Mummies/SAHM staying at Jurong

Jamie
Not sure abt town area infant care..only know the one at Aviva building (Learning vision) not bad coz previously my sis twins were there... The rates diff from places to places leh...n the range can b quite great..Little Skoolhouse infant care before subsidy is $1500...so with all the discount (Safra member: 10% off, then govt sub $600 n opening discount of $100) it's about $650/mth. But I have heard from pple there are some infant care after subsidy they pay only abt $300+ to $400+....so it really depends...

oh ya...go check out MCYS website...they will show a list of all the CC and infant cares centres in Singapore which has got govt subsidy ones..

precious i still dun like my hair... dun think Alex did much to it except shorten it. Still have same problem of tie or dun tie also not nice and fringe very flat. He told me no need to blow dry, but when i don't, my hair curl all over the place
do you think he would do something abt it foc since it's been a few weeks already?

BTW, he asked who recommended but since i dunno ur real name, i just said "kk". He obviously doesn't know who i'm talking abt :p

garfield treatment din work, still dropping lots of hair but i think that's norm for post-pregnancy... n i think usually hair loss treatment must do consistently to have effect, one time prob wouldn't do much.

For you, since it's been so long, maybe u wanna consider other factors e.g. nutrition, stress, lack of rest?

jamie usually dr dun tell u the position, all they care abt is whether the head is down or not, but there are actually specific positions that are better than others. The best position is known as LOA - left occiput anterior, meaning bb is on ur left side, facing the front. I only know this cuz i learnt it during hypnobirthing class.

Sometimes bb can be in LOA for the longest time then for whatever reason suddenly turn to another position during labour - wat i meant by climbing stairs is during labour, not before.

Will be bringing Johann to Germany next wk to see hb's family... anyone knows if it's ok to put the medela pump motor into my luggage or must hand carry?

Also, anyone has warm boy's clothes for 3-6 months that i can borrow? Been monitoring the weather forecast and the avg daily temp is less than 20!

When is a good time to start sending bb to play groups? I think cc is for 18mo and above only right? And SAHM dun get subsidy or less?

Preciouskk,
At myfirstskool JP, after subsidy is abt $733. But i will still insist to take care of my own till he turns at least 12mths old by end of Dec, then i would prefer him to start the infant care.

I am ald starting to search diligently for my elder boy. I start too late. sigh! Tmr i'll be visiting Carpe Diem at Yung Ho Road. Heard fm my friends that the teachers there are good! I fully comprehend the part that they dun learn much at home. Except more scolding and beatings frm me. Poor boy too!! hee...that's why i wish he can settle down in a cc that i can trust.

de luxe,
Ur huuby from germany?

Jas,
My gal is at carpe diem at JW blk 739 branch.Till now I am still not very sure of Jurong area so have no idea where is the yung ho branch.

Do ur have KP card?Can i borrow it?

oh dear, i'm getting worried and wondering if i should start looking for a playgroup / childcare soon... i dun wanna put him there full day, everyday. At the moment, will only want like 1-2 times per week, half day so that he get some other activities and socialising... is that possible?

garfield yup my hubby is german.

de luxe,
if u put now it will be infant care and if u intend to be a sahm then might as well put in playgroup as it cheaper and they can socialize/learn things and it about 2hr program daily but mostly it for 2yrs old onwards though.

Oic my GM is also a german.

de luxe,
Yup sorta no playgroup for youngs unless u consider gymboree,kindermusik etc which is 6mths onwards and it like for once a week kind of thing.

But there is this school located at united square it a twice a week affair and for as young as 8mths onwards but it more like a enrichment course as well something like julia gabriel.Nv send my gal ever but some of my frenz does so unless u r a sahm or some1 is able to send the kid for u as it not a daily program and it abit ex for wat I feel lah but anyway it for the kids to socialize and learn so it a win-win situation if got the $$$ and able to be a sahm.

Garfield
The one u mentioned at United Square is Growing Up Gifted...heard not bad but i nvr bring my kids there lar....heehee...Julia Gabriel not v convenient leh..BTW, wat's a KP card?

Deluxe
U only cut ur hair and purchase the hair loss treatment thingy rite? unless u did rebonding or perming then u can go back to him...otherwise, haircut nothing much u can do abt it...

I've brought my elder one to Baby Jumpers Gym at Bukit Batok before. They practices flash cards and some gym activities, once a week class for 1 hour and the rate is about $45 per session and it's for 10 sessions..well, i think my boy do learn something there but this is more of enrichment classes thou..

