Support group - Miscarriages

Hi Snuffles,
I guess it makes it harder since you are in London. I did not take any jabs for this pregnancy. I was advised to rest and not undertake any strenuous exercises. I saw my gynae the next day after my GP confirmed my pregnancy. If you are worried, why not see a pte gynae shortly after discovering pregnancy. And after 12 weeks, go back to the govt one?

Hi helen
Dun frighten yourself.
Other than being breech, I am sure your baby is fine. Leave the rest to fate, maybe your baby will turn soon? Even if not, then a c-section will help to bring him out easier compared to vaginally.... Although it takes longer to recover for c-section, these days the medical expertise is higher so you also dun have to worry.

Hi helen
the pain is really nothing (i was able to walk the next day) and i experience no side effect. The best part abt epi c-section is that u and ur hubby get to witness your baby's birth. My hubby was with me thru' out, taking precious photos of our boy first look when he first came out of my stomach

Like wat linda mentioned, dun read too much.... i was as frightened as u when i first found out that i cud not deliver vaginally but after went thru' it, it is not as scary/painful as what i've read!

Since this is the BEST way to bring ur baby out safely, jz relax and go for it. Trust your gynae!

Wish u a smooth delivery

Dear Linda & Smile,
Thanks for everything. I think I am more mentally prepared for a c-section now..

Hi Linda,
So u didn't have any hormonal supplements this time round? Did u have any spotting and if u did, how long did that last? The problem with going to a pte gynae is that the NHS sometimes crosschecks for records and may not prioritise patients moving back anymore. Am trying to figure way around this.

Hi Helen,
Don't worry. C-section is very common here in the UK where the NHS picks up the tab even for elective procedures. I think it's about 20% (that's 1 in 5 babies!). Not sure abt S'pore but mobile epidurel is also used here so the mummy can walk within a few hours of delivery.

And don't worry about a breech baby. My friends (who were breech) have turned out rather well - a teacher, a doctor and a scientist.

Dear Snuffles,
Thanks. How have you been? Remember to take lots of tonics to build up your health. I hope to hear good news from u soon. In Spore, C-section is not encouraged. There were a few reports on c-section a few months back about the risk of deaths increases with c-section etc. This makes me feel uncomfortable. But after hearing what many people who had gone through have to say, I guess I am more at ease..

I have a question about morning sickness. Sometimes i eat then i get nauseous and i think the m/s stems from indigestion and the gasey feeling in my stomach rather then hormones. Anyone feel the same? Of course the vicious cycle continues and i am still feeling bloated, nauseous etc etc

hi heather...
its impt not to let ur stomach go empty when u hv ms...
i learnt dat from my ms experience... if u feel hungry in betw meals, jus hv some biscuits.
its true dat ms can stem from indigestion or gas in stomach, whh can arises when stomach is too empty.

Hi snuffles
No, I was not given hormonal supplements. I did not have any spotting for this pregnancy...only a BIG scare when I THOUGHT i was spotting....turned out that I had a vaginal infection which cleared in 3 days....
But aren't you allowed to see a pte gynae without any hinderance to seeing a govt one later? I mean can't I see any doc first then later I "prefer" govt doc's expertise??? :p Is it VERY expensive to see a pte gynae?

Hi Helen,
Just to comfort you, there are people whom I know wants a c-section without even considering a vaginal birth. One is cos she got so frightened by the sister's experience (of a long labour then a emergency c-section) that she rather undergo an elective c-section despite the gynae's assurance. Another cos she is afraid that her vagina will lose its elasticity and wonder how to "maintain" her sexual relations with her hubby next time. One did so to control the time and day of birth so that the baby will be lucky for the rest of her life. Most cos they think going through labour pain is no point since they have a choice to do it under GA. No need to wait and wait. So actually, I think c-section is more common than we presume.

Hi Heather,
Eat something warm....eat small but frequent meals.

hi helen,
Do take smile's advice abt asking ur gynae to check that the cord is not around the bb's neck. Coz my "accident" was that. This danger happens more likely if the bb is already engaged at the pelvis. Wish I knew this earlier

hi helen,
Can I ask again, after going to the chinese physician, how long did u take to conceive again?

just want to let you know that AF came knocking today and so, this is not the month for me. I will try again next month!

folic

Hi Linda,
System here a bit more complex and much of the service u get depends on luck! (where u live, who ur GP is, which hospital u get. Pte gynae tend not to be pay-as-u-go but by packages - bearing in mind the NHS picks up complications arising. The last time i checked (according to the Portland hospital quotes), midwife only package is GBP 3,400 while a consultant package starts from GBP 4,200. That excludes cost of medication, extra scans, tests and extra bedrest!!!

