TOA PAYOH mummies

dolphin/ivy... thanx for your replies. but actually i also dun shop there much lah, oni to buy their housebrand frozen chix cos v cheap. hehe... juz tat tat day i wen got double stamps, so now i got 8 out of the required 12, might as well go redeem cos got $9 voucher, can buy more chix? ha!

dolphin... gd for you! i heard frm shirley ystr abt your gd maid, so jealous leh. but no choice, my luck w maids lousy lor, can oni envy others. shirley also say you v lucky. someone went to shoot her in one of the threads, u go support her leh. hehe... as for calender, i got one spare "horseracing calender", but its frm a temple, you want? u still need to come my place collect things hor, dun forget.

ryes... hope ur family ok liao. i've also been down since b4 xmas, dunno is virus or wat. finally more strength today oni. sianz... poor hubby stuck @ hm w me thru out the hols. lucky nvr pass to ah ger.

jfoo... wah, u r such a gd cook leh, i would love to attend one of your parties too! hehe...

Finally, parties over, time to have my break. Coming down with a slight cold but I think the G3 juice and astralugus really works, have been downing these 3 times a day and the cold seems to be at bay (and leaving the dock soon!)

One day la, I'll invite you all over

ARE, may have a couple of stamps, let me check...I filled up my card but I think my MIL went to buy some things yesterday. Saw a few S&S bags on the dining table last night.

Ivy, how's your baby? And Ryes, your daughter? And Dolphin, your son's cough? Did the EYS hou ning work?

j foo, my baby is cranky... she also get shock easily, so she will startled and start crying sometimes, i guess its normal right?? Her head knock into my chest just now cos i did not support her head and she also cry and scream i think cos its painful..

And sometimes she will go on feeding spree, wanna suckle non-stop like she is forever hungry.. scary... then i start wonder is it my milk not full for her, and whether to supplement formula.

sometimes i really feel out of 10 as mother, i think i only have 5 pts.. lolz.

Ivy, do you have the bean pillow to put on her chest? At childcare, the teachers place the pillow half on the chest and half sorta covering one ear (if baby sleeps a bit on her side) - so is a comforter as well as a ear muffler of sorts. If dont have the pillow, a soft properly rolled up towel will do as well.

5 points is very good already lor.. sometimes I feel like a minus....

Ivy, as a new mother, scoring 5 pts is considered good, pass liao! As time goes by, you'll learn the "tricks of the trade" and sooner or later you'll be scoring 10 pts. But remember, we can't always be scoring 10 pts, we have our ups and downs, it's a lifelong learning process, at each stage, there'll be new challenges waiting for you round the corner. Keep a positive attitude and keep up the good work

Sometimes babies just want to suckle, not because they're hungry, but it's a comfort for them. How much are you expressing? That's also one of the advantages of expressing, you know exactly how much the baby is drinking and how much you're producing.

Startling at this age is normal. Do you have a husk pillow for her? Or can try putting her on her tummy if her neck is strong enough.

sunny, 5 pts is just pass nia, ya sometimes when dunno what to do feel like minus pts haha. I got bean pillow, never tot of putting at her ear. will try that.

Jfoo, i try never breastfeed thats last week, only 80ml, but when she latch, day time seems ok, nite time start to fuss liao. I think partly she dun feel comfortable, she seems to have a lot of gas. She got diaper rash from yesterday cos my CL did not change her diaper often. i using pet pet diapers now, maybe later will change to other brand if she sleep longer so the diapers will not cuase diaper rash so easy.

For long periods don't use Pet Pet, use Pampers or Mamy Poko or Nepia. These use better material. If diaper rash is persistent, you may want to try using cloth diaper. I have the Tiny Tush cloth diaper, very soft, like towel. You'll have to keep changing but they're really easy to wash, can just throw in the washing machine. I have a few if you want to give it a try.

Gas - is she burping well after each feed? You can try infacol, that helps with colic

j foo, i lazy to use cloth diaper, cos next time i will be taking care of her alone. I use petpet for day time, cos suppose to change often. Mamy poko i use at nite.

She dun burp very, im use ru yi oil so far.

Hey everyone

kids are now down with flu, went to united sq yday and I lost my daughter in the shopping center! It was a frantic, anxious, worrying, heart stopping good 10 mins shouting and running like crazy woman around the floor. I was sooooo damn worried sick okay and hb was also shouting for her and asking passer by if they saw this little girl or not.

