(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Sha,
My bb is not sleeping when I took the photo... he likes to make funnie faces one... so I just keep snapping lor... hee....

domesticgoddess,
I stop latching liao coz Rhys dun like after he got used to bottle feeding. Now I purely pump EBM for him + FM. I already tried expressing longer for my left breast but still the same leh. Soft and empty. Sigh...

Riushiki,
aiya... my factory also expressing during that time as yours leh... but I too tired to go online... otherwise can chat liao... haa...

mummie_of_rhys, no need to express longer for your left breast. Can stop once you notice no more drop of milk coming out. But try expressing more frequently.. for instance every 2 hrs instead of 3 hrs. And improvement takes time too.. at least you will need a few days to see changes..

So in the meantime, don't worry too much.

parentcraft told me 1-5am, the hormones rest, so it's not really a gd time to pump between 1-5am as the supply wont be much. instead make use of this period to rest and the next morning 6am or so, u'll be able to pump out more.

domesticgoddess,
ic ic... now i also noticed, after 15mins hor, left breast will "ba gong" liao.. right breast still working hard.. I am trying to pump more regularly too since now I cut my session to max 30min liao... previously i pump for 45min - 1hr... tired ah...
So scared that with this output hor, dun think can sustain till even 1 mth...

edksd,
oh.. i din know that, i saw somewhere that 1am and 5am is supposed to be the golden hour to pump but I tried also no diff... haa... now since you said so, I can sleep more now... hee...

my milk seems to leak easily when I stimulate my nipples a bit. just the let down itself can gain me 20ml per breast. if I manually express it, I can gain 2.5oz. still sounds so little compared to the rest of you. I pump at 11am. sometimes 7am. best times.

riushiki,
when you said you feed your bb 125ml is that FM or BM? if bm, that's really a lot man! my 17 days old bb feeds nicely on 2.5oz (75ml) of BM per feeding. i bought the avent breast shell to catch the other leaky boob while expessing another. that thing works like a charm. once done, i simply pour the milk to the bottle. no wastage!

my stomach is now flat!!! i'm so happy. i'm so glad that the malay massage works. i had to endure extreme itchiness while wearing the traditional malay bengkung (cloth binder) and I wear it even when I go to sleep. now it's all flat! even flatter than pre-pregnancy. like this can flaunt already liao! can wear britney-spears tube-top bahahaha!!

anybody still got sore nipples? mine is sore but it seems to develop some kind of strength day by day.

somebody wrote about feeling like a wife. i still do feel like a wife. if only i can get this menses dried up, i'll function like a wife in no time haha! now my hubby dotes on our daughter a lot, and I'm kinda feeling left out but wait till confinement is over and bleeding has stopped. teehee...

hi! realise i'll never catch up w all the past posts as I can't login for long every time... but will try to reply ur earlier comments to me

<font color="0000ff">melissa, joon,</font>
ya, quite heart pain to see my bb's wounds at birth. Now all dried up and dropping le, but can see little 'dents' where the wounds were...
I hope her hair will start growing there!

My hubby likes to take photos, and he takes every day cos bb grows/changes every day. Now she doesn't look so "newborn" already, so those earlier photos are really very precious!

<font color="0000ff">mummie_of_rhys,</font>
ur pics of bb r nice wat! I think most impt is to be able to catch those precious moments of bb, which u did! my hubby n I use DSLR and bounce flash instead of direct/no flash. hmm... i think the main points to note are to make sure the room is bright enough (for sharp/bright photos) and no distracting backgrounds. U can also take close-ups of your bb's little hands/fingers, toes too!

<font color="0000ff">sha,</font>
yup, photo taken after her bath, so she's actually naked lah... hehe..

<font color="0000ff">Angeline,</font>
our 'Trinities' do look quite alike!!
but yours definitely has more hair lah! haha...

