(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Hi moms, what brand of FM do you all use for your baby? In quite some stress now -- my milk supply seems not to be able to meet my baby's need...
Have to consider FM liao. My hb bought a can of Friso, but baby wouldn't take it at all. I also tasted it a bit, more like soy bean milk, no wonder baby doesn't like it... Can you recommend a good brand please? oh I'm so tired and sleepy...

angeline, if you want to TBF and you are sure Trinity is latched on properly, then you have to decide whether to
- continue bottle feeding and express 100% (like I used to) to maintain supply and feed her EBM
- give up bottle feeding now and latch her until she becomes efficient eater via latching. Reason for giving up bottle completely, at least for now, is she will be "forced" to suckle when latched on.

The above was advices given to me by lactation consultants, my PDs and gynaes, as well as my breast specialist in the past. Notice EVERYONE said same as they were all pro-TBF.

Right now as Trinity is still considered newborn, it is easy to make her give up the bottle for the breast. if they are hungry, they will work harder at the breast. Babies are smart, they will choose the easy way which is to SUCK a bottle for the quick flow, than to SUCKLE at the breast. She will cry in the beginning, but without the bottle, she will feed when you latch her. So after 2 to 3 feeds or so (if you can persist), she should be on her way to become efficient eater via direct latching.

Eling

my gal has cradle cap at the eyebrow too .. i just apply baby oil.
What else can we do ah ?
it looks so ugly on my gal ...

and wow !! i am so envy of your milk supply !!
eh u dun need to wake up for nite feeds ? how come u can sleep from 1 to 5am ?

seems like most of us have turned into professional "cows" hahha

nipples are so sore everyday due to pumping and latching .. and can see that it's a bit red .. but somehow I am immuned already

btw today I realise my gal's poo is yellowish with brownish grainish thing ... errr .. anyone knows if it's normal ? usually her poo poo is just yellowish.

angeline, to increase BM supply, i do advise latching or expressing every 3 hrs(or even 2hrs if need be), even in middle of night (at least for a week to get the supply up). If you can get 40ml every 2 hrs via expressing, you can be sure Trinity can suckle and get 60ml out of your breast (provided she is not supplemented with FM which takes away her hunger, hence her motivation to suckle, which is hard work). If no more milk after 15 min of expressing, then stop expressing.

Emma, actually if you express every 2 hrs, you shouldn't need to express for an hr. Perhaps 15 min will suffice. Purpose is to stimulate breast frequently via expressing.

michelle, jia you! the secret is only faithful and dedicated expressing, plus a good diet.

I remember sometime in my first month, I had one side producing only 30ml and the other side was producing a lot more. Then thru regular expressing, I managed to get both sides to produce approx same amount by end of 8 to 10 days and when my son was 2 months old, I was easily getting 200ml per seating. So i could freeze a lot. In fact, I had a full month supply of frozen EBM to feed my son after I stopped expressing at 4th month.

michelle, oops, didn't really answer your other question. I think I started getting 300ml at around the 3rd month but I didn't always expressed that amount to drain the breasts as my son didn't need so much every 3 hrs. So sometimes I would stop after 200ml which took around 25min of expressing.

That was one reason I got engorgement so easily as I didn't drain the breasts. Also, with 100% expressing, it is hard to drain from all milk ducts, so the same ducts are often left with some milk which eventually resulted in problems.

rainie, can drink cold drinks lah.. but hot drinks will help you with BM production.

It is a myth that when nursing mum drinks cold drinks or eat cold food, the BF baby will get cough as a result. But Coke does contain caffeine which will be passed through BM and caffeine has been known to affect bb in many different ways.

Finally I have got some time to log on . . .it has been a busy past weekend for me.

Celebrate Sherilyn's full month. My house is full of babies on Sunday, I think there are at least there 5 babies could be more I think . . . . . and the government still say that we are not producing enough babies. . .hehehehe.

So did I miss out anything execiting???

Domesticgoddies,
any sign?? Or did I miss out anything???

Joon,
How is the full month celebration???

e-ling, it is best to store BM directly into freezer after expressing, instead of transferring from fridge to freezer.

Depends on the sources you refer to, some will say you can keep EBM in freezer for up to 3 months, but I personally prefer to err on safe side, so I only kept mine for max 6 weeks.

gals

saw this article on bb stools at babycenter.
i cut out this part for your ref since most of you are concern with bb consuming the amt of foremilk and hindmilk.

"When your baby has a bowel movement look for stools that are loose in texture, with the consistency of pea soup. You may even notice small cottage cheese-type curds. The odor should be mild and not unpleasant. If you notice a succession of watery green stools, your baby may be consuming more foremilk than hindmilk. If you make sure she finishes nursing on the first breast before switching, she'll get more of the high-calorie hindmilk and produce a more yellowish stool as a result. A watery stool also could indicate that she is sensitive to a certain food you're eating or medication you're taking."

