TOA PAYOH mummies

thanks Dor.. havent been to other disney places so cant compare. anyway will wait till they r older to understand n appreciate the place la..
maybe will go to msia instead..

my friend recently went to Palm Beach Sofitel in JB. She told me there was a snatch n run episode that took place in the hotel breakfast lounge and during the breakfast rush hour. Scary..

CG,
She still has v little and fine hair thou.....jus like her dad heehee! Am waiting for her hair to grow longer n thicker so that i can doll her up jus like your sweet little princess.

Dor, wed b4 ah gong came to pick chloe, she kept wanting to follow aleesha.. haha.. felicia told her to stay near the cots but she stood at aleesha stroller.. hehe.. then ah gong appeared..

oh have u shaved Chloe's hair yet?? Aleesha dropping hair.. my sil said after shaving it'll grow thicker and better..

Miin,
Really so cute, guess she likes Aleesha being so responsive & always puts on a smile on her face. I ever thot of shaving Chloe's hair but ah already so little liao afraid shave off mus wait for quite a while to grow bk. She din shave hers since birth. Btw, is norm to shed hair coz new ones r sprouting out dun worry...happens to Chloe when she's ard Aleesha's age.

Actually last time my son has hair like aleesha but the hair dropped so much until some hair long n some hair so short.. haha.. worse than balding so we shave off. Now he has very thick n strong hair. I'll wait till Aleesha's hair dropped until really jialak then i cut.. hehe..

my mom keeps 'brain-wash' my baby.. 'tell mama to cut your hair la.. long n short not nice'.. then my father goes 'put some olive oil.. so hair will grow thick n nice'.. haha...

maybe u can try olive oil for hair.. it works on me. My hair used to be like Chloe's when young..

Miin & Dor

I just called the Toa Payoh West CC, the registration for the baby contest closed liao leh..

CG, I have the English Julia Gabriel VCD, the one with red, yellow, green and blue? bear, if you want, I can lend to you.. The Montessori phonics and Leapfrog phonics you have, are they good? you see any difference in your girl?

CG & Miin, what type of huggies did you order? thought of trying out the pull up pants... Im using drypers (XL) for my girl. btw, im trying to potty train my girl (18mths), not yet succeed.. any tips anyone?

heard of this? they got events on 2 weekends starting from last week and this weekend..looks interesting...
Night Festival @ The National Museum of Singapore
http://www.nationalmuseum.sg/

Sabrina
Can you help me to make a copy? Will collect from u. Let me know thanks. My girl prefers the Montessori phonics, maybe because her sch is also using. She is using Huggies pull pants for day, and Huggies ultra for night.

Dor,
my gal, Leticia is 16mo and like chloe she has very fine and little hair. and becos she looks like my hb, a lot of ppl mistake her for a boy. at least chloe looks like a gal. i also didnt shave her hair cos so little at birth to shave. anyway i persoanlly believe that w/o shaving the hair will still grow well. fortunately for leticia, her hair lenght is quite even, not patchy altho the top and front part is still scanty compared to the back.

msia ia actually not save. i was told that the some policemen there are snatch thieves when not in uniform. and heard of cases where some thieves are very bold, they jus snatch handbags off ladies' laps while the ladies are eating. and once a fren was robbed in broad daylight with a pair of shears pointed at her. we were thankful that nothing of this sort happend to us when we were in KL.

re potty training, i'm also training my gal to use the toilet as i'm not keen to wash the potty after a big biz is done. i was told that some kids need a lot of time to toilet train especially when they attend playschool.

Where can I get the Montessori and Julia Gabriel CDs?? Not too keen on VCD/DVD as I already have Leapfrog DVD.

Sabrina, frankly I started toilet training for my son since 18mths but until he was 2+, almost 3 yrs then he can tell me he wants to pee/poo. Even now he's 3 yrs 3 months, he's still wearing diapers in CCC and sleeping. Daytime at home he's fine. I'm told girls are faster than boy n my gal still baby so cant tell u much. But dun give up if your gal still can't do it. Stop for a while n try again some time later.

I ordered Dry COmfort M for my gal n XL for my boy. They ran out of stock for pull up pants. I only use pull up when my son is in school. Diapers for sleeping. I tried Huggies Dry before and find that it'll disintegrate when it's too heavy and leave crystallised things on the skin. Hopefully Comfort is better. Pull up is ok.

miin,
it's not easy to toilet train right? a mum told me that it's tough to toilet train her 2yo boy cos have a lot of cleaning up to do when he didnt tell that he wanna pee/poo. but lately getting better. i hope i have the patience to toilet train my gal.

Sabrina - thanks for the info!

Char & Miin - I leave potty training to my bbysitter heehee! as she's gonna spend more time wif my gal. I actually tried to put my gal on the potty last time but she refuses n cryed....read somewhere tat inorder to get them farmiliarise let the child play wif the potty or leave it out there so tat they r used to seeing it.

