Cooking Tips & Recipe

Wow, nice piccies of the food and the adorable kiddies!!

I have copied and saved all the recipes in Yahoo! Group (under "Database" on the side bar). If you'd like to have access, send me a pm with your email addy & I'll send you the invite.

Catch up with all of you during my babies' snooze time

Hi choc

Today is leftover day
ta-bao too much from my mum's place yesterday, hehe!

So far, there're 96 recipes in the database - thanks to everyone's generous contributions!

<font size="+0"><font color="red">Dessert for a hot day?</font></font>

Corn Agar Agar with Coconut Milk

*400ml coconut milk (Some times I used 270ml Ayam brand's Canned Pandan Coconut Milk + 130ml water)

*30g Green Bean Flour

*1 pkt Agar Agar Powder
(I used Rose Brand.Phoon's Huat's turned out too soft)

*200g sugar

*600ml water

*300g corn (1 can)

1)Mix coconut Milk and green bean flour until smooth.

2)Combine agar agar powder,sugar,water &amp; sweet corn &amp; bring to boil)

3)Combine with coconut milk mixture 1), and bring to boil again.

4)Pour into mould and set aside to cool.

annelise,
Thanks so much for putting all the recipes into Yahoo! Group. I've sent you a pm, hee.

lyn,
Wah, 1 more month &amp; you'll be holding yr bb! Hmm, why does yr gynae prefer c-sec for u?

Pris,
I'm really impressed, u hv brought up yr boy so well! I hope I'll be able to do the same with my boy too.

Wow, this thread is so active with so many yummy food postings!
Thanks for all the advice on my symptoms and telling me not to worry... yep, I am just trying not to do that and not to think so much about it. Have been real careful about not walking too much and doing heavy chores cos of the cramps. Yep, am taking folic acid and daily multi-vits too.

Lyn, hehe, my nipples are definitely bigger! So big that even under a padded T-shirt bra, I can feel the shape of the nipples! And I've been feeling so tired recently, took a lot of naps in the afternoon. I'm normally a light sleeper, but now, all my sleep are pretty deep, like I just knocked out after running alot. I'm trying not to think too much cos nipples are not so sore now (altho still big) and I am so afraid that if all the symptoms go off, and if I test too early, it may show positive and then later my AF comes and it's negative, so will just take my mind off and concentrate on the recipes here.

oh, Choc, Prisc, I don't normally eat chocolate, but I adore the "Lanna-style" chocolate fudge cakes. You heard of this place called Awfully Chocolate? They have that kind of chocolate fudge cake I like and their chocolate ice-cream is superb! http://www.awfullychocolate.com/ I find it a little pricey at $21 for a 500gm chocolate cake, altho it's still cheaper than buying a slice at those cafes like Coffee Bean or Secret Recipe. Plus of course we cannot get this kind of choc fudge cake at those cafes. Let me know if any of you knows how to make this kind of cake!

Prisc, good luck to your babymaking for #2! As for maids, I am also not comfortable with them as I've heard so many horror stories, so dh and I split housework too, altho I try to do more since I am not working now.

Hi annelise,
I'll pm you to add me to the Yahoo Group.

Here's my first recpipe contribution - I "agar-agar" and did this myself so I do not have any exact proportions, but it is quite yummy, and "bu", since it contains DOM which my dh do not like to drink neat. Not for the preggers since it contains alcohol! You can add or reduce the proportions yourself.

Orange-Flavoured Pork Chops
2 slices pork chops
1 tsp sesame oil
1/2 tsp soya sauce
1 tbsp DOM &amp; 2 tbsp DOM
Navel Oranges to yield 2 strips of rind &amp; 1/4-1/2 cup of orange juice
a little cornflour
Cooking Oil

Method:
1. Marinate the pork chops for at least an hour in the fridge with sesame oil, 1 tbsp DOM and soy sauce.

2. When ready to cook, put cornflour into the pork chops and use hands to coat pork chops evenly. I do this so the cornflour can absorb the marinate and it won't go to waste.

3. Heat oil and fry pork chops. You may find that because of the cornflour, there is a "sticky layer" at the bottom of the pan. This is OK as that will be used to thicken the sauce later. Just lower the fire so it does not get burnt.

