Cooking Tips & Recipe

Prisneo,
Wow, U really a great cook! SO many recipe to share!
Ok, I think I agar agar know what is "YingYu"! It looks like the ikan bilis but the color is white rite?

Made this cake this morning.
Now can go polling liao...

417648.jpg

Peach Teacake
==============
1 can of peaches
1/2 cup sugar**
1 cup self-rising flour
1/2 tsp vanilla essence
2 eggs
150 g butter (unsalted)

Note : oven to be pre-heated to 180 degree celsius

**you can lessen the sugar amount and add in some syrup leftover from the canned peaches, and in which case, you should add a little more flour

Steps :
- Grease the baking pan with some butter, and dust with some flour. Lay the peach halves into the pan
- In a bowl, add the eggs, sugar, butter and vanilla essence
- whisk the ingredients till light & fluffy
- Add the flour (sift it)
- Fold the flour in, and mix thoroughly
- Spread the mix over the peaches, even out
- Bake at 180 degree celsius for 45 mins . The pretty patterns on the surface are due to lesser batter that sit over where the peaches are, so if you want your cake to look pretty, arrange the peach halves well
- Remove from oven, and serve with hot custard or something cold, like vanilla ice-cream

Yah.. lilipit, nice photos..
Did you deep fry the pork chop?

haha.. now that pictures come with recipe, it makes it more tempting !

choc06 - no lah...i didnt deep-fry the chops. Followed lyn(happysunflower)'s method to bake it.
my friend commented looks like from Hans...haha.

Van - this morning, i set out to make the 'Sheila's Pudding' (peach pudding) from Jamie Oliver's book. But hor...i modify here & there...end up more cake-like...and yummy too...and i call it Peach Teacake ... heheh

Folks - everytime i read this thread...i get hungry too! So many great recipes to learn from. The next one i wanna try is gula melaka sago.

Here's a pic of how the peaches are arranged...in case you are wondering
417790.jpg

Hi Lilipit

Will try out your Peach Teacake one day...Thanks for sharing.

Ds will be thrill to help with this one.

HOME MADE BLACK MUSHROOM SAUCE

<u>Ingredient:</u>

*100g black mushroom,soaked,chopped and blended
(I got the sliced dried mushroom from Giant/Sheng Song to save some trouble)
*10 shallots,peeled and chopped
*1 tbsp chopped garlic
*100ml water
*cooking oil

<u>Seasoning:</u>

3 tbsp oyster sauce
1 tbsp light soya sauce
1 tsp salt
1 tsp sugar
dash of pepper

<u>Method:</u>

1.Heat oil, saute chopped shallots and garlic til fragrant. Add in blended black mushroom and stiry-fry until aromatic.

2. Add in seasoning, Water and bring to boil.

I usually make triple or more of the quantity stated above and store in air-tight container in the fridge. It can be kept for 1 month in the fridge.

This sauce can be used to <font color="green"> bake fish/steam fish,stir fry with minced meat(goes well with rice or noodles) or use to stir fry tang hoon.</font>

<u>BAKE FISH:</u>

For a fish about 600g,Mix 4 TBSP mushroom sauce,2 TBSP boiling water. Spread over the fish.Wrap well with aluminium foil.
Bake in preheated oven at 220C for 20-25 min or till cooked.

<u>STEAM FISH:</u>
Pour mushroom sauce over fish and steam till cooked. Sprinkle with sesame oil, chopped spring onion and serve hot.

Hi Lilipit,
Wow.. your Peach teacake looks very appetising... I just had a heavy lunch. After looking at your picture, I feel like eating something for dessert... lol...

Last nite, I had a catered party at my home. There's one dish that's very nice... Maybe one of these days I will try to experiment... Chicken in olives, mushrooms, tomato sauce. Very tasty...

choc06,
The baked apple pork chop is very simple and nice... Spread the apple sauce on the pork chop, then put into the grill till you like the level of "brown-ness". Maybe 45minutes...

