TOA PAYOH mummies

Dor,
all is by set, no individual can? so order and email u back or email the person who email add on the doc?

stylobb,
her class is still under construction that's why starting 1 feb.

dolphingal,
re: toilet training, in the beginning i let my gal go diaperless at home and i told her to tell me if she wanna pee. starting i didn't mind that she wet the floor a few times but i started to get frustrated & caned her buttock that she kept wetting the floor the whole day and didn't tell me at all that she wanted to pee. she was about 21-22mo at that time and could talk a bit. but a couple of frens suggested that i reward her with stickers after each time she told me that she wanna pee and that works! after that she tells me if she wanna pee or poo. but my gal is semi-toilet trained as in she still wear diaper when she naps and sleeps.

toilet training - I agree with Char, going diaperless is a good method, though often very messy and frustrating for the mother! Lots of cleaning up to do. Can also use cloth diapers (I have if you want, was gonna put them up for sale on the portal). These are not as absorbent as disposable diapers so kids tend to feel uncomfortable in them, so sooner or later they learn that in order to feel comfy, they musn't wet the diapers and hence will start telling you. Another method is to bring the child to the potty routinely every few hours. You'll need to time it pretty well so you'll have to observe for a day or two and check out when your boy will pee (as in how long after milk/meal). After that you'll just have to bring him to the potty at the right time. Tedious and frustrating too esp if he pees AFTER you give up after spending 15 mins going "shh, shh, shh" at the toilet. Haha!

Anyway, take it slowly. Some kids are more ready than others. And your son just over a yr old, still early.

toilet training

char,
my son still dunno how to say shh shh or pee yet.. so abit tedious..

jfoo,
yup i did let him wear cloth diaper.. but very tedious coz he refused to lie down n let u wrap.. hence i gt some training pants.. but the problem with this training pants is it doesnt even hold a single pee!! it's just like normal pants!! i felt so cheated.. =(
i did try to bring him to toilet at times to pee.. but he refused.. end up peeing on the floor n play with the pee! =(=(
but when do i decide if it's early or not?coz sometimes i realised he can actually hold his pee.. btw he is semi train coz he knows how to hold his poo n poo in potty. =) so now is the peeing part..

dolphingal,
some kids can hold back motion better than urine and vice versa. since your boy is just over a yr old then just hold back on the toilet training in my opinion. when 2yrs old can start again. i read that if start when 2.5-3yrs old, the training will be faster, 1week at most.

Cloth diaper - don't use the traditional white cloth, that needs folding, pins etc. The ones I use are velcro and push-on buttons. Exactly like disposable diapers. Anyway, as I said, still early days. You're half way there cos the poo-ing part is done. Give it a break, come back to it in a few months time.

I'm still trying to get Jayden to poo in the toilet! He managed the pee-ing part well (and that was almost a yr ago!) but the poo-ing part...ARGH!!!

dolphingal,

u can try the bumwear.

I have yet to toilet train my boy too. but he can tell me when he pee or poo. But both means "en en" hahaha.

dolphingal,

will revert to you via email this afternoon.

Stylobb, yeah lor, they have to spend that 30mins in library I heard from VP.

Will see what they do, coz am following her for the 1st 2 days.

hi dolphingal,
I got one or 2 bumwear. You want I can let you have it. You can try. My girldfriend chop the bumwear from me, but I think can spare you one or two. They are training pants style also. Don't stress yourself lilke you need him to be toilet trained by a certain age. many old folks like to scorn at mums whos kids take longer to go diaperless....no worries. its actually more convenient w the diaper...

Dor, I received this soap as a gift. So far, I tried on my skin, always get lotsa pimples during time of the mth,... I think it is good. helped to clear my skin quite a lot. I think it is worth the money, i've used on my skin only. didt try on children. our face so small, don't need a lot, so can stretch the dollar...hope this helps.

Kin,
Thanks, your input definitely helps. My colleague is getting the soap tomorrow from her gf who bought from a staff working for this company. She's letting go at $25/bar if u r interested let me know as she only left 2 extra bars to let go.

