(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

angeline, jia you! some mums have it harder than others when it comes to BF. For those of us who have a more difficult journey, it just means it takes more motherly love. But most importantly is we know we have done our best. So chin up!

Vivian... yeah.. it did increase.. but still not enough.. if only i can yield 250ml per session.. then i can tbf for now alr!!! hehe.... like eling... she gets 310ml? so envious!!!

i oso looking fwd to BM increasing leh.. wonder when mine will be same as emma.. 125ml.. so gd!!

mebbe it is true tat boys are more impatient

domesticgoddess, where i can get the medela milk bag huh? maybe i should use that instead

Rhys & domesticgoddess, ok then will continue to use ur method of warming

domesticgoddess... enzo drinks abt 120ml per feed... but i only express 4 times a day.. my factory shuts down in the nights...
hehe...

e-ling, you can buy from isetan and other major dept stores and also First Few Years at Paragon.. but usually all breast pumps brands sell their own brand of milk bags too which supposedly fit their pumps better. Medela bags are super ex- $28 for 20 bags.

Congrats Pig2!! wow!!

Emma, i see... but very "xiong" to express 250ml if you only express 4 times a day... your boobs must be super big to hold so much... heehee...

domesticgoddess, I never fit the milk bag into the pump leh .. isit ok? After expressing, i will pour either half into milk bag and half into milk bottle or all in milk bag...is that ok?

rainnie, oh yeah, it is ok. i used to fit the milk bag to the medela pump and pump directly into it if i intended to freeze the BM, so i don't even have to sterilise the medela bottle.

thanks for info on nursing bras. is the wacoal brand good?

Domesticgoddess,
I am using an Eternity brand for nursing bra from Metro. Quite cheap compared to the rest. Quite comfy too... but since i dun latch anymore, nursing bra is quite useless to me. luckily never buy very ex ones... hee...

Megan,
I am using Dumex Mamex Gold. Got the 1st sample tin from my gynae. Then, let bb drink... not too bad.. so bought the 2nd tin lor.

Hey mothers or should i say 'cows',
I think i damn lazy cows leh... i letting bb latch completely and didn't express coz bb needs feeding every 2 hours.

Btw, any of your bb wants carrying around? Mine does leh... and my bb don't sleep from 7am-2pm... and he takes very short naps only... i tot bb sleep and eat....???

Domesticgoddess,
My CL let me drink DOM on its own but she will brew DOM and mix with bit of water for 3 hours and let me drink. It's quite sweet though but nice leh.. .better than drinking it without brewing.

littlepony,
i never express any too. the amount is pathetic so i always latch bb directly. my bb oso like urs. my hubby like to spoil her by carrying her around but then again, she refuses to sleep during those times. worst, she wants comfort sucking liao!!! considering getting a pacifier already!!!

Melissa,
Ya.. amount so pathetic that i too shy to show to my confinement lady.. haa! so i rather let bb latch on .. and if he sleeps while he latches, then fine. If not enuff, he make noise then i let him drink FM... actually, i envy those who can give total BF... sigh!! But me this cow... cannot give too much of milk leh.

Ya.. i also considering giving pacifier.. and i plan to give on his 1st month ... see how lor.. maybe with a pacificer, he can sleep longer.

<font color="0000ff">melissa, littlepony</font>
my girl used to stay awake for long periods too esp. from evening till 1-2am. Worse is that she frets altho' she has already been fed and diaper changed. My hubby used to carry her over his shoulders, but we found an even better solution - let bb sleep on her tummy. Tat'll keep her asleep for at least 3 hrs! Think it helps relief wind. But she sleeps between us so we can watch her... scared of suffocation.

<font color="0000ff">domesticgoddess</font>
I'm also using Eternity brand nursing bra. Think only $9.90 if I remember correctly. Cheap n serves its purpose. Also bought Sorella at $29.90, better/more lasting sewing.

