TOA PAYOH mummies

HI Ivy

does your confirmenet lady cook papaya fish head soup? Take it daily if u can, it works.

Your bb is so pretty....aww...makes me wanna have #3...

Paging for ARE, are you around? wanna ask you how you cook the yuki's otah leh, other than steaming..rem you mention it somewhere..

Hi ryes,
so far she cook twice, cos my dad only buy 2 papaya -.-... maybe i ask my dad buy more.

My baby like to make grumpy face haha. pple ask me if wan #2, i say not yet, the labour pain is scary hahha.

ivy... wah.. baby so cute!!! wats her name? btw, you still want the baby food bottles now that you are expressing? i've got abt 10 bottles now.

ryes... ARE is here! my other two recipes are otah wrapped in cabbage leaves and otah with steamed egg & tofu. cabbage leaves you have to steam it so that it is soft before you wrap the otah, then steam again. egg & tofu i use the tube egg tofu, mashed (or juz squeezed thru the tip), add a beaten egg, then juz drop big chunks of otah all over, then steam. hope you like them!

mummies... i've got two adult birdy park tixs for sale @ $15 each, original price at $18. tixs are valid till 25 april 2010. pls pm me if you keen. i'm looking for a child tix if anyone selling.

Are, oh ya.. i total forget abt glass bottles haha. So far no milk so never think of it. Ok maybe i get some for you, i might get my hubby to go, unless i can sneak out my confinement hahaha.

Name havent decide yet, my hubby keep calling her isabella, which i dun wan cos so long. I probably just wait for her chinese name.

ivy... take all lah.. i no space to store liao. hehe... where u stay? maybe i can arrange a time to drop by on thurs. pm me your addy & contact k?

kin,
re: orange, ic ic. actually, the westerners also take chicken soup when they're not well while we chinese strongly believe that it makes the cough worse. very contradictory..... anyway personally i don't find my cough any worse if i were to take chicken hence i don't even let my gal abstain from chicken if she were coughing cos i noticed no difference either.

ivy,
your gal is so sweet. she reminds me a little of my gal when she was a NB.
good for you that you managed to express BM! jia you!!

Char,
ya finally 1st time got 50ml... dunno how to catch up with her demand. Will i slowly get more, or when i get more, she will need 120ML!! then i faint :p

Are, i email you. my hubby say at night he also can come get from u.

Hi Are

yeah yeah.//Okay, I know abt that tube egg tofu. Been steaming that with fish and mushroom.

and now theres otah, great...so means squeeze the egg tofu first, then add in 1 beaten egg right, then cut the otah(when defroze is it?) and steam together?

I never know hw to steam egg, always fail. Must I add anything else like seasoning etc? light sauce or whatever?

ivy,
surely can make it. just keep stimulating....

ryes,
i also always fail when it comes to steaming eggs. mine always turned out with so much "pores" and sink in the middle. :p

Aiyah, I dun have egg at home...can I just make do with the egg tofu and otah ah? Otah's arriving today!!!

Char, yeah lor! and mine always turn out hard hard..sigh..

Ryes,

Steam egg-add a little sesame oil, pepper and salt. Instead of plain water, use chicken stock. When the eggs is almost done, sprinkle some sliced spring onion on the surface of the eggs.

The fire cannot be too strong. If not, the surface of your steam egg will be like "u shape" (the circumference is 'taller' than the centre). To keep the surface smooth, cover the eggs with an aluminium foil to prevent water droplets from ruining the surface.

steam egg - portion of water (or stock, which I use cos it makes the egg sweet) and egg must be right. Don't over-steam, otherwise overcook and eggs turn hard (and become hardboil egg)

Cough - chicken is ok if the cough is without phlegm. Chicken is categorised as "heaty" so that causes phlegm to build-up. Westerners drink chicken soup cos it warms them up during winter, which is the time they get their coughs and colds.

mummies... i've got $370 taka vouchers selling at $350. pm me if interested.

ryes... i suppose can ba? but i dun noe if your tofu will "join" together if no egg tho. nevermind lah, then juz eat like the "ma po tofu"! :p enjoy!!

girls, i today breastfeed my girl for 2 hrs! she still like not full... is it so long one ar... nipples sore liao haha

i like to ask for advice if im doing it correct

this is so far my breastfeeding schedule :p cos not enuff milk

so whats all ur feeding schedule like?

