Cooking Tips & Recipe

Choc,

Thanks for your cake recipe.
Will try it soon!

Oh, I got my tamari from an asian grocery store in states.I think you shld be able to get it at korean supermarts here.

You can also try an easier tasty marinade that i experimented recently..

Light soy sauce
Dark soy sauce
Hinode mirin(make sure it's hinode and not hon-mirin)Honmirin has high alcohol content whilst hinode mirin has more corn syrup and it's better for marinades.
Sake
Sesame oil(optional)

Marinate your chicken wings and bake them in the oven at 200C for about 30 mins.This is a pic...
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v239/ameliatan/soymirinwings.jpg

Hi priscilla,
Thank you for the recipe...
Are you a Peranakan? keke... sure can earn a lot in Vancouver to open a restaurant...
Wow... bitter gourd with fish and black bean sauce.. very nice dish...
I love bitter gourd...

Hi annelise,
How often do you iron clothes? I will iron when my hubby's shirts run out... lol... Sometimes once every two weeks. Cos I like to iron all at one go. Usually will be 10 shirts, 5-6 pants, 2 jeans, many tee shirts and 3-4 short sleeves shirts... lol...

Hi Amelia,
What did you put in the pork porridge? Did you add bean curd strips? kekeke... the picture looks appetising... I just had a very full thai food at Paddy fields and I am salivating looking at your picture! lol...

Hi Lyn

I am not half a peranakan...my maternal grandmother is a peranakan. So we all love peranakan food and she was a great cook.

DAGING RENDANG (Beef Rendang)

Ingredients:
1 lb stewing beef cut into cubes (About 454g)
5 Tbsp grated coconut, roasted in dry pan over slow fire and cooled. Then pounded to a paste.
2 Tbsp vegetable oil for cooking
2 cups coconut milk
4 screwpine (pandanus) leaves

Ground Ingredients (Paste):
12 shallots
6 cloves garlic
2 inches galangal
1 inches fresh ginger
10 dried red chillies, soaked in hot water for 20 minutes to soften.
2 fresh red chillies, seeded
2 lemon grass stalks
2 lime leaves, finely sliced
1 tsp salt
1 tsp sugar

Method:
1. Heat oil in wok. Gently fry ground ingredients (paste) for about 5 minutes without burning.
2. Add beef and stir fry until it changes color.
3. Add coconut milk and screwpine leaves. Bring to a slow boil.
4. Add grated coconut.
5. Simmer gently until meat is really tender and gravy has dried up (Approximate cooking time is 1 hour)
6. If the sauce threatens to dry out before meat is tender, add a little hot water (some purists would choose oil).
7. Serve on plain or coconut rice.

Minced Beef Porridge or Congee

Ingredients:
75g of minced beef
1 handful of dry scallop
1 handful of dry silverfish
1 cup of mixed vegetables
2 cups of rice grains
water

Methods:
1. Rinse and soak dry scallop and dry silverfish for 15 minutes.
2. Wash and rinse rice grains, add clean dry scallop and dry silverfish and add water into the pot and bring to boil.
3. Keep it boiling until the rice grains are cooked well like congee, add in the mixed vegetables.
4. Add some hot boiling water into the minced beef and mixed well, then add everything into the boiling congee and stir.
5. Leave it to cook for about 10 minutes more before serving with parleys, spring onion, sesame oil, a little of light soy sauce (if desire) and some pepper.

Happy trying the beef rendang and beef porridge.

Ooh... I love beef rendang too, thanks Prisc..
Sure you have lots of singaporeans inviting themselves to your house?

Amelia, thanks for the lovely pics.. I also want to know what else is in your porridge? I can see mix veg only..

Annelise, you r very disciplined.. ironed all clothes at one go..I am not, hehe..I think it's a pkg : long/short sleeves+pants+polo T shirts. But I'll do it in 2 days..
Your second one fell in sch ? Did you apply zambak on her bump? I find that zambak is effective in reducing swell and ... spanking marks ..