Hi Domesticgoddess,
dont be dishearted. . . . good thing don't come easy mah.. . hehehehe. . .

at least you have us to keep you company lor.

ilovebabies,
Sherilyn did not poo since yesterdy need to check if she poo tomorrow anot. . otherwise it would be three days no poo poo . . think it is rather normal.

So Rachel poo poo change in colour. . .aiyo we are so into their poo poo and wee wee. . hehehehe

domesticgodess.. cos i'm using a single pump, 15min each side will add up to 30 mins.. plus 5 mins of massage each breast, that will be 40 mins in all alr.. plus washing and sterilizing....... so much work!!! but muz perservere... but 4-hourly is the best i can do alr... else i'll go crazy!!! lol

vivian and michelle.. we realli can form one gang alr!!! poor us.. lol

Morning mums

I've finally recuperated from the 1mth celebrations over the wkend and have time and energy to log on! Confinement is over, yeahhhhhhhh...

Sha,
It was madness over the wkend man... and I couldn't stop talkg to pple coz I've been so starved of company being cooped up at home for the past month! How was ur interview??

E-ling,
Ur bb looks so happy and contented!! Prob becoz her mummy can pump out 310ml!!!!! How do bbs get cradle cap and what is it?

Megan,
I bought NAN but am using Dumex Mamex Gold now (sample tin). Tried FM for 1st time last night and he drank it all up. I guess he thinks it tastes fine

megan
i'm using enfalac to supp wif BM. so far so gd oso
bb seems to like both

domesticgoddess
thks for the encouragmt! hope to be able to express as much as you one day ;) gd things come to those who wait, so just be patient with your little one yah? shd be any day now...

vivian and emma
yah we all 3 belong to the same club! hee hee. but its gd to know i'm not the only one pumping n pumping like a mad cow. whole life now revolve ard pumping and nuthin else... 3 hrs pump... 3 hrs pump. like dat next time go back office BM supply sure drop one cos where got so much time to pump rite?!

emma
suggest u get another set of breast shields then u can pump dual and cut pumping time in half lor else like dat u more siong rite

btw, i've read so much about letdown but yet i dun really know what it feels like. anybody here can share personal experience? is it smthg that we feel only later on like 1 or 2 mths time?

and one more qn: during confinemt, are we allowed to eat asparagus?

Emma, Michelle,
What to do... everyday pump pump pump lor. Now I will pump until 1-2am everynite and wake up 6+am to pump again... still a bit lazy to wake up more to pump. Wah.. this morning wake up, so surprise to see leakage from my right breast... haa...
Dun think got anyone will be that happy to see a leak. At least it shows that I got MILK.... haa... But after that, no improvement in volumn leh... still 60-70ml.. sigh...

As for formula, I am using Friso. So far so good. now using 2nd tin liao...

Emma,
If think too time consuming, maybe you can invest on a dual pump to save time. i got a dual pump but I still pump for 20-25min per session. As for sterilising, you using a steriliser? I just wash and dump everything in the steriliser. Quite fast.

Wah, domesticgoddess,
You are my "EBM Pumping" hero liao... hopefully I can be like you, can pump a lot when I get to the end of my first mth. I still got 2 weeks of confinement... xian...

domesticgoddess, be patient. At least be glad your baby taking all the nutrients from you now. Haha... now like us yet, have to wonder if baby having enough milk every 2 hours :p

joon, how did you get the sample tin of Dumex?

michelle, i don't know what I experienced is let down or not, but my other breast will drip when I'm feeding baby or when pumping. Is definitely more milk than the normal leaking when having the "let down". Am I right?

Actually I find expressing causes more soreness on my nipples then when I DBF. Sometimes after 1 express session really hate that stupid pump. Sigh... ...

michelle, sha, thanks.
I hope I don't end up giving in to induction this weekend.

michelle, can eat asparagus as it is high in fibre, so it is actually a good veg to eat. But some chinese believe it is cooling though.. so up to you.

i posted something on 2nd oct re. letdown as response to puppylove. you should be able to experience letdown even in first few days, but not all mummies will experience letdown. I found this online for you.

http://www.aap.org/pubed/ZZZF53YYKRD.htm?&sub_cat=1

emma, most importantly, you know you have done your best. If expressing at shorter intervals may cause you to give up sooner, then I would say stick to what you are doing now.

