(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

diane,
owwwww, the last picture is so sweet. i like the name ian better than valentino, hee.

d,
i'm going to sentosa again this weekend! not staying at a hotel though. cutting cost and staying at costa sands chalet instead. super cheap corporate rates for me - $10 for weekdays and $17.50 for weekend. so i've got a room from friday to monday for $45 only. hopefully the place is clean and comfortable. did you mention that you're interested in checking out the quincy? i actually still want to go there and stay, but if i can't make it before i give birth, then maybe stay there towards the end of the year with both kids.

s/w,

yes, I'll be staying at the Quincy soon...heh. Will let you know what I think about it after

Mrs Lai,

the 4th picture is so cute...he looks like he's thinking about something that'll change the world! hehe.

EATING

Feeding:
mummies, read from updates some of ur kids can self-feed very well. izzit, now they can self-feed thru out the meal w/lesser mess?
usually how long do they finish the serving portion?
JK still can't do good in self-feeding.
as a SAHM, i hv very low threashold of the mess.
the best he can oni eat 1/2 of the serving portion and no paitence to finish the rest.

Recently, totally refuse to hold his cultery.
any suggestions?
i can see those in cc can do very good in self-feeding. peers pressure huh?

Spicy food:
ever try giving spicy food to ur kid yet?
sometimes, when i add bits of gingers in JK's meal....he will complain "HOT!" needs to drink lots of water.
1 of my frez said, almost every meals she adds slices of gingers in her daughter meal. train her to eat spicy food.

Leo,

I only let Jesse self-feed when I have a lot of time or when he already had his dinner and we're out (then I give him some of my rice and stuff to self-feed with).

He is generally quite proficient at it and he has learnt to "lean forward" so his mouth/head is over the plate so even if food drops off the spoon, it falls into the bowl and not everywhere else. I think it helps that I've been quite picky about mess when eating so even when it drops on him now, he picks it all up before proceeding with the next spoonful.

Normally though, I just feed him. Let just now...he was seated nicely on a dining chair by the table wanting to self-feed but I told him to go on his high chair so that I can feed him - faster and cleaner. He was okay with that. haha.

Again, I don't feel the rush for him to "train". I guess with #2 coming maybe you feel more pressure...cannot imagine feeding both at one time or making one wait so that the other can be fed.

For us, I know he is physically capable of it so I don't care about it anymore. hehe. Btw, I think by this age, with enough practice, they are supposed to be capable of doing this (like those in CC). Guess it's the motivation lor...I like keeping Jesse as a baby. ;)

As for spicy food, I don't purposely give him spicy food. Some times when we're eating (noodles, char kway teow, curry puff, etc) he wants to try some. We try to give him the non-spicy bits or wash off the spice with soup but inevitably, there'll still be some "zing". He'll tell us it's spicy, I'll give him his own food/rice/bread and then he feels better. Sometimes I also give him (my) ice-milo or whatever is available. But he pretend only lah, take one sip and suddenly it's better!

Again, I think it's just my lifestyle lor. I eat spicy food, I can't do without it. I know he'll learn to eat it one day just because it's going to be "always there". I can't cook nutritious chinese soups but I can cook all sorts of curry!

leo
i can tell you self-feeding comes in phases!!!

there was a period of time D refuses to self feed.

then recently he started to snatch spoon away and feed himself!!

as u said.. SAHM less treshold for messiness so i tend to feed him when i see rice all over the table.
yes.. he is still very messy when comes to self feeding. and likes to play around his food using his hands!

and also when he eats at my grandma place with lil' kids around.. he tend to self feed more due to peer pressure! everything also must win!

spicy food
not given yet.. though we let him taste a bit. esp if he keep wanting to eat our food.. we let him taste then he would wanna ask again!

for ginger..
u use old or young ginger.. i think old ones is spicer.
and D also spat out ginger before.. perhaps just feed him a tiny bit..

Min,

if I'm not wrong my mil lets him self-feed while she's feeding him! She has high threshold for mess and very patient. She'll dish out some of his food on another bowl and give him another spoon to let him "explore". That probably helped along the way. Now, she just plonks him in front of the tv and feeds him while he's a zombie. hehe.

