(2013) ivf/icsi mummies Support group

Thank you for the advice On leaky boobs, BB and Sade! Think I need to use the disposable breast pads.

Small Bunny, for twins, tend to come out about 2+ kg so can use NB size for some time. My girls were born about 2.2kg each, 3 weeks later, about 3.3/3.5kg and used 11 packets of Huggies NB size which have become tight around their thighs. We also switched to cloth nappies in the day for one week cos of diaper rash. Now, going to use Pampers NB size (was a gift) and Goon NB size which is still too big.
Think you might want to consider if babies would be suitable for the type of disposables you are stocking up on. If I had known Huggies was not appropriate for my twins and might be a contributing factor to their diaper rash, I never would have stocked up so much on that brand!

Hi Lil, how awful!! That's v v v bad service by the CL you booked! My CL is part if a group of CLs and the practice is that they would always cover for one another, even if for one week, never leaving the client without CL service, esp not for a week! Did you book through an agency? If so, you might want to see what they can do in this situation. Now we are in the confinement period some more and need to take care of ourselves even more....it's not right for the CL to leave you for one week alone. Re the maid, do you want my agency contact? It's largely due to luck (whether the maid is good) but my maid is really good so far. The agency owner goes to Philippines to interview and select the maids, and they go to a training centre b4 they come to SG. He's got a good variety of maids and was highly recommended. In fact when I was there selecting my maid, a customer sitting in his shop, told me she has always gone through him and been satisfied with the service.

Ugh I missed my 3am pumping yet again. Only crawled out of bed at 5.30am. Sigh. Saralyn, admire you and your hubby taking care of your twins full time and breastfeeding.. I have stopped night duties since the CL came and am still wiped out daily. I even extended my CL for an additional 2 months and am now interviewing full time live in nannies to stay with me and take care of the girls with my maid till 2 years old at least. My hubby just not willing to do night duty, really envy those with more hands on husbands.

Babysmurf if the white residue is thick n can't be removed, esp if there is some on lips or sides of mouth, do check whether it's oral thrush. Hope it's not.

Mofmm, yes, pls start using breast pad.. When my milk starts to leak during bath I do the same as bb.. During the initial period, I didn't know and I went out without breast pads.. While I was outside it started to leak and my tshirt is stained!! Is so embarrassing so pls start using breast pad..

My husband wants to be hand on but somehow I think guys are more stiff and babies don't really like it.. Anyway he gave up after one night shift and we are still thinking how when our help is gone..

I also wish to have a CL or a full time nanny to look after my boys.. But at the same time I don't wish too coz I want to be there for them too.. Think I reaching my max energy already. I need to take a break and go for my long overdue massage, facial and mani pedi.. I told my husband one of these days he will have to take leave n look after while I go out..

Sade, thanks for sharing the link. Will try to plop baby's chest up a little to see if that will help.

Yesterday I recorded bb's voice. Left bb at my parents' place. Went home and kept playing the voice recording and missed him so much. I came early morning wanna be with him during bath time but who knows he poos when he woke up so my mum just bathed him. Waiting for his next playtime to play with him.

Dian tang, it's actually just a thermos flask with a huge cover that you pour hot water into n then put the bottle into the cover. I guess it's the same as bringing thermos flask n cup separately. But I find it useful as not so many items to bring out. It fits all bottles. I've also seen mummies use a thermos flask with a neck wide enough to put in a bottle?

koirc I also miss my bb when I m back to work. bb grows up n changes a lot during first yr. so now I m treasuring the moments. almost 5months now, n soon she will start solids, sit up, turn, crawls.... lot of milestones to meet during first yr. n will be more n more busy n challenging.

Bb: thks. It sound useful. Maybe I get one too

Now with the free shipping from amazon, not too ex - USD19.90. Unfortunately I bought just before the free shipping was announced!

The foogo thermos that whiteclover mentioned looks good for warming bottles too.

Sade, ya. Sometimes I feel bad leaving bb with my mum. When I get home, I will feel so empty and missing bb. But doing that ocassionally really helps me keep my sanity and give me some rest.

I just met up with a friend whose kids are already in Primary sch. May I just say that I feel a little upset. People whose kids have grown up forgot how tough it is to take care of a newborn. The kind of stress we have to go through as new mums. And then make comments like I am the stupidest and kiasu mum.

MofMM thks for the advise. I'm also worried that they might not do well w a particular brand so I have pampers n goon supplies in nb and s. Figured these are safer brands as I don't seem to see many pp complaining abt these 2 brands.

Mofmm, ya my CL situation is not ideal but it's okay. Rather than being upset about it and spoil my mood/sanity, I'm seeing the positive side of the situation. Now I get to spend more time with my baby
When CL is around she will always rush me back to my room to rest and ask me to leave baby alone when he cries. Now I can be with baby all I want! I didn't get CL from agency. The original CL is through a friend's friend and my current replacement CL is the friend of my original CL. Ya, it's complicated. Ha ha! Anyway, it's okay, My DH is around over the weekend and has taken a day off next week. On the other days, I've asked my auntie to come and help out so everything should be good. Fingers crossed!

