gingerleaf well a lot of pple think study overseas is very fun, gd life, etc.. but it's not 100% true, there were good times and bad... n when things are bad, it can be very bad cuz lack of support network. But overall, for me, it was a life changing experience - i was glad i went, i think it shaped my character n mentality more than anything else, perhaps partly due to age also as I was quite young then too, just turned 17. I find dat the older one is, the less likely one will change..
joannelim yah... i'm just waiting, 38 wks now, seeing dr kee tmrw at tmc. Think i'm quite calm tho
garfield i think rebond will make ur hair more dry... i once did something similar to rebond, but the stylist said it's less damaging.. i can't remember wats it's called tho
Hair treatment will be good.. have u tried buying those intensive ones from shops n DIY once a wk at home? Would be quite ex to go every month to salon no?
I learnt french for 6 mths in sg before leaving, but the 1st time i bought a newspaper (english one lah) i could ask how much it cost, but couldn't understand the shopkeeper.. still ended up using sign language

... the advantage is dat i did pick up the language over there faster than those who had no background...
Dun really need to learn the language before going altho it will help to a certain extent, it also depends on how long u've learnt it before going.
It's not always true that one can learn a language just by living in a foreign country for a long time, it depends on who u interact w.. e.g. if u stay at home all the time or only hang out w those who speak ur language then chances are that after 20 yrs u still won't be able to speak their language. There are many cases of immigrants in Europe who can't speak the language of their adopted country after many many yrs.. my BIL is married to a Turkish lady, her parents moved their family to Germany when they were very young but till today, her parents can hardly speak any German. My BIL can't really communicate w them. In sg, a gd eg is the table tennis player... Jia Wei.. also.. she can hardly speak English tho she has been here for like 7-8 yrs, something like dat?
But on the other hand, if u make the effort to go out n mix with the locals, then u'll be able to pick up the language faster - it takes a lot of patience, thick skin n perserverance so it's not an easy road to walk. The language difference can make one feel very isolated at times.
preciouskk hope ur boy gets well soon..