Then thank god, really thank god. I walked towards the bakerzin area and this man asked me if I am looking for a little girl. He said he saw 2 ladies bringing this girl towards the customer service counter. I rushed towards swensons area and saw at the corner a girl wearing like what my girl wore and a lady.

I shouted her name and they walked back. At that moment, I really cannot describe to you how grateful I was to have found her again. I just rushed and hugged her and asked her where she went! I was 99.99999% so close to tears. Hb was of course very angry with me. Bad me.

Ascension mummies, have the sch bus people called u? They just called and told me they are picking my girl up at 1010am!!! OMG lor. She will be the 3rd among 16 kids. To return is 335pm. $120. I'm still thinking if I am strong enuff to tag 2 kids to sch, and I will pay only $80 for 1 way.

1010am, is seriously too early for my girl. It's more than 1 hr journey and then no water bottle, then thirsty how? must ren until 12 plus lunch time. Then want to pee how? How how..I'm now so xian.

Ryes,
why HB angry with u? of cos u din lost ur daughter on purpose, it happened lah, my sister often lost her daughter haha. I can understand how u feel, if its me, i think i will cry liao.

Ryes why no water bottle?

Ivy,
the sch say cannot bring water bottle to sch in the sch bag to prevent accident of leakage etc leh.

I've been thinking whole night, duno how if I should let her sit thru the 1hr+ journey or not..

Ryes,

Hope you have recollected yourself. It's definitely a very traumatic experience to 'lose your kid'. I think this may happen to me one day too, hence I have began to prepare Junior for it.

Here's what I do:

1. tell my son that he has to follow mummy all the time. Explain that if he loses mummy, mummy may not be able to find him.
2. orientate him on an ID card (on it, there's hubby and my contact number and my son's name and my son's ccc ID number) and have it strung by a lanyard (tied to fit my son comfortably but he can't pull it off his head)
3. if mummy 'disappears', he is to stand at where he is and start to sing twinkle twinkle little star as loud as he can.
4. no matter how many people crowd around him, no matter which stranger asks him to go along with him/her, he is not allowed to stop singing or leave that spot.
5. If an adult ask him for his name, he is to show the adult a ID card.

We 'simulate' the scenario for him a few times. Junior has proven that he understands the whole idea and knows what to do. I am glad he maintain his composure (didnt cry) until we 'found' him. Wah, blah like nobody's business!

Ryes
The recommendation is only that you should not put the water bottle in the school bag, not that you cannot carry water bottle at all. Why dont you get a long strap for the bottle so your kid can carry the bottle over the shoulder, and outside the bag.

Hi Sam

My mum told me to get an ID card for her too, but hang where? Ard the neck, is it dangerous, esp for her now, she is so active and I'm afraid accidents might happen, u know what i mean?

The thing is, at least she told the 2 ladies she cannot find her mama when they asked her where I was. And she didnt cry nor was she afraid.

BUT the other thing is, she easily followed the ladies when they said I will help u find your mother and go to the customer service counter! What if they were bad people, then I will never find her back ever again.

I believe so. My friend's child brings her water bottle there even tho the dad drives and drops her off. According to my friend, its not a rule that the children cannot bring the bottle but the school doesn't really encourage cos they are worried the kids will share the water and spread germs that way.

oh no ryes... muz hv been a real scare for you. my sis's #2 dashes ard when outside so someone practically has to run aft her, else she will be lost in no time, so dun be too hard on yourself. but i hv mixed tots on sam's mention on the 'stranger' part leh. cos i recently found a lost ger, think also 2-3YO, hiding in a corner crying. i observed for a few mins, no one came to look for her, and no one her race was ard (she's an indian) at all, so i wen to approach her and ask if mummy is lost, and she said yes. i looked ard and saw no indian, so i brought her to the customer service counter, where her mother was. she stopped crying when i held her hand and walked with her and could ans simple qns i asked to calm her down. her mum asked me where i found her and i think she could not find her tho she went ard cos she was hiding in a corner. i'd like to believe there are more good ppl than bad ppl in the public? but i guess it is still up to us to have our 2/4/6 eyes peeled on our young ones at all times ba.

my fren's son likes to wander off on his own so the parents hid away once to "scare" him. turns out he can rem mummy's HP v well, he wen to approach a lady and ask her to call my fren, who had to appear sheepishly to "collect" her son. ha!

so anyone has done the hand or feet plaster casting for your baby before?? kk one charge $300 plus.. siao.. so expensive...

