Support group - Miscarriages

Hello everyone (*smile*)

Heres the sad but wonderful story of my little bb that I lost yesterday. I write this, not because it helps me to grief or indeed put a closure to this event, but because I feel that my bb deserves a hearing. Apart from a few immediate family members and the medical staff that we encountered, no one will ever have an inkling that my little one ever existed. He or she will never even be part of any official statistics. Therefore, I will be my bbs voice. I want my bb to have touched and tasted, I want my little one to leave a mark in this world. This is the life of my lost bb.

I conceived fairly early in our attempts. Besides the positive pregnancy test, there were other classical symptoms of conception: breast tenderness, nausea, backache. I thought and hoped that things would progress well.

Then the spotting started. Sporadic orange stains that turned brown over a couple of days. I was cautious and concerned but not unduly worried the occurrence was common and I had medical assurance.

The crampy pain began after 4 in the morning yesterday. It felt like menstrual contractions, not a good omen. I took note of the pain in a haze. Physically, I knew I tossed and turned in an attempt to sooth my tummy and not to strain the muscles. I hoped, I prayed that it was just a tummy upset. Mentally, I think I blocked out the ugly implications. I had only seen my GP last Friday and the referral to an antenatal hospital was not even processed. There was no professional help at hand I could think of even if I had considered seeking it.

The pain was ebbing but still felt when I awoke later in the morning. I told hubby but played down the scenario. I did not want him to be overly concerned I think he was grim. I forced myself to lie on the couch till just past 9 am. I couldnt help it anymore. In the washroom, I felt and saw the blood. I knew I needed immediate attention and started calling hubbys hospital to contact him. He had just started a new rotation two weeks ago and the systems were not updated. Transferred from one department to another, cut off abruptly, refused help rudely, unanswered calls I held onto the phone for nearly an hour while calling the GP and the A&E hotline with my cellphone. I left my house for the A&E at 10.

The london cab driver actually took me to the wrong hospital, just a short detour from the correct address. Finally got to the A&E, there was barely a queue (thank God!) and I was attended to within hour. The SHO assured me and as there was no bodily discharge of tissue I felt safe for a while. Ironically, there were a couple of Chinese anagrams along with their English translation on the wall: hope, heart, love, family. I managed to speak to hubby. He was rushing to us.

After 11 am, the SHO managed to arrange for an emergency ultrasound scan for 11:40. I was given a litre of cold water that I drank in 10 minutes, sitting by myself along a cool corridor. It made me shiver for a full 5 minutes but I was determined that I would fight for us all the way. I then made my way to x-ray. As I walked, I felt the blood started to flow again, more like a gush this time. I wanted to scream, to yell, to beg for my childs life but like a zombie, I found and stood in front of the ultrasound reception, waiting. Then I felt something slipped. It was so awful. I clutched my tummy to try to stop it, clenching my pelvic muscles. At the washroom (third along the corridor), I saw the life flowed out of me, my body discharging the gestational sac along with my bb. It was whole, very clean and I had the crazy notion that I should pick it up so my hubby could see our bb too. I tried to call him from within the cubicle but there was no reception. I opened the door and tried to wave down a doctor or a nurse, anyone. It was crazy, I did not know what was right or wrong only that this was not right! My bb is in the toilet bowl. After 5 minutes (I think), I took a last look and flushed my bb away, along with a piece of my heart.

I sat in a daze waiting for my scan. Sat at the x-ray sector where I noticed people were changing into hospital gowns. Wondered if I had to do the same and then found an empty seat outside the scanning labs. In the lab, I tried to tell the technician what happened. She saw my face and knew and did a stomach scan. Couldnt see much so I was told to empty my bladder for a vaginal scan. My hubby arrived then. The v. scan did not show any signs of gestation. I will never know if that was because the sac had already been expelled or otherwise. I was told to expect continued bleeding for up to 10 days and to follow up this incident with our GP. We took the report given and walked home, hand in hand, our bb gone away from us forever.

Along the way, life goes on unchanged, untouched. I know I would recover and look forward to trying again. But I also know I would never forget my beautiful little one, the life that was not meant to be, the joy he/she has given us. My bb was only 35 days old (+ 2 weeks) but made us three.

Hi snuffles,

**HUGS** sorry to hear about your loss. Hope you will gain strength in sharing this story and also comfort in discussing with people who have gone through similar experiences.

