(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

anyone has the life section from yesterday's papers? i'm looking for the article about online bookstores. read it at my mum's place but forgot to jot down the info. if anyone is free to help me dig out the article, please let me know the website of the bookstore that offers free delivery worldwide, thanks!

bunniette,
i had the blisscard when i gave birth to kaizer in 2007. yeah, can apply again end of this year. i'm only interested in the $38 cash card, hahaa

brushing teeth,
at my own home, i'm still using first teeth and finger brush. i don't brush at the sink, will brush wherever kaizer is (on highchair, on bed, during bathtime etc). i will scrape his tongue with the finger brush also, so he hates it, even though he allows me to do it. no gurgling/rinsing at the sink, but i'll get him to take in plain water using a cup after brushing.

at my mum's home, she brushes for him using first teeth and kid's brush at the sink. then followed on by gugling and spitting, which he actually can do quite well.

i find that brushing is not very clean though, so besides finger brushing, i also floss his lower teeth daily with a floss pick. there's ALWAYS remnants of meat whenever i floss. sometimes if he's in a restive mood, he will allow me to floss the top teeth and inner molars, otherwise he only allows me to floss the bottom 4-6 teeth and that's it.

I'm back to work today so hopefully will have more opportunities to come in to chat.

Hi Traz,
Hope Jayden and meimei are better now. Ya, everytime Matt has a runny nose, I try to separate the 2 kids. But it's difficult because Matt has runny nose and phlegm so often. Sigh...

Re: brushing teeth
We force-brush Matt's teeth every morning during his shower. He hates it but we don't give him a choice. Mostly we only manage to brush his molars properly because that's when he opens his mouth wide enough. Otherwise his mouth is clamped shut tighter than a clam's. He also swallows water instead of spitting them out.

Re: self feed
We totally hate the mess. So usually we will feed him. He also hates anything green or brown in his food so we have a very hard time feeding him.

Re: spicy food
Matt's dramtic when he tastes spicy foods, complete with fanning his open mouth and teary eyes. We usually let him try our food if he insists after we tell him it's spicy, to show him firstly we are not lying about the food, and secondly serves him right for being so greedy. Heartless parents...

ixora,
belle uses kodomo strawberry flavour too!
she tried pureen strawberry flavour once. she told me: "mama, it is different."
she dislikes pureen.

D still passing out loose stools and its oredi his 3rd day although not as frequent.

other than FM, wat other stuffs/food i cannot give?

i gave him Vitasoy and soya bean milk.. so i dunno if these contributed to his diarrhea also

i also cooked soupy meal for him.

anyway he is stil in his active self.. just worried that how come his stool is still watery

Cherryteq,
Finally u r back to work! Thanks.. both Jayden & meimei are better now. Hows Matt & meimei?
Oh btw, Im Dlim not traz...

Dlim,
Oops!! So sorry, blur... Matt's more caring towards meimei now, at least he will sayang her when she cries. Previously he will keep saying "I dun wan meimei". Think he's resigned to his fate already. Does Jayden or meimei miss you when you're at work? Do they stick to you like glue when u are home?

Cherryteq,
Oh.. matt will said that? At least now he start to dote on meimei..Sometimes u see the way they react, u will find it
very cute..

Jayden still likes to disturb meimei when she's sleeping in my room. I get very angry & frustrated whenever
he goes in & wake her up. Whenever I reached home & called my gal name, she will laugh very happily. She also start
to recognise ppl now.

Yes, both of them still very sticky to me. Especially when meimei want to sleep.. She only want me to carry her.
If my helper or hubby carry her, she will keep crying till I take over. Then my Jayden also another one.. Everytime
when he wakes up, the 1st thing he will do is to cry & look for me! Sometimes if he see me carry meimei, he will
also want to carry. I can feel he's still jealous at times..

Sometimes Im really very tired..finish settling one, another one to go! At least I feel very peaceful when im working...
No one come & disturb me!! Hahaa..

Is Matt & meimei very sticky to u too?

Min,
Lacteofort is to stop the diarrhea & you can buy from guardian pharmacy.