FROZEN BM
mummies, freezing will kill all antibodies. Also BM will change its composition to suit the needs of a growing bb, so it is not recommended to store FBM for more than 6 weeks in any case (though you can) as BM expressed at 1st month may not be suitable to meet needs of a 4th month old bb.

domesticgoddess
thks for the link
must've missed it in the previous posting. anyway i dun seem to hv those 'tingling' sensation leh. i only when that when i pump, initially like just after 30 sec all the milk comes spraying out very furiously and then after tat it starts tricking only... dun think i ever experienced a let down.

you're rite abt asparagus being cooling.. that's wat my MIL said that's y i just wanted to double check if it really is true. guess i wont eat it lor . cos my mom was the one who bot it but MIL said cooling cannot eat. 2 conflicting schools.. sigh.

on a lighter note.. my hb's friends in london had just given birth on 27 sept to a baby gal and her name is.....

Zuzu Daisy Lux Remy Viner!! Yes that is the full name.. and her last name is Viner. LOL!

wah.... such a mouthful! poor kiddo will hv difficulty writing his name next time. imagine during exam, by the time she write finish her name, ppls finish answering 1 qn liao hahah

domesticgoddess.. ya lohz... i dun see myself doing it more frequent than 4 hrs... i guess i am not that hardcore... as long as bb gets some bm.. i'm fine.. he's also v chubby now.... so i have no complains supplementing with fm... as long as bb got milk to drink, bm or fm both ok by me.... me have 3 feeds of bm in the fridge now.... so quite happy.. at least he will get 4 feeds of bm today... good enough for me...
hopefully like my fren, who only feeds ebm, i can get my milk up to 500ml per session in baby's 3rd month.. hehe...

michelle... mine is a uno... so i dun understand u lehz... how to buy extra breast shield and use together??? hmm.. blur alr.. hehe...

vivian... me alr spent 270 on the isis uno.. dun wanna spend more alr... hehe... should have gotten the medela mini duo... that time isetan selling for 228 only... wasted!!!!!! urgh.. hehe...

actualli i dun mind sitting there to express milk.. but i am still taking my degree.. so i have lotsa assignments to do... so i v stress lohz.... november exams alr.... argh!!!!!!!

domesticgoddess,
I hope I can be as discipline as you to pump every 3 hours, but the low volume (only 30 ml does not keep me motivated enough) but I will try to persist. Sometimes after a full 1 hours session of DBF Trinity will be satisfied for 2 hours or more and yet at other times, after 1.5 hrs, she is still hungry and gets frustrated like my breast is not giving her enough, really don't know what to do except supplement with FM.

Michelle, I am like you, only have sprays in the first 30 sec or so and then only pathetic droplets. Now I try to pump for 5 minutes and then stop to do warm towel massage for a minute or so and continue to pump again. The warm towel massage tend to let me have sprays again for a few more secs.

Domesticgoddess... so funny, that girls name... like combining what the parents like into the whole name... <font color="0000ff">"i like zuzu.. ok.. put it in there.. daisy, my fav flowers!!! lux soap smells good.. put it in there too.. remy martin.. my fav drink!! put it in there... oh.. dun forget our family name.. Viner is in there too!!! so our lil girl is Zuzu Daisy Lux Remy Viner..."</font> lol

haha emma your analysis of the name is funny!

anyway sorry i blur liao i tot u got double pump lah tat's y suggested getting another breast shield. sorry just ignore me :p

aiyoh my son is so impatient. if he doesnt get his milk immediately he screams at the top of his lungs! no grace period for us at all to heat up the milk !!!

michelle.. its lidat one... my neighbour told me my son cry v fierce... but i also bo bianz.. he's also as impatient... that 5 mins to warm up the milk is deafening!!!!

angeline
instead of hot towel i just try to massage the breast a bit during the pumping itself and i can get a few more sprays/droplets haha. anyway i think you're doing a great job as you can still latch trinity on.. dun give up ok? perservere and the rewards will be great!

Hi michelle, Emma,
My son the same leh... so fierce when want milk. Plus he like to make a LOT of small noise when he sleeps... when want milk... he WANT IT NOW... wah lau, my CL say warm milk also not enuff time... next time I take over, jialat liao...

Mine also the same, spray a bit when first pump then drip drip drip with droplets lor.

Think Angeline can join our club liao.. haa...

hey vivian, my son oso make a lot of small noise when he sleeps! very cute noises actually. its only the crying that i buay tahan ..

looks like we all hv really impatient bb on our hands...

I just got a weird idea. Do you think there is any club, support group out there that organizes group 'pumping' so we can pump together and observe what the flow is like. This way we can see what the successful pumper's flow is like, what know what we can look forward to.

My last DBF was at 6:30 am, then I just expressed at 12pm and managed to get 50ml in about 20 mins, then no more milk coming out. Really hard to figure out is this good or bad. Trinity is 2 weeks 2 days old together, can I look forward to better flow or is this is most I can do for her? mmhh.....

ilovebabies and joon, i also dunno why my gal has cradle cap, she has it since birth. I mentioned that i used barrier cream to apply on her cradle cap, and i am suprise that at nite when i clean up bb, the cradle cap gone. I am using 'babies n cream' barrier cream, maybe u can try that.

i was told to have the last pump at 11 or 12pm and make sure i sleep at 1am to 5am then wake up latest at 6am tp pump again. So i can sleep from 1am to 5am

domesticgoddess, thank. but i already store the milk from fridge to freezer liao leh. So can i still use the milk? Is very waste to throw again leh.

