(2004/04) April Mummy

Brought my gal for her 3rd mth jab last weekend. Lucky no fever. Doc says there's only 1% chance of developing fever. Angel, aloe, your bb alright after the jab?

I guess most of our bb would have gone for their 3rd mth assessment already, can share their wt gain? My gal now weighs 5kg. Doc says her wt is average. I guess she must be the smallest bb among here.

Also highlighted to doc her bowel problem. Doc says it is alright. Anyway he prescribe Heinz apple prune juice for her. I was a bit surprised when I collect it at the counter b'cos the label says for 6 mths & above and my gal only 3mths plus leh. But nurse says it is alright.

Aloe, has Ryan seen the PD re his poo? Is it better now?

Aloe, QHL, you might want to consider giving some apple juice to Ryan & Nathan. Hope that helps in their bowel movements. Heinz has those for 4 mths & above.

Joy_apr,
My gal usually smile and/or 'talk' to us when we talk to her, unless she bad mood or not enough sleep. In particular, she will always smile (without fail) when we greet her 'good morning' or 'zao an' in the morning.

My son did not develope any fever. His wt is 6.6kg. Around 75 percentile for both weight and height.

However, his stool is a bit hard so thinking of changing to Similac Excellence for him.

He will smile and "talk" to me whenever I play with him. Seems to like me more than daddy. Refused to drink on 2 occasion and cried his lungs out though he was very hungry and when I took over, he smiles and finished everything. Once my husband raise his voice at me while he was feeding my son, my son started crying and refuses to drink when I walked into the room to cool down. Once I came out and take over, he smile and finishes all his milk again.

Think he is very protective over mommy. =)

Hi,mummies.My office just shifted so not able to access to internet.

So glad that most bbs did not develop fever after jab.Maple,Cherish is 5.6kg(close to Gwyneth's weight,average bb too)

Angel,If I remember correctly,ur son's on Mamex? Similac seems good too,do consider.

My gal (like mona lisa acc to my FIL)very 'dao',very difficult to catch her smile.I notice that she'll smile at the red,white and black poster pasted at a side when I change her diaper.Angel,I think ur hubby n ur son need a little 'bonding'.When I wanted my hubby to help,I'll say -"Give u a chance to bond with girl-girl"heehee...

All our babies are going to be 4mths soon.Anyone intend to start weaning?My girlfren just started weaning her 4mth old gal and is having a messy and hard time.My MIL said no need to wean her so soon,may start when my gal's turning 5mth.

my boy just turned 3 months on yesterday.. should be one of the youngest around here. Will be bringing him for thr 3rd month jab..prayfully no fever.

Angel, your boy sure knows how to protect you
The other day, my hubby took over to feed our son..and he finished 150ml of EBM. Usually he will drink about 120ml. My hubby felt such a sense of achievement cos' he don't usu feed our son.

I'll be attending a cooking "talk" on sept at Bt Merah polyclinic on how to prepare food for babies. Was told can start weaning at 4th month but might only start around the 5th month. No hurry.

Thinking of sending his pictures to Motherhood mag. Any of the mummies here doing that?

Hi april mummies

My baby is going for 2nd 5in1 jab in abt 2 weeks time. Times flies...
So far I baby not not turn yet but he could use his legs to move his body, strong legs indeed.
He can't lift his head when placed in on his stomach.
My baby is using Pamper baby dry, so far so good.
My baby needs people to company him. When walk away leaving him alone even few seconds, he will start to make noise. He is now sleep lesser and lesser and I will getting busier and busier. No wonder people said that it is better to have baby early so that you have the energy to take care of him. Chao.

Sorry been missing out on the postings.

Anyway, my bb's skin very sensitive. His red bum improved a bit, but parts still reddish. I am using Cosifit (from JB - only S$10 for a big big pack). It's not very good but my bb not much output, so can tahan.

I figure if I alternate, ie dun use exclusively Petpet, maybe it'll be ok.

Now he's like erupting all over in rashes. Quite heart pain to see his skin like that. Am cutting out chocolate from my diet to see if his skin improves. Next Monday will ask pd about his skin.

Nathan still can't flip yet - he isn't making effort to do so (at least when I am around). But his head quite 'zai' cos when I carry him, nonid to support his head (just have to make sure my hand is there, just in case he tires).

