(2013) ivf/icsi mummies Support group

Congrats PSP!

Saralyn, I have no idea why she's so against it. She said not good for respiratory system. Then breathe in polluted air is? I also don't let bb sleep in aircon since birth. When newborn I was afraid his little lungs are not well developed. But now bb is 3mo and the haze is so bad. And it's not like I let bb sleep in aircon all the time! She really has no concept of what's better for bb. :mad:

Dian tang, yes, bb slept so well in aircon he slept through the night for past two nights!

PSI gone up to 371. I have aircon my whole house now. ST just reported purifiers sold out! I need to get one too. Not sure if my aircon's plasma is good enough.

long time to come in liao. hope all are well despite of the haze

anyone using novita purifier?

Koirc, compare haze and aircon I rather my baby exposed to aircon.. Anyway, don't bother about her.. I learn to shut my ear whenever she says something which I don't like.

Anyone of you using bottle warmer? I would like to know how long it takes to warm up a bottle of milk.. I'm using avent bottle so it will be even better if you can tell me how fast.. Currently we are using the traditional way which is usin boiling water.. It takes so long and esp at night time the boys will scream so loud and we gotta wait for the water to be boiled and then put the bottle in to heat up.

Saralyn, I just don't understand why every time she comes, she has something to pick on and comment. It's damn annoying and makes me not feel like talking to her at all.

Re bottle warmer, there should be a beep sound when ready. No? I used to use Pigeon and it's about 5 min.

Koirc: what I do now is that the last 2feed before our sleep time, I give 10ml lesser. Then the last feed before my sleep time, I give the usual feed. My girl now 1mths old, she can sleep for 4hrs at night. Heehee. My last feed at 11pm then bb sleep until 3am. Now I try to drag her last feed to 12am. Haha

Psp congrats!!!

Chevy I'm using Novita one. So far ok. How are you? Back to work already?

Saralyn I'm using Avent warmer. Takes around 3-5 mins depending on how warm u want the milk to be? I like it so far haha.

Koirc, there are afew ways to drag.. My pd told me to give them power feed for the last one before you go and sleep.. It will be slightly more than their usual intake.. After that when they wake up, need to give abit more. This is what my pd told me.. I haven't try yet but I recently up their milk to 125ml n sometime they can last till 4 sometime 2+ already want milk.

Another way is do dream feed.. Before you go and sleep, feed them in their sleep regardless is their feeding time or not.

For the bottle warmer, I don't have any now. I using pot to boil water and put the bottle in to heat up..

Babysmurf, woah! Your girl is 1 month and you already drag to 4 hours! Your pd allows you to do so?

Hope, thanks! 3-5 mins seem quite reasonable! Will tell my dh and see he wants to get the warmer or not.

Small bunny, thanks for the suggestion! But will the hot water be not so hot after afew hours.. Maybe can try this method first.. But need to find a wide neck thermos flask first

Chevy, I also got novita purifier at my home bought a few years back. So far ok. Hope u doing well.

Saralyn, I am using pigeon warmer cum sterilizer. Takes 20 min at 40 degrees.

Hope,
okok.... is the motor loud? we tried ordering but no stk liao.

me ok and alrdy back to work. sianz! like who is not hahahaaaa.....

what abt urself? u good?

Chevy, the motor is louder if the air isn't clean haha but you can set to silent mode so no issue. Now purifiers all out of stock I think? I'm ok enjoying the time with baby haha. Will start looking for job in sep.

Chevy,
My son doing very well. Daytime drink my bm. Night time drink fm. My supply now consider ok ba. But going back to work in 2 weeks time, hard to say.

Hope, ya all oos liao! We ordered online so now pending payment to go thru n if they have anything for us,
Yes, yes, must enjoy time wif bb now. Everyday got new action/pattern
luv to hear her goo goo ga ga..... So pleasing to my ears but definitely not when she cries lor hahahaaaa..... take ur time to look for job if ur financial allows. Gona b full time or part time? May u find something good!

Usagi, oh seems ur boy is taking both well! I heard there r some bb who got used to BM n have difficulty accepting FM. Will u be expressing in office? Me now doing it in toilet. Kinda gotten used to it liao. Hoping to feed her for 6 mths but seems like my supply is reducing quite quickly. Most prob due to my dragging of pump time.

congrats psp! rest well n do update us your birth story.

chevy long time din see u here. how r u? busy busy?

the haze is so bad. Hopefully will rain soon.

my bb also sleeps in air con room every night.