Min,
lacteofort is acidophilus in millions, gd bacteria for d stomach. is to help d stomach fights agst d bad bacteria so is useful during tx of diarrhoea. adult n kid can take. very safe. is a powder, just mixed w a little water. taste like bubblegum.

min , my sonny also had diarrhoea last week , continued for 1 week

i suspect it is also dued to teething , maybe ur D also same case coz they are around same age
we diluted his milk n stop his fruits .

min, cai and rina,
seems like a lot of kids getting sick. mine well already by last thursday. hope yours get well soon too.

cherryteq,
how many months of maternity leave did you utilize? how's your childcare arrangements with both matthew and megan now?

augleo:: i rem you were doing the steam rice cake previously ... could I get the recipe for it? my gal seems addicted to it now :p thanks!

cai2
cannot eat fruits ar? alamak.. i still give apple/pears but stop his milk completely

hope he will not reject milk when he recovers

rina
diarrhea seem to hv stop but poo seem soft to me

chweey so fast back to work? I dun even want to think about going back yet! and 1 month's flying past already!

V's also sick .. been coffing and she puked last nite ... so tonite rub vicks over her back, chest, throat and feet ... hopefully she wont puke *haiz* lucky we caught the puke in our hands and hubby fetch the dustbin on time, else we will be smelling the milky puke for weeks to come :p

Diane,
lost all the recipes in the HDD crashed.
now me bought from FP = Phoon Huat pre-mix - fa gao.
1 pkt can make abt 20+ small cakes.
usually, i will pour 1/2 of the mix. too much to finish.
S$2.30/pkt
so much easier (jus add water), no more beating needed.

** HOPE all the unfit kids and mummies get well soon.

KSS,

Belle so clever can tell u it's different. Yday I brot Jo to get a new tube of toothpaste, asked her to try other flavour, she still pick the strawberry one.. she's like me, not very adventurous, stick to the routine kind...

leo
steam cake so easy to make meh? can just use steamer? ok.. gonna go NTUC to take alook

Ixora
i also bot Kodomo strawberry toothpaste yday
But when D brush it.. got no foam leh.. issit normal anot? but manage to get him to rinse out

augleo,
i'm also surprised like min. you mean you just need to buy mix, add water and steam? so easy? do you know if the mix contains egg or milk elements?

i find the ready mixture too sweet personally .
but i dunno how to do it frm scratch.

s/w , i think u can check the ingredient pack . mite hv milk , i guess . unless u go to those vegetarian supermkt , then dun hv milk/egg contents ( personal opinion)

min , ya , no fruits . no cold stuff too ( that was wat pd say)

s/w,
threw away the packaging yest.
if i rmbr correctly, din read egg or milk contents. look for phoon huat packaging.

min,
steaming= me using norm pot.

leo
then where do you place the steam cake mixture for steaming? in a bowl or must buy special ones like those for cupcake? haha i sound very sua ku

or pls take a photo of your steam cake in the pot pls

augleo,
so intrigued that i went to google the huat kueh ingredients. most of the recipes online don't use egg and milk. i even found an egg-less and milk-less banana cake. yipee! finally there's a type of cake that kaizer can eat! maybe i can even prepare the cake with him at home, since it sounds really easy. yes, yes, take a picture and show us.

moxi,
OH yes, it does begin with O, heehee =)

Yes... :) Sounds like it too
Haha.. Oh, no....Oh Boy...if I ever have a daughter, I might name her "Joy". *grin*

service operator: may I have your last name please?
me: oh
service op: oh?
me: yes, oh as in o-h
service op: oooohh...oh
me: yes, oh.

We do this conversation all.the.time.

D: hahaha

sounds familiar. I get that sometimes when I use my surname, so sometimes I just use my hubby's surname. Makes life easier for me.

when to phoon huat to get the colourful pre-mix liao but dunno if will end up using it. Ok V waking up liao m... today must bring her see doc again, now running nose.

funny surnames,
chinese colleague who sits next to my cubicle has a few pictures drawn by her 5 year old daughter. all were signed off as "olivia quick" so of course i had to ask if daughter made a spelling mistake in her name. turns out that her husband's surname is really "quick", and there are two quick families in singapore because the person registering names made a spelling mistake for these two families! was supposed to be quek. she has a 2 year old plus son also. name is not dash (ivy lee's son's name), hahaa.

