(2004/04) April Mummy

Maple,

Thanks. His fever have subsided (cross fingers). But body still warm so monitoring him. He having fever still can play! Keep wanting to play with my hubby.

I look like a panda bear now and is VERY tired coz' didn't zz well last night. Ryan keep figeting so I have to keep patting him back to zzz n hum to him.

Choccokie,

My son also don't like to drink water. That day the moment he sees the bottle with water he screamed his head off liao. But I found a way to make him drink. Feeding him with spoon. Tiring but no choice loh especially now that he is having fever.

Hi Angel,

Glad to hear that ur son is better now. u must take care too... wah, ur son so clever can recognize what is inside the bottle. no, i tried using spoon he also don't want to take, he will collect the water in his mouth then spit it out after a while. he don't want to swallow the water!!! if i keep trying then he will cry and cry... aiyo like taking medicine. Sometimes I add some glucolin then he will take some but cannot always give glucolin right? Afraid next time he only want sweet drinks leh... sigh... headache

Choccookie,

Sometimes no choice loh, he cry also must force feed unless the crying gets really terrible. If not next time he will learn that he can get away with crying. I also try to add glucose at times but cannot always do that coz' will cause phelgm also.
Sometimes he also "collect" the water in his mouth then spit out. Just put the spoon long enough then he bo bian must swollow and if you keep trying, even if he spit out still bound to have some that will be swollowed right? Hehehe. Bad mommy hor me. :p Manage to spoon feed him about 110ml of water ty. kekeke.

Mummies,sorry to disappoint all of you.I've caled up Friso this morning to enquire about the weaning class and demos and was told that they've suspended the classes.So sad.

Maple,there's offer on EQ Dry at Giant Supermart.$15.25 for all sizes.M72 for $15.25 means it cost $0.21 for each pc.Cheap,rite?I'll stocking on M-sized.Promo ends 4/9.

Angel,110ml is alot of water!How did you manage?Me if my gal can take 20ml,I'll be very thrilled alady.

Mummies,need all your support.Linda from another thread-Appeal for bb incentives for bbs before 1st Aug needs our support.Do join us,k

Hi Angel,

110ml really a lot leh... my boy only drink few teaspoons
sometimes i also ignore his crying and keep spoon feed him water but my hubby very "heart soft", ask me don't force him to drink water when he's crying, afraid he will choke by the water sigh...

Raindrops,

yes, i've informed linda to add my name into her list as well. the new baby bonus skim really unfair to us lor... just a few months diff

Raindrops & Choccookie,

I just set my target of at least 20ml per feed between each feed of milk loh. Like before its time for him to drink his milk, he is bound to be thirsty or hungry. So use the chance to "force" him to drink loh. Then do it every now and then so by end of the day he would have drank quite a bit loh. But really tiring & fustrating loh coz sometimes you have to be prepare for him to fuss or spit out a bit.

Angel,
good news!Someone fm another thread mentioned that Taka baby fair started.I was thinking if I can leave work on the dot,I may want to drop by to take a look.Keen to see if got any educational toys to get for my gal.Will keep u update hopefully tonite.

choccookie,same same here.When I force feed my gal with water,heehee...nobody can stop me.My MIL was laughing one weekend when she saw me doing so.Then she said oh,mummy forcing u drink water again loh.heehee Tried ANgel's method,doesn't work for my case,coz my gal will cry even louder,until face red red.

Looks like we are all in the same boat. My gal same same, dun drink water, hv to force feed using spoon or syringe. Most of the time will spit it out, but think still managed to get her drink some lah.

Just bot my boy a toy from Playskool, it's like a bumblebee with wheels. Bb really likes it cos it's noisy, brightly coloured and got lights. Supposed to be for them when they crawling, but just move the wheels a bit, bb will be captivated. About $25 from Robinson (I got during 15 + 5)

NTUC offering 2 packs of Petpet for 24.95. Think that's really cheap. Cut out coupon from yesterday's papers, if no papers, just present link card (beg or borrow) also can.

