Cooking Tips & Recipe

Suan Pan Zi

1.sprinkle some salt over yam and steam till soft and cooked.Mash while still hot and mix with tapioca flour to form a dough(I used my heavy duty beater/stand mixer to blend to a smooth mixture,and the dough hook to form a dough).

2.Make into small balls like abacus beads, use thumb and finger, make a small depression(dimple) in the centre of each ball.

3. Boil a pot of water and add yam balls,stir well to prevent them from sticking together.Remove with strainer and coat them with oil to prevent sticking. Set aside.

4.Heat oil and deep fry cuttlefish till crispy,drain and put aside.

5.Stir fry garlic till fragrant,add pounded hay bee, stir fry till fragrant.

6.Add mushroom,minced pork/chicken,and fried cuttle fish and add half of seasoning .stir fry.

7. Add yam balls, and remaining seasoning, and stir fry.

Check out this to have a "Feel" of how to see whether your desired primary school is:

This final list only show those schools that still have vacancy for Phase 3 (not-so-hot schools)

http://www.moe.gov.sg/esp/schadm/p1/availablevacancies.htm

http://www.moe.gov.sg/esp/schadm/p1/balloting.htm

If you log in regularly during the registration period, at differnet phases,you can see a more complet list of school,and which are the schools that already need balloting at say,Phase 2C or even earlier.

Priscilla wow u know how to make babi pong teh? i like the one from ivin-ivin. Share with us your recepi.
I tried last time but use the too lean meat doesn't taste that good...

Hey gals, want to make a correction on the barley that used for making the fu-chok-yee-mai.

I check the packaging for the one we used for cooking the dessert it is the barley from holland (so i guess we should call this the yang-yi-mi) and the other type from china one is bigger and harder to boil till soft.
Anyway look for the small one lor...
http://simpleus.blogspot.com/2006/02/ginkgo-barley-dessert.html
here's a photo of how the barley looks like...

Van,
Wow.. cashew nuts in kong bao very nice...

I was looking at the Phase 3 chart... The Primary school just beside where I stay no more vacancies. I looked at Phase 2C balloting, also dun have... cham liao...

Priscilla,
What is chicken pong teh, babi pong teh? I think I havent eat before...
hmm.. the "suan pan zi" looks easy to make...

I thought of how to cook my watercress soup already. I will boil with red dates, black beans and soya beans and add the sweet corn that I wanna finish up... kekeke... dunno how the taste will turn out. Dunno how it will taste like if i add potato hor? I shall have a trial and error lunch today...

cat, thanks for the effort to compile the info.. me no IT savvy..

van,
Haven't seen escargots in the fish cake section before.. not in yishun. Bought a pkt of pineapple rice mix, going to try on sunday.. And the crab sauce too. My mum just use the maggi extra hot chilli sauce plus ketchup for the crab, Think I'll try sing long.
Tried the sambal chilli from sing long before, not nice..

Canned pork cubes with fried rice sounds interesting..Is it the black kind with a few slice of mushroom in it? I eat it with porridge only..

I like suan pan zhi too. thanks for the recipe.

Wah.. paranakan food.. yummy, I only know how to eat.. the one opp Chomp Chomp,call Pao Sing ..

Eh lyn, tell us if it's good for the mouth.. you r very adventurous huh?
But all the stuff you put in are ho liao.. very nutritious,

choc06,
Have to eat nutritious food for the sake of baby... Sometimes dun feel like eating, but gotta eat... Think of baby will eat already.... kekeke... Usually I try to cook "good" food at home, then indulge in the unhealthy ones outside...

choc06, no problem

do let me know if guys want to put more info, i can always create one more column

eh i know use the can pork to fried mee-hoon very nice leh ! remember to use the sauce and the meat just make it smaller, it taste good! and of cos unhealthy lah haha

van thanks for the suan-pa-zhi, pai seh i dun know to cook although i half kek, but there are diff kek that will have this like my mom one dun have leh...