Min, s/w,
try to use some imagination.
Just take the photo for both of u.
recipe + pix w/cakes all gone w/HDD crashed.

the recent steaming, didn't take any photo. (coz i thot still in my hdd but can't find them le)

Me using the casing, lazy to do tedious washing.

just to share, usually will get JK invovles in mixing and pouring into the casings.
2698644.jpg

leo
thanks for showing the pix.. now got me interested
but then i'm not keen in letting D help me. i think it will end up in a mess. hahaha

dlim,
are you going for the parent's teachers meeting this weekend? my slot is 11.35am, what time is yours? i haven't filled up the feedback form yet.

oh, i have a frivolous question ... is jayden's swimming suit/trunks purple in colour? cos last thursday they had water play so i asked kaizer in the evening what his other classmates wore. he rattled off this person this colour ... haha, i need to verify if it's correct.

sandwich,
Yes Im going this sat & my slot is at 10:35. I have returned the form last wk
& hopefully I shld be able to see u after that.

Jayden swimming suit is in yellow & blue colour. But Kaizer is doing very well..at least he is
trying to tell u what colour they are wearing..

dlim,
aiyoh then all the colours are wrong! cos he told me ...
jayden = purple (correct answer is yellow and blue)
klaudia = green (teacher sri says it's actually pink)
rachel = pink (teacher sri says correct!)

i ask him a lot of silly questions in the evening, like who his bestest friends are in school (at the moment is brandon and rachel), who cried in school and why, who fell down when running, who sleeps with a pillow, what colour blankets/water bottles his friends use. i think a lot of his answers are made up, hahaa. last week he managed to pronounce a lot of two syllabus names. prior to that, when he said "den" i have to guess whether he means brandon or jayden. now he can say the whole name so conversations are less ambiguous.

s/w,

Jesse was/is like that too. Every week he goes for a 2 hour independent program. Anyway, the first few weeks when I carried him to the car, he kept telling me, "J spilled water". Some times he'll say, "Jesse snatched".

So one day I asked the teacher and she said, "no, Jesse has never spilled water"...she thought for a moment and then said, "Oh, some other kid did." Ahh...

Two-year-olds...everything is about them!

d,
this evening's conversation was quite funny. i saw that he had a bad patch of eczema on his hand. so i asked him if it was painful. he said yes, and then said "(klau)dia pinch pain". obviously this was made up, cos it's eczema and not bruised. anyway, i heard from the principal that the last time kaizer said "dia pinch pain", the teacher had to explain to kaizer that klaudia was actually not in school that day! then he promptly changed his story to "rachel pinch pain".

according to the principal, they're not deliberately lying, but just imagining a lot, and then sprouting whatever they've cooked up in their head. sure hope she's right. don't want him to grow up to be a serial lier.

s/w, D,
same to JK. keeps pointing somewhere and tell me lizard, spider and ant.
when I ask him where? he will giggling away.
if i act worry and scare, he will says "protect mama." w/a hug.
when he really see the spider or lizard, he will scream and shout for protection instead.

Or he will tell me the crane (he can see the crane from window) is moving which is not loh.
using imagination period?

Popular bookstore discount card:
any mummies has the card? we need to pay the annual fee despite the spendings?
not all the items there entitle discount?
not include computer peripherals?

s/w/ augleo
its cute isn't it .. our kids are starting to be creative. Its juz dat some x it makes us wonder if they are telling the truth or made up.

me oso like to chat wif jboy in the evening abt his sch .. will ask him wat they draw, wat they sing etc. Some x he will tell me 'so and so' pushed him etc. He's quite a complaint king. When we came bac fm BKK, IL came pick up and he told MIL his daddy beat him in BKK, pain pain :p

me too, find is cute esp. when JK illustrating how he gets hurt.
JK "pain pain"
Me "where? how u get hurt?"
JK "run and fall down." (w/running action and utter ouch + frowning expression)
actually, he din fall down to get hurt loh.

as what s/w mentioned as long they grow up not serial liar.

cherryteq,
coincidence leh, that 4 chinese poems....JK likes them too. keeps asking me to recite or play the audio.
he can't recite them unlike Matt.
at most the last word of the sentences. he will do some hand movements too

Sandwich,

I have put a comment in your blog. It is about your Costa Sands Resort at Sentosa recently. Can u PM me for more details like the pricing? How did u manage to get it so cheap? I am interested to go there for a weekend too

Hope to hear from u soon

Sandwich,

Kaizer so smart..I dont even know all his classmates names! haha..

I actually printed out 1 of Jadyen bday photo taken in school & there were klaudia & another girl
beside Jay. Sometimes, he will keep pointing at Klaudia & call out her name. If there is any group
photo taken in his class, I shall print out one day & ask him to name out all for me! hahaa..

Dlim,
The girl on the other side is "Ziqing". I've helped you identify the names of the toddler's at Jayden's b-day celebration. Posted it on your blog =)