Ivy
I saw some baby stores selling the plaster kits for you to do the cast yourself. Try Kiddy Palace or Mothercare for starters. Oh, or 'Cards & Such' stores.

sunny, thank. tml i go kiddy palace and mums & babes to see see. hehe tml go cut hair... even though suppose to be on confinement cos baby shower on sunday.. i dun wanna look messy. TIme flies!

Are,

I also think there are good people around. but the thing is, you see, kids are kids, so innocent. And with few sweet words and telling them, you will help find their mother, they will hold ur hands and go along. Got good and bad. If you are a good person, lucky for the child. But if if that stranger turns out to be bad, then how.

So I think it is important to teach child not to follow any stranger. When I was in P1 first few days of sch, my necklace was being 'stolen" by this auntie who asked me for direction to the toilet. She brought me into the toilet, told me cannot wear necklace, took it off, put into a tissue paper and asked me to hold tight and go back classroom.

And then of course, nothing was in the tissue paper lah. So stupid right.

Ryes
I know how you felt.
Once my girl was lost in United Square too.
Came back home, I punished her with her "Mr Right".
Since after that incident, I customised a wrist band for her, from this site: www.idband.net

Now she is much older, she can remember our house address.

Btw, she also don't like to hold my hands to walk.

Ryes, yup - you pointed out the very reason why I told my son to be rooted to the ground and sing: my son is too young to differentiate the good and the bad... The singing bit is to distract him and also to help me-all I need to do is to ask,'have u seen a toddler who sings twinkle twinkle little star?'

u know la, when our kid is lost, it's like the world is ending like that. I scare I cant remember what he's wearing. If hubby scream at me, worse - lagi cant remember! :p So better stick to one song. Then I just need to ask,'have u seen a boy who sings twinkle twinkle little star?'

As it's not a common sight (to see little kid singing in the middle of no where), most adults will notice him. That way, they will be in a better position to 'help' me find my son.

As for the ID card hor, i make do with my hubby's luggage tag (that looks like credit card/ezlink card). Then I stick a white sticker with all the info printed on it. The card is held by a lanyard, adjusted to fit my son's neck comfortably (wear like a necklace) but he cant take it off his neck (head too big la hahah)

I told him to hide his 'necklace' inside his tee, cannot let pple see :p My son only 22mths nia.... hang outside sure accident (kenna stuck somewhere)! He's also too young to follow complicated instructions (like go find uniformed security gaurd/cashier/store employees etc) and is easily distracted. So this is, at the moment, the best precaution for me lor.

I wont know/cant choose what kind of situation my boy will go lose sight of me. So bo bian, have to invent a way to help him and me.

Precious,
it's such a great idea.. tink i will get one for my son too.. he is learning to walk n also refused to hold hands.. argh...

Ryes,
i can understand how u feel....coz i so scare my son will go missing nowadays.. so will just carry him n force him to hold hands..

it's just not easy when ur tots are super active.. *headache*

Sam,
wow.. u r good le!! to think u really "act" out the scenario for junior! btw how old is he? =)
I must salute n learn from u! =)

Hi Precious,

You know, I just have to say this even though is really the should not say it.

At least I'm not the only one who lost own kid!!!(it sure comforts me. didnt sleep well since that incident)

What was ur case? Mine was at the build a bear section where there is this light that shines on the floor stimulating some games. It was the last scene I saw her there. And to think she can walk off towards the swensons area where you know there are boards which you can press and got sounds and there are animals on it?

I was expecting her to run to the thomas train, but no sight of her. Thats what made me walked over there to find her and then thank god the man spoke to me.

Your girl is smart, knows home address. I'm starting to teach her rem our handphone number. Now she only remembers we stay which floor.

And yes, she also dont like me hold her hands now! Act big, up and down stairs, also dont want to hold. Now escalator also dont want to hold, but of course I scold.

Precious, how does your ID band looks like? Order from the website?

Sam, the lanyard is a good idea too. So means each time u all go out, he has to wear that?
I was about to ask you why make him sing song. I was thinking he sing song loud enough to make u find him.

Sam
Singing song, it is another good idea!

