(2013) ivf/icsi mummies Support group

Sade: thks fir the recommendation. It is the first time I hear of hipseat. I go check it out.

Reikibaby: oh I see. What is the advantage of chickenpox vaccines ? The nurse didn't explain to us.

Hi Koirc, sade, lil, I'm not getting a replacement maid for the time being. Will destress for a while. I'm currently a full-time SAHM for a few mths. Will take care of bb till I really get back to workforce, then may try to put her at my mum's place for a while. My MIL is last option as she doesn't want to take care of bb she just want to help watch out for the maid. Moreover, her other DIL is giving birth soon, so she'll be busy taking care of this DIL's 3 kids.
Think my bb will have better care in infant care than with her.

Reikibaby, the pd has vaccine package?!! My bb with take the pneumococcal jab during next visit I think.

Dian tang, I bought it the last time through my friend who was doing bulk purchase then.

Bb, I guess babies have their own preferences too.

The haze is getting very bad. What do you ladies do to protect bb? Use air purifier?

I let bb sleep in aircon last night and he hasn't wake up! I dunno if I shld wake him up! :S

Znatasha, do what is best for you. Actually I feel infant care is ok cos there are some that will play with bb to train motor skills development etc. I would put bb in infant care to solve the grandmothers rivalry problem. But my mum can't bear to let bb go infant care at such young age.

My MIL is here again today and totally annoys me. Argh!

Precious baby, I roll the tip of tissue paper and slowly remove. That's what CL taught me.

Koirc: I so envy. My girl has to wake up every 2-3hrs at nite. Sometime carry for pple to carry n walk her ard. I am so tired.

Znatasha, personally I feel there is nothing wrong with infant care. Infact I was planning to put my boys there too. Although somehow is true that they just let your baby cries there etc but I see it as a tough way to train the baby up! Anyway, do what is best for you and you think is the best for your baby.

Precious baby, my pd gave me nasal spray and asked us to use wer cotton bud and dig out the mucus.. Be gentle as their nose is still small n shallow.

This morning is only ME looking after my 2 boys.. So far so good. They are corporative with me. Haha!

Mummies, can I ask do you all give your baby pacifier? I feel very bad/guilty to give one to mine.. But it can really calm them down and sometime go to sleep easily..

Saralyn, i gv my boy pacifier since d1 when he home.. then at 2.5mth he decided that pacifier doesnt taste as good as his chubby fingers so nw he rejects it. Why are you feeling guilty abt giving pacifier?

Reiki, coz when I first gave to my boy, my mil wasn't too happy and made some remarks which I didn't like it.. And a lot of my friends did not give too saying is bad for them.. it gives me an impression that we as a parents can't settle our own baby and have to resort to pacifier.. That's why I feel bad..

Your boy is so cute! Warn off himself!!

Saralyn, I gave my gal pacifier too. Don't need to feel guilty. After all they will wean off when they are older and since it calms them down then I feel it's ok. Happy baby also equals to happy mummy!

Reiki I went to see dr loh yest finally got clearance to exercise! Yeah! Feels so funny lei kind of miss visiting him Wahaha.

Koirc. I use air purifier. Just bought the day before when haze started to get serious. Today's reading at 11am is 103. Dun want to let bb be exposed to the bad air. Put him in Aircon room with purifier. Sort of confined him. I am worried the air will be bad to his lungs. Yesterday I put him in living rm. open air with purifier coz no air con. Today, think to be safe, just dun exposé him.

Babysmurf, how old is bb now? My bb went through that too!

Saralyn, I also gave bb pacifier. Like Reikibaby's bb, my bb now prefers his fingers. The lactation consultant will ask not to give pacifier in case of nipple confusion and some bb experts believe that it will cause orthodontist problems in future. There's even an article I read that says it will impede speech esp in baby boys. But I still give cos it calms him down and once he falls asleep, we'll take it out. Just ensure no prolong use. Also pacifier is easier to wean off than fingers/thumb.

Usagi, my aircon has purifying function but I don't think it's enough. So you also bought Sharp?

Thanks hope and koirc, it feels good to come here and talk to you all.. Now I can let my boys use the pacifier guilt free! Haha. I actually try not to give for one of my boy till today coz he keeps crying and need people to carry.. So I decided to try pacifier on him and he actually calm down and stay on the bed all the time and even sleep on his own. It such a great improvement!
so happy now.

Koirc: heehee my girl another 2days to 1mths. But my mum keep comparing to my sis's 2 sons n my cousin's. said they manage to let their baby sleep thru the nite when they are abt 3-4wks old lol. N keep commenting on how I take care of my girl. I am her mummy of cos want the best for her la.

Babysmurf, your bb still small lah. Haha...

Today I am the bitchy DIL. MIL came this morning then asked why we let bb sleep in aircon. Don't let it become a habit. Eh, the haze is so bad she expects bb to inhale the polluted air instead?!! Pissed off. Then just now she carried bb to sleep and she fell asleep with bb in her arms. So bb slept in her arms for an hour or so. Then I told her next time bb sleep already put him in the cot or on the bed. She said put down already he cries. I told her if he cries then we just have to keep trying. Otherwise it will become a HABIT! Then who is going to carry him to sleep all the time? It will be me lor! I don't care already. Really put my patience to the max. Bleh!

Hi mummies was reading with interest when there was some discussion earlier on abt how to pump handsfree. I didn't even realise there is this issue since I've not delivered. Anyway did some research n other than buying special bras found some easy diy methods. Not sure if it's helpful.

Mummies, tks for the advise.

Whiteclover, i using sinomarin also, today the 2nd day, but the hard macus still stuck inside the nose.