Yes lyn let us know how it taste like hehe, if is good post the recepi here.

the Ivin-Ivin they have branch at yishun and PSA bldg. but the one at bukit timah, Binjal park one is still the best.
I like the sotong in the black sauce, the rendang is good and the bak-wan soup (meat ball) is nice too, and the ladies finger and their sambal wow.... But hor prepare to drink more water after that hehe..
Their dessert not bad too.
eh i know how to cook the sago in gula melaka. i will post later.

hmm... For fried rice mix... Last time when I was overseas, I will buy many of those fried rice mix in small yellow packaging (I forgotten the brand. Made in Malaysia.) Very easy and taste good. I usually get the peranakan fried rice mix, pineapple, chilli fried rice...

Aiyoh... all these paranakan makes me drool liao.. is it along sembawang rd? Didn't see any in my vicinity..
Dunno why, now pg, seems to be more greedy and can't resist temptation..esp to spicy food.. no more will power.. Imagine food only, want to eat..

I use the can bui bui pork ribs for frying bee hoon also.. but there is another type , the dou jiang kind is it?

van, thanks for the sch's info.. it's very helpful

Sago in Gula Melaka

Ingredients:

Sago
Gula Melaka
Pandan leaf
Coconut milk
Mould - optional

Boil the sago till it turn transparent. Remove from heat, wash with cold water.
Put the sago in the mould (Jelly mould or the Japanese agar agar mould) and leave it in the fridge. If dont have mould just leave the whole bowl in the fridge, when serving time use spoon to scoop.

Put the gula Melaka, pandan leaf and water in a pot, boil till the gula Melaka melted and become syrup. Put a side to cold it till room temp.

Coconut milk, u can buy fresh coconut shred (is it how it called?) from market then use one bowl of drinking water to press the fresh coconut milk out, or u can use the packet type. If u still worry can use heat to just warm up, dun boil.

When it is time to eat, put the sago in a bowl (can use those nice ice-cream cup too), pour some gula Melaka and some coconut milk on it.

Sweet and sinful !

Someone asked for a BBQ marinade recipe?My hub's colls loved the taste.

BBQ Easy Marinade:-

Garlic salt
Black pepper
Sesame oil
Honey
Tamari(Korean soy sauce which is sweeter than regular soy sauce)

Lyn,

Your lunch looks very colourful!

I take pics of my experiments and store my recipes on my pc in case i forget how to reproduce them.

Hello gals...
My lunch experiment quite a success
Very long time never drink nice soup already... kekeke...

Watercress soup:
Black beans
Soya beans
Fresh Shitake mushroom (I only put 3)
Red dates
Sweet corn
Watercress
Salt (to taste)

Soak the black beans and soya beans to remove the skin.
Throw in the beans, mushrooms, red dates, sweet corn into pot of water to boil. I boil till my home fill with the aroma of the soup and made me hungry :p.
Add in watercress and boil for about 5-10minutes. Add salt to taste...
Bingo! Done!

You might wanna add some pork. But I think the soup is "sweet" enough...

Choc06

Canned pork cubes/Bak Deng(Rou Ding) doesn't have mushroom.The one you mentioned with mushroom and usually eat with porridge is Canned Bak Jiu (Rou Jiang).

Last night I went NTUC at CCK also can't find the escargot anymore.May be they have it only during certain period.

But the Japanese Peas still available. The packing Soy Bean and not peas. One big pack only $2.85.

Little Cat

I used to eat at Ivins very often,when I worked around Bt Timah.Haven't been there for some time, the last time I went, it was full house,can't wait, so decided to go Bt Timah Hawker Centre to eat instead.

hmm... Let me tell you gals about the nutrition of my soup...
Beans has lots of protein. For people with gout, remove the skin of the beans before cooking. In fact, black beans is good for people with gout becos it's good for the kidneys.
For people with gout, if they wanna drink soya bean milk, gotta use black beans and remember to remove the skin before that.
Red dates "bu" blood and also give the taste.
Watercress has lots of vitamins and minerals, and "bu" blood too

Amelia,
I am too lazy to write them down and store :p I think I will remember my experiments... Very often, I cook simple dishes. That's why I haven't started to experiment with Indian food! Too troublesome to remember all the ingredients and buy small portion of those ingredients. I am still trying to search for short cuts.. kekeke...

