Support group - Miscarriages

bebechic...
hehe... call up gynae and make an appt.
rembr hor... for every woman, every pregnancy they go thru is different... different symptoms, different experiences... so u cant compare wif ur previous one.

u shld be abt 6 weeks plus to 7 weeks now. if u go now, shld be able to see sac and even heartbeat. and rembr, as long as u are not spotting or bleeding, u shld be ok.
dun wori so much abt it.

go see gynae asap.

First of all, bebechic, STOP guessing and thinking negatively. Baby will feel it. Go see a gynae and settle your fears. Remember my case? When I saw Dr Kowa for the first time, I couldn't see anything in the uterus at all! But hey! Now i m 9 mths liao. Dun worry abt the symptoms, cos different women have diff symptoms. Even my first and second pregnancy symptoms are different. My boobs didn't swell at all for this one. For the first, it started swelling before I discovered the pregnancy and it didn't stopped till after my d&c. Dun worry too much for now. Go see a gynae and let us know. I will pray for you! Dun stress okie?

Hi Silk,
Yes I am seeing Dr Kowa.
My EDD is 4 March. You were asking abt his first consultation fees? I think $90 and ultrasound is $45. Subsequently is much cheaper. Be prepared to pay abt $90+ with medication for subsequent ones.
His package is $1300 for normal delivery, deposit is $900 at 5th month.

Hi tiny,
EDD = 4 March but I suspect baby will out anytime after 3rd week of Feb. The blob of mucus I suspect could be your EWCM. Meaning the coming of your fertile period. I have it more apparent some cycles and not so on others.
Time to hit the sheets dear!

bebechic, dun give urself too many negative thoughts. no doubt we all hv fear but pls think positively and go for a check up asap yah! tt's the best for both u and ur baby! will await for ur gd news!

tiny, i took blood and urine tests. the blood test tested for my level of thyroid and rubella and others which i don't remember the names but they check for some known chemical or virus in the body that may affect bb's development and formation.

i remember one particular one that is like our body's immunity control - act as our body's resistance to foreign invaders. for a minority people, they hv high levels of this which will attack the baby as they view the baby as a foreign substance.

urine test tests for the usual protein, sugar, blood, etc (like what folic says) and urine bacteria and yeast and crystals. i remember well as i hv positive for bacteria and yeast.

for hubby, it's sperm test on the count, movement, normal and abnormal forms, bacteria presence, etc.

sure hope that all will be fine for hubby and i. will visit gynae again after 1st AF.

but tiny, dun worry too much abt this testings yah. go ahead and ttc and be positive. and ur discharge sounds like EWCM. maybe u ovulated earlier this time? as u know, our cycles vary. gd luck in ur ttc!

linda, will be waiting for ur gal's arrival! how exciting!

Linda...I am almost into my 9th month. When is your EDD? Mine is 13th March.I am worried cos my baby hasn't engaged yet. Have yours engaged?

Hihi all,
thanks for the support. I am trying not to worry myself. do everything as per normal. thinking of going to gynae only next week. which will be my 7th week already.

so that at least i can expect to see something. if not its bad news.

linda,
i actually try avoiding fertile period leh. we only baby dance once right after my AF about end of DEC. after that was busy CNY. so was thinking if strike will the sperm be "too old" then end up somthing wrong again.

cannot keep myself off all these rubbish tots la.
i update any progress. you gals are real darlings.

Hi bebechic,

maybe you ovulated early this month leh? Don't worry too much ok? I think by now, you should be able to see something on the scan liao! Go GO GO!!

Hey gals, I was helping a friend in US do some research. She wanted to have some chinese proverbs that she use for the fortune cookies that she is ordering.(they can customise the message inside the fortune cookies if they order in bulk) I came across this one, which I think is very good for all of us here - DO NOT REFUSE FOOD JUST BECAUSE YOU ARE AFRAID OF CHOKING. Meaning, you should not avoid doing something just because there is a chance of failure. So, we must not give up and must stay positive ok?

folic

Hi Bebechic,
Congrats! Don't be negative!!! Quick go check! We're waiting for your good news!

Anyway girls, I hope you're wrong...if it's really EWCM which indicates fertile period, then this month no chance already!!! cos my husband is having a bad flu..
..we were preparing for this weekend leh! Cos it does seem a bit too early now. sigh. By the way, what do the different kinds of discharges mean? I thought the watery kind means fertile and the thick one is not. what about creamy? haiya so many things to remember, i really feel

Hi Bebechic,

Dun worry about breast tenderness. In fact, I dun even feel that there's any different before and after pregnancy, except for itchness. Just like Linda said, different people got different symptoms. Go to Gynae quick. Though can't see much for this stage, but at least you'll gain your confident after the checkup.
Congrats to you & keep positive.
Baby can feel it...