<font color="0000ff">domesticgoddess,</font>
thanks for the tips on day/night feedings! Trinity made vast improvements these couple of nights, sleeping as long as 2-3hrs at one go, which is A LOT compared to previously! Managed to also weigh her at TMC y'day - she gained 500g this past week, so tat certainly gave me peace of mind tat she's taking in BM well.

<font color="0000ff">edksd,</font>
ur PD is Dr Ong EK? Mine too! Only went to him once so far... find him a bit distracted... not really paying attention to what i say or my questions... hmm.. why pp say he's "famous" leh??

<font color="aa00aa">melissa,</font>
I've sore nipples too! Trinity has the habit of "biting" them a couple of times b4 really latching on. Once latched on, itz not painful anymore, but the initial pain is still really "ouch!" loh... and i wince in pain whenever anything comes against my nippels... how to cure ah? Is expressing instead of direct latching (to let the nipples recover) the only way?

hmm... i've a couple of questions on diaper changing, esp. to those w bb girls...

Do u change diapers every time they become soiled, even if itz juz one round of urine? or as long as bb is not uncomfy, u leave the diaper on till it gets soiled a 2nd time??

I also find it difficult to clean all the tiny folds of the private parts, when they get stained w poo. Tried using wipes and cotton buds, plus hv to fight off two kicking legs! Hard to wash during bathing too as we'll try to make the bath as short as possible... Anyone has tips on cleaning up bb??

Trinity loves to pee everytime I remove her soiled diaper and b4 I put on a fresh one! *peng* After a couple of times, I smart liow... i leave the (opened) soiled diaper under her for a short while, and sure enough, she'll starting peeing!! hahaha... maybe she stressed abt diaper changing??

puppylove,
Yes exactly my experience! Initially my bb likes to bite and bite my nipple before she latches on properly. It hurts lor. Everytime she does that I will stuck my little finger into her gums and make her latch properly or I give up and use my Avent Nipple shield. The latter sometimes don't work b'cos she think it's a teat and she will bite even more aggressively!! haha. Anyway I think overtime, my nipple has develop a resistance against pain lor. Boh pian! She's still on direct latching. I only express when it's still leaking after her feed.

As for diapers, my mom said if she peed once, can just use it until she pees a second time or when the diaper has become heavy. Usually I will change her after at most 4 hours. I'm sure she would've peed twice by then. But I will definitey change her when she poo. She seems to poo a lot! heart pain to see so many soiled diapers in the trash! But what to do, I don't want her to get nappy rash. Oh don't forget to always wash her with water. You can use the wet wipes initially but end it with cotton wool ball + water. She never gets nappy rash so far. Eh Trinity also like to pee when removing her diaper ah? Mine too! haha! And I do the same trick just like you!!! Haha so many coincidences!!!

rainnie,
I'm using my friend's grandmother. She's old and very experienced and her style is very traditional. She don't use those plastic wrap like modern malay masseuse use, no thigh wraps and her medicines are the kind that she prepares herself. No commercial herbs at all. Unfortunately she's always in high demand and sometimes she can't even make it to my appointment so that's why I dare not recommend her. So I just bear with it lor. But so far results is good.

Melissa, wah...friend's grandma ....powerful leh! Too bad she in high demand if not I might wanna try her too...since she is using her own medicines heeeee

I'm using baby wet wipes to clear her after she poo leh....very siong! I already use up 3 packet liaoz....do u mummies have the same experience as me? Only in my 2nd week and ... 8X

My ger now wakes up only once in the night time....hopefully she is changing her lifestyle to match to ours....den I would have to wake up late nights to bf her...:p so tiring

<font color="0000ff">melissa</font>,
oh ok! didn't think of using cotton wool ball + water. Will do tat next time, thanks!
ya, nipples seem to hv higher threshold for pain by now! haha..

