(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

starz,
Gong Xi Gong Xi. Rest more ah!

Adeline,
No hao zi for you ah? Then you try 2 more times for boy and get 2 boys then you will have 2 hao zi lor kekeke...

a quick one, later going off for gynae appt...

hi coral,

yes, i gave tricia cornflakes without milk, it's those Nestle plain type. i treat it as biscuits for her, give her 1 piece by 1 piece.

Jerking
=======

mummies, check with you, do ur darlings jerk while sleeping? i realise when tricia sleep, she will sort of jerk...

coral,
can mah, but cornflakes is sweet. my friend's boy took q early. And also I think depends on how well Charlotte takes the solid food.

Jenny
wah lau! Still must try 2 more times! I close shop liao.. 2 girls sufficient hahahaa.. financially cannot take it already lol

<font color="0000ff">vivian</font> Rhys video so cute. reminds me of Caleb (me still stuck in office lah that's y). cant leave him near to pool or water cos this boy will run and wanna jump in. my dad had a scary experience once. Caleb pushed my dad away (this boy is real strong lor) and dashed to the pool. he like to dorged his way around to get out of our sight. think he training to be a footballer or what.

<font color="0000ff">coral</font> i have the same question but answered myself eventually. my reasoning is they have a lifetime to take those stuff so no hurry to start Caleb on that yet.

<font color="0000ff">gemini</font> caleb no longer jerks while sleeping.

<font color="0000ff">starz</font> he is nice and very passionate about his work. i was told he talked to my colleague until wanna cry type lor. but he's staff (lady starting with "P***y) is a real bitch lor.

1 Dec 2007 12 pm gathering at Shirley's place Sengkang
==============================================

1) Shirley, ZacZac and Lele
2) Adeline, Kimmy and HB (might be late cause gynae appt in the morning)
3) Ling, Maximus, HB
4) Freshpoison77 & Kayden

hi doreen,
Jenny is rite. Maclaren IS sturdy but DEFINITELY nt light. Mine is the Techno XT. Good to operate but a bit difficult to carry cos damn heavy.

Hi agnez,
Since you on the topic of BB#2, thought I wanna add my 2-cents worth.
Before we had our BB, I was adamant to have only 1. It was my hubby who likes kids and he wans 3. After having my son, despite the sleepless nights and fatigue, I dun mind having another BB as the feeling of having a child is really wonderful. (Something I never understood b4 cos I kept delaying having kids till only aft 5 yrs of marriage)
Both my hubby & I realy hope to give our children everything (both needs & wants) cos both of us did not come from well to do families and were deprived of a lot when growing up. I worked part-time every holiday since I was 15, my hubby had to put himself thru sch while working his ass off @ a pub...
That's why I always say I'm financially nt ready to have another BB yet cos we dun wan our kids to go thru what we went thru.
However, that's what we feel. IF you feel you are ready, you shld juz go for it... There's really no nd for any special reasons to have #2. I noe I will have my #2 once I'm ready!!!

hi dor..
maclaren volo is lightest of maclaren. correct me if im wrong. if you want something light and portable, get a combi.alternatively, there is one model of graco which is lighter than the rest - cant rem the name but only 3.5kg and can be opened and close with one hand.

i can sell you my maclaren techno xt if you wan...heeeeee...coz too heavy for me to use.me recently coverted to combi

starz,

Congrats!!!
xin ku ni le
rest well..

looking forward to pics of Princess Isabelle

2nd one
after reading the post here, a bit xin dong la but still got constraints.
My mother keep saying take care of one already enough for her so dun know whether if i really got 2nd one, who will take care? haiz..

Jenny
Wait for sales aah.......when aah?? kekeke
As for the light hor still okie lah I aiming those around 5kg 1. Cos see those ppl using the stroller so eh sai not like my stupid combi so heavy n clumsy can't even use the basket nicely.

btw u know the opening hrs of bb hypermart anot?? n u reminded me I must call CC to check price liao....hehe

Agnez
Wah u n hubby actually decide on 1 only aah. Then think really see tian yi lor...hehe

Freshpoison, lilboymum
Techno XT hor weighs the same as the combi I currently have leh that's why I dun want.....hehehe
Combi hor not tat I really dun like but the basket not convinent n if I hang something behind will topple lor. N with them walking now n climbing all over hard to control the stroller n them together. Dun wanna be embaressed by the toppling of my stroller everytime my son runs off...hahaha

So I considering selling off my Combi to get a Maclaren Quest lor. Cos at least Quest still can use for #2 next time ma n not that heavy for me.
But now my sis tells me she has a 4 yr old Triumph she can pass to me which I remember was quite heavy lor even she says so. So now I'm all confused again whether to buy or not...sigh

Jenny,
ya lor... that box behind him are his toys at home. Wait till you see the toy box at my mum's place. BIGGER than this! haa...