I day time morning try to latch on, but she forever hungry,
so early morning 7am i try to BF
she confirm not full, 10am is bottle feed BM or FM
1 to 2pm, then i try to BF all the way till 7pm,
9 PM onwards i try to BF if not supplement with FM
12am FM , i pump if can
4am FM , i pump
7plus am cycle repeat

is it correct?

i pump and pump only 50ml leh

Ivy, maybe you and hubby want to think about seeing a professional lactationist? Just for your peace of mind since the mums here have only their personal experience whereas a professional will have seen many different cases, including those like yours. You can ask for advice on your feeding/pumping schedule, your diet, and even baby's poops and pees (which shows whether or not she's getting enough).

Sister Kang Phaik Gaik (Nurse and lactation consultant, not nun)at Mount Alvernia was very helpful for me when I first started BFing. You dont need to be a prior patient. Can just ring and make an appointment with her. Can google her - a lot of other mums have used her.

Sorry I lost the mobile number when I lost my phone but you can call Mt A general line to ask.
Bring hubby along so he can hear/understand the problems and advice as well, and to hold baby as well if Sis Kang demonstrates stuff to you.

Ivy - I have a good friend who gave birth in Feb to a baby boy and she had trouble initially with her supply as well. And her boy was a real milk monster! (That's what she called him, not me.) At 2 months old, he was drinking 180-200ml per feed! Which is quite scary. Even their doc was shocked. Apparently tho the boy's dad was the same. Anyway, friend supplemented with FM for the 1st 3 months I think and then her supply came in. When I last met her she was BFing fully.

Ivy, if your lil' girl is peeing at least 8 times a day then intake should be enough. At this stage, pooing is not taken as a mark. Some babies don't poo every day. My friend's daughters use to poo only once a week, she and the family got so worried but pd said ok as long as the poo which comes out at the end of the week is normal and not hard stool.

Another lactation consultant you can contact (if you so wish) is Doris 96387660. She's the one who trained majority of the lac nurses in S'pore. Her clinic is at Novena and also at NUH (where she does most of her research and training). So certain days she'll be at Novena and others at NUH.

Hi all, anyone want a $5 Fila voucher? I don't buy anything from Fila so any takers just PM me.

My friend was just telling me about this great discovery called immune punch. Her kids have been down in rounds recently and the worse hit is of course her youngest boy who just turned one. She said she's been trying so many many products and finally found this immune punch. It's a drink (pleasant, thank goodness) that one can give daily to support the system or if the child (or adult) is down can give 3 times daily. She said it's really worked for her. Another product another friend swears by is sambucus nigra.

Sorry, posting this cos IHerb is doing flat fee of US$10 shipping and these products are available there. If anyone interested can PM me I have a code for $5 voucher. I get the homeopathic tablets from IHerb and now gonna also try the above products. Oh and Nature's Plus supplements work out a tad cheaper there too. Now with flat fee shipping gonna get all in one shot.

hi all, i went to parent craft at tmc.. sometimes find them good sometimes like not very clear...

if next week still chaotic, i think i will seek 2nd opinion, so far i went to TMC parentcraft twice liao.

I am also a Toa payoh weekend mummy staying at Blk 79E with a 20 month old toddler girl.
New to the thread.