Hi Tiny,

EWCM is the fertile period. It is usually more watery but in some cases, when you have a lot, you might see a 'blob' of it. It would be better to use your fingers to touch it and see if you can "stretch" it like egg white with your thumb and finger. If it is too watery or you cannot stretch it (meaning sticky), then it is not EWCM. You can still try this weekend lah
Fertile period is aboout 3-5 days after the EWCM. Good luck!!

folic

Hi Linda. The S$1,300 normal delivery package is just for the actual day delivery rite? Does not include 5th-10th consultation, scanning & medicine charges rite? Thanks.

Hi Bebechic. Go & see the gynae now! Hope to hear your good news

Hi Helen
I am into my 9th month. Edd is 4 March. But been having cramps on-off. So thought shld be soon. Baby is engaged.
Check with your gynae, but dun worry too much. Certain babies turn later.

Hi bebechic
Dun read too much. I remember I had a fright of my life when the second pregnancy test kit also turned out to be only faintly visible. And I read somewhere that a faint positive pregnancy test kit = higher chances of m/c. And both 1st and 2nd also faint. I nearly died.... Secondly, when doc calculated my EDD based on ultrasound, I shld have conceived on the date 22 may. But hey! I was having my menses then!!! So you see, our bodies dun really work like clock.... Every month, every cycle is diff. So you might not have ovulated when you thought you had. Dun think abt old sperms or not. Just go see a gynae. Think simple, dun habour too much hopes but keep your spirits high.

Hi Silk,
Hmm... yes $1300 is normal delivery without epidural on actual day. 5th to 10th consultations? I not very sure. All I know is that after you paid the $900 deposit for the package after 5th month, all consultations and ultrasound scans are FOC. Only if you have blood test, culture tests, or injections and medication then you have to pay. Then after you gave birth, assuming normal w/o epidural, you pay him $1300 - $900 = $400 lor.

Linda... March 4th is my birthday. Though my EDD is 13th March, I expect to deliver earlier. I am just afraid that if my baby does not get engaged, I will have to go through a c-section. Take care of yourself and hope to see your baby pics soon.

Hi Helen of Troy, maybe your baby will be born on your bday then! Reminds me of my pregnancy cos my EDD was the week before my birthday in April, and I was thinking that would be fun! Too bad...

Anyway, thanks Folic for the info. I do hope it's not too late...I didn't tell my hubby about it cos he'd probably feel bad and all. I just hope he gets well soon so we can baby dance soon!
Any idea if the sperms would be unhealthy if he's not well? I wonder...

Hi helen,
Dun think too much...nothing you can do abt it too. Some says lying on a pile of cushions on your front with your buttocks up and your legs bent under, you could help baby turn.... No harm trying.

Hi Silk,
Yes I do have to see him more. In fact next visit is on Monday. 10 days after my last check.

Hi Linda. Thanks. Normally when you go for your ultrascan, what does the gynae look out for? Do you hear your baby's hearbeat? I missed those times when I heard my baby's heartbeat & there's once when I even saw her stretching out her tiny legs. So sweet then. I miss her terribly.

I wished i knew abt this thread earlier. I had a d/c on 8 Dec 03. gynae said no baby was formed in the sac even though i shld be 8 wks pregnant and the shape of the sac, according to him, doesn't look right. I went into self denial for 3 days becos i couldn't accept what he said. I mean, i have always been healthy and i have never heard of such cases before!! However, i went back to the gynae 3 days later to do a d/c.

It was really scary as the gynae told me and my hubby that the cause could be genetic but when asked if we should go for any tests, he said no need since such tests are only recommended for ppl who m/c 3 times.

I have since 'recovered' and dare not even think abt TTC again until i saw all your postings which gave me the encouragement and the urge to TTC again.

Hi Hestia,

glad you found the group... it has helped many!

Hope you find the courage to TTC again and share your experience with us!

folic

hello everyone,
folic...i have not seen a gynae yet. have intention to see tommorrow because i will be 7 weeks exactly already. and also i am trying not to think so hard about it.

hestia,
dun worry, we are all here to support each other. most of M/C at early stages are due to genetic problems. so you are not alone. i am now tested positive. have yet to see a gynae, hope that i can come back wif good news tomorrow!

