(2011/02) Feb 2011

Felpoo, it's the homo n I dun feel any wrong in crying. I find tat those who can't cry if require r the ones tat r most miserable as there isn't any avenue to express emotions.

Experience n memories build us, it's natural to relate to something which we went thru, the most important thing is they make us stronger hopefully ;)

like I've shared me running away home during my first preg, now went I think of it, I really laught out loud at my actions then.

Cheers, everyday will b a happy day if we choose it to b

Choc: i am not working. I have quit my job cos of all the miserable ms.... Now everyday at home. But everyday stuck at home i kept thinking of nothing but abt vomiting. Even worse.... I cant seem to find joy in anything i do.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi mtb,

I going to my next checkup in two weeks time, which is my 10 weeks, anyone can advice me, at Week 10 wat can we see from the scanning? Thanks

mummyb: possibly a wriggling baby, heartbeat and a human figure.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks ladies, I just took a nap but the headache is still here to stay. Haiz.

@mummyb: At week 10 you should be able to see the baby's head, body, hands & legs. I saw mine at 10w3d.

To all mummies having mil problem: Don't let it stress you too much during this period when we are all so emotional & stress. As there's a saying, 船到桥头自然直. Fiind out more details about confinement and let your hubby know 2 weeks is not enough. It's a very important month for us to recover our body & be healthier. And if worse comes to worse, do the confinement at your mum's place or hire a CL in your mum's place. In that way, you also can rest well without any disturbance. Take care ladies & don't worry too much. =)

Has anyone done the oscar test yet?

I've just ordered macdonld. They have this new spicy mcnuggets & honey chipotle shaker fries. Hope it's nice! And I ordered ice lemon tea. Has been a while since I drank that. I can't control anymore~

Jerine...try taking freshly squeeze lemon juice with water? may help...or some gassy drink?

so far i trying to "counter-attack" my ms with all these! hahaa but not everytime successful lar... but can say 6 out of 10 times i feel better

oscar test: talking about this test... i be going next sat...long wait leh..this round close to 5weeks havent see gynae..my neck getting very long!

valerie...update us if the spicy nugget nice bo k...i been aiming since ytd!! u are tempting me!!!

@choc: You'll be doing the test tomorrow? Let me know how's the test like & how long is the wait ok?? I'll be doing it 2 weeks later.

Me too wanted to eat since yesterday! Haha! Finally got the chance to eat today. Hee.. My macdonald is here~ I'm gg to eat now~ *drools*

lol valerie.. what the is a chipotle anyway. hehe.

anyway, need some advice.. i am just reading the maternity leave benefits.. i always thought govt will be paying for all 4 mths, but now then i realise its employer pay 2 mths, govt pay 2 mths..

i wish to leave my company(havent told my boss yet) after maternity leave on basis that i need time off to recover and to be with my kid.. however, now i feel guilty cos company will be paying 2 mths wages then suddenly i will be gone..

any idea how to break the news to boss without sounding like i am making use of maternity leave? i am on pretty good terms with boss as my company only has 7 employees

Yes Choc, please update us on the OSCAR test, my understanding is just taking blood and some scan, no need to fast though... but do share with us the procedures. I am also going to do 2 weeks later at TMC before i get to see my gynae.

nonoo....is next sat(24-july) not tml =(

basically the gynae will be examining the fetus mah..measure the neck etc...see within normal range anot..

then we will be going for blood test...i tink 3 tubes of blood if i didnt remember wrongly...

based from blood test and measurement taken and our age..they will come up with a report whereby is the fetus in high risk or low risk lor

then will take ard 3 days to get the results...

hi everyone, havent posted anything on for some time, cos been feeling extremely nauseous but without vomitting...

I just did the OSCAR. It will be a scan + blood test. During the scan, they will measure the fluid below your baby's neck, plus the head & length. If baby coorperates it will be fast. Mine was quite coorperative but he/she kapt waving the hands. So cute. Then they will take your blood. Then they will put the results from both tgthr, plus your age then calculate a risk factor.

I just wanted to share my experience. I did the scan on Monday & they said the measurements look normal. Then I went for blood test, but the nurses FORGOT to take enough blood for the OSCAR. They only took blood for some other routine prenatal screening. So on Tue afternoon, I got a call & they told me to come down NOW for blood test. They said the results from my scan didn't look good. It put me in high risk. Needless to say, I freaked out la. My hubby also overseas, so I was alone. They took my blood & said earliest this friday they will let me know. I tried to probe, but couldn't get anymore info. I couldnt sleep the entire night. I called my gynae and he was furious. Anyway, lucky to have him, cos Wed morning he called me & said my blood test shows everything normal, so if they recalculate the risk, it's not low risk.