Anyone cut bb's fingernails already? Want to cut Trinity's cos so looong. Afraid she'll scratch herself cos mittens keep dropping off. Any tips to share besides cutting while bb's asleep?

hi moo moos.. me alr give enzo the pacifier... actualli started when i took over from my mom.... dunno y when we ( me and hubby ) take care of him ourselves, he will not zzz as well as when my mom took care of him.. so to make him zzz, i bo bianz... muz stuff the pacifier in his mouth... as long as it makes him zzz.... i guess i have no choice....

Domesticgoddess, my mom cooked dom, a bowl of it with black chicken... double boil for 4 hrs... no water added... after that u get a v concentrate bowl of dom.... drink alr whole body v v v hot.... supposed to be super bu3... maybe u can try..

moo moos... if bb zzz in these bouncers for long, will it affect their spinal or other developments??? cos Enzo loves zzing in either the infant car seat... or the bouncer.. think its cos of the incline... what do u all think????

puppylove,
I cut my Trinity's nails twice already. 1st time on day 7 and the 2nd time yesterday (day 14). I only do it when she is asleep and I try to give her 'french tips'. Try not to cut too close to her skin so as to avoid cutting her skin too.

Long time didn't log-on, today it's the 10th day after giving birth. Below is my birth story...i'm probably one of the last to share birth story for Sept moms? (The timing was just estimation as I was too in pain to keep tract of time)

10.30 pm - Admitted into MAH for induction, start with CTG monitoring

11.30 pm - BB heart beat was between 160-190, doc was called in to access

12.00 am - Doc read the CTG graph, heart beat is fast but not indication of distress. The tablet was inserted to cervix to start induction.

04.00 am Contractions becomes regular and painful

06.00 am Contractions gets more and more painful, but still try to tahandidnt want epidural

08.00 am Asked mid-wife to checked cervix, only 3cm dilated7cm more to go! Cannot tahan liao.asked for epidural.

09.00 am After screaming in pain for almost an hour, finally the epidural specialist came, it was a busy morning they said. Cervix was about 4cm dilated.

10.30 am Feel like pass motionmid-wife checked and it was 10cm dilated! Thats unexpectedly fast. She called my doc and while waiting for him, we started 2nd stage labourpushing

11.00 am BB already crowned, Doc arrived and rushed to deliver bb immediately, bb cried as soon as shes out. I cried too, cant believe I gave birth!

BBs birthday : 25 Sept
Weight : 3kg
Length : 50cm

534490.jpg

<font color="119911">angeline</font>
oh u cut twice already ah? i didn't dare cut cos learnt from antenatal class not to cut till approx. 6wks!! or maybe i heard wrongly?? okie, will cut 2moro!

i've another question... where do u apply nappy rash cream? is it on all parts of skin tatz in contact w the diaper? i.e. frontside, backside, upper thighs?

I started breast feeding on the 1st day, there were no training provided so I just tried latch on according to what I read in bookswrong move! My nipple cracked after first feed
Then 2nd day a lactation consultant came and explained how to do it correctly, but I still could not get it right, bb also getting agitated due to all the trial and errorafter few feeds the other nipple also cracked
I was advised to express breast milk since I have sore nipple, so was pumping 5 times a day, half hour on each breast. The amount of milk expressed increased gradually from 10ml to 40ml, occasionally 60ml. However, my nipples never recover, after one week still cracked and sore. So I called the breastfeeding mothers support group for advice. I was told not to express breast milk with machine if have sore nipple as it will only make it worse. No wonder! Hand express is better. Also, must try to learn how to latch on correctly to prevent engorgement or block ducts and stimulate milk supply. For the sore nipple, apply lantonin (not sure of spelling) after each feed and sun it for 5mins everyday to kill germs.