Nathan's like cutecute's son...like to have pp around. If he knows got pp around, he will engh engh until someone picks him up.

Just cut his hair on Sunday, couldn't stand his few hairs flipping here and there. Now looking like 'xiao he shang'...head round round, cheeks round round.

Angel,
Happy for u that your boy is so protective of you.

Have u found out the schedule of the cooking "talk" at Bt Merah Polyclinic? Can share? Which date would u be attending? I interested to attend also, but very sian to go alone.

Rain_drops,
My mil opp from your mil. She very keen to wean my gal, initally even want to start at 3 mths. But I was thinking no need so early lah, bb digestive system not fully developed yet, can wait till at least 4 mths. Read from books and was also told that can start to wean bb around 4 - 6 mths.

Joy_apr,
Just wondering... if your boy usually drinks 120 ml of EBM, why would u be giving him 150 ml? Isn't it very wasteful having to throw away 30 ml of EBM every time, if he can't finish?

Nowadays my ss is so low that every drop of ebm is very precious to me, unlike last time when I had enough ss.

Cutecute,
My gal is able to lift her head when put on her stomach.

Hi Maple,

The cooking "talk" is on 1st Sept, 9.30am. You wanna join me? You staying around here too? If you wanna join me, pm me your hp number and we can go together. I also very sian to go alone.

hi Maple,
i have not bring Ryan for jab yet .. will be going this wkend ..I actually want to bring him to see PD on last Sat, but he surprised us with poopoo on last Friday and Sat morning... i thought he is OK that why i did not bring him to PD but then he stop poo on Sunday and only poo again today ...

hi QHL
why dun u try Mustela Vitamin Barrier Cream.. this is vy good cream that help to protect his skin and reduce redness.

Ryan flipped once ... when he was 2 mths plus .. i think he did it by luck haha.
me crazy mummy as sometime i teach him how to flip (help him to lay on his side and push him a bit to flip)....
but he got no problem moving his head from one side to another side when put him on his stomach.

Joy_apr,has Jaden's skin condition improve now?

Angel,do we have to register for the talk?I'm keen too.I also wanted to send photos to motherhood,but I'm afraid my Cherish won't stand a chance.Maybe I will send if I can capture a nice photo of her smiling happily when she's bigger.Maybe u can try talking to him while u walk away,assure him that u'll be back soon.

Qhl,maybe u can dressed Nathan in lightwear cotton,at least in breathable material,can prevent from getting worse.Care to share Nathan's 'botak' photo?Dun forget to catch tonite's Amazing Race.

cutecute,my gal same as ur son.Her neck may be strong but not strong enuf to lift her head up.

Maple,I've been looking at bb's bottled food everytime I visit NTUC.Was fascinated with a wide choice of bb food.I shall start with food with no sugar content 1st.

Raindrops,

I am not sure if we have to register for the talk. The nurse just told me abt the schedule when I asked abt weaning my son. She note down the date and time in my son's health booklet.

I also scared my son won't stand a chance to win but alot of people have been asking me to send his pictures in. Especially the one with him pouting. Hehehe.

He got quite a temper and stubborn streak loh. So asking him to wait or telling him I'll brb will not work. Guess really have to start disciplining him.

My son have not started fliping yet. Maybe coz' my husband always refuse to let me put him tummy down. he can only support his neck and turn his head left and right to look at things or adjust to a comfy position to zzz loh.

Do you mummies still let you baby wear mittens and booties? My MIL and husband always insist on wearing for him. Whenever I am ard I always remove it coz' I want him to learn how to grasp thing.

hi aloe,

will try. Bought some liquid soap (SoftLove or something) that supposed to be good for eczema. Dun seem to be helping.

Hi rain_drops, he's already quite 'sexy' during warm days - wearing sleeveless tops. Wished I had told him to inherit his dad's skin genes - think he took mine, chia lat...

ya, but tonight I got class ending at 10pm. Wondering if I should skip the last part so I can be home earlier :p

Haven't loaded his XSS (xiao he shang) pix from the camera. Once I do that, will post it.

I bought him swimming trunks when I went to Zara sale a few weeks back. Quite hilarious looking - took pix of him in that also. He was flipping from stomach down to back down position - I didn't switch on video mode, but managed to capture the different stages on camera....so amazing.