Starz,
aiyo... so surprised to see you posting here. So on ah you... in hospital just come in here to report... haa...
You my hero liao lah... 1 push Isabelle come out liao... I can still recall I dun know push 30 over times, my big Rhys still happily stuck up there in my tummy... haa...
Glad to know that you are recovering well... take care and jia you!!! CONGRATS again!!!

Coral,
nope, me dun feed R cornflakes yet. Not that I dun want but never thot of that before... hee...

Gemini,
R dun jerk anymore while sleeping.

Dor,
Me also feel the same way abt Combi. Too light liao. And the basket below is USELESS... There was a time when I brought R out in the combi stroller and halfway in MRT he fussed so I carried him out of the stroller and POM... the whole stroller falls backwards. I only have a small bag hanging behind leh. So paisey... and heng got a guy helped me to push up the stroller coz I carrying R. From then on, I dun use the combi liao.
So we bot an umbrella stroller after that. Structure wise same as Maclaren (with multiply lying position) but CHEAPER and yet italian brand. Yes, it is very heavy but I find it really sturdy and easy to move ard. Even go on escalator also easier. But best of the best, now I can hang my heavy and big tokidoki bag on the stroller... haa.... BEST!
My suggestion is why dun you go bb hypermart to take a look. They have a huge range there. I bot mine there.
To me, Maclaren is really over-priced. There are other brands that are almost exactly the same and yet cheaper. So you can compare before buying.
Actually unless you intend to close the stroller and carry it by itself when you are outside, otherwise the weight is not that critical. Coz I realised that if I bring the heavy stroller out, I never close it lor. Just push ard nia. Then the weight dun really matter to me. If i need to lift the stroller up a stairs or something, with R in it, even a combi I also cannot mah.. so sure need someone to help. If so, weight is also not impt liao.. hee... just my personal view lah...

Starz,
Congratulations!
So happy that you got your wish

Shirley,
Thanks for organising the get together. I will have to give it a miss this time cos I have a symposium on that day.

Vivian,
Rhys so cute! K still no confidence to walk without holding our hands leh.

Gemini,
I don't think K jerks anymore. But he flips all around when he sleep though.

Toys
Ladies, do you all have any type of "must get" toys to introduce? I know there are lots of toys out there but somehow they are very similar after a while and K seems to be sian of his toys already. Even when we introduce something new, he doesn't play with it for long. He is more interested in taking out flash cards and throwing them all around! *faint*

Doreen,
Xmas coming soon, should have pre and post xmas sales soon right?
I'm using Maclaren Quest since Jolene was 11 mths old. So far so good, except after closing it, it can't stand on its own lor, which I dun like. And it's much heavier than my capella (3.5kg) by 2kg. But then the wheels are steady to move ard compare to capella lah. I bought at Motherworks, that time less 20% for Citibank CC, so paid $300+ for it. I can't remember mine is 2005 or 2006 series.
I never been to bb hypermart leh, dunno the operating hrs.

Hi Freshpoison,
Thanks for sharing your view

On Maclaren stroller
====================
I'm using Maclaren techno too, Maclaren is sturdy & quite heavy, think more than 8kg.

Nowaday, my gal will refuse to sit in the stroller
she want carry carry or if in good mood want us to hold her hands & walks a few steps
She'll only stay in the stroller when she is tired & wants to sleep.

Most of time, our shopping bags will end up in the stroller instead.

Toys
====
My gal also dun play with the toys for long, max 5 mins I think, then she'll turn to new toys, play for a short while then look for another one, until she takes out almost everythings in the box
then will go for those remote controller, telephone etc

Vivian, Doreen,
You know hor, when I was using the capella I also had tat problem. So whenver I carry the kids out, I will use my leg to step on the leg support first. Even now with Maclaren I also do tat cos sometimes I hang a lot of heavy stuff behind.

