Mummies with 2007 babies in Sengkang

Enne, Mattmum, thanks, my boy is getting better now. I think our sudden weather changes makes little tots very susceptible to falling sick so must really take care.

Bunz, glad to know Ian has recovered. For tibits, my boy enjoyed his baby bites rice crackers (from NTUC). I tried too, not bad and its less salty then the wangwang version.

Eliz, thanks for getting the quotes. Btw, I'm oso staying at Rivervale Cres, we are neighbours

Mattmum

I am considering either Great Eastern Supreme Health Plan B OR alternatively PruShield Plan B

Premium wise, GE is lower than PruShield but Prushield can claim 5% more for Private hospitals and premiums are relatively cheaper as u age (see comparsion table from MOH)

Both plans can be paid in full from Medisave just like Aviva.

References
1. http://www.asiaone.com/Health/Wellness%2B%2540%2BWork/Story/A1Story20070912-25156.html
2. http://www.moh.gov.sg/mohcorp/hcfinancing.aspx?id=342

Yet to decide coz yet to finish researching...

bunz,Little Fly-my boy likes the gerber puffs titbits, got strawberry and sweet potato flavours but he likes sweet potato most. It melts in the mouth and more tidy also.

Little Fly,mattmum-I think mine is Great Eastern Supreme Health Plan too but not sure izzit Plan B.

little fly,

yup yup, Ian loves the baby bites too. actuali i like too. will take one of his pkt to eat!!! LOL !!!

enne,
tink mine is the supreme health plan too. tink only lah, i uauali very blur abt ins stuff !!!

Bunz - hope little Ian is better now! Pat pat him for me ok...
Think the bad weather and the HFMB virus is really making the kids sick...
Yeah...I don't really like the maple biscuits. Think because it's sugar and sodium free, hence doesnt taste good...and you're rite, quite messy. My boy also likes Baby Bites...easy to melt inside his mouth and smells good. He also likes the Pigeon pumpkin biscuits...easy to eat. I tried that too and is really good.

Enne - hope your boy gets well soon! I hate it when my bb gets a cough...You tried Hou Ning?

littlefly - thanks for the references, will go and check it out and compare...it's very helpful...

Afternoon mummies! So quiet these few days...

My boy fell from our bed yesterday and hit the right side of his face...his right eyelid is swollen and he has a long gash from his eye to the side of his head...Sigh. Heart pain.

I was checking my email and left him on the bed cushioned with pillows all over, but he still managed to push his way through the heavy pillows and fell.

Horrible day for me. I was monitoring him all day yesterday to make sure he doesnt vomit or get drowsy.

hi ladies, haven't come in here for quite a few days. agree tha weather recently quite bad, both my son & i aso fell sick, haven't fully recover.

little fly, hope u & ur son r feeling better now. btw, when u wanna collect ur bday direct stuff?

bunz/mattmum, i dun like e HT teether biscuits too, agree tha it caused quite a mess aft eating it. luckily, i din buy those, i gotta let jake try it cos when my friend was ordering HT, e teether biscuits was expiring soon, so HT gave us some for us to sample. then, jake got to try e arrowroot cookies at julia gabriel trial & he loves it, so i bought some for him tis time rnd & cfmed tha he loves it a lot, i find it quite nice tasting, so maybe can let ur bb tries nxt time.

bunz, hope ian is better now.

mattmum, oh dear, i hope ur boy is ok, hv to monitor him closely for 3 days, i tink. if no vomit or drowsy these few days, shd be ok. if u wanna leave him on e bed, hv to put mattress rnd e bed, so tha if fell, e impact not so great. jake fell fr bed twice but luckily got mattress. 1st time when it happened, we din know as hb dozed off & i was in e toilet, when i came out fr e toilet, i was surprised to c him on e mattress smiling happily at me. 2nd time, i was in e study rm & hb left him on e bed while he was doing something, then he fell. when we rushed into e rm, he wailed, not tha he was hurt but tink he got a shock fr e fall. he still sleeping on e bed, so 1 side we pushed e cot nxt to e bed, e other side got mattress on e fl & e side where our legs r, got e bumper mat. i dun wan to take any risk.

Wow, so busy at work that my eyes almost pop out. So tired, sigh!