So, I just wanna say, if they say your scan measurements dont look good, dont worry too much until they take your blood. And make sure they remember to take your blood!! And also, high risk doesnt necessarily mean bad, from what I learnt.

Hi Lynn, thanks for sharing. Can you explain more on how they did the scan to measure the fluid? Is it something like the transvaginal scan that the gynae normally do? My gynae in MT A doesnt have the equipment so i m going to the TMC clinic to do.

lynn: funny le, most of them I heard is the blood test result turn out to be on high risk side especially for those older. As for scan during no so much of problem. That is why some sisters fail on blood test, they will redo the scan test at Camdem Medical Centre. But anyway, very glad that you have cleared it. Take care

Hi Neon, it's not via vaginal U/S. It's external on the tummy area. They will measure the fliud below the neck, not the neck itself (actually I didnt know, until the scare, then I did a lot of reading up...haha)

Take a look at this link, it's quite informative. Shows you what they measure. The NT scan is the first part. So NT scan + blood test = Oscar test

http://www.babycenter.com.sg/pregnancy/antenatalhealth/scans/nuchalscan/

Quite an experience seeing the baby. All formed & moving around...you'll fall in love with your baby there & then...

@Choc: I've finished the spicy mcnuggets. I don't find it that nice. A bit salty. Still prefer the original one.

@Judy: I also don't know what is chipotle leh. But it's nice! Sweet sweet one. Hehe..

@mummyb: At week 11 can start doing already. The earlier you do the higher is the accuracy. But also more costly. Mine is charging at $320. But my sil told me about her friend. Her friend had 2 pregnancies & both were detected as down syndrome cos of her age. But cos she's a Christian, she chose to keep the babies. End up the first one not only doesn't have down syndrome, turn out to be a genius! But sadly, the 2nd one has down syndrome but she's a genius in playing piano. So I guess it all boils down to luck. You can choose to keep the baby & who knows it turns out to be normal. But it really is a risk...

thanks for the link, Lynn. I m glad it is not transvaginal scan, i always feel uncomfortable when doing it.

Wow Valerie, your SIL's friend’s experience reminds me of some quotes which I have extracted from the internet:

天才与白痴只是一线之差

Genius and Madness are two sides of the same coin

There is no great genius without some touch of madness

No offense to anyone, but really, sometimes we are really at lost to keep or not to keep the baby

@Neongoby: Yes I agree with you. All along I thought if high risk means really high risk. Didn't expect things will turn out differently. It really is a dilemma. I just hope things will be fine when I do my Oscar test...

mummies.. i am going home.. friday! love friday.. monday is my birthday.. and mahjong tonight.. life is good.. bye all! takecare of yourselves!

valrie just went for my check up me can see my bb shape liao.gynae asked me to take the oscar test next two fri..but after reading so much feedback on the oscar test abit worry to take the test...me too really hope is fine to do the test [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@sweetie: Don't worry too much. How old r u may I ask? My gynae told me if we r young the risk should be low. Hmm.. But I'm actually quite nervous. Hee.. I'm taking on a fri too. Is yours on the 30th?

Sigh, this time I Cham already, my colleage gg to resign, my boss is gg to stress me, as I'm the only one left in the company, and then I'm gg on ML next year... N no candidates found to share my load, when she left I'll need to do 2 roles. Oh no... My days of good are coming to an end soon.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] n I can't resign n find a new job now.... I'm so vexed

Sorry to interrupt. I have some sanitary pads for sales which are good for post-natal use:

1) 2 packets of Laurier Superguard X-tra 34cm (12pcs per pkt) - $4.00/pkt

2) 4 packets of Laurier Superguard X-tra 30cm (14pcs per pkt) - $3.50/pkt

They are extremely absorbent and breathable. If you are keen to take all, i will sell them off to you at special price of $20.

Pls PM me if you are keen.

Hi everyone, I'm new here. would like to check w u gals for those at TMC, did u sign up for the First Born Incentive? Is it really worth it?

Hi Susan,

I signed up FBI when i had no. 1 in 2009.