Time will heal no doubt but I hope you will take your time to get well, both physically and emotionally.

folic

Dear snuffles. I just want to hug you! Very sorry to hear your loss. I'm so sorry.

Dear all, today is my baby's 1 month death anniversary & my hubby & I are getting better each day. Thanks for all your support.

Hi snuffles
A note written is an indication of acceptance. I am sure you will be blessed with another soon.

Hi silk,
Glad you and hubby are feeling better...

Hi Snuffles,

Do take care and God will bless you.

Hi Linda,

How are you? How's your little princess? When are you going to deliver?

Hi snuffles,
*sniff*..sorry about your lost.. nothing pains more than seeing your little one drifting away from you. please take good care of yourself.

Dear Snuffles,
So sorry to hear about your story. I understand. For 8 weeks, I felt as if there were 3 of us my husband, my baby and me living together. When the m/s happened, after my d & c, I felt as if the life was taken away and gone forever. It was like a death in the family. Although I am pregnant and due soon, I still feel the loss of my 1st baby. I don't even know the sex of it! On 26th Feb, it will be its 1st death anniversary. I will remember it and have been offering prayers regularly that it will be reborne in a better family.

Do mourn for it and close the chapter. Pick yourself up. Meanwhile, you should take gd care of yourself so that you can try 3 months later. I am sure you will be like me, to conceive again after that..

Thank you for all your kind words. Although this feels like a fresh bleeding wound, I know it has started to heal and I'm beginning to accept what cannot be. I read all the postings yesterday and I gain strength from what you've been through. You are a bunch of strong and caring ladies - such warmth for a stranger like me! I am very grateful.

Physically I feel very well. There is some but very little bleeding and I can feel my uterus contracting now and then. I need to ask you something: what sort of confinement food did u eat? I'm living in London with hubby so basically I have to do the cooking myself. What ingredients do u use?(available from an ang moh supermarket only). Are there any no-nos?

Visited the GP yesterday and she gave me a leaflet for a m/c support group here in London. The website is miscarriageassociation.org.uk - there are a lot of pamplets u can download for free and it is very informative. Maybe this can help someone too. She also said that there is no reason to wait before trying again although it could be best after 1 cycle (so the uterus is "clean" when u conceive and u can tell the bb's age better).

I wish I would be able to post my success story here soon.... but can I ask some of u this: how did u cope with the fear in ur subsequent pregnancy?

Thanks again.
snuffles

Snuffles,

Sorry to hear about your story. I had a natural miscarriage too in April. Like you I saw the gestational sac, and flushing it down the loo seemed so heartless.

I'm now 8 months preggie, expecting a baby girl to make her appearance next month.Having had a previous m/c definitely made me more fearful this time round, esp in the first trimester but I've learnt to take each day as it comes.

Do take care of yourself now, hope to hear good news from you soon!

Hello worried1,

I am boostering my confidence with stories like yours. Did a quick mental sum - u must have tried successfully after 1 cycle? I feel so hopeful. :p

Dear Snuffles,

Sorry for your loss. My heart goes out to you. ((HUGS)) I'm sure you will get better each day, take your time to heal and TTC when you are ready. Meanwhile, do take care of yourself.

Hi Snuffles,

For confinement, I basically ate a lot of food cooked with sesame oil and ginger. Some dishes include steam fish with ginger, fried veg with sesame and ginger, fried chicken with soya sauce, sesame and ginger (u get the idea? :D) I am sure you can get those in London chinatown or something. Avoid cooling stuff like cold drinks, pineapple etc.

Do take care. Try also not to overstrain yourself these few weeks. It will help the uterus heal better.

folic

Dear Snuffles,
Sorry about your loss. Every story is different, but we all share a common bond in here. i've gained so much strength from everyone here & i'm sure you will too. That really helps when you finally decide to start trying again, so don't worry about your subsequent pregnancy yet. as for me, we've been trying for 3 cycles after my d&c but so far, no results...i continue to draw strength and hope from the numerous success stories here.
Take care
Tiny

oh yes, bebechic, i haven't congratulated you! i am looking forward to the day where i'll be able to hear my baby's heartbeat loud & clear like u!

Hi ecbaby and Tiny, thanks for your encouragement. Tiny, let's work harder so we can have some good news soon yah?

