TOA PAYOH mummies

i m now living with my parents at lorong 4. BLK85b, singapore pools there.

Dear mummies, watch this.. u will be amazed and filled with awe at the wonder of our God.. =)

"He is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn over all creation. For by Him all things were created that are in heaven and that are on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or dominions or principalities or powers. All things were created through Him and for Him. And He is before all things, and in Him all things consist." Col 1:15-17

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jIXLMCoEXv0

There is another great place at Pasir Ris. Brought my gal to Pasir Ris Park to feed ponies, and to have pony ride, as well as bringing her to the Kids' Kampong since it was nearby. I was amazed by her courage in riding the pony... so cool!

Hi storeberry, i have pm you the contact for StarTots. They are starting in Jan09. you can call the lady (forgotten her name liao) for more infor.
btw, how old is your girl/boy?

Welcome Pkum, is first child for you?

mummies, there's a place i find it fun for family, its called the Bottle Tree Park. Its walking dist from Khatib MRT. Its big and its quite nice park. You can fish for fish and prawns there. Tried the prawn fishing, quite fun! After you catch the prawns, you can BBQ there! There's also a small pond where kids can catch 'Longgang' fish. Think need to pay $10 for the 'Longgang' fishing. There are also some stores selling vegetables (got 2, 1 they claim they dont use insecticides/chemicals, they grow their vegetables without soil), got 1 store selling live seafood. The park is open quite early, can go there eat breakfast, like fried beehood, porridege,nasi lemak,toast bread...etc lunch and night time they got zichar also. have tried their breakfast and night zichar, so so lor.

here's more infor
http://www.bottletree.com.sg/

Sabrina>> thsk! yup, this is my first child.

Bottle Tree Park>> seems like an interesting plc!

CG>> what is there to do in Kids' Kampong? *curious*

seems like u ladies know a lot of great places for children and family!

<font color="0077aa">Sabrina, yes received!! Thanks! I am asking for my nephew who is 23mths old. I am expecting now, 9mths, countdown now! But not living in Toa Payoh.

I like Littleskool at MCYS but its abit ex for my sister...</font>

CG, she's very brave i mus say, not all kids can do tat...wonder is there any 'safety' precaution thou...Have yet to bring my daughter to the beach hmm wonder will she get use to the sandy feeling haha!

CG, your girl very cool &amp; daring!!! you mean she just sit on the pony without anyone holding on? wow... btw you mentioned the pony is in the Pasir Ris Park but which part of the park? I have been to the park but never see pony before... maybe its new there?

anyone seen the national day rally yesterday? its good news lor with the 6 days childcare, 4 months maternity, improved baby bonus for first-time parents, more childcare centres, more subsidies for children attending pre-schools,financial support to lower the costs of IVF....etc hopefully these will help to increase our 'baby population' =D

Dor, I just emailed the StarTots contact...

Sabrina
It is located at Pasir Ris Carpark C.
Watched the National Day Rally... wondered why there is no benefit for SAHMs at all.

Sabrina, thanks rx'd your email liao.

6 days childcare nt sure if is jus a guideline or enforcement. If its a guideline, not all coys will practice...as for the 4 months maternity personally i feel is too long, if am the employer i'll think twice b4 engaging a female stuff who is newly wed or planning for family heehee! dun mind if the extra 1 mth can convert into $$$$ that will be beneficial (dream on.....)

Here's another family activity:

GROW Your Child's Sense of Discovery through Play. Plus, Mum or Dad, you'll get to join in too!

Sign your child up for Funtime with Mum or Dad @
Frisk N Romp Kids' Playclub, Playground @ Big
Splash. This activity is organised by 'GROW' Abbott

Date: 6 Sep 2008
Time: 10.00am - 11.30 am (3-5 yrs old) 11.30am - 1.00pm (6-10 yrs old)
Venue: Playground @ Big Splash,
902 East Coast Parkway,
Blk B, #02-07, Singapore 449874

For details, please click here http://www.abbott.com.sg/family/for_famties/ft_julaug08_grow_friskandromp.asp

need abit of advise...
wanna to find out what type of diapers are good?
what type of breast pump (manual or electric) is better?
what type of steriliser to get? avent or pigeon?
can advise pls.. thanks alot.
really headache planning for e coming newborn.
sorry i disappeared for awhile. been busy packing e room for my baby. like so much things to get.
Another thing, is nail clipper good or scissors to cut newborn nails?
thanks alot for all ur time. =)

I am new to SMH. Am looking around for infantcare centres in TPY. Saw a couple of recommendations on the one at Blk 200. Do they have a website or open during the weekends? I wld like to check it out. Any idea if they hv long waiting list? I am due end Oct this year.