Am happy to know that there are so many mummies staying in the same area too... would be nice if we can have some form of gatherings and have the kids to interact? My girl likes to make friends. Unfortunately, she has no cousins around her age to play with...

tbmummy,
welcome to this thread. am a ftwm with a 2+yo gal. occassionally we do organise playdates and will usually post here, however not so often recently perhaps most of us are busy bah. feel free to organise one as well and we'll respond to u.

hi tbmummy.

hi Are,
thanks for the bottles, when u came, i actually fell asleep while feeding my dd lying down hehe ooops. so end up not sure she sucking or not. see u another time ya. thanks again.

j_foo,
i'm currently giving my gal sambucus for kids but it's nature's way brand together with childlife colostrum. i swear by those too as my gal falls sick less often now when she used to fall sick every mth since she was a baby. you may wanna check out www.vitacost.com to compare price. so far i find the latter's price is very competitive.

tbmummy,
welcome to the thread.

Hi mummies, I'm wondering if anyone have given the H1n1 flu vaccine to your kids already? My hubby strongly disagree abt giving the vaccines as its still so new and may not be safe.

Hi tbmummy,
I'm a FTWM with a 20months & 3months old boys. Welcome!

Ivy, hv u tried using other breastpump? Cos for me, only medela works.

Janice, you might wanna "wait & see" first. Just last Tuesday, more than three-quarters of a million doses of swine flu vaccine for infants and children were recalled in the US after routine tests showed they had lost potency.

Yup Janice, I agree with your hubby. Even my GP advised me not to go for the H1N1 jab for the time being.

WHile vaccines are meant for a good cause, sometimes things do go wrong. Some people's system are just not taking some vaccines well. So better wait and see.

bea@ns, i bought the medela pump in advance. So far testing see how it works. Usually i breastfeed liao, dunno should pump still or not. or should i pump then wait 1 hr breast feed..

Baby feeding time still too unpredictable.

ivy... NP. u wer not supposed to be out of the hse in the first place also lah! so unless impt, i oso dun wan to meet you. hehehe...

re H1N1 vaccine - i spoke to 2 docs and got diff views, but they both agree on something - tat unless you are very high risk grp (like got asthma, lungs prob), or will be travelling, then maybe can put off first. reason being this vaccine was created a while ago, and the strain will be different in feb/mar, and the vaccines might not work then. there may be new vaccines coming out for the feb/mar strain so if can wait, better wait. my mum has asthma so we gave her the normal flu jab first cos there are a lot of flu cases around anyways.

as for side effects, my family doc says all vaccines have caused side effects, cos some people's body system juz not suitable. juz that the highlight is now on H1N1, so they report all the allergies. so the vaccine is still safe, cos allergies if treated early is easy to treat, and you wun noe if you are allergic unless you try it anyways. oh ya, she say the H1N1 vaccine was developed from egg based so those allergic to egg might get a reaction.

Agree on the vaccine point, there really is not a need to take unless one is in high risk group and/or traveling. And even if traveling, for the young ones, just take normal vaccine. Western countries are giving out the jabs cos of the weather changes there which makes them more vulnerable. For us here, really not necessary.

Char, my friend's also using the Nature's Way brand.

Ivy, congrats! Your baby looks so cute and lovely!
Read about your breastfeeding journey. Don't give up. Whether direct feed or expressed breast milk or FM, it doesn't really matter. What matters is your love for your child and that your child will grow strong, healthy and beautiful.

Regarding the schedule, from theory knowledge breast feed half an hour from each breast.

(din get the chance to direct feed cos 1st bb was warded immediately after birth due to infection and he got used to bottle-feed, so bobian, I express milk instead. Pray that for this second bb, I will have a smooth delivery and can bring bb home with me immediately safe and sound)

During the breastfeeding section, talk, sing to your bb to keep her awake so that she doesn't fall asleep. If the breastfeeding session takes longer than an hour each time, it could be tiring on you as well. I noticed tht you try to bf from 1pm/2pm to 7 pm. It's a bit long.

Maybe you can also check out with the lactation nurse whether the bb is latching on correctly. If the confinement nanny can help out in this aspect, it will be great too.