Chevy, hope to find a full time coz as much ad I would like to get a part time, it's quite tough to find 1 in my line lei. Do you have adapted to going bk to work? Whose taking care of your baby? Your baby is nearing 6 months old already? Time flies right? Sometimes I still can't believe I got preg and deliveredy gal.... Such a miracle haha.

Congrats PSP! Enjoy motherhood

Koirc, I feel you...if only there was a way we could shut our ears or forget immediately what our MILs say!

PSP, congratulations! Welcome to motherhood! You finally have your baby in your arms. Rest well, have a smooth recovery and enjoy!

My baby sleeps in aircon every night too. I figured if he is already sleeping in aircon in hospital since day 1, it can't be that bad.

Saralyn, my baby's night feed is very 2hours, so once a feed finish, I put the next bottle into our bottle warmer at low (keep warm setting) and when he wakes up 2 hours later, the milk is already ready to go. We are using Tommie Tippee warmer but I won't recommend it. It took a lot of trial and error on our part to adjust until we figured out best setting/time to get the right temperature. It doesn't beep when ready like other brands.

Sade, quite busy, both work & home. Really hard to find some me time & together time wif dh, if u know wat i mean. however looking at this lil bundle, sleeping like an angel (only when sleeping hor!), it makes everything else seems so insignificant

how's u & ur girlie? still expressing at work? like i mentioned earlier, my supply has dropped alot liao....

Usagi, ya i understand. It's quite a hassel lah. I pump only twice in office. Quite a lot of ppl know I'm expressing in the toilet so they tend to let me have the handicap cubicle, which is bigger

Hope, oic....take your time lah.

Well, working for almost a mth liao so more or less gotten used to. Working let me have a "temporary" break, kinda like keeping my sanity before the hustle and bustle after that hahahaaaa..... My girl is exactly 5 mths today! Indeed very fast
I know wat u mean on being disbelieve cos sometimes I look at her and wonder how did this lil thing came out from me!

You have help looking after ur bab? Coping ok?

chevy yes totally understand it. I dont hv maid but luckily my hb helps to look aft bb while I do my housework.
how much did u expressed every time now? mine is abt 140ml -190ml. yes still expressing at work.

times flies so fast. almost 5months for my girl too. n also cant believe that I manage to conceive n gave birth to her.

Hi Ladies, if your bb needs your attention and care would you sacrifice your career and be a SAHM? I can't make up my mind. One hand I want to work but on the other hand I feel it's irresponsible for me to neglect my bb that has a medical condition which needs my attention for at least 2yrs...A big big SIGH..
Financially, my DH can support, it's just that I'm afraid that I'll become useless if I stay at home and ppl will think me as a lazy wife not helping husband...

my aunt said since I went through so much (IVF) to get this bb, I've the responsibility to care for bb. Otherwise I shouldn't have kids...

Chevy, so fast right! Ur bb hitting 6 months old soon! Now my bb at 3 months and u already see new patterns of her now and then haha! Hmm taking care of bb alone now but so far ok. Unless I need to go out then will ask mil to come over and help haha.

Ladies did your bb have any milk strike? My bb sometimes refuse to finish her feed even though its past her feeding hours. Don't know if its normal?

Znatasha, I feel you so much! My hb prefers me to stay at home but I wanted to look for a job bad of the year....though after these 3 months I am so attached to baby Liao...dilemma Haiz.

Saralyn: my bb haven't seen a pd. I started practicing when she is 3wks old. So now more or less she is used to it. Daytime just feed. Last 3 feed before my sleep give her lesser. The last feed give her a bit more to make up then she sleep for 4hrs. Heehee yesterday nite she sleep for 4.5hrs.

For 1mths I think my bb put on 1kg. Everyone even dr tan HH also said she don't look like 1mths old bb. Haha

Znatasha: sorry to hear abt ur bb medical condition. Hope it is not serious. If really no one to take care dur the day, guess u are the best person to take care .

znatasha n hope for me I would love to stay home n look aft bb at least till 2yrs cos bb grows up v fast n there r lot of milestones to achieve during first yr. will then enrol bb into child care n then will work at ease which is abt 18-24months. but I dont hv a choice now. will so regret it when I m much older. everyone misses bb times.