Planning to bring him to the pool when the weather's hotter. Read from a book that first time should only let him in for 10min max...afterwards then can increase to 30min in the pool.

Another long posting...pai seh

hi there,

Brought my son for his 5-in-1 jab yesterday. His latest weight is 6.65kg, 61cm long and 42cm -head circumference. Doc said he is bigger size than normal baby at 3rd month.

Raindrops,
Thanks for your concern. Doc said the rash on Jaden's face and neck is white fugus caused by his perspiration. It has spread so doc prescribed medication to apply on him. Hopefully, Jaden will recover in a week's time.

Maple,
My ss also reducing lately..and i have to express about 3 times to make up to a full one feed. Usu. if he can't finish the EBM, I will put the remaining EBM in warm water till his next feed. So, won't waste any EBM.

Angel,
I am still letting my boy wear mitten and booties. But in the evening, I will take them off and play with him..ya, also letting him learn to grasp things. He is beginning to lick his fingers too. How about yours?

Joy-apr,

My son have been sucking his fist since the day he was born. My ILs says he eating "drumstick". He seems to prefer sucking his fist to sucking on a pacifier. Nowadays he keep blowing bubbles and drool all over. :p

Any of you mommies bought clothes from mothercare? Saw alot of very cute and nice clothes there but feels that some of it is a bit expensive. Any idea when they will be having sales? Coz eyeing a few pieces there. :p

QHL,

I also planning to bring my son for a dip. But my over-protective husband is having second thoughts coz' he feels that the public pool a bit "dirty". Dunno when will be a better time to bring him for a dip. Scared he might cry his head off. :p

Has been quite some time since I last logged on. Juz brought Reon for assessment today, she weighs 5.8kg & 57cm tall.
Quite slow in her growing leh. Asked the doctor has it got to do with her long sleepin hrs, doc said no...is gd for her growth although she eats less.
Thot of bringin Reon to swim as well coz when her elder sis was 3mths old, I brought her for swim liao, thot of doin it for Reon as well.

hi Angel,

Frankly, I think all pools - public/private equally chia lat. Anyway, not going to let our bb drink the water, just try to dip dip first so next time he not so scared. :p

My bb also like to suck his fist. He sometimes poke one finger into his mouth....and then end up choking on it. Quite funny. Seems like he's sucking everything in sight....even my arm when I carry him. He's also playing with his saliva. Heard from my mum he was going 'ah poo ah poo' yesterday....but I missed it cos got night class

BTW, I stopped letting him wear mitten for long time cos he keep sucking his fists (better hand than cloth in case he suck the 'mor mor' in). But he keep scratching his face....sigh

aloe,I also tried to help my gal flip,but she seems very uncomfortable.THen I kana scolded by my hubby.Dare not do it again,coz my hubby said eventually she'll learn to do so herself.

Angel,me same as you.I purposely take out her mittens but she always end up scratching herself.I hardly have the chance to cut her nails unless weekends.As for bootties,not so often coz scared that she'll feel cold.Mothercare is having sale from 5th Aug but for selected items only.There's 7pcs unisex S/S rompers at $27(member's price).Do check out mothercare's website-www.mothercare.com.sg to register mailing list,then they will keep you update when there's sale.

Qhl,you managed to catch AR last nite?Aiyah,my itchy-handed hubby woke my gal up,sometime b4 the race starts,end up coaxing her to sleep while watching TV.Very difficult to concentrate.Does carviar really taste so bad?Supposed to be very ex stuff rite?Can't stand Chip n Kim,so damn proud for coming in No.1.I went for the sale too.The swimming trucks so small,so cute and no ex.Very nice attractive colour.Me too,wanted to bring Cherish for a swim but scared that she'll cry her head off coz the water will be freezing cold.She enjoys warm bath(not crying) so I reckon she prefer warm water.I tried to let her feet dip in water in a pte pool before and quickly wipe with towel,scared that she'll catch a cold.

Li_may,Reon's not slow in her growth,I guess she's same as Maple's and my gal,belongs to M-sized bb.

Hi Angel,

Have pm u my HP no. Can u sms me yours? I staying in AMK. Bt Merah a bit far, not too sure joining u or not, will confirm with u later.

