TOA PAYOH mummies

HI HI , another qn. Another reviews or feedback abt the First campus in Kim Keat Link ? Maid is going home, desperate to look for child care now.

Dolphingal,
sorry for the late response but saw that you already received Jcefoo's email.

Janice,
I went to Kim Keat Link to check out before. It looks clean but got China teacher. Heard a fair bit of negative feedback about China teachers altho I know we shouldn't "use one bamboo pole to overturn a whole boat of people". Also heard from my mum's friend that children don't learn much there. She compared her own grandchildren and her neighbour's grandchildren who went to Kim Keat (have to take into consideration different children different learning capability).

I prefer the Toa Payoh Central one which has a playground within the school and newly renovated but long waiting list. Not sure about the teachers there. But should be higher standard ba, since it's central location.

In the end, I just got my girl into the childcare in Bishan that my mum's friend (the same friend mentioned above) recommended cos her grandchildren are there. So far, I'm happy with the teachers.

U not gg to have a maid anymore?

Kin, I use nan bei xing quite a fair bit. Use as whole kernels, not pounded. Honey dates too, quite often. Chuan bei and orange peel probably once a fortnight? Or maybe less. Again not pounded. For soup, no need to pound. The chinese pear, chuan bei fen and nan bei xing, I only double boil when I "sense" one of the kids coming down with something. As for quantity, haha, it's all "agak-ration". But yeah, probably a handful of nan be xing for a pot of soup for 4 pax. Another good herb for cough is something that looks like a squashed mandarin. Sometimes I use that with chuan bei, nan bei xing.

Chinese soup and herbs serve to strengthen from within so it's a slow process. Must just keep on with it to see the rewards at the end. Anyway, soup always very nourishing so I make sure the family gets at least 4-5 rounds a week. And it's easy to prepare.

Kids tend to fall sick with the common cough and cold quite frequently during the first few years, but around 4/5 onwards, it gets less frequent. I remember my daughter was down quite often during the first few yrs but since K1, she's only been down with a cold once or twice. My friend's kids better still, since young, if they catch a cold or cough, it'll only last for a day or two, then gone! She gives them homeopathic tablets. I tried that too, it will work right at the start of cold and cough. And I think it works hand-in-hand with western medicine. I use it to complement med from doc and I think it speeds up the recovery.

Kin, are the girls enjoying the enrichment class @ YKids?

Hi mummies, im new to this thread.Chanced upon it. Im from June 09 mummies and living in TPY. I have a 6 mth old boy and currently a SAHM till end Dec only. I will be going back to work on a part-time basis in Jan. Hope to make some mummy friends here and perhaps even catch up in Toa Payoh=)

Hi bbaugustine, welcome!

Jfoo,
Thanks for the details. Yup, must try and keep going at it.The squash orange gives a really orangey taste which I think possible as a double boiled dink w the pear . as soup I really nvr tried.... must taste really funny w pork.
Do you buy the supplys from chong hoe at Lor 8? I recently brought the kids to see the chinese sinseh there too.... I agree, just have to keep on going and soups is the best way to nourish....thanks!
My girl must have been quite stressed out this yr given her numerous nos of asthma attacks.So hopefully,all these will help stimulate her immunity back...
Oh, my girls enjoy the ykids art and refuse to stop. I signed my girl for a one day workshop at kinderart, so ex. My friend recommended rus. So don't know... your girl also doing art right?

Mommies, im going to be induced this sat cos water bag not enuff water liao... so scare... 1st time...

Wish me luck pple, am officially joining u girls in motherhood.

Kin, I normally get my supply from YRS, find their herbs "cleaner" and good quality though tad more ex than others, "yi fen qian yi fen huo".

Rus use to be at Toa Payoh, Braddell side, but they've moved to Upper Thomson Rd nr Longhouse coffee shop. And they don't run whole day workshop, only in sessions, so I didn't send her there. I'm sending her to Studio Miu next Fri. It's a 1.5 hr session but at least it's easier to keep my son occupied at Taka. Kino is more than sufficient to keep him occupied during that time.

I tried Kinderart once before, last year I think. Find them too "academic", not that creative.

Ivy, all the best. Keep your spirits up

bbaugustine, welcome to this thread. I'm a SAHM @ Lor 5, 2 kids - girl is 6, boy is 2

Hi giant squid and samantha, thanks for the feedback.