Thanks a lot!

Hi! Dolphin,
Good to c u bk! I can only give u my side of recommendation also got if fm other mummies too hee!
Diapers - am using Pampers, ex but depending on your bb..some bbs hv rather sensetive skin hence gotta becareful when choosing diapers.
Breastpump - i used manaul Avent brand, some says electric is easier some says manual is better is up to individual.
Steriliser - frankly i din used any, am using the old wive method, boil from the pot, we r brout up this way too haha!
Hope you get your bb changing table is essential and convenient too. I got a simple one fm Ikea din cost much and is good. When ur bb out grown this stage u can convert it into a book stand.

hi Dor,
thanks alot. I just got the avent manual breast pump too. is it good?i mean will ur hands get tired?hehe.. coz i'm afraid I may get too tired of squeezing.hehe..
as for diapers, i heard the drypers not bad too for baby. But not it's hard to gauge coz bb not out yet rite?or i better just get a few brands &amp; try it out. what do u tink?
hmm.. as for steriliser, i'm thinking of conventional way like u said. so havent gotten any yet but may afraid my CL not used to it.haha.

oh u mean there is such changing table in Ikea?how does it look it?u have a pic?hehe. care to share? i got a playpen for my bb where there is also a changing area.

I'm also looking into getting a chest of drawers as there is really no space for my bb's stuff. any recommendations? =)

thanks again Dor! btw, ur gal loooks so lovely. =)

Hi! Dolphingal,
Thank you for your compliment =P
Manual pump can be quite tiring for mummy @ times but i guess i'd got used to it. As for diapers, usually the hospital will proivde u a certain brand for ur bb, same goes to milk powder (if u prefer nt to hv nite feeding during ur stay in the hospi) and is up to u to change. My hospi uses Pampers eventually i changed to Drypers cheaper mah alas, bb nt used to it, i'd bn changing a few brands like huggies ultimately gotta go bk to pampers. If you have a playpan tat comes wif a changing table dun hv to buy it however, u wont be able to use for long as it has limited space. My gal is 17mths old n she's still using the IKEA one no doubt her legs r jutting out. Err sorry no pix leh but u can chk out this link. Its call Singilar changing table under Children catagory below the changing table u cld put ur diapers, nappy creap, wet wipes etc. quite useful
http://www.ikea.com.sg/catalog/catalog_display.asp?page=2&amp;b=10&amp;r=23&amp;p=94&amp;sort=0

hi Dor,
U r most welcome. =)
I guess it's just a matter of getting used to. I'll try to use it if not, guess will have to get an electric one. =P
I heard most hospital use pampers.tink it one will have to try &amp; era with the bb before deciding. i feel that drypers is really cheap. hehe..
oh dear..seems like e playpen can only last for a few months.. =P
hmm.. the table looks sturdy.. i like the blue color chest of drawers.. hehe..tks for the link. will probably go there &amp; take a look. =)
thanks again for the information Dor!
hmm.. how abt milk bottles &amp; teats?
I do intend to FBf but sometimes it's hard as i may not have enuff to supply hence i'm looking into sme milk bottles so tat i can also express out &amp; let my hubby feed the baby.
is it advisable to get sme for standby now?or still early?my edd is end nov. =P

Mummy Tang, am not pro in breastfeeding heehee! coz i stopped on the 2nd mth no milk leh....but i came across in the market there r sachets available to store breaskmilk not neccessary hv to used bottles. A plc i noe u can get it fm is @ hospi pharmacies such as Raffles and KK. Buy a few packs to standby will do u can always get it easily if u need more. Believe u r aware tat u hv to label ur filled bottles or sachets with date and time b4 storing it.
Having a waredrobe besides chest drawer wld be good eventually ur bb will nd it.

haha.. Dor u so cute.. who u tinking of?=)
actually already have a built in wardrode in e room just that not enuff space..hehe..just too much junk. already clear alot. think i need to clear more space.. that's the pro with Toa payoh flats.. no store room..haiz..if i have one store room, all these shouldnt be an issue. =(

i heard from my fren too that there is such plastic bags or sachets.. yup. have to note down the date &amp; time of storage.. still a long way to learn manz.. not easy being a mom! that's y mommies are great! =)

<font color="ff6000">Dor</font>
You may go Botanic Gardens (Jacob Ballas Children's Garden) or Sentosa Palawan Beach. Great for sandplay, and definitely it is cleaner.