Yo cat, I like that sinful... indulgence ! And another one I tried at sanur.. avocado cream with gula melaka..almost the same method as making the gula, but blend the avocado into cream. Pour gula into it and coconut milk.. eat already sure bui bui.. on the hips and is irreversible.. aaahh!
Then, when we think it's enough, we'll eat salads only..

Amelia, thanks for the bbq recipe. Must find tamari, cold storage have ?

lyn, the beans don't need to peel also can right ? Very healthy indeed, good for bowel movement ! Do you think it can go with rice ? It's non-fuss, one pot does it all ! Good for children

Ok, let me look for my choc fudge recipe..

Choc Fudge recipe

125g butter
200g brown sugar(for baking)
Melt both of these together, cool

125g self-raising flour
50g cocoa powder
Mix and sieve

100g cooking chocolate ( chopped)
3eggs

1.Beat the 3 eggs together
2.Add the melted butter and the brown sugar mixture into it
3.Add a little vanilla essence, mix evenly
4. Add flour and cocoa powder, stir
5. Add chopped choc and mix ..
Grease tin and pour mixture in.
6. Bake 20 mins at 150 deg cel

(If you want it moist and fudgy, bake for 20 mins,if you want it "cakey", bake 10 -15 mins longer )

Choc06, i like the avocado with gula melaka also leh ! was thinking who can i ask for the recepie hehe...
so blend the avacado, add the gula melaka and coconut milk that's all?
I like avacado, i bought 2 last weekend and just eat like that... i know it is fattening! but it is good fat right ?

Aiyah.. I use to have this yakitori recipe.. in the family circle japanese recipe book.. can't find it now. Made it before I had my first one.. Can the yakitori sauce in the supermarket do the marinade ?

Wah.. you can eat the avocado like that ? I know it's good for the complexion. Yah.. blend avocado with ice if you want ice blended, melted gula and coconut milk...

Am eating dark chocolates and drinking coffee now... sinful.. There's this little stall in cold storage causeway pt that sells chocolates by the weight.. darr and milk chocs, I think it's called prestige chocs, supposed to be low fats.. their chocs is gooood...

The Pong Teh are all peranakan food...I can make the honey babi like ivins ivins too haahaa....my godsister asked me to open a peranakan restaurant here in Vancouver haahaa...I asked her to send me all the spices haahaa

Will post then when I have time to type out....now trying to discipline ds going thru' terrible 2s

hi choc06, is that why u got your name as "choc" ?

i like chocolate but now pg somehow dun like it.. funny.

yes the avocado is nice, quite blend i know
my hubby and son will run very far away.
But my hubby like the avacado drinks. U know the fruits store at Alexandra Village also selling the avocado drinks? my hb like it and my son also. so must try it this weekend

the yakitori problem i have is, the meat too hard, not nice. so not sure any magic there.. other than putting the corn flour?

eh why today so quiet ? is it raining out there ? Orchard like sky quite ok...

I like the peranakan at beauty world and the one at Chun Tin Road....

The nicest one are all in Malacca....so once a year....dh and I will go there to eat haahaa....

Haha.. actually, I should call myself HUM...

What avocado drink is that? Is it like the one in Sanur?

What meat you use? Chicken? I used the thigh before..tender leh.. Still haven't mastered how to tenderise beef, but will add cornflour when I fry..

Prisc, mesh apple to tenderise meat ?

All food in Malaysia is good lah !!

I think everybody Zzzzing...

Choc06

Using apple to tender the beef or the chicken..I learn from Korean friend who taught me how to make some korean dishes...

