Any SAHMTBs?

morning everyone

it's nice and rainy today.. so nice to sleep in hor. it's times like these that i'm thankful i don't have to work. hehe..

wei lim, actually it's sort of an understood rule that once we are preg, have to leave the job cos it's not safe to fly esp during 1st 3mths preg and company also dowan to be responsible for anything. there is no policy abt tranfering to ground job for crew leh... and anyway ground job pay would be miserable so i thought might as well just rest at home.

oh talking about watching dramas! i've been watching online too! and it's free leh... anyone interested can let me know, i'll give you the url
got english dramas like grey's anatomy and sex in the city too.. hehe

ladies, anyone experience terrible leg cramps during sleep at night? recently i keep having them esp in my right calf and it's so bad that i wake up screaming... dunno if it's blood ciruclation or i'm lack of some vitamins...

Hi Sam,
Yeah! Our princes! You got a name for your boy? I'm having headaches over names...:p Ya, i feel super tired these days. Went to town yesterday and feel tired after walking a while, must sit down and rest. Jia you , we're almost there! :)

Hi Tyann,

It's common to have leg cramps when you're pregnant. so, no worries about it..it happened to me in my 1st/2nd tri..now, not so bad. you have to straighten your legs and point your toes upwards or get your hubby to help. You can also use a towel to pull. I am now in my 3rd tri and i am experiencing finger joint pains and wrist. it's really bad and understand it's due to my pregnancy coz of the hormonal changes and i worry if they will ever "recover".really uncomfortable..

Oppsgal, if MS is so bad, u may want to highlight to your gynae and too much of vomitting may cause dehydration. My gynae used to give me some medication which helps in MS ...

Take care all and enjoy your pregnancy journey! :)

hi everyone! Some new faces here.. welcome!

Me having long wkend.. the office is closed cuz they went off for a retreat in Bali and i took mon off to go for DS, after that go facial and massage..
looking forward. But over the wkend i've to do some work cuz i'm helping my ex-boss with a project that has to be submitted by oct..

tyann i get leg cramps at night too, since going into 2nd tri. Heard it's due to poor blood circulation. What u can do is stretch before going to sleep - lie on ur back on point ur toes backward towards u to stretch the calf muscles. Whatever u do, dun point ur toes forward - like that sure kenna cramps one. I have a habit of stretching and pointing my feet forward when i wake up so sometimes kenna cramp for nothing. If it's really bad (sometimes not cramping anymore but the muscle is still aching) then i will apply some yoko ono.

hi tyann

yup i'm getting a lot of leg cramps esp now into my 3rd trimester. I've checked out babycentre and read that one of the causes of leg cramps its cos we have to bear the extra weight, and the food we ate may be one of the reason too. Read more here:
http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/antenatalhealth/sleep/legcramps/

Hi wei lim

I never really go think abt baby names lei...me n huby rather bad with chinese characters, so most likely gonna get shifu to select the name.
Yup, we're almost there! Counting down!! 7 wks more to go for mi!

Vanilla

Everything ok.. confirmed having a mickey mouse
Doc commented that bb is taller than average.. Hmm wonder where the tall genes come from cuz both of us not tall... Something funny happened during the scan, they showed us the nose and hb commented that it looks sharp (he always tease me for having a flat Chinese nose).. The next thing we knew, bb went to cover his nose with his hand.. So cute.. Dunno if he really understood or just a coincidence.

hi all SAHMTBs,

glad to find this thread, i'm quite new here...

i'm currently in my 27wks, 2nd pregnancy. I quited my job in end jan n wanted to take a break first but later found out that pregnant in early April, so got to continue to stay @ home... quite boring sometimes so everyday sit on the sofa surfing net until start to develop back pain in 5th mth... hihi

vanilla, deluxe, wei lim,
thanks for the tips on the leg cramps. i've been trying the stretching before going to bed at night, and it does help. at least i've not gotten any cramps since i started the stretching. *touch wood* but tell you all something funny... my 2nd toe on my right foot suddenly has got a life of it's own!! it goes into "spasms" and moves back and forth by itself! not painful, but very mysterious hor. haha.. think my circulation must be real bad.

deluxe, me having a boy too
and my doc says his tummy is slightly bigger than average for the number of weeks. hehe.. i told the doc, he takes after the daddy. haha...

Speaking abt leg cramps, i kenna the mother of all cramps last nite.. pain until woke up from sleep and was trying to "scream" silently so i wouldn't wake HB. Took quite a while to subside then had to massage a bit before gg back to sleep. This morning still aching.

tyann my bb's tummy also bigger than average
wat a combi - long legs and big tummy.

luvudeepdeep welcome! Enjoy the break.. once bb comes no such luxury liao!

vanilla u packed ur hospital bag already?

Been getting comments that my tummy is big for 21 weeks
Been starting to feel the weight in front when i walk, esp after eating. How to tahan 3rd tri like that lah???

weilim have u decided on names yet? Think we're almost there, most prob Johann (pronounced Yo-Han). I like the meaning - God's gracious gift.

hi de_luxe

Haahaa..so cute..ur bb cover his nose. I veri bad at making out the images during scanning. Can't seem to figure out wat is my boy doing! Now my tummy getting bigger, so the 2D scan pic only can fit in either his head or legs.

Wau...at 21 wks u already had difficulty walking ah...dun worie la, maybe like wat the doc say..ur bb is tall..so maybe u appear bigger!