Hi Helen,
heh heh. Over here, the govt is worried about the "too posh to push" syndrome. But there is no significant deviance in complications from natural childbirth and c-sections.

Hi folic,
take care and keep ur spirits up.

Hi Heather,

I think what you've described is pretty normal symptom for MS. The nauseous can attack you anytime, when you're hungry or when you've just taken food. I even have gastric problem during that period, throwing out all the acids in my stomach. It so unpredictable, I dunno which meal I would be throwing up next.

Try eat less food more meals.

Java,
So sorry to hear that.I went to the Chinese Physician about 1 week after my D&C. I go to her faithfully every week for about 3 months until I conceive again. I waited for 3 cycles before I TTC. I managed to conceive again after the 1st attempt.

Snuffles, Linda, Smiles,
Jus came back from gynae. My c-section is scheduled on 28th Feb at 7.30 am...

Snuffles,
I did not think of that! I wanted 5th March cos my birthday on 4th March. My gynae said that it is too late. I also had a lot of work to finish. Wanna hand over nicely before I 'bomb'...
I will be admitted on 27th Feb midnight. My hubby and I gonna watch 'Survivors' before we participate in our own version of 'Survivors' the day after..hahaha

If baby happens to turn on that day, the c-section will be cancelled.

Hi folic
Try again! And cherish the fun trying...when you are at my stage, no one wants to try with me liao...

Hi snuffles
Sigh... the problem of systems....and the medical fees are so high.... What you intend to do?

Hi Helen!!!
Wow!!! At least you have the date already! I am still waiting... Tummy is getting harder more often(think it is braxton hicks contractions) and foetal movement has reduced though not to a danger level. So I am getting kind of uncomfortable. So we will get to see your bb's pic here soon???

Hi bebechic,
How's things?

Hi Linda,
I hope to be able to post my baby's pics here soon. Maybe your turn will come soon too cos your EDD is more advanced than mine.Take care. My only discomfort are my feet. they are swollen.

hi helen,
Thanks for the information. I will book appointment to see the physician. Take care of yourself, and hope to see your bb's pic soon. You can prop your feet on a stool or something so that your legs are elevated from the ground. This can help to reduce the swelling sensation. Do notice the before and after birth effects on your body. The feet will go back to normal almost immediately. Remember to buy disposable panties and breasts pads, they will be very useful during your confinement period.

Java,
Thanks for the advice. I have bought all these things already. The nature of my job requires me to walk and stand a lot. Whenever the swelling goes down in the morning, the swell will emerge again when I go to work. I guess I will just have to live with it.

It is good that you dare to take Chinese medicine. I think it is better than western medicine. Remember to ask for someone who specialises in gynae as my own chinese dr went back to China just when I conceived. She even told me that if I conceived in June, I will get a boy. And I did! The dr will feel your pulse and ask for your history. They will prescribe medicine to boost your fertility.Best of luck. Hope to hear gd news from u and do tell me about your visits.

helen, what a thrill to know that u r going to give birth soon!

need to ask regarding the chinese medicine, did ur chinese physician prescribe herself (in pill/ power form) or she write u a formula and u got to go buy fr chinese medical shops? i cant stand the bitter chinese medicine but i am very keen on going to chinese doc. so it wld be great if the doc prescribe her own mediciane in other forms. by the way, did u do any acupunture?

folic, don't b disappointed. just got to try again!

I am not too disapointed.. afterall, it is the first attempt. I think I will only start to fret if I don't get success by Aug.. although in Jun, I will be 34 and probably that will be when I get more panicky! I am also glad I did not waste money on HPTs :D

Hi Helen, hope your baby turn by next week
If not, you will see your baby on 28 Feb for sure
Hope the baby doesnt turn and then decide to come on 29th Feb... then only 1 birthday every 4 years!

folic

Millie,
There was no acupuncture. The dr writes down the prescription. Then, you go to the dispensary in the clinic and they will prescribe the herbs for you. You can choose to brew it yourself. But most busy people like us will get them to brew it. Then you either collect it yourself later or pay a bit more then they deliver it to your doorstep. I don't mind the taste of the herbs. It is not bitter but a bit 'kam kam'. You take twice a day. once in the morning and once at night.

Folic,
Try harder. your hard work will pay off. I am mentally prepared for the c-section. If baby turns, I have to re-pschye myself for natural. So tiring. I would not want baby to be born on 29th Feb. I want him to celebrate his birthday yearly.

Helen,
Wow! Ur physician sounds very impressive. Wonder how she can forecast ur baby's gender prior to conception??