D
oh yes.. i do feed him with him self feeding at same time! otherwise i go bonkers waiting for him to finish his food.

Heh...I realise one thing. Jesse is very motivated to move a little quicker when I'm not paying any attention to him. E.g. he used to want to stay in the bathtub forever and kick and scream when I take him out. Now, I just leave him there and do a few things (yes, dangerous to leave child in tub unattended!) and he wants to come out in less than 1 minute!

self-feeding:
At home, Lele self-feeds breakfast. Home breakfast usually consists of oatmeal/weetbix cereal mixed with milk, with raisins, cheerio and sometimes corn bran. Sometimes, especially when I want a lighter breakfast cos want early lunch for him, I'll just add milk (warmed to room temp)to some cheerio n raisin. Messy? Oh yes. On "bad" days, he will get some food on his bib, shorts and T-shirt. On "good" days, only abit on bib and shorts. Sometimes I also wonder, Y so messy? But then I compare with last time, much better le la. Last time even the high chair and floor "kena". He takes 1/2hour to finish. Same as when I feed him. But more time taken to clean the mess :p
I tried to let him selffeed his mains but he is not interested. So I feed him, and he is quite happie for me to do so. I think seeing the same kinda food doesn't motivate him enough to want to self-feed:p

When we are out, Lele self-feeds. Sometimes I'll wanna feed him but he will almost always vehemently protest. He'll flare up lor. So I let him self-feed when he is outside. Only when he wants to come down (from high chair) but still have food in the bowl will he allow me to feed him. Messy? Very. But then, we are outside so my tolerance much higher. I tink he takes the same time to self-feed as when I feed him, which is 1/2 hour, but much more messy.

Min,

jesse eats weetabix almost every morning. It's just cereal, don't need to cook. (taste like cardboard to me, but my hb and J likes it. haha) Of course, can give with "warm/rm temp" milk but I give it to Jesse with cold milk.

I feed it to him but he has taken it on his own before, ditto with cheerios and all the rest.

Train the child to lean forward and eat over the bowl. Less mess!

i don't allow kaizer to self feed his dinner when he's with me cos he's selective and will pick out only the meat to eat, leaving veg and rice behind. i usually take about 1/2 hour to feed him the main meals and then i leave him to his own devices when it comes to fruit time (which is less messy to self feed). my husband is usually the one clearing the mess, hahaa.

S/W: Kaizer is same as Lele, will choose and pick out only stuff he likes when we are eating at home. We inclue a generous portion of vege and meat into his lunch and dinner. But this fuss pot is not a meat or vege eater. He likes fish cake/fish ball/egg...only a few kinds of not-very-healthy food. So when I feed him, I usually hide all the vege at the bottom, cover w noodle/rice, and top with teeny bit of fish cake/fishball/egg.

Min: D is right. Weetbix is a breakfast cereal staple of Aus.It has no sugar and low salt and made of 99% wheat. So I guess healthier choice? I like to dip weetbix into cold milk for my own breakfast. For Lele,I'll add a piece into hot milk and then add some oatmeal. Weetbix taste better w cold milk and v mushy w hot milk. But since Lele okay with it (prolly cos I also add other crunchy stuff like cheerio and corn bran) so I just use hot milk.

Leo: pardon me for asking. Y need to train kid to eat spicy food by adding ginger? I'm just curious because never heard of spicyfood training before until u mention. I always thought children will try out of curiosity to taste adult food including spicy food, and with more tries, they naturally get more and more used to spice. Some children might not like spicy even after try and remain not liking spicy food even as adult. Lele cannot take spic and shun from it, but sometimes out of curiosity he will request for a little bit of curry on his roti prata and then say, "Niiiiiiiceeee...little bit spicy nice. Too much spicy not nice."