Hi folic, I get the idea.
Went to sainsburys and found sesame seed oil under "International Exotic Cuisine" - made me smile for the first time in days.

Hi snuffles,
Don't worry too much. You will definitely feel better in the days ahead. Talk to us. We are here for you.

Last Thursday, I went to visit a friend who just gave birth 1.5 months ago. She was very nice and let me carry her baby. This is the first time I carried such a small baby and warmth poured all over me. It felt so good.
Her husband took many photos of her delivery, even took photo of the placenta!! I can't help comparing how my placenta look like, hers was red and bloody, mine was purple and kinda dry.
She asked me if in my next pregancy I wan to go to her gynae. Her gynae is Dr Kowa. From this forum I heard alot abt Dr Kowa. perhaps after my loss, I'm very careful with the selection of gynaes.

ok enough said. going back to work..... sianz today is Sat, but still have to work....

Hey I forgot to wish you all HAPPY VALENTINE'S DAY!!!!

So how are you gals going to celebrate???

Later my hubby and I are going to catch a movie, then going to my mum's place for dinner. Guess you know what both of us will be doing tonight. hehehe

hello snuffles,

glad you can take it with a good stride. i did not go through any confinement because my mum simply did not care. only on the day of my lost, my fren cooked one whole pot of sesame oil chicken with ginger. i really appreciated it but couldn't finish the whole pot. so i take chicken of essence everyday for a month. nothing else. i love chix essence. i believe you can get it in london??

to tell you the truth, everybody here will be scared of subsequent preg. i am so scared that i didn't even want to think about it. i waited till 7th week when i am suppose to see sumthing before i consulted a gynae. and i fear now as i am still in the first trimester, still very unstable. i continue to go pubbing, drinking etc to make myself feel "normal". because i had a healthy pregnancy before many years ago which i choose to terminate. i drank and smoke and indugle in streneous activities, but nothing happened. where else for the 2nd preg i kick all my bad habits and everything came to nothing. so i thought i should leave things as it is, dun think too much about it, maybe it will stay with me forever. keke sounds very stupid hor.

tiny,
dun worry, you will be there soon. dun give yourself too much stress in trying.it will happen when you least expected it.

java,
i want to catch along came polly, keke but dunno can still get tixs or not. me work late today. think hubby will cook instead of eating out. its a boring valentine's for me. sob.

Hi snuffles
Glad you are smiling....I really think "International EXOTIC cuisine" sounds cute... I wonder if you had read my story... I m/c in my 7th week, discharging a huge piece of blood clot in my bath tub which I assume is the gestational sac. That was very disheartening esp when we had been trying hard for 6 months and hubby was so happy abt my pregnancy. That was the first time I saw him cry.
I conceive naturally again after a one menses. We didn't really plan for one but we didn't take any precautions.
However, the test kit at Dr showed also a faint positive (like the first one) and I read that it means a pregnancy likely to end up with a m/c...what didn't help was tt the doc couldn't seen anything inside the uterus at supposedly 5 weeks.
Even throughout the pregnancy, I didn't really think abt having the luxury of holding baby in my arms. I had always fear that I will not be able to carry it to full term. When the doc show me the heartbeat, I think abt "maybe it cld be deform?". When the doc showed my the limbs, I think abt "maybe brain not functioning?" ... Of course I kept all these to myself.... But it is scary sometimes... So I keep myself sane by not really acknowledging the presence of baby until my third trimester.

Of course anything can still happen now, but I am positive that I will get to hold my girl in my arms soon... probably by end of this month... It is not easy along the way.... but snuffles, you can do it. I am sure.

Hi Java,
Oh! Your fren saw Dr Kowa also!!!
So am i... He is quite nice lor.... I just realised tt he have a lot of Indo and Taiwan women looking for him.... Maybe you like to see him too? As for V-day, sigh...hubby just out of reservist & went back to work today..so I presume he will be so overwhelmed tt I have to spent it alone... He didn't even sms or call me abt the surprise I sent to his office yesterday....wonder if he even had the time to open that.

