(2004/04) April Mummy

Angel,Happy Belated Birthday.Enjoy shopping at JB?Guys are like that,angry also no use.

Choccookie,welcome.Don't worry,ur son will be fine.My friend's daughter also have this problem but so far the holes just close by itself.He'll be fine too.

Joy_apr,if Jaden's photo is featured,must inform us.I'll definitely buy a copy to support.

Li_May,are u feeling better now?How did u notice Reon's neck prob?Hope she'll get better after her 1st visit at NUH.

aloe,I think it's pretty normal for baby's preference for one side than the other.My girl prefer the left side.Tried to shift her head to the other side,she'll naturally turn back.Old ppl said must sleep alternate sides to prevent one side of the face flatter than the other.

cutecute,are u bringing ur boy to a hairstylist to cut?I can't decide whether to trim for my gal myself or bring her to stylist.

Raindrops,

Thanks for the greeting.

Bought alot of stuff there. Mainly my son's pajamas and dvds. Think only can buy pajamas there....outing clothes sg ones still nicer. :p

Aiyah, I just need to complain abit abt my hubby lah. After that will be ok liao.

thanks for all ur concern. i tried to give him apple puree but he doesn't like it. can i try to give him potato puree? he doesn't like to drink water so afraid the cereals will be too heaty for him. he already 4 mths old but only drink 4oz of milk every 3 hours, too little right? so i intend to give him some alternative food.

Choccokie,

My son doesn't like to drink water too. Will cry and try to push out the teat. So what I do is add a little bit of glucose to his water and he drinks up everything.

Hi Li May,
Do take good care of yourself. Hope u hv fully recovered. And hope Reon's neck will be fine after visiting the PD and sinseh.

BTW, have u rec'd the info I sent you previously? Let me know if u din rec'd it, I'll send it to you again.

Hi Choccookie,
Welcome to the thread. Not too sure what's a heart murmur but hope that your son will be fine.

I think 4oz of milk 3hrs should be fine. My gal is drinking 4oz every 4 hourly and PD said the amount is alright.

My gal also doesn't like to drink water. So we just force feed her using a spoon or a syringe. Sometimes we add some apple prune juice to it and she will drink.

Aloe,
4th mth hair cut? Don't know leh, don't think it's necessary since we shave her hair at 1st mth already. Did u bring Ryan for his hair cut at 1st mth?

Hi Angel

Doc advise us dun give baby glucose cos afraid that in future they only like sweet drink. I bought a tin of glucose but gave to baby few times b4 doc advise. My baby dislike water, I force him to drink even he is crying loudly protesting, hahaha.. I know I'm bad, heehee. He end up split out the water wetting his clothes. sign!

Hi Rain_drops
I took to hairstylist. I dun dare to cut his hair I afraid I might hurt him. He can't stay still too.

cutecute,

I know we are not suppose to introduce sweet stuff to baby but I was just wondering since when we were in hospital the nurses asked if we wanna give baby glucose or fm when I cldn't bf while he was in phtotheraphy, should be alright for us to feed him glucose now right? Not sure. Anyway think as long as its not too sweet should be alright rite? hehehe.

Erm...why must cut hair on the 4th month?

Angel,
I also dun know leh. Since his hair long, then cut loh. His hair also drop but not all of it. This end up look like a china baby, in front got lots of hair & other side little hair.

He went for 2nd jab on Wed, 6.1kg, no doc assessment. He also got fever and only drink abt 50% of milk.

is my mil said can only cut hair after 4th mth, (think she dunno why) Ryan did not cut his hair during his 1st mth and now his hair is vy long .. he also drop lots of hair .. his pillow is full of hair

hi cutecute,

when i bring him for jab that time, his PD told me that injection will not cause fever.. but is not true one, as ryan also have slight fever after that 5in1 jab..

me, end of the mth will bring him for jab again. hope this time he will be better...

Hi aloe

The 1st 5in1 jab, he also have slight fever. The 2nd time fever is worse than 1st time.

My hair have been dropping a lot, looks frightening. Hair already very little and I think going to be bald soon..