Sometimes I make shrimp dumplings for dinner too. I'll then sllice ginger and add vinegar for the dip..

Paddy fields sounds familiar.. where is it, lyn ?
Went to SAF yatch club(at Admiralty) last month for seafood, the ambience is nice by the sea and the seafood is fresh.

Bittergourd soup with pork ribs and tomatoes is nice too..

wow! so many good cook in this thread. how abt a demo or hands-on cooking lesson for a sahm like me who are still struggling to cook well all these yrs.

Good morning gals! I will be busy this afternoon, so will not be logging in
I am going for my final detailed scan and see my gynae after that

Choc06,
Paddy Fields is opposite Ikea
Yes, bittergourd soup with pork ribs and tomatoes is nice...

Hi Jasmin,
Welcome to the thread. Do you wanna join our list? haha... It's a good idea to meet up to cook...

annelise, hope your girl is ok, aiyoh i hear also heart pain.
My son kena once b4 also dun know how he fell, forehead somemore...

ok table updated :
<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD> Location</TD><TD> Profession</TD><TD>Kids</TD><TD> Dialect</TD><TD>Remarks </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little_cat</TD><TD>Jurong East</TD><TD>fulltime working mom</TD><TD> 1 boy (4 yrs)</TD><TD> Cantonese</TD><TD> Luv cockles &amp; other seafood currently PG must watch my diet. </TD></TR><TR><TD>Annelise</TD><TD>Tampines</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD>2 girls (5 yrs &amp; 2.5 yrs)</TD><TD> Teochew</TD><TD>Love baking </TD></TR><TR><TD>Priscilla</TD><TD> Toh Guan Road</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD>1 boy (31 months)</TD><TD></TD><TD> currently outstation in Vancouver </TD></TR><TR><TD>Choc06</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD> 2 girls(5+yrs &amp; 4yrs)</TD><TD> Cantonese</TD><TD> Loves cockles cheesecake &amp; malay food (5 mths pg) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lyn Happysunflower</TD><TD>YCK</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD>Newborn in Jun06</TD><TD></TD><TD> Exploring Vegetarian food. </TD></TR><TR><TD>Van</TD><TD>CCK</TD><TD>SAHM</TD><TD> 1 girl (5yrs+)</TD><TD> Hokkien</TD><TD>Love baking trying out new recipes </TD></TR><TR><TD>sp</TD><TD>KL</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>1 boy (9 mths)</TD><TD> Hokkien</TD><TD>learning to cook </TD></TR><TR><TD>clover</TD><TD> bendemeer</TD><TD> sahm</TD><TD> 1 boy(2yrs)</TD><TD> </TD><TD>love food;seldom cook. </TD></TR><TR><TD>home</TD><TD> cck</TD><TD> sahm</TD><TD> boy(2yr)</TD><TD></TD><TD> edd 16/11 </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Velcome Jasmin,don't worry , we are all also learning to cook well for our family.. We learn from one another as we contribute cooking tips and recipes;)

Lyn, I bet you ate some fried chicken wings before you hopped over to Paddy fields;)
Take care and see you aft that..

Sanck of the day: (brain food for mums &amp; children)

Roast some almonds and cashew nuts with a little butter for about 5-8 mins, cool , sprinkle some salt(if desired)
Cut up some dried apricots, add to nuts
Mix in some raisins, delmonte dried cranberries into nuts.. viola... healthy snack
Remember to keep in air-tight container!

Sorry everyone - last night I k.o. - fell asleep at 10pm together with the kids!

Hi Prisc,

Thanks for the recipes! I agree with lyn that you should open a restaurant in vancouver!

Hi Amelia

It's a fantastic idea to take photos of your food! Thanks for sharing the pics

Hi lyn

When I was pg, I was very spoilt - all the ironing done by my mum &amp; hb! Hee hee, now I too wait until he runs out of clothes before I panick and start ironing! But should come up with a housework schedule, hor? My grandma is very disciplined - she irons every Tuesday without fail!