<font color="ff6000">Dolphingal</font>
Actually you will realise there are a lot of unnecessary things to buy, heehee! Happy shopping!

For nail clipper, I find the traditonal 'china type" easier to manage and cut. I bought a few other brands meant for babies, and they became 'white elephants'

For Newborn, I used Pampers. S size diapers, I used Huggies Dry Comfort. I find Dryers' material not so soft as Huggies.

Breast pump, electric is faster and effective.

I used Avent Microwave steriliser.

Her bb cot/my bed is her changing station. U may want to get a storage organiser (you can put bb wipes, diapers, bb oil) to hang on bb cot. I sold her playpen as it took a lot of space. And she also did not like to be inside. I don't like it safe too, as it is not very stable during the stage she was learning to crawl/climb.

There would be a lot of small things you have to keep (etc: gifts or those he will slowly outgrow it and you would like to keep) If you have extra space, you may want to get this from ikea, below $120
1663481.jpg
1663482.jpg

I have limited space. For her bulky items/toys, I bought a few ikea storages with lid covers, which are stackable;space-saving.
http://www.ikea.com.sg/catalog/product_display.asp?art=80098516-4570-10-24-179596645-54412483

Hi CG,

thanks for the advise.
How do u find the avent microwave steriliser? my hub is keen to get one but i'm not so. mabe wanna hear from u how u find it?

oh dear.. i got a manual one.. haha.. but i do not wan to stress myself too much mabe start with manual first..

ic. guess playpen can also last awhile.. not that practical.. will see how it goes.. i hv both bb cots &amp; playpen.. super KS.. haha..

actually i have alot of the storage with lid covers bought frm toyogo. hence i'm keeping it for his toys when they come by.. Toa payoh house is just too small manz..

CG, thanks for your recommendation. Mentioning abt nail clipper, I am still using bb scissors to cut her nails hvnt tried out clippers afraid i'd cut into her flesh yucks!
she'll starts to figidet when am abt to perform the act haha!

Dolphingal, nowadays the new flats be it TPY or elsewhere r relevantly small unlike the olden days where they used to construct big n spacious ones. SIN is lack of land liao. Btw, me too hv cot n playpen both r gift n hand down. Playpen is good in a way is small in size and portable
hence u can plc it in the living hall and leave ur bb inside so tat when u r in the kitchen u r able to hear him n he's able to c u walking abt too. If u hv to leave ur boy wif caregiver's plc the playpen will come in good use.

Dolphinegal
Avent Microwave steriliser, we find it the most fastest and convenient method to use.
Each time after you breastfeed, do drink a lot of water. And to increase milk supply, you can try Fenugreek seeds from GNC or Nature Farm.
Most things which you hardly use, you can try Ikea compact storage boxes, then hide them under your bed... hee hee!
Most important enjoy this moment when bb is inside you. Things which you forget to buy or need to buy, can always get them easier when bb is out.
By the way, for bb wipes you can get from John Little. Brand is Carlson, 3 packs of 80pcs for $5.50, non-fragrance.
Another thing you have to buy is Woodward's GRIPE WATER, to calm baby when he cries bcos of gas.
And also Avent Nipple Cream in case it hurts after breastfeeding.
For maternity pads, you can try Pureen Madame Adhesive (very absorbant) which can be purchased from Kiddy Palace (do remember to pack some into your hospital bag.)

Dor
When comes to cutting nails, I am the expect... hahaha! Every 2-3 days I have to cut her fingernails, no idea why hers grow super fast!

Hi Dor

Thanks a lot of the info! Will check them out this on Sat. Hope they are not full yet. Saw that there's quite a lot in TPY from the website, now is determining which one is suitable.

Am considering nanny as well, but checking out the costing now. If any of you has contacts of any good nanny staying in TPY, let me know.

Talking abt storage space, that's my next headache. The baby room has no cupboard or wardrobe now! and now is not the right time to "install" furniture, thanks to the old saying of elders. Got to do it after I deliver. Will probably put baby's stuffs in Toyogo box first.

Hi Dolphin

I bought the medela electric pump, recommended by a fren. Electric is supposedly better than manual. Bought the pigeon steriliser set at Taka Baby Fair over the week coz they were having promotion.

wow.. a lot of happenings here.. was busy hence no time to read the threads..

