B{TINGKAT dinner..which caterer is good?}

am currently using buffetparadize (www.buffetparadize.com)... so far the food have been okay, they claim to not use Msg or canned food (although we did get sardine the other day)... but i like them because so far they have been accommodating - unlimited cancellation of meals and we only cater for 3 days a week. food delivered was quite warm too.

we live in Bishan... food delivered abt 4pm + but we get home only at 6, the food is left at the doorstep...

wow...so early the food arrive le ah.
i stay at sembawang which is near to their factory. hmm....think i will get the food at 3pm+? hahaha

might be the case... haha... can talk to them to see if the can make arrangements... otherwise try the caterers located at Bedok or Joo Chiat side! haha

i just called them up. hmm...they cant estimate the timing for me. maybe i will try them for 5days after my contract with neo garden is up.

hi annie,
i understand that neo garden have 2 kitchen. depend on where u stay...the delivery time can be v early or quite late.
food wise 1st mth i find is gd but 2nd mth i find them not as gd already.
sometime the portion is big but sometime small.
often out of 4 dishes, 1 dish is v pathetic small portion,...i did not opt for soup.
i heard from my friend neo garden soup sucks... little ingredients and bland.

hi smiley.

out of 5 days, 3 days never follow the menu. worst is yesterday's dishes. stingray becomes fried fish, yong tau fu with seafood sauce becomes sweet sauce and the soup is very bland with no ingredients at all.

very disappointed

Neo Garden got menu? I never got mine. I tingkat lunch from them for 7 months. so far ok, food quite tasty. portion quite big, last me till dinner

I like their timing because they can reach my house around 10am. anyway they finished cooking early in the morning so I preferred to pour the dishes out quickly rather than trapped the food in plastic container till noon. so the earlier the better.

but they are not very flexible, cannot switch veg dish to tofu and cannot switch lunch to dinner for some days. my kids don't like veg dish

my previous caterer is much more flexible, allow me to switch veg to tofu dishes. But they can only reach my house at 1pm. I think food sogi by then since they also cook early in the morning

hi annie,
neo garden have menu one meh? i ask them for it they says dun have leh. where u stay? i think those staying at west side or north side may get better food from their wan lee kitchen. my friend stay at serangoon says their food no gd think hers from bedok kitchen.

hi hippo,
wow...u ctaer neo for so long ah. ur kids how long le? can take tingkat meh? salt level quite high n unhealthy leh. btw, i cancel away neo garden le... trying out buffet paradize next week.

Smiley

I just called Buffet paradise. They are at Woodlands, don't serve lunch for East area.

So hard to find caterer for lunch. So far I only came across 2. the other 1 is my previous caterer Lexing at woodlands. Their timing was good for me before I shifted house, 9:40am can reach my place in the North

Lexing also no msg, unlimited cancellation, flexible can request no veg dish but portion smaller than Neo Garden

hi hippo & smiley.

yes got menu from Best Catering.

looking for better quality food, maybe something like confinement food, with tonic etc, slightly ex is ok.

over the last couple of days, hubby refused or ate very little and the bulk was thrown away..really felt guilty for the wastage but taste is really yucks..

hi annie,
really tat bad ah? but i find their food still not that bad le. oni certain tau kwa or tofu dish not nice and certain deep fried dishes sucks. anyway, i be trying buffet paradize next week :p

smiley

hehe, I think all tingkat food the same. some more suitable to taste bud so find it nicer

tingkat is similar to buying from those rice stall that sells dishes at hawker center. I think menu looked quite similar, just that the dishes are delivered to our door step

i am trying neo garden now for lunch. ytday out of 4 dishes, i dish was fried 'lap cheong'. can't call it healthy food. today out of 4 dishes, i dish was canned pork braised with corn. i'm disappointed but i guess cannot have high expectation when u r on tingkat. so far only the stir fried veg can make it..

I have used Lexin on and off the past 2 years... find the standard has dropped, now they changed their name to something else, can't remember...

I have tried Select, more expensive, but standard of food is much better. Only thing is they use msg...

just wondering, when you tingkat,

do you use the mircowave containers or reusable steel containers?

what are the pros & cons?

i now using first cuisine....not too bad

they are quite generous. Usually is like 2 meat, 1 vege and 1 soup....they dun give tofu etc, egg also dun have...unless you order 4 dishes instead.

soup wise...sometime i feel they taste alike despite using different ingredient

thot try catering cos sick of the food offered at the 3 coffeeshops. Guess we dont get to choose 'appetising & warm food'. The del timing so odd, reheat means the food change colour n not so tasty right? oh well, i report at my mkt place.

btw, one of the coffeeshop here allows phone order so a 'consolation' lor.

i agree with powerpuff (karen_ghl),
meihao99 not bad
i tried some before & find that most are very salty esp kim kitchen

tried meihao99 & overall pretty ok for tingkat..

Hi powerpuff and zuoer
can share the contact for meihao99? we may consider them after we terminate the current arrangement with buffetparadize.

thanks in advance.

wonder mummies have tried House of Catering....
my bad experience with them....