4. When the pork chops are browned on the outside, add orange juice, orange rind then DOM. Let everything simmer till your pork chops are cooked. You will not get the "crispy" effect you get with fried or grilled pork chops as this has absorbed the orange juice already. But you should still get that bits of brown on the outside due to the initial frying.

5. When pork chops are cooked, take them out and put on serving plates. Leave the rest of the juice in the pan and now, use your spatula and scrap the bottom where the cornflour was sticking to earlier. This will thicken the sauce. Add a little more cornflour diluted in water if sauce does not thicken. Add orange juice from a carton if juice in pan is too little.

6. When sauce is thickened, pour over your pork chops. This dish is nice when served with mashed potatoes and lightly steamed veges/salad.

* To make the orange rind, use the vegetable peeler and peel off the skin of the orange. Try not to include the white part as that part is bitter.

** Always add orange juice then DOM, else you will find your pan sizzling and fizzling if you add the alcohol first.

*** I sometimes play cheat a little by keeping a carton of orange juice on hand, in case the ones I squeezed is not enough, then I add the carton one.

van, have you visited the b-i-y store? They've got the carousel horse cake separator from Wilton's that I've been wanting to order from the States. Are the prices reasonable? Phoon Huat is a distributor of Wilton's products but the stuff they bring in are very basic, like fondants &amp; icing.

Hi Annelise,
Thanks alot!

Hi Choc,
I just saw from the Yahoo Group DB that there is a choc fudge cake recipe. Is that the same type as the Lanna type?
If it is, I may make it this weekend, that is, if I am not too tired and fall asleep in the afternoons again!

hehe all the mummies here...i'm the only childless one!

sophie,

don't worry too much...try to rest and eat well yah?

i got a choc cake recipe that u may like but i copied it from another forum so i am not gonna post here since i am not the originator.

leave me ur email and i'll send it to u.

Hello gals!
hee... I fell asleep just now :p

Hi Sophie,
Wow... Orange pork chop sounds good...
yum yum... Oh, you are not working also. Same as me :p Do you cook often?

Today I boiled white fungus, red dates, fu zhu, bai he... not very nice... hahaha... but I still gotta finish them all. The most yucky part is the fu zhu... Think the fu zhu I bought more suitable for the vinegar pig's legs...

Hi sp, sophie,
I had big fibroids inside the walls of the womb before and had a surgery to remove them. Gynae said I have high risk of uterine rupture during contractions and if uterine rupture happens, baby gotta be taken out within minutes... and sometimes cannot save... I hear already quite scared.

Happened to see this thread.

Anyone happened to know how to make "hoon kueh" dessert?

I tried following the instructions given on the package, but can never get the amount of water to add right.

Hi lyn

Yeah, LittleCat or Choc06 said that there was anotther type of smaller, thinner fu zhu for desserts. It's good that you managed to finish it all!

Hi aa

I too have probs with the hoon kueh - can never get it right - hope someone here can enlighten us

I just watched "I Not Stupid II" and I must say, it was really good. I came across a poem that has a similar message and thought I'd share it with all of you here:

If I Had My Child to Raise Over Again

If I had my child to raise all over again,
I'd finger-paint more, and point the fingers less.
I would do less correcting and more connecting.
I'd take my eyes off my watch, and watch with my eyes.
I would care to know less and know to care more.
I'd take more hikes and fly more kites.
I'd stop playing serious, and seriously play.
I would run through more fields
and gaze at more stars.
I'd do more hugging and less tugging.
I'd build self-esteem first, and the house later.
I would be firm less often, and affirm much more.
I'd teach less about the love of power,
And more about the power of love.

By Diane Loomans

Lyn,
Yes the Fu Zhu used for dessert is different from Dau Kee for cooking.Asked the provision shop owner or market dried good stall,they will tell you which one to buy.

Annelise,
Was just joking with you about the recipes,but I didn't think of adding the document under Yahoo Group.What a nice and smart thought!

And I think I don't have 96 recipes in my file,can I PM you so I could check out what I have left out?

I just learnt of B.I.Y. recently, haven't got any thing from them.