CG - re the NDP preview on 2 aug, u mean its open to public and anyone can seat freely @ the performance area? I'll sms u if we r going.

Leapfrog DVD seems quite popular among mommies ... i hvnt come across perhaps shld go to Popular n chk it out.

CG, wanna check with u where's the tortoise feeding place at Toa Payoh gardens? may wanna bring my son there tomorrow.. feed with white bread is it??

Dor, Leapfrog dvd is not avail in spore.. the mummies all purchased them from amazon.com or other us sites..

Char, i cant remember how many times i clean up my son's pee.. as for poo.. he actually learnt to tell me earlier so always rush to the potty or toilet. got a few occasions, he cant tahan n kena his shorts. Important thing to remember is toilet training cant be forced. It's just a lot of reminders. I literally remind my son now every half hour or an hour. If by 1-2 hrs, he still doesnt tell me, i'll bring him to toilet n sshhh him..

just saw this..

Borders Books & Movies Fair Friday 8 August - Sunday 10 August 2008
10am - 9pm daily
Singapore Expo Hall 4B Join us at the Singapore Expo for the first Borders Books & Movies Fair this August!

Look out for our Hot Prices on a wide selection of quality bargain books for kids, on cooking, hobbies, travel and more from just $4.95.

Find an array of fiction reads from $4, VCD and DVD titles from $4.90, stationery and many more.

Plus exclusive Expo Hot Buy items not to be missed!

There's a show 'The Rainbow Fish', recommended by my son's CCC. It's supposed to be very good for 2 yrs up. I'm thinking of bringing my son to watch. if get 4 tickets, it's $17 per person. Anybody interested for 1 Sept 11.30am show?? u can check the details at www.sistic.com.sg

Hi Dor,
If you dont mind, you can borrow from the Leapfrog DVD at the Toa Payoh library which I did. But do check the surface of the DVDs cos some of the qualities are in quite bad condition (scratches around) and cannot be played.

FYI, you need to be a premium member of the library to borrow the CDs/DVDs @ an annual fee of $21 (if I am not wrong). Being a premium member also allows you to borrow up to 8 books during non school hoildays, comparing to 4 for normal library member.

Hi! Joan,
thxs for the info! Sad and shy to say tat am not a libary person kekeke! Cant remember when was my last visit to the libary mann....mus be years bk. Perhaps i'll need to re-visit again when my gal is older (excuses).

Miin
I am keen. Since 1 Sept Mon, Sha is having sch holiday. Child need to pay? The turtle pond is at the Toa Payoh park itself, I normally bring white bread to feed them.

Dor
Last yr I went Esplanade open space area to watch. No tickets required.

Minn
Are we able to get 1st or 2nd row of seats on that day? The sch already bought the tickets? Or we need to book the tickets ourselves?

CG, child same price as adult.
dats y hoping to gather more mummies.. hehe.. that's the reason y i'm going on 1sept, cos of teacher's day. i'll wait till mon to see if more mummies wanna join.

Toa Payoh mummies, anyone wanna join us for The Rainbow Fish (55 mins)

Venue: Alliance Francise (Newton MRT)
Time: 11.30am
Date: 1 Sept (Teacher's Day - school close)
Price: $19 per person (adult or child)- hopefully can get cheaper if more r joining

1) Miin & Rasheed
2) CG & Sha
5)

More details here
http://www.sistic.com.sg/portal/dt?dt.isPortletRequest=true&dt.action=process&dt.provider=PortletWindowProcessChannel&dt.windowProvider.targetPortletChannel=JSPTabContainer/sEventsCalendar/Event&dt.containerName=JSPTabContainer/sEventsCalendar&dt.windowProvider.currentChannelMode=VIEW&dt.window.portletAction=RENDER&contentCode=rainbow0908#discountAnchor

<font size="+1">SEVEN projectors at the NATIONAL MUSEUM and THREE at the Art Museum. The illumination changes every three minutes and runs from 9pm until 2am on this Friday and Saturday, FREE ADMISSION!</font>

actually my fren's gal was potty trained when 3mo by her nanny and when she was at crawling stage, her gal would crawl to the toilet for her potty, so cute. and now that she's nearly 2yo, she can more or less tell when asked if wanna poo or pee. i'm a lazy mum, i only put her on the toilet seat when shower time. guess i should do that at every diaper change.

TPY garden, is it opp the interchange?