How's everyone?

bunz/mattmum/bunnybluey - yesterday, let my girl try the chocolate bear cookies from HT, and she likes it :) you may want to give these a try!

janjanmum, i bought e choco bear cookies fr HT too & e original teddy puffs but i'll oni let jake tried them aft his 1yo bday as these 2 cookies r meant for >1yo. tink he'll like them too. i aso let him tried e gerbers puffs & those wan zhai xiao man tou, he likes them too. basically, he v.tam chia, now he likes to eat wat we eat but he just refused to take his porridge.

rgding insurance, i got hospitalisation plan for boy cos tink tha e most impt to get 1st, i bought fr aia. i thot of switching hb & my aia healthshield plan fr aia to aviva so tha bb can be covered foc til he reached 21yo but then, i thot wat wld happen if 1 or both of us were to go, then he wun be covered. so i still tinking, maybe an independent insurance just for him might be a better idea.

bunnybluey - soon he will get to try out those teddy cookies as B'day coming soon...I'm sure he will like that. Thanks for your help in purchasing HT.

Hi Mummies...was fighting flu so didn't login for quite a while.

Bunnybluey, thanks..my boy has outdone his mummy and recovered ahead of me already...for the birthday direct stuff, I am thinking of collecting from you this weekend afternoon (we arrange over smses?)

Mattmum, aiyoh.. hope your boy is ok now. sayang sayang him. Yarloh, all the pillows do not deter the little determined tots from crawling over them. They have no concept of height. I also worry about my boy. Just picture me holding on desperately to my boy as he crawled to one end of the sofa edge and peep his head over the edge.

Bunnybluey, at first we were also attracted to Aviva but the catch is that only when both parents are insured under MyShield for Plan 1 or 2, then child gets coverage for Plan 2 FREE (but only in public hospitals) - that's why I think the MOH comparsion chart showed plan 3 and only up to 50% claim in private hospitals

bunnybluey
the teddy biscuits are for older than 1 year old?! i just bought a pack ready to give baby whom is still under 1 year old. erm can i ask why is it not meant for under 1 yr ..

ian is better nw, just having a little rash, dr say viral rash, so cant go sch yet, was on mc since last fri till friday, then called office to get unpaid leave till next wed, then bring ian back to childcare, my PD advise me to stay hm and look aft ian, coz since he's been to childcare, he's always sick...but financial wise...its just nice only if i stop working.so very confused.

jjmum,
ian's b'dae will be held in Grand mecure roxy hotel. cake will get from Pine Garden,but yet to go dwn to try !!! LOL !!! been so busy with ian.

bunz-sayang Ian for me okie.

my boy been sick too, having fever up to over 39degrees for past few days but yesterday finally no fever for whole day but still got cough, still on cough medicine and antibiotics.

hope all sick bbs get well soon k!

jjmum / Enne,

xie xie !!!

Ian is feeling much better nw, brought him back to childcare today. as i need to beback to work on thurs.

found another infant care which is under NTUC, 5 blks away from my blk. only 7 babies and 3 teachers currently, however, fees higher. so still deciding to switch Ian over.

Janjanmum - thank you. I am going to load up vitamin Cs as a daily routine. My parents don't let me go near my boy during the flu period.

Bunz, Bunnybluey, hope your tots have a memorable and fun-filled party! (or it is over already?)

Enne, hope your boy has recovered by now.

Got a question for mummies here, does ur bb rejects solid foods? My boy shivers even when he tries plain porridge. He was very keen in trying fruits but when we gave it in puree form to him, he would end up vomitting his milk. Do you experience this and how do you manage this for your tots?

bunz-ohh but how's the environment at the new childcare?..

Little_Fly-thanks but too bad not yet, only good thing is no more fever though..

Hi mummies, can I join this thread though I'm actually staying in Punggol? My boy was born in July 07 so now coming 9.5months. Are all the babies here born in 2007 too?

Gd Afternoon Ladies!

littlefly - rejection of solid food, yes, I saw before that other babies did shivers when giving porridge or cereal, but viewed it as due to rejection of new taste, and can't reject in any way, babies are so angry/upset that they shivers. Maybe you try cereal first, which is of more flavours. Take thigns slowly, introduce again a few days later.

Welcome mattsmummy!

Janet, Janjanmum, my boy is reaching 8months. We tried pureed apple, carrot, pumpkin, pear, papaya. He will go wild with excitment when he sees us eating and when we preparing his pureed food. Then he would try with much enthusiam but after a few daps, he will frown, then shivers, then after a while, vomit out alot of milk.