I dun remember much of our childhood but vividly remember how we always follow our dad to hawker centre to eat yu yuan mian. When we were still very little, dad will put some of his dry and spicy noodles into soup to wash away the chilli and then let us eat. Then we started having our own bowls of noodle with ketchup. Soon we started requesting for little bit of chilli. As we got used, we started adding more. Now we are all chilli addicts except for my younger bro.

Eating Spicy Foods

I grew up in a family that ate lots of chili. But there'll always be a dish or two without chili and that's what the kids ate. And some how, when it was time, we just progressed to eating curries and stuff. I remember my first time eating curry was when I was 10! It was so spicy and my mom didn't allow me to drink cold water. If I wanted water I can only drink hot water. Otherwise, she'll just tell me to eat more rice.

My HB only started eating spicy food in his late 20s after he met my mother!

I guess there's no real reason to learn to eat spicy food (many ang-mohs goes through life w/o learning and no harm done). For our culture, it's just fun to be able to eat spicy cos of the many other foods we can take.

morning mummies

D, min n Kate,
thks for reverting on the feeding.

Library regulars:
Keeps forgetting to share (mayb some of u aldy know).
From 1st July 09 onward, our member cards can loan 6 books (or 4 books n 2 audio discs).
happy reading n exploring

s/w ,

yeah i seldom log on nowadays , been busy at home wor.

btw , was thinking of names one day . tot of kai-le ( Karle) if urs is a boy

or Kai-er if urs is a gal ...
heeehee

cherryteq,
Yes im back to work for almost 1 mth + now. Now im trying to clear my balance of 1mth maternity leave.
So will b planning to take few days/weeks off.. How is your gal doing now? The other time u mentioned
Matt is sick.. how are both of them now? My Jay is again sick and coughing & my poor gal is also sick
now. So sian...everytime when 1 is sick, the other sure fall sick too.

Sandwich,
How u doing now? Finally get to see u few days back. Oh yes.. nice car!

Caicai,
U resting at home now?

dlim,
kaizer had flu, cough, fever yesterday. must be some bug going around in the class. i was on leave yesterday, and bought him to NUH in the morning to see doc. because he is a school going child, they did a H1N1 swab for him. then we lazed around together in the afternoon. he literally just lazed around, lying on the floor to eat biscuits etc cos too lethagic. today my mum's taking care of him, and tomorrow's my turn again. actually he was responding well to the med and back to normal self by yesterday evening, but because he had quite a serious nosebleed (i had to do laundry after that cos stained both shirt and pants) at about 4plus PM, so today he's kept off school again. hope he'll get well by tomorrow afternoon cos my husband's having his convocation at 3pm! will be quite sad if kaizer can't go down to NUS to take pics with him.

caicai,
aiyoh, not considering names starting with K. i'll seriously think abt the names abt one more before EDD, maybe have more inspiration then! you thought of a name for your #2 already?

sandwich,
Yah.. i also suspect some bug going ard in the class. How is kaizer now & how high was the fever?
Poor boy.. his nosebleed so serious? Hope he is feeling much better today.

Few months back Jay also had the same symptom & he stayed at home for the one whole week.
It was so serious that he was put on neuabliser.

s/w,

hope Kaizer gets well enough to go for the convo...

Jesse's down too. Mild though. Just coughing throughout the night and runny nose. No fever. Body rejecting food but he's still greedy... I have so many things to do this week, I just want him to get well by today.
I have a slight cough as well. Dunno he pass to me or I pass to him. Either way, we non-school-going people get sick too.

I'm also coughing my lungs out. But much better already. Luckily hb n cait did get it!

D is rite, non-school going pp get it too! Hope all the little kiddos get well soon!

Congrats to S/W HB!

I'm also coughing my lungs out. But much better already. Luckily hb n cait didNT get it!

D is rite, non-school going pp get it too! Hope all the little kiddos get well soon!

Congrats to S/W HB!

I'm also coughing my lungs out. But much better already. Luckily hb n cait didNT get it!

Congrats to S/W HB!

Good morning mummies

is Friday again.

hope all well and fit to enjoy the weekend.