Bebechic
Dun drink lah.... Pubbing not too bad, but jumpping around also not too healthy leh. Smoking also... Refrain lah...if really cannot quit, at least reduce.... I mean also dun wish the health of child to be affected right?
I going temple later after work, will include you in my prayers for a safe pregnancy.

linda,
thanks!! you're such a dearie. which temple you go? me always go to si ma lu the guanyin that one. anyway that aside. slowly trying to curb all my weird activities. keke. each at a time. everytime i have an urge to do so i will go to sleep to refrain myself from anything. these days my diet is extremely unhealthy, i only have appetite for fast food and nothing else. but i try to drink fruit juice to make up for that.

happy Valentines to all!

Hi Bebechic.
I found what u wrote very funny...you will sleep to refrain yourself from your activities! Haha...i love to sleep too...wish i had more time to do so!
But seriously, I think you should listen to Linda and stop yourself from drinking too much and smoking...i always read about what to do and what not to do during pregnancy (still wishing I'm pregnant lah, haha!) and every article tells you not to smoke. so i'm sure there's some truth in it lor.

Anyway, you take care and don't worry too much. we are all behind you!!!

Happy Valentine's everyone! Work hard tonight hor, Java!

hi tiny,
even my hubby finds it amusing. because everytime i will just automatically go to sleep after 10 mins of TV. since nobody knows about my pregnancy, he will go around telling everyone about my sleeping disorder. he need to take care of me etc etc. i very gross for a few time slept without bathing then end up waking up at midnight to bathe. very unhealthy. keke. yup me also trying to kick the habit, dun worry. juz that my high stress job is killing me...

aiyo so serious - sleeping disorder?!! reminds me of Rowan Atkinson's character in Rat Race! (did u see the show? so funny...) but actually i also fall alseep very easily once it hits 10pm, which is why last month i was so upset when my AF came, cos baby dance so much and so hard almost every day until really so tired (had to fight back the urge to fall asleep too earl & so many nights not enough sleep!!) and yet, didn't succeed...
this month, i decided that if it's meant to be, it will be. and my hopes are really not that high this time, more of a protective mechanism so that i won't be so disappointed if my AF comes. Only managed to BD on 3 days after my DH recovered from his flu...and like i was telling folic, dunno whether on time or not, cos by then i hardly had any EWCM anymore!!!

Hi Java,
I love the feel of a baby in my arms too! I remember holding my fren's bb boy and thinking if only I have a baby I can call my own and no one else's. It was what made me realise for the first time that I have maternal instincts after all!

BTW, have fun tonight.

Hi bebechic,
I love chix essense too. My sis always make me drink her share cos' she can't stand it.

My hubby would sit u down and give u a big lecture on why u shouldn't be drinking & smoking. A BBC programme on conceiving says that smoking will reduce ur child's fertility (male - reduced sperm count, female - poor quality eggs). U can find it on bbc.co.uk/health. I understand now it is a way of coping with your fear but I would like that you find another outlet instead. Maybe retail therapy?

Hi Linda,
Thanks for sharing. I think u are so brave - I will learn to take one day at a time.

u must be raring to see ur princess soon? Enjoy ur last few days of couplehood. I will pray that u have a good and safe delviery.

snuffles, i am so sorry and sad to read abt ur story. glad tt u are slowly picking up! take care and do come here to share any thoughts or feelings u hv. remember not to exert too much strength at present. rest well and avoid cold food and drink. drink some dom or brandy to 'heat' up ur body. but don't overdo it and get drunk or heaty!

bebechic, u must be resting real well with ur 'sleeping disorder'! hee....but pls try to control ur lifestyle yah. remember tt it's all for the gd of baby!

tiny, cross my fingers and hope u'll hv gd news to share with us soon!

i didnt come in for a few days and wow, there's so many postings! make me wonder, what on earth are all of u doing in front of the pc on v day? hee....just kidding lah. i myself was at hm but slept the whole day. went for dinner with hubby. nothing romantic though.

Snuffles...You should avoid cold stuff and drink lots of red dates tea. You go buy dried longans and dates, bring it to boil then add rock sugar. It helps build up blood lost. Eat stuff with ginger. I even bathe in water boiled in lemon grass for 1 month (like having spa treatment, I enjoyed myself). Do not carry heavy stuff. It is like a mini confinement.

I was also worried and kept asking myself if my husband or myself, either of us have abnormal sperm or egg. We rested for 3 cycles. Though I had a D& C, Dr wanted me to clear and let my womb rest before I conceive. I drank DOM too to strengthen my body.