Apple sauce:
Apple - mince (I used any apples. In angmo's recipe, Bramley apples is usually recommended for baking or cooking. But it's very expensive.)
Add some sugar, salt and lemon for taste. To prevent oxidation of the apples, slightly heat ("stir fry) the mixture in the pan first...

For the easiest alternative, go to Cold Storage and buy a bottle of Bramley apple sauce...

I was doing a search for black chicken recipe, and happen to chance upon this thread. Can I join in? I'm a Stay-At-Home-Mum-Wannabe and enjoys cooking. I've been eating more vegetables than meat for the past few years, but have recently started eating more meat after a miscarriage as mum &amp; MIL both nag at me for not getting enough nutrition from veges alone...

I'm not sure if I am pregnant yet as I'm currently in my 2-week-wait period after ovulation, but I hope to become pregnant soon!
But I'll like to find out if it's safe for pregnant women to eat black chicken? I saw a recipe in this forum on black chicken essence with red dates and wolfberries... should be safe in case I get pregnant?

Hi lyn,
Good to meet you here!

Hi Sophie,
Of cos you are welcome here..
Have you tested with a pg kit ? Had a miscarriage before too, yah.. got to eat nutritious food to bu yourself.. Boil red dates and wolfberry in water, it helps to boost your red blood cells..

Black chicken is safe for pg women.
I boiled black chicken soup with dang kui , red dates and wolfberries

My mum fries black chicken with ginger, dried mushroom and black fungus everyime for me , but she adds a little XO. I'm 25 weeks pg now.

Maybe the rest of the mummies can their black chicken recipes ?

Lilipit, thanks for showing the pic of the process of making the tea cake. Was wondering how the patterns on the cake turn out so well! Do you line the peaches in the tin before pouring in the mixture ?

Hey lyn, haha..thanks for catching my hint.. for you to post the apple sauce pork chop !What oven you using ? When I use my oven for grill mode, I got to open it slightly .. Can baking mode do the job ?

Wah van, your dd very pro in cutting the butter.. everytime, I got to wait for my dds to sleep before I bake a cake cos both of them will fight to help

Thanks for the recipes.. Am doing pineaple rice with the asian gourmet rice mix tonight..

Hey cat, I'll be shifting near annelise . The part time maid thingy that you mentioned, I'm quite interested.. so how long does the maid stay per session ?

Yo Prisc, thanks for the recipe on lactation! Will need it when the time comes..

If any of you like to bake and got time to spare...baking classes and workshop in the HDB heartland... http://www.phoonhuat.com/index.html

I'm a novice at baking, and dont really do it often cos find it very leicei...here measure, there measure...and then alot to wash up. I think prior to yday, my oven was idle for over a year...or more..haha. So cute that Van's DD helped out, and that Pris is gonna rope in her DS. Hope to rope in my DS when he is bigger. He is now 9.5mths.

Hey Choc, yes, the peaches are arranged in the pan first, before adding the mixture. I also didnt know the pattern will emerge... found out only after the cake was baked...so it was good that i arranged nicely when i started ...kekeke

Lyn - u must share the recipe when you try out the chix dish!

Sophie - hi to you !

Hi Choc06

These are the pictures of our chocolate choclate chips cookies done a few weeks ago.... the photos were share with the sahm sometime back with ds helping.
418208.jpg

418209.jpg

Ds has been helping me with cookies making from very young, he has helped to make cookies and cakes from 16months and this year he was helped to make CNY cookies.

Over here was good as dh can be home earlier so he can helped ds take photos while my hands are dirtied.

Ds has been trained to sweep the floor, used vacuum cleaner as well as to mop up after his spill from 15months. I got the ideas from preschool power as he loves the series. And he has since being keeping all his toys, putting back all his books after reading, removing his socks, keep his shoes, take his dishes to the kitchen, clear all the unwanted stuff into the dustbin etc.

Here's the recipe for our chocolate chocolate chip cookies share some time ago with sahm too where Van told me about this thread.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies

INGREDIENTS:
1 cup butter, softened
1 1/2 cups white sugar
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose flour
2/3 cup cocoa powder
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 cups semisweet chocolate chips
1/2 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

(I used self-raising flour and minus the baking soda, I used small amount to bake but leave more space for it to expand.)

