(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

Sandwich,

Wow.. thanks for helping me to name out all their names! Some of them not looking at the camera
cox Im taking the pict from their back. Im such a lousy mom..hahaha...

I will ask Jayden one day to see if he can name out all. So far, I check with his teacher b4 & she
said Jay likes to call Sae Yong & another boy name which I forgot already..

Who is Kaizer favourite playmate?

dlim
is there an attendence sheet at Jayden's cc? I learnt all of jboy's classmate from the list. Otherwise, wif his pronouciation, diff to know the actual name:p Tis morn he told me 'neh .. An An', n i went to chk the list . it's a new ger called 'en en'. Dylan = di-neng, asher = aisha, xavier = ze beer.

ixora
if u read tis .. jboy finally said 'joanie' liao .. no more 'neh ni' :p

Cool_d,
Yes there is attendence sheet where we have to sign in every morning & evening.

I seldom go through cox most of the time is his dad who send Jay to school.. I only went
there once a while. Thanks for sharing with me, I will take a look when im there next time..

Jboy so cute ya.. though his pronouciation is not good but he is trying his best to tell u..
I was laughing when i saw u typed xavier = ze beer.. They r so cute..arent they! Haa..

michele,
I just called up & check & its already fully booked for this mth except Aug.
Guess u hv to arrange next mth then..

talking abt buffet .. I juz bkd The Line yday for my Dad's bday on 30 Jul. Heard so much abt it so long wanted to try. Anybody been? Any muz eat?

Dlim
ya .. jboy now talk non-stop. Sometime after his yeye pick him fm sch, he will request to 'call mummy' and chit chat wif me.

Cool_d,
Your jboy so advance. Though my Jay also talk but he is still cant chit chat with me yet.
He's still consider slow in his speech at this age now... haiz..

Sometimes he will mumble his own language but i dun understand what he is trying to say..

dlim
haha, its usually e same stuff we tok abt

jboy : hello mummy
me : hello boy boy .. wat u doing?
jboy : I watch TB/wan wan lo (play toys)/ yan xi (watching teochew opera n 'acting') etc
me : oor .. u eat oredi?
jboy : yesh
me : wat u eat?
jboy : porrish (porridge) lo .. got fish, got cai (vege), got chicken
me : wah .. nice?
jboy : yesh
me : who cook for u?
jboy : yeye/ mama
me : ok, mummy work, later come bring u hm ok? U go play now
jboy : ok
me : bye bye
jboy : bye bye

Hihi alcin/dlim,
Not sure who I spoke to at MS playground just now, but just checking in to say hi.
Was nice that the Little Gym session was all April babies. Did any of you sign up with them?

Welcome to the thread Blline! Nice meeting you today and glad you decided to pop in here!

I am Cindy by the way and the other mommy is Cynthia. Her nick is gacc..not dlim
Dlim is another mommy with a very cute son (same age) and daughter!

Hello Mommies..

Blline has a v cute son...his name is Kaidon.

Hello Bline,

I'm Dee mother of Jesse. I signed my son, Jesse, up for little gym for Friday.

Mich,

Errr....swa ku who hasn't been for a lunch buffet in years...what time are y'all meeting?

Cool_d,
Im waiting for that day to come.. this boy is juz too lazy to talk...
Jay likes to count one, two, three & this actually happened one day..

Jay: One..
Me: Um Hmm..
Jay: Two..
Me: Um Hmm..

The one day Jay said this

Jay: One Um Hmm.. Two Um Hmm.. Three Um Hmm..

All of us were laughing when we heard this.. now they really pick out our
words easily. So have to becareful when we talk.

Hi Blline,

Welcome to the thread!

oops! buffet not available?? then i guess we'll do our usual coffee club meet up?

dlim, cannot do in aug lah... will be in confinement lor! keke... went to see the OB y'day and he predicts that i will be early coz bb is 60% engaged... most likely will deliver next week!

Michele,
Oh ya.. u gonna deliver soon.. Next week? Thats fast!! U shld stop all your work & get ready..
R u going for normal delivery?