My mil also like to let my gal wear mittens & booties. But we will take the mittens out occassionally to let her learn to grasp things.

Last weekend when my gal's PD saw that we still put on mittens & booties for her, he commented that now no need to wear mittens anymore. He explained that this is the stage where bb learns to explore, grasp, and feel things.

I also intend to make dot flash cards. Just print out from the website will do right?

QHL,
You bought swimming trunks for Nathan? I've got advice that when bb is still small, should let them wear those full body swimming suit, lesser chance of them catching a chill mah.

I intend to bring my gal for a dip too, but not now, hubby says wait till she slightly bigger.

Li May,
Have u compiled our info.? Can u send a copy to us? Any objections, other mummies?

My son got alot of rompers already. I eyeing a jacket, 2 t-shirt and a short there. Will cost a bomb if I buy now. Btw, saw alot of nice baby clothes on sale at seiyu ty. Quite cheap also. Think coz' of renovation sale. I got to buy 6-12 mths clothes for him now coz' he out growing most of his clothes.

Thinking of sending him to kkh swimming class when he is abt 5-7 mths old.

For the flashcards, i bought the cards and red dots stickers from a mommy from another forum. So just need to stick the stickers to the cards.

I have no objections to sending out of our info. Just dun post it here. :p

Angel,
I'm also keen to enrol my gal for KKH's swimming classes.I've tried the KKH pool(joined the aqua-itness classes b4),temp of water is 40C,warm and soothing.Do u know anyone that has the mothercare member card?Maybe can get discount.

Raindrops,

I dunno anyone with the mothercare membership card. If I know I wld have borrowed long ago. :p
Now they got this advertisement. Spent $500 within 3 mths and you get the membership card. If I got so much $ to spend there wldn't need the card liao. :p

Hiaz....these 2 days my son not finishing his milk. Dunno if its coz' he unwell or coz' he wan go on "diet" coz alot of pple say he very fat. :p

Raindrop, if you open a junior savers acct at oub u can can a discount booklet and 1 of it is discount for the swimming class at KKH.

hi maple,

I couldn't find any full bodysuit for my boy at this age. Saw the trunks at Zara and couldn't help myself. At least this is something he can wear now.

hi rain_drops, I missed 20min cos was at school. I think the first couple to go for the caviar quite chia lat....ended up so far behind. Dunno how it tastes, but I would've just swallowed the whole thing...... :p

Hi Angel,
My son started to suck his fist or suck his thumb or finger since his 3rd mth plus. He prefer this than pacifier sometimes. Like yr in-laws, my in-laws also said that he eats drumstick. Sometimes he even eats 2 drumsticks. haha. I can't stand his hand with full of saliva but looks he is enjoying it.
I'm thinking of making flash cards but too busy to do. Would like to buy ready make red dots flash cards but can't find them. Does it need to take a lot of time to do flash cards?
My son first half of third month also can't finish his milk. Sometimes he drink 70ml instead of 110ml. I also dun know why. Now he is back to normal. So dun worry, I think it is just temporary.
I did not give him mittens. This will allow to execise his hands.
He is 61cm as at 3 mth. Nurse said he very tall.

Hi Maple & RainDrops,

I am so sorry that I didn't send out the list, coz there are ONI 3 of us in the list.

Mummies in this thread...U wanna join in the list? Juz send in ur info to: [email protected]

As for the information, I will need:
1)Nick
2)Real Name
3)Mobile phone/Residential (Optional)
4)Address
5)Email Add
6)Delivery Date
7)Baby's Name & Birth Weight
8)SAHM/Working

Cutecute,

I bought the cards that have been cut to the correct size from a mom in another forum and also the red stickers. So all I have to do is just stick the stickers to the card accordingly. Quite simple. Only thing is have to count loh. If you are interested I can try and ask if she has anymore to let go.

Now my son drools all over himself and me if I happen to be carrying him. I always say he gross then my husband "scolds" me. Say cannot say he gross. Hehehe.

Hi mommies, anyone interested to buy over 2 packets of pampers L & XL from me at $21 each? I got 2 extra packet of each stated size. Self collect either at Tiong Bahru, Outram or Harbourfront MRT.