Try the other one at Tanglin Shopping centre....owe by Sanur's owner's brother...food is better

Bulgogi: Korean BBQ
A wonderfully marinated Korean beef dish. Kimchi, white sticky rice, whole cabbage leaves and assorted pickled vegetables make a wonderful accompaniment. Optionally, add an assortment of vegetables to beef marinade.

1 .5 lbs

boneless rib eye steaks, cut into very thin slices 5-6" long x 2" wide (I use Black Angus)

4 tsp

sugar

cup

soy sauce

3 cloves

garlic, crushed/chopped fine

scallions, cut into 1-inch pieces / 1 onion finely chopped

5 bulbs

Spring onion

tsp

Black pepper

1 tsp

korean sesame oil

Kiwi/fuji apple/asian pear

2 tsp

Cooking wine/ saki/ dry sherry

1 tsp

vinegar

4-6 servings
24 hrs 10 mins (24 hrs prep time)
Mix beef & sugar, let rest 20 minutes.
Marinade:
Blend onion & kiwi.

Mix in soy sauce, sugar, black pepper, sesame oil, cooking wine, vinegar. Mix to get a slightly salty, sweet taste. Taste and adjust. Mix in the meat.

Add garlic and spring onion to meat mixture.

Toss well and let stand 1 hr at room temp or overnight in the refrigerator to allow the meat to mature- better the longer it marinates!
Preheat a large, heavy skillet over moderate heat for 2 minutes.
Add beef, a few slices at a time, and sear without oil for 2-3 minutes at most.
Or, grill beef in very hot gas or electric broiler.
Serve immediately with white sticky rice and an assortment of side dishes

Priscilla, do i chop the apple or just put on top? will it have abit of sour taste (since is apple) on the chicken?

Wow talk about malacca peranakan food, which one did u go?
I know there is one called 'Mike-gor' or something..
U know there is this crab cook with carnation milk near the Renaissance hotel? it is in a coffee shop. Long Q. but the crab is superb!!!

My sister told me crab in carnation milk, my first impression is 'yiack', but when i tried it wow it is so delicious! the crab is in the right size, surprisingly it mixed well with carnation milk plus some hot chilli padi, the taste is just perfect!

Beef satay

Ingredients:
1 lbs lean beef

Marinade:
1 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp powdered cinnamon
8 shallots - diced
1 tsp coriander
1/2 inch fresh turmeric
1/2 inch galangal
1 stalk lemon grass
2 tsp. sugar
2 Tbsp peanut oil (cooking oil will substitute but it will not add the same flavour) salt to taste (at least 1 tsp)

Method:
1. Slice beef in small pieces 1/8 inch thick and 1 inches long similar to what you might do for a stir fry.
2. Grind coriander, cumin, turmeric, galangal, lemon grass, salt and sugar with powdered cinnamon, diced shallots and peanut oil. This creates the marinade.
3. Mix with marinade and let sit for several hours or even better -overnight.
4. Soak your satay skewers in water. Again overnight is best to minimize burning.
5. Before cooking, skewer meat (usually about 3 pieces per stick) on sticks so the pieces are flat and not bunched up.
6. Grill on BBQ or over charcoal turning constantly and basting with lemon grass "brush" dipped in oil sugar mixture
7. Serve as they are, or even better, with a Peanut Sauce (see separate recipe), sliced cucumbers and onions.

Cooking Tip:
Place a strip of tin foil across the front of your BBQ. Make it deep enough so the sticks can lay on it while the portion of the stick covered with meat is exposed to the flame. This will allow you to minimize the sticks burning and also allow you to close the lid on your BBQ to speed up cooking. Also make a little lip, or ridge, with the foil at the flame end of the BBQ to rest the stick on. You will have to watch your finger tips as the tin foil does heat up.
For Basting: (not included on the Ingredients List)
One stalk lemon grass - cut a 1/2 inch off the bottom and then smash the end to create a brush for basting. Use a knife to add extra slits and open up the smashed end. 1 Tbsp sugar mixed with 3 Tbsp peanut oil. Peanut oil withstands higher heat and adds more flavour. You can also use coconut milk instead of sugar.