MTB, basically like CG says many things are unnecessary. very soon u'll learn to make full use of whatever u have esp when u have space contraints.

i dun use playpen cos no space. BB sleeps with me on the bed and change on the bed. Easiser for me to breastfeed too. i use medela electric pump, very good n not painful. To maintain your milk, ensure bb latch on well and u have adequate rest and eat well and enough. Dun worry abt going back to your pre-pregnancy as yet. I realise when I eat lesser, my milk supply reduces.

As for milk storage, u'll find in the Sprees in this forum, there r such things called milk bags. There's 2 brands selling here. One with Lansinh (forget spelling) n Playtex. They r much cheaper than medela or pigeon or avent (those 25bags costing $15-$25). I'm using playtex. It's about 100pcs in a box. Once I pump and pour the milk into the bag, I just use a rubber band to tie it up then freeze it. When I need to use it, i'll put it into the lower section to thaw. Very good to use.

I use plastic storage boxes with covers for toys. U can find many selection at Togoyo Lor 8.

nail clippers, I use normal small ones. U'll need some practice there cos their nails are very soft in first 2 mths. best to wear mittens.

no need to get too many clothes cos they outgrow fast, just make sure u get larger sizes so they can wear it for a longer period.

btw, MTB, have u already bought a infant car seat?

I actually reserved mine for my cousin but he said he just bought it. U want?

hey CG, tks alot for all the information.will get some of the items u mentioned like gripe water etc. U mean the supplement really helps to improve breastmilk production? =)hehe
wow we have an expert in cutting nails here! CG must give me tips manz.. so i can just purchase a small one not necessary baby size nail clipper rite?their nails are so flimsy,so scary... hehe

Hi Miin, u mean there is a spree here that sells milk bags?can find out if the milk bags are reuseable after given to BB?
So far i only got clothes for >6mths, i super KS leh.haha.. as for newborn only gt 1-2sets... my mom said i siao.. haha..if bb got nothing to wear then just wrap with blanket first since the first 3mths he will grow super fast.. rite?

hmm..tink practise makes perfect..i need to learn hw to bf my baby..kind of feel weird.. sorry ah..me still not used to the idea yet.think i still have lots to learn from all of u. =)

hi Miin,

how big is the infant car?can only put till how heavy?hehe..
sorry ah..me like came from forest..hehe..tis dunno tat dunno.. sigh

Dolphingal, dun be so apologetic leh...it is
normal to find out more 1st time mother mah....i
was like u too when i 1st preg infact is good to
noe in details u wont loose out anything.
Frankly i am still learning as each growing
stage there sure to hv new challenges.

MTB, it's definitely for infant. i dunno until how heavy as it's given to me. It's in recline position so at least until baby can sit. It's Graco brand so u can check out in the store.. actually i dun have a car so i use it for baby to sit at home while i'm feeding at times. now my father brought out an ancient high chair, she sits n eats at the table with us loh..

as for the from forest part, i was like u too.. worst my first pregnancy in jakarta, seldom go online n there's limited choices there... so i'm very very sua ku one... only when i came back, i started absorbing all the new things... so dun worry, u'll learn..

MTB
Graco Infant Car Seat is up to 9kgs. Sometimes at hm, Sha still sits on her infant car seat as her rocker.... hee hee!

wow...CG &amp; Miin, u two are really innovative!!hehe..ok.will keep that in mind. =)

hmm.. tks alot for the encouragement..it's not easy to handle baby esp on ur own without much help.=) i really hope i can do so. *scare++*

tks for all the information. another thing i would like to find out is, during confinement, any mommies actually drink wine?as in chinese wine &amp; eat those ginger cook food &amp; still breastfeed?=) heard from a doc fren that it's not advisable to drink wine when one is breastfeeding.. is it true?i mean i wld like some opinions from experience moms.. hehe..thank u so much.

Dolphingal, for me i consumed as long as it is not over eating. Your confinement lady shld be able to advise u when to drink the chinese liquor too. Basically take things one at a time...everything will be fine. Me too was handling my gal alone after my confinement lady left while am still on maternity. Initially panic as usual but slowly got use to bby's habit, tks awhile to know. My hub travels often hence sometime am left wif my gal for a wk or more....feel helpless at time but luckily my in-laws r there to help at time. Is good to have some help and support from bth your families. I'd always envy those mummies who has their mom or inlaw to help looking after their bb is a blessing and this shldnt be taken for granted.

MTB
As for me, I cannot consume Chinese liquor.
My hb prepared confinement meals for me, and I felt so "high" even though he just put a bit.
Followed by slight rashes for a couple of days.