Doreen,
So far the cheapest Maclaren is Volo but this one only 1 sitting position. Is light also. I tempted to buy last year but I find it too ex. For this kind of stroller, I think can get those no brand type, cos it serves the same purpose. Anyway now I seldom use stroller liao, will only bring if I go for long hrs of shopping where it will become a need as a "bed" for the gals to sleep.

pups,
Personally hor, I feel kids at this age dun need toys. They are more contented with the real stuff ard them. I mean this is wat I observe from my 2 gals lah. They are not interested in toys at all, but more interested with plates, pots, telephone, anything in the kitchen cabinets. Maybe age 3, they will start to appreciate bah. Cos now Jolene starts to show interest with toys. I'm tempted to buy a Pooh cashier toy from Tomy Disney cos it's so fun. Can scan amt some more haha... more for me bah... Cos Jolene's classmate got one but is Mickey one, Jolene and I were playing with it...
p/s: I find Fisherprice toys dun attract kids keke... maybe attract bbs bah.

Vivian,
I see the toys at my place, I also wanna faint, few boxes in the gals room, some up in the cupboard, some inside storeroom... My mum side still ok. I'm going to clear them off soon cos I dun think I have space to keep. Trying to clear the stuff bit by bit now when I have time. I think Jolene will be very sad when I decided to sell off the toys. Regret buying so many Fisherprice Toys lor.

Ladies, thanks for the avice on cornflakes. I'm just wondering what Char can ot cannot eat. I'm sort of very conservative, I don't allow my parents or inlaws to feed her many other food than the bb biscuits I buy. But hb and me has been treating Char to our ice-cream ;P I just wonder if Cha rwill be bored with the choice she has. But I agree with Selina, they have a long way to go, so maybe save those choices for later ba.

Talk about pool, hb every dropped Char into the water twice (both accident) Once he was holding her and missed a step, I think he did frighten her, the second time he missed a step and topple her into the water for a few second, when we turn her over she was fine, guess this gal learn to hold her breath under water given that she got such a clumsy daddy. She still can't walk, so wont rush to pool like Rhys or Caleb, but she'll start kicking her legs when she sees the pool.

Toys
====
DOnt think I need to buy Char toy, cos she play with everything else at home. So can save money.

Funny Incident
==============
My Mum brought Char to shopping centre to buy her a pair of slippers, when my mum took two pairs up to compare size and colour, Char took a bite of the blue one and got a large mouthful of the slipper in her mouth. The choice is made, my Mum just had to pay. Char is like a cockroach, she has been eating rubber, paper, handles of her bike, hand rest fo the chair, anything that she can get hold of. Dunno how to get rid of this bad habit of hers. Been smacking her mouth but no use.

Toys
=====
i only got those shape things for kim to match and put in. Cause now she likes to mix and match. like milk bottle, she like to put back the cover herself. For those stroller clips, she like to clip herself. so i bought that for her and she like them.

My EDD is in late March.. So i guess either shirley or me will be next. Time pass so fast.. Going Jan soon and giving birth like really fast.

dor
my suggestion is not to get a too expensive stroller and like what viv said, maclaren is over priced. Since D is like zac, very used to ergo, he may take sometime to get use to stroller. as for the weight, i am currently using the combi light weight stroller think around 3kg, super light and i like it a lot. got it from yahoo auction at $38. it can stands on its own after closing. as for the basket hor, hmm i didnt really use it and i also dont have the habit of hanging my bag on the stroller. but i think if u want it light weight, hanging the bag will cause the stroller to topple. For me lightweight is super important cos like u, usually i go out alone with Zac. sometimes may need to carry the stroller up the stairs. with this combi, i can close it and carry it using the strap and carry zac in my the other hand (but for short distance lah). buy a cheap one to try first lah cos next time D may not want to be in the stroller at all cos he will be busy running abt! haha

Pediped shoes, forget to ask u how is the quality? there is another BP only $34 leh, so much cheaper, tempting to buy another one, so checking with u to see if the quality good or not. also the sizes bigger or smaller than expected. zac is running out of good shoes to wear.

coral,
Jaslyn is a greedy gal, she eats everything now, except for some food that I dun allow. Can't really control cos she's not with me during weekdays lor. Dun feel like being a naggy woman keep telling my mum and siblings also. As long is moderate, I let them lah.
Talking abt pool, thats my gals favourite. Have not been bringing them to pool for abt 2 mths liao. Next week they will play till siao cos I'm going bali with a friend family and we book a villa with private pool, can soak in there le.