Angel,I've the discount coupon.I was thinking whether to join KKH jnr club coz members can enjoy discount on swimming classes.Just wondering,do u intend to buy insurance for your boy?My gal enjoys licking at my shoulder while I'm carrying her.I'll ask her,how?Mummy's shoulder tastes nice or not.heehee...

Qhl,the 1st 20mins showed that all teams drove to the bus station to take a bus,then take plane to Russia.All teams managed to take plane to Russia,but the old couple team.They booked tickets but upon collection,they found out that their's 1st class tickets.So no choice but to give up tickets and took a later flight.

cutecute,according to my SIL,it'll take at most a day to complete sticking the red stickers on the cards.

Li_May,thanks for the trouble to gather our info and consolidate together.

Joy_apr,u may like to consider EQ dry.I've just switched for day use.Quite alrite.A pack of 40 s-sized cost $8,$0.20 per pc.Much softer than Petpet.Sealy seems to be not bad too.

hi rain_drops,

Thanks. Wondering what I missed, but couldn't stay awake till 12am to catch repeat telecast (probably there is, not sure). No wonder the old couple lost - last time thought if they didn't manage to catch the earlier flights, they would've time to catch up, not in this series.

My son now sucking his hands/fingers BIG time....and he's drooling drooling all over. I thought it could be signalling the beginning of growing teeth - but my MIL quite anti that idea cos according to her, if they sprout teeth too early, will drop off early too.

My son managed to flip yesterday. He's quite haolian - always flipping once we put him on the bed. But he still got problem with the last mile - how to take out the hand that's stuck....

Raindrops,

My husband intend to buy endowment fund/insurance for my son but now no money yet coz alot of loan havent finished repaying. Etc...housing, reno etc...

He also like to suck on my arm when I carrying him but my MIL will nag if she sees it coz' says unhygenic. :p

Just send him over to my in laws place and missing him already but no choice coz' dunno why my c-section wound hurting and red again.

Might send him for the swimming class when he is either 5 or 7 mth old. See got kakis anot. Either with mommies here or my husband's colleague.

My son haven't learn to flip yet leh. Seems like most babies here have already learnt that.

Ryan went for his first 5-in-1 injection last Sat. PD said the injection won't cause fever, however he was having higher temperature (37.6 to 37.8)than normal ... He is now 5.65kg and 60cm..

He is same as most BB here, he like to suck his hands/fingers and he also such my shoulder when i carry him ...

Can anyone tell me more information on the swimming class, like how much ?? i also want to let him learn how to swim ...

Oh .. i asked his PD regarding constipation .. he told me it is OK if he only pass motion once a week as long as his output is SOFT ...

Hi Li May,
i had send u my info before ... did you receive it ?? maybe i will send again.

hi Angel,
Could your hurting wound be due to anything you ate?

Mine was natural delivery, but I kena episiotomy. During my first week, I drank some peanut soup and my wound hurt like hell for the next few days. Was later told that peanuts considered a bit 'poisonous'. Also stay off shellfish (the usual).....

Take care...

QHL,

Thanks for the concern. Think my wound is hurting coz' i over-exert myself. Maybe coz' from confinement till now I have not been taking good care of myself. Always busy doing this and that. My fingers sometimes aches coz' think I washed too much stuff during my confinement. :p

Any change in your bb's behavior after the jab? My gal has been very cranky for the past 1 week, after the jab. Don noe whether it is just a coincidence or it is due to the effect of the jab?

And yesterday, she slept at 2 am!!

Angel,are u better now?Take a break,maybe ask ur hubby to help a little,then u dun have to do some much work.

Aloe,in case u like to know.My SIL bought her cards from Hiap Moh Corp.100 sheets (can cut into 600pcs) cost $50.U may call tel:62735333.
Ryan and Cherish's weight and height are almost same.

Qhl,my gal also drooling,sometimes she even choke on her saliva and cough.

Maple,I didn't really notice if my gal has the same prob.Too much stimulation in the day can affect baby.Poor mummy,hv to coax her to sleep until 2am.Have an early nite to make up for lack of sleep yest.

Raindrops,

Thanks for your concern. My wound dun seems to be healing. Hurts the whole day. Even when I am resting. Dunno if I should go back and see my gynea.