Hi mummies,just brought my gal for 2nd jab,luckily no fever,but she's very cranky.She cried so hard a number of times today so end up I have to prepare her milk 2hrs after her last feed.sigh.She's 6.3kg now,but as for the height,funny leh,coz she actually shrink a few cms.She finally can lift up her head when placed on tummy.

choccookie,maybe u can try giving her apple puree a week later.Buy Heinz,no added sugar,better for bb not to develop sweet tooth so soon.

aloe & cutecute ,my gal also dropped alot of hair,frankly-speaking,she's pulling all her hair out.heehee...Not only that,she also enjoy pulling my hair.I also got not much hair to lose liao.

Angel,I guess a little glucose is fine.My fren also give her gal glucose water coz she doesn't like plain water.

Li-May,how's Reon's visit at NUH?Hope she's better.

Qhl,long time din see u leh.Still catching Amazing Race?Pizza brothers are finally out,hope the irriating mirna and charla team out next.

I also dropping alot of hair. The floor, basin, bed etc.... all full of my hair till my husband complaining.

bringing my son for his jab on the 25th of this month. Hope he don't develope fever.

Btw, now that I stop adding glucose to his water, he refuses to drink water!!! Even when I try to force feed him using a spoon , he will leave it in his mouth for a while then split it out!!! Ang solutions?

It has been a ling time since I last logged in. Reon was actually addmitted to KK on National Day's nite. It all happen durign her evening feed, and she vomitted everything out, and it happen for three times, hence I admit her to KK. As she has been feelin very drowsy the whole day, the doc suggested that I admit her for observation. As I was goin thru her admission procedures,she vomitted again. Hence, the docs put her on drip, me damn heartpain when I see her little hand on drip. After several tests, they say that she "kena" urinary tract infection, hence stayed @ KK for 4 days b4 discharge. Haiz, it was simply a terrible stay and experience for Reon.

Hi Aloe,

Got ur info liao. Ur MIL ask u to cut his hair,coz elderly believe that if babies dun cut their hair on the 1st mth, when they reach 100days, their hair will drop in patches, hence I believe that is why ur MIL suggested that u cut his hair.

All Mummies,
Why are ur babies developin fever after the jabs? Coz I thot that the jabs now dun cause fever.

Angel,Ryan is so adorable.You think Ryan wants a girlfriend now?
Juz joking.I also faced with this situation.Bo bian,I continue to feed her water until she got so angry that instead of spitting out,she sort of doing the merlion style and the water landed on my face.sigh kena bullied by my daughter.By the way,I visited Mothercare at Marina again,noticed that some items still on sale.Do pop over if u've time.

Poor Reon.I didn't know can kena urinary infection at such a young age.I must agree that KKH's children's C class ward doesn't look well-facilited.You stayed by her for 4 days?

Most of you missed the 6-in-1,so took 5-in-1 instead that may develop mild fever.

Here's Cherish's latest photo.Notice her almost bald patch?She's pulling her hair again.
140154.jpg

Hi Li May,

Sorry to hear abt your gal's condition. Hope all is well now.

Raindrop,

Hubby and I tried to force Ryan to drink water and he went into this crying fits for a very long time till the extend that he was cranky for a few hours and even "cry" in his sleep. Heart pain leh.

Hehehe, your gal also quite pretty. Bring her over and let them make friends loh.
Kekeke. She got so much hair compare to my son and def look very "mature" for her age. She is a april baby right?

RainDrops,

Yeap, I stayed with her for the 5 days when she was at KK....She threw up again this morning...brought her to my family doc, asked to look out for fever...if she has fever, muz bring her back KK immediately....

Angel,

Thanks for ur concern...

Haiz...All babies look so much bigger than Reon, my Reon like so small size...

140215.jpg

140216.jpg

140217.jpg

Li May,
Hope Reon is getting better now. She is not small size la .. gal gal no need to be BIG BIG one...

Hi Angel,
look my baby rayn have the similar picture..... Look at his hair .. soooooooo long
140247.jpg

hi Cherish
you so pretty, wow ... so young already know how to pose....

Ryan is not feeling well too .. his eye got a bit infection, sneezing and keep sweating .. and today he did not drink well .. he only had one proper meal. This morning brought him to see one of the children clinic near by ... the PD was like vy sian one. Why ask question, he did not really explain!!

Wow....seems like all the baby got more hair than mine. :p

Li May, must take care of yourself at the same time when you looking after your gal ok. Hope she get well soon.