My spotting in the first month of pregnancy also worried me. I thought something was indeed wrong somewhere with the foetus. It turned out ok so far. I will be due in about 2 - 4 weeks time. If I can do it , so can you. Take care!

Millie, thanks for the tip. I am allergic to alcohol so it will be a bit difficult to get drunk.
I have read your story and I must say I really admire your strength. I hope we'll have good news to share soon... in the mean while, I will pray for u too.

Helen of Troy, u speak my mind exactly. Alto' I really want to TTC again, there's a voice at the back of my head that says "what if?". All the medical books I've seen so far say that a miscarriage does not affect the next pregnancy but I came across a website last night that hinted that it could possibly lead to another. That made my heart sank...

Take care of yourself and best of luck! I hope your delivery will be a quick and easy one. Are u having a boy or a girl?

Hi snuffles. I'm also allergic to alcohol but for the past 1 month, I have been drinking DOM before bed & I'm fine! Cute rite? My mum even prepares XO brandy (without water) with pork for me to drink at least twice at week & I'm fine too!!! Last time, I remembered just drinking a bottle of sub-zero would make me have rashes but not during this confinement period. I guess our body lost a lot of blood during the d&c hence drinking DOM etc helps to nourish our health back.

Hi gals. My d&c was on 14/1/04 & menses came on 14/2/04. Is it normal to have heavy menses after d&c? Mine is heavier than last time before pregnancy. Pls advise. Thanks.

Snuffles,
I went to a chinese physician weekly to strengthen my body after my D& C. She prescribed herbs for me to boost my fertility.

I was on tenterhooks when I knew that I was pregnant the second round. I was afraid that it might end up in another disappointment. I get cold feet at every gynae visit. I had to go on my visits every week then it was cut down to once in 2 weeks. I had to go for weekly jabs. Every scan that I had, I was worried that the dr will spot something abnormal. I didn't even dare look at the scanned foetus.

I was so tensed when the dr took my blood for the triple test which includes the test for down's syndrome. Luckily, it was fine. I was also very tensed when I had to go for my detailed scan. Fortunately again, all was fine according to sonographer and dr.

I am expecting a boy. I am feeling better now and looking forward to my delivery. I may have to go thru a c-section as my baby has not turned. I was a bit apprehensive initially. Anyway, I told myself that if my baby is healthy, I am willing to go thru it. Be it natural delivery or c-section.What is a max of 24 hours of pain compared to the 9 months of mental and physical torturing?

Now all you have to do is to take lots of good food and build up your body. Many of my friends also went thru miscarriages but the best thing is that they managed to give birth to healthy babies subsequently. I drew inspiration from them. I hope you will do likewise.Best of luck!

Hi everyone!!

eems like the mood of discussion over the weekend has been a lighthearted one! I spent my Valentines on a plane, flying back from Dublin with a plane full load of ang mos. I was sitting at the last row of the pane and these people just kept gathering at the back and talking non stop. I could not sleep at all so I spent the entire journey turning around and telling them off :p

My menses is supposed to show up today. It is not here yet and I think it has to do with the lack of sleep and jetlag that I am experiencing. Of course, secretly, I wished that it is cos I am preg
I will test in a couple of days if it is still not here.

snuffles, glad you found sesame seed oil

Silk, I think it is normal to have a a slightly heavier first menses after D&C. Take care!!

Linda, I can't help feeling excited for you! Helen of Troy and you should compete to see who is the first graduate from this thread! :D

folic

Folic,
I think Linda will beat me to it cos her EDD is before mine...

snuffles,
yah i also read ALOT on smoking + pregnancy. keke so cutting down and quit slowly lor. i know its BAD. *VERY GUILTY*.. dun worry, unless you have 3 m/c in a row, then likely your next will be in danger. however, many gals here are on the way to giving birth already. i hope mine will be as smooth as theirs too!

helen,
actually i will just opt for C-section regardless. erm, i think i am not that brave and my threshold for pain is not that great. and i will definitely not opt for epidural because i have seen my female bosses complaining to me about their headaches and backaches due to epidural. got pros and cons lah.

folic,
we pray hard hard for you to be +ve!!

I don't know if anyone here remembers me, but I posted on this thread sometime in October 02 when i was going through D&C.