Beef satay

Ingredients:
1 lbs lean beef

Marinade:
1 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp powdered cinnamon
8 shallots - diced
1 tsp coriander
1/2 inch fresh turmeric
1/2 inch galangal
1 stalk lemon grass
2 tsp. sugar
2 Tbsp peanut oil (cooking oil will substitute but it will not add the same flavour) salt to taste (at least 1 tsp)

Method:
1. Slice beef in small pieces 1/8 inch thick and 1 inches long similar to what you might do for a stir fry.
2. Grind coriander, cumin, turmeric, galangal, lemon grass, salt and sugar with powdered cinnamon, diced shallots and peanut oil. This creates the marinade.
3. Mix with marinade and let sit for several hours or even better -overnight.
4. Soak your satay skewers in water. Again overnight is best to minimize burning.
5. Before cooking, skewer meat (usually about 3 pieces per stick) on sticks so the pieces are flat and not bunched up.
6. Grill on BBQ or over charcoal turning constantly and basting with lemon grass "brush" dipped in oil sugar mixture
7. Serve as they are, or even better, with a Peanut Sauce (see separate recipe), sliced cucumbers and onions.

Cooking Tip:
Place a strip of tin foil across the front of your BBQ. Make it deep enough so the sticks can lay on it while the portion of the stick covered with meat is exposed to the flame. This will allow you to minimize the sticks burning and also allow you to close the lid on your BBQ to speed up cooking. Also make a little lip, or ridge, with the foil at the flame end of the BBQ to rest the stick on. You will have to watch your finger tips as the tin foil does heat up.
For Basting: (not included on the Ingredients List)
One stalk lemon grass - cut a 1/2 inch off the bottom and then smash the end to create a brush for basting. Use a knife to add extra slits and open up the smashed end. 1 Tbsp sugar mixed with 3 Tbsp peanut oil. Peanut oil withstands higher heat and adds more flavour. You can also use coconut milk instead of sugar.

is it Tambuan Mas ?

hi 'hum' u r right, i am 'hum' too haha..

yes the one at Alexandra Village is same as the sanur, but cheaper lor

Little Cat

Yes...it is very nice.

Van...the one in beauty world is near the hawker centre....the one that is at Chun Tin Road is near to my wives' pub

Recipe for toddlers

Pasta with bolognaise sauce
Cous cous with pumkin and pork
Fried brown rice with chicken and french beans
Fried pasta with real ham (not processed ham) and
leeks
Brown rice cooked with tomatoes and chicken
Stewed vegetables (eggplant, zucchinni, red pepper)
with rice or pasta
Minced meat sauce on bee hoon
Pasta with chicken and mushroom in cream sauce
Mash potatoes with dory fish in cream sauce

If any of you have kids with food allergies and do not
know what sort of meals to prepare, please let me know
and I can create some recipes for your kid. Just
advise me the food that your child is allergic to and
I will find alternatives. My son has egg and milk
allergy hence I have been creating different recipes
in order for him not to get too deprived.

Anyway, happy trying and I would love to have your
feedback.

Quentina

-------------------------------------------

Pasta with bolognaise sauce
1 chinese porcelain spoon of pasta (I use coquillete
shapes as they are like mini marcaroni and I need not
cut them)

1 heap teaspoon of chopped white onion
50g minced beef
half a carrot
1 table spoon pasta sauce (any brand, prego, ragu
whatsoever. But I fancy the carrefour housebrand
spagetti sauce is the best so far. It's not too sour
or bitter)
pinch of italian herbs
quarter or less of a cube of vegetable stock (I use
organic ones as they are made of natural vegetables,
no msg or preservatives)
1 tablespoon of peas (I like the petite pois which can
be found only at carrefour as they are smaller than
normal peas)

- Cook pasta as per instructions, drain and keep aside
- Cut the carrot in large pieces and boil till
cooked/soft. Puree and leave aside.
- Heat up 2 tablespoon of olive oil, fry onions till
fragrant
- Add beef, italian herbs and vegetable cube. Fry till
beef is cooked
- Add carrot puree and pasta sauce, stir and bring to
boil
- Add peas and stir for a minute
- Pasta sauce is now ready to serve with the cooked
pasta

I personally like this recipe in comparison with the
usual bolognaise recipes because there are lots of
vegetables incorporated. Even if kids do not like to
eat the meat sauce, the pasta is already coated with
carrots.

