hello
i was at raffles city coffee club at 1pm.
was standing outside since 12.45pm.
the waiters and waitresses were all staring at me..
they prob tot i was stood up by some blind date??
didn't hv mich/D's phone no.
and didn't check the forum on that day itself.
tot still meeting at raffles city.
called michK and she checked the forum and said venue/time changed.
so i ended up all alone at the food court lor....
I checked the board in the morning and saw the change. I was already prepared to go for the 1pm thing (even though it's J's nap time) but wasn't prepared for the earlier timing, so I didn't go.
Did you manage to enjoy your time alone (read a few magazines, have a slow cup of coffee, do some shopping)? Some times I like that too...like I'm looking forward to doing that this afternoon...but till now, J still not napping! ARGH.
traz,
aiyoh feel so apologetic now that i found out you missed mich and d's date. hope you had a good time out on your own.
i'm a couple of hours away from finishing my 2 days mc. going back to work tomorrow. one good thing out of my food poisoning episode was that my eczema improved a lot. was joking with the gyn who saw me on monday that the continuous vomiting and diarrhea over a 24hour period caused me to be so lethargic that i forgot to scratch my eczema. also managed to nap a lot, so i guess that helped too.
michele,
your gyne predicted that you'll give birth this week right? what are your plans for claire? sending her to your mum's place when you start having contractions? do you know if toddlers like claire and kaizer are allowed in the delivery suite?
s/w, i think generally they only 'allow' hubbies into the delivery suite. i'm not sure if there are exceptions - maybe thomson medical? i'm going to leave C with my parents when i go into labour and have them bring her over when i'm done (bb is out and i'm out of the delivery suite). we also have the option of her staying over with my parents in case its a 'middle of the night' thing since she has been staying over their place on sats for the past few months.
D, nervous? actually no leh... my OB said this week but i dun feel IT yet! we did the CTG y'day and i dun think i'm anywhere near! he wants to induce me AGAIN because he will be away the national day weekend but I'm going to protest as much as possible! and oh! the bb's suddenly shot up! he's estimated to be already 3.3kg based on y'day's numerous scan!
D, actually i don't really mind other DRs delivering the bb lah... but i think he's the one who doesn't like (my OB).
ixora, ya lah... so irritating hor... everytime long weekend he go away! haha... but my timing also good lah... how come always due around public holidays?!?!
obviously lah...loss of income for him what. But that's his problem isn't it? I mean, if he really wants to delivery every child then he should take fewer holidays. Otherwise, expecting mothers to induce is...unreasonable (but unfortunately, seems pretty common in this part of the world).
If you've had an uncomplicated pregnancy so far, it might be good to talk to him about it lor. Like what do you do if you're in labour and he's not around. I can't say I know the procedure here...probably just go ER?
It might not be the most dignified but at least it's natural. But it's really up to you lah...
D, ya - it is very irritating to be 'induced' for someone's convenience!
i'll ask on MOn what to DO when he is not around... i'm just thinking what reason he is going to give to 'convince' me to induce on the 05 (i dun wanna my kid to share b'day with the SIL's kid). the earliest i'll 'allow' to be induced is 11 Aug (since I'm overdue by his standards) - which is my sis' birthday! keke...
mich
yeah .. i oso feel dat if it's overdue, does not sounds so bad to induce, especially if the baby is growing too big. The pros of induce is, dun hv to go thru' the 'panic' of sudden contraction and rush to hosp. Can slowly get your fav food, go hosp at your convenience.
michele,
since i'm at a public hospital, my case is totally opposite from you. i still remembered that at my 38 and 39 week visits for kaizer, nobody ever broached the c-section and induction topic to me. all the gyns whom i saw just assumed that i'll opt for a normal delivery and will wait up to 41 weeks. in fact, nobody will bother to discuss birthing plans with you. induction and c-sections are prob considered troublesome for public gynes to handle.
you're right abt babies who like to arrive on public hols, hahaa. my gyn cousin who takes care of high risk deliveries at KKH <u>never</u> gets to enjoy extended family gatherings on public holidays like xmas and cny because he's always off to the hospital to do a delivery.
Like s/w, I gave birth in a medical school. haha. Just give birth when you give birth kind of deal...Actually, if I get pregnant again, I quite look forward to the "suspense" of it all...will give myself more time to get to the hospital though. Like walk around the malls nearby but be at the general vicinity. heh.
finally rec'd the refund on my mobile data trf on the statement. Today, I am terminating the current hp#. most likely will be during JK's nap (always long wait to get sum1 talk to).
mummies, pls erase my #"6632" in ur contact.