<font color="0000ff">rainnie</font>,
me too! already used up 3 packets of wipes, inc. the one fr TMC. Trinity's 14 days old today. Diapers also used up pretty fast!

puppylove, rainnie,
i would've used up all 3 of my bb wipes too if i have my way but it's my mom who tot me the cotton ball method so it's a saving and more hygienic oso.

hi puppylove

it is normal for someone to pee after poo even adults like us. my mum told me to always wait till Rachel pee before I remove the soiled diaper. So I'll always do the "xuuuuuuuuuu" thing to her and see if she pee.

i used to change Rachel diaper before every feed which is 3 hourly, reason becos I dun wan to lift her legs up after feeding which may cause her to regurtitate milk. Well.. have to depends on luck cos sometime she does poo after feed. Now i chk her diaper and if it's not heavy and it still feels dry, I'll not change it.

I am using bb wipes but if she poos a lot, i'll use cotton pads with water. it's def easier to remove the poo esp at the bladder area.

my son's umbilical cord has finally dropped off! after 17 days man...

melissa
ur stitches from the episiotomy still hurt or not ah? mine still does a little and i'm wondering when the stitches will fall off? cos i can still feel them there leh. so long liao still dun wanna heal
my son takes in the same amt of milk as your bb - 75 ml evry 3 hrs

tok about using up diapers - i've oredi used up 4 pkts of pampers and we are only into the 3rd wk!

Michelle,

My son's umbilical cord also just drop out after 12 days... big piece somemore... my confinement lady say becoz my bb big, the cord is fatter... haa...

Diapers... I also finished 2 packs of pampers NB, half pack of Drypers S (leftover from friend) and now using a new pack of Drypers S (gift from friend) liao. Very siong hor... He only 2 weeks old leh... I think soon I will be using the bumwear which I bought liao. was think of using it only after he is 1 mth old. Even my hb also think diapers used so fast...

My confinement lady uses cotton pads with water, wet wipes and tissue. She keep saying wetwipes got soap lah.. and insist using cotton pads with water. So I let her be lor, as long as it is clean.

Sigh...last nite, my confinement lady throw away 40ml of my precious EBM coz my son nowadays like to drink and leave 20-40ml and refused to drink anymore. Sigh... liquid gold leh... but no choice coz waited too long liao... my son slept and din wake up for milk... sob sob...
Anyone's bb got this bad habit too?

Mummie_of_Rhys..
how much is rhys drinking? if u know he will waste that 20ml, then maybe u can juz put that amt he can finish in the bottle instead of giving a full bottle? i always increase enzo's feed 10ml by 10ml if he sucks all the way till the last drop.. then wont waste my precious ebm... hehe..

Hi PrincessEmma,

Rhys is drinking 80-90ml now. At first he can finish all of the 90ml but now we found that he keep leftovers lor, so now decrease to 80ml. Still the same. think it is a bad habit liao...

My confinement lady will have to give him the leftover after sometime (within 30mins if he wakes up) so that he can finish the rest and dun waste.

Last nite, my confinement lady a bit sick so din wake up to feed my son the leftover, so wasted my EBM lor...

How you increase 10ml by 10ml har? during 1 feed, you keep topping up?

any mummies out there got problems with hiccups? Trinity seems to be having hiccups very often, usually after we burp her after her feed, she will start hiccuping. Anyone knows what is the cause of this?
Maybe its just her habit? I know she was also always having hiccups in my tummy even till right before her birth.

mummie_of_rhys, how heavy is Rhys now? Do you find Drypers S too big?

I find Pampers NB the best quality so far, but very "xiong" at the rate it is used up. So I may also use a mixture of cheaper brands.. anyone tried PetPet?

puppylove, good to hear that she is sleeping longer hours and her weight gain is indeed very good! Happy for you.

edksd, mummy_of_rhys, I read before that the BM produced during the 1am and 5am is the richest as it is meant to keep bb sleeping for longer hours in the night. But it doesn't mean that all mothers will have MORE milk during those hours. So no need to wake up specifically to express unless you feel engorged or want to increase supply.