Shirley/Doreen,
The Pediped shoes the base is it like those shoo shoo shoes? Or those soft support kind like those Disney shoes? Find the shoes very sweet... but if the sole like those shoo shoo then I dun want.

Toys
====
I think the best and cheap toys for now, just buy some plastic plates and spoon and let the kids play haha..

Jenny,
hehe...me like u to, dun feel like being a naggy woman keep telling mil & sil abt dun feed A this n tat. Alvis eat everything now. We just giv him whole grape w/o seed. And his favourite is dry cranberry. BuT we din feed him cool stuffs like ice cream.

think as long is moderate, shld b no harm.

<u>Toys</u>
Dun think they like toys now. Like A, he prefer walk here n there, open tv console drawer, take out all the CD/VCD...hahahaha...

Shoe
-----
Recently i bought a pair of Snoopy brand hard sole shoe for A. $18/pair. This is his 3rd pair of shoe liao within a month.
He outgrow previous shoes very soon. Dun feel like buying exp shoe for him.

jenny

me not sure abt the base too. according to the BP organiser and the webby, it seems that it is thicker than the shoo shoo shoes. I also dont want to buy those shoo shoo base liao, too thin for walking. ya i think the shoes for gal looks very sweet. now waiting for dor to reply, if not u sms her lah cos she will check posting only at night. think the BP may be closing soon. cos if its good then i will get another pair, its much cheaper than the first one we bought. around 30 plus, we paid 40 for the first pair.

Jasmine
I got a pair of the snoopy hard sole one from my MIL but i find really hard leh. like not very comfortable, moreover the size is too big for him too. So A can walk properly in that not too much discomfort?

Babe Ong

My due date early April so will be later than Adeline.

Coral

Haha such funny incident. Zac is like Char, likes to bite things, he bite keys, his stroller, books, controller etc. Anything he can find he will want to have a taste of it. Like u i kept beating his mouth also no use, guess they will slowly outgrow this phase.

Toys
====
I am very selective in purchasing toys. I just bought 2 leapfrogs toys when they are having sales and i find their toys very interactive and i love the music. but i guess dont have to buy too many cos they may get bored quite easily.

Jenny,
urs is 'tua kha bo', mine is "bak kha kia'

see whether i can get nice shoe for him when i go to m'sia.
what' Jaslyn size now?

Shirley,
okay lel.. he walk quite steady with the shoe if compare to Disney shoe. think he love to hear the sound frm the shoes.

shirley
pedipeds are prewalkers. there is no tread at the bottom. so if zac is already walking, no point lah.if you wan, i can sell you my brand new one.hee...clearing my stuff now.

pups.
try rent-that-toy. rent for a short while, online shop...

i think the kind of training you get playing educational toys is limited. you can 'train' them to be good at puzzles or sorting shapes, but it is of no long term benefit except to impress relatives during tea parties.

sorry, that's my take lah. think about it in terms of right brain, left brain training. things like flashcards, and many new fangled educational toys are aimed at right brain training. but rem, our education system is still very much leftbrain focussed. it wont change soon despite years of major overhaul.

Thanks for all the feedback about toys. If all kids are the same, so be it. Won't buy toys for K liao, for not at least :p I agree that he likes to play with everything else in the house - remote controls, fans, computers, etc. Until he owns a keyboard and mouse now! (both spoilt ones lah, that is why let him play with them)

lilboymum,
No lah, when I say flashcards, it is not for training his right brain or what lah.. it is just some entertainment tools to keep him occupied for short while.

heee...i different from you leh..i have loads of flashcards...(*embarrassed*).but he is at the same stage as K loh, fling it around. heee...
it works lah, but this stage is their ambulant stage so they'll rather see action than words...

my notti boy
-------------------
my aircon broke down recently. sent for the repairman (heng it's hb friend), and he found the reason for breakdown is this...someone has been stuffing tissue paper into one little hole in the aircon pipe (situated near the balcony)...

