Twins/Triplets/Multiples Mum to be!

Ill be delivering within 1-2 weeks(in my 34th weeks)..

Just want to share with you guys, Ive been going under subdizied at KKH. I am fortunate enough to see about 4-5specialist doctors at ADC clinic, I dont go down to Clinic C except 1 time when I had to do the diabetes test. Usually we pay about $27 per consultation, twice a month.

The reason why I chose subsidy was because 1)I dont think Im able to handle huge amt of bills as my pregnancy hasnt been a smooth sailing one, 2 weeks ago, I went into preterm labour, the bill came back about to 50K(me + babies)if I were to deliver that day.. But its actually stretched to about 100days stay, that 3 days episode cost about $1.2k but after sub it was $400ish 2)Theres limited space in NICU, so if the babies comes out prematured, they will be guranteed a place there, I have been told by a friend, she was rejected by KKH when her twins were born prematured(she delivered elsewhere at wk 28). 3)I believe the doctors are senior enough to cut me up and I entrust my life to them, I hardly doubt they would want to play with a "high risk" life.

For medisave, You only can pay through yours, wife's and wife's mother.

Hope that help abit. Good Luck!

Gera

I'm the one w the tmc gynae but am seeing a kkh doc on the side- in case I deliver too early.

Don

most def, my tmc gynae has twin patients. She has delivered q a few twins. At the beginning, I did consult some medical friends if I should switch to a twin specialist but they said it's better to stick to my old gynae coz of my prev preg complication.

My gynae has always kept the option open for me coz she knows tmc more ex. So her plan was in event she thinks bb needs nicu she will transfer me over - tat why I am seeing her friend at kkh.

So this fri I'm gonna work out w her wat is the "safe" week that I can check myself into tmc if I go into labour.

Hmmm , for me wat class of admission really depends on at wat stage we r at. In my first preg I went into preterm at 26 wks. At tat time there won't be much choice but to choose c class coz nicu charges will be like 100k. Got to weigh the cost la.

Leah,

all the best, have a safe delivery.

Don,

sighs..sorry i assume cos i was really hoping it was possible lei. stupid law lor, i also dun understand why, i understand the part that my own delivery they can't pay but for grandchildren one? yeah you better check, got good news let me know hor? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i think widow take care of in-laws can provided she is younger than them, but the older one cannot take care of the younger one. Same like wat i intend to do but its not possible, i heard u can use your ordinary acc to top up ur father's medisave but a father's medisave cannot top up his son's medisave.

yeah was told by 2 of the other gynaes that does the FA scan for me that 28 weeks is "safe". Are your wife still doing the FA scan to detect TTTS at week 28? i think for fraternal twins, its possible to drag till 37 weeks. was told identical more likely 34-36 weeks max.

Leah,

Re: medisave, you mean wife's father cannot pay?

Glad that you are most comfortable with seeing as a subsidied patient. but i believe all docs have to start learning somewhere, like a doc with no exp with delivering twins have to learn on his first patient before gaining experince. not that i do not want to give that doc a chance but i am not taking that huge risk in my twins' safety. (hope i didn't offend you with my statement)

How did you manage to prolong and prevent delivering on that day? did u go on bed rest?

Hope you have a smooth and safe delivery.

MomMe,

thanks for the refresher, yup i remember now. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] been rather forgetful and absent-minded since pregnant.

i feel you did a right choice in seeing a doc in kkh as for standby, yup i do hear horror stories about kkh not accepting premies delivered from private hospitals.

i am sorry to hear about ur first pregnancy, so u really delivered ur first child at 26 weeks? wat was the cause of you going to preterm so early? was it ur irritable uterus? Sorry just curious cos i am only 25 weeks so kinda worried.

u mention about ur planned C-sect will be in week 36? if all goes on well, u planning to deliver in TMC instead?

Leah,

so even if you deliver in 32th week (2 weeks ago), the bill will come out to be 100k? Thought 32 weeks is a rather safe week? You mentioned about 100 days, does it mean that your bbs need 100 days of NICU??

Gera,

sorry for giving you the false hope.. haha sounds really like a stupid law... will let you know after i check with CpF.

Not at week 28. She is only seeing the doc at week 29 so she will be doing that then. After week 29 will be 1 week once so week 30, 31, 32 and 33 (last one). So 5 more visits to go!!

MomMe,

if your doc has experience delivering twins.. i guess it should be fine. Sometimes i believe in luck also.. if she has managed to help you through your first child, why not this time again.