So far, only give him the plain rice cereal, bb bites. Racking my brains what else to try...hmmm

welcome mattsmummy!

Hello Mattsmummy.
My gal's born in July 07 too.

<font color="0000ff">Little fly, Janet, Mattmum</font>
I have been very busy to discuss with my contractor on the window grills.
If you ladies cannot wait, pls go ahead k.
So sorry for the delay.

Thanks Mummies for the warm welcome

Eliz, I am also thinking of installing window grills at my place. Are the quotes from your contractor attractive? Can share them? Thanks!

<font color="0000ff">Hi mummies, I would like to give away 2 boxes of Nestle Vegetable flavour cereal for 8-24mths as my 9-mth-old baby doesn't really like the taste.

Pls PM me if interested.</font>

Bunnybluey, littlefly, thanks.

My boy kept waking up during the night crying last week after his fall...luckily he's ok now.I don't put him on the bed alone anymore!
Tiring for the past week! Now I am the one who needs sleep.

Hope all sick babies and mummies recover soon! The news about HFMD on TV really scares us. I think I am going to let my boy stay away from crowded area for now...just to play safe.

Welcome mattsmummy, haha is your son's name Matt? My son is born in Aug 07 and his name is Mattheaus.

Mummies, I have a new can of Mamil Gold Step 2(exp Sep 08) and a new can of Enfapro A+ Stage 2 (exp Aug 09) to give away. I got them free and my boy is on Friso. Anyone interested let me know.

Eliz - Yes, it's 400g. No need to buy lah...I got it for free anyway...
cant remember where I got it already. Haha...You email me to arrange for collection can?

mattmum, my boy's name is Matthew

He also got into a little accident couple of weeks back. Was jumping on my mum's bed and knock his cheek hard on the wooden bed frame. Got a super dark blue-black on his face for about a week.

Welcome Mattsmummy!!!

good news !!!!

my sil's mother whom is a kindergarten teacher is resigning and willing to bb sit Ian for me!!! so i will let her take care!! what a good news, and i can work at peace.

Eliz, take your time with your contractors. My boy still cannot climb yet so no hurry with installing the window grilles. Furthermore, I live in same area as yours so your quote would be a close reference for me, I think

Bunz, this is excellent arrangement for u and Ian! happy for you

Mattmum, you can give your boy the 'jing feng san' to calm and placate him if you have yet to try. I did that whenever my boy had a fright during daytime.

Today, I am trying another method of cooking the porridge, hope my boy will take it well.

Little Fly,

My girl warmed up to solid food only in her late 7 months. Reading your account, I think maybe just try for a few spoons first loh...once he started to show that 'want to vomit' face, then u stop feeding the solid food. You rather he keeps the milk than to feed more solid and all the solid and milk will come out at the same time.

Do this for a couple days...I believe he will slowly warm up to solid food.

The first few times I tried were all cereal. Different kind lah...plain, with fruit inside, original type, healthy times...then when he is ok with cereal then you move on to solid and all those porridge lah...otherwise, you also very sian if so much effort put in to prepare the meal, in the end he doesnt like.

The other food that my fussy girl likes is mashed potato. maybe you want to try.

anyway, as the saying goes, for each new taste, we need to try at least 15 times, before we can conclude that the baby doesnt like the taste...relax, and have a fun time trying...

if all else fail, milk would still be good. That is why Abotts invented Pediasure...hee hee

Eliz - I already PM you my email address yesterday...you didnt get it? maybe my PM doesnt work in some cases. I will email you from the mummies yahoo group then...

littlefly - jing feng san safe for babies? any side effects? I think he was really badly shaken after the fall...

On the solids issue...my boy is also a fussy eater. He just started to accept more solids recently...previously he will watch us eat with excitement, and when I feed him his porridge, he will eat a few mouthfuls and then refuse to even open his mouth. I tried giving him HT baby food, which thankfully, he enjoys. He especially likes the fruit flavours...I also noticed HT baby food incorporates a lot of fruit even in their "savoury" flavours, like "Raspberry glazed turkey"/"Aloha Mango Chicken". So far, this is the stuff my baby enjoys. You may want to try and see if your boy likes it. HT is organic and the baby food tastes pretty good. I just asked bunnybluey to help me order a whole load of it!

