hi babes...
sorry that i mia for so long... hahaha..
disappeared in early sept coz my darling moby passed away.. too sad to log on...
then Eviana decided to pop out earlier...
birth story goes like this:
9 sept: 38th week :saw gynae and he said bb does not wan to come out yet.. still not dilated. but dr was concerned abt low amonic fluid level. placed on CTG. dr says to return next monday, will induce if water level still low.
10th sept 2am: undies got abit of blood.. so thought it was the "show".. called dr in morning, dr say to monitor.
11.30pm: woke up and felt as if i peed in bed. went toilet to check. confirmed that it was not pee. then i realised waterbag burst.. Eeks... no pain yet though. Dr says to go hospital
11 sept 12am: reached tmc. directed to labour ward. placed on ctg. nurses said i was admitted too early. only 1cm dilated. arranged to push me to normal ward to rest at 1am. nurses estimated i will only give birth ard 10-11am earliest
3.30am: cannot tahan the contractions 2-3min apart. got nurse to wheel me to delivery ward again. waterbag leaking like mad.
4am: by now pain was excruciating.held on the the bed rails for my dear life. ask nurse for pain relieve. nurse administered enema. cleared bowels and then was pushed to delivery suite. give laughing gas and pain injection. dilation still @ 1 cm.
5.30am:dilated @ 5cm. the pain is coming on stronger. stupid injection and laughing gas was not working. nurse increase the amt of laughing gas. grabbing hb arms at each contraction. i think he was dying from the pain each time i grab him. (later he show mi his arm kena bruises.. haha).. crying from the pain. ask nurse to gimme epidural.. request rejected by dr and hb. so have to suffer summore
6am: dilated 8cm. felt like eternity.. @ each contraction felt as though i need to do big biz. had the urge to push. but nurse told me not to as this will put bb in stress...
6.30am: really cannot tahan liao. body was auto pushing with each contraction. nurse gave go ahead to push. stupid gas/injection totally not working by now. hb say can see bb's head.
6.50am: Gynae came in. told me to prepare to push. using all my strength. no more gas mask coz i was told to place my hands on my thighs, legs in stirups. pushed 4 times in 4 sets...
7.05am: finally Eviana was born.tummy was suddenly flat. Dr placed her on me... suddenly all the pain seems worth it, melted to see her. Dr passed hb scissors to cut bb's umbilical cord. Dr started stitching me up while talking to me. Bb wheeled to be cleaned up.
7.30am: wheeled to ward. finally see bb clearly. her head is full of hair. v fair and was peeping at mummy with one eye.
verdict: mummies are really WEI DA.. hahaha... pls prepare your hb if he is gonna go with u for your birth coz u will tend to lose control of your bowels (so painful)and alot of blood. My gynae was surprised that my hb stuck thru the whole process, even looking at him cutting mi and stitching me. definitely not for the faint hearted.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
BF:
i am doing well with BF.baby was able to suckle on 1st day. bb currently on bf/ebm.
1st week: ard 60-80ml on each side
2nd week: ard 90-120ml each side
3rd week: ard 150-200ml each side
total pump time: 15-20mins.
normally my girl will ZZZZ after suckling on one side, waking ard 2.5-3hrs later for next feed so i clear one side each time.
have to pump ev 2-3 hrs else breasts become very engorged and pain and also causes backache when breasts gets too full. also cannot drain the supply completely coz need to leave some for bb's comfort suckling.
sam: i oso using hand pump. i din get any blue black. but it was good when my nipples were cracked in the 1st week. surviving on the tiny medela pump now but find it noisy. often wakes bb up when i pump.
steph: jiayou on the BF. i started off with hand express. prolly it helped to start me off. now i throw it one side and use the mini electric one. dun worry abt not having enuff breast milk.
i m now a walking cow with leaky breasts and all.
de_luxe: thanks. feeling okay. kinda know bb's feeding patterns, behaviour n likings now. so it is quite okay. normally can nurse her catch 2-3hrs of sleep in between feeds.
okie thats all for now... lol... the rest talk inside msn when i log in bah...
to mummies giving birth soon: jia you. have good rest now. coz the 1st few days that u take bb home, u r not gonna sleep much.