Are you referring to Wilton Cake Leveler? I got mine from Phoon Huat at S$7.07. I took a photo of it,but have problem uploading to my PC.

hi lyn,
I think a C-section is better for you in that case. Are you doing an epidural C-section or GA C-section? Yep, I'm not working. I try to cook everyday as dh also prefers homecooked food.

For the fu zhu for dessert, I use this brand called Sun Kee which you can buy from NTUC. The description is Beancurd Sheet, and it's really thin and brittle in a flat sheet form. This one is quite nice for dessert as it's thin, and once cooked, the texture is smooth and almost like egg white, which is quite nice in desserts.

Hi Amelia,
I also don't have a child yet... hehe, I use the word "yet" because I believe we all can become mummies one day, so this word keeps me positive. My email address is [email protected] Look forward to the choc cake recipe

Hi Van,
I saw your posting on Suan Pan Zi and am wondering if anyone in your family is Hakka? Cos this is quite a traditional Hakka dish. My dad is Hakka, and I use to help my grandma roll the little abacus beads when I was a kid
My mum has since modified the traditional stir-fry method by adding in stock cos we prefer to eat them with a little more gravy/soup with lots of coriander garnishing. This way, she can also use less oil in the cooking. She also adds black fungus strips which is quite nice.

Wow, this thread really moves very fast. I am a FTWM, and cant really access from office, so have not been posting much. I was on leave the whole of last week actually. This week back at work.

Hi Amelia, I am interested in the choc fudge cake recipe. Could you email to me at [email protected] ?

Spare Ribs with Chilli Salad Sauce

<u>Ingredients:</u>

1kg prime spare ribs, chopped into small pieces

<u>Marinate:</u>

1 tbsp chopped garlic
1 tsp bicarbonate of soda/baking soda
1 egg
1 tbsp Chinese rice wine
2 tbsp Light Soy Sauce
1 tbsp sugar
2 tbsp oyster sauce
1/4 tsp sesame oil
Dash of pepper
3 tbsp tapioca flour
8 tbsp water

<u>Chilli Salad Sauce:</u>

200ml mayonnaise
4 tbsp Thai Chilli Sauce
2 tbsp tomato sauce
2 tbsp caster sugar
2 tbsp plum sauce

<u>METHOD:</u>

1) Rinse and drain the spare ribs well. Add in marinate, mix well. Marinate for at least 1 hour. Deep fry in hot oil until crispy and golden. Dish and drain.(To make it very crispy, re-fry the spare-ribs one more time)

2) Mix the salad sauce ingredients. Pour onto the crispy spare ribs,or serve separately in a dish as dipping sauce. Serve immediately.

My cousins, nephews and nieces love this dish,1 kg is always not enough for them.

Hi Sophie,
I am Hokkien but my hb is hakka. But I didn't learn the Suan Pan Zi from my MIL. I found the receipe in two books,and modified it.

I tried the Suan Pan Zi with black fungus strips in a stall in Woodlands,it is quite nice.

Hi Annelise

I like the poem but I think there has to be a fair balance of love and discipline and when disciplining, we have to disciplining with love and then after that to show the children love freely. Children need to be mould and we need to guide them, it is a duty for us.

Over here due to the human right and freedom expression, and no physical punishment and verbal scolding, some of the kids here are very naughty and out of hand. And they are very wild too and parents who really care are not putting their children into elementary public school. Most are homeschool or in private school. In fact, one parent just pull her 6 yr old out of school from the emailgroup I know.

Hi Josephine

Sweet and sour pork
Ingredients:
300g of lean pork with a little fat, cut into bite size
1 cup of cornflour
1 slice of pineapple, cut into bite size
1 cucumber, cut into bite size
1-2 tomato, cut into bite size
3 tbsp of ketcup
2 tbsp of tomato paste
half cup of water
1 tsp of sugar
1 tbsp of minced garlic
1 tsp of light sauce
1 tsp of dark sauce
1 tsp of sesame oil
2 tbs of oil
salt to taste

Methods:
1. Marinate pork with the dark sauce and light sauce for at least half an hour.
2. Heat up a small pot of oil for deep frying.
3. Deep into cornflour on all sides, and put into hot oil to fry.
4. When golden brown, remove and drain off the oil.
5. Mix ketcup, tomato paste, sugar and sesame oil together.
6. Heat up the 2 tbsp of oil and fry garlic until fragnant, add in the pineapple.
7. Add in the mixture of ketcup etc and add the water. Simmer until boil then add in the tomato and cucumber, stir fry and then pour onto the ready fried pork.