Also, I recently made a simple stock with pork bones (with meat attached), organic baby carrots, and a few ears of sweetcorn and froze it for future use. I have since added this stock when preparing porridge and he seems to enjoy it more than plain porridge. I also blend potatoes, baby carrots, minced chicken and peas together with the stock to form a blend. He likes it too.

Oh yeah, I recently bought the Nestle Rice With Chicken for my boy to try and he likes it too. It's smooth and smells very good. I also let him try the Nestle cereal with mixed fruits, and cereal with cranberry and apple. He enjoyed them all. Perhaps you can give it a try.

Mattsmummy - you must be so heartpain...wow your boy can jump already? Mine is still crawling backwards...haha

Janet, Mattmum, many thanks for sharing! Already noted down and will let him try different flavours and see how he takes to them. Yarloh, after putting effort in preparing, I don't know to laugh or to cry when he plays by blowing bubbles with the porridge instead of taking it.

Mattmum, you can apply a little jing feng san powder on his gums. My bb has been taking it since birth when he had frights, or when he screams in his dreams. It has a calming effect on bbies and kids.

haven't been coming here for quite a while.

little fly, how r u now, recover liao mah? ya lor, for aviva, both parents must be insured, then i was telling hb if 1 day, unfortunately 1 or both of us go, mean he got no more coverage liao. tha y still tinking whether to change or not lor. my boy's party on 25 may. for those veg like carrot/pumpkin tha u had let ur boy tried, can add those into e porridge to make it more tasty, maybe he'll like. maybe can try some sweeter fruit like banana, rock melon, etc.

janjanmum, for jake's big day, i booked e baker &amp; venue. buffet comes w e venue, so just need to select e food. i gotten decors fr bday direct &amp; OTC. almost finishing my invitations. looking for plcs where i can inflate e balloons w helium, need somewhere near bukit batok or jurong.

banquez_suez, HT website says for 12mths &amp; above, so i just follow, dunno y under 1yo cant take.

bunz, how's ian? glad tha u can find someone trustworthy to look aft ian.

mattsmummy, welcome. my boy born in end may 07, coming to 1yo soon.

eliz, share w me on e quote for window grilles, e grilles in 2 of e rms spoilt liao. besides replacing grilles, i aso need to replace 2 ceiling fans &amp; find someone to install a LCD TV in my rm.

mattmum, ur enfapro still available? looking for 1 last can b4 i move on to enfagrow.

Hi Bunnybluey, good to hear from u

Thanks, I recovered alredi. I found one new cereal flavour he likes, Dumex's rice cereal with carrots. No choice, my boy is more keen in play than in food. He would finish half a bottle milk, then can't wait to get up and play.

Got to know about this url which has toys rentals and packages for bb's birthdays - see if this is useful?
http://www.toyrentalclub.com/index.php

wa, hv not been logging in for the past few mths. super busy. hope all's well with the mummies &amp; babies

little fly,
my son oso like dat when we first started him with solids. he will take a few mouth, give us a "yucky" look &amp; then threw up everything... so we "go slow" with him &amp; watched out for his facial expression. the moment we saw his "yucky" look, we will stop feeding him &amp; divert his attention away fr the food immed so dat he will not gag.

then slowly increase the intake over the days. he doesn't throw up his solids now.

Hazel will eat all I give her then vomit after 2 or 3 minutes later. that was abt 1 spon full only.
We are also going slow on solid. She is 7 months le!

1374867.jpg

Hi Florence,
I've over stock of Karihome goat milk the big tin, cause now my boy slows down on his intake, any intersted? would deliver to ur door. retail is gg at $48, would sell for $45. brand new unopen jus bought last week.

Afternoon Ladies!

Florence - Hazel smiles so sweetly, so cute. It's ok to go slow on solid, you will never know the next moment, she wants a share of what you eat. Kids grow up so fast nowsadays.

bunnybluey - wow, how many balloons will you be inflating w helium, going to cost a bomb?

jjm, u shorten ur nick? i got 24 latex balloons &amp; 1 foil balloon, there's a shop in imm tha provide helium refill, $2 ea for latex, $3+ ea for foil, a bit ex, so still looking for alts.

bunnybluey - I replied to your email already...can arrange with me over sms? Btw, the shop in IMM you are talking about, they pump the helium up for you and you bring back all the inflated balloons? Going to be tough transporting the balloons to your bday venue?

I once organised an event at work and we rented a helium tank and I got students to inflate the balloons at the event. I am thinking of getting that and doing it myself if it is cheaper. Still thinking.