Thanks for your offer of maid agency contact. PSP also gave me her contact but yes please, the more the better. Please send me the details. Thanks! By the way, it's better that I choose a maid who is married with kids right? Then she will have experience with babies?

Sade, thanks for the tummy time link. That is very useful. Didn't know that we can start small with new born too!

Mummies, do you find that night time/wee hours of morning pumps yields less milk than day time? It's always around 30-40ml less. I wonder if this is normal.

Lil ponyo: my cl was like that too. I also feel sad that I can't be with bb. But it is their duties to take care of bb while u rest for this month . Now without cl, we are so busy and tired .

Dian tang & mofmm, thanks for the no to call for appt.. I called and mofmm you are right! Appt is so late. She managed to find one slot for me for tomorrow.. So I'm going tomorrow for the hep b 2nd dose.. Just wondering.. The appt is quite late.. If I go earlier is it ok? Coz my dh need to work..

Lil, glad you have your aunt to come over to help up. Remember to take care of yourself too during those days. Don't over tired yourself..

I don't pump in the day.. Normally if I pump is always after nursing my boys so my yields is always very low in the day..

Koirc: don't listen to what other said. U already going your best for your baby.
Even my mum stress me lol. Compare me to my 8yrs old nephew. Said he do a better job in taking care of my girl. Said once nevermind my mum like telling the whole wide world. Compare me to my sis now compare me to my nephew. Arrgh.

I finally removed most of my girl's white residue on her tongue. Have to be more rough on her. Hahaha yesterday nite my sil visit us n touch my girl's face. This morning her face got red red patches n like pimples. Heart pain lol. Itchy hand. Told her cannot touch still can reply me wash her already what.

Small bunny: prepare diaper cream. Try this Burt bee diaper cream. Is gd. I applied thin layer on my girl's butt Everytime I change her diaper. So far she is okie with every brand. No diaper rashes issues.

Sade: my cousin help me buy at Chinatown. I think at level 3. 85g one she bought 2tubes aunty give discount. 2 for $33.

Babysmurf, ppl just like to compare lor. But they never think of how difficult it is for new mums like us. Like we need to cope with so many changes in our lives.

Anyway, I just went for post natal yoga. Most people bring their babies but I didn't. I don't dare to bring baby out by myself. Any of you brought baby out alone? Can share how you do it?

Hi lil, fr my experience it's really better to get a married with kids helper. Got more experience but again it depends on how caring the maid is. I've 2 maids Both single one hired to take care of my mum she is more caring towards old and young. The Philipino one i hired to take care of my baby just told me she got no experience and she would just do the cleaning of house and Nothing like take care of baby. Always have to remind her to change diaper. Most of the time she nap or read papers in her room. So i decided to transfer her out. To maintain my sanity else got to watch out for the males she attracted to my place.

Znatasha, you mean your maid can tell you what she wants to do? I thought we will be setting the job for her..

Dian tang, ok.. Let me try tomorrow and let you all know. Haha!

Znatasha, your maid has a better life. You know my neighbour said some maids really have good life. If you live in private property, they also live in private property. If you have a car, they sit in your car and you still have to be their driver. And if you go to work, they have very little to do at home esp those with schooling kids. My colleague's maid can take nap somemore while my colleague is at work!

Lil, what nationality are you looking for? This is the first time I've hired a maid and I must say the agency is pretty good and I am very pleased with my maid. We video interviewed her.

Koric, my maid indeed has better life than me. She sleeps fr 9 to 630am. Take the backseat in my car while i drive. Take nap in my presence and read magazine or Newspaper while i tend to my kid. I tend to my kid during night and day got no time to read the papers but she has so much time that she can even trim her eyebrow. She will purposely get herself busy at time when baby needs feeding or changing so I'll have to do... Really a pain and eyesore ard the house...

Saralyn, I hire her and told her that she'll be taking care of kid. But she acted inexperience and don't want to touch soiled diaper, so i won't dare to let her handle baby...

What a morning. My parents not free to help me babysit. I thought got hubby but alas he needs to work. I can only pump now when bb had his milk n poo. He is now very happy, dun need my hugs. But I am 4.5 hrs interval le.

Ladies, tonight I going mayday concert. U all think if I pump in car, can the fridge to go bag endure so long ah. Suppose start at 8pm n end Ard 11+ but hor to go n come back also need time. I thinking I must pump in car somehow leh. I Am very scare of hard breasts.

Sade, BB: Thanks for the tips regarding thermos and fridge to go for storing milk outside. Will check them out.

Totally agree going out with bb now is like a big operation. So many things to carry. Have to check and recheck to ensure nothing is left out.

