(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

Hi MTBs,
I have something to enquire.Have you mums decided to breastfeed your bb?If yes,need to buy the breastpump now or later hur?

Haha agnes, I don't know whether 3 weeks is good or not..
Recently bosses decided to promote me.. so I'm also under the stress to keep on performing well... but really think I need to prepare myself mentally before the day arrives... now BB comes first b4 work
By then I would have cleared my work and also management already found a 'successor' to take over some of my duties
.. Oh ya, and after that 3 months maternity leave plus 3 months child care leave!
Heheh, a great test of my maternal side.. I'm scared I might cut short my leave and beg bosses to let me return earlier.

For that 3 weeks, also can't travel to anywhere.. so already booked my sisters to keep me company.. trying to book chalets but mostly fully booked..
Think will organise more Mahjong sessions with my friends to kill time

Petrina,
Wa, you ownself hypnosis? Dangerous leh! Hahaha... I block out the thought of labour. I don't think about it. I don't hypnosis myself that it is not painful though. Just don't think about it.

Your aunt hor, buay tahan her! My labour pain is all on the front tummy, the whole tummy contracting BUT my SIL, she felt back aching and tummy contracting. Aiyoh, front and back. My back don't ache though. I describe as very very painful mense cramp not stomachache. Becos stomachache makes me think of PANG SAI mah... menses cramp don't make me think of pushing or pang sai leh.

Phy,
I have not been looking at babycot cos intially my SIL said will give me then changed to my cousin..
so I dunno if there is any feature that I should be looking at, not sure abt the price either.. haiz.. tink I will go kiddy palace and check out the model/price later. Thanks

Petrina, ya, indeed it is boring...but on the other hand, I did enjoy doing nothing today
Quite shiok, but long term I think I'll go crazy as I need human company

Cocoangel, try to get one with 3 or 4 levels of adjustable heights..

nowadays cots are pretty advanced.. got 4 levels of different heights which of coz allows it to be converted into a play pen or a toddler bed later on..

I remembered seeing a white cot at Isetan scotts, 300 plus, 4 level of adjustable heights, free mattress, side bumpers, bedsheet and blanket.. don't know if it is still around.. also, if you have the card, can save 5%

missylan,

not self hypnosis lah.. haha.. i'm not that capable..

actually talking about stomachaches.. my mum mentioned to me before that when i have tummyaches.. dun push so hard coz scare the bb think that its time to come out.. such a silly thinking.. haha..

ur first kid was natural with epi ah?? peifu peifu.. i really admire u mothers out there who opt out of epi..

i know of this mummy who had 14 hours labour pain before her darling girl was born and she did it without epi!! that one i told her she's my inspiration.. hehe

cocoangel,

with regards to cots.. u can also try the baby kingdom and baby hypermart..

noobjo,

i intend to breastfeed if possible.. why i say if possible is coz what happen if suddenly got no milk or bb cannot latch on... then my breast pump will go to waste..

somemore breast pumps are quite ex.. dare not buy it first..

phy,
I DID! I tried tahan for 4 hours then give in to epidural. =P So I got to sleep till dawn then 7am delivered my son. My labour was a full 12 hours.

Petrina,
Ya, natural with epidural. Ok lah, me normal mah... I've got a friend 24hrs with no epidural. That is really a torture. She said semi-consciously she is ^~!*#*~%*@ her hubby. Breastpump is useful for working mum, babies who dun like latch on or mommies who dun like bb to latch on and mummies who can supply ALOT of milk. When engorge, breast pump will be your saviour! Should consider that. Ameda pump not as expensive. I rmb buying during my stay in TMC at ard $160+.

cocoangel,
When I bought the playpen, I didn't consider too much maybe I don't know there are so many functions in the market. I bought one at Kiddy Palace, Babylove think slightly over $100. It comes with a simple changing station, think 2 or 3 adjustable stages and a bag for storage when not in use. 4th mth old, bb will start to turn then got to adjust lower liao. Out goes the changing station then. IKEA got babycot also.