Mummies, do you all actually buy a milk warmer to warm up the milk? Is it necessary to buy one as i worry my maid doesnt know how to judge how hot the milk must be.

Eling.. i have an Avent one... it works v well... will warm it up to the right temperature after a certain time.. can keep the milk warm also if the bb cannot finish... but cannot keep the milk warm too long lahz of cos.. not good for bb...

Angeline... when enzo's 2 weeks old, my ms also is abt 50-70ml per session.. (2 sides, 15 mins each side) then dry liaoz... now enzo's 4 weeks old, i get 125ml per session... so maybe urs will improve as time goes by too!!!! esp if u are more diligent than i am..

emma
how long does it take to warm up to the right temp assuming u just took the bottle out fr the fridge leh?

angeline
i think we shdnt compare wif other mommies lah. like dat it's quite stresful then we end up wif even less output rite? but i'm quite sure if we continue to pump religiously, the output will slowly increase just like wat emma mentioned
so just keep on pumping!

e-ling, you can still use whatever you have transferred from fridge to freezer if you are comfortable with it, but I suggest putting directly into freezer after expressing from now on.

UNFINISHED MILK
Emma, actually not advisable to reheat up the milk that bb cannot finish as any change of temperature will encourage the breeding of bacteria which will cause stomach upset for bb.

Avent warmer
We bought one before and returned it to shop after 2 uses as we found it unreliable leh..

Michelle... me take 120ml out of the fridge, muz put in the warmer for 5 minutes at number 3 setting...

Domesticgoddess... ya.. i know... but sometimes when i am burping him, i'll juz put it in the warmer to keep it warm before i feed him again after he burps... cos enzo doesnt like his milk milk cold one.. hehe
and sorry me so notti... hope never offend u with my playing of ur fren's girl's name.. hehe.. me mean no harm.. only wanna destress the mommies here.. hehe..

domesticgoddess, can i store my milk in an Avent feeding bottle and store in the Freezer? or using milk bag better?

Why u find Avent bottle unreliable? I am thinking of getting one leh. So u in the end using boiling water to warm ur milk?

I would also like to add my name to the list of mums whose bbs have NO PATIENCE! Aiyoh... Der Nen goes from soft whimpering to LOUD SCREAMS in seconds... we haven't even taken the EBM out of the fridge, let alone warm it up! So far, all the impatient bbs here are all boys?? Is this a trend??

Emma,
Haha, that's funny... and maybe true!

Dumpty,
I got the sample after registering on the Dumex website... it was another mum on this thread who gave us the website months ago, can't remember who! Anyway, the sample came like 1 mth after I gave birth and is the 400g tin.

http://www.dumex.com.sg/products/sampledistribution_new/index.php

emma, michelle,
thanks for the encouragement. I will try to be more diligent with the pumping from now onwards. I really want to let Trinity have as much BM for as long as possible. But my breast feeding experience so far has met with many incidents of disappointments, so discouraging, will write a long post about it another day. For the next few days, I will try to diligently pump every 3 hours

Angeline,
My Rhys is also 2 weeks plus. I dun DBF liao. Only pumping every 2-3hrs ,depending on my mood... hee... sometimes 2 hr liao, tell myself another 30mins... hee... lazy mummie... now, 50-70ml per 20min session. Think we almost the same. I sure hope the supply will increase lor... otherwise also no choice....
Dun worry too much lah, the more you worry abt your flow, the more stress you are... that will affect milk flow too...
take 1 "pump" at a time lor. I personally find that when i am more relaxed and comfortable, my flow is slightly better. So RELAX... as long as your bb have milk to drink can liao....

E-Ling,
Me din use milk warmer. Just use a mug and put hot water to warm it. Not too long of coz. Lukewarm will do.

Emma, wah... 125ml... looking forward to it myself... so within 2 weeks, your supply increase so much ?? wah...

Joon,
yah... my CL also say that usually boys are more impatient...

emma, of course not lah! In fact they were my hb's friends whom I've never met and we were making fun of the names too. The parents themselves think the name is funny.. LOL.. donno why they choose it then.

E-ling, we love the Avent bottles but not the warmer. I remember hb trying to use it and it doesn't always warm to the same temperature and it takes just as long as using an ordinary stainless steel container with hot water inside.

I am not sure if you can freeze the Avent bottles (best to check instructions) as not sure if the material can withstand the low temperatures, in case the plastic composition changes. I used only Medela freezer bags designed to store BM. Also, can you spare so many Avent bottles to freeze? Besides they also take up so much space compared to freezer bags.