Haven't been here to chat for nearly a month. So much posting to read..still haven't catch up.

Need an advice urgently... Anyone of your child start teething? My son has been having fever on and off these few days. Just now call home to check, my mil said he has two teeth!!! Help, what to do with his fever?? Should we bring him to see a doc? My mil feeding him with glucose drink but baby refused to drink.. He has been rather cranky these few days?? I am worry..now at work.. so need some advice! Thanks!!

My baby also dun like to drink water. I forced him to drink and got time he was so mad and angry that he cried very long, but my mil pampered him not 2 cry.

Hi Joy_apr
My baby have not start teething yet. I think u better to bring him to see a doc to confirm. Now your baby start teething quite fast leh..
Better not to give baby glucose.

Today gonna go to Taka 2 c c look look.

Joy_apr,that's very fast.Okie,I remember I saw my SIL feeding my 1-yr old newphew a pink syrup to stop fever,whose name starts with C.....It has a cute little and mo child in front and it's available at Watsons and Guardain.Best to consult doc before you self-medicate on him.Have u notice the thread that I mentioned above?Do join us.

Joy_apr,

Wah your son teething so fast ah? Mine not yet but also have been cranky and not drinking much milk these few days. Usually he can drink 180-220ml of milk but these few days only about 100-120ml. Scared he lose wt.
Don't know wat to do also. But I keep trying to feed him water in between feed.

I might pop by the Taka fair tomorrow. Thinking of getting some baby cereal for him since he not drinking his milk. Scared he go hungry.

Angel,I've just been to Taka bb fair.There's alot of baby prams,car seats and baby cots.As for clothes,rompers and overall suits are going at $6each but most designs suit girls.There's also PJs for older babies aged 1yr and above.Huggies Ultra Comfort is having promo,still not very cheap.Avent,as usual,got banded offers and 20% discount.Pigeon sets a counter selling bb food,but for 7mths and above.Discounted bibs,cotsheets,hat n bootees sets,comforter sets,nappies,wet wipes and the list goes on.I only bought a teether and a musical toy for my gal.I was a little hestiated whether to get the latex pillow for my gal,coz it suppose to be 'cooling',less than $20.I couldn't find any bb carrier at the fair.So disappointed.

Raindrops,

That time I saw Pierre Cardin baby carrier at JJ warehouse sales going for $10. Quite nice but didnt get it coz' I using the sarong sling.

Think most prolly I will go "aim" for the baby food, toys and bottle wash. If the comforter set cheap might consider. As for PJ I make my hubby stop me from buying anymore coz' Ryan got alot liao. Kekeke.

Ryan keep fussing ty. Dunno why also. A bit stress and at a lost at times. Think maybe really need to start him on solid coz' he have not been finishing his milk. Scared he go hungry.

Found another site with some simple baby recipe. Anyone of you interested?

Feeling a bit down.
Really don't know why my son keep fussing these few days. Either throwing tantrums or refusing to finish his milk. Lost my temper at him just now. 2nd time since he was born I think. Sometimes feels that I am a lousy mommy and wonders if he feels happier with my MIL.
I do love him alot but just don't want him to turn into a spoilt brat like my niece. SO I tried to "discipline" him and my hubby did the same stunt again. Wanted to send him back to my in laws place coz' "I am not in the right frame of mind to take care of him." You mean being a mom cannot lose her temper? I admit I am tired and unwell. But I told him he can't always do that. WHat happens if my son grows older and my in laws not ard? Where is he going to send him to? Can't I discipline my son?

Sorry for complaining again. Sometimes just feel very demoralise by his actions and words. Guess its never easy being a SAHM.

Li May, how did you do it so well?

Halo, everyone

Has been quite some time since I last logged in. Was trying to get my new maid to adapt to the environment, hence no time to log on.