Where's yr meet up this fri? I maybe on half day in the afternoon.. I can drop by & join u' all..

blline,
hello!

dlim,
last i checked with a teacher, kaizer was alright to play with everyone. but he himself told me that his fav friends now are brandon and rachel. this saturday i shall ask again. oh, i don't think jayden is considered slow in his speech, i think he may just be a quieter person by nature =)

cool_d,
xavier = ze beer is quite funny! most prob if we parents give our children names that are too difficult to pronouce, they will end up with a lot of "nicknames" in school.

michele,
next week sounds very soon! are you mentally prepared already?

dlim, yes - going for normal delivery. we'll meet @ cityhall on friday. still have plenty of work to clear so not ready at all!

s/w, yeah... very soon! very scared... have to quickly clear my work but my clients keep postponing my appts! argh!

dlim
hehe .. so cute hor. They really pick up all sort of things fm us (good or bad), and fm e TV especially. Dat day i went BKK do foot reflexology + shoulder massage, the lady used her 2 palm and hit my back, jboy says 'mummy, tis is the 'tai xi huan le' = the Oto massage advert where the old granny said tis at end of advert.

sandwich,
I believe if u ask him next wk, he will tell u a different names again..haa.. Jay quiet? Hm.. dun think so cox
he can really talk in his own world when we were in the car..hahaa. U know yesterday after we picked him
up from school, I purposely ask him did u enjoying playing with water today? I know they only play every thurs
but this boy juz quiet & ignore me leh!! So upset!

At least kaizer will answer u. There was once when I saw him & yr hubby at the staircase, I ask him
where's mummy? He said work! Jay really need to improve alot lor..

Re: Names,

Initially I shortlisted a few names for my gal & my mil really can give me all sorts of nicknames..

Jeanelle - Jin Neow (*faint*.. she is so creative lor)

Mykaela - She said difficult to pronounce.

If really difficult to pronounce, they can just call their chinese name! But then we wanted name to start with
J so end up with Jaelyn..

michele,
What time u'all meeting & who else going? I will go down straight after work..
Hopefully your #2 deliver will be a quick one....

Cool_d,
Haaa.. Jboy so cute lor! My Jay dont really know how to speak chinese though we are
trying to teach him. I ask him to count 1,2,3 in chinese, he will go back to english
again..haa..

dlim
do u use mandarin at hm? we speak mostly mandarin at hm, and wif my parents, teochew. So i guess its easier for jboy to pick up. in fact, he is quite a singlish boy now. Tis morn, i was hugging his pillow he snatch it away while say 'tis one is boy boy one, not mummy one' :S Dan we gg out, i ask him where is daddy, he replied 'daddy playing dian nao (computer)'.

michele
i wish u a super smooth delivery

coolD , jboy's pretty advance , considering his age .
so funny , my son also speaks teochew at home wif his mama n ah gong.
but he switch to english when he is speaking to me .
michele , hv a smooth dlvy , tot u due in Aug wor

Mich,

All that best!!!
Fast and smooth, just the way you like it...for your HB's sake, preferably in the hospital. haha. So not too fast. hehe.

Ya, I can only confirm later. I wonder if my IL can take him that afternoon but if they do, I'll be really late. So let me see how...as you know, I'm trying to juggle a few things now.
Fortunately, no impending birth.

Cool_d,
We dont speak mandarin at home..mainly english only. So I was telling my mom & Mil to speak mandarin with him.
They will initially but after awhile, they switch back to english again cox they worry Jay dont understand..haa

keke... thanks everyone thanks!

caicai, yes - i'm due in aug actually; national day but seems like #2 won't wait until then? dunno leh... that's what the OB said lah... dunno zhun or not... he just put me and hb in panic mode coz we both still have lots of work to clear!

dlim
i guess its ok la. Not ez for the adults to switch our language to accomodate the kids coz we r oredi so used to it. If I can, I wud wan to try n use less singlish, but we r juz sooo used to them. Now, jboy uses phase like 'alamak' so frequently

caicai
zac oso speaks teochew? actually quite cute hor. if u asked jboy 'le si si mi nan' he will reply 'teochew nan' :p

traz,
how do you do it??? haha

anyway, y'all bringing your child(ren)?

coold,
Jesse speaks some hokkien and mandarin. He sounds like me! - quite funny.