Rhys' mommy.. no lahz.. if i see he can finish like 100ml now, next feed i try like 110ml lohz.. then will be abt juz nice.. if still can finish, i'll increase during the next feed again.. but max i give 120ml lehz.. cos he's only 25 days old.. dun wanna over feed...

domesticgoddess,

Rhys last check up last monday already 4kg liao... he was born 3.8kg... big baby...
So i think Drypers S for him is still ok...
Before that was using Pampers NB.. best but very ex... We also find Drypers's sticker very sticky. if accidentally stick on bb hor... wait peel off very painful... I still got 1 pack of huggies dry S, a gift from friends. Think will finish these then buy new ones..

Petpet, some ppl say not good, will leak leh.. I also not sure... my other colleague using it, ok... so depends lah... must try and error liao...

Emma,
haa... ok ok... i got it... i was thinking how you increase 10ml... haa... blur me...
Now i feeding him 90ml liao but he keep leftovers lor... so dun think i want to increase his milk... now dun know how to stop this bad habit of his... sigh...

Angeline, my ger also hiccups after feed &amp; burping....seems very normal loh....cuz check with PD during her first checkup...

so...most of us in the same boat loh ... used up so many wet wipes and diapers....tink next month will be a better month for us...when baby is older they dun poo everyday! thats when our cost will drop also .. hehe

I already used up 3 pack of NB diapers now currently using S size so is my 4th pack...very siong hor....

any of your babies sleeping less? Trinity is now into her 3rd week and I noticed that she is getting less and less sleep and waking up more often. Here's her time - table. She keeps waking up after 1 - 2 hours when she used to sleep 3 hours in a row. :-(

It is only b'cos she is hungry or can there be other reasons? What games can we play with a baby of 3 weeks old when they are awake and not frantic with hunger yet?

hi babes.. my hb's bro juz bot us 3 packs of pampers babydry... say NTUC got offer... 3 for $30 or something lidat only.. maybe u all can cx it out... me at home like pampers warehouse lidat.. hehe... started with 6 packets... after almost one month, now still 6 packets... but me no complains lahz.. pple wanna give, me more than happy.. hehe..

mummie_of_rhys, I don't like Drypers due to the sticky and painful tape. Prefers PetPet which is same price as Drypers and my 2 y.o. boy is using PetPet (L) during day time as I find it very lightweight and comfy. Hmm.. do try Mamy Poko.

vivan, your Rhys really big leh. My baby only weigh 3 kg when I went for his 1st week checkup. Still so small size but luckily his weight did increase a little.

domesticgoddess and rainnie, thanx for mona's contact

yeah my baby also hiccup after feed. Actually i feel that I'm feeding my baby round the clock. Seems like only 30-45 min of rest between each feed only. Very tired leh...

I'm using cloth diapers now leh. Seems ok except really need to change very frequently. Luckily I hv my confinement auntie to help me now. Wonder how I gonna manage after my confinement :p

Ok... Baby crying. Gonna be cow for him again!

Angeline,

My bb also hiccup a/f feed, was told it normal, but confinement auntie suggest give some warm water, try she drink 2 mouth, dun wan alr. cause not milk milk not sweet, but her hiccup do stop. Maybe u could also try.

Domesticgoddess

Pampers premium very ex. Can try mammy poko, very soft. I dun like drypers seem abit tight on my girl cause I could c d marking left on her thigh. Now bb already use 2 pkts. My hubby was joking, have to record all expenses nxt time claim back from her hahaha

Hi Emma,
Wah... you stock up pampers ah... my friends told me not to stock up coz very soon, bb grew and will grow out of the size. So need to change from NB to S, S to M very soon... so now, I just try to finish those ppl give one first, no enuff then buy lor. Better than waste...