Reon is gettin on fine, with antibiotics to be taken everyday. She is due for a checkup on Mon @ 10.10am @ KK. Hope that everything goes well. But these 2 days, she has been rather cranky, dun know whether is it due to her stuffy nose or whether if she is teethin coz she has been droolin like nobody's business.

Angel,
Do take it easy. As for my hubby & I, coz we have no one to turn to, hence, juz have to tkae care of them on our own. Like my elder gal, whom always get spankin from me, my hubby always say I hit her for nothing lah...Etc....I juz tell him, does he wants a spoilt brat to follow him around? Perhaps, one day, u should juz try "throwin" ur boy to ur hubby to ask him to take of him for 1/2 day, and ask him if he can take it? That is wat I did to my hubby.

Li May,

Hope your Reon is better.

I suspect Ryan is teething also as we spotted something white on his gum but my MIL insisted that babies don't teeth so young. He is drooling like nobody biz and chewing at the teats and my fingers too.

Think my hubby will prolly faint if I "throw" Ryan to him for 1/2 a day. He can't even tahan 2-3 hours alone with him without me or my MIL ard.

Went to the Taka baby fair. Nothing much to buy. Just bought Kiddy wash, bottle wash, cotton swabs and a bowl for Ryan.

Angel,dun blame yourself.I can understand it's very pressurizing to take care of a child alone.Frankly speaking,I too vent anger a no. of times on my child before.It's not easy on ur side.That's why I admire all SAHMs for their patience and dedication coz I know I can't fulfil that.A big salute to all SAHMs.Do discuz with ur hubby,let him understand the pressure u're facing.Cannot always depend on in-laws,not very nice also.Sayang,Big Hug.heehee...Hope that cheers u up a little.Sounds like Ryan's teething.Watch out for fever,often associate with teething.

Li_may,glad to know Reon's recovering well.Is ur maid going to help u take care of ur two girls?She shld be a good help.Besides,the levy is lesser now.Applause.

Ryan is still cranky and not finishing his milk. My MIL thinks that is coz' we play with him too much and spoils him too much thats why he is behaving this way.

Went mothercare ty and bought some socks and rompers for Ryan. Think have to stop shopping for a while.

Raindrops,

Thanks for your encouragements and kind words.

My hubby was asking me when will Ryan be able to meet up with his gf and take a pic with her.

How about a meeting after the 7th lunar month? Keen to meet all of you and the babies.

Angel,I love to,pls count me in.This forgetful mummy forgot to apply sunblock for Cherish yest while at West Coast Park,kena sunburnt on her face.heehee...Her forehead was covered with a hanky and she was happily sucking pacificer,so end up her cheeks and nose red red.Most funny is that the pacificer mark is there.So poor thing.Applied alot of baby lotion and Hazeline cream on her cheeks whenever possible.

Heard that metro having sales on kids apparels. Think urban kids also... up to 70%. Thinking of popping by tomorrow after my "cooking class".

Raindrops,

Your girl's sunburnt better liao?

The "cooking class" I went to this morning is quite interesting but think its not really worth the trip if you are staying very far or got to take leave to attend. Will be going for another one in October for cooking for babies 6-10 month old. They says its quite different.

Went to the Urban Kids at Raffles City. Nothing interesting unless you are shopping for girl's clothes. Think the Metro sales is more interesting...and I bought 1 more set of pajamas!
Think my hubby sure say
nono.gif

All the april mommy seems to be very busy hor.

Btw, any mommy interested in sending your babies for swimming class? Thinking of going maybe next month or so.

Hi Angel

I love to send my baby to swimming class but my husband & mil strictly not allow cos afraid he kanna drown...

cutecute,

Won't drown one lah. Got instructor mah. At most don't let them know first loh. Kekeke. I don't intend to let my MIL knows also, if not she sure don't let one.