Ryes
I ordered from the website. To wear on her wrist.
She is now 3.5yrs old, and she can't remember our mobile numbers yet.
Not keen at all, or also maybe our mobile numbers are not easy to remember?
Too many repeated numbers and confuse her?

We were having ice-cream outside Toysrus.
She finished her share, and as usual, she wanted to come down and walked around, while waiting for me and the other mummy to finish.
It happened within a few seconds (last scene I saw her was just behind her), and she was gone.
We thought she went to Toysrus and she did not.
I was totally panicked, and in my heart I kept praying, thank God she was found in ELC.

For escalator, she also don't want to hold hands, always tell me she is tall enough to go up/down by herself.

And there was once she went into the lift all by herself.
The lift went all the way up to #25.
At that point, I was thinking if I should continue to wait at #1 for her, and take another lift to go to #25.
Thank God I chose to stay put at #1, and she was smart to press #1.
However she still received punishment from me when we arrived home, though she kept saying "You know you are downstairs, so I press number 1 to look for you"

Ryes,

Yup, he wears his ID card each time we go out. The sing song part is more of to distract him lor. Get a little kid to stand in the middle of no where is quite torturing. If he has something to do, at least not so frightening (I hope).

Gal.dolphin and Precious, thanks for the comments. We know there bound to be one day (that Junior will go missing)so we thought better come up with an idea to reduce the impact. The sing song idea was a spin off from a friend's casual remark. We brain storm and 'improvise' along the way.

Precious, your girl so cute - "...so I press number 1 to look for you"

Hi precious

Yeah, is like they always do disappearing acts! I trust her too much. In fact, this is the 2nd time she went missing too. First time was at swimming complex somemore, I was so afraid she fell into the water and nobody know.

Trusted her to sit outside the cubicle to wait for me, but she was gone leaving only the plastic bag of clothes on the bench in the toilet. Worried sick man. And we found her at the place where we put our things while swimming. she said she went to find papa, but hb was already at the shop buying drinks, so she ran back.

As for the lift part, I think sooner or later, it will happen to her also. But I think she will also press #1, coz now each time we enter the lift, she wants to press #1.

But for the ID band hor, will strangers notice the band details? Or will they think is just a kids decoration etc?

Ryes
They are many colours to choose from.
The details are etched onto the reverse side surface of the band.

Sam
There are many incidents when she goes and play hide n seek with me, in the shopping malls/crowded places.
One of her favourite 'hide n seek" location is to hide in clothing boutiques.

mommies help..

do u all ever remember when ur baby is newborn, do they scream whenever u change their diapers??

And any recommendation of what kind of carrier to buy? I dun really like the MIM sarong carrier.

Ivy
I'm using ergo carrier. I find it very much!
Yes they do scream when we change diaper for them, but I just ignore.
It gets worse when they start to roll over, then more difficult to change :)

precious, thanks for ur reply. My fren is recommending pikkolo carrier, she has it say very good. Another one say Baby bjorn synergy, maybe got to test test a bit.

Ivy, I used Baby Bjorn and liked that very much. Nicely padded with good support for the baby and mum/dad. Also easy to adjust. However, in this weather it can get pretty hot for baby and mum/dad cos of the padding. Perhaps their new edition (ie synergy) might be better, not too sure.

j foo, head that synergy is cooler.. not sure too.

My CL left today, so a bit scare alone dunno can handle baby bo... but i guess its a matter of getting use. *scream* hehe.

hi Ivy,

i'm using bbjorn synergy! it's wonderful... =)bb can face in n out.. =)

can help pls?
my son has been waking up in the middle of the nite screaming n crying.. for no apparent reason.. no matter how i try to coax him(carry, pat let him lie on me etc) he still cry.. haiz..
then after abt 10mins.. he will slowly stop by himself.. any mummies experience this before?can help?

Another thing, he aso very sticky to me.. since 5months old.. he wont sleep for long.. for example he will wake up after <10min when i left the room.. it has been like this till now.. onli sometimes when he is REALLY REALLY very tired then he will sleep longer hours like 1.5hrs... max.. if nt he will awake even just zz for 10mins! haiz.. i cant even have time for myself though i have a helper now.. howz??? has any mummy experience such "weird" bb before? =( =(
thanks..