I am now pregnant again and totally paranoid. LMP=3 Jan and on Sat, i should be 6 weeks along. Funny, the u/s dated me as 5w2d and dr said i was 5w6d. any reason to that?? For the dobominal scan, we saw the sac and a tiny speck of white. She said that since we are anxious, she will do a vaginal scan to try to locate the fetal poles. We only saw the sac and nothing else. The dr said the size of the sac is consistent with 5 weeks + pregnancy and it oculd be too early to see the fetal poles. Anyone with similar experiences??

I can't help but be worried that the same thing is going to happen again. What if i don't see anything next week??? Trying not to think about it ... but it is very very hard.

Can anyone help?

Hi Heather,

congrats! I think it is norm for baby/sac size to differ by about a few days. You have also got to take into consideration your cycle length as well. Eg, for me last time, my gynae dated me earlier cos my cycle is longer. So, in normal cases, I would have been 6 weeks for eg, but she would calculate my due date etc based on 5 weeks+ cos my cycle is about 35 days.

Don't worry too much. Rest well and hope you would be able to see your baby in the next scan. Take care!

folic

congrats heather!!!

dun worry!! like wat folic said. LMP is just a gauge of your foetal's age. but not exactly accurate, even if the scan date you as 5 weeks its could be +/- 3 days. etc etc. usually heartbeat can be detected about 6 weeks onwards. so don't fret just because you haven't see yours!! at least you see specks of white within the sac! its already a good sign. hope that you can see more next visit! come bk and update us yah!

meanwhile take care!

Bebechic,

The spec was only seen on the abdominal u/s and can't be seen in the vaginal u/s. Dr said cannot detect fetal poles. BTW, what's the diameter of the sac at 7 weeks? mine is now 17.5mm (5w6d). It is weird that the more accurate scanning cannot detect anything.

Hi bebechic,
Eh...Not to encourage you, but if you can stop then it is good...but hor, to avoid the guilt thingy, Miriam Stoppard (a famous child/pregnancy book writer) has said this "Important to reduce if not stop". I realised local magazines and books tend to object a lot of things...ang mohs books tend to be more relaxed.
I go to the Guan Yin Temple there too.
And listen to your craving lor...I see no harm in fast food as long as you are stomaching food... I have some frens who couldn't eat ANYTHING and lost so much weight! At least you are eating.

Hi snuffles,
I am not brave, I am at times also affected. But we all have to go thru it.
And when the times comes, I believe you will find a way to do so too. And thanks for your prayers for my safe delivery. Doc just pronunced me likely to be due next week... I hope she doesn't come out on the 29th Feb though....

Hi Silk
It is normal to have heavier discharge for your first menses. Or at least I did. I soak my pad and bed... Dun worry abt it. Drink more hot water to warm the womb.

Hi helen,
I dunno man... EDD is not a very accurate way of seeing who's will be born soon.... Where are u delivering?

Hi Folic,
We are all crossing our fingers for you!!!!

Hi Heather
COngrats!!! LMP is not accurate. So is an early ultrasound. Most if not all of us experience this difference in dating. It doesn't matter. I saw my baby's heartbeat only in week 7+. Dun worry ah!

Heather,
According to my charts, I was dated by ultrasound at week 4 and sac measured 11mm, week 8 to be at 21mm. Dun take the dates too seriously cos for my case, the ultrasound dates me by the size of my foetal sac and not LMP....I didn't keep a chart of LMP.

Hi Silk,
good tip! I will sneak out for a bottle of Dom later on... U take care of urself and try to take things lightly. I keep telling myself that I will endure anything just to have a healthy bb this time round.

Hi Helen and Linda,
I really look forward to seeing ur bbs' photos now! Can I ask when u guys starting seeing ur gynaes when u conceived again? I guess the jabs u took were progesterone and hcg? I spoke with the doctors here and they concurred that these treatments have been used extensively in the past (dunno what that means "in the past") but there is no clinical evidence of proof. As such it is not prescribed here. There is only 1 private obs/gyn hospital in London and they do not take patients below 12 weeks pregnant except in high risk cases. There are some private practices available but their affiliations with the hospitals are unclear so any complications will be referred back to the NHS. I guess my concern is whether I would get more (if not better) attention if I were to pack up for S'pore following conception instead. Sigh!

Hi bebechic,
dun feel too guilty lah. It's all in the intention - as long as u try ur best.