Sam, will contact the part time lady next week

Giant Squid, will not have a stay in maid anymore. Have enough of being caught in between Mum and the mummy. I think I will rather do the housework myself than to hear all the complaints hehe ... Haiz .. actually I plan to work full time next year, but seems like child care arrangement is so tough. I've visited the Kim Keat First campus .. don't like it at all. Though its cheap but don't think I will like my boys to be there. Which Bishan child care do you send you kid to ?

Hello Charsiew, my neighbour sent her girl to Wesley 3 years back. He said teachers ok, but his girl didn't learn much there, and he don't recommend me to put my kids there.

I've not seen the place myself, so it will be better for you to drop by and see how the lessons are run before deciding

Wesley has a waiting list too if I'm not mistaken. A neighbour's grandchildren went there and have been happy with it. The kids then went to Ascension at K1 level.

most welcome Janice

The cleaning lady is quite friendly and ok. She is also not too petty and calculative (time's up and must leave despite work not completed).

Tell u ladies something that happend yesterday:

One day in the car, while hubby was parking, Junior 'hit' me. It was a playful 'high five' on my chest actually. I pretended to cry in hope that he understand that hitting someone who hurt that person and it's not right to do so.

He immediately tried to 'redeem' himself by saying,"mummy hug hug..." and started patting my hair (sayang me la).

Hubby done with his parking, came over to open the door for us both. He saw "mummy crying" and asked Junior what has happened (but in actual, he knew what was going on). I said, beat mummy, pain pain!"

Guess what Junior said?

"Papa say sorry!" For his fault, he asked his father to apologise! I almost blurted out laughing!

Hi Janice & J_foo, thanks for your inputs :>
i just called Wesley, yes they have a waiting list already..so i have to look for other places..sighz..

Anyway, i'm also contemplating to engage a <font color="0000ff">babysitter/nanny</font>..If anyone knows any good &amp; reliable ones to recommend, pls let me know ya? Pretty urgent..paiseh..thanks mummies!

Ivy,

I was warded the night before at 10pm. Dr came at 1am to apply I can't remem the name of the medication into V. My back then started to ache until morning. Dr burst my waterbag at 9am. Very soon, real contraction pain came very intensely and closely, Dr commented to nurse that "hmm.. her contraction is very good..." wahlao eh, very good means I jialat lah! bb came out at 3+pm, not bad, considered quite fast. Don worry and think so much abt the pain, whatever comes u just somehow will be able to cope with it. When bb comes out, very rewarding. Just think abt the moment when bb comes out!! Imagine that moment!! You finally see your bb!! hehehe. u know y I keep telling you not to think so much? I made the mistake of asking ard too much and hearing scary stuff that I was so terrified when I was warded the night before. Now come to think abt it, everybody different experiences, some fast, some slow, if it's gg to be fast for you, good for u! if not, worrying won't speed up the process anyway. I was so pessimistic then, scared will take long long time like so and so, imagine the pain like so and so had told me abt, think I won't be so lucky, what if it's not a smooth one?blah blah blah. SO much more kiasi than everybody else u know? Who knows? It wasn't that bad really, wasn't too long...the pain, I still tahan thru it...HA!

Good luck to you!

giant squid,

ya im so pessimistic sometimes, keep thinking and somehow like wanna pinch myself and say is this all real! haha.

ya hearing what you type, ok i shall tell myself from this moment i shall not think so much, just go with the flow. Thanks squid!

JUST TO SHARE

Etonhouse has joined forces with Bishan East PAP Community Foundation to offer a new option for young families in the area. Hampton Pre-School (Blk 178 Bishan east St 13) will be the first PCF childcare centre to be managed by a private operator. Enrolments starts in Jan for kids aged 18nths to 6yrs old. Call 62586209 or email to [email protected]

ivy,
Hope everything went on smoothly and looking forward to your post telling us your experiences being a 1st time mummy o.k.?

Standchart Run: Brought my gal to Padang for 700m run yesterday, it was fun and she enjoyed it very much especially seeing her own age group running together. Now, she has collected 2 medals liao and she's looking forward for more

babe
Sorry, I hv been away, did not respond.
A bit difficult as we will be off for a family holiday next week.

dor
I did the 10km!
Wow! Your gal ran!

hello all... job done... my baby girl was born on 6th dec at about 4am. i had a hard time pushing cos her face was facing upwards and she was pooing inside already. My gynae did not use forceps or vacuum though i think if she use will be easier but she say she will try her best to avoid becos there are cases of fractured skull.