As for new#, I'm still considering which svc provider to get.
well, i am more or less ready to give birth - just that #2 is not ready to make his appearance yet? and D, like u mentioned before, i'd like to be as 'natural' as possible (w/o being induced) so that i know the 'difference'!
I was thinking about it last night (can't sleep again) and I remember having "contractions" a week or so before I gave birth. And a few days before every middle of the night for about two hours I'll be up having contractions twenty minutes apart. The day of, from 2am I had contractions all the way (20 mins apart) until the sun came up...right through lunch...had a big lunch
...went home, fixed up the stroller, etc etc. By 4:30pm contractions were like 5 minutes apart. After about an hour and a half of that, the water broke (contractions 4 minutes apart lasting a minute or so). An hour after that finally left for hospital but gave birth 10 minutes after I got a bed in triage. haha.
So, that point is... have you even gotten any contractions yet? Everybody's experience is different but I was told to stay home as long as possible so...getting contractions would be the beginning of it...
oh well...sometimes when you're standing, it's just a trickle..."gush" is more when you're lying down. haha. Good to carry a small towel around just in case though. haha.
my boy has started CC today. so fast hor!
the centres ard my place are all on long waitlist.
so this YMCA cc called me just last sat to inform me on vacancy and insist we start this wk otherwise space given to next on the list.
so bo bian hurriedly let him start as my hubby scared gotta wait again
anyway he did not cry when we send him in to eat his bf at 8.45am then i left the centre since he seem so settled. but then he cried during lunch when a class mate cried. think he might had cried a while coz his voice a lil' coarse when i picked him up at 11.30am
i hope no crying session for him.. wonder why he cried later part when he did even cry at all during his lesson.
yeah, i'm still here lor! saw the OB y'day and fixed the date for 'induction' on 11 Aug (absolute latest date he will let me wait till!) - hopefully #2 decides to come before that!
Min
For my boy, he will cry if me or hubby brings him to school...but he is OK if it's my MIL bringing him....guess it's a matter of getting used to. Am sure Dillion will adapt with a few more sessions.
Anyway, I know walking helps...and it should be like brisk walking for an hour or more type...now walk from living room to bedroom ten times Hehe. But then, I think it helped because I walked a lot throughout my pregnancy (first type).
keke... thank u everyone for all the suggestions! i'm going to let C nurse more often (after today - dun wanna #2 to share b'day with my SIL's boy) since 'nipple stimulation' is one of the methods too!
Min
I think my boy cried only for the first 1st 2 or 3 days when we drop him off but the teacher will distract him and settle him down after awhile...subsequently, he never cry anymore and seems rather used to school. Now, he even waves "byes" to me when he leaves the house with grandma to go school.
leo
alamak. thanks. i dunno how come i keep thinking its Prima. then i might hv seen the Phoon hUat ones.
SD
D cried again on 2nd day. again due to a new girl whom started same time as him. she cry then he follow.
aiyo.. i wonder if she din cry wld he be ok anot!!
min
dat is normal. when jboy 1st started, his teacher oso told me when some other kids cry, he will start to cry and mummy mummy. I guess they maybe following, or they may be afraid coz other pple crying and they probably thot wats wrong.
can i check when do you start putting them full day in the cc
i been bringing D home after his lunch/bath for past 2 days.. wondering if i shd also do so for thurs and fri and also next mon
then next tue onwards do full day?
wonder if he will cry it out for the whold day in CC
Min
for me, right fm e start i oredi let jboy stay full day... not really full day la, but we let him at least take his nap there, tea break, and we bring him back ard 3+ or 4. Nowadays, my IL sometimes fetch him abt 5.30pm.
I rmbr jboy's teacher told me starting period, usually after nap, jboy wakes up will start looking for mummy and cry. Or during nap, if some other kids cry and woke him up, he blur blur oso will start crying for mummy.
Maybe talk to D's teacher and see what she recommend. Usually for new kids, teacher will pay abit more attention
Min
Agree with Cool D that usually when kids are "new" to the environment, they will generally be affected by the crying of peers. Hence, what the teachers will usually do is they will carry the crying kid aside and console them...otherwise, the wailings will affect the rest of the group.
My personal view is that maybe monitor D's "performance" for 2-3 weeks for half day classes (5 days a week)...if he seems to adapt well, then you convert him to full day.
Oh ya, kids when they first start out CC may fall sick (have not build up the immune system)...so you should be prepared.
hello all,
long weekend is coming, what are you mummies planning to do? for me, i don't have specific plans for the weekend, so means i'll prob eat and sleep a lot, hahaa
when D cries he always hv 1to1 with the teacher.
and i'm very happy when he can say 'teacher cut apple for D' and when i asked him who bathed you he school.. he said "teacher"
at least some +ve vibes from him.
today i let him stay till naptime. i hope he will co operate with teachers.