Oh i pack my hospital bag bit by bit. Then everyday wash bb clothes. Seems like so much haven do yet.
Yesterday went for my routine check up. Baby is 2.2kg at 33 wks. Gynae said I have to go for c-sect, cos my placenta still lying low. So now me n hubby choosing an auspicious date.

Hi luvudeepdeep

Welcome!
Try to walk around the house or stretch a bit. I oso lazy to move, and always stuck in front of the pc. But will go for walks after dinner.

Hi tyann

I noticed i'll get leg cramps if i do streches myself when i get out of the bed. So i try to refrain myself from stretching too hard. Hate to kena cramps!

deluxe, my boy apparently got big head and big tummy. haha.. but i can't wait to see him. sympathies on the leg cramps man... i totally understand cos sometimes i get during the night and the calf still hurts when i wake up in the morning.

anyone here did 3d/4d scan? i'm considering whether to do or not. but hubby doesn't want to leh. says it should be a surprise to see him for the 1st time when he's born.

luvudeepdeep, yah i'm due mid dec but most likely delivering at mt alvernia. when is your edd? mine is 15/12.

today went shopping almost whole day.. then towards 6pm i had this sharp pain in my lower left abdomen which lasted quite long time... kinda worried me... cos usually if i get such pains, it will go away if i sit down or change position. but this time lasted quite long leh... dunno if it's just the muscle stretching or what. and i had a numbness in my left thigh too.. so very worried that something is wrong... wondering if i should call doc tomorrow....

vanilla,
i also got low lying placenta leh.. doc noticed during my detailed scan at 20weeks. then my last visit at 24weeks it was still low. but doc says still can monitor and see if it will move up... crossing fingers... i hope to do natural delivery...

hi tyann,

my EDD is 8 Dec... but think will pop out earlier since this is the 2nd time already... can't wait for his arrival... hihi

btw, u r ex-crew ah, how long u've been flying? planning to go back again after deliver?

luvudeepdeep,
it's an option that i will keep open.. see how it goes when bb comes. maybe i wont bear to leave him. hehe... then have to get regular hours job. good thing abt flying is that i can get off days on weekdays so can spend time with bb. see how...

another option is join silk air if u can't bear to leave ur bb... otherwise quite heart pain to leave ur bb if u were going for long flt...

hi tyann

Ya for most cases, the placenta does moves up, usually at the final trimester - 33 to 35wks onwards. But mine didn't. So well..its ok la. I don't mind c-sect actually...i'll just take it tat i dun have to suffer the long labour pains. :p

Oh abt the pains u have...i used to have them too. And i told my gynae abt it, and he said its normal. Perhaps its my uterus expanding, making space for the baby. But if there's no bleeding, then it shd be fine. Dun worie abt it. U monitor and see how it goes.

vanilla,
yah praying that it will move up in the coming weeks. but whatever it is, as long as bb is not affected lah. the mode of delivery is secondary i guess.

the pain has gone away already so i suppose you're right. it might have been the muscle stretching.. or maybe i overexerted myself by shopping too much yesterday.

ladies, have you all booked massage lady for post-natal massage? i've not booked yet.. looking for recommendations... anyone to recommend?

hiyo sam.

u r in 33 wks now?? dats fast.. u'll b seeing bb in no time.. u oso goin for c-sec? remember to get the binder n try to walk by day 2. Also try to massage yr boobs once u reach 37 wks. It will help with the milk flow.
btw taslyn delivered?? nv see her online nowadays..

tyann,
think u overexerted yrself. I used to have low lyin placenta n started to spot since 24 wks each time i walk too much.
Try to rest more oki =^_^=

U can try my massage lady,Rokiah frm Bodyworks clinic, 10x for 800. Its painful but at least it got ride of the wind frm my body.

happie,
thanks for the recommendation... but seems ex leh.. $80 per session ah. i just called this ML Aunty Sadiah who was rec in this forum too. she quoted $50/session, 75min each time. but she said she might only be able to do for me end dec so if i deliver earlier than my edd then cannot.

yeah.. i think i tired myself out yesterday. so today i didnt do anything at all. whole day just sit infront of computer hahaha..

Just to inform u tat taslyn has delivered on thursday! I went to visit her at TMC yest, and her bb gal is soooooo cute! Full of black hair (veri black) and fair skin! A real pretty little gal.

hi tyann

Heard Aunt Sadiah feedback b4 too. Not bad rite? How much are her charges? Can share her contact? Cos am looking for massage lady too.

U try not to walk too much, cos i kena once b4..went orchard shopping for long hrs, then was limping badly when i got home. Its as if I've ran a marathon! Had to apply hot water bag to ease the ache.

Ya i think the mode of delivery doesnt matter. As long as bb can come out safely can liao

Hi happie

Halo!! Hows things? Hows ur little gal? Ya i have to go for c-sect lei...cos gynae said my placenta is still quite low, so chances of natural delivery is veri slim. He asked mi to go select a date.
Massage breasts? Milk wun leak meh?

I read the c-sect thread, now feeling quite kan chiong, cos some of the mummies said that c-sect can be rather painful, esp when they insert the catheter to 'drain' away ur urine.

vanilla,
sure! i'll PM you Aunty Sadiah's handphone number. she charges $50 per session, each session 75min. she recommends to do at least 5 to 7 sessions.

Congrats to taslyn! so little eviana is here!

Btw ladies, did anyone attend the TMC antenatal class by wