Any SAHMTBs?

hi opposgal,

1st call ur dr to inform him/her. then call for ambulance coz i dun think any cabbie wanna take u or u wanna move too much after the waterbag burst.

Wow. The benefits are moved forward for some in August 2008.

How come SAHM's benfits not extended? The childcare benefits more for working mothers? Should have petition too.

coz we are not providing to GDP numbers n not boosting the economy bah...

wat we are doing can only boost the economy in say 20-25yrs time niah so we are conveniently forgotten

Hi Taslyn,
Yupz, My last day soon...Now taking half days almost everyday, as I can't seem to sleep well at night, and can't wake in the morning. So i made arrangement with Coy that I will turn up only half days until my last day...
I keep hearing HB's snores, and i feel frustrated that I can't fall asleep.

I was thinking, if we keep sleeping late or only sleep at Wee Hours, when BB is borned, will BB also be like us, don't want to sleep at night? Hmmm...

Hi Oppsgal,
You are here too!

Queenie,

From your posts, can see you frequent prawning. Wondering if the prawns we caught from the Ponds are safe for us to eat? i still have a Big pack of 20+ prawns in my freezer not cooked yet.

u frequent Pasir Ris Farmway for prawning? Me also quite regular there, almost every weekends last time before pregnant, wonder if we have seen each other b4. Is the Pond u frequent the one that has Lucky Draw on Saturday Nights?

hi gingal
hehe u muz wash clean the prawns b4 u cook or bbq.. but aniway i try not to eat too much. coz my sis told me too much seafood bb will get allergy..

i oni go farmway for fishing..
prawning most recent i went pasir ris pond..
other dan tt i went to lakeside, cck farm mart nia. hehe. don tink u see me b4. coz i almost 1 yr plus nvr go prawning liao. most of the time fishing..

opps gal oso sahmtb??lol ..

Taslyn

I am thinking of going to work when my bb is 2yrs old.

Well...Hope someone set a petition for all SAHM to claim some benefits.

Any idea where can we place our 7yrs old child? Don't feel safe to leave the kid alone at home after school. And don't think can afford a maid.

Taslyn

I am thinking of going to work when my bb is 2yrs old.

Well...Hope someone set a petition for all SAHM to claim some benefits.

Any idea where can we place our 7yrs old child? Don't feel safe to leave the kid alone at home after school. And don't think can afford a maid.

gingal...
lol... that's good at least can rest...
i m not getting much sleep these days.. bb is not cooperating.. always kicking at nite... though they say in 3rd trimester we hv to "train" bb to recognise when is sleep time n when is play/awake time, i hv a hard time doing it coz bb is always active at nite.. so i guess i will train her after she is born...

re: prawns
can eat lar.. but in moderation since prawns are deemed to be "poisonous"... hb told me to steer away from prawns and chicken after my 36 weeks so tat my body will not hv so much poison then wounds can heal after n lesser chance of getting pus.

oppsgal..
sahm... i guess govt dun recognise ley.. coz GDP is really impt to govt.. but i got feedback to MP.. lol... but u know lar... these take forever..

7yo child:
erm.. i am 1st time mtb.. so not really sure.. i think there are affordable after school care centres ard. so can consider those bah..

Queenie

Thanks. Don't know where to place my kid next time when I continue to work.

Taslyn

By the time get back too late for petition? haha..

Hi Queenie,

I used to frequent CCK Farmart too, until realised the prawns getting more and more difficult to catch. Pasir Ris Farmway better... The Fishes also easier to catch, i always see so many catches from the fishing ppl.

Oopsgal,
U having #2 now?

oppsgal,
i dun think sahms are really a priority in govt list of things-to-do currently. in fact i feel that they are discouraging sahm by the way they are pushing mummies to work by providing more incentives for childcare n wat not. for now i guess we can only provide feedback to govt, but for them, the big picture is to project/maintain/increase healthy growth for the economy that it really leaves sahm out in the dark.

seriously i dun really like the idea of leaving my child @ infant care or with PILs. i want to participate n watch my child grow up. n there are so many kids out there who are "out of control" coz their parents are working.

wat i wish is govt agencies themselves can start the ball rolling by offering flexible working schemes and part time work.

gingal...
lol prawns evwhere seems hard to catch except pasir ris. they are so much easier to catch in pasir ris... but too far for me...

Oppsgal,
I agree with Taslyn, I guess there is nothing we can do being SAHMs... Given the lack of people (talents) to work already, i doubt they are happy we are staying at home...