Nonya Chap Chai

Ingredients:
220g cabbage, cut into about 3cm by 3cm size
1 handful of dry lily flowers, soaked in hot water
1 handful of black fungus, soaked in hot water and cut into quarter
15 dry mushroom, soaked in hot water and drained-cut into half (keep the mushroom water)
1 small packet of vermicelli (Tang hoon)
100g bamboo shoots, cut into slices
50g dried bean curd skin (tau kee), cut into smaller pieces
1 sze chuan tau lu
1 tbsp of tau cheo (grounded dark bean paste)
1 clove of minced garlic
1 clove of minced shallot
Half tbsp of thick dark soy sauce
3 tbsp of oil
Salt to taste

Methods:
1. Heat up oil and fry garlic, shallot till fragnant.
2. Add in tau cheo and stir well.
3. Then add in the cabbage, dry lily flowers, fungus, mushroom, bamboo shoots and vermicelli. Stir them well.
4. Add water, thick dark soy sauce and the sze chuan tau lu and mixed well.
5. Add mushroom water and the bean curd skin.
6. Simmer for about 15 to 20minutes.
7. Add salt to taste.

Pris,
Yr sweet &amp; sour pork sounds delicious! mmm...

How come verbal scolding also cannot? Then how to teach children? Always say nicely is it? If still don't listen how?

spongme, due to the freedom expression...so I told the parents, this is asian way and it is our style back home.

They do have lots of problem cases here too. My friend stationed in Costa Ricco, told me when we chat earlier on skype also the same thing.

MANGO CREAM WITH TAPIOCA SAGO

Ingredients:
Quarter cup of tapioca sago
6 ripe mangoes
cup milk
10 tsp sugar
Half cup cold water

Method:
1. Bring 2 litres of water to the boil.
2. Gently add the sago and stir occasionally till the sago turns transparent.
3. Pour the sago through a sieve and rinse well. Drain and set aside to chill.
4. Remove the flesh from the mangos and blend with the milk, water, and sugar.
5. You can do this by halves. Add this blended mango mixture to the chilled sago and mix well.
6. Pour into individual serving dishes and chill very well till ready to serve.

Sambal Belachan

Ingredients:
225g Red Chillis
55g Toasted Belachan
3-4 Lime Leaves
2 teaspoon Sugar
2 teaspoon Lime Juice

Method:
1.Grill the belachan over a charcoal stove, but don't burn it. (or in the wok over small fire)
2.Put grilled belachan, red chillis and lime leaves in the pounder (Batu Lesong) and pound them.
3.Add sugar and lime juice and mix well.

Healthy Fried Wonton (Make about 25 to 30 pieces)

Ingredients:
100g of lean minced pork
25 pieces of deshelf prawns
25g of mixed vegetables
1 teaspoon of chopped garlic
5 water chestnuts chopped
1 teaspoon of sesame oil
some light soy sauce for seasoning or taste
Wonton skins

Methods:
1. Add the chopped garlic, chopped water chestnuts, sesame oil and light sauce and mix well and let it marinate for half an hour.

2. Then add the mixed vegetables to the mixture and mix well.

3. Used the wonton skin to wrap half teaspoon of mixture with a deshelf prawn.

4. Heat oil until hot and fry until golden brown for all the wontons.

5. Served with lettuces, cucumber and tomatoes

Priscilla, can u pls adv what is chuan tau lu? and what does 1 sze mean?TIA!

I bought some medium size prawns to fry prawn fritter. any tips to offer me to make them real crispy.thanks!

hello all!

oh my, this thread really grow fast ! i almost lost liao...
choc06, about the part time maid, some will request at least 3 hours (to cover their travelling time and cost etc). As for the one i engaged they will send 2 persons and stay about 2 hours+. but i want to 'fire' them liao
after awhile they just dun keep up with the standard.. sigh!

