting to turn up the IVF/ IUI card on the table.
Anyway, my husband's SA this month showed 3% normal forms for morphology. This was after a barage of anti-oxidents, which we researched on the web. Not bad from a less than 1% to 3%, more than 300% improvement.

Bliss,

I did HSG in end Aug. Its quite a painful procedure. They will insert something into the v and release some dye. And then take x-ray. If tubes are clear, dye will flow out, if not it'll be stuck. The procedure is mainly to check on ay blockage to the tube. I did it at Gleneagles and cost about $300. It takes about less than 20 minutes.

hi felicia,

may i know what are the med or vitamin you hubby taking now ? my hubby having same problem, dr loh prescribe us tribestan too ! thanks...

Hi KBC & Rabbit,
My HB switched brands of his regular vitamins & boosted his intake. What he takes is the normal Vit C, E, B & Beta Carotene. I also added CQ10, Salmon Oil, Calcium. He did some research online & found that Glutatione, Alpha L Acid, Lycopene & Selenium are good too. We trust vitamins as we're tackling his problem at cellular level, using supplements to aid the body's natural healing abilities.
We'll be having the 3rd SA & hope there's further improvement.

Thanks Felicia,

my hb is currently taking multi-vatimin, not too whether it help ! anyway i m starting my so-iui soon, hope situation turn bright.

Hi Felicia,

what type of brand of the multi vits is ur husband taking? isit a MLM product?
hope you can share the name but if it is not convinient, can PM me

ToyCollector,

Sorry for being so late in my reply. Not sure if you will get to read this but I am currently doing my IVF. Supposed to do it earlier but got delayed so only starting now.

How are things with you? How is Dor?

Hellooo Jade

dor is going to deliver in feb 08..u can find her in mums to be feb 2008.. pl update me the gd news ok.. well i am thinking of so iui but the dr say to do the tests first so again to do HSG and ultrasound to check if i have any eggs etc..

take care!!

hi ToyCollector,

Great to hear from you. All the best to you as well. Which doc are you seeing?

I did 1 cycle of SO-IUI before as well. It is easier than IVF. Chances are higher than IUI as well. :) Hope to hear good news from you soon.

Must congratulate Dor. Happy for her. :) Must drop a mesg for her at Mum-to-be Feb 2008.

I am on my puregon jabs and will progress to ER probably next week. Hopefully i have good news to bring to you.

Pls take care!

hi Koori,

Been feeling down since yesterday. Went for the scan and found only 12 follicles and out of the 12 only 6 are of a better size. Have not taken into consideration if they are empty sacs and if they can be fertilised.

Sigh...nurse tries to console me by saying that all it takes is 1 good embryo. Dun even know if I can get that. She told me if I come back again, I can get a higher dosage - currently I am only on 200IU. I felt so sad. Suddenly my entire month of efforts seem to be going down the drain. Sigh..........

hi Tub, Koori and Toy_Collector,

Many thanks for your warm encouragement. I hope to bring some good news to the sisters on this forum too.

Anyhow, I just had my ET this morning. God bless and I managed to have 8 fertilised embryos. Transferred 3 in and will be in my 2ww. Babydust to all of us here.

Toy_collector, how is your blood test and when are u starting on ur SO-IUI? Are you with KK Dr Loh?

hellooo jade- all the best to u... i will be doing hsg this friday.. I have just read a gd new from 1 of the mummies who tired ivf recently..hope to hear yours soon..i m doing so iui and by Dr yu from sgh

HSg is to put a dye thru the tubes to check any blockage- did that few yrs ago.. well need to do all the test then the dr will decide ivf or so-iui...do take care and share your gd news with me...