Gera,

No la... I also lose track of everyone's situation too. haha

My first preg v drama. But by god’s grace, I managed to hold my baby till full-term and even had to be induced. Q weird coz doc took me off the meds at 36 weeks and somehow with all the contractions I still didn’t go into labour. :p When I reached 39 weeks, told doc I cant tahan the contractions so she agreed that I be induced.

So my case, really very weird lo. For the twins, doc says if all things go well the max I hold is 37 weeks. But she says chances not so high la.

Ya, my preference is to deliver in TMC coz she cant go KKH. Last time she said 36 weeks is when bb lungs are fully mature and chances of NICU is much lower. I think if stay few days in TMC NICU I can still tahan, but if duration too long I can’t la.

Mmmm... unfortunately you will not know how many days of NICU you need until you actually deliver.. a big leap of faith..

Don,

Think much earlier in this thread, one mummy was saying her NICU came up to 20k plus - stay few days. Later I got time go try to find.

Haiz. We just keep talking to our babies and praying and trust that all will go well.

I think so.. because i seem to remember that B1 class in govt hospital is actually about the same price as private hospital..

Raffles gave me an estimated $60k for my pre-term twins so I will estimate KKH B1 to be about $40K to $50K.... probbably have to work out a deferred payment scheme if that really happens.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi Gera n Don

Ive checked with them many a times who will be operating on me, they will all be mainly the senior ones, i had some friends who were seeing private, change to KKH when delivery, not bad comments only unless im carrying a singleton usually midwives,unless c-sect wld be newbies doc.

BBs lungs will only fully develop at wk 37, when i was admitted at 28, they 'force' me to stay in bed for 3days, 1st was strapped on with CTG to monitor their heartbeats and contractions, i was taking anti contraction pills every 6hrs, it worked on me so i didnt had to go on drip and i was given 2 rounds of steriod jab on the thighs to 'boost' up their lungs. 2nd day i was moved up to ward, CTG only once or twice a day, pills and just rest. my contraction went down on 3rd, was discharged but was on the pills for about 3weeks.

Anyway naturally doc would tell u safer to pop when ure ard 35-36th. 28 is just the 'safe' milestone, as in both probably might survive. As far as i know. usually at 28, they might have to stay in NICU for awhile, i dont want to scare u guys with stories. So the longer they stay inside, the cheaper! But of course they got to be healthy when out.

Payment wise, i was just told, me, hb and my mother.. Dad im not sure lol i was more focus on keeping them in but thurs will be my last appt.. They will talk to me about it again as well.

Gera

Btw it is possible for identical to deliver at 37wks(hopefully me too), i know mothers who had done that and know some who had fraternal deliver at 28 too.. in fact if my scan goes well on thurs, ill request to deliver at 37. Side track abit, friend of mine had triplets, tahaned till 37wks and all 3 ard 2.5kg each. So nothing is impossible!

So stop worrying, just go out and do whatever you want, enjoy ur pregnancy!

Leah,

sound like a terrifying experience.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Mmm... your's is not mo/mo twin right? If not the risk will be very high if you plan to carry it to 37th week.

MomMe,

I went through the posts. Saw Poko with the experience with NICU. she mentioned about $800 per day per kid.. and one of her kid stayed for about a month... that's about $24K [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Don

Whats mo/mo? if you are referring to MC twins (identical twins), yes mine are identical. And i plan to carry till 37, another 3 weeks only [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Leah.. wow.. that means currently you are at 33 wks liao... tat fast. im only at 30 wks... also planning to carry till 37. hope my babies can listen and stay inside till 37th. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Don, that's is why my gynae advise to deliever best at 37th weeks. but still depends on when babies want to come out. the longer babies inside, the more $ we save on NICU.

anyway, dun worry so much.. listen to wat gynae advise during chkup since they are the expert.

Leah,

mo/mo means only 1 placenta and 1 water sac so both twins are sharing. That is our case. The other 2 types are 2 water sac/2 placenta and 2 water sac/1 placenta.

Kate,

ya. we are just planning to do what the Gynae says.. the only choice we can make now is whether to go B1 or B2.. if only we can get a feel of how much B1 will cost before making the choice..

kate

Im turning 34 this fri, hee hee.. Have u been feeling extremely heavy lately? I forgot wheres my back already haa! Girls or boys for u?