I stop pumping yesterday and my nipples are recovering
Have also been breast feeding directly, although have to go through a few try to get it right, Im quite happy with the improvement
Now Im supplementing with FM as after latching on for half an hour she is still hungry! Hope can TBF once bb can latch on properly and my milk flow supply increase.

littlepony,
i have cut Zhaohui's fingernails when he is 3wks old n stopped letting him wear mittens after his 1st month.... did u buy pigeon small little scissors tat is supposed to use to cut baby's nails?? if got then just use tat to cut...their nails r very soft so is very easy

emma,
enzo so goodlike tozzz on car seat.... i havent try Zhaohui on car seatbuthe lie onbouncer b4 but only can last 15mins tat was when he is awake... anyway i wanna try him on car seat soon so tat i can bring him out alone when hubby is working...

Haha... count my boy in for the "baby with no patience to wait for milk" club! Yeah... another boy.

joon, thanx for the link. Will go and sign up now :D

Hey, you gals ok to sleep through 1am-5am? I can't leh. I usually feed or pump around 11-12pm. Then sleep. By 4am I have to wake up for another pumping session because my breast are real painful. But my milk supply isn't great at all. So far my best achievement is 150ml. Most of the time only manage like 70-100ml. Sigh... ...

emma, you really funny on the name analysis :D and really envy leh... Your boy so chubby. Really waiting for mine to grow more fats. His mittens and booties keep dropping off even when we let him wear the smallest one we have! Sigh... ...

domesticgoddess, I have nursing bras from Perfect Mum but actually I dun quite like it. My friend also bought me some from US. I think those are much better lorz...

I heard pacifier must give only after 3 weeks isit?

Congrats to pig2!

<font color="aa00aa">elaine</font>,
so u use scissors to cut bb's nails? i bought Nuk's nail clipper. Is nail clipper juz as effective?

other than domesticgoddess anyone of u plan to be SAHM after maternity leave??
my supervisor called me yesterday n ask whether i'm taking no-pay leave next yr or i'm going bac to work.... HAI... is really a difficult qns cos i find taking care of Zhaohui alone these 6wks is really not easy...especially when he cries for nothing. but my MIL n mum cant take care of him for me....
talk to hubby n hubby wish tat i could take 2yrs no-pay leave n continue to take care of him... my sis also tell me tat if i cant tahan his (super loud n frequent) crying she dont think e nanny can...
well as for myself, frankly speaking i cant bear to leave him but i miss my freedom too... wat shld i do.....hai

hi puppylove,
as long as u feel comfortable. maybe u can start trimming a bit of e most outer portion...then when u find comfortable then trim more.... i'm very scared at e beginning to...

Emma,
Enzo looks so satisfied in his bouncer! Der Nen doesn't last long in his rocker leh...

Dumpty,
No prob
Actually we gave Der Nen the pacifier when he was 2 wks old. Ya, I read that it's better to wait until they're 1 mth then introduce the pacifier (to avoid nipple confusion), but so far so good for me, he still latches on easily, takes the bottle too, and enjoys his pacifier. (It's my best friend! It keeps him quiet and calm!)

Elaine,
Ya, difficult decision... personally, I think being a SAHM is the best decision, if the family is financially stable. Like domesticgoddess said, u can never turn back the clock. As ur kids are growing up, it's either u're there to see the 1st smile/step/word/etc or u're not! The first few months are the worst... don't worry, it can only get better!!!!! (that's what I tell myself every day too!)

domesticgoddess....yeah quite comfy...but ex if u were to get it from sg....my colleague help me buy from BKK .. 2 for $40 or less.....

elaine.. he has been zzzing in the car seat at home.. but i'm worried its not good for his spine lehz... or that his legs wont grow long.. cos always bent in the seat... hehe.... maybe i worry too much.. but he can spend the whole day in the car seat lehz.. 9am - 5pm... long right....

dumpty... no worries... ur bb sure will become this chubby.. and v soon too!!!!

i was told by tmc not to cut his nails till he's a month old... so till now, i have not got the courage to cut them yet... but soon.. then he can stop wearing his boxing gloves...