Hi domesticgoddess,
ic... maybe next time, will tell hb to buy PetPet and try... I still got quite a few packs of M size drypers from friends... got to finish them before buying... Heard Mamy Poko is good but ex also rite??

dumpty,
if you are DBF, maybe you want to try the lying down (sleeping) postion. I tried that yesterday and last night. I was feeling very tired but still prefered to let baby latch on instead of expressing. Somehow, I feel closer to baby when she is latched on. (I am not very motivated by the pump). So I managed to take a 1.5 hour nap when baby was feeding. Actually, baby might have fallen asleep halfway through the feed too, but I don't know when cos I was already counting sheeps.

Then during the night feed at 4 am, I latch her on using the lying down position again and continued to sleep and allow her to sleep in my arms till the morning.

melody, my hb dun like mammy poko....i felt it is soft too but doesn't really absorb the weewee....thats what my hb comment loh. I agreed with you on dryers...this morning i used the free one given by TMC....less den 3 hrs....when my mom bath my ger can see the red marks on the thigh .. so heart pain leh!

emma, thanks for the info! i will get my hb to go and check it out later heeee

oh here's the timetable I forgot to attach. Can mummies pls give some advise if it is normal of baby this age (only just pass 2 weeks) to be awake so often now. <center><table border=1><tr><td>
attachment_icon.gif
timetable
Trinity's TimeTable.xls (42.0 k)</td></tr></table></center>

michelle,
my episiotomy wound no longer hurt but sometimes it can be a bit uncomfortable if i sit in a wrong position. my mom keep telling me to keep my legs together esp. during confinement. i think the stiches has dissolved but i'm still a bit traumatic by it lor. as for diapers, i have used 3 pkts heehee.

angeline,
yeah my bb oso hiccup a lot. she hiccup all the time, before or after feed. my mom says it's a sign that bb is growing up. sounds like old wives' tale lor but nevermind, as long as it's not a problem, i'm ok with it.

sometimes my bb also wake up every hour. it happens at random, sometimes in daytime, sometimes in nighttime. i heard this is normal, it's just bb's behavior.

i also BF my baby in the lying down position at night but it only works on my right breast. i feel awkward doing it in the left breast. so when bb needs another feed, i had to wake up for the left breast. hee hee.

domesticgoddes,
i find the pampers NB the best of its kind. can tell if bb peed or not from outside. cool huh but it's very expensive so we only use it when we're going out. meanwhile i'm using the cheaper pampers version which seems very small. already bought drypers, will use it once my cheapo pampers run out. hee yes my tummy is flat but i still got that linea nigra very ugly leh. wonder if it will go away through time. once it goes away i will post lah. meanwhile, my massage lady reminded me to use that binder for 44 days. my mom will nag at me if i didn't wear it. eh when are you going to pop? still warming the bench ah?

princessemma,
i am aware about that pampers offer from ntuc, but after calculation, we found out that drypers is cheaper without promotion, in the end my hubby bought 2 packets of drypers hehee.

nowadays everytime after diaper change and bath, my bb girl will ask for feed! my hubby call it a "reward feed". she will suckle but only for less than 10 minutes than went to sleep. else she will cry! anyone's bb like that? i always feed her for at least 15 mins before nappy and bath leh!

angeline
my boy oso tends to stay awake more often now - he is about 2.5 wks old. not sure whether it's normal or not oso leh but i tot it's quite gd cos it seems like he wants to 'bond' wif us cos when we tok to him he looks very alert

melissa.. but i think there's still a difference in the quality... but hor.. they use them so fast.. i doubt they can feel it.. lol

vivian.. me never stock up... they were all given by friennds.. hehe... if i were to buy, i'll be buying them from JB.. lol... their pampers are on par or even cheaper than drypers here..
hehe.. and i can go shopping for shoes too!!! lol

<font color="0000ff">angeline, michelle</font>
my girl is awake more often too.
Sometimes day time, she doesn't sleep in between feeds cos we play w her. Hope that tires her out enough to sleep more at night! kekeke...

btw, anyone knows when hind-milk kicks in during a feed? as in, when bb latches on, she drinks fore-milk at first right? how to tell when she starts drinking hind-milk? I want Trinity to take in more hind-milk so sometimes dunno whether to keep to one breast for a longer period, say 30min??, b4 switching. Any advice?

thanks gals, not I am not so scared that my baby is strange to be awake so often. I will try to play with her when she is awake then and feed her only when she is 'wailing' for food. Otherwise, we tend to try to feed her whenever she wakes up. So what kind of 'games' can we play with such newborns?