Don

Yeah mine is the same as yours. Just dont worry too much, enjoy the journey! Not everyday you see twins! If your wife can manage to hang on till 36-37, it would be great for your pocket! lol..just stay hydrated, think positive, go crazy shopping, feasting.. all will be fine ;)

Leah,

Thanks. Good to know that you are still carrying them at 34 week! My doc is not too keen for us to carry that far though... what does your doc says on your plan to carry your bbs to 37th week?

Also, how heavy are your twins now at 34 weeks?

Don

The last time i checked was 2 weeks ago, twin A 1.53kg, twin B 1.58kg.. will update you again on friday.. The only thing i know is if they come out 1.8kg - 2kg, they are safe so dont really need to be in NICU for awhile.. Do you ask ur doc why he's not keen? maybe 37 might be abit risky but 35-36 is good term. I spoke to about 6 doctors mostly are ok with 35-37..

Leah,

O u R 34 weeks? R urs Momo or MCDA twins? Sorry me a bit confused.R u still on bedrest?

Don,

thanks.. gosh 800 per day is q a bit huh.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Did u ask ur gynae? They could give u a rough gauge of the px difference I believe.

MomMe

Yes turning 34 this friday. Momo twins.. Nope im not on bedrest anymore! I cant be on bedrest, i will go crazy if i have to do that! But yes definately have to be very careful and watch out for signs.. anyhow now im turning another an elephant, ive been sitting more than usual.. how about u?

Don,

Poko1 mentioned that she chose A class by the way. anyway B1 class can't be $800. i have the financial quote with me now. B1 NICU is $456.89 + Daily treatment fee is $109.14 = $566.03, even if with GST it comes up to $605. X 31 days = $18,775 per twin X 2 = $37,510.

but this quote is total amount, Don, how much medisave you have? i figured if a day NICU is $605, medisave can deduct $450, you only need to pay $310($155 X 2) per day X 31 = $9610 in cash.

Poko1 also mention she delivered at 32/33 weeks, with one twin in NICU for 1 mth, and another twin in the special care nursery for 2 weeks.

the special care nursery is so much cheaper compared to NICU @ $112.35.

i assume SGH and KKH charges will be similar, as both are under the singhealth group and also restructuted hospitals.

Don,

Poko1 mentioned that she chose A class by the way. anyway B1 class can't be $800. i have the financial quote with me now. B1 NICU is $456.89 + Daily treatment fee is $109.14 = $566.03, even if with GST it comes up to $605. X 31 days = $18,775 per twin X 2 = $37,510.

but this quote is total amount, Don, how much medisave you have? i figured if a day NICU is $605, medisave can deduct $450, you only need to pay $310($155 X 2) per day X 31 = $9610 in cash.

Poko1 also mention she delivered at 32/33 weeks, with one twin in NICU for 1 mth, and another twin in the special care nursery for 2 weeks.

the special care nursery is so much cheaper compared to NICU @ $112.35.

i assume SGH and KKH charges will be similar, as both are under the singhealth group and also restructuted hospitals.

Leah,

wat was ur doc plan for you to prolong til 37 weeks? my gynae initially plan to take the twins out at 36 weeks, but at my last visit he changed it to 35 weeks, as my placenta is anterior and he is concern about it, if it doesn't move upwards. And besides i do have underlying medical conditons, and he is also concern for preterm labour in my case. dunno what are the signs but he gave me some progesterone pills to prevent preterm labour at 24 weeks already..

can't do anything i want, was told to slow things down and not exert myself.

Gera

I think its really case to case basis.. throughout most of my checkups, the blood flow, placenta and all looks good.. so doc are ok with me prolonging but obviously if something looks bad then they have to slice me up asap but so far so good till thursday when i go for scan again.

For preterm labour, diabetes and all those scary stuff are quite common for multiple pregnancies so you technically dont have to worry but look out for signs(sudden period cramp with backache, spotting, leaking).. if u dont feel well(6th sense), go to the doc immediately.

Gera

Oh yeah.. share with you on my case, first 3 times i was bleeding every other day, 4th mth i was in for "severe water retetion", 5th mth was heat rash, 6th mth ligament tear, 7th mth preterm labour + false diabetes, now 8th more like piles lol.. Also i gained about 35kg throughout.. imagine my legs now! lol

Friend of mine kept asking me to drink more fluid like 3L a day after the preterm episode and somehow afterthat, my waterbag was back to normal again and everything looks great again.. just like i told Don, dont think too much!

hmm but i tot MOMO twins must take out earlier to prevent the risk of cord strangulation? when i was first diagnosed with momo, gynae also told me 32-34 weeks like what Don mention, say at week 34 the twins will have less space to move, and one move might be critical for cord stragulation. But mine not momo anymore cos the chorion appeared later on.