when he started taking all the tissue out bits by bits...our eyes were all at CY
...no wonder he is been lurking round the pipe recently

must have been fun for him

Vivian
Yah lor so sian the Combi basket is useless hor. Then I see those ppl using the maclaren WAH the basket is at the back there so nice jus slot in the big bag also can so nice dun need to carry anything haha
But hor I need to take bus so must close n carry the stroller lor. Else alternative is I walk all the way to MRT station but think I already sweat like mad liao where got mood for shopping after that....hahaha
Actually hor I find Maclaren price still okie leh very overprice meh?? Think I must go bb hyper store to see liao.

pups
Same here. Damien also like playin with his flashcards throwin all around squashing them. So since its cheap n 'educational' I jus went n bought another 2 sets n let him have his way with the original set lor....haha
Another 'toy' he enjoys is an empty tissue box. I jus throw a few small toys in it n viola. Its a toy.....hahaha
I even have a useless remote controller I took from my dad's place. I leave it in the car to distract him...Wahahaha

Jenny
So sian when I saw robinson n JL sale already pass n their strollers so cheap that time lor Xt only $240 nia. sigh
But I didn't tot of buying a stroller that time.
I bring D out hor is from 1+pm until my hubby fetch me home kind so definately will clash with D nap time 1 so I wanna use it as bed for him too plus me no need to carry bag when I chase him....hahaha\
The pediped sole is only slightly firmer then those shooshoo. Not suitable for those already walking cos a bit slippery I feel.

Coral
OMG char loves the slipper so much.....hahahahha
D also same thing now every single thing he take will go to his mouth first or he will lick it.....Eeeeeee
So dirty lor plus he walking now touch here touch there dunno wat germs n dirt he touch jialat man

Shirley
Actually hor the superlight stroller u have hor my mum used to have 1 but passed to my sis(dunno still existing anot) belongs to me bro who is in JC now....hahahhaa
So its ancient liao. That stroller is nice but now dun sell anymore but not cheap too leh I find combi. D okie 1 lah even I intro carseat when he was 7 mths he also took it well. N i've been pushing him to J8 few times in stroller so should be okie lah.

The shoes hor.......sigh.
I wanna tell u I really regret getting them aah. Cos I need to let D wear immediately 1 then they say no L size came in XL instead. I tot of asking for refund but hubby say take it. Now hor the shoes a bit too big lor keep dropping once he kick n I find the soles too slippery since he's walking already.
Plus hor had a lot of unhappiness with their service when I collect the shoes. (tell u when we meet) So very sian lor paid so much for those shoes. Actually already told hubby we jus buy Clarks for D since we r at Orchard n ask them to refund me since they fly me aeroplane liao but hubby dun want lor. So now I really qi gek leh want to sell also who want to buy. XL leh those can wear most prob already walk liao.
If Zac feet small should be able to wear the M now cos D fits the L size now.

dor,
K can shake hands with D liao. The other day when K was in his stroller, we also caught him putting his feet with the dirty shoes on in his mouth! Then we asked him, "did you put things in your mouth?" He looked at us with guilty look in his eyes. When we asked, "what did you put in your mouth?", he still pull up his feet and point to his shoes for us to see! Aiyo....

Shirley,
I asked cos I feel it is almost the same sole like shoo shoo lor, but I love their designs wor.

Jasmine,
I need to go home to check =P Can't remember is size 24 or wat... For Disney type, gotta wear size 4 (few mths back when I measured her), now dunno fix wat size liao. Just remember my mum bought a pair of kitty shoes for her =P

lilboymum,
si bei chim, wat right brain left brain. Actually I dun believe this lah, nor those education toys. Feel they are out to cheat parents $$ only.
I never let Jolene to play for puzzles or sorting shapes games, though she has these toys at home. Din open for her and I dunno if she knows how to play.

pups,
Kids love keyboards... so do the 2 at home hahaha... Jaslyn will get angry if I dun let her play.