Taslyn,

Yah loh, Pasir Ris Farmway's Boss is more generous, he puts more prawns i think.

gingal

But there are so many Foreign Talents, don't think they need SAHM to help also.

I having my #1 and I think I stick to only one.

oppsgal...
true that there are many "foreign" talents ard. But how many of these foreign talents are willing to stick their guts out and stay on in Singapore in times of crisis or hardship? Many take on PR so that it is easier for them to get jobs or housing. But are these people really talents which are worth keeping? Also think of the economic losses when these people send $$ home to their homeland.. of course this is not the case for all foreign talents. I believe if u look ard, you wil know which are those who practise this... i know of many cases who use their singaporean citizenship/PR status n stay here for 2-3yrs then hope to greener pastures such as USA, UK, Canada

i believe govt is well aware of this dilema thus they would very much prefer their local born people like us to contribute to the society instead.

Dun look down at the power of sahm, there are many sahm who held powerful positions b4 they decide to stay home n look after their lil precious one...

lol.. it's been a long time that i took such a political view on things.. hehehe

gingal:
keke.. not too sure if the boss is more generous.. but the prawns there sure are dumber thank those in other locations...

Hi all, I am also a SAHMTB and would like to join in this thread. I resigned from my job and discovered I was pregnant. How do you gals pass your time, feeling kinda of bored.

hi sportyger,
welcome to the thread...

when's ur edd?

i guess at diff stages of pregnancy, u do diff things?

for me, i m at 36 weeks liao.. so it is pretty much resting, catching sleep since the max each stretch of sleep i get is 3hrs each time...
else i will be surfing net, watching tv, playing games, playing with dogs, doing abit of household chores n chatting with the mummies on msn. ")

Taslyn, my edd is 3/3/09. Now in my 13th week and still having MS. I guess with the MS, I dont really have mood to do much. So you will be popping soon, so envy.

sporty
ooo... i think u r the 4th mtb here whose edd is in mar.

lol.. no need to be envious. i suffered my fair share of ms.. things will turn better at 2nd tri aka honeymoon of pregnancy..
i m still hving my MS at this stage. trying hard not to gain too much weight, not to eat any stuff which trigger my ms, trying to rest more b4 i officially join the panda club as well as overcoming the jitters/anxiety of my ger ger's pending arrival

Taslyn, really hoping MS will go away soon, gets quite depressing with that pukey and nauseaous feeling the whole day. Ya you must rest more cos when bb comes will be so busy.

sporty:
1st tri is like that.. but it will pass v fast de.. so dun worry unless ur bb is like mine lar..
mb u try to avoid eating spicy food, prep sour plums, avoid cold drinks n caffeine in the meantime..

my 1st, 2nd n 3rd tri all v pukey n nauseous that my hb dun really bother liao.. even myself become automatic merlion le.. hahaha..

now only hope bb guai guai for the next 2 weeks til her lungs are fully developed and so-called full term...

dun be sian...
my gynae actually told me.. the worse the mummy feels, the healthier the bb...
so next time u can tell ur bb how much u suffer... lol.. then tell bb to guai guai...

for me now, other than MS, giddiness, sleep deprivation, i keep feeling that my tummy is too small for my girl, it's growing horizontally and not vertically anymore. stretch marks are appearing.
hb also commented that i hv a short body n he is worried that his ger has no space to move. her legs, butt and knees are protuding and visible at my sides n near my rib cage most of the time.
hb can ask her if mummy's tummy is too small n tell her to kick if she tot so, she kicks lor.. sigh...

sporty:
it is the hormones....
it still happens to me. no mood to do anything, sleepy, crying over the slightest things, throwing tamtrums @ hb. pregnancy brings out the weirdest behaviour in us.

i'm new here, also a SAHMTB, currently 24 weeks. i quit my job after i found out i was preg at about 6 weeks cos i used to be a cabin crew. glad to find this thread! starting to feel so bored at home.

sportyger, i totally understand how you feel. i was also emotional and had some nausea in 1st trim.. but you can look forward to better days once you hit your 16th week onwards

hi tyann,
welcome to the thread... lol.. though sometimes it can get stagnant..
24 weeks... meaning ur edd is dec/jan? enjoy ur 2nd tri...

Hi Sportyger,
Glad to see you here!

Hi Tyann,
Welcome!

Taslyn,
You are in your 36th week liao? Cool...Soon can deliver ler...Anxious hor? Will U be delivering naturally or C-sect?