The free gift already quite worth it. got milk powder etc..

plus u get discount for your fetal scan + hospital bill.

if next time u need to go a&E also got discount.

i think i got back the subscription fee thru the discounts i had taken for the fetal scan + hospital bill.

but not much more than that as i later change my PD to Mt A, so when need go A&E i brought bb to Mt A

Dear mummies, been trying to keep up with the posts. Have been super busy in office the last week so no time to pop in.

I'm having weird sleeping hours. waking up at 1 am and sleeping at 5 am.. today wake up ard 4 am now feeling so awake.!!

hope my baby dont get influence by this pattern, otherwise next time I cham..

Re: Oscar test & age

I think after age 35 then consider high risk grp.

RE: pressure in the V area

does anyone feel a pressure in the V-area?

It is like first day of mense when heavy flow and when blood clot coming out.

Today I carried my son to NTUC and when I reached there I felt this great pressure like something going to fall out of the V-area.

I panicked and quickly went home to lie down.

called clinic but doc ang not in.

I am quite paranoid abt the feeling. but the nurse says that carrying my son who is 11 kg wont affect the fetus.

then at dinner time, i had the feeling again after walking back from the coffee shop.

anyone got such experience. Do i need to go get it checked? BTW i seeing dr ang for my oscar tomorrow.

Hi choc

I'm also done in settle my darling's bday. Now waiting to confirm if she really want Barney cake instead of princess. Haha

many thks for the offer ;)

@ Ah Ching (ah_ching)

>> I experienced some pains in my tummy & called my gynae. The nurse said it should be normal due to expanding baby, as long as there is no bleeding, but they recommend scanning just to be safe. So I went for scanning & it turns out that everything is fine. If it is not too painful, maybe u can let ur gynae know tomorrow so u can do the scan together.

@ ivy leong (littledevil82)

>> Im planning to take the triple test instead of scan + blood test. Cos gynae said my age is considered low risk, so i dont think there is a need to take so many tests. Personally I dont even feel like take any test but my husband prefer me to take at least 1 of the test.

Avent Newborn Starter Kit (BPA Free)

I have a spare set which is given during the birth of my baby. However, we have already bought a set. Retail price @ about $49.90 and I am selling at $40nett, brand new.

Includes:

2 x Airflex Feeding Bottle (260 ml/ 9 oz) with size 2 teat.

2 x Airflex Feeding Bottle (125 ml/ 4 oz) with size 1 teat.

2 x Extra soft, Newborn Flow Teat size 1.

1 x Newborn Pacifier.

1 x Bottle and teat brush.

Call me 98204176 to transact immediately.

Hi Kittyki

have u taken the test? My gynae told me the same thing, for my age is conside low risk. So my hubby say since its low risk take triple test coz OSCAR test is more expensive...

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4248232.jpg]

Ameda Lactaline Dual Breast Pump selling for SGD $200. Used once only, still in brand new condition, still under warranty till Feb 2011.

PM me if interested

Morning ladies~ It's Monday blue again~~~ =/

@sweetie: Yeah, mine is on the 30th too. Hehe..

@ivy: What does the triple test consists of? And it's test for? My gynae also told me for my age is consider low risk, but my hubby said must take. Then take oscar lor. Lol. My gynae didn't tell me anything about the triple test leh..

Morning all.. Today supposed to go into office as I was absent from office a number of days, who knows my girl felll sick. So it's a total of 4 days.

Today I'm going to the Gynae for Oscar. Hope all turns out to be fine. Hving nitemares every nite.

Good morning mummies,

Valerie and Sweetie Wong, are you guys going to TMC clinic to take the OSCAR test on 30 Jul? Hee hee i m going there on the same day too.

Felpoo - don't worry too much, you will be fine. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] keep us updated

@sweetie: I'm also very nervous leh.. Though gynae said my risk is very low and some at my age didn't even opt for this test but still I'm scared leh.. Hmm... But I think the most scary part is the waiting-for-result part...

hi morning everyone... last thur have a car accident in my hubby car... sigh.. mc on fri ... nw then come back work.. tired...

send to hospital for check up on last thur nite... luckily baby ok.. but guess wat, usually in my hubby car i don't like to put safety belt, but then before 5 min the accident happen, i actually heard a voice asking me "mummy put on safety belt" ... my child save my life.. and it real!!!

Ya valerie, haiz me already 30plus so abit woried i heard frm my fren the waiting result is abt a week if nthing i guess the nurse wont call keke so have to bear with the one week waiting time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]