One more thing to buy is the baby bumbo seat. You can used it when baby can support their back and neck, mine used in somewhere 4th mth old. Very cute, nice and most of all very useful! But can wait till later stage then buy see anyone give you as a full month gift. =P

hi petrina,
may be for starters, just pysche yourself up on breastfeeding. i hope that i'd be succesful breastfeeding when bb is out... one of the homepages that you can read on

http://www.kellymom.com/

Also, i heard from a friend that TMC sells breast pumps (not sure if all brands) at cheaper rate for those who deliver in TMC. you might want to check that out too.

breastfeeding
i feel that its up to individual lor dun give urself 2 much pressure on this issue. I am sure we all know the benefits of what BM is for our kiddo...but if for whatever reason be it bb cannot latch on, no milk etc...that you cannot BF then dun stress urself...FM is fine too...most of us grown up with that 2...just my 2 cents worth...

but i be trying to BF longer for #2...the first one i din really try...

Phy/Petrina/Missylan,
Thank you for your input
I went to Kiddy Palace at Marina Square last night. Saw something like a babycot which can be converted to playpen, but I find the height (the highest) abit too low, lower then my waist and I am not tall, do u tink I will have difficulty bending down and change baby?
But those wooden type one is higher lah, dunno which is better..

cocoangel,

i've gotten mine (cot) from JL at Marina Sq during the national day period sales. posted a pic in my blog. u can see if it is suitable for u.

i've seen the playpens at kiddypalace b4 n then decided to get a cot. the playpens r quite low in height n even for a shortie like me, hard to reach for bb lor. :p

cocoangel,

I bought my cot during the baby fair, i think the brand is micuna. Picture below.

The importer stocks their cots at robinsons and takashimaya but they have more variety at their warerhouse which is at 50 tagore lane #B1-02, Markono Districentre. T: 6336 8311

They have a decent range, when at the taka fair, prices started from $300++ onwards...

Check out their website
http://www.aprisin.com.sg

1000307.jpg

hi cocoangel,

i got my baby cot at baby kingdom at kaki bukit. the cot can be converted to a toddler bed when the kid is older and it's $300 with full bedding set (although i do not like the design) and mattress (upgradable, i paid $20 more to upgrade to a better mattress). I thought it's quite a good buy and they have various colours for you to choose from.

yes, i agree with you that play pen is too low. bending up and down will be harmful for our back, esp during the first few months after delivery.

Do you feel watery at ur panty? err..how shd i put it? like ur panty is wet..quite wet....

today, i feel veri wet at the panty...is it normal?

coz i read from "wat to expect when u ar expecting" tat we have to take note if we feel a gush of liquid or even a streak of liquid coming out..

ARRG!! Second day MC at home thought I could continue to rest and relax.. Who knows neighbour now renovating house? The drilling is driving me up, across and down the wall!

Save me from the noise pollution!! Too lazy to go out now!

Cocoangel,

If you're tall then of coz it'll be tiring for you to keep bending over to change your baby..then backache..

Oh, for me, I don't intend to use the cot as changing station so I got another changing station, from Ikea, think $39.90 but I got mine at As-Is section for $25. Find the height comfortable for me.. but then, I am only 1.6m tall...

Think the rest of ladies have also given you some good advice.. Honestly speaking, I also don't like to use play pen as cot...

Miorei,
I've visit your blog and saw the babycot u bought, its similar one which I saw at Kiddy Palace, they are selling around $200-300, dunno what freebies they are throwing in though. How much did you get yours huh?

Botanist,
Thanks for the link! Does yours comes with the changing station/drawer? Hehe or just the cot?

Dodo,
I intend to go Baby Kingdom to check out too, do they have delivery service or I have to carry back on my own? I also find the playpen too low liao...

Btw alot of frens told me not to buy babycot cos will be useless, get hand-me-down instead but after my SIL and cousin told me at last min tat they cannot give, I thot I better not rely on others and get my own one. Afterall, my next babies can also use right? Wat do u mummies tink?

pain
yesterday while lying down the part below my tummy lower abdomen both left right sudden pain le...thought gng to deliver thankfully a while later alls fine le...felt s big and so heavy now....but still have 8 wks to go...

Phy,
No lah, I'm only 1.55m hehe and already find the playpen too low. Must cater to hubby's height too.. To me, changing station is not necessary but if its cheap then might consider

Thanks for all your advise! Appreciate it...

cocoangel,

Yah - i bought a cot because planning to use it for my #2 as well. Mine does not come with changing station, I didn't think that was really critical so bought the cot only, but I did opt for the additional drawer at the bottom cos that's quite useful!