Ryes n kin,
i tried bumwear previously n my son hates the wet feeling hence i sold away..
i heard bumgenius is good.. anyone heard of it before? =)

jfoo,
u did very well already! i mean now i have the time that's y i start training early.. =)

Dolphingal, yup, bumgenius is good, I have a few of the pocket type. THe other that is sim is called Happy Heiny's. I use these when we're on the move as they're the synthetic type so chances of leakage is low. At home I use tiny tush which is the cotton type. Feels soft and very comfy (at least I imagine so!) on the buttocks, haha! Reminds me of those tv ads for fabric softener where the lady will put the towel on her face, haha!

Newmummy, sorry, don't have mamy poko anymore. If you want I can buy from the medical hall at Pasir Ris, the prices there tend to be lower than NTUC, Giant etc. Or try Ang Moh at blk 85 (I think), heard that their prices are quite reasonable too?

Precious,

never heard of it.. is it gd n cheap?? u tried before??

jfoo,
u gt email! =)
is e mamypoko really cheap at ang mo or medical hall at pasir ris?if yes.. i would like u to help me get for my son too!he is finishin his pack soon! =)thanks!

hey mummies... anyone clearing shoes for 2-4 year olds (abt 16/17cm outer sole)? my ger doesnt walk so i dun mind very used condition. juz need to protect her feet as she kicks a lot in her stroller, and i'm afraid she will hurt herself. she likes to kick her shoes off too so i need those with double velcro fastening or can fasten near to ankle kind, and i cant buy preloved online cos dun noe easy to come off or not.

thanx in advance if you have any to spare, cos i really hope i dun hv to spend another $20+ to buy a pair of shoes that will never get its soles scratched! :p

precious... aiya, my lousy timing. i juz wen kiddy palace and bata hunt, nothing. kiddy is clearing some shoes at $7.90/$9.90, ger flipped it off in one single kick! sigh... cos she dun walk, her feet so small. my big foot 3 YO niece's shoes are too big for her! so i got no hand-me-downs lor... tats why decided to ask tpy mummies... thanx anyways!

oh precious..
thanks!! i gt the 3 layer ones.. but doesnt seem to be wrking very well..
m tinking of getting the 6 layers.. u gt experience before? i din get the waterproof bedsheet protector. is it good? btw ur GD musical set sold?=)

dolphin
6 layers are thick, so u have to buy more, in case rainy days not easy to dry. the buyer is collecting from me this thur. btw, i have the 200 pieces of chinese flashcards and 30 pieces of maths dots cards as well. can check my thread :)

are
how about getting those velco, design like school shoes from her? material is soft. i bought one from bata, at $19.90

are
I have! My twin are 4 and recently outgrew their shoes.

shoes sizes 8.5, 9.5
slippers size 9
(I think these are American sizes)

Do you think these size can fit your gal's feet?
Otherwise I have a pair of white school shoes --new-- which my boy is not wearing...size 30.

newmummy/dolphingal
Ang Mo is selling mamy poko diapers cheaper than the supermkt...

Sometimes NTUC or Giant also sell many polo tape diapers, at $21+. Usual price is $24.
Every Thur/Fri, the Straits Times newspapers will advertise if there is any good deals.

Btw, I have a few XL huggies pull-pants diapers to give away. Around 10 pcs. Collection at Lor 5 Toa Payoh. Pls PM me if interested.

HI jfoo and mummies that replied me...thx for the info...oh ya ho,i nvr thk of ang mo did sell with cheapest price compare to others supermarkets.will go there chk price,but how much ah?is pull up pants good?as my son only10months don know walk yet wo..heard it more easy to leak le?

dolphin and newmummy, will check the price for mamypoko for you. I can't remember...think it's $14? L size is 36 pieces or something like that...They only sell the standard size packs, not the big pack.