Angel,thks for ur concern.Her face not so red now,looks like just apply a tint of blusher.Which Metro did u go?Coz Marina's is closed alady.Went to Urban b4,like the wide selection of girl's clothes at discounted price.

Today very sian!There's changes in my co again.There's deployment and I was being transferred to another section doing different things again.Worse till,I'm sitting beside someone very unorganised and untidy.Dun feel like working,the more I want to look for a job.

I thot of bringing Cherish to join that class when she turns 6mths.Do you know there's a registeration charge of $35?By joining KKH's KK Jnr club ($15/20 annually),it'll be waived.

cutecute,dun worry coz it's a mummy and baby session.You'll be holding ur boy to let him experience the warm water.

Raindrops,

I went to Paragon. Kekeke. My hubby says I go jalan whole of sg.
From Bt merah polyclinic to Raffles City to Paragon. Since you so unhappy working there, try to look ard for something else loh. Go for greener pasture.

There is one more swim sch that I am considering. The charges for a small grp class is $18 and $36 for individual. Lesson is 30min. You interested? They only take in babies from 6 mths onwards.

Thinking of introducing solid to Ryan this Sat. Bought all the barang barang liao.

What happen to the rest of the mommy? All MIA?

Halo, Mummies.

I all hands up for the gathering.

The maid had been quite a great help to me...Taking of Reon, cookin and doin the household chores. Lucky for me, she has a certain standard of cleaniness and hygiene.

I'm starting to give him semi-solid this sat. Ah baby another 1 more week will be 5 mths liao, times flies. Bought spoons, fork & bowls. Gonna buy apples & peachs tonight. Peach is so expensive maybe change to papaya. Will start porriage & rice cereal next week.

Li May,

So envy you, got helper to help you. Me wrap mountain wrap sea unless hubby not tired then will help me abit.

So where shall we have the gathering?

Btw, who is compiling all the mommies info? I forgot. Has it been completed?

Angel,I think I know which one u refering.I think I still prefer KKH,coz water is warm.Thks I definitely looking for one.I started off my new duties today,and boy I'm so busy doing all the shit other ppl pass to me.Worse still,I still haven finish clearing my pile of shit.Sorry for being chor lor,but there's no other suitable word to describe.

I remembered the last time Li_may suggested to help compiling our details.Lets find somewhere not hot and crowded,perferably in central coz so far I know Angel stays at Bt Merah,Maple at AMK,I'm at Bedok.

Li_may,ur maid understand English,mine still speak Malay with my in-laws,only understand abit English despite being with us for half a yr.

cutecute,so adventurous,start with so many interesting food.I bet ur son will love it.

my son's high fever was caused by urinal tract infection. He was hospitalised in KK for 3 nights since last Sun. It was a terrible experience for him. He has to be on antibotics dripped and they 'poke' him 3 times... he screamed painfully. I see already also heartpain. Accompanied him in the hospital..so very tired. Now, he's back home, but will scream for no reason esp. near bedtime. He must have been frightened by the hosp stayed.

Yes, he's 2 front teeth came out..I was surprised that he is teething so fast..just after his 4th month old!!!

Raindrops, which thread are u mentioning?? sorry, haven't been online for so long..

Hi joy_apr,

So sorry to hear abt your son's condition. You must be very tired physically and mentally. Take care of yourself too ok?

Raindrop,

You mean the other swim sch got no heated pool? Hmmnn...then will reconsider.

Think will bring my son go take family pic soon. My sis wants to bring him go take graduation pic too.

Just now fed Ryan baby cereal with carrot. He seems to like it. So happy. :p

Think will try cereal with vege tm. Kekeke.

Angel_13,

I am the one compling the information...but less than 5 of us are in the list.

Joy_Apr,

My gal actually got admitted on National Day and they oso say she got UTI. She was oso on the antibiotic drip, and now back home, she has to take antibiotic once a day, for 4 mths. And not forgetting to mention that she has few scans to go abt.

