TOA PAYOH mummies

Char, so your 4 rm is the new blk 29 or resale flat? that price is good, since it's at central.. if u know of anyone selling a flat there, do let me know.. :D

CG - Enjoy ur 1 day batam trip do bring along insect repellent for ur gal (me very ks) i sprayed my gal's legs n arms plus the sticky patch b4 going to my hub reservist camp (Family Day Event) last sat heehee! CD doesn't werk for her, perhaps i shld try hving dinner 2gether instd, wow cant imagine it'll be damn messy...i hvnt let her try self feed except for small bite size food like biscuts, bread etc. Thanks for ur tips!

Char - Hi5 am nt sure if my gal is suitable she's 16mths old...thot is meant for older children hehheh! Her fav is Barney ha ha! noes how to ask for it by protesting when I played her nt so fav vcd.

Dor
Can try Fun Song Factoyr VCD. More simple actions as compared to Hi-5.
Ya, always have insect repellent with me..keke!

CG, thanks for ur recommendation, hope i cld find the vcd at Popular....ya me too insect repellent is always in her diaper bag plus a portable fan(<_=)

Dor
This is the one (Baby Porridge Cum Rice Cooker)
http://www.takahi.com.sg/p_rpc_668.html
All I need is put all ingredients into the rice if I am preparing porridge.
If I am preparing soft rice, I will place the ingredients in the steaming tray then cook at the same time!
Of course, sometimes I will stir-fried simple dishes w added organic soya sauce, olive oil/sesame oil, then mix into porridge/rice.
Bought from Harvey Norman (1yr plus ago) at $79

CG,
i prepare my gal's dinner and our dinner while she naps and also do some other housework. and when she wakes up i'll do vacuuming. true, when no kids the house looks nice but with kids, the house looks obiang.

miin,
my new flat is blk 79, 90sqm nia. u looking for 3 or 4rm flat? in central? re: BF contest, i wished i was able to BF that long. i could only make it for 1.5mths only.

dor,
your gal and mine are same age. my gal loves hi5 and she started watching it when she was about 12mo i think. initially she liked to watch only the beginning and ending part where the group sings and dances. but as she grows older she'll watch the entire show. now when i sing a hi5 song she'll try to copy some of the dance movement. besides hi5, she likes to watch brainy baby too.

CG - thanks for sharing. U always have good recommendation.

Char - My gal too starts copying sm of the moves in Barney and other baby VCDs. Very cute to see them following the character act in the show.

Sabrina, how old is your girl? That one that won third prize? Which group was she in? I was there and perhaps we are in the same group, ie group D from 18 to 24 months.

Date: 1 Aug, Fri
Time: 4pm
Venue: Fidgets @ Turf City
5)
6)
7)
8)

been busy with work lately..im working as a secretary but im BKL so will get busy at times..also my office going to move soon..end of Aug..really dread moving either move office or house..*sign*

for me, after dinner, normally i will spend time with my girl lor.. watch elmo or barney wif her..or read books wif her.. she's crazy abt elmo specially..
if my hubby comes back earlier, he will play wif her lor..my hubby dun like to read books wif her leh..he's not those patient and expressive type..
then after,i will put her to bed every nite..

hehee ya hope some agencies can come look for my girl leh..then i can quit my job to become a star mum cum manager but dun have so far =)

aiyo cant upload my girl photo, too big liao..

auntiemoi, ya we are in same group, group D, tats my girl winning the 3rd prize..
my girl is 18months old now..

btw, there is a new playgroup called Startots from next year, its for child born 2006 / 2007.
it will be at blk 258 kim keat..will be very near to my house lor..
I called, the lady said fees is $160 per month,
i have given her me and my child particulars to reserve first, when registration time, she will contact me.. tat time when i called her im in a rush..so forgot to ask her wat time for the class and when the registration..anyway anyone interested i can pm her the contact..

Dor/Miin, i have emailed you the contact for the leapfrog products.. sorry lah to reply late..

mummies, forgot to tell u abt this...

BP#4: Pre-Order Original VCDs/DVDs - MaNy Titles 2 Choose from!!! ~ott mummy~

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1589235.html?1217210540

anyone intersted in this..
Perfecting Parenthood
Tips, Tricks &amp; Truths to Raising a Well-Developed Child

maybe i register..today last day for the special price leh..

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/seminar

Ticket Price
Early Bird Rate $11 (Book your tickets by 31 July 2008)

Regular Price $16 Regular Price

Event Day Price $21 (Tickets bought on 16 August 2008)

Date/Time Saturday, 16 August 2008
2.00 - 5.30pm

Venue Suntec Convention Centre Theatre (Level 2)

Ticket hotline (SISTIC) (65) 6348 5555

You don’t have to leave your kids at home! There will be special activities for the kids as the parents attend the seminar!