Oh ya...Pat's schoolhouse at the Arena country club there also have once a week class...went for a trial before and they do music n movements, some arts etc...but forgot for what age group already...u might want to check out their website..

Preciouskk,
Yup tat is GUG i am talking about.

KP is kiddy palace anyway have brought what I need liao so dun need the card leh.

Once a week is fine for me, i dun have the time and energy to do more often cuz most of these stuff for kids at this age require the parent to be involved. Just hoping to find something convenient and not too expensive. Already have so many holes in my pocket... :p

afternoon..

hi deluxe,
Jurong Safra had little neuro, it is also enrichment class for infant... which it is 1 time per week, u can also check on their website. btw i have 25% voucher, if u decided i can pass to u... www.littleneurotree.com

de luxe,
There quite alot of enrichment courses but then actually to teach urself if u have the time and effort is better than sending outside as for gym style playroom u can go safra jurong/safra toa payoh/east coast(frisk and fromp)/turf city(fidget)/bukit merah(atlantis)/orchid country club and just let ur baby play and it not tat ex for this places compare to gymboree etc lah.

our thread is really quiet....

recently had a lotssssss of durians...hahaha....durian feast manz...n i'm suppose to watch my weight coz last mth put on 3.9kg....hahah....cham liaoz later kenna warning by my gynae again....

yup... i think the durian season is coming... but me still down with sore throat.... haiz.....

yup super super haiz.....

yeah...durian season now...coz some business associates always order in basket direct from wholesaler so i also took 1 basket of durians..hahaha....of course some gave to my in-laws then some to my parents but still left about 15 durians at home...so have been eating a lot manz...yummy...

haha...guess wat...1 more basket of durians given to us now...will take half back to savour....thk my bb will b "heavy duty" manz...

I heard that the wet market at St50something has a durian stall that sells durians at night at 10cts each.

Anyone can verify?

that's what my mum and sis told me... and it seems like the 'sale' is only from 6pm to 9pm and each patron can only buy 10 durians.

rantingbaby,
wow if it in the newspaper then it muz be true but guess alotsa ppl from all over SG will be coming for it and I doubt I would be in the queue cos rather nua at home.

hi garfield

actually I have intro before... neverthless I can do it again... kekeke...

I am a mother of a 14 months old girl. Now still a FTWM but am serving my notice. Will be a SAHM from July. Now looking out for baby-sitting jobs to earn my own spending money.

Hi Mommies out there,

Can I join your??? A short introduction of myself.....
I am a mother of two, one born in year 2004 & the other 2006, staying in jurong west, now doing temp jobs.....

HI new mummies...need to have patience with this thread coz it's really slow......hahha....sometimes i will do silent reading also...hee...

rantingbaby
any reason for becoming a SAHM?? coz ur girl quite big already...i mean not a new-born lar..

rantingbaby,
kk paisei cos tis thread is abit slow so tend to forgot it anyway welcome.

Jennifer,
U r sure welcome to join us.

Sandra,
Welcome to join us.Part time job u can look through straits time via online as they have more opening.

my reason for being a SAHM? cos my parents are ill, so they need someone who can accompany them to doctors and so on. I cannot afford so many leaves, so decided to quit my job lor.

Anyway, this gives me more time with my girl and I can also concentrate on my home-based business.

I have a pet taxi service and a child-minding service.

Pet Taxi has been more of on/off kind. But child-minding is new, cos I will be a SAHM.

ratingbaby,

So for child-minding, you will need to find baby-sitters or part time nannies to stand by....Is that rite?

not so keen of online money making, prefer 2 go out n work 4 part time, but until now still can find leh... hv been look out 1 yr liao... dont mind 2 teach @ tuition centre or doing telemarketing work

rantingbaby,
Hmmm,tat is quite a new concept for me btw wat is pet taxi for?

sandra,
If so why dun u offer ur own place to teach kids tution and go by hourly or monthly rate?
Like tat no need get out of house or maybe u go ppl place to teach.

hi jennifer

no lar, I will take care of the babies myself.
But only up to 3 babies only. This is because it's a initial start-up and it would not be fair to the baby-sitters to have them on stand-by but no babies for them.

If I have too many resquest for baby-sitters, then I will consider hiring baby-sitters.