Honestly i didnt really care about my babies(eg cord strangulation, sudden decrease in water level, ect). everyday i tell myself that they will be safe and healthy and throughout all my scans, they are fine, enough space for them move around, in fact they love to stick their asses/limbs out so often now that im immune to it, initally was more like "wah u see they are out again" lol ... again i said its case to case basis.. i am still here at 34!

Leah... mine is MOMO too... both girls. im feel that my tummy getting heavier which is a good sign cozs I know my babies are eating well. last chkup at gynae at 27th week... babies only 1kg. hope tis sat chkup babies will grow much heavier.

Kate..

Thats nice, i wanted girls.. but got boys instead *cries*.. mine increase from 1.1plus to 1.4plus then now 1.5plus abit disheartening but im hoping for the best! When u are at 33, hopefully u still be able to get up from bed.. i cant anymore lol

Leah... my elder child is a girl also.. so with this twins arrival.. i will have 3 lovely girls. girls are more quiet in a way but not true.. haha..

i hope i stay able to walk ard at 33 wks as I still required to travel at work... at least now im still comfortable running.. carrying tings.. haha.

i like girls.. can play dress up :x i thought i was about to jump ard still at 32.. but by 33.. cannot make it anymore.. if i walk too much today, tmr im stuck in bed.. like now.. sigh lol

Leah,

Think you are right.. it's case by case basis.. let's see how things developed over the next few weeeks.. think the next 4 to 5 weeks are pretty big weeks for a lot of us here [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

so far mine is developing pretty well. At 27 week, 1 is about 940g and the other is about 1.2kg.. if this growth rate keeps up, good chance that we will be able to avoid prolong stay in NICU.

Kate,

How many weeks are you at now? I remember that you and my wife are pretty close..

Don

Yeah im just sitting here waiting for time to pass before i get slaughtered! Just keep asking ur wife to eat more!

don, im at 30 weeks today. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] seeing my gynae tis Sat. ur babies ard the same weight when im at 27th weeks.

Leah,

hahaha.. she is already eating like a pig :p

Are you planning to work after delivery or going to be a stay at home mum?

Kate,

Good luck for Sat! Hopefully yours will grow 200g per week too!!

Don,

I stopped working eversince i got pregnant.. ill probably stay home after i delivery as well. Would like to try taking care of 2 kids at the same time.. challenging! She cant be as piggy as me, i swallow up to 10meals a day now! and its big ass meal!!!

Sometimes i will cook or hubby will take me out if not order mac, nowadays i prefer bread, so i eat about 2-3 loaves a day.. im pregnant! dont say im fat :p

Haha.. don't eat so much Mcdonalds. Not healthy.

Good that you can still cook at 34 weeks. My wife can't do much now at 27 weeks... by 34 weeks, i am guessing that she will stay in bed most of the time.

haha.... you and Gera can be good friends then [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wah suddenly the thread become very active, so many posts, cannot keep track,

Don, seems like now you have 2 mtbs with momo to relate their experience with you, so won't feel left out.

MOMO twins are Don, kate, and leah

MCDA: MomMe and me

Fraternal: Spiffy and poohbear

Triplets: Yumyum

who else i left out? wah all of your dates all very close to each other, i assume all will be delivering in KKH? except poohbear, MomMe(pending) and me..maybe you guys can meet each other in the wards. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Leah,

wah you can eat 2-3 loafs a day? that is alot. i eat about 6 meals a day with snacks in between. i think i eat max 4 slices of bread/day, prefer cereals/yoghurts though. do you spread anything on your bread? i eat wholemeal plain. the jam i find it too sweet, butter abit to oily. lol

i think i stopped cooking once i hit 16 weeks, find it rather exhausting to stand by the stove to cook.

haha i think when i hit 30-32 weeks i might be on bedrest also, dunno why i feel so exhausted this early in second trimester.

anyone feeling damn exhausted? i feel so weak all the time. i suspect could be my thyroid. feeling so pathetic, cos see you all still so active at 30-34 weeks.

i can't even go out of the hse my own now, which i previously managed to do all that.

i think maybe i am like Don's wife. but except that i still have to wash my own clothes and hubby's one as well. haha

gera, im delievering at Mt A.

juz now chatting with Leah on MSN and she got bleeding. Now on her way to KKH liao... hope all goes smoothly for her.