totally agree that the impatient ones are the boys!!!!!!!!! but then again.. what's new!!! hubbies also impatient what... esp while shopping!!! :p

joon,
r u going to be SAHM too??
agreed with u tat pacifier is also my best friend now.. e only thg i can use to stop his crying other than carrying him.

cherrie
congrats and welcome to the moo moo club!

domesticgoddess
i bot sorella ones. quite comfy
as for DOM, my MIL cooks it together with chicken essence for about 3-4hrs to get rid of the alcohol cos we are BF so cannot drink direct rite. i dun really like the taste tho cos its so sweet. i think that's DOM taste so bo bian.. hold my breath n gulp it down...

i think i will oso cut his nails after 1 mth. i read in babycentre they said can just tear off the nails actually cos its very soft. anyone tried this?!?

cant wait to put my son into the bouncer after he's 1 mth old too. hope he'll like it and zzz more so that we dont have to keep carrying him!

elaine, freedom? If you want to go shopping with your friends would you be able to leave ur son with baby sitter for a few hrs? Pay her hourly rated? This way...u will get some freedom....

michelle!!! me too... i find it tooooooooooo sweet.. me realli almost cannot swallow it lehz!!!! hehe... another thing we have in common other than bad ms... lol

hi rainnie,
it wont be easy to place baby with other ppl cos by then baby will be too attached to us n it will be difficult for someone who never take care of him to stay with him for long..let alone a few hrs... i think even i'm ard baby might not even want a stranger to carry him.
my boy now seems to get attached to me liao... whenever he cries only i can pacify him.... my hubby cant stop him from crying too...hai

hi hi gals

hehe pls add me to the moo moo club leh ... now nipple v sensitive and a bit reddish. have applied BM to moisturise it after every pump.

domesticgoddess ..

i started freezing my BM on 22nd sept leh .. tot can last till Dec (3 mths period). My friends have been doing the same thing. oh no .. if it kills the antibodies then what shld we do ? dun freeze them ? how abt those ladies with lotsa extra milk ? cant leave it in the lower deck as it last for 48hrs only. pls advise .. thanks !

i do have a rocker at home too .. not the net type as PD says it doesnt provide good back support, so dun encourage us to use it. My gal dun really seem to like it .. still prefer us to carry her. Probably she feels our body temperature and the way we cuddle her.

Have not assemble the car seat yet .. when can a baby sit in the car seat ? I tot of putting her in the car seat from 3 mths onwards .. now I will carry her in the car.

i trimmed my gal's nails using the pigeon nail cutter after she turned one mth old. learnt from ante natal class that it shld be done after bb turns 1 mth as the nail is still attached to the skin prior to that. I will only cut her nails when she is in very deep sleep. So far, trimmed her nails twice and everything goes well.

oh and my gal wails v loudly when she is hungry ahhaha so it's not just the boys who are impatient !! my mil was saying everyone will knows I have delivered since my gal cries so loudly haha

btw I still express once in the middle of the nite cos I worried if I dont, i will experience letdown in the morning and I still need to prep to go my mum place so it'll be v messy. So what shld I do when I need to go back to work ?? how to stop the nite pump ?

ilovebabies, how u freeze ur milk, you using milk bag also? What brand?

Once we freeze the milk, if we wanna give to babies, how we shall defrost the milk huh?

hi hi! do u think 2.5mths is too early for bb to travel on short trip? my in-laws side planning a 3-day trip to Genting in end-Nov and want us to join. Frankly I'm not that keen cos i think it can be quite troublesome to bring such a young bb out. We'll hv limited time for fun too, I would think... But my hubby quite keen leh, saying it'll be a break for me... What do u all think?

Eling

the website did says it can be done right ?

Puppylove

personally I am not keen on bringing bb out for shopping let alone overseas trip ...

as a mother, we still have to find time to express and nurse him which makes the trip even more tiring for us !

well it's my personal opinion hor ...