Puppylove,
the colour of the hind milk is very much 'whiter / thicker' than the foremilk. You can unlatch baby halfway during feed and hand express a few drops to observe the colour to see if its still the fore milk or if she's reach the hind milk already. If you have milk to 'spare', then you can even express out the foremilk and discard it and let baby latch on only when the hindmilk is coming out. (That's what the lactation consultant taught me, but unfortunately, my supply is so low, every single drop even if its foremilk is precious)

Personally, when ever I DBF, I latch on my Trinity 30 mins on each breast, so each direct BF session will take at least 1 hours. Now that my supply is not enough to meet her demands, if she is not satisfied after the hour is up, I will feed her another 60ml FM. How long do you latch on for?

<font color="0000ff">angeline</font>
oh, i do notice the whiter thicker milk but wasn't sure if tatz hindmilk. So it is lah, thanks!

I let my Trinity latch on for 25 to 30min on the 1st side. Then she'll normally stay on the 2nd side for a shorter length of time, usually 20min or so. She'll simply stop drinking and lose interest in my nipples once she's had enough. So I take it tat she's full... Correct hor??

In between I'll burp her cos she tends to regurgitate some milk out if i don't. So per feed is approx an hour also.

Next feed would be 2 hrs later, fr end of previous feed.

Tell u gals hor.. I actually dun hv anybody helping me w confinement, tatz why sometimes really not sure if wat i do is correct. But good thing my hubby is here to help, so both of us trial n error sometimes!
And of course i depend on this forum for resource, whenever i can login.

Angeline, thanx! Maybe will try out the lying down way. I've never tried before. Not quite sure how to do it so may need to wait until hubby is around to help me first.

My Gabriel used to also take 1 whole hour to feed, about 30 min on both sides. Now I notice he takes much faster. Maybe around 20 min on the first breast and then 10 more min on the 2nd. But in between I'll burp him and he would usually have fallen asleep and I'll have to wait for him to wake up from hunger before I continue on the 2nd breast.

puppylove, you and your hubby very good leh. Doing confinement on your own. But remember you'll need to take good care of yourself coz it's going to be very tiring lor.

princess (emma), when you going JB to stock up? Can help me buy and pass to me on your way home?! kekekekeke ... ...

i hv another silly qn :p

how often do we need to change our breast pads? cos it doesnt seem that wet so i dunno whether need to change or not. if wear the same one for 24 hrs is it ok? or shd change after every 12 hrs?

Puppylove, Dumpty,
Glad to be of help. I too rely on this forum for support and advice.

Puppylove, my situation is very much like yours. We didn't employ any CL, but my hubby is home with me these few months and we will take care of baby by ourselves. Maybe we should meet up after the confinement is over since we have so much in common.

Michelle, when I'm home and there's no visitors, I just ignore the leaks and wet T-shirts. I find the wet T-shirts dry up faster and are more comfy than having to put up with the moist breast pads and tends to make my nipple itchy at the end of the day. Also, many recommends to let nipples 'breathe' whenever possible to avoid infections. If you prefer to wear breast pads, it might be better to change them whenever they become moist, otherwise bacteria may growth in the moist and warm conditions.

puppylove, the hind milk kicks in when you feel the "letdown" which is usually about 10 min after initial latching (provided bb is latching correctly). You will see bb sucking and swallowing faster too as the hindmilk is richer and usually the flow is greater. It is best to let bb drain the first breast before offering the next in each feed to ensure that bb can empty all the hindmilk in the first breast to get optimum nutrition.