METHODS:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (180C).
2. In large bowl, beat butter, sugar, eggs, and vanilla until light and fluffy. Combine the flour, cocoa, baking soda, and salt; stir into the butter mixture until well blended. Mix in the chocolate chips and walnuts. Drop by rounded teaspoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheets.
3. Bake for 8 to 10 minutes in the preheated oven, or just until set. Cool slightly on the cookie sheets before transferring to wire racks to cool completely.

Hi Sophie,
Welcome to this thread
Nice to see you here. It's certainly a happier one
hmm.. Remember to eat 5 colors and 6 types of fruits and vege a day if you gonna eat more vege.
Good luck to you... Lots of baby dusts for you...

Black chicken essence should be safe for pregnant women. My gynae taught me to use "pao sheng" or dang sheng or dong cong cao, red dates, and wolfberries to double boil with the black chicken.

Hi choc06,
hahaha... I was lazy to describe again ma... Then this morning very free so describe again lor... kekeke... I am using 3-in-1 microwave, bake, grill oven... I usually use the grill. I used to bake when overseas, but not anymore... cos back in Singapore, if I do bake, I gotta finish everything on my own...
For the apple pork chop, I think grill will be better than bake... I just use whatever apples I got in my fridge. Sometimes I use Fuji apple or granny smith. Bramley is expensive...

Hi Sophie

I takes alot of black chicken soup too during my pregnany with ds, however, I do not eat black chicken so I only drank the soup and dh ate the chicken, my mum does it this way, a few slices of bao sheng, dang tui, wolfberries and red dates/honey dates.

I also like lean pork soup that my mum makes with the same ingredients.

My mil did not cook me any special soups as she is not sure what to cook so she bought me birds' nest, cordyceps and bao sheng.

All you have to make sure is that you have a healthy diets with vegetables, fish, meat and fruits. You can also drink more milk. As I am lactose intolerance, I takes alot of home-made soy beans without sugar or with alittle of the golden sugar.

Lyn, thanks for the recipe.

All - Yesterday, we will with my dh's ex-colleague, retired teacher from Singapore who has migrated here as her childrens' family are all here. Have a good meal of peranakan pedas curry chicken that can only be served to Singaporean and we got our good buy, a 2kg plus salmon from Richmond Fishing men port at C$15. Will have grilled salmon, salmon miso udon soon.

For peranakan chicken curry, a simple way is to get the baba dry curry mixed and use coconut to cook the chicken.

But as a half-peranakan, we always see my grand, mum and aunties add in our own ingredients - we add in more chilli, shallots, garlic, galanga, etc.

Will ask my bro to get my mum to buy all the dried spices from Singapore to send over to me. I simply miss the peranakan food.

We have started training ds to take chilli by giving him warm soy bean milk and let him taste all the hot stuff little by little. He is able to eat some curry if we do not add in more chili.

Thanks for the advice on black chicken

Hi Choc06,
Nope, I haven't tested with HPT yet. Today is only 6DPO i.e. CD21 of my 28 days cycle, so I think it's too early to test. But I have been having symptoms like being constantly thirsty, sore nipples, heavier breasts (pretty happy about my new bustline hehe), and cramps &amp; pains in my lower right abdomen, which makes me a little scared.

Hi lilipit,
I'm also a novice at baking... baked my first kueh lapis this CNY with a friend who came to my place to teach me. It was a great success, and when I tried to do it myself the 2 following weekends, the bottom layers got burnt. Probably something went wrong with my oven temperature control. Have since stopped baking cos I was still tired out from my kueh lapis episode!

Hi Pris,
Woah, I am impressed that you trained your ds so well... to the extent of sweeping the floor! haha, I must aim to do that next time too! And your son's really cute, looks like my twin brothers when they were young. My dh complimented him too!

Hi lyn,
Thanks for the advice on black chicken too. surprised you gynae gave you tips on chinese herbs, cos I thought most gynaes more Westernised. Yep, this is definitely a happier thread... food always makes me happy! Will remember to eat more different-colored vege...