Enjoy seeing your baby on the scan! I used to love going for ultrasounds to see my baby!

Hi choc

No lah, not disciplined - just need to finish all at one go cos' lazy to bring the ironing board in and out - plus my small one likes to yank at wires, so I need to quickly iron and keep before she wakes up!

Thanks for the tip to use zambak. Does it have a strong medicated odour? I hope she doesn't mind the smell - will go to the pharmacy to buy. So far I only put aloe vera gel. I went to school to ask around today, seems like another kid pushed her head to the ground - must have been quite forceful, hor? Cos' my small one is very agile, that's why I didn't believe that she could have fallen by herself

Hi littlecat

Oh dear, he knocked his forehead? You must have been very worried then. She's better now - not so swollen but the colour of the bruise looks horrible - looks like the plums I saw in NTUC this morning!

Okay, gotta go - this afternoon I will post a recipe for tau suan

Zambak is quite mild, menthol smell.. I'll apply onto their bruise aft a fall immediately, then it'll be gone. Found that the bruise remains if I apply it later.
BTW, what's k.o, annelise ? The only o I know is kopi-o and teh-o. heehee

Going to check out the kraftfoods website, thanks van
Yor dd went swimming yesterday evening ?

wow Choc06, how i wish i am your neighbour so u can pass me some of those nice nuts !hehe..

annelise, me too last time PG hb used to do all the ironing, cos i can't stand the smell. Now we settle for part time maid to do all the housework so no need to fight liao... hehe
yeah lor but if u think how can he run and run and then fell down and knock his forehead on the floor? if is the whole face down then nose should kena right? anyway can't figure it out..
zambak got little bit of smell, best to apply when they sleeping so they won't rub or reject while u applying.

yes pls post the tau suan recipe, my hb like it so much, he is teochew also. every time when order dessert he will ask for tau suan.

van, thanks for the wonderful link. By just looking at the Cookies 'N Cream Cheesecake &amp; PHILADELPHIA Classic Cheesecake make me drool.
the ingredients are simply. they look easy to prepare esp for novice like me.

Hi Choc06

This week no swimming for her,Monday PH,Tues raining,yesterday didn't plan cos the coach thot she already started her p.m. computer lesson in her school but actually she hasn't.

What's cooking today?

So when are you selling your house, cat ? Mai tu liao !My MIL is a health freak and she buys all the organic nuts for grands.. the nuts are so blend on its own, so one friend also suggested doing that, minus the salt part..
Then we can hum wherever we go.. haha..

Was thinking about a part-time maid too, to do ironing.. some say ironing got to charge extra.. the norm just for cleaning house is 10 bucks right ?

van,
Today dining out.. Taking a break tonight. Try the shrimp dumpling soup that annelise mentioned, easy and non-fuss..Think it might rain tonight, some soup will be good .. How about steaming fish, like cod fish ? Fry a can of bake beans mith Maling..

sorry cat tail,
So far got not many recipes for under 1 yr,it's always porridge, porridge and porridge with fish and bm.. or mash potatoes with carrots
What about the rest of the mummies ?

Choc06

I did what you do for the nuts,raisin,craneberries(minus the salt) and throw them all into Marigold's plain yogurt, for a healthy snack.

Cheesy Noodles

<u>For babies between 9 to 12 months </u>

1 cup cooked pasta (macaroni or spaghetti)
1/2 tomato
1 tablespoon sweet corn
1 tablespoon cottage cheese
fresh parsley

1. Bring a pot of water to a boil.
2. Put in pasta and leave to boil for about 10 minutes. Make it a little soft to adjust to baby's growing teeth.
3. Dice tomato.
4. Mix tomato, corn, cottage cheese, parsley and pasta together. Serve.