Koirc, my boy slps in aircon rm every night. With the hot weather and haze, i cant take it liao...let alone a baby. Haha
Im always the bitchy DIL. ^5

Hi mummies, just went for my first trimester screening. Some called it Oscar. Fetal scan is fine. Can see bb so active jumping around. So nice and happy. However when combined with blood test results, the hcg was alright. Just that the pppa-a blood test considered low at 0.4. Thus it puts me at higher risk of 1:114. A bit worried. We hv decided to go for amnio at 16 weeks. Hopefully I can tahan these few weeks till jul 22. Anyone of you had done this?

Koirc, another exactly the same thing happened between me and my inlaw! Haha! I always see them carrying with the baby sleeping and I will say, "please put them down". During that time when we had an argument, my mil said me.. Saying I ask them not to carry them but yet I use the baby sling to carry.. Isn't that the same as hand carry.. Sigh..

I really wonder why is always DIL and MIL having so many issues..

Saralyn, same ting happen to me. I was carrying baby to sleep then mil ask me dun carry, put him dwn else wait he habit. Cos before that i ask dh to tell her not to shake her leg while carry baby as we dun have the habit to do tat and i dun wan to shake leg just becos mil started it. So i told mil, things i do, i am willing to bear the consequences cos probably im used to it and dun mind doing...but things others do and baby gets a hang of it and i dun do..im not willing to accept it cos im probably not used to doing it....if you get what im trying to say. Haha

Reiki, yup.. Understand.. Just like I want to give them pacifier.. I will bare the "consequence" of weaning them off in the later stage..

I really don't understand.. Why is it always with mil.. Haha!

Sorry to intrude but I need some help...

I'm looking for a maid urgently n read abt some of u with agency contacts. Can PM me the contacts if possible? TIA!

Precious baby, most of time, it comes out within half an hr, faster when she sneezes or cries or flips over. Spray in semi upright or upright position and don't let her lie flat immediately after spraying.

For hard type, sometimes it comes out the second time I spray (as in evening). My baby prone to nose block so every morning even if cannot see the snot, I spray.

Whiteclover, i fellow the instruction as indicated in the leaflet, lie my bb on the bed, turn her head to the right side and spray it on her left nose and repeat for the right nose, bb cry whenever i spary on it but nothing came out, will try ur way tomorrow morning

Reiki, Sade and Bb, thanks for your feedback regarding febm. I tested one packet of febm on baby today. Thought better to test now before I store a whole lot and have to discard in the end. Wow, the smell was so bad that I felt so guilty giving it to baby. The funny thing was that baby didn't seem to mind and drank the whole bottle down. But a short while later he was fussy so we are not sure if its febm related or it is his night time fussiness that he gets once in a while. Since I was already feeling guilty, I kept thinking maybe baby has stomach ache from the milk! Anyway, the logical conclusion is to try it out again another day and see if we get a consistent result.

This haze is crazy. Our apt has been on lockdown since Sunday. We even put a towel under our front door so no haze gets in. Thank goodness, we have been putting baby sleep in aircon room since Day 1. Otherwise he will be so hot.

Koirc, instead of mil trouble (as in laws live overseas), I have problem with my mum. Basically I just find her so unsupportive and critical yet doesn't help at all because she says she doesn't know how to look after baby and won't carry as have no confident. Don't know why these mother/mil can't be more supportive and encouraging as we are already going through so much. Anyway, trying not to let her affect me.

2 more days on our own before CL returns for another month. Can't wait!!

My goodness, the haze was so bad last night PSI went up to 321? I went shopping and supposed to go dinner with my friends but just crossing the road from Isetan Scotts side to Liat Tower, my eyes were so stinging! Decided to go home instead. Went home and saw that PSI shot up to 290. Told my hubby to close all windows and on aircon. Didn't know it went up to 321 at 10pm until I saw news this morning. This haze is really going from bad to worse.

Ladies I went to best at compasspoint yesterday.. Almost all air purifier is out of stock except the most exp one! Tomorrow my dh and I will go around SG to look for one. The air is really very bad now.

Babysmurf, from what I know, we are not encourage to give them water.. Because it will fill up their stomach and will not take in milk and thus, less nutrient..

Lil, you did well! Jiayou! 2 more days!!

I am so annoyed with MIL again. She came and asked why we let bb sleep in aircon again. Won't become a habit meh? Eh, yesterday's PSI is in hazardous range leh! Now bb sleeping in the room and I turned off aircon in living room. She hurried into the room and enjoy the aircon too. So why can't bb be in aircon? I am getting very prejudiced towards her. How ah? I can't wait for tomorrow... my mum's turn to take care of bb!

Btw, anyone knows where to get the N95 masks? Heard it's all sold out.

Koirc,
I got the basic purifier with ionizer effect at 199 from courts on Monday. Considered very lucky, didn't know haze started to worsen from Monday to psi 155.

Saralyn, so bad ah. I was thinking get another purifier for my sis room. I only bought one that day for my parents as bb sleeps with them. Last night 321 was dangerous. I felt like I am breathing poisonous gas. Even my eyes sting this morning.

Congrats psp! Enjoy motherhood and rest well..

Usagi, ya.. I'm quite shocked too. Wanted to get one since the haze is so bad but don't have..

Koirc, what's wrong with them sleeping in aircon room? My mil is so opps of yours in this aspect. She keeps wanting to on aircon for them.. Actually I don't let my boys sleep in aircon room but these few days is so hot and the haze. Is better to let them sleep in aircon room..

Psp: congrats! Rest well

Koirc: infact bb sleep better in aircon . Dun bother abt her la.. The air is so super no good yester night. Let ur DH deal with her .