I also personally like coquilette pasta as they are so
easy to handle with a spoon especially when
encouraging self feeding with a spoon. Same goes with
the petite pois. But you can always use a pasta or
other vegetable of your child's favourite to try.

Cous Cous with Pumpkin and Pork

50g minced pork
1 teaspoon finely chopped white onions
quarter cube of vegetable stock
pumpkin - ( I'm sorry but I do not know how to
describe the amount however after boiling the pumpkin
in water and then puree it, you should yield about 3
tablespoons
1 tablespoon of uncooked cous cous
1 tablespoon of petite pois

- Heat a pan and add olive oil and onion. Fry till
fragrant.
- Add minced pork and vegetable cube.
- Add pumpkin puree and petite pois. Bring to boil and
turn off fire.
- Put cous cous in an empty porcelain bowl. Add
boiling water till it covers the entire cous cous and
water level is half cm above the cous cous. Stir
briefly and then leave it for 5 mins. When time's up,
stir cous cous to separate them Cous cous should soak
up all the water and should be soft. If still hard,
add a little more hot water and soak for another 5
mins.
- Mix cous cous and meat sauce and ready to eat

Tip: When cooking minced meats, best to loosen meat by
adding tap water before frying. Like this, meat will
be in very fine pieces.

Fried Pasta with minced beef and broccolli

1 chinese porcelain spoon of uncooked pasta (I use
coquilette ones)
1 tablespoon chopped onions
50g minced beef
4 florets of broccolli
quarter vegetable cube (or salt or home made stock)

- Cook pasta according to instructions
- Add some water to minced beef and mix so meat
loosens
- Wash brocolli thoroughly and cut broccolli into very
small or florets. If your child does not have many
teeth and chewing is a problem, you can use only the
"bushes" without the thick stem. Otherwise, you can
replace with other leafy vegetables, french beans or
leeks. All vegetables to be cut very very small)
- Heat olive oil, fry onions till fragrant
- Add beef and vegetable cube and fry till cooked
- If using broccolli or french beans, you can add
broccolli and beef at the same time and cook till
broccolli is soft.
- If you are using other vegetables that cooks fast,
you can add them after the beef is cooked so
vegetables are not over cooked.
- Once meat sauce is done, add cooked pasta and stir
everything together. If you find the dish too dry, you
can add a little bit of water so that the pasta has
some gravy.

This recipe is the same for the Fried Pasta with Ham
and Leeks. Basically you can use any meat and any
vegetable in this disk. When I say ham, I do not mean
the processed ham you get from NTUC or carrefour or
cold storage. Those taste terrible when you cook them.
I get my cooked ham from the Swiss Butchery. They have
it also at The Market Place.

Fried brown rice with chicken and french beans

The above recipe concept is the same as the fried
pasta, except I use brown rice in replacement.
Likewise, you can use any meat or vegetables you
currently have in your refrigerator to whip up this
dish. The gist of the recipe is as follows:

1 porcelain spoon of uncooked brown rice
1 tablespoon of chopped onion
50g minced chicked (mixed with a bit of water to
loosen)
5 french beans (washed, cut off tips and dispose,
slice into small pieces)
quarter vegetable cube or salt

If you are only cooking that little bit of rice, it is
impossible to cook it in the rice cooker or even a
stove. So I cook that small portion of rice like I
would cook pasta.

- Boil half a saucepan of water, add the washed brown
rice and boil till rice grain splits. Do not overcook
till it becomes porridge.
- Remove saucepan from stove and drain away the water.
Keep aside.