Received a call from the Huggies Supplier. Said Huggies Pull Pants L size OSS. Have to wait for another week then can arrange for delivery. <font color="ff6000">Miin, yours ok?</font>

Something interesting to share after an article on <font size="+1">HOW TO BE A GOOD PARENT?</font>

<font color="ff6000">Don't fall into the trap of believing that academic excellence is all about studying hard.
Happy, well-balanced children whose parents are engaged in their lives are much more likely to develop a love of learning.</font>

<font color="119911">Be careful not to impose our own interests on our children.
We should be more concerned with giving them every available tool. Let them learn using their natural talents and potentials in order to help them discover all they can be.</font>

<font color="0000ff">An inability to read well early can hamper a child's success for years, with sadly predictable results.
Creates a home environment where children enjoy reading, and we make an effort to read to them, read together with them!</font>

well guess we need to have patience for potty training. I ask my mum how she did it for us last time. She said everytime put me on the potty lor. After I wake up, after I eat.. I will have to ask my maid to help me on tat as I will be working during the day..

CG, I will make a copy for you. I hope I can do it by this week. Will pm you.

For the Leapfrog DVD &amp; other Leapfrog products, I know of a mummy here is selling leh.. anyone interested, I can pm her.

brought my girl to the baby contest today.. she won 3rd prize..haha really didnt expected it lor.. coz the babies need to be 'tested' by the doctor. Like for mine, the lady doc give her some wooden block to play but my girl didnt want to play... also asked her to call mama and papa but keep quiet only.. the only plus pt would be she wave gd bye and 'fly kiss' the doc! anyway overall its quite fun...think my girl enjoy it bah..=)

Congrats Sabrina! Called the CC but need pre-reg so din go in the end. Can u also give me the contact for the Leapfrog dvd? My sil n friend might be interested.

CG, i order Dry Comfort - 3M, 2XL n pull-up pantz 2XL. At first the hb called to say pantz XL OOS but the rest ok. When he delivered on Fri, oni have 1XL but M still 3packs.

Din managed to go TPY garden over the weekend. I went to the toys fair at Taka though. Bought a Thomas trolley bag n Thomas cushion covers n James pillow for my son. Quite good deals but too crowded. Cant maneuver strollers inside.

How's everybody's weekend?

CG, thanx for the quote. I like this one..
Be careful not to impose our own interests on our children.
We should be more concerned with giving them every available tool. Let them learn using their natural talents and potentials in order to help them discover all they can be.

Was in fact discussing with my hb on this topic as I was telling him I would like to bring my kids around to experience different things n he jokingly tells me that he can imagine me arranging all the activities for my kids n when they grow up, they wont follow me anymore. Actually I disagree. I just wanna let them experience different things now so they have more variety of choices when they grow older. Their viewpoints will not be so narrow and more aware. It's not like I'll force them to take on interests that I like when they r older. Since they r too young to make decisions, I just like them to experience a variety of things. I hope I dun become a kiasu mum. I dun have opportunity to have much exposure when i was a kid, I just wanna let my kids do so. Not sure how many of u mums are going thru such feelings.

Anymore mummies? Can let me know by today?

CG, i'm booking the tickets on my own not thru the school. Hopefully can still get good seats.

Can I have CG &amp; Starlight's contact?

Venue: Alliance Francise (Newton MRT)
Time: 11.30am
Date: 1 Sept (Teacher's Day - school close)
Price: $19 per person (adult or child)- hopefully can get cheaper if more r joining

1) Miin &amp; Rasheed
2) CG &amp; Sha
3) Starlight74 &amp; XY
5)

Sabrina - Congrats! U mus be v excited and happy! Post ur lovely daughter pix we wanna see her beau face (<_=) Btw, please pm me am interested in the Leapfrog products.

CG - thanks for sharing the happenings and articles.

Mummies, please lemme noe if u come acorss someone who wants to sell their flat in TPY area (3-4 rms). Am helping my relative to look out for one. Many thanks!

Miin
Personally I won't spend extra $ for any enrichment programs like music movement, piano,dancing....
I will wait when she is much older, can hint/tell me what she really enjoys then I will consider to enrol lessons for her.
Variety of exposures can also inclusive a visit to Zoo/Bird Park, sandplay and waterplay at Sentosa or parks, arts n craft at hm and etc.
Variety of activites, best to involve their 5 senses and PIES (Physical, Intelligence, Emotional, Social)
I am more concerned about her socialisation and independence, which I find it very important for her to be able to interact with others, and able to express well, and able to make own decisions, solve problems.
That is why I send her to playgroup program once she turns 18mths.
Had PM you my contact.

Thanks CG, pm u too.

Actually by exposure, I dun mean paying for all those classes. More or less like what you are doing. However I would like (but not compulsory) for my hb's participation. In this aspect, he's not so motivated la... I accept that. Just wish I can do more for my kids..