I'm also very tall lah (1.73cm), husband even taller.... if I get the playpen, sure got problem bending down!! Am afraid we'll both get backache....haha

Etelle,
I went to doctor's talk on Tue (part of TMC's parentcraft programme) and Dr Phyllis say that the labour pain is right at the middle of abdomen, not right or left side, and should be at regular interval and increased in frequency as time goes by. So dun worry

Botanist,
I have checked out the website, quite costly hor but they look nice leh.. need to discuss with hubby on the budget 1st.
And you are so tall!! playpen is definitely too low for you liao :p

the playpen that i got come with the top which i can put the bb there so i don have to keep bending down to carry the bb... not sure if u all know what i talking abt.

phy, can understand how u feel. my new neighbours are doing the renvo as well, so everytime if i on mc or after the check up, i will go straight to my mum place and zzzz.

Miorei,
Maybe loh..there's so many ppl there hor hehe... I was sitting at row H, along middle section stairs
Btw are you the one who went for yoga with mother and child? still gng strong?

changing station

miorei,
that's the one I got! But I got it real cheap, $25 bucks only.. Found one at the As-is section
But no damages, still sealed in box in that section.

Cocoangel,

think cot can get lah, somemore if you wish to convert it into toddler bed later, it can last till your kid is about 4 to 5 years old?

Botanist, wow, you're really tall!

Thank goodness! The drilling has stopped! lunch break!! I'm gonna go get my lunch now

Linda,
Yup, I understand what you mean

Phy,
Go to your mum's place and rest lah cos the noise will go on for whole afternoon leh, how to rest like tat?

hey cocoangel, I was at the talk on Tues too...and I was also sitting at row H! hahaha...middle mah...kekekekeke...

Linda, Agnes, thanks. Should i be buying the blue or purple Desitin cream?

Botanist, the cot in your picture is really nice!!! Too bad I bought mine oredi.
I painted my nursery sky blue, so the cot would have been matching. :p

Petrina, dont worry, 12 kg is not a lot. I know people who put on 20 or more kgs and still manage to lose it easily after delivery. Are you a stay home mum-to-be too? I am currently not working anymore and the days are quite boring. Everyday I try to rack my brains on what to do, where to go for a walk, to kill sometime. Really can't wait for baby to b born.

Read about you mentioning swimming. Do you swim or just walk in the pool? I wanted to but not sure if it's ok. And also a bit shy to wear my bikini to the pool now. That day I went to the pool and a bunch of little boys were very curious and kept staring at my bump. So in the end I was too shy to get into the pool and just sat on the deck chair and read. :p

Hi Twiggy,

many mummies here recommended the light blue one....desitin creamy...

so i gt tat as well

Noobjo,

I was wondering that too. Some people say buy after delivery, some say buy to stand buy before you get engorgement. I'm thinking to buy a cheap second hand one to stand by first and if successful in pumping then I'll invest in a more expensive one. Alternatively, some places do rent and some hospitals will let you use theirs first so you can test whether you like the pump or not.

What did the rest of you mummies do?

I came across this in the Feb08 thread..we can actually request for some demo of the various breast pumps to try out (u all might be interested?)...details as follow:-

Below are the information on the breast pump demo:

Venue: 96 Waterloo St, SCWO Centre #02-04, Singapore 187967.

Date & time: Please call or email me for an appointment. My working hours are below.

Working Hours: Mon & Wed 9am - 5pm
Fri 9am - 2pm

Content of demo: This depends on the individual. Those mothers whore already nursing can use it direct on their breasts. This is the best way to gauge whether the pump is suitable. For expectant mothers, theyll try the pumps on their thigh, upper arms or tummy. It gives them a rough idea of how strong the suction is. They also get to see the pump and can make comparisons.

Fee: There is no fee. It is a support provided by the group. However, we welcome any donations (double tax deductible) or new members.