Hi Silk,
I am sure you miss your baby. And I know how hard it is not to think abt it esp when you lost yours in the second trimester. Life such that we have to cherish every moment isn't it? I am sure you will be blessed with a baby soon. Be strong.

Hi Hestia
We are all here to support TTC... All the best.

Hi Bebechic,
Let us know abt your visit to the gynae.

Hi Silk,

missed out your post.. only realised when Linda replied. Yeah, I know what you mean.. sometimes, I will recall the happy moments when we first hear my baby's heartbeat,he 'dancing' round and round in one of the scans, he sucking his thumb during the detailed scan... all this become part of a memory which I treasure and I miss him a lot too
Sometimes, I will read through my pregnancy journal, the scans, the photo (the one they took of him when they did the testing after the miscarriage)when I miss him a lot...

But after 6 months, I am ready to start again. My hubby and I have started to TTC again actively and I hope to be blessed with a healthy baby soon!! :D

folic

Hi bebechic,

You can hold on to the suspense quite well huh? :D I will be flying off for business trip tomorrow, so can't get your news till Wednesday!! Keep us posted ok? Take care!

folic

Hi Linda & folic. Thanks for your comfort. It has been only 3 weeks since the baby died. Moving on but somehow still linger on the past. Hoping to TTC soon.

Yeah bebechi, keep us posted on your good news.
Take care!!!

Have a safe trip folic!

Sorrie MIA for so long. Been so busy lately, went to korea then lots of OTing.....

I have reached another milestone in my life. Still remember I told u all abt the picture which my church friend gave me? It was a picture of Jesus teaching a baby to walk. I kept it aside since Dec. Last week, I took it out to display. For the past half a year plus (wow so long already), didn't dare to allow any picture that will remind me of my baby to be displayed in my home. I felt so much better seeing the picture being displayed, its a remembrance that he was once so much a part of our lives. I believe that he is an angel, always protecting and guiding us.

So to all those here who are still hurting and remembering, be open with your feelings. Be free to do the things that you like.

folic, have a safe trip

Hi bebechic
How's the check?

Hi Folic,
Glad tt you and your hubby are TTC-ing actively again.
And have yourself a safe trip huh?

Hi Java,
Glad that you are ready to go on to the next stage. And like what you have mentioned, time really passes by so swiftly. And there are things not to be missed.

not yet not yet....tonite tonite...i go check and update you guys. think gals here more excited than me. i think i fear more than being excited

went for the checkup at KK clinic last night. it was a fright, at first gynae scanned from my stomach, then she commented pregnancy too small too see from there and my bladder is not full. and i manage to see a very blur blob of thing. then took the viginal scan, seemed like she couldn't locate anything and kept expanding the image. then i saw a black spot which resembles a sac, its pure black. i nearly fainted. my hubby was as kan cheong as me already. then the gynae freeze for a while and pointed out a corner on the ultrasound screen. she asked me did you see this. it was a very very blur image with some flickering thing. then she say : neh that's the heartbeat. not being convinced i asked her what's the black spot then, she said it was the bladder.
we were quite relieve la up to the point. she reassured us that YES that's the heartbeat. It was a mixed feeling cause i really had a very bad day yesterday having to lost my wallet with $600 in there. but seeing the heartbeat really cheered things up a bit.

baby is 1.07 cm long and dated 7 weeks 2 days. very exact from my LMP and EDD is 26 sept

thanks for all the concern. i will start to kick all my bad habits.

btw, i have some questions for you gals. when to you think its a latest time to change my gynae if i want to. I still want to deliver at Mt A since i was born there.

hi bebechic...
great to hear bb is fine!
must take care hor... and yeah.... kick away all bad habits... hehe...

so sori to hear abt ur wallet... but neh mind... these things can be recovered one...

as got gynae... think its best u change b4 ur 1st tri ends...

reali hapi for u!!!

u can join us at the MTB thread and i'll add ur EDD down into the list. hekhek...