Hey! Sabrina, finally c u bk....its a pity cant get a peek of ur daughter's pix. Btw, i'd access the website for VCD/DVD bulk order jus wonder where to get the listings for all the VCD/DVDs available cant seems to find it =P

how was your weekend so far? i'm in pasir ris at my parents' plc for the weekend with hb and gal. also got to go out this afternoon to meet a few of my sec sch gal frens at tampines mall. one of them going to "pop" soon so better meet fast fast. so left my gal with hb, haha.

Char
Mine was great!
Brought my gal to watch the last preview National Day Parade.
Was blessed with tickets from a friend.
All of us truly enjoyed! My gal behaved well for a total of 3hrs plus (my hb and I were very surprised, thank God!)

Hi! Char,
My hub &amp; I went to the NATAS exh @ sinexpo, am surprised its so crowded plus Public gotta pay inorder to enter...my god! Anyway, we managed to book our cruise holiday for 4D3N on Tthe Royal Carribean early Jan '09 to Penang &amp; Port Klang. We choosed a short holiday instd coz 1st time travelling wif my gal dare nt go away for too long. Hee! Hee!

CG,
So lucky u got the preview tix...Sat evening while i was on the road am wondering this time u shld be @ the Esplanade enjoying the Parade &amp; fire werks. ha!ha!

Mummies, there's a baby and child contest at Downtown East in Aug. You can find details at their website. There's a photo online contest too.
My son is in the Toddler contest n baby in photo contest. :D

Went to XplorerKidz in downtown east last thu. It's really big and fun for kids. I think it's abt $11 per hr for kids. There's a very big maze like thing where kids n adults can climb up n down. A big ball pool with all white balls so u feel like u r in a bubble bath.. hehe.. there are additional things which costs extra money. All in all, very enjoyable for the children. All shack after 2 hrs of play. Remember to bring socks along. :D

Hi Dor, try this link to see the list
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1596132.html?1217378698

I ordered elmo and barney vcd/dvd...
I jus bought for my girl also the leapfrog letter factory...my girl likes to watch leh..but the letter pronounciation abit funny esp the letter L &amp; O... maybe becos its american???
any mummies got this letter factory?

CG, sorry, too busy wif my work liao, i try copy the vcd this few days...
btw the fireworks at the preview heard its very nice..your girl ok with all those loud sounds? my girl will cry at loud sound, for eg lion dance...

Joan, yes will be going to the seminar..going wif my baby and maid..my hubby working..wat abt you?

Thanks Miin for your infor abt the baby and child contest..will take alook at their website

Hi Sabrina,

I couldnt get the tickets on the last day of early bird purchase. Response was very overwhelming, tickets were all sold out during that afternoon.

I borrowed the Leapfrog Letter factory from the library and my son enjoyed it... A mommy from another thread shared her view on the letter L &amp; O, and also the A &amp; E.

“The pronounication is not wrong but is a misconception.
The correct way to say /l/ phonetically is "lllllllllllll" as in, just put your tongue like you going to say "light" but just do the "llll" without making the "ight" part. The ang mohs, when they say /l/, they have a slight "eh" BEFORE the "l" sound, so it sounds a bit like "O" to our singaporean ears, esp if you don't play the DVD loud enough, then you cannot hear the "lllllll" part.
hope that helps to explain things. My daughter is dyslexic you see, so I am doing her dyslexia intervention myself, so am more aware of such things... : )

one thing you do want to look out for though, is the differentiation between "a" and "e". They do it in a rather fake way, and our children get confused. More so because if you speak like a true singaporean, without any angmoh twang, then you will not have any difference between the "e" and "a" vowels. Test yourselves. Say "I pat the pet dog" Do the "pat" and "pet" sound the same? If yes, then you don't distinguish between the two. Many of our children do that, so when it comes to spelling, they have trouble telling the difference... dunno when to use e, when to use a. By right, the "a" you must lower your jaw until your mouth is like trying to make a squarish shape, but for "e" you only lower your jaw a little, the way we singaporeans would say it. So for us, we must work extra hard to teach the children the correct "a" sound... but if you really do that, then you end up speaking abit like angmoh, which to our singaporean ears, is a little fake lah.”

glad to know that u all had a good weekend too.

re: baby contest at downtown east
i may consider entering my gal. but just consider for now as i've never ever thought of entering those baby contests b4 until the clinic assistant at my gal's PD kept asking me why didn't i enter those contests.

baby contest at downtown east already closed for registration, last day on 4aug..

Miin, hope ur baby will win both the baby and photo contest yeh =) &amp; Char too if u have registered...

Joan, thanks for sharing about the pronounciation, I really didnt know abt that!
oh yes, would you be interested in the Perfecting Parenthood, i might not able to make it...

Hay Dairies will be more interesting for the kids as they get to see goats running in the farm and experience feeding them too, plus free sampling of goat's milk (hmmm! i think that i'll give it a miss) keke!
Aonther farm opens to public is Qian Hu @ www.qianhu.com (choose farm tour) which is not featured in this website. Heard they've got fishing and other activities for kids quite interesting too.