Fish, Rice &amp; Vegetable Puree

<u>For babies between 4 to 6 months </u>

1 fillet fish (sole or threadfin)
2 tablespoons well boiled rice
1 piece sweet potato
3 slices steamed zucchini

1. Steam fish for 10 minutes or until cooked.
2. Boil sweet potato until tender.
3. Steam zucchini for 10 minutes.
4. Blend all ingredients together.
5. Add cool boiled water if the mixture needs to be thinned down.

Pear Rice
This weaning recipe can be done in a minute. All you need is a baby cereal and pureed pear from a bottle.

<u>For babies between 4 to 6 months</u>

1 tablespoon rice cereal
1 tablespoon pureed pear
Cooled boiled water or formula

1. Mix all together and you're done!

Variation: You can substitute the pear for apple, grapes, prunes or other pureed fruits you can find on the shelf.

Sweet potato, carrot and cheese mash

Vegetarian
Good source of betacarotene, calcium and vitamin C

120g sweet potato, peeled and diced
1 medium carrot, peeled and diced
25g hard cheese, such as cheddar, grated

Boil the vegetables together until just tender, then mash or pure along with the cheese.

Cottage cheese and pea mash

Vegetarian
Contains iron
Good source of vitamin C

50g frozen peas
50g cottage cheese

Cook the peas until just tender. Mash together with the cottage cheese and serve with fingers of bread or rice cakes.

Yam Cake
Ingredients:
500 g rice flour
1 yam ( about 750 g to 1 kg, diced )
100g dried prawn, ( pounded or grind )
mushrooms ( amount is optional, soaked and sliced )
*1400 ml water from the water of the mushroom and dried prawns.
2 teaspoons salt
300g roast pork ( cut finely, removed some fat if desired. It is to flavour yam cake. no MSG )
10 to 15 small onions ( sliced )
10 pips garlic ( finely chopped )
* Put rice flour into the 1400 ml of water. Add the salt and pepper.
Slowly stir the mixture with
your hands and mix well.

Garnishing Ingredients:
spring onions cut fine
red chillies, sliced
fried shallots

Method:
1. Stir -fry dried onions. When lightly brown, add garlic.
2. Add dried prawns, when fragrant, add roast pork.
3. Add mushrooms and stir-fry. Then add yam cubes and stir-fry.
4. Add rice flour mixture. Gently stir-fry until everything in the wok
becomes thickens.
5. Add the mixture into a tray and steam for about 1/2 h or until the
yam cube is cooked.

Choc06
Never heard of ironing charge extra.But if you go through agent to get a p-t maid, they may restrict the number of pcs to iron,especially if your p-t maid only comes in once 1 week, and is supposed to finish everything in 4 hrs, that's why they need to limit.

I have some experience advertising and employing part-time maid myself.Only went thr agent the 1st and last time,the maid they assigned to me was rough and careless,accidentally turn the gas stove on after wiping,luckily I trailed her after seeing her so rough.

Market rate is $10/hr,but if you live in BIG house, then may charge extra.

Choc06

Then you have to plan wat you want the maid to do and some you might not want the maid to do. I find that they usually take a longer time to iron than I do. So normally I get them to clean the house and I do the ironing when dh is back or he does the ironing.

yah.. tried that before.. ask pt local maid to do cleaning only once a week in my 5 rm flat last time..
I did the ironing by myself.. Also quite shiong !I will do the daily maintenance as to sweeping the floor every day.

Will definitely have one pt once a week to help me do major cleaning up like windows , fans, etc when 3rd one arrives..

van, where you get all the recipes for below one ?
hehe.. last time, I just used a little crockpot and dump everything in..

choc06, i was shock how u know i want to move house? hehe we did plan to get a bigger one, but now with this situation abit tough leh, cos scare later lots of thing to do.. u know house viewing, renovation, moving etc.. too much thing!
But hor if i move will still withing jurong lah :'(
how i wish i can move to Yishun!

eh i did start a thread on part time maid, check the thread, i saw someone has part time maid around yishun too check it out.