Aloe, hope your Ryan get well soon.

Think its the virus going around now. My friend's baby also fell sick and the Pd told her that alot of babies falling sick now so avoid crowded places. That's why I don't dare bring mine out now. I a bit kiasi after seeing how he suffers when he caught a cold last time.

Raindrop, Yahloh, your Cherish very pretty. Even my husband also says that. He even suggested taking pics for both of them. Hehehe.

Just wanna check with mommies here. How much is your abby drinking now and how often coz' my MIL increased my son's milk intake to 240ml/feed at 4 hours interval and my hubby threw a feed coz' he says over-feeding will cause allergic reaction to the stomach. My MIL counter by saying he can finish so why not and not giving him that amount he might get hungry.

angel
how old is your son now? My boy is more taking a lot of milk, he is now 7mth olds but he usually take about 150ml - 160ml every 3hrs.

I think 240ml every 4hrs seems fine with me. Maybe you can try to prolong the feeding interval to 4.5hrs with the same amount.

hi aloe,

Wah....your son's hair very punkish. Envy he got so much hair. My son's hair is about 10% only... He's a very handsome boy also!!

Had his hair cut couple of weeks back. Happy to report that his grass is growing...hee hee

Hi Jas,

My son is 3 months and 3 wks old. In fact, we have tried feeding him 240 ml every 4 hr and he managed to finished it but my hubby is afraid that we might over feed him so now we only feed about 200ml every 3 hour.

Li_may,you must very tired worrying about Reon.I hope she can get well soon.U must take good rest too,dun worry too much.I agree girl girl petite then cute mah.My hubby likes Reon's smile,so sweet.

aloe,Ryan very handsome looking too.His hair spiky spiky looks like Beckham.Sorry to hear he's not feeling well.Hope he gets well soon.

Angel,Cherish is indeed an april bb.By putting ur Ryan and Cherish together,like 'jie di'(elder sis and young bro)heehee...240ml is quite alot,Cherish is taking 120ml at 3hrs interval.But if it's substantial to last 4hrs,I dun see why not.

Qhl,I wan to see handsome Nathan's photo leh esp with his new 'grass'.heehee...

mummies,govt has announced the 4mths maternity leave.How do u feel?Im sort of in a job crisis.Apparently during my absence for 2mths maternity leave,my colleague proved herself to be very capable and outshine me.Now due to company restruction,I'm been assigned other duties under a different boss.I'm very sad now coz I'm happy with my present position,but she gets to stay,while I've to be transferred.I'll looking for a job now,coz I can't stay in that new dept,the boss dun like me.I can't image what happened if I'm gone for 4mths.Can the govt promised I'll not be replaced,my job is still available aft 4mths?My hubby wish to discuss a 2nd child but I dun wish to now that such a thing can happen.Deep in my heart I noe I shouldn't blame that colleague coz it's not her fault but I can't hide the anger within me.I dun noe how to pretend nothing has happen n continue my work.sigh

Rain_Drops & Angel,

Thanks for ur concern....But every now and then, got to keep a lookout for her, in case she develop a fever. Last nite...she threw up again...Hence, rite now, got to monitor her feeding and everything, so that when she goes to see a doc, can let them see her feeding schedule.

hi rain_drops,

Dun brood too much on it. Sometimes even if other pp not as capable as you, they will still shine cos of PR etc etc. Life's just unfair. If you really cannot take it, start looking. I think market now not so bad.

I think your hubby quite garang....I want a 2nd child, but dun dare to try until Nathan at least can walk. I cannot imagine if 2 about the same age/timing....xiao liao! :p

140862.jpg

Raindrops,

Sorry to hear abt your job. I think I'll be very upset if I am in your position too. If you are really unhappy now, no harm looking for a new job. As for 2nd child. Hubby and I want to try for another too. But think will only do that when my son is abt 1 or 1 & 1/2 years old.

Li May,

Why don't you change the Pd for Reon? You take care too ok?

QHL,

Nathan just got his haircut? Look very cute botak. Kekeke.

Hi Li May
Take care and baby get well soon..

Hi Raindrops
U c c look look for a new job. Most jobs need short notice so if u can offset your annual leave will be better. May I know what dept r u from?
I think it is better to wait until your baby is abt 2 years then have a second baby. This is what many people advise me.