For ginger, it was too heaty for me.
I developed sore throat after 2 weeks.

According to my gynae, confinement meals is not necessary.
Most important is to have a balanced and healhty diet.
He even advised me not to listen to old folks etc: not to shower.
Hygiene is very important since we have to carry our bbs.

No worries. After 1-2 weeks you will get used of taking care of your bb alone.
When bb sleeps, you try to sleep.
Don't worry too much about daily housechores.
Only when you have sufficient rest, you will have the patience and energy to take care of him.

Btw, if u are getting a stroller, do get those you can open and close with one hand.

Dolhpingal, adding on to wat CG had mentioned abt doing hse chores if ur hub hv the time to help up it'll be good but somehow couples may quarrel due trivial matters such as who's suppose to wash toilet, clean the floor etc....for me i engage a PT cleaner come once a wk to help me up. It really mks a diff.
By taking care of your baby alone will mk u slim down faster haha look at the brighter side...
Stroller am currently using COMBI wif adjustable position (impt feature to have), adjustable handle, light and portable. I'd been using since my gal is born. However, 2 draw back the wheels r small, hence not v stable for new born tense to be bumpy and the other one is the basket below is too small hence cant put much stuff in there.

hi dor,
i'm sure the CL will know what to do,just that i'm afraid my bb cant take the it if i were to consume liquor when I'm bf. My doc fren told me it's not advisable.. hence just wan to find out if there is any of you who drank &amp; still can bf? just want to share.. hehe..

CG, i'm sure the gynae sure tell u everything is fine.. actually me too.. dun really believe in not showering for days!dun tink i can take it.
thanks CG 4 the tips.. i already gt a stroller, think it's important esp when u wan to do marketing.. another thing.. any idea where to get those protective sheet that can cover the stroller if it rains? coz year end sure rainy season.. just want to get one when i bring him out. tks!

Dolphingal, fyi bb suffering fm jaundice is a no no to ginger, other then tat for me the rest i consumed as per norm and still breastfeed. Docs always advise not to listen to old wives tale but i believe there r some truth in it no matter wat. Believe u'd heard Zoe Tay followed strictly thru out her confinement. To play safe i follow some not all haha! I showered and washed my hair on the 3rd day of confinement liao cant tk it furthermore mine was during March v hot ah! U r lucky urs yr end weather will be v nice n cool heehee!
U can get the rain protective sheet fm Kiddy Palace, i got it there it comes in few colors too quite cute, havnt use becomes white elephant liao heehee!
Most mummies will concentrate keeping their new born body warm however, some neglected bb head and feet. As new born still dun hv much hair hence good to wear a hat when go to air-con plcs. Always keep bb feet warm wif socks specially during the nite. Day time can air it lah otherwise 'chowchow' dun 4get to air his little hands too.

thanks dor.
Will go to kiddy palace &amp; take a look..
oh dear.. jaundice is common?is there anyway to prevent it?sometimes i see those small littles ones have to be pricked.. i so heart pain.. haiz..guess it's part of the investigation.

guess most items are available there.. like the hat for newborn.will go take a look..
my fren advise that i shouldnt buy so much coz after birth,many ppl will send me gifts.. if by then i din get wat i wan then i buy still not too late.. is it true?

Dolphingal, very true listen to the expert haha! Buy 2pcs plus bb head will grow cant wear for long either. Jaundice v common as wat CG mentioned. my gal got it gotta stay in hospi o/nite then I was so worried even knowing tat is common. Again 1st time mom is like tat kancheong.
R u planning to use nappy during the 1st few mths? My case i started using when bb comes home coz then got CL to tk care of the laundry hence no worries, it helps to save a little $ on diaper. Usually CL will prefer to use diapers coz wear and throw mah dun hv to wash heehee!

tat's true... coz my CL also told me to use diapers.. but i'm quite keen for nappy.. but my fren told me that first 2 wks cant use nappy as the umbilical havent drop off yet.. so i'm still tinking.. i havent bought nappy.. which brand is gd?saw a few brands.. annakku &amp; one more cant rememeber.. they shld be all e same rite?
how much shld i get dor for a start?

my CL suggested diapers but i ignore her. i used annakku nappy and liners (cheaper hee!)plus some hand down (Johnson brand) fm my gf. They r basically the same however, gd ones like Johnson for example texture is gentle and smoother to bb bottom. Please note liners for normal days can be washed and reused again, for a few times unless there's poo on it. Buy 1-2 boxes each will do think got 12 pcs in a box can use for a long long time.