Taslyn,
yup my edd is 15dec. went for my 24th week check up today. glad to know that my boy is growing well... but doc says my placenta is slightly low and might obstruct natural delivery. will have to wait and see if it moves up, if not will need to do csec.

hi gingal, thanks for the welcome
when is your edd?

ladies, so far how much weight have you put on? i already put on 10kg leh. very scary... doc says looks like i might hit 16kg by the time i deliver! but the strange thing is that my tummy is not very big leh. seems like the weight is going to me instead. ooopppsss...

gingal:
yesh... can deliver anytime. but i m so ill prepared. haben pack hospital bag...

actually not anxious yet. guess i will only be anxious only when the time comes... i onyl feel scared coz i keep having contractions and my tummy feels small for my girl, her legs n elbows are jutting out of my body n she kicked me in the ribcage last night. *ouch*

i will be going for natural since Dr say he see no need for me to go thru csec.

tyann:
so far i put on ard 10.4kg... i dun wan to put on anymore.. hahahaha
some mummies in my sept thread put on 20-25kg liao.. i think it is good to skip durians n sweet stuff.. :p

re: big tummy
my tummy is really v big n round now. it only appear @ 5 mth.. then from 6th-8mth it really grow v big...

Welcome tyann & sportyger!
Long time never come in here to chat liao.

As for being a SAHMTB, initially was extremely bored, then get to know some SAHMTBs from here, keep ourselves occupied. And most important is sleep, eat & sleep!

Weight gain: I gave up on weighing myself & looking at the scale anymore! :p Dun wanna feel depressed. I think should be putting on 10 - 15kg if i'm not wrong.

sam:
kns lar u... now i know y u jio dim sum buffet liao... wan mi to put on more weight hor?!
hahaha... i really wanna go ley... but then so worried tat eviana wanna pop out sigh... must tell her to guai guai n stay inside so i can go DS with u all...

So glad to find this thread here too! I am also a stay at home mum to be - juz recently though..Gonna deliver in November. What do you gals do normally? I'm happy that I can relax at home but can get bored at times really! Would like to join you gals for activities if there are any?

Taslyn,
oh, eviana is such a pretty name! hope your delivery will go smoothly

haiya i think all my weight is coming from junk food leh. cos ever since i became preggie i keep craving for macs and bk. very jialat! and i dun really like durians.. never liked it. but since preggie also started to eat, but so far only 2x. think must not eat anymore. really hope i can lose the weight after delivering but don't think i can ever go back to my original 47kg.... sigh

hi vanilla,
initially when i just stopped working, i kinda enjoyed being so free.. but now as the days and months pass, i become more and more bored! at least during the olympics i had something to watch on tv.. now like got withdrawal symptoms haha.. recently trying to occupy myself with cooking for hubby. really feel like housewife already.

hi wei lim,
so you should be around 30 weeks now? are you having boy or girl?

Hi tyann,

Yap! I'm around 30 weeks now and I'm having a boy. haha, i just tried to start to cook a little and it can get quite tedious, esp the washing up! But when hubby liked the food and appreciate the effort, i feel happy! :) I also craved for Macs when prior to pregnancy, i dun like fastfood and durians too!!
Well, there's a baby fair at isetan going on but not sure if there are good buys or not? I have got most of the stuff though but will be there later today, to meet up with a fren for lunch and also run some errands in town. You may wanna pop by as there are sales in robinsons and metro too.

hiyo..

so mani new MTBs here.. welcome welcome..

Hi taslyn,
Anxious? bb eviana will be out soon.. n soon u will be panda like me.. haha. time is so nv enough now..mus enjoy yr free time now..

hi sam,
how have u been?? wah.. going for dim sum buffet .. so shiok.. i oso wan

tyann:
managed to decide on that name after many changes. Had to get a name that starts with "E" coz hb's starts with "E"... loL

re:fastfood
i am steering away from them.. not coz they make u fat... rather i have been eating so much, that i think the delivery guy knows us liao.. i m so gonna sian MACS...

hi wei lim,
welcome here... 30 weeks.. almost same as sam.. i oso hv withdrawal symptoms for olympics lol...

steph:
hehehe... still not anxious.. rather is stress coz keep having these stupid pain like contractions n she is stretching n stretching my tummy... got 2 tiny sm on tummy liao, 2 each on breast n plenty on thighs (plus celuulite).. sobs!
how's ur confinement? Chiemi gonna full month liao hor? hehehe... seldom see u online now :p got new pics of Chiemi? show show ley

i dreamt of sashimi buffet n oysters last nite... wahh so shiok! i wish can eat them now! lol

steph:

guess wat... i stumbled upon the link of ur blog which u posted... FAINTZ.. u hv the same BDAE as my bro!!! lol...
tong nian tong yue tong re siah!

saw chiemi's new pics oso... so cute... can melt ar

tas,

haha..my sm is so much more den u but lucky it seem to gotten lighter den the first few days after i give birth.
I nv really follow all the rules of confinement.. already went out shopping with my hubby, bathing everyday but with the confinement shower foam.
Chiemi's full mth celebration will b tomorrow coz her actual is on a weekday hence gotta bring forward..
so i m goin to do my hair later.. haha.. finally..

i been cravin for oysters for soo long but now gotta wait till oct liao.