Hi Sophie

Do not get to worry. Just have to rest well and eat well. Remember do not carry heavy things, leave them to the man of the household. You can continue with some light housework but do not wear yourself out.

Sophie, the problem is that dh and myself is not comfortable to have a live-in maid and we felt that we should train ds, and in a way, it also help us and he learnt to be neat and in future he can help his wife as well. My dh and I have a agreement before marriage which is his area of household chores and he still do them today so with ds, we just make him do the simple chores and this is also the house that he stays in and we felt that it is also his responsibility to take care of the house.

I also have a aim for a four year gap between my ds and then #2...so that I can train him well, nurture him and spend quantity as well as quality of time with him. I am praying and planning for my #2 next year, hopeful the EDD will be the same time as my ds.

Hey lilipit, yah.. I use to attend PH baking classes too! That was last yr during the sch hols .. Which one did you attend ? I went to the AMK one, and the chef takes patience to answer all qns. They making pao this 27 May, but it's on a sat.. Very interested in chocolate cakes..

Yah Prisc, your ds is very adorable.. Good training to do housework and cooking..
Thanks for the choc chip cookies, you've got any choc cakes recipe to share ?
4 yrs a good gap bet 1st and 2nd.. Mine's 2 yrs apart, and 3rd one is 4 yrs from no.2..

Lyn,
Will try to grill the pork chop next weekend.. how long can I keep the apple sauce? Thought of preparing it 2 days beforehand..

Hey Sophie, you taking folic acid ?
I like kueh lapis too! But not the hassle of baking it.. heehee Take care and rest well !

Hi Sophie,
Do you notice your nipples are bigger? My very first sign of pregnancy, for all 3, are nipples grew... lol... hee... maybe your symptom is not like mine
Dun stress out too much ya? Take care...

Hi Priscilla,
Wow... you have very good training... Next time gotta learn the "mi jue" from you on training kids also...
The salmon is so cheap. How's your Peranakan meal? kekeke...

choc06,
I think it's better not to keep the apple sauce for too long. Usually I will use it once I made the sauce. Cos apples will oxidise easily. I am not sure if you add lots of sugar and lemon juice will help in preserving the apple sauce, but certainly to cook the apple sauce first...

No need to add cinnamon right ?
How didya scan go last week ?
One more month to go hor? Are you looking forward to confinement food ?

choc06,
If you wanna add cinnamon also can. I do not have cinnamon, so did not add.. lol...

My baby turned head down already
But gynae suggested C-section again... So will go with his advice. Yap, almost exactly one more month to go! kekeke... Gynae said 8 June, but I am looking at my "feng shui" software to find a good "ba zhi" date and time.. lol... So far, 5 June and 12 June looks good...

hmm... confinement food ah... I think I gotta prepare my mum to nag and nag... :p cos I dun eat pork liver, intestines already and she's prepared to cook those **faintz**. haha.. I prefer more vegetables and I bought a vegetarian confinement food recipe book! haha... when it gets nearer, I will show her which dishes I wanna eat and ask my hubby go buy the ingredients.. kekeke...

Okie... I go and prepare my lunch liao

Choc06

You are going to try out the apple sauce pork chop soon? Me too! Probably this week will try it out.

Talking about confinement food, does anyone here tried and tested recipe for making Zhu Jiao Chu (Pig trotter in black vinegar),though I don't like to eat pork, but I like the sauce,and hubby like the meat and the sauce over rice.

I do have the recipe,but was looking for a simple and tested one.

LittleCat,
About steam squid for teo chew porridge, are u referring to the plain one that they serve with Citrus Oil(Ju Yu)? I like that too. In fact,I love squid and all food with that kind of chewy texture.Sotong,pacific clams,abalone,pig's stomach,chicken and duck stomach.

Have u tried steam squid stuff with minced pork.It's delicious. My aunt always make that,but she said need to get very fresh squid.

Also like the Thai Grill Squid at Takashimaya food court,wonder how they marinate the squid?