Sandra

Initially I also wanted to go out and work part-time. But it will not serve my purpose of wanting to be a SAHM. so on second thought, I decided to concentrate on my online business instead.

hi garfield

most sedan taxis do not pick up owners with dogs, especially those who have a very big-sized dog. (Actually there are those who already reject dogs who are placed in cages also.)

And pets are not allowed on MRT and buses. So if a dog is sick or needs to meet up his doggie friends, he will not have a transport (if his owner does not have a car).

So this is what pet taxi is about. Transporting pet owners and pets who needs to go out for grooming, vet appointment or out to have fun.

Why I mention dogs more is because there is a sensitive issue about dogs using public transport.

Sandra

I agree with garfield. Just do a simple flyer and knock on your neighbours door and pass it to them.

Anyone those children are in JW area talent plus playgroup??? Which one is good. The one my son is attending now is at st 25, it is a very very bad school n i thinking of transfering him to other branch.... ANy mummies out there, care to give some feed back regarding other JW branch talent plus playgroup???

The reason i wan a transfer is becos:
1. When i look up to this branch is becos it near my hse, walking distance. When i go there go for enquires for the 1st time, i realise the main teacher can attend to me (enquires) for 1+ hrs without starting the class.... n the assisitant teacher there do nothing n just play with the children. I did have my doubt that bery 1st time, so i reconsider again after few more month. 2rd time i go regrister n that took me ard 1hrs too, n again the main teacher attend to me n didnt start the lesson as usual. I happen to saw a 3yrs old boy sitting alone outside the classroom sofa, doing nothing and i started to ask y he sitting here, n the teacher can tell me: aiya... he lousy lah... cme for 6mth oreadi still like this. I was there for 1hrs n he boy just sit alone there doing nothing, he is not crying at all, the teacher there simply dun care him,n tell me he will go in himself after an hrs plus... I think the teachers there shd encourage him to join in n not do nothing to him n let him sit there for 6nmths since he is not crying oreadi....

2. Today i start my 1st day with my son, n realise the whole lesson is playing with toys thru out the lesson.... For 1hrs plus, the children there are playing toys on the floor with 2 teachers there, after an hr plus, the main teacher take out 1 worksheet n ask 1by1 go table glue n paste, then ask them continue to play toys. After all children done worksheet, the teacher play toys with them awhile then ask them go wash hand n drink water. After drink water, teacher take out another kinds of toy n let them play, after that, sing afew song n good bye..... There is no hoslistic learning at all. I read from the website the programme is not like this leh.... Now i knw hw come the teacher can attend to me for 1hrs without starting lesson...

3. I find that the teacher is not those caring n patient types, when he saw my son is stuborn type of people, she tell me 2moro i dun come in n sty. I wonder what she is going to do to my son without me ard.... The reason she give me is children hard to settle down with parent ard. i think she is not going to use the soft way (hong)at my son as what i see his attitude toward other children. I really think there is something wrong with this playgroup at st 25, b4 i sign up, i oreadi have my doubt. Infact i shd trrust my feeling n not sign up in the 1st place when i find it fishy.

I going to try for 1 more day n see what the outcome, n decide to change branch, but that will be driving dist liao, no more walking dist.

I got another mummies at st 91 there say the lesson is not like tis when he start his son there... hope mummies can give other feedback regarding other branch for my referral.. Hw abi=out the branch at gek poh CC?

Just wanna check out if there's any comment for this childcare ctr named Daystar Development Ctr at BLK 653C, near the Pionner MRT?

I have enrol my son into Daystar and PT Saint Elmo at blk 610. Now still waiting for school to call me if my son is selected.

Just wanna see if there's any comment for Daystar before my son really goes in.

Joanne,
I also enrol my DS in Talentplus group at blk 661D. Yes, you are right. The main teacher can talk to me non stop for 1hr plus before she start her lesson. She even assured me to leave my DS to her on the 1st day. Which i did! Wrong mistake. After two weeks, she asked me to bring a extra pram for my DS to sleep...cos he cry for 2 hours and its that assistant who has to carry him. There is no comforting from the teacher at all. Then i decide to join in the class..to my dismay, she can con't to talk to me...let the children "free play" for 1 hour plus, start the lesson for less than 5mins!!! And i almost puke the way she conduct her lesson. A=Apple, B=Boy...till letter "E" stops! All these take less than a few mins..then free play again till time up.

I soooo regret to enrol DS in after spending close to 300 (need to pay advance fee for Dec) for only 2 weeks!!!