Znatasha, sorry to hear about the medical condition too.. So what is best for you and your baby! Jiayou.. Don't bother about what other say.. You know what is the best for yourself and your baby.

Babysmurf, you tempted me! Haha. I will give them a power feed tonight too and see they can last for 4 hours or not. I brought them out today for the whole of afternoon and they slept all the time. Hopefully they won't be awake for the night..

Is it true that baby sleeps more in afternoon will be more awake at night? My husband told me there is no such relation for baby..

Congrats Egg Factory. Welcome to e motherhood.

Finally I hv my baby in my arms. My water bag burst on Wednesday morning at 4am, without knowing it, I continue to sleep thinking that it might be discharge due to e coconut that I had on Tuesday night. At about 8am, I woke up and prepared myself for work however I realized that I'm hving pink discharge and quickly call up e hospital.

I rushed to hospital at 9am and was examined by the midwife while waiting for the doctor. Midwife confirmed that water bag has burst and prepared me for labour. Doctor arrived at 10.30am and confirmed that I've diluted 2cm. I was pushed to e labour room at 12pm and my contraction starts.

After 3 hours of pain and with e help of laughing gas and pain killer, the pain persisted but I insisted no epidural. Finally gave birth at 3pm.

No breast milk until now but yesterday managed to hv colostrum. Still in e hospital, as e haze is really very bad, hv decided to stay longer in e hospital.

Psp, you are so brave to deliver without epidural! Saluate you!

Ya.. The haze is so bad but I must say it has improved alot since late afternoon yesterday. I was at vivo the whole afternoon and at late afternoon I saw kids playing outside already and no smell.. Hope it will remain like that or even better..

Congrats eggfactory and PsP on the delivery of your little bundle of joys.
The haze is very bad again and I was hoping it could be like last night below 200. Fat hope.

Congrats Egg Factory! Enjoy motherhood and do share your birth story.

Alison PSP, v happy for you that your baby is here and salute you that you delivered without epidural as you had planned. Well done mama

Lil, can share your settings for the bottle warmer? Mine is like a white elephant - my girls usually scream their heads off and the Warmer takes forever! Also, I thought milk cannot be left outside for more than an hour?

Koric or Znatasha, was it one of you whose baby suddenly drop the intake? So what happened in the end? My gal suddenly can't finish her feed recently and I'm abit concerned. Plus she seems to be cutting down slowly to 5 feed a day and yet not finishing every feed at times. Though I think as long as she gained weight should be ok right?

Thanks ladies. Wa Psp so brave - well done!. I started out with show n contractions, when checked in was dilated 3 cm. but my labour progressed too slowly. They put in the drip to make contractions stronger but Bb couldnt take it well. end up C Sect. Bfing quite smooth so far, Bb latches on so strongly. But only can squeeze out a few drops of colostrum. Is that normal? Wondering if enough for bb. Also hope haze will not affect him too much.

Hope, as long gaining weight, then shld not be an issue. Maybe weather bad so no appetite? Your baby on 5 feeds means she sleeps through the night now? I only bottle feed once a day, the rest i latch. My boy ask for milk every 2hrs-2.5hrs but cos im latching so i will just feed in on demand. If bottle feed still 180ml. How much your baby taking now?

Congrats Alison and Egg Factory

Lil, MofMM - I also have the Tommee Tippee warmer and find it really user unfriendly. I end up turning to the extreme right and warm until milk doesn't feel cold, probably 7-10 minutes?

Egg Factory, bb stomach is very tiny first few days, apparently the size of marble, so a little bit of colostrum goes a long way! If bb latches on strongly, your milk will probably come in very soon

Reiki baby, yah bb gaining weight. Hmm she had her 5 in 1 and had fever. Funny thing is she drank finished all when she's sick. Now recovered Liao sometimes didn't finish. She's drinking 125 for day and 140 for last feed lei. Yah miraculously since last sat she slept ard 10 plus to 5 plus or 6. Do happy haaha! But day time she's more awake now and constantly wants my attention! Does yours do the same? Sometimes abit hard to do household chores lei. Your baby drinking alot which is good!