Choc06...yes, I have some recipes, let me go through them and I will post it here. Yes, we were so happy with our buy as the salmon at the supermarket is at least $5-7 per pound (454g). And we just have teriyaki salmon today.

It was nice to have very spicy peranakan curry chicken, roti pratas, salads, breads etc...it was so nice to eat with Singaporean...heehee

Van...yes...but must ask my mum for recipe

Little Cat, just remove everything in the squid and steam it. Then add the dark sauce after steaming.

Eh prisc, you know how to make sotong hitam ? Or asam sambal sotong ? Sorry to treat you like a recipe book.. hee

Hey lyn, yah.. all the conf food very porky and fishy.. Eat more kailan. Went to san zhong liang jian, they fry tang kui with kailan and ginger.. nice.
Wah..your gynae suggested c section? I requested for c section first time cos the umblical cord was seen near the neck, he didn't allow..

Eh van, I fried pineapple rice last night with the asian gourmet mix.. added sotong ,prawns, lup cheong... my family likes it ! Anymore tried and tested mix? Yesterday went to look for crab chilli sauce in cold storage.. boh leh.. Chng's right ? or Lee kum kee garlic chilli ?

I love the zhu jiao chu eggs and sauce, yumm...

What kind of chilli rempah to steam egg plants and lady fingers ?

Here's another recipe for prawns

Steam Garlic Prawns

Ingredients:
15 prawns with heads on and cut it open from top.
1 clove of garlic, minced
1 egg, beat

Methods
1. Arrange the prawns on a round plate, head out.
2. Spread the garlic evenly on the prawns.
3. Pour the beaten egg on the prawns.
4. Steam for 15 minutes or
Use a microwavable wrap and steam in the microwave for 15 minutes.

Choc06...can use sambal belacan or sambal chilli or even used chilli with lemon and lime

yes, I know how to make them...but have no make them for a long time as dh is not into sotong

Am making the minced beef porridge from your recipe for lunch now..
For sotong hitam, use the black ink to goreng is it ?

Van,
My friend told me just one bottle of white vinegar, one bottle of black vinegar, brown sugar, salt, ginger. And that's it...
Sounds very simple hor?

choc06,
Oh... Din know can cook dang gui with kailan... Is it stri fry? Maybe will try that for more variety for the tastebud... :p

Priscilla,
Did you all make the roti prate yourselves? Or buy frozen?
It's indeed very nice to eat the food we like with people with same taste... kekeke... Not easy to find while overseas...

Choc6

Crab Chilli Sauce Sin Long's is the best,but hard to find, not even in NTUC and Cold Storage, think only Sheng Song has it. If not try Chng Kee,in NTUC. There is another brand Thai Sing, saw in NTUC and Shop n Save,but have never tried.You try already then let me know,ha ha!

Have never used other type of chilli sauce such as garlic chilli, for chilli crab.

The pineapple rice mix is really good, loved by all adults and kids! Becos it's already so good, no motivation to go and find recipe to make the mix myself.

Tried their green curry mix,not that fantastic.

Yah lyn,stir fry but the tangkui must be soft, the soup restaurant made it very tasty, think they added some hua tiao and msg..

My MIL will also fry the big pcs(peeled ones) of ginger in a little sesame oil, to make the ginger totally dry. And to make it spicier, she adds one or two fresh chilli. The sugar she added is gula melaka.

lyn....no, we bought the product of singapore...ready made prata from supermarkets...send the day out with our friend and then went over their house....they migrated here.

I have the recipe for roti prata...but must look for it.

Choc06....vinegar pig trotter....I like the sauce but never eat the meat haahaa...I prefer the sesame oil chicken

Amelia....it was fun for ds to bake and a good training for him to help in future as well as a survival skill...

Amelia,
There's a differece in the way your boil - double boil or direct heat. Apparently, double boil is not so heaty or liang... Double boil, need two pots, one bigger and one smaller one. For the nutritional content difference of double boiling and direct boiling, I am not sure...

Roti prata with chocolates also nice... yummy...

I love roti prata with bananas and condensed milk... I haven't seen this in Singapore though, but it's available everywhere in Malaysia...