Anyone know how to get rid of the burn mark on the pot ? i tried the claypot rice last week, it was nice. but later when i tried to re-heat, i forgotten i leave the fire on... so at the end 'chao-da' liao!
i heard by putting lemon/veniger and heat it slowly will remove it right? any other suggestion?
my hb used his 'cow-strenght' still can't remove, luckily he didn't scold me, he clean it few times (i can hear it) and finally he said can not remove leh how?

i see lots of new members here (a BIG welcome!), FYI we have a table that capture our info, see below for example:
If u want to join, just give me your info in following format, seperate each filed by comma :

Name, Location, Profession,Kids, Dialect,Remarks

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD> Location</TD><TD> Profession</TD><TD>Kids</TD><TD> Dialect</TD><TD>Remarks </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little_cat</TD><TD>Jurong East</TD><TD>fulltime working mom</TD><TD> 1 boy (4 yrs)</TD><TD> Cantonese</TD><TD> Luv cockles &amp; other seafood currently PG must watch my diet. </TD></TR><TR><TD>Annelise</TD><TD>Tampines</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD>2 girls (5 yrs &amp; 2.5 yrs)</TD><TD> Teochew</TD><TD>Love baking </TD></TR><TR><TD>Priscilla</TD><TD> Toh Guan Road</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD>1 boy (31 months)</TD><TD></TD><TD> currently outstation in Vancouver </TD></TR><TR><TD>Choc06</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD> 2 girls(5+yrs &amp; 4yrs)</TD><TD> Cantonese</TD><TD> Loves cockles cheesecake &amp; malay food (5 mths pg) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lyn Happysunflower</TD><TD>YCK</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD>Newborn in Jun06</TD><TD></TD><TD> Exploring Vegetarian food. </TD></TR><TR><TD>Van</TD><TD>CCK</TD><TD>SAHM</TD><TD> 1 girl (5yrs+)</TD><TD> Hokkien</TD><TD>Love baking trying out new recipes </TD></TR><TR><TD>sp</TD><TD>KL</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>1 boy (9 mths)</TD><TD> Hokkien</TD><TD>learning to cook </TD></TR><TR><TD>clover</TD><TD> bendemeer</TD><TD> sahm</TD><TD> 1 boy(2yrs)</TD><TD> </TD><TD>love food;seldom cook. </TD></TR><TR><TD>home</TD><TD> cck</TD><TD> sahm</TD><TD> boy(2yr)</TD><TD></TD><TD> edd 16/11 </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Thanks Pris!
Can I know how long I need to cook the Belachan if I use the wok?

Btw, any good Sambal to recommend in Supermaket for lazy days?

LittleCat,
Try the Japanese white sponge.

Hey cat,
Had a good weekend ?
What pot you use for the claypot rice? My claypot was burnt also, I used a pc of crashed aluminium foil to scrap the burnt marks with gif aft soaking the pot day and night.You tried the green moss scrub ? Metal pot is easier to scrub but claypot is tougher.. In the end, mine left a bit of stain in the pot.

How much you pay for one hr ? Are they locals or filipinas ? Once a week is it? So, what are your plans now that you've fired them ?

Thanks prisc for the recipes ! I like sambal balacan with anything !

It's been very hot these days! Must make some cooling desserts, anyone got anymore easy desserts?

cat_tail, is it those they claim as 'magic sponge' that can remove the tea stain easily?

choc06, hehe a very good weekend cos i got to eat hun on both saturday and sunday!!! i bought 1kg on saturday, couldn't finish so keep in fridge so sunday another round, yummy!
i use those corning pot (spelling?) actully got a little burnt layer of rice underneath which taste more oringal 'claypot' style.
Guess i have to use 'knife' to really clear the burnt thing before i can use all the aluminium/green moss/jap sponge liao

ok may be i confused u ..pai seh
the one i engaged is 4x per month, about $265.
So they come to my house every Friday. They sent 2 person and work for 2 hours+. If u want i can email u the company name and contact. btw this is the one i want to fire :p i find their standard drop...
The other type is either local maid they do it on their off day ($10 per hour, illegal) or some local auntie doing as like their job, normally more than $10 per hour.
I have started a thread about "part time maid..." so far i have seen few people post there you can check it out.
Personally i did try once last time, but i find i don't like they are working while my family is around. So no contact, sorry...