Also different pumps work differently for different mothers. I have friends who loved Medela pump, for some pumps don't work at all and they have to resort to using hands to express the milk. Whereas for me, manual pump works better for me.

Hi Janice, agree with the other mummies that it is not necessarily for the H1N1 vaccines unless they are in the high risk group. I have a scientist friend who tells me that it is better not to go for the vaccines for many reasons - one, the virus mutate very fast and the vaccine would be rendered ineffective; two given the short period to do testing, the tests may not be comprehensive and there could be side effects which are already evident in the recent cases that surface.

Btw, great to have the play-date with your kids. Need to find a time to return your VCD. Couldn't play your vcd on my machine. not sure if you have the same problem. Catch up with you again.

eunice,
the confinement lady only ask me, eat already, baby full already...

I read online about cluster feeding, that some times baby will feed almost non-stop for a few hrs to tank up food in stomach to sleep at night..

Ivy, din know about the cluster feeding... this is new to me. Thanks for the info.

Aiyo, now I busy with getting contractor, hopefully can move in to my place before CNY. With the unpacking and everything, barely weeks left before delivery. Hope I got time to dust out my antenatal class notes to go through....

my DD give diaper quite fast leh.. anyone use NTUC diapers hehe, i tot jus buy cheap since every 2 hrs change. Then nite time use mamy poko.

ivy,
re: diaper, i suggest u to get small packet and try out as new born skin are quite sensitive. thereafter, u can buy bigger pack for the brand that suits her. invest on a good diaper cream is essential i wld suggest 'Destin' cost abt $11-$12 plus a tube. buy the 'Creamy' base (blue tube) is not so oily.

eunice,
hru? so fast u gonna due soon, take care ya. btw, where u hv shifted to again?

Hi mummies, thanks for advices.

Hi Eunice, actually I've not played the dvd before, cos my stuborn boys only watch Wiggles. Recently they spotted the wiggles dvd in the library .. and they are so happy but mummy is not too enthusiatics abt it
We can arrange another playdate some day. Did you manage to contact my contractor ? I will be doing some renovation again and he will be coming over to my place next week.

Hi Ivy, re NTUC diaper ... cheap but quality is not so good. I have a few pcs which tore even before the boys wear it, and the tape is not as reusable as compared to other similar like drypers and petpet. After calculated the cost, I find using Dryper / Pet Pet to be more cost efficient due to lower defects and last longer hehe ....
Dor is right, better to try out first and get the destin diaper cream. Babies have very sensitive skin.

By the way, I have invested in the motion sickness belts for the monkeys. Surprisingly it seems to work. Hopefully no more throwing up in the car :D

ivy,
agree that ntuc diaper is better for toddlers as the material is quite stiff for NB. i used to find ntuc brand and no frills the cheapest for day use but after calculating i find fitti basic is the cheapest. petpet is also good. you can join sprees to buy desitin creamy whc is cheaper than buying from here.

Dor, char,
my fren got her mom bring back 3 tubes of paw paw diaper cream, so far not bad, only thing its ... its an aust.. if wanna get next time also must buy online. heard california baby also good right but ex...

i think i try pet pet 1st, since now her backside skin is really very sensitive, use huggies already got bit of diaper rash but think partly CL din change frequent enuff.

hello all,
forget to tell u all this - recently i feel much better abt taking care of my daughter, mentally more steady. Though Breastfeeding is still challenging and i still wonder if she is gaining weight or im doing it right, im still taking it all positively.

I must thank all of u for the advice, words of support and even some of u who email me. thank u very much.

Hi Ivy

I swear by desitin creamy and so does all my gfs.
I bought 3 tubes for my gf, but she no replies, so if u are keen, I can let you have them if needed. Expiry is still long long way to go.

Ask your confinement lady to always apply the cream at every diaper change. I insist on washing the butt area each time baby poos. And not using wet wipes. Diaper rash is very very painful, so must take good care.

For petpet, I only started to use when baby is about 2 mths I think, coz their smallest size is S. So I was using mamy poko for the first month