It is good to check out the pumps 1st before you decide on it. I found through many interactions with nursing moms & expectant moms that they each have their own preferences. I can help by providing you the feedbacks from these moms. The rest, youll have to try the pump yourself for a better gauge

Ivy Low

Admin Exec

Breastfeeding Mothers' Support Group (S)

Tel/Fax: 6337 0508

Email: [email protected]

hi mummies, for those intending to BF & wondering whether to get pump now or later, may want to consider getting a cheap one on standby in case (touch wood! touch wood! touch wood!) your newborn may have to stay in hospital initially. remembered reading about such a real-life case in mag/forum, and when the nurses asked the mummy for her breastmilk to bottlefeed her bb, the mummy was caught off guard cos she hadn't bought any pump nor accessories to express and store her breastmilk. Alternatively, can check if your hospital can last minute buy from in-house pharmacy (like TMC or TMC Parentcraft)

coco,

You're right! The drilling starts again!! I concede defeated by the monsters!! Evacuating soon!!

coco,twiggy

yah, i fell in love with the cot the moment i saw it! its quite pricey but the quality is good - I think it cost more because it is made in europe. I was actually prepared to buy something less expensive but my husband also loves the cot and since he is paying... so buy lor!

But now that we've spent so much on the cot, my husband is saying he doesn't want to give it away to anyone later on!! Hahahah so selfish...

phy,

yah i'm very tall but big size also... so can't put on too much weight during pregnancy or become like a gorilla!! :p Got strict instructions from gynea not to put on too much weight!

twiggy,

you also doing swimming?? I have been swimming about once or twice a week, depending on how much free time i've got. So far, I've been doing laps, about 20 each time but my husband told me to focus on walking in the pool cos that could be helpful as well (less gravity ma!).

My mum wants to book the confinement food package as she doesnt know how to cook and have no time to cook...

now sourcing for 1...i know of natal essentials and new baby but i duno which is beta...

do u have any idea which is beta?

CSI,
oh maybe we saw each other hor!! I was in lime green top

Phy,
Quick, evacuate! =p

Botanist,
So ex, definitely "she bu de" one.. save it for next baby lah

talking abt cots...my BIL's sons used their (Hubby's and BIL's) baby cot. i.e., the cot is > 30 yrs old. Well, MIL kept it mah, and when BIL's fist son came out, she passed to them to use lorh. It's still in very good ondition (made of metal) and can tahan weight etc. So it was good to save $$ lah. Then now that I'm preggy, BIL seem like, can't wait to get rid of it. haha. Think they very happy we taking over it. I mean, the fathers slept on it, throw away wait MIL not happy...but dun use, it's taking up space. kekeke...dunno how also next time. Wait till other BIL gets a kid, then pass on to him lah. hehs...

cocoangel, hmmm, lime green top ah. Dunno leh. I was late. hehs. So YOU might have seen me squeezing my way into row H (hubby was there earlier so he choped seat at Row H liaoz). I'm at the colum nearer the door (facing stage, left side). Right in the middle of that row. hehs. I was wearing black tube dress. I vaguely remember seeing someone in lime green top lah, but coz was pai seh that I'm late...I never really look at the pple ard me also. heehee...

CSI,
wah more then 30yrs ah.. antique leh.. is it bulky? how abt mattress, need to get new one right? can find the right size to fit?

I was sitting at the left side facing the stage leh.. there was one couple who squeezed in but the talk have not start. Dun tink its u rite?

coco,
Ya, I have successfully evacuated.. from West to East.. now at Pungol, my friend's place to see her new born haha

cocoangel,
eh...no lah. coz when I squeezed in, the 1st talk started liao. heehee...we're sitting on the same side! hahaha. probably another couple in between us. I know next to me was this couple, and the wife was wearing white with nicely manicured nails. I remember coz I was asking myself, wah, can still do manicure meh? hehs...

Yah lorh, more than 30 yrs. No. not heavy at all. Some things from that generation are better than now...hehs. Yup, mattress is a bit difficult to find. Dunno where BIL got the mattress from also. hehs. I also dunno how, if got no fitting mattress...

Botanist,
Wah! Cool! you can still swim 20 laps??? I use to swim a lot but stopped sicne i got pregnant because my gyne didnt want me to excercise. But now I feel like swimming or at least just walkig in the pool. The weather is too hot to do any other kind of excercise!!

Btw, mummies, Bugis Seiyu is having sale. Almost everything is 20% off. Worthwhile checking out, they have a lot of clothes and if you're buying Pigeon and Avent stuff etc, all 20% also.

Anyone knows if it's necessary to buy nursing tops? I intend to BF but I just checked out the nursing tops at Thyme and they're not cheap. All over $50 each. Scared I buy already then never use.

CSI,
Oh I wanted to do manicure too but scared harmful to baby + plus lazy to do heee..
Btw, been wanting to ask you, are you CSI fan? Cos I am