Hi folic,
how was Dublin? Great place but real lousy weather.

hi Helen of Troy,
Can you tell me which chinese physician u see? I tot of seeing one.

Today I took half day leave, went shopping and eating. very shiok. Do you know after pregnancy, everything start sagging, breasts, arms, face. Now I'm resorting to firming cream, wrinkle reduction though I'm 25.

Linda,
I will be delivering at MtA.

Bebechic,
A c-section is like an op compared to natural delivery. It also takes a longer time to heal. I want to enjoy my baby instead of lying in bed and not able to do much.

Java,
I went to the Ngee Ann Traditional Medicine Centre at Balestier Rd. They prescribe real herbs and they even brew and deliver to you (but you gotta pay slightly more). Just go there and ask for a Chinese ohysician specialising in gynae. The drs there are all very experienced and from China. They have a string of credentials.You have got to be very patient and go regularly in order for it to take effect.

Hi Helen, I have a friend whose baby turned but turned back just 2 weeks before delivery. Thus, breech case. She went through a C-section. Yes, it's true that your body will take longer to heal than a natural birth, but it doesn't mean that you will be lying on the bed all the time. It depends on individuals. As long as you are not on drip, you can move around so long as you can tahan the pain. Anyway, the gynae and nurse will not want a new mother to be lying on the bed for too long. I know, coz I went through a C-section myself. And btw, the "horrors" in the 9 months of pregnancy can never be compared to the "horrors" to come when taking care of a child. Especially when our hormones will begin to create havoc also...

good morning gals,

heather i dunno what's my sac's size leh. but doc highlighted the white flickering thing and measured 10.7mm, she said its the baby. that's at 7 weeks. my last preg gynae measured the sac, this time never. anyway can see white spec on abdominal scan is good sign. don't worry, you ca definitely see things clearer next time round.

helen,
if you opt for the C-section like one or two weeks before delivery, at least you can be sure that there won't be any complications, like last minute emergency C-section etc. at least it is elective, docs can be prepared, and you too can rest your mind. i have seen people walking around few days after C-section. aiyah dunno la. but i will def opt for C-section. keke. yes it will take longer to heal la, but i also saw a few gals on the forum saying that its not really a problem. if you wish to see your baby coming out you can opt for epi + c-section too. keke shorter hours and less cost. erm sorry if i too pro C-sec.
but don't want you to feel so negative about it.
;)

Hi Java,

so shiok, take leave to go shopping and eat! I think I will do that next friday

I am having a really bad cold today and on mc... sigh!

folic

Bebechic,
Thanks for analysing the situation. Now I am not worried about the c-section. I am worried if there is any neurological/psychological defect in my baby cos he won't go head down. Do u know of anybody who has a breech baby and the baby turned out normal?

Helen, if this is of any comfort, my friend gave birth to a healthy boy. Now already 7 months old and is picking up things even faster than my girl.

Babies breech for a number of reasons. It could be that the space is not enough for it to turn around or there are something there to prevent it from turning around. All these can be seen from the detailed scanning. Most often than not, babies breech because they like it. Somehow they just prefer to be in that position, cross-legged. Dun worry yourself unnecessarily. If there is anything wrong, your gynae would have alerted you.

Dear Cyn,
Thanks for giving me another piece of comforting news...

Hi helen
Rest assured that ur baby will be normal. My baby did quite a number of somersaults during the last few weeks of my pregnancy... in the end, i delivered him thru' epidural c-section. I was awake thru' out the op and i heard his first cry!!
I was able to hold him instantly.

The c-section was not as painful as i tot... if i can survive, sure can u coz till today, i still feel "babydancing with my hubby" painful!!

dun worry abt baby not being normal when they are in breech position. i was a breech baby too and my mum managed to deliver me naturally.

Just that u hv to monitor his movement, ask ur gynae whenever u hv checkup to ensure that the cord is not wrapped around his neck.

Dear Smile,
Thanks a lot! I was a breech baby myself who was delivered vaginally too. I am more convinced that things are gonna be fine for me...
It is true that ignorance is bliss. If I had not read so much, I may not be so worried. I had a miscarriage last year and had some problems initially in this pregnancy. So I am a bit paranoid that the baby may not turn out well though the tests have shown that he is fine.

Did you have side effects after the epidural c-section?