Serious ah.. yr bro b-day same as me?? 1st time leh... so far i onli manage to find same day n same mth.. cannot find same yr.. haha
Chiemi is cute n naughty haha.. sometime wanna get angry with her oso diff. She will do funny things to mk u laugh..

ooiiii Tas..i jio Dim sum cos got craving for char siew bao hor!! LOL Anyway, nvm la...u put on weight = ger ger put on weight. So its for the better!!

Hi happie!! *waves* I wanna see Chiemi's new pics!! How have u been? Managed to cope still? Still haven got over the period of 'panda eyes' yet? :p

Hi tyann

I took the chance to catch up on hk, korean dramas. So not so bored afterall. I can't cook tat well, so all i did was to rackey for the cheapest toilet paper roll in supermarkets! And yes..like a typical housewife and auntie. :p

steph...
aiyo.. ur pregnancy over liao... s dun hv to worry that more SM will grow.. my ger still in tummy.. s still got chance for more to pop...
hb just commented that my nigra line is getting darker... SIANZ ar...

tot chiemi is born on 6th? isn't her man yue on Sat then? chiemi is naughty ar? but cannot say that in front of her hor, coz bb pantang de :p

kekeke.. u finally can do hair.. can look glam again.. i still gotta wait.. cannot wait to dye hair... lol

erm.. y must wait til oct to eat oysters ley? coz of ur csec wound ar?

n erm.. yesh.. i was shocked to see ur bdae same as my bro's... keke..

sam: yesh i know u crave for csb... n ur penang fare.. i really dun wan to put on weight liao lar.. my knees n ankles v pain n suffering from water retention liaoz...

Wah,so glad to see so many of post!I'm trying to catch up as I'm a newbie in this thread. Hee.

Taslyn,you'll be giving birth real soon ya! Hope that you'll have a smooth delivery! By the way, are you gonna opt for epidural?I hope to be able to deliver natuarally without epidural . ha, but my hubby already say no need to even tink abt it, juz opt for epidural :p

Step, Congrats on the birth of Chiemi! I went back to the previous posts and saw her birth story. Thanks for sharing and hope you'll have a good time today celebrating her full month! Think a lot of people will "fight" to wanna carry Chiemi today..hee

Sam,seems like we're about the same in terms of how pregnant we are! I'm at 30 weeks and Edd is 10 November! But my tummy is quite small still though i feel it's heavy coz i'm aching all over!! You know what, I'm also like the typical housewife and auntie u were saying - I enjoy "comparing prices" at the supermarkets! Coz now, only hubby working and bringing back the bread mah, everything also muz "save"..and try and get the best deal. Ha! I'm hooked on the cable now that i subscribed to vv drama when i stopped work last month. Can be quite addictive and whole day's schedule is like revolved around the drama's timing! ha.

Gingal - hope you'll have a relaxed time after last day at work. I can understand as I resigned at about 6 mths of pregnancy because the work environment and my direct female boss is totally unreasonable, unappreciative and unsympathetic even though i will have to forgo the maternity leave and benefits. Enjoy this period, I always "ah q" and tell myself that the most important is baby and health and you only get pregnant 1st time once!! (my 1st pregnancy) lame but hee, i wanna enjoy my 1st pregnancy! Now, i get so much time to prepare for baby's arrival and no more work blues! yeah!

Tyann, you can't be a cabin crew once you get pregnant or it's your own choice? Can't you transfer to a land/ground kind of job? Anyways, do enjoy this stay home period! It's actually tough to work as a cabin crew while you're pregnant anyway.

Meanwhile, all mummies amd mummies to be, have a great weekend!! :)

hi wei lim

*high five* Ya both of us having princes!
I'm in my 32 wk liao. I also feel the weight...i feel reali heavy & out of breathe whenever i walked. The little fella is only less than 2kg and i feel like a big fat woman! LOL. Now spent most of my time napping and tv. Haahaa become a tv & sleep addict as well. Last trimester, i think back to 'lethargic mode' again. :p