Doreen,
Me Me!!! I used to put my whole bag into the basket for Maclaren stroller haha... provided you find the right size bag lah. Then hands free liao, no need to carry bag.
Dun worry lah, believe the next sales coming soon kekeke... year end sales mah...
But then, if you looking at XT series, check which series first cos different series, the weight different.
Ok ok, then I forgo the idea for the pediped shoe liao. Anyway I think dun have Jaslyn's size.

liboymum

oh no tread at the bottom so which means can be quite slippery? haiz i tot i found a nice brand for zac to wear cos i quite like the design more trendy. i prefer these to those cartoon design. U have any recomendation on other brands for walking toddlers?

shirley

get clarks. ilike clarks...nice tread and still looks good after multiple gnawing...(by those toddlers who love to put shoes in their mouths

eih...spoil market for myself...thought can get rid of my pediped at last..heee heee..

Sorry..forgot to ask..

toothpaste
---------------------
what toothpaste are you using for your todds? ok, i know this sounds strange, but are our kiddoes considered 'toddlers' already? ive been using first teeth, but hb recently got these oragel toddlers toothpaste...on the instructions it says we should use oraljel baby toothpaste for babies...just not sure if CY is still considered bbs or toddlers. o btw, the toddlers toothpaste oso dun have flouride ...can swallow..

so how huh? can use or not?

lilboymum

ya u reminded me of clarks, should get one pair too for his christmas present. I like their design too. hee pai seh cant buy from u.

As for toothpaste, i am still using first teeth. My colleague's son who is 2 years still using this toothpaste so should be ok. as for toddlers toothpaste, since they have not mastered the art of gaggling, guess can leave it when they are older?

i didnt know that at this age must brush their teeth until Dr Tan told me. I feel so embarrassed! i did not do so. so i went to buy the first teeth toothpaste and i dunno how to brush =/ If brush already need to get them to rinse their mouth? as they still dunno how to rinse yet right.. hmm..

I'm using First Teeth toothpaste for my gal too, dun hv to rinse.

However, my gal dun know how to brush yet & refuse to let me hold her toothbrush, she'll hold her toothpaste, put inside her mounth & bit, that it...so consider not brushing at all rite?

Btw I noticed my gal's tongue is very white sometime, tried to use toothbrush or handkerchief to clean but without success cos she would just bit & refuse to open her mounth
she also dun like plain water.
Any mummies encounter this problem b4?

o..the oralgel is for kiddoes who cannot rinse yet, so can be swallowed... seems to be the same as first teeth but then it says toddlers...sheesh...they should be clearer in instructions....

agnez..
think the white thite coating is milk deposits right? should be ok lah...just clean it loh, bite also must clean..whahahahahaaa

lilboymum,
I do not know the products well enough to advise. But I think you can look at the ingredient list for both baby's and toddler. If the ingredients are similar and both do not have fluoride, I don't see why can't the toddler's be used for babies. Actually above 1 year old can be considered toddler already lah.

Adeline,
I don't get K to rinse after using First Teeth as well. What I do is to use a clean hankerchief to swipe over the teeth which we just brushed to remove any excess toothpaste.

Adeline,
dun need to feel guilty. You are not alone. Until now I also haven let R brush his teeth... and to think that my hb's sister and her fiance are DENTISTS! hee...
Since we talked abt this, I shall go buy one FirstTeeth toothpaste and start R on this...
But I know sure havoc one leh.. this boy hates it when we touch his mouth. How do you all introduce brushing teeth har???

just a quick one.

<font color="0000ff">shoes</font> i like aprica. sis bought 1 for caleb for his birthday. like it very much. flexible sole. airy too. comes in black, red, grey and navy blue. u can check it out.

<font color="0000ff">brushing teeth</font> have been brushing caleb's gums since 6mths plus with first teeth toothpaste which comes with the finger brush. still using that cos he only has 2 bottom teeth till now and 2 upper dracula teeth just sprouting. i prefer to use this then the tod tooth brush from pigeon (have 1 at home bought by hb but cannot use on caleb yet cos that is for 8 teeth onwards).

caleb will auto open mouth for us to brush his teeth. he likes it. nv really trained him but everytime i bring out the brush n tell him brush teeth he will sit down n open mouth. he seems to like the feeling (like massage on his gums) and of course bite on it which i will scold him if he bit my finger hard.

just sunday nite i noticed a piece of spinach leaf got stuck on his teeth so used the brush to remove it. 1 thing good abt the finger brush is you can control the tension so wont hurt them and ez to use too.

maybe try to make it like a game of sort so bb wont be scared or hate it.

just my 2 cents worth.