D
my boys will be in school (thank god!)
i'm considering of bringing my girl...
but in order to enjoy a great time and great food, i think i better dont bring her along..

michele and other mummies using aprica strollers,
i'm thinking of getting a second hand aprica stroller for #2 (saw a yellow/black one on sale at WTS section in forum). i like aprica cos the hand-me-down aprica that we've used at my mum's place is really very good --> light, durable and easy to maneuver. too bad it's upright and suitable for 6 months onwards only. i've also decided that i don't want to get a first hand model cos it's too expensive + cannot confirm if #2 will like to sit in a stroller, or just end up breastfeeding/sleeping in a carrier 80% of the time.

anyway, i want to ask you if aprica stroller accessories are commonly found in singapore or can be purchased online. cos if it's a second hand stroller, i better get a new stroller pad etc. i've seen an aprica shop in jakarta with a lot of accessories. but dunno whether i can get similar stuff here/online.

sandwich

Aprisin does carry alm the entire range of aprica accessories so shld b no problem.
but i think stroller pad u cn get those frm KP . unless u are thinking of changing the entire 'seat' ?

they hv told me b4 that cn actually bring the stroller to aprisin to do a 'servicing'. No idea if there are any charges tho.

s/w, i think the other mummies have answered you!
i'd go back to them also...

meet up tomorrow
mummies, its up to you - bring or dun bring; fine either way. i'd leave C with my parents if they are not going out. if i have to bring her, i'll bring my helper along too.

let's set the time - 1pm @ coffee club, raffles city.

Couch-potato lifestyle affects children's sleep: http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/health/view/444181/1/.html

What do you think about this article? I read this article with interest because I've been perpetually thinking of how I can cut down the amount of time it takes between lights out and Kaizer konking out (30min to 45min at the moment). Hmm, I think that the caption and photo is slightly misleading because "physically inactive" does not automatically equate to being a "couch-potato". How about children who can concentrate well enough to sit down for 1 hour at a story telling session or arts&craft session? They are considered physically inactive also, along with those who plonk themselves in front of the TV or game console. So bottom line - children who are the patient, quiet, contemplative sort run the risk of falling asleep later and for less hours as well?

s/w

I think the issue that the NZ researchers were studying is inactivity (not just having to do with TV). Toward the end, it said:

"Going to bed after 9pm, and the amount of television a child watched, did not make a difference to the time it took to fall asleep."

I think even for adults, if we do regular exercise we tend to sleep better and have more energy. Otherwise, our metabolic rate slows down and we start to store more fats (article mentions obesity).

That said, this whole "metabolic rate" and a person/child's circadian rhythm and sleep need varies.

For me the bottom line is: give the child opportunity for large muscular activity, even if the child prefers reading a book. Likewise, give an active child some "down time" even if he can round for hours on end. Moderation is probably the key here with a little skew to take into account personality.

If you bring a more sedentary person out to the park, the person will just walk about and smell the admire the view. If the person is a duracell bunny, he'll use that hour to bounce and run about.

For Jesse, I think it's interested that as long as I limit TV time, he'll remember to get his wriggles out by spinning around in the living room or running the length of my apartment or bounce about and flail his arms about. He does sleep better if I give him chance for more strenuous activity (playground). If he's not tired enough, he skips his nap.

big hello to all again. Quite new to this thead. Usually check out the BPs though..keke, can't resist shopping. lol...

Btw, any good short-term enrichment courses/activities to recommend arh? I'm looking for suitable one to let my boi attend, but he can't keep still lei. Also seem more interested to do his own things than following the class wor.

mich,

wouldn't it be cool if you gave birth on your birthday? (can just see you shaking your head. haha)

Anyway, Happy Birthday!
In case you don't check back this weekend.