Koirc: During tummy time, you can talk to her to encourage her to lift up her head. When bb hear your voice, will be curious and try to lift up her head.

Mummies, just to share, if u are thinking of getting supplements like fenugreek, mother's milk tea, vitamins, calcium or DHA, or weaning products like baby cereal, or Munchkin items etc, can consider getting them from iherb.com. There's free Global Priority Mail service for orders over $40.00, and deeper discounts on DHL Express shipping in June.

Many of the items are cheaper than if u get them locally. So worth taking a look. Btw if it's your 1st time ordering u can get $10 off your 1st order of $40 & up, or $5 off on smaller orders with a discount code. Let me know if u need the code.

Happy shopping!

usagi maybe u should pump before u go out n pump str when u reach home. in between when u feel v full, squeeze a bit out in toilet n throw. u have been bf for abt 2months alrdy right? maybe can drag to 5 or 6hrs apart. Should be ok de. cos I hv a fridge to go n I find that aft few hours it is not so cold. the temperature might hv change aft few hrs. I had attended a wedding dinner n I din pump nor latch. i understand the anxiety abt it but its ok for me.

Thanks Reikibaby and Sade. I now pumping Again. I see if I can pump b4 I go. Tired.... Bb today kept crying for hugs. Got 2 big tears when I went to pump n put him alone on play mat.

Usagi, i will place bb to sleep on my lap while i sit cross legged on the bed and then pump. Its not easy to pump when alone w baby. So i gv up pumping in the day and just latch on demand.

Sade, fridge to go can be cool for at least 5h. 8h is max but it definitely wont be cold lor.

usagi enjoy ur concert! maybe try telling ur bb that u r busy n ask him to be good for xx min. it works for my bb. just put bb next to u while pumping n talk to him.

reikibaby ya lor. I don know what is the temp for fridge to go.dont feel good to leave bm in it for too many hrs.

Hi ladies, survived my first night duty last night and our first day without CL today. So far so good but night duty is tiring! This morning I felt like I have jet lag! Tonight I'm taking shifts with DH so will be better. This 1 week without CL is a good trial run for times ahead!

Koirc, initially I was undecided about Indo or Filipino maid. But now I think I'll go with Filipino. Think my DH will have language problem with Indo maid. I think any maid whom I will employ will have a pretty good life because during the day my son will be in infant care so she is on her own at home. And my household is only DH and I and baby. Yes, please share your agency with me. I'll start my proper search for maid after ths week. Thanks again PSP, Mofmm and Koirc for the contacts. Think I'm pretty well covered!

Bb, saw Dr F yesterday to remove my bandage. Really so nice to see him again. Like you, I'll be sad during my final review with him in 5 weeks time. I told him I'm addicted to babies and can't wait for No 2! Lol!

Lil, thumbs up for surviving your first night and day without CL! Really helps that your hubby is hands-on
Gosh, I really miss Dr F! We'd like to try for #2 soon, but that means I hv to give up bf before we start another fresh cycle. I enjoy nursing so much I can't bear the thought of stopping...

Thanks Sade n Reikibaby.

In the end I pump at 5 and 6 pm. And next pump at 12am. Breasts were hard. Lucky manage to pump until abit hard left. I tested using soft drinks in medela cooler bag. The drink was a bit chilled not totally cold. Hence I think not suitable to put too long.

Hi Mummies, Happy Father's Day to all your DH!

Bb, ya Dr F also mentioned need to stop bf first. By the way, are you exclusively bf-ing? Like day and night? Or also use bottle with ebm sometimes? Dr F told me that pumping and exclusive bf has different effects on the uterus contracting. Bf is supposed to be more efficient. I told Dr F that it I find it too tiring and impossible to bf all day and night. Anyway, I forgot to ask him how soon can I exercise and go for post-natal massage. Do you know?

Would like to check roughly how much to deliver twins in both kkh and tmc?

And oso.. wat shld i look out for expecting twins? Abit lost actually haa.. and oso please pm me the maid agency contact too

Thanks thanks alot!

Lil, I nursed bb exclusively for one week. Then started giving him ebm for night feeds. Ya, I think nursing bb will help uterus to contract a lot better than pumping. Managed to lose almost all pregnancy weight! I asked him abt exercising, he said no exercising till at least the next review with him. I didn't ask him abt massage, but I started my jamu massage abt 3.5 wks after c-sect

Happy Father's Day to all daddy!

Talking about uterus contraction.. I think I am having my period now.. Is it normal? Is kinda fast right? I am only 6.5 weeks after delivery..

Precious baby, I also noticed my boys can sleep very well on my Simmons mattress. When I put them to cot, they will wake up most of the time! Haha..

Mei2, delivering twins at tmc is by ala carte. There is no package for the babies.. one bill per baby. So everything is by per item charge like one pack of diaper, one pack of cotton will etc. The total bill really depend on how well your babies are. Do they need to go into nicu or not, need special treatment etc or not..