Miss my son alot....

hi Rain_drops,

can help to ask yr SIL on what's the gramage of the paper that she bought ? Thanks

Hi Maples,
Ryan behavior changed a bit too after the injection partly because he was not feeling vy well that day ... but now he is back to normal..

Hi Angel,
Better call gynea to check what's wrong ... rest more ...

cutecute,

Don't worry, robbers won't take a second look at me and my hubby coz' we look very "lok" ( poor & sloopy) one. Kekeke.

Actually wanna go there coz' its my b'day. Thought go there makan and shop since very long never go there liao and a bit sian of sg places.

aloe,it's 410g.Hope this info helps

Angel,I've been to JB's City Square,walking distance from the causeway.There's an export shop,FOS(factory outlet shop) and Anakku shop.Not very fantastic selections but u may like to go see see look look.

can i join? my son born on 7 april, weight 3.38kg and height 52cm. now 6.7kg height ??, hvn't went for 4 mth's jab yet so dun know the height. he got heart murmur
and now until monitoring until 1 yr old then do another scan, hope the hole in his heart can close by itself.

i want to know anyone of u start solid food for ur babies at this stage? what is the first food u give to ur babies? he doesn't like to drink water, so hesitate to give him brown rice afraid will cause constipation.

Haven't log on for awhile, very tied up with work.

I plan to take my boy for swimming too but until he is few months older. Planning to buy insurance too..but so many insurance companies with different products..haven't got time to find out more.

Raindrops,
thanks. So EQ is quite good. Will keep in mind. Now, have to finish the pampers babydry which we stock up during NTUC promo..the M size is getting small for my son, have to finish quick.

Oh ya, the last time some mummies mentioned about submitting baby photo to Motherhood. Did anyone do so? I just submitted my son's pix.

Hi Choccookie,

Welcome to this thread. Sorry to hear abt your son's condition. Hope all will be well.

Joy-apr,
My hubby planning to buy insurance starting next month from his friend. He is from prudential. If you are interested can pass his contact to you.

Have not submitted my son's pic coz' can't decide which one to send.

Can't sleep coz' angry with my husband. Think sometimes he really treat me like a maid!
And I think he is just like his mom, obsess with cleanliness! And I really mean to the extrem!

Has been quite some time since I last logged on. LAst week, i was having fever for the whole of last week, hence this week got to do watever that was not done.
Recently found out that my younger gal, Reon got slight problem. Her neck is slant to one side. Was so worried, brought her to see my family doc, family doc says is spasm of her muscle, needs physiotheraphy to her neck, refer me PD @ NUH, be seein the PD on 13/8. When my inlaws knew it, they ask me bring her to a sinseh they always go one, to bring her for massage. The sinseh say her mucle & vein very tight, needs to massage & relax it..Now have to let her go for Eastern & Western way.

Mummies, are u all still interested to email in ur details to me so that we can share share our stuff or even meet up for gathering?

As for the information, I will need:
1)Nick
2)Real Name
3)Mobile phone/Residential (Optional)
4)Address
5)Email Add
6)Delivery Date
7)Baby's Name & Birth Weight
8)SAHM/Working

Halo Choccookie,

Welcome to the April Mummy thread. Dun worry, ur boy will be alrite....As for solids, is better to start ard 8mths...but for cereals, u can start when he is 4mths old....

Angel
Dun get angry with ur hubby, Guys will always be Guys, at times they juz dun understand how we feel....Juz get over it

Hi mummies ..

have all of you bring yr baby for their 4th mth hair cut .... as my MIL and SIL said need to cut hair @ 4th mth.... I dun understand why must cut hair @ 4th mth not any other month... ???

Hi Li May,
How's Reon neck ?? not to worry as she will be fine after a few massage..

i am not sure Ryan need to see dr regarding his neck as he always like to sleep on his left side of his face ... when we force him to sleep on his right face, he will automatically turn back to the left side.. worry....

oh i send u my info... let me know if u got it ??

Hi Angel
Guys r like that. Maybe we should switch role with them then they will understand our hardwork, but looks quite impossible

Hi aloe
I intend to bring my baby for hair cut not because of 4th mth but his hair is getting longer and the weather is quite warm
My baby also like to sleep on his right side. His right ear is out of shape now. hehee.. I think it is their habit. like us adults too.