Its really tough being a mother, and my journey has just began.

mothers.. my baby keep crying when not on my breast... but when on my breast she like to suckle sleep suckle sleep... so i try to 15mins to 20 mins each breast. And once i remove her from my breast she start crying... i really dunno what to do. I know i might only have colostrum now, and my mom keep asking me to get formula to supplement it.. shoud i??? or should i fully totally breast feed only????

sigh im feeling so lost now.

Ivy
It is normal for total breastfeeding babies.
If your milk intake is insufficient, you may want to try to give her formula at night, so that you can have a longer rest while she sleeps longer.

I am still total breastfeeding my #2, and he is already 4mths old. For #1, I breastfed her till she was 2.5yrs old.
Total breastfeeding takes lots of determination and of course lack of rest especially the 1st 2-3mths. But remember mother's milk is the best!

Congrats to you Ivy!!!

For my case, during my stay at hospital, I fed formula, but of course I try to latch my bb on for the colostrum. And yes, they suckle and fall asleep, so u must tickle them, wake them up etc.

Your bb is boy or girl ah?

BTW< any mummies keen to share orders on BRANDS?
$100 for free delivery and I'm only keen on the brands chicken essence. 1 dozen = $29.

precious, do you give formula as supplement too? and ur total breast feeding is direct latch or express?

ryes, my baby is girl.

Hi Ivy, congrats on your new joy..

Dor, your gal still gg to LNT next yr? My R gg to finish this term soon and I'm thinking of continuing next yr. But hor, seems like next yr totally no discount on the fees

Hi precious/jfoo, I stay at Toa payoh central, also breastfeeding my 6mth old. Precious, im hoping to breastfeed my son till he is 2 yrs old. Hopefully i make it there=)

congras ivy!
maybe get some advice from the nurses at Thomson? there's a 24-hour postnatal hotline 91193502 u can call.
I also had the same problem, then i realised that my baby was hungry, so fed him formula to supplement. Maybe u can give her formula until yr milk supply kicks in.

welcome bbaugustine!

congrats ivy!!! go easy on the breastfeeding k? cos i see my sis last time quite traumatised by the bf. just try your best and go with the *flow*. hehe... rest well!

stylobb... erm, are you asking the rite person? mine was done at gynea leh, at blk 177. anyways, the number is 63529388, dr roy ng

samantha... ur boi so cute! so fast noe how to find 'dang jian pai' already!

janice... hope you find help in some way soon...

any mummies interested to join cardio-mix class at tpy central cc, tues 7-8pm? we are still short of 5 pax in order to start class leh. it'll be such a shame if i hv to stop aft being on it for 1yr. sigh... this class is a mix of aerobics/kick-boxing/pilates/yogo/stretching moves. instructor varies the moves every lesson so never boring.

bbaugustine,
welcome to the thread. i'm a sahm with a 33mo gal. i'm also staying at central, blk 79A. whc blk are u staying?

ivy,
congrats on the arrival of your baby gal! welcome to motherhood.
my breastfeeding wasn't successful as i wanted it to be so sorry no advice on that matter.

samantha,
your boy is cute leh. very quick thinking. haha.

dor,
woah, your gal got medals! good for her!

are,
wat is the fee for the cardio-mix class?

Wow...precious u steady, bf for so long...
Check with you, does ur gal have feeding problem as a result of prolong bf? Seriously I dunno how to advise her. She kept saying her boy now 18 mth kept wanting bf and dun really wanna eat much solids. At night still wake up like 3 times for comfort sucking. Day time dun wan nap much. Looks to me super cranky like not enough rest. Any tips for her?

Char, I'm at 79C. Heehee...shld meet up ya! Heard a no. of mommies staying at 79A.

twinkle,
welcome to the thread. whc floor you staying? i'm on the 24th floor.

babe,
oh ya i remember you staying at central too. ya, should try to meet up.

Ivy, I had similar issue as you. Baby likes to suckle sleep suckle sleep, and she had BM jaundice as well. Actually when she sleeps, I just use my little finger and unlatch, especially if she has been sucking for more than 30mins.

As suggested you may want to go check your BM flow is in. I recommend Sis Kang at Mt Alvernia - very knowledgeable and encouraging (no-nonsense type). Sekali get engorgement (hard hard breast cos all milk clogged up).

You can try supplementing with formula. The thing is, the more you supplement, the less baby may want to direct latch. If no demand, your body may tell itself to stop or further reduce the milk production... so just be careful la..What a GF of mine did is to pump during those times that baby is taking formula milk (so your brests still get a "produce milk!" message to keep up with the demand)

COngrats and dont stress k. Get lots of rest (if you can
) and dont yell at your mum or inlaws kekeke