Hi April mummies
My baby got snoring. help..!

cutecute,

My baby snore also. So now I have hubby snoring on my right and son snoring on my left. :p

Think read somewhere that its the sleep positioning.

Mummies,thank you for ur consolation.It has been a hard day today.Was on leave yest when they announced the bad news and had to move my stuff alone this morning.Started my day quite rough,spilled coffee all over my table and skirt.I'm still pretty upset and the only way to make myself feel better is to play the blaming game.I was being too emotional,end up weeping.

Qhl,nice shave Nathan has got there,so this is the 'xiao he shang' look.He looked like a 'xiao da ren'(little big boy)

Angel,I used to feel that 2kids is just nice but after seeing my 2 nephews fighting with each other over little things makes me think that 1 is enough.My hubby thinks otherwise.He feels that 1 will be very lonely,no siblings to play with.Wah,u get to listen to 'symphony' to fall asleep.Juz joking.

cutecute,I think snoring can be 'inherited'.My girlfren snores,and her daughter also.

Raindrops,

Cheer up. I know its hard but if you need, just vent your fustrations here.

Could be possible that snoring can be "inherited" coz' my in laws all snores.

There are always pros and cons for having 1 child or many childrens and pple can argue till the cow comes home but it all boils down to what you think its best for yourself and your kids.

I saw an advert on TODAY papers that Premium Pampers got promo, 3 packs for $58. I dun know what size 2 buy cos I still have abt 2 mth supply to go. Now he is wearing M size, at night wear disposable only. Dun know whether he will grow bigger after 2 mths. Diffcult to est..
Thinking of mix the sizes. M size got 64 pcs.

Anyone using Nepia? Thinking of buying but still got alot of Pampers and Drypers. Tried the sampler for Nepia quite good. Can last through the night.

Raindrops,

Are you feeling better?

Cutecute,

Usually for all these promotions cannot mixed sizes one. Must buy all of the same size leh.

Angel,thks for ur concern.I felt better if I din think of it,but when I do,I'll feel miserable again.But I'm eagerly looking for jobs now,coz can't stand dragging myself to work everyday.

My gal is wearing Nepia only at night.I trusted this brand very much.Quality as good as pampers but not very cheap.Selling only at Japanese stores and supermarkets.I bought mine at Seiyu Bugis.$19.90 for all sizes.Not worth it if you buy bigger sizes.I stocked up 3 packs during the motherhood fair.$12 only.

cutecute,you can buy a size bigger to stock up coz ur boy will get to use it sooner or later.

Qhl,u watched laz nite's Amazing Race?The midget team finally out!yeah....I'm not against the midget,just that I can't stand her annoying cousin.

Hi Rain_drops

I saw Nepia at NTUC Lot 1 if I'm not wrong quite sometimes ago.
Maybe I have to check pampers expire date b4 buying if I want a bigger size.

Cutecute,thks for the reminder.NTUC only carry the larger range fm M-size onwards.My gal still using S size.I learned fm mummies in other thread that Nepia is on offer at the price of $15.90 at NTUCs.

I've filled a form with Friso the last time I visited Motherhood fair and they delivered a tin of Friso follow-on to try.I dun know if I should let my gal try.By the way,they conduct weaning class and demos,anyone interested?I do not have full details yet but I shall find out next week.

Good Afternoon Mummies,

How's everybody?

I will be going for the cooking talk conducted by AMK polyclinic sometime next mth. Anybody interested in joining me? It's on every Mon, 9-11 am.

Rain_drops,
Can share with us details of the weaning class and demos once you have them.

Raindrops,

Did you stock up on the nepia diaper? Wanted to but the NTUC near my place don't carry it and is too lazy and tired to travel elsewhere to get it.

Maple,

Wish to join you but AMK a bit far leh. Btw, are you a SAHM?

Anyone knows when is the Taka baby fair?

Angel,
No, I'm working. Maybe take half-day leave to attend. If not, I blur blur also dun noe wat to cook for my gal.

Initially wanted to join u at Bukit Merah too, but so far away leh. If possible, can you update us on the talk after u hv attended? If talk no good, then can save the trip no need to go liao.