I engaged those with company one, more expensive 260+ a month, once a week. They do ironing, washing toilet, changing bedsheet, mopping, wipe windows, clean fans everything...

The reason why we choose the company and not engage individualy, we prefer someone doing the work while we are out, also we dun have to worry if the person is not well or have to change date etc.. for this company they have 2 persons doing the job.

cat tail, my recipe also very simple type porridge, with steam fish or steam vege or egg, etc... try to introduce diff vege.
I will cook the ikan bilis stock and remove the ikan bilis put the rice and few slides meat (to have more taste, not for baby to eat) add some brocolli, then cook till everything soft.

I also try this b4, wash the ikan bilis, dry it and then put in the toaster to really dry till abit crispy. Then use food processor grind till powder form. Keep this in air tight, use as stock.
Use this for cooking porridge when you dun have time to boil the stock.

Tau Suan

1/2 packet split beans
1 1/2 to 2 cups coarse sugar
Pandan leaves
120g Sweet potato flour

Wash and soak beans overnight.
Steam beans until soft. Spread to cool on tray.

Boil about 300ml water, sugar and some pandan leaves until sugar has dissolved. Remove leaves and set aside (This is the sugar syrup which you add to the main liquid later so that you can adjust the sweetness to your liking)

Mix sweet potato flour with 300ml water. Strain with a fine sieve.

Boil 1.5 to 1.8l of water with some pandan leaves for 15 mins. Add the sweet potato mixture gradually - stir as you pour - you will see the liquid thicken. Add the sugar syrup to taste. Sometimes when I'm lazy, I just add the coarse sugar directly instead of cooking the syrup. Stir in the steamed beans. Serve with cut "you-tiao". Don't stir too much - like all starch mixture, it'll become watery if over-handled!

This portion can feed about 8 pple. Can reduce accordingly - I usually aga-aga and don't really follow the recipe exactly.

Hi Choc,

K.O. means knocked-out - I learnt the term from playing Street Fighter at the arcades last time

annelise,

I love tau suan!!I can have it in place of lunch daily!!

Choc, annelise and Lyn,

There's pork in that porridge pic.I usually use pork, chicken or fish and add dong chai(some kind of preserved salted veg) and/or msg-free chicken broth and stir in mixed veggies at the end.Meats will be marinated with a little light soy sauce, rice wine(optional) and pepper.

If i am making porridge in my rice-cooker, I just marinate with a little light soy sauce and pepper.

Thanks Van,
Lots of recipe to try out this weekend.

Little_Cat,
I am cooking simple porridge for my baby every meal &amp; now she seems to be quite sianz with it..haha.. So now trying to gather some new recipe for her. I also luv to use ikan bilis powder &amp; the only difference is I pound it cos it gives even finer texture.

Prisc,
What is silverfish powder?

Choc06 i find engaged a part time maid really help, we have more quality time with my son now

cat_tail, use the same method on silverfish to grind the powder.
hehe i know what u mean, sometime just run out of idea!

anyone know of good dish to go with teochew porridge?
i saw they have this steam squid ? anyone know how to make them? is it only thru steaming?
also some squid/sotong inside they have this jelly like thing, what is that exactly?

Hello gals...
I am back
But very tired.. gonna rest soon.

Wah... so many recipes.. Thanks a lot Priscilla.

Amelia,
Yes, it's opposite Ikea. The tom yam soup is very spicy. I ate a lot from their dessert buffet...

Choc06,
No la.. did not have time to go for the chicken wings at Ikea. Too heavy and lazy to climb up the overhead bridge :p cos we parked at Anchorpoint... Some more ate until very full...

LittleCat,
Pai sek, what is the chinese name of silverfish?

To contribute my part, I would like to share one of my fav recipe. It's very delicous &amp; simple to do.