Newmummy, pull-up pants not as absorbent cos they're meant to be training pants, so want the kid to "feel wet". Maybe that's why they tend to leak more often.

precious... if cant get hand-me-downs, then really hv to buy lor. hope to snag some great bargains during cny sales. i ever bot $9 sandals frm bata!

styolobb... thanx! hv pm u for your addy to pick up. think the 8.5 shd be ok, 9.5 maybe too big, need to see the design.

tks jfoo...
if gt big pack will b better..=)

precious,
e spree looks gd.. exchange rate is 0.0165
n i find e training pants quite exp..=(
but tks for letting me know. btw ur musical flashcard areadi sold??=)

Ryes,
White socks for tod's size u may also get it at BHG (formerly Seiyu) @ bugis 'Hush Puppies' i bout a set of 3 or 5 pairs cant recall for $9.90 thot is a good deal.
I myself find it difficult to get white socks for tod's size and was so happy when i found it. Another place u can chk out is 'Cheri' at HougangMall located at the highest lvl. Not sure if i get the name rite paiseh.

Newmummy
Huggies XL pull-up pants is for 12-16kg.

If you are keen to find out the price of the diapers at Ang Mo, let me know. I can check for you since I will be sending my kid to school everyday at the same block.

Sunny, you can get waterproof bedsheet at all major shopping centres. Good time to check out now since there are sales at Taka, JL and Robinsons.

Btw, if anyone is keen on mammypoko diapers XL/XXL, I may have some to sell at a cheaper price. Noticed my son's diapers have been dry over the last one month during naps and night, I should be able to let him go diaperless soon.

HI Dophingal,i got no time go Ang Mo chk let, seems jfoo will help up to chk.
Anw,knew that eunice will help to chk seems she send her kid to there every day, so can help up,eunice?THX a Million~!
thx to jfoo to offer to chk as well...

So eunice,u wan sell XL mamy poko?is that great diff with L size?else, i don mind to get XL le, seems my boy also getting "big boy" liao..
How much u wan let go?how many pieces one ah?

twinkle.. it was me asking for SNS stamps. was trying to complete dec, now no need cos i dun hv any. thanx anyways!

i also had a hard time finding white socks, and found one pair at carrefour. but for other socks, i usually buy frm daiso, $2 per pair, cheaper than pasar malam, and very ncie and cute jap designs. by the way, pasar malam at library area shd start very soon, maybe can try the socks stalls there too.

re: white socks
i buy from Old Navy, 8pairs in 1 pack for USD10. after convert + shipping fee costs me around S$18 but they're non skid and very very soft and comfy.

are,
re: shoes, my gal's shoe size may be a bit small for your gal so can't pass you any. however, i managed to buy a pair of very simple white school shoes from a small shop in central that costs $8.90. i bought 2 pairs and the guy charged me $8/pair. the length of the outer sole is about 16cm. its has a velcro fastening across the shoe. i'll try to post a pic later. anyway, if you want i can help you to buy cos i can't rembr where exactly the shop is located so can't direct you.

Are,
usually the plain white socks at nite market are for older kids, very hard to find toddlers size.
btw, paiseh still hasn't gotta chance to drop by your plc and try the dress. prob will do it nxt week.

char... wah, got such cheap shoe? but if its juz one strap across the center, then maybe not suitable as my ger likes to kick her shoes off. i juz found another pair oni $6.90 at kiddy palace, but oni two sizes left. so angry cos 19 too small, 22 too big! aiya! thanx anyways!

Are, I hae a pair of sandals, the length is approximately 16cm, velcro strapped at the ankle. Not sure if it's suitable for your girl?

A friend of mine passed me some shoes, still in good condition, but dunno where I placed them. Got to search and let you know again.

HI Eunice,pls let me know the price how much selling at Ang Mo ok?and how many pieces one?thx~!btw,there got school meh?for which age of group of the kid ah?
Precious,wer is lor 5?any landmark ease to find ah?i might try up seems u are given free,as i heard ppl said is quite ok,rite?