- Heat olive oil, add onions, fry till fragrant
- Add chicken and veg cube
- Add french bean and fry till soft
- Add rice and stir. Ready to serve

Variation of this recipe.
My son likes fried rice with meat, tomatoes and
cabbage. Make sure tomatoes are sweet and not sour.
Chop tomatoes and cabbage up real small and cook the
same way like other vegetables.

Pasta with Chicken and mushroom in cream sauce

1 chinese porcelain spoon of uncooked pasta - cook
according to instructions and leave aside
1 shallot - chopped finely
50g minced chicken (add little water to loosen meat)
quarter vegetable cube
1 or 2 white button mushroom (chopped into small
pieces)
2 tablespoon of cream (I use the brand President and I
think it's called liquid whipping cream)

- Heat olive oil and fry shallots
- Add chicken, mushrooms and vegetable cube
- When all ingredients are cooked, add the cream and
bring to boil.
- Add cooked pasta and stir. Ready to serve.

Mashed potatoes with Dory Fish in cream sauce

1 medium sized potato
1 teaspoon of butter
1 - 2 tablespoon of cream or milk
50g of Dory fish (make sure no bones, cut into very
small pieces)
quarter vegetable cube or salt
1 tablespoon of peas
2 tablespoon of cream
1 shallot - chopped finely

- Wash potato thoroughly and boil till soft.
- Take off skin and mash together with butter and
cream/milk
- Leave aside

- Heat olive oil and fry shallot is till fragrant
- Add Dory fish and vegetable cube and stir till
cooked
- Add peas and cream and bring to a "boil"
- Now it is ready to be served with the mashed potato

You can either mix everything together or serve it
like potatoes at the bottom and fish on top.

Vegetable Stew
1 tablespoon of finely chopped onion
1 tomato (remove seeds)
half an eggplant (remove skin)
half a zucchini
half red pepper
half vegetable cube

- Cut all vegetables into similar very small pieces
- Heat olive oil and add onions, fry till fragrant
- Add all the chopped vegetables (tomatoes, eggplant,
zucchini and red pepper) and vegetable cube
- Add water till all vegetables are covered and bring
to a boil
- When stew is boiling, lower flame and continue to
cook till the vegetables are very soft. If liquid
levels are low and vegetables are still not soft, add
more water and stew till soft. Ready to serve with
either pasta, rice or noodles.

Bee Hoon in meat sauce

A portion of cooked bee hoon or other types of
noodles
1 tablespoon of chopped onion
50g minced pork
1 button mushroom - chopped into bitesized pieces
light and dark soy sauce to taste
quarter chicken cube (or use half cup of homemade
chicken stock)
1 teaspoon of cornflour mixed with some water

- Heat some vegetable oil and add onions, fry till
fragrant
- Add minced pork and mushroon and fry till pork is
cooked
- Add chicken cube and half cup of water (or half cup
of chicken stock) and bring to a boil
- add light sauce to taste, and dark soy sauce to add
some colour
- Once sauce is to taste, add the cornflour mixture
and boil. (Add little at a time to ensure that sauce
is not too thick)
- Sauce is now done and can be put on top of the
noodles and ready to serve.

Wah... thanks for the ideas and recipe prisc..

Tambuan Mas, haven't tried before, is it beside the Ma La huo guo? Tanglin shopping centre?

My friend fried the satay meat instead of grilling, quite nice also.
I think lime and lemon can also tenderise is it? Read somewhere before..

Wah.. bitter gourd with slice fish and black beans, ... my mum's fav

Wah, so many posts and recipes today! Today no chance to log in at all. Cooked prawn dumpling soup for dinner - took too long peeling the waterchestnuts! Had too much ironing to do - I think today is a record of 8 long sleeved shirts, 4 short sleeved shirts, 5 polos and 2 sets of uniforms

My 2nd one got a bump on her chin today - about the size of a quail's egg! It's all black and blue - fell in school. I see already super sim-tiah

Gotta go set the table for dinner - will catch up on all the posts later.

Btw, I'm Teochew - thanks for updating the table littlecat!