Dor
Brought my girl to Hay Dairies last week.
Yes it was great! She wants me to bring her there again!

sabrina,
i didnt sign up for the baby race contest at downtown east but its ok, thnx for letting me know.

dor,
i've been to the goats farm at the west side years ago, pretty interesting. the milk is ok lah but i still prefer cow's milk. i somehow detect some "mutton" smell in the goat milk whereas my mum was ok with it as she doesnt like the taste of cow's milk or rather dairy products.

Oh ya! My gal don't like goat mik either. She said not nice. I wonder if it is because goat milk is not as sweet as cow milk. Goat milk has very high protein, and not as heaty as compared to cow milk actually.

Here's some pics to share @ the Hay Dairies
1615185.jpg
1615186.jpg
1615187.jpg
1615188.jpg

Just brought her to Pasar Malam.
Seeing her having great fun with all the rides... trains, helicopter, merry-go-round as well as bouncy castle make me think of my beautiful childhood memories!

Last Sun, brought her to try some flowergirl dresses.... I'm so stressed.... I pray that she won't make a big mess at my girlfriend's wedding day.
If not I will definitely feel bad about it.

1615196.jpg
1615197.jpg
1615198.jpg

She's such a doll! Hope she wont steal the limelight of the bride hee!hee! Btw, there shld be a short rehearsal b4 the actual match-in as long as u r ard n asked her to follow the leader if there is, shldnt be much prob (cross ur fingers). Usually is forgivable if the routine is not according to expectation after all they r jus young Todds (<_=) have fun!!!

CG,
Sha looks so sweet. i'm sure things wil turn out ok, dun worry. i was a flower gal when i was 9yo. i rembr i was so excited then cos get to put on some make up. haha!

Wide range of early childhood educational aids, games &amp; toys at the <font color="ff6000">Suntec Convention Centre, Ballroom 3 Level 2 on 22 Aug 08, 8 am to 5 pm. </font> Held in conjunction with the 2008 Child Care Seminar organised by the Association for Early Childhood Educators (Singapore).

Thanks CG, got The Rainbow Fish book from popular. Quite a few titles to choose from but I only bought 'Ready, Set, Swim'. :D

My bb 1st bday in Dec. If i remember to go, will let u know.

Did anyone watch the Olympics opening? It's quite nice.

CG, okie perhpas make it a X'mas thingy heehee! Plus gift exchange for the kids i believe they'll love it! Anyway, will see how it goes...

CG,
thnx for inviting us to your plc this sat but i usually go back to my parents' place during the weekends so cant make it. will try to make it the next time if can, wanna meet other mums as well.

something to share here...open to SAFRA &amp; Tumble Tots members

Tumble Tots &amp; SAFRA Olympics @ SAFRA Toa Payoh
Date: 6 Sep
Venue: SAFRA Toa Payoh
Time: 9am to 3.30pm

In conjunction with the Beijing Olympics this year, Tumble Tots and SAFRA Toa Payoh are organising its first Tumble Tots &amp; SAFRA Olympics on 6 Sep 08!

This event aims to promote an active living, healthy lifestyle and character building among children. It is designed to introduce children of age six months and above to ‘Sportsmanship’ through various competitive games and contests. Additionally, it offers families a great opportunity to bond and spend quality time together.

Come on down and get ready to have a blast with our series of exciting activities, fun games and challenging contests for the whole family!

Photo Contest
Simply capture a picture of your child participating in any sports and stand a chance to win a digital camera!
Closing Date: 24 Aug 08

Click here for a copy of the Contest Form.

http://www.safra.sg/UserFiles/File/Highlight%20of%20Events/Aug%20-%20Sep%2008/Photo%20Contest%20Entry%20Form.jpg

Contests on 6 Sep
Bond with your child through the following contests on 6 Sep!

1) Daddy Pampers Changing Contest
2) Fittest Mum &amp; Child Contest
3) Family Relay
4) Station Relay

Click here for a copy of the Application Form.

http://www.safra.sg/UserFiles/File/Highlight%20of%20Events/Aug%20-%20Sep%2008/Application%20Form_6%20Sep%20Contests.pdf

For more information, please contact:
May Lee - 63554512 or email to [email protected]
Wee Lee - 63554511 or email to [email protected]

CG, ur girl is sweet! I found her familiar, maybe we have met b4! oyes, the vcd is ready, I have PM you. and the pasar malam you mentioned, is it in Toa Payoh, would like to bring my girl to take the rides...

Hi! Sabrina, thx for the info. I think CG maybe referring to the pasar malam @ TPY Lor. 8 its quite a long stretch...but nt sure if there's any rides thou.

<font color="0077aa">Hi Sabrina, I just called apple tree playgroup &amp; its also $160/mth but for next yr intake. However the lady wasn't too friendly &amp; was so eager to put down the phone! Its at Blk 258 Kim Keat. Do you have more info on the Star Tots playgroup? Is it also two hours? Thanks!

Mummies, can try &amp; search for playgroups or CCC here:

http://www.childcarelink.gov.sg/ccls/home/ChdCccSrch.jsp</font>