Maple, u got straight bus here mah 132...then after that can go for lunch together...kekeke...

Ok...will update you girls on the talk.... actually I very kiasu one...i read up alot on those weaning stuff liao and got some recipe online but still wanna go and look see...

MAple, you say you working then who looks after your baby?

This is one of the sample recipe I found but on another site they say introducing banana too early might cause the baby to develope sweet tooth...so dunno how...headache. :p

To make bananas for baby, peel a ripe banana and thoroughly fork-mash until there are no lumps and the banana is so mushy it's almost liquid. That's all there is to it.

If your baby is just starting on solid foods, you can mix the mashed banana with a little formula or breast milk to make it a very liquidy consistency

Most commercial jarred baby bananas are not organic. Try to buy only certified organic bananas, because bananas (and all imported fruits) are sprayed with fungicides which can be absorbed into the peel and flesh of the fruit.

Cutecute,

Actually I'm also not sure. Have not scout around yet as I do not intend to start my son on solid any time soon. Any of you mommies intend to start your baby on solid now?

Just came back from his 4th month jab. Heart pain when I saw his wound bleed. :p He is now 7.7kg and 64cm. Doc told my MIL not to over-feed my son as he is a bit "chubby". Says instead feed him water if its not time yet but he doesn't liek to drink water. sigh...

I started solid for my son already. He is now 4 mths & 18 days old. The first solid i gave him is mashed potato with formula milk. he like it very much. he took it for abt 4 days already. today i started giving him porridge with carrot. he also managed to finish the whole bowl (small bowl). very happy see him can eat so well
i only give him solid for lunch. the rest of time only formula milk. may be will start 2 solid meals for him when he's 5 - 6 mths old.

Maple,heehee...I still haven't call them,but will call tmr.

Angel,I think when my gal gets older,I may want to switch to cheaper brands of diapers,besides I still have 2pack of "S" size unopened.Now I'm afraid that might not be able to finish using on time as my gal only wears it every nite.I dun find Ryan big-sized leh.

cutecute,if I'm wrong,I think I saw it at NTUC.I shall re-confirm.

choccookie,sounds like ur son truly enjoys his 1st taste of food.I'm waiting for my gal to turn 5mths before I intro her solids.

Wonder how's Li_May's Reon?

My son developed fever last night. Heart pain leh. Just now still a bit. Hope he gets better later.

Raindrops,

I also don't find Ryan overly big. I think he looks cute and ok now but dunno why seems like everyone is expressing concern that he might be over-fed or over weight. :p

Hi Raindrops,

my mum ask me to start solid for my baby when he turns 4 mths. I just started giving him solid when he turns 4 & half mths. ya lor, he really like to try other food. when i'm eating something in front of him, he will look at me and open his eyes big big to give me signal that he also want to eat. very funny
now i'm sourcing baby recipes via internet. i'm so kancheong want him to try everything but slowly as he's still very young. kiasu mummy hor

Angel,
Poor Ryan, hopes his fever subsides soon and gets better later.

My mil is looking after my gal.

My mil started her on cereals abt 2 weeks ago. She seems to like it a lot. Nowadays, she notti notti, sometimes refuses to drink her milk if cereal is not added to it. This morning also same thing, refuses to drink milk, so added some cereals b4 giving it to her again. As a result I slightly late for work.

Last week, my mil also tried to give her some porridge. She only took a few mouthfuls. Think she's still not used to spoon feeding yet. Mil said will train her on spoon feeding soon.

Choccookie,
Did you give your son cereals? I always thought the first semi-solids to start is usually cereals. Mashed potato with milk? Yummy, Yummy! It's good to know that your son enjoys his food.

Rain-drops,
My gal also small size, but she is now wearing M-size diapers already. The S-size ones are too tight, left a red mark on both her thighs.

Last time you even mention one brand of diapers which is quite cheap. Is it EQ? Any idea how much it cost and where to get it?

BTW, petpet having promo at NTUC. 2 packs cost $24.95, with coupon. Anybody used petpet b4? Is it good?

Hi Maple,

No. My mum said cereal will be a bit heaty. since my son don't like to drink water so porridge is the best for him. easy to digest and not heaty. how abt ur gal? does she take a lot of water? my son very naughty, every time feed him water he will cry