Linda,
Sign! Not sure what to do too. Can't fly during 1st trimester or I'd pop by home for a couple of scans. After this incident, I'm prepared to spend whatever is needed but there are very very few private patients in this country (apart from the wealthy and titled) so getting reference to a good gynae is hard to come by too.

Folic,
I know exactly what u mean. Am getting older so I feel my biological clock ticking all the time. Read this book "Baby Hunger" by Sylvia Ann Hewlett which got me seriously thinking about starting a family.... sianzz...

But some encouraging news. My cousin who turned 38 last year had a m/c earlier but is now safely in her 2nd trimester! And this is her 1st baby.

err... got a rather sensitive question to ask. Can u tell me how u felt about a week after the m/c? Have been getting a little backache and my tummy feels taut all the time. Can't touch my toes anymore! Is this normal?

Hi Snuffles,

The taut feeling could be due to the uterus contracting back to original size. I did feel backache for a while but mine is second tri loss, so I not sure if that should be the case for first tri loss.

Re the age, I hope I am not too old... even my gynae told me that 35 is still ok... she has seen many first time mummy in their late 30s early 40s.. Will try again lah! :D

folic

hello gals,

snuffles,
as what folic say i believe its the contracting uterus. i didn't feel it though but when its expanding i felt it. i had severe backache for a few hours, then no more. i think varies for everyone. R you taking good care of urself? some gals tend to be weaker after M/C. so dun do any streneous activities. rest more.

Hi folic,
still young dun worry. i have aunties getting first baby at 40! sometimes i think its fated. right after my D&C in aug, i was eagerly trying esp for OCT coz baby can be born same month as the father. but after that i changed my mind, i stop trying because i wanted to get a new job, so i only bbdance right after my menses and right before the expected following menses, end up it never appear!!????

helen,
i am glad that you are well prepared and informed about your baby's arrival!! have you got any name yet? its a week away! you must be very very excited!!..wish you have a smooth delivery!!

linda,
victoria is going to pop anytime yah! have you gone on maternity leave yet? must come back and share with us your birth story!!

java,
i think you're the youngest among us already. how come you going to chinese sinseh. can try another few more month first right? dun be too stress out.

sorry for missing out, was on leave for the past few days. wanted to take a break. me can only see gynae next month. she put me on the one month appointment type.

hi heather,
which gynae you seeing? me suppose to be in my erm..8 and half weeks now. my stomach also very very gasey. worse is upper abdominal cannot press, once press will feel like throwing up. but i never did la. my problem is cannot suck in my tummy now lor. end up people keep thinking i very fat, so upset. keke. this is also the first time i felt MS, i always tot i will be the lucky one without it. when is your next appointment?

Snuffles,
The have some way to calculate and she was right about the gender.

Bebechic,
My son's name is Ernest. Not that my favourite literary figure but we want him to know the importance of being Earnest (Ernest). We want him to grow up to be an upright person. Mayb that's why he hasn't turned yet!! hahaha

Snuffles,
I remember feeling the cramps after the D&C. My legs will also feel weird.

hi helen,
I have called up the physician, will be seeing him/her tomorrow morning. All the best to you.

hi bebechic,
My menses have been irregular lately, so I hope the physician can help me to regulate my menses and also to boost my fertility.

I think I'm the typical kiasu singaporean who is very result-oriented.

helen..
the way you put it is so comical...about ernest being "upright" kekeke. its a good name!

hi java,
sometimes could be stress or something like that. i heard some doctors give pills to regulate menses, but those are actually contraceptive pills i think. maybe chinese sinseh better at this. do update us.

Hi Bebechic,

My appt is tomorrow!!! So worried .... but we figured that it is out of our hands. Please please let me see something positive tomorrow! I am seeing Dr Lisa Chin at Gleneagles, my last one was Paul Tseng at TMC. He was er ... cold esp with the miscarriage and all.

My m/s is still the same ... eat then feel nauseous or nauseous but still want to ea! :p I have taken to drinking ginger ale. It's probably not good for me but at least it release the gas a little. I try to think positive about the m/s ..... maybe the pregnancy is progressing better than the last one. Hey, do u have sore boobs?? The last time i had it but this time, nothing at all. Boobs not painful, not sore, not bigger, not anything!!! Anyone with no sore boobs here??

hi heather,
My last pregnancy I didn't have sore boops as well. Dun worry too much.

hi heather,
so fast tomorrow! so you are in 6/7 weeks now? i also very kancheong, yes i have initial sore boobs, but after a while not sore liao. then i paranoid. kekeke. i also sometimes feel that MS is good becos show that preg is going fine. keke trying different methods of consoling myself too.

dun be so nervous when u see doc. i think most gynaes seen too much M/C that they treat it like normal, and when they dun shower empathy on us, we think that they are cold. remember to update us tomorrow leh..