Gal.dolphin
I experienced that before. And it lasted a couple of mths for me. Studies shown it was due to over-stimulation in the day. Irregular routine is also another factor.

precious,

Really?oh it must be hard on u.. is it ur son or gal? =)
apparently this is not his first time.. he was like this previously then stop awhile n now back again.. haiz..

dolphingal, this happens to my daughter as well, started when she was about 4 and till now, still happens every now and then. I realised with her, she has "periods", there'd be a period whereby she'd be absolutely fine, then this will resurface. I agree with precious, it normally happens when the timetable is upset (like this hol period) or if she's overtired. What I try to do is make sure she calms down and wind-down at least half hour before bedtime. You can try massaging your son's back ANTICLOCKWISE when he wakes up screaming or crying, by doing so, it's suppose to calm him down. The more serious of these are called "night terrors", this happens when he'd be disorientated for a good 10-15 mins and during this time none of the calming and soothing will work. It's been said that this would go away by the age of 8 or 9.

As for the "sticky" thing, I experienced the same thing with my daughter when she was young. The min I left the bed, she'd be wide awake. I got so irritated by that. So no choice, stayed in bed with her and read books or newspaper. But now of course she's ok, have been sleeping in her own room by herself since 3.

Hi dolphingal,

I experience the night terrors with my girl when she was young. She will wake up say just 20mins after her bedtime and I have to coax her to bed. Sometimes in the middle of the night, she will wake up crying non stop for at least 30mins no matter what I do to talk to her, calm her etc and have to bring her to the living room to calm her down. eventually 30mins later, she will stop and then go to bed again.

I dont know why, but I think is due to nightmares or over stimulation during the day time. For my son, it is totally difference. He is a good sleeper and have not given me any problem since young until now.

I find that when kids wakes up during nap, I think they do know when their mummy is not next to them and feel insecure. So what I do is to lay their blanket or perhaps those beans pillow to so call 压 on them, so that they will be more secure.

Hi Ivy, for slings, I am using the MIM sarong sling and ergo. For ergo (&amp; similar to some other brands), I didnt start using it until bb's neck was much more stable and stronger and when their thighs are longer. Otherwise, sitting with their thighs so stretched apart in the carrier for long period, I think is very xin gu for them.

Especially for bb girls(my own opinion), I wont want them to walk with their legs wild openly in an awkward way next time. So I still swear by MIM sling. I think it takes sometime to get use to the sling.It is really a VERY handy sling if u know how to use it properly.

Thank Ryes.. will try out ur method.. the thing is my son will kick off his blanket all the time.. haiz.. i need to keep putting it back on him.. =(

Thanks Jfoo! i will try to do the massage tomolo.. =)
oh dear.. then u r good!! can handle both even when ur gal required u to be there! =) m still trying to cope... it's really tiring..

Gal.dolphin
It was my girl.
Tried many methods to calm her down.
The most effective method for her, was to turn on all the lights in the bedroom, and to turn on her favorite cartoons for a while (which used to be Barney)

I had been on leave for 2 solid weeks and today 1st day of work feeling restless...

Re: lost child. I encountered almost loosing her @ ION. Kids are really good at 'disappearing act' u may lose sight of them for split sec. She was jus dancing in front of us while few pple were passing by blocking partial of our view and waulah she's gone. My heart dropped and almost close to tears when i din see her. Luckily my hb saw her running frantically towards the exit and he called and chased after her. She really is a fast runner, good thing hb has long legs managed to catch up to her and stop her from dashing out of the exit. When he saw her she was tearing guess she was frightened that she din see us ard hence started running and looking for us.

MOthers are so wei da...

i did my dd full mth yesterday, she super overstimulated by everyone wanted to take photo of her... last nite also wake up more often. And looks like this is just the beginning.

Hi dolphingal,

haha, both my kids also kick their blanket one! And my son, if he is not yet sound asleep, but eyes closed, and I use the blanket to cover him, he will say " stuck stuck" and then pull and kick the blanket away and sleep again. It's so funny and sometimes i purposedly do that. haha.

dor, tot why you MIA leh. your girl starting sch on which day? What time must report to sch u know?

Janice, your boys in afternoon session right? taking sch bus? The sch bus coming to pick my girl at 1025am, yours? maybe same sch bus?

Hi everyone.

I've been reading the thread because my MIL who looks after my son lives in TPY.

Not sure if this has been asked before but does anyone has kids in Young Talent Preschool at TPY West CC?

My 4yr old has been attending YWCA Bishan for the last 3 months but its been difficult for us to fetch him on time so thinking of switching him to a CC closer to my MIL.