1)Vege most of time turns yellow, or at times its too hard, we need to cook again :S
2)Fish dish at times are not fresh, the moment you open the container, you can smell it

3)One occasion, delivery man is damn rude, esp when collecting for the money. My mil paid him $188, but another man came to ask for additional of $8 after one mth, claiming that the previous mth she only paid $180. The man is shouting so loud, tat my mil eventually paid him. I didnt know abt it only after the 3rd mth, if its me, i wouldnt even care to talk to him, wil hav called the security..... hw can they claim all these after one mth???!!!!
4)i called to terminate, n state that the fish is not fresh, tat man didnt even bother to know much, but insist tat we need give 3 days in advance before due date, else we need cont for another 20days.....!!! i feel like tellin him, u can stil send but i wil nvr pay for the next 20days.... but the tot of my mil alone at home, not able to handle them, i give in to another month of catering

they have bad attitude, lots of fried food, fish not fresh at times, veges over cooked or under cooked..... i will nvr consider them again....

i just chk the rate, how come buffet paradize so exp? 2 pax for 3 Dishes + 1 Soup is $400!
but for meihao 99 is only 2 pax for 3 Dishes +Soup is $180!
neo garden also only $190 only!!
but how is the food and portion for all these caterers?

Hi oily

Buffet Paradize used to do $200 for 2pax with no msg but sometime early this year they started adding MSG into their food without informing the customers.

As a result, many ex-customers like myself have terminated their service. Now they claim to have this "premium" tingkat whereby they don't use any MSG and use only canola oil to cook the dishes.

In my opinion, they are just trying to make more money now that they have lost a lot of customers since using MSG in their food.

For meihao99 and neo garden I've never tried so don't know if their food is good or portions are big.

I have tried Neo garden and Meng Hiang

Just never order from Meng Hiang, their service is horrible. The food is so so in the beginning, then we start seeing repeated dishes in the same week. Then slowly we saw our soup only half left.. the other half was on our floor at the gate. We complaint about the soup and nothing changed. THey promise to give us extra dish to repay us, but it never happen. THe soup continue to be half, the extra dish never appear. once , we ask to cancel one of the day, cos we are at east coast. we called 3 days before hand , and guess what? when we got back from our chalet, we saw the food there.
When we terminate their service, they continue to send their food for 2 weeks. I called so many times to cancel it, but the food kept coming. Until i got so pissed off (cos we are having double portion of dinner) i literally open my door and wait for the delivery man to turn up. I told him we cancelled 2 weeks ago, he said he wasnt informed and ask us to pay the office for 2 weeks food. I declined, and ask them to go ask their office....

anyway, horrible service.. never engage them.

As for neo garden, the food is nice, but seriously too salty. My son enjoyed every meal bcos it is so salty. Really bad for health. He drank up 1 full bottle of water during each meal.

mummyo: thks! actually buffet paradize and natal essentials same boss, right?? i tried the confinement food from natal essentials and it's very tasty.. both hb and myself love their food.

joannelim: did u need to pay at the end?

i'm looking for value for money caterer, but of course food must be delicious also!

oily:

Yes, the same boss runs both companies. I had the same experience. I was so impressed with their confinement food that I continued with their tingkat dinner after my confinement period but really disappointed when they started cooking with MSG. Cos theirs was one of the better tasting tingkat we've tried.

Now I've the added problem of cooking since I haven't found any good and healthy tingkat service and unwilling to pay $400 for 2pax for the Buffet Paradize one.

Hi Oily,

I was using Buffet Paradiz for my tingkat dinner. I was a very happy and satisfied customer.

Since they are starting Premium dinners which are way above my budget, i had no choice but to try others.

I have just completed my 10 Days trial with Jia Le and decided to continued with it's dinner. As we are happy with it too.

There have been quite negative reviews with NG, so i am not sure if u want to try..hee. But again individual taste, as my liking to one may not be the same as yours.. : P

There is another caterer - Empire food. Probably can hear feedbacks from anyone who use this caterer.

Good Luck.

Oh dear,
just when I was about to finalise the caterer from my 2 shortlisted ones, I found out that Kim's kitchen uses msg and House of Caterer has bad attitude. Chiam..
Neo garden food has msg?

Hi Mongs,

I think Jia Le does used MSG.

I believe there is very few caterers who does not use MSG.

regards,
astee

astee: coz my face always very oily! LOL~

called JiaLe and Meihao. both have trial for 10days. but Jiale deliver the food to my area around 4plus and Meihao around 6plus.
i might try meihao first, so that i don't have warm up the food.

do you all take 3dishes+ soup or 4 dishes?

Hi Oily,

For my family,i need soup for my 2 kids,so i opt for the 3 dishes + soup. Some mommies that i know boiled their own nutritious soup,so will go for 4 dishes.

Bottomline is what is your own preference and also your family needs.

rgds,
astee

I have signed up for a trial from Lexin.
Cost $142.50 for 10 dinners for 3 person with 4 dishes. It's $10 more expensive than their 20times meal as it's a trial. Nevermind that $10, hopefully, the meals will be reasonable.
The lady told me that their fishes will be fried fishes if any. It's without msg. Will feedback to the threat if it's ok.

i also going to start the trial from meihao tonite! so exciting!

mongs, pls update Lexin's service and food after tt.. i saw their delivery van at my area quite a few times. i don't mind to try them if it's good. thks!

Hi Mongs,

Actually Lexin was on my list too but i just can't seem to get through them via their contact number which is connect to a mobile number. Yeah, hope to hear your feedback on LX too.

Hey Oily,

Yeah, exciting to start a new dinner, good luck to Meihao too.

Great to know that there are so many options available.

astee

i tried lexin for lunch delivery during my maternity in april. i find their food v salty. instead of MSG it is loaded with salt. I had 4 dishes and there is always one tat cames with a fried item which i dont really fancy. I v much prefer neo gardens food.