Hi Helen,
ooo...last weekend before Ernest joins the two of u! Do have fun enjoying ur remaining "partnership days".

Hi Bebechic,
Am trying to take things easy here, thanks for ur concern. How about u? Are u easing into the pregnancy better now?

Java,
Which gynae did you see? you going to Ngee Ann Traditional Medical Centre huh? Do update me about your visits. Best of luck!

Snuffles,
I enjoy the mornings when I can snuggle next to my husband in bed. We can only do it on weekends and public holidays. During weekdays, I have to wake up at 5.30am to go to work at 6am.I hope to still have such opportunities with Ernest around..

Hi good morning!

I am up bright and early today.. sent hubby off to airport at 5am.. he is going to Japan for business trip.

Hope all had a great weekend!

folic

hi helen,
Went to Ngee Ann last Sat, wah alot of ppl. Saw Lim Yu Jian Prof, she is very old, but looks experienced. She didn't say much, but gave me medicine to regulate my menses and to boost fertility. After they decoct the herbs for you, they put the liquid into something which looks like urine bags (that's wat my hubby said).
I will be seeing her next week.

hi snuffles,
i guess i was too busy and "forgotten" that i am pregnant. when i am more occupied, the MS is not really that bad. only when its evening or when i am bored, then the nauseous feeling comes in. i suspect its subconscious.

java,
drink one week will have effect already? heard from some people these chinese docs very very expensive. one of my fren's mum see chinese sinseh. medicine cost $500 per day and she is to continue it for a month. but i guess as long as its effective then its worth it. just to let you know that my aunt use to take medicine to regulate her menses because hers have been irregular since young. then once she waited very long and her menses not here, so she went back on her medicine. until her serious cramps occur she realised she was pregnant! good thing doc were able to save her baby. but she was warded for very long in the hospital. so do be careful yah.

helen , linda,
how's preparation?

hi bebechic,
No my medicine is not as expensive as that. On the contrary, I expected the consultation to be ex, but it came up to abt $30 plus medicine. Thanks for the warning, but I think since I will be seeing her weekly, she will monitor my health carefully. In any case, I will ask her next week if the herbs she give me will have any dire effects if I'm already pregnant.

Java,
remember to tell the dr that you are trying for a baby now and she will not prescribe herbs that will hurt the foetus if you conceive. That was what I did.

Bebechic,

I am trying to prepare myself mentally for the c-section. Telling my friends to pray hard for me that all will be fine.

In case you're looking for Linda, good news to share. Linda has given birth to baby Victoria yesterday.

Let her come back and tell us more stories...

hi helen,
I did tell her that I've been trying for a baby, but anyway what u told me brought me relief. I will pray for you that you have a smooth c-section ops and that u and ur bb will be fine.

Linda, congrats!!!! Hope to hear your birth story

Hi gals. Can I check with you whether anyone experience spotting again after menses ended? My menses cleared around 19/2 & today there's some spotting. Last nite, hubby & I got initimate for the 1st time after D&C which was on 14/1 & penetration was a bit painful though. Thought the spotting is due to this. Quite worried. Don't know whether to see the gynae or not. Anyone experience the same?

Linda,
Congrats on the arrival of your baby!

Java,
Don't worry. They are professionals and they are very experienced. Just be patient and go regularly for max benefits. Thanks for praying for me. I hope all will go well for me..

linda congrats!!!!
really so happy for you. looking forward to ur birth story!

helen, it will shld be ur turn! remember to come in and share!

java, where is ngee ann? will the doc hv herbs for both male and female? thought of going along with my hubby. and does the doc do acupunture?

silk, sorry cant help in ur question. i didnt hv spotting after AF. but i dun really understand ur statement. hv u been spotting since the day AF is cleared? if tt is so, then i wld suggest u see a gynae. however, if u just spotted today, then it shld be ok. remember tt i do hv brownish spotting after menses had ended a few days in the past. it shld last only for 1 day or 2. to be safe, u can call up the clinic to ask the gynae.

Linda,
Brilliant news! Congrats - can't wait to see Victoria's pics soon.

Java, Helen,
Can u give me the address of the CHinese doctors u are consulting? I think I will pop by when I next return to S'pore. Is the weekly consultation necessary? I'm wondering if it's okay for me to stock up on the medicine for when i return to UK.

bebechic,
That's got to be the funniest explanation for MS I've heard. So u can "will" it away ah?

Silk,
My GP here told me it may take more than one cycle before ur body returns to its formal state. So i guess that the mid-term spotting could be just ur body adjusting. Look out for pain or heavy bleeding - if in doubt, see ur doctor.