Li May,

Maybe you just send us the info loh. Then if anyone else want to add in, then add it in later? Anyone have any objection?

Li May,
Reon also got UTI...it seemed so common for bb to get UTI. Did your Dr mention what's the cause of UTI for Reon? I asked the Dr but they couldn't tell the exact cause of it. Yes, there r followup scans to go about. My son is also on antibotics, 3 times a day for the first week, follow by 1 time a day for one month. Which hospital was Reon warded?

Angel 13
Thanks. Yes, i was v tired and have to go back to work the next day aft my son discharged. I didn't have enough sleep cos' my son was waking up almost every hr.. But thank goodness, now things are much back to normal.

Check with you, how did u introduce cereal and carrot to your son? I plan to introduce solid to my son soon. Should I start with adding a teaspoon of cereal mix with his milk powder?

joy_apr,

When I went to the polyclinic for the "cooking lesson", the nurse showed us how she prepares the dish so I just follow suit.
First of all, I added in 4 tablespoon of dumex cereal and 100ml of water to stir. You got to stir it till its quite fine and not lumpy otherwise the baby might reject. In the meantime I boil the carrot till its quite soft and use a grate to grate it till its quite fine (but hubby complain its still big). then I mixed the carrot into the cereal. Think you can use a food processor if you want but the nurse was telling us that try not to mix the utensil we use for the baby with ours or there might be contamination of taste and the baby might not like it.
Wether you want to add milk to it is up to you loh as the nurse have told me. What I did was, I feed ds cereal till he seems to be full or sleepy then I make some milk, 1/2 of what he normally take and feed it to him in case he is hungry.
The 1st experience is very impt as hte nurse have told us, so try to make it as pleasant as possible otherwise they might grow to hate it. So do not force feed and feed a little at a time.

Enjoy!

This thread seems to be very quiet lately. All mommies busy with work ah?

Seems like only Li May, Raindrops and I are keen for the gathering. How abt the rest?

Raindrops,

Li May stays ard Bt Merah too. Maybe the gathering either we go someone's place or one of the baby-frdly shopping ctr?

Li May, joy_apr,
Sorry to hear abt Reon and Jaden having UTI. Hope they are better now.

Mommies who have given cereals to your babies, can I know which brand did you buy?

Ok, some updates on my gal.
Good news : She has finally managed to flip!!! I was so happy for her.

Bad news : She was down with flu yesterday. Think she got it from me.

Angel,
I am keen for the gathering. Keep me informed. But I would not be joining u gals if I have not recovered fully, dun want to spread the germs to any of you or your babies.

Hi Maple,

Thks for yr concern. Yes, Jaden is recovering well..just that he disliked taking the antibotics..screams loudly n cried each time.

Yes, he is also learning how to flip.. he is almost there.. I am also thinking of giving him cereals. I took some sample from the PD, it's under Nestle. Haven't try yet.

Angel,
I don't mind joining the gathering too..just that not sure if hubby ok for me to bring bb along.

Hi Maple,

I am giving both Dumex and Gerber rice cereal. Seems like he prefer the Dumex one. Will be making the Ikan bilis powder to add into his cereal soon.
Let your girl drink more water since she is down with flu. Must be very uncomfy. The last time Ryan down with flu he was quite cranky coz' can't breath properly and I heart pain also.

My son can't really flip yet but he keep trying to sit up unaided and gets angry when he can't.

Any suggestion for places to go for the gathering? Thinking either Great world city ( coz' less crowded and central), Taka ( coz' got nursery) or someone's place.

Will be bringing Ryan out again tomorrow.

Hi mummies,hv not been active recently due to busy work schedule and something that happened unexpectedly.I dun know whether to feel happy or sad but sadly I feel it isn't the right time.I'm expecting again and due in next May.This news shocked my close frens and 'ruined' my intention to switch job.My current job has been very stressful and requires me to work OT until very late.Thot of being a SAHM like Angel but dun think I can survive on a single income.Sigh.My hubby has been supportive,shall respect my decision whatever it is so long I dun go for abortion.Nevertheless,I'll be keeping this baby.