<font color="ff0000">HOORAY</font> bebechic

The sight of a life is such a joy isn't it?
The little heart pumping away.... I am so happy for you. Trust you to mistaken your bladder with the baby....aiyoh. Yah yah, keep yourself healthy and safe....as for bad habits, hehehehe, after you give birth lah....
As for changing gynaes, when is your next appt? You can make the appt with the new gynae around the same date. Did the current doc gave you any medication for now? If yes, bring along to your next gynae as well as the reports (if any) on the m/c.
hehehehehhe... :D So excited for you.

hey linda...
my next appointment is one month from yesterday.
erm..i told my gynae i have like 2 bottles of obimin and folic acid left so she say as long as its not expired then no need for more. it should be enough.

yes its a joy. it looks like a hand waving instead of a heart pumping...eerie.. but i am still keeping my mouth shut until a month later. meanwhile i will source for a gynae i comfortable with and near to my area lor. meanwhile should i feed myself on chix essence?

NO! antibiotics are nono. best to check out with your doctor. everytime i was given a presicription i will let them know that i am preg sp they will give another medicine

Hi Bebechic,

So happy about your good news. Congrats and welcome.
It's heartwarming seeing the tiny heartbeat, right? I'm not too sure whether can take chicken essence but I always hear people saying dun take chinese herb during pregnancy. Chicken essence contains chinese herbs, right? Just eat healthy food, kick away your bad habits (no coffee, cafeine foods bascially). Endure if you've MS for 1st tri and enjoy your 2nd tri honeymoon period. Remember to rest well during 1st tri.

Hi Wendyl,
Antibiotics should be no.

Hi bebechic,
I shld say sparingly though not in 1st trimester. Like what Modi mentioned, chinese herbs are not "well investigated" for pregnancy. Ginseng is a definate NO NO. I read in Motherhood that it is not recommended esp in the 1st trimester. Check with doc. Moderation in second trimester shld be fine.
SO glad for you. Any intention to start sourcing for new gynae soon?
Just relax.

Hi wendyl
Nope unless otherwise prescribed. Normally once you preggie, docs are very selective abt what they give. Unless they feel the pros for mum outweigh 'possible' risks to baby.

bebechic..congrats! You can drink chicken of essence without the herbs the green label one. I asked my gynae and he says can drink.

helen,
thanks, actually i was about to ask you something. can i find out from you where is Dr Koh's clinic? you have the exact address? like to find out about his charges also. I read that he delivers at Mt A right.

keke i only like to drink the green labe one. dun like herby ones

I don't have the exact address but I can give you the tel no. 62544022. He is open tonight. You can call and ask.His clinic is at Toa Payoh central,near the HDB hub.

hi bebechic,
COngrats!!! So happy for you. Take care of yourself yah. Hopefully I can get pregnant like you soon too.

Hi Bebechic,

glad to know you are able to detect heartbeat!! Congrats!! I logged in from Dublin just to check this news!

Hi Java, glad to hear your latest news.
Take care!!

folic

Hi Bebechic

Congrats! Happy to hear that you are preggie again. Do take care ok!

I thought you are seeing Dr Christopher Chong at KKH? Heard that he's a very caring doctor.

Hi bebechic
u really bring Great &amp; Good news over here....keep them coming okie.....

Hi Millie
Hw to solve the bacteria n yeast problem you mentioned? Is there anyway to go &amp; check all this without going for a body check up?

morning gals..
thanks a million!!

java no worries...things will get a better turn for you. as long as you believe. i also fear but i am trying not to dwell too much onto it. many uncertainties to me as well. i think i am losing my job soon. keke...

folic, thanks for your concern!!! keke greetings from dublin yah...enjoy while working!

ecbaby.. I was seeing dr chris chong last pregnancy, he will always be at the AMK KK on fridays but this coming friday i am not free so i went to the clinic on tuesday. then i realised i had a choice to see a specialist or snr consultant. the price difference is actually $25!! shocked me, because no one ever told me. then the nurses there kept asking me to come down on friday instead. sigh. but on one hand i wanted change gynae. although chris chong is very good. so i decided to see a female specialist first. keke first time in my life i seeing a female gynae.

hi gladdy &amp; silk, i hope everything will go fine for me too..

gladdy, yeast problem can be solved by taking some oral pills i think because i have that problem too. but for the bacteria, i a not sure.

bebechic, congrats!!
u take care now yah!

glady, hubby got to take medication and re-take sperm test. then wait for the results before we know if all is ok. as for me, didn't hear any news fr doc abt my urine test. maybe my test came back ok?

Hi Bebechic
thks for yr info, I thot of testing for that before trying for a baby but don't know how to go about it

so it can be cured by taking pills, at least I not so scared

when i have negative thoughts, i will switch my mind to chant (chant on what depends on wht religion you are), you can try that too

Hi Millie
Thanks, am sure you will be fine after this.