Miin, same same here ler....gotta be a KS mom build a good foundation for our young ones specially education std now is tough mann! SAHM has advantage over FTWM as quality time r well spend wif the children, teaching n playing. My gf (FTWM) was sharing wif me tat she regretted not sending her daughter to phonics classes when she was younger. She chances into some pri sch text and gotta shock the standard is much higher then she expected....sigh!
My colleagues &amp; friends gotta took leave to teach and monintor their kids when exam is coming...is as if they r sitting for the exam too! hahaha!

sabrina,
congrats to u and your little gal.

dor,
too bad i sold my current 3rm flat, else your relative can take an interest in it. i'll be moving to central (4rm) once the renovation is done.

miin,
i hate the standard of education here, too high and too much pressure on the kids. sometimes i entertain thoughts of migrating to NZ where the pace is slower. i've a fren's sister who migrated there with her kids as she too dislikes the education system here and i guess she knows better as she was a teacher. there are times where i wonder if i'm being too relaxed as i dun really read to my gal as much as i should. i just let her watch some educational dvds, and play by herself. i'm just a lazy mum......tsk tsk!

Char, how much did u pay for your 4rm? Me looking for a place too, either 3 or 4 rm.. Which block in central r u moving to?

Dun worry, I'm also a lazy mum.. maybe not that lazy, more like no time/energy since i'm a FTWM. hehe.. my son watches TV once he's back from CCC while he plays. I just try to do more activities when I can (so I won't feel so guilty when I look back.. hahaha..)

Starlight, no worries..

hey any mummies in facebook?? great for networking..

Char &amp; Miin - Me too din spend much time wif my gal, everyday after infantcare i'll feed her dinner while she's watching tv prog or edu dvd, thereafter am busy cleaning up the hse n washing her clothings. By then when everything is done, it'll be here last feed again haha! Sometime am worried she's spending too much time infront of the tv set hence trying to cut dwn hopefully she wont fuss over it too much heehee!

Miin - My bby sitter is selling her 4rm flat jus abv the infantcare if u r interested sms me we'll arrange visit. Me in Facebook too which email u r using?

Sabrina - no pix no sound fm u after ur daughter won 3rd prize. U mus be busy with those model/ad agenceis that come looking for ur daughter to post for them.

CG - we r planing to visit the NATAS travel fair this coming Saturday @ 2pm, u keen to come along? Most likely we'll go in the mth of Nov or Dec 08 if we found a gd package.

Any mummies interested in the Cruise thingy, the more the merrier!

Hey Dor, same same la.. TV will be on for my son n hb will carry Aleesha and between us, finish dinner, wash up, pack for next day. Will try to finish all by 9pm so spend an hour with kids b4 bedtime.

your babysitter moving to where?? ask for me leh.. how much she asking for? I thot blk 201 is 3rm? upraded with 1 extra room issit?

u can use my hotmail for facebook la.. any other mummies with facebook??

<font color="ff0000">The Little Skool-House OPEN HOUSE</font>

15 Aug 2008, 10am to 7pm
The Little Skool-House At-OCBC-Centre ; The Little Skool-House At-Thomson

16 Aug 2008, 10am to 4pm
The Little Skool-House On-the-Green ; The Little Skool-House At-the-Hub ; The Little Skool-House By-the-Vista ; The Little Skool-House On-the-Hill and The Little Skool-House At-Thomson

Theme: Tots Go Green!
- Recycling Fun!
- "No Sweat Parenting" - an interesting Parenting talk (selected centres only- please call for more details on location &amp; timings)

Enrol at the Open House and enjoy
Waiver of $107 registration fee*
$100 discount off full-day pre-school programmes*
$40 discount off half-day pre-school programmes*
$20 enrichment voucher*
Welcome Gift* (upon enrolment only)
$300 discount off infant care full-day programme* (at By-the-Vista centre only)
*Terms &amp; Conditions apply

Admission is Free!

Call us 6391 9244/ 6391 9248 or email [email protected] for more information !
www.littleskoolhouse.com

Dor
Can't join you this Sat. I might be going to another playdate or maybe let my gal take a longer afternoon nap at home as we are bringing her to see fireworks!
I'm bringing her to Batam 1-day trip mid of next mth with my parents and siblings.
Besides TV, you can try music CD, eat together with her, let her learn how to self-feed etc.

Date: 1 Aug, Fri
Time: 4-6pm
Venue: Fidgets @ Turf City
5)
6)
7)
8)

miin,
my new 4rm flat at central costs $298k, its the new blocks of flats opp interchange.

i also use the tv as a sitter when i'm busy with housework. hi5 will keep my gal glued to the tv and to her seat.

re: cruise
i'll give it a miss.

CG,
thnx for the info on littleskoolhouse. btw, i dun see the location for the one at Lor 1 in their website. i'll email them to enquire.

Char
I normally do housework when she is napping. had managed to train her to wait for me while I am cooking her meals. My kitchen is an open concept, hence can't stop her from entering into it. Bascially kitchen is child-safe corner with cabinets latches, stove knobs. That is a big difference after having a child... the whole house from cozy concept to child-care centre.. haha!