Teeth:
JK has all his 20 milk teeth ard his 26 month.
but...lazy me still didn't let him use any toothpaste or bring him to toilet brush his teeth (but we do brush thrice daily after his milk feed=on the spot whr he had done his milk)

any1 started proper brushing teeth :
* look at mirror and brush
* gargling (hw u all train huh? keep demo infront of them huh?)

Augleo,

JK so fast... Jo still at 16.. but I let her use toothpaste and she brushes in toilet in front of mirror.. she can sip water and spit out... we brush together so I think she follows me.. but I still brush for her at the end of the session..

ixora,
u get Jo a personel cup?
what brand of toothpaste Jo using huh?
Jo so clever, can follows the steps correctly

Sometimes if my mouth gets too foamy, I'll hv the throwing out sound (dunno if u get what i mean), anyway Jo will pat me on my back and ask if i'm ok... i feel so loved by her... hee

ixora
dat day jboy's daddy cough n cough, he oso go n ask 'daddy u ok, ke shou ah? eat Dr chng's yao (med)' .. so heart warming hor

Btw .. any kids who DUN brush their teeth regularly har? haha, me trying find lazy mummy like me :p

JK yet to b so caring yet

if i'm laying on the bed during odd timing, he will come and said "mama, sick? pain pain?"
when i complain i'm having headache, i can b excused with his request = like playing or reading with him.

coold,

I'm with you...we brush like once every two weeks or so...when I see it's getting yellow then I'll brush for him with a finger brush. He can't spit out either and will drink the water instead...but yesterday he managed to spit a little...so getting there.

hello
brushing talk?
ha...actually when i recall back, my parents never asked us to brush our teeth...i rem i learn it only when i was in K1, when the teacher talked on the topic. And even then i brushed only in the morning, my parents also never check/monitor if we did it correctly.
haiz...those days like really easy to be a parent...we just grow up like that..
i stopped drinking milk when i was not even 2. My brothers stopped before 3.
Nowadays the milk powder is for all the way up to 10!!

leo
hubby or I will brush our teeth tog with D

recently he also wanted to rinse his mouth from the mug.. but then he share mug with me

so may start him on kids toothpaste some time later since he seem to be able to rinse out water.

i agree.. nowadays our kids very sweet!! once i say 'ounch".. D will come and sayang me and say "uh oh.. mummy pain pain" then hug hug me

cool_daughter, count me in. I'm also lazy mummy to brush boy teeth, haha. Bought him toothbrush and toothpaste, only brush when in mood. Bad Mummy!!

Yeah nowadays kids are so sweet, when they know u angry or pain, they'll come to hug, sayang u and say sweet things.

coold,

ya dun feel bad...haha. Just do what you think is right.
There will always be some better and doing more and some doing less... you're such a positive person, Jordan will benefit from that more than anything else.

and btw, Jesse decided to brush his teeth again yesterday. So that's two days in a row for the first time. And also first time he "pui" before swallowing the water. But he only did it right once, subsequently, he drank the water and "pui" air. haha. It's just fun to see him enjoying the process.

Flu jab
Leo, you were asking abt flu jab rite.

i talk to my PD.. and she say got 2 typs of Flu.. there are Northern and Southern Strain

and Southern strain is ending soon hence she recommeneded not taking flu jab for now and most clinics ones are jab for southern strain.

so she say to come back again next month for jab for northern strain which she will be ordering new stock for it.

so perhaps you can check with your PD/GP abt this

she also say children under 3 is recommended to go for flu jabs

yo Min,
thks for the jab info.
will discuss w/my hb.

btw, saw ur blog that D brushing teeth w/his daddy

last night, let JK try to gargle = failed.
he enjoys drinking rather than spitting.
will try again

leo
D initially also swallow water.. have let them pratice a few more times.
i always tell him tap water very 'yee yee' cannot drink.

my D is down with diarrhea.. i think due to overdose of sour plum

he went over to great grandparents place yday and he kept asking and wanting to eat sour plums

so i think he ate 5-6 of it.. and my PD say too much and will damage to lil' kidney. thankfully he only eat it once in a while

so each time they can only eat 1 sour plum. FYI!