Li_may,may I know the age gap between ur two gals?Can u share tips on how to cope?I'm very worried of not able to cope with a crawling toddler and a newborn next yr.

Joy_apr,sorry to hear tat Jaden's sick,hope he's better now.

Angel,any location is fine for me coz I'll be taking a cab.By the way,I'll be visiting KKH more often,will find out when classes are available then let u know.Izzt funny for a pregnant mummy bringing a baby for swimming lessons?Oh,thks for sharing the recipe,I bought the dumex rice cereal and bottled carrot for my MIL to feed to my gal.Same as ur Ryan,Cherish still cannot flip on her own,but can see she's putting an effort.

Maple,glad to hear ur gal has mastered the skill of flipping.U're going to hv a hard time changing diapers for her.heehee...Both of u muz take care ok coz seems like alot of ppl down with fever and flu.

Anyone staying at Bedok?There's a baby show going on 10/10.I'm not sure if it's open for all areas coz it's organised by CC.

Raindrops,

Congrats. A baby is always a blessing. Maybe you can consider working part time or from home? Though surviving on a single income is not easy, but its not impossible. Just have to cut down on some stuff. I admit its not easy but I am sure you can do it. Furthermore, with a 2nd child, you can save on alot of things. ( hand me down from 1st child).

For those mommies that have not send your info to Li May, do you think you can do it asap so she can compile and send out?

Mommies, do you gals feel more comfy bringing your baby to someone's place or outside is fine too and will your hubby be joining? I don't mind opening my place but it's a bit messy as I'm struggling with taking care of Ryan and chores at the same time. :p

Rain_Drops,

Congrats..I understand how u feel...I was oso confused and lost when I knew I had Reon...but all turns well, it might be stressful for the 1st few mths...but it be well later on.

My gals are exactly 13mths apart. Is okie 2 bring ur kid for swimming, that is wat I did when I was expecting Reon.

Angel,
where are u staying? Perhaps hold the gathering @ ur place.

Thank you girls for your encouragement.I'm better now.Initially so very lost.Worse still,my fren 'scolded' me for being so careless and din take precaution,made me very weepy that time.Now may not switch job now,but my gynae is kind enuf to write a letter 2wks later during my next visit.Maybe I can ask for a transfer with this letter.Frankly speaking,I can't be choosy now,so that the new position can last me till I delivered is gd enuf alady.I shall look for a job during my confinement.

Li_may,seems like mine is a little early.By the time baby is due,Cherish juz turned 1yr old.I'm very thin-skinned,scare ppl said aiyo,tummy so big,still can wear swimming costume.heehee...The last time I ever showed myself in the swimming costume was during my aqua fitness class.All those attended were expectant mothers,so not so paiseh.

Angel,we're not going to mind if someone is kind enuf to open up the house.In fact I was thinking in order to lighten the load of the host,may I suggest a potluck gathering where everyone bring a little something to eat.For those not gd or too busy to cook,can buy ready-to-eat food instead.Bedok got alot of yummy food.I'm getting very excited.

I'm staying at Telok Blangah Crescent. Nearest Mrt is Tiong Bahru or Harbourfront. I don't mind opening my hse but must be prepared for the mess and dust. Hehehe. I don't mind potluck but scared it might be a bit troublesome for you girls as you got to bring your barang, food and baby. I can get my hubby da bao a bit of stuff otherwise you girls might need to bring alot of things.

I also want to have number 2 but gynea says C-section can only try after 9 mths. This time round wld prefer a girl so can dress her up. Kekeke.

So when do you girls wanna meet? Bringing hubby and helper?

25th Sept is out coz' bringing Ryan to the Zoo. Hehehe.