Thai Country-Style Steamed Fish in Garlic Lime Sauce

Ingredient:

500g of whole fish (trout sea bass, perc)
4 fresh green chillies diced
6 cloves of garlic chopped
2 tablespoons of Thai fish sauce (nam pla)
4 tablespoons of lime juice
cup of chicken stock (can use maggi chicken stock cube)
2 green onions cut in lenghthwi
2 stalks of lemon grass (heart section only)
Coriander for garnish

Method:

1) Scale &amp; clean fish, then rinse with cold water
2) Pat dry with paper towels &amp; make diagonal slashes (almost to the bone, 2 inches apart on both sides of fish)
3) Set fish on heat proof plate that is at least 1 inch smaller in diameter than your wok
4) Mix together chillies, garlic, fish sauce, lime juice &amp; chicken stock
5) Adjust for a predominantly sour taste
6) Pour over fish
7) Scatter green onions &amp; lemon grass over fish
8) Fill wok with 2 inches of boiling water
9) When it come to full boil, set fish plate on rack &amp; cover tightly
10) Reduce heat to medium high &amp; steam for 10 minutes
11) Garnish with coriander &amp; serve

hi all, i really enjoy this thread. I also tried out the apple sauce pork chops suiggested by lyn(happysunflower)yummy!
417402.jpg

Just to share with all...Happy Friendship Week

His name was Fleming, and he was a poor Scottish farmer. One day, while
trying to make a living for his family, he heard a cry for help coming
from nearby bog. He dropped his tools and ran to the bog.

There, mired to his waist in black muck, was a terrified boy, screaming
and struggling to free himself. Farmer Fleming saved the lad from what could
have been a slow and terrifying death.

The next day, a fancy carriage pulled up to the Scotsman's sparse
surroundings An elegantly dressed nobleman stepped out and introduced
himself as the father of the boy Farmer Fleming had saved.

"I want to repay you," said the nobleman. "You saved my son's life."

"No, I can't accept payment for what I did," the Scottish farmer replied
waving off the offer. At that moment, the farmer's own son came to the
Door of the family hovel.

"Is that your son?" the nobleman asked.

"Yes," the farmer replied proudly.

"I'll make you a deal. Let me provide him with the level of education my
Own son will enjoy. If the lad is anything like his father, he'll no doubt
Grow to be a man we both will be proud of." And that he did.

Farmer Fleming's son attended the very best schools and in time, graduated
from St. Mary's Hospital Medical School in London, and went on to become
known throughout the world as the noted Sir Alexander Fleming, the
discoverer of Penicillin.

Years afterward, the same nobleman's son who was saved from the bog was
stricken with pneumonia.

What saved his life this time? Penicillin.

The name of the nobleman? Lord Randolph Churchill. His son's name?Sir Winston Churchill.

Someone once said: What goes around comes around.

Work like you don't need the money.

Love like you've never been hurt.

Dance like nobody's watching.

Sing like nobody's listening.

Live like it's Heaven on Earth.

It's National Friendship Week. Send this to

everyone you consider A FRIEND.

May there always be work for your hands to do;

May your purse always hold a coin or two;

May the sun always shine on your windowpane;

May a rainbow be certain to follow each rain;

May the hand of a friend always be near you;

May God fill your heart with gladness to cheer you.

If you wonder what is silverfish, it is now as "ying yu" in chinese and I understand that it is more nutritious than ikan bilis. Yes, use the same method as doing the ikan bilis powder.

Glutinous Rice Yu Fan Recipe

Ingredients:
300g glutinous rice, soaked in lightly salter water. About 30 minutes will do or the rice will be too soft and too sticky. Wash it then drain

250g of chicken thigh fillets minus the skin to reduce fat intake, Cut into bite sized strips. Season the chicken with 1 tbsp of dark soy sauce, 1 tsp of five spice powder and 1 tsp of sugar (Alternative can use pork)

1 sausage cut into thin slices (Can also add additional waxed meat - Personally, I only use sausage, never like waxed meat.)

3 cloves of garlic peeled and minced

1 medium sized onion, peeled and minced

8 to 10 dried Chinese mushroomswashed, soaked and stems removed in 750ml of hot water . Cut into thin slices (Keep the water for later used)

1 handful of dried shrimps, soaked

1 handful of dried scallops, soaked

2 tbsp of oil

3 to 4 tbsps of dark soy sauce (not enough add later)

1tbsp light soy sauce

2 tsps of sugar

2 tsps of sesame oil

salt and pepper to taste

Methods

1. Heat up some oil and stir fry the garlic and the onion until golden brown or till fragnant.

2. Add in the soaked dried shrimps and scallops by draining away all the water.

3. Add in the chinese sausages, mushroom and stir fry.

4. Add in the marinated chicken/pork and stir fry.

5. Add in the rice and stir fry.

6. Add in the remaining ingredients like light soy sauce, sugar, sesame oil and your own preference of the dark soy sauce.

7. Add in about 0.25 amount of mushroom water and let it simmer for a while. Add salt and pepper to taste.

8. Transfer to a tray for steaming. Steaming time may differs, I used about 30 min depend on the tray use.

Here's the recipe for the Chicken Pong Teh (Modified slightly due to some ingredients not available here.)

Nonya Chicken Pong Teh

Ingredients:
6 chicken thighs, skin off
4 tablespoons of soy sauce, thick
4 tablespoons of soy sauce, light
2 tablespoons of sugar
5 tablespoons of vegetable oil
8 cloves garlic
6 shallots, 1/4 inch slices
2 tablespoon of ground dark bean paste
6 of new potatoes, 1 1/2inch diameter, cut in half
1/2 cup of chicken stock
10 dried shiitake mushrooms
(Can added chinese chestnut - optional)

Methods:
1. Rehydrate 20 dried shiitake mushrooms in water overnight and marinate the chicken in soy sauces and sugar for at least an hour ( Best if marinate over night.)

2. Remove the shiitake mushrooms' stems, halve their caps and decant the water for later (keep for later used).

3. Blend garlic and shallots with oil. Heat the garlic/shallot mixture over medium heat, stirring often for about five minutes until the oil begins to separate.

4. Add the dark bean paste and cook until a rich aroma develops then add mushrooms and potatoes and stir fry for awhile, followed by chicken, and mix thoroughly.

5. Strain the reserved mushroom liquid and add it to the mixture, together with chicken stock. Bring to a boil, lower to simmer, cover, and cook for about an hour, stirring occasionally.

6. Then taste sauce, adjust seasoning, and mash some of the potatoes to thicken if necessary.

Pris

Prawn Noodles

Ingredient:
1.300g of tiger medium prawns - steam first and deshell
2.200g of pork ribs
3.2 board of fish cakes
4.1 kg of noodles, beehoon etc
5.Light sauce
6.Dark sauce
7.Vegetables - I prefer kang kong and bean sprouts

1. heat up oil and fry garlic until slightly brown and fragrance,
2. add in the prawn shells to fry, and transfer all to a pot and add in water and add pork ribs, then bring to boil, add some light sauce and dark sauce.

3. Remove the pork ribs, cut the fish cakes and your prawns.
4. Boil another pot of water to cook noodles or bee hoon as well as vegetables (I prefer kang kong and bean sprouts)

For soup ones,
- When noodles boil, transfer to bowl, add in pork rib, fish cakes and prawns then add the soup.

For dry ones,
- Prepare light sauce, alittle dark sauce, sesame or garlic oil in a bowl, when noodles boil, transfer to bowl, add in pork rib, fish cakes and prawns. (Chili - option)

TRADITIONAL CHINESE RECIPES BELIEVEDTO IMPROVE MILK FLOW IN LACTACTION

1. PIG TROTTERS AND GROUNDNUT SOUP OR PORRIDGE

- 1 pair of pigs trotters
- 200g fresh groundnuts (with skin)
- tea spoon vinegar

Clean and slit pigs trotters. Boil and simmer with groundnuts in water. Add pinch of salt and vinegar. Cook till soft. Rice can be added to make rice porridge.

2. FISH AND PAPAYA SOUP

- 200 g semi ripe papaya
- 1 whole fish eg. Carp, snakehead, sea bream, pompret or kurau filler
- few slices of ginger

Scale and clean fish. Simmer together with papaya pieces and ginger for hour or till soft. Remove bones before serving.

3. KIDNEY FRIED WITH LILY FLOWER

- 200 g kidney, cleaned and sliced
- 20 g dried lily flower (golden needles)
- few slices of ginger
- vegetable oil
- dash of rice wine

Stir fry kidbey slices in oil with ginger. Add lily gliwer and adjust seasoning.

4. BLACK SESAME SEED AND RICE PUDDING OR PORRIDGE

- 25 g black sesame seeds
- 30 g rice or as desired
- rock sugar

Pudding: Blend soaked rice and sesame seeds into paste. Cook into thin gruel with sufficient water.

Porridge: Cook rice porridge. Blend sesame seeds and add to rice. Add rock sugar to taste.

5. WEI-SAN AND GROUNDNUT PORRIDGE

- 20 g fresh groundnuts
- 30 g unmilled rice
- 20 g wei-san

Cook ingredients together as rice porridge. Meat bones can be added for extra flavour.

6. LETTUCE WITH RICE WINE

- 200 g lettuce leaves
- 1 tea spoon rice wine
- meat stock

Cook lettuce briefly in a little soup. Add salt rice wine. Eat both soup and lettuce.

7. LONGAN AND RED DATE TEA

- 6-8 dried red dates (seeds removed)
- 10pieces dried longan flesh
- 4-5 g tang kwei (angelica sinensis) optional

Boil and simmer ingredients in 3-4 cups water for 30 to 45 mins till liquid is fragrant and tasty. Drink throughout the day.

Steam Tofu with minced pork, Ham bites and mushrooms

Ingredient:
1 Silk Japanese Tofu
1 tbsp of minced garlic
50g of minced pork mixed with some boiled hot water abd stir it (So that the meat is separated and not in a ball)
10 sliced button mushroom from can
1 slice of ham cut into bits
1 stalk of spring onion - cut into bit
half tsp of marmite

Steam tofu first in micowave or on the stove.
While steaming the tofu, heat up some oil in a wok and fry garlic until golden brown add in the ham bits and mushroom until fragrant.
Then add in the minced pork with the water, bring to a boil and add in the marmite.
When cook, pour onto the already steamed tofu and add the spring onion as garnish.

Oven baked Apricot Nectar Chicken Drumsticks / Wings

Ingredients:
4 chicken drumsticks / 10-12 Chicken wings - centre portion
1/4 cups of apricot nectar
1 tablespoon soy sauce
2 teaspoons tomato sauce
1 teaspoon lemon juice

Methods:
1. Make a few slashes in each chicken drumsticks/ wings, using a sharp knife. (for
younger toddlers, remove the skin) Put the drumstick in a shallow ovenproof
dish.

2. Pour over the combined nectar, sauces, lemon juic. Set aside to marinade
for about 30 mins, basting occassionally.

3. In the meantime, preheat the oven to 180 degree and bakd, with the
marinade, for 30 mins or until tender, turning once. Serve with rice

Remove the chicken from the bone for younger toddlers. Any extra cooked
chicken can be covered and refrigerated for up to 1 day.

Taste good and quite easy to cook although may be a bit hard to find apricot nectar. (You should be able to get the apricot nectar in Jason's Market Place either at Raffles City, Orchard, or Tanglin Mall.)

Hi lilipit,
Glad that you like the apple pork chop
Easy rite? kekeke...

Hi Priscilla,
Thanks for the recipe... Probably I will use your recipes to improve breast milk flow.. kekeke... It's more or less set that I will be going for C-section already. No choice for the safety of baby...

My hubby just went to vote... luckily we went early, else gonna be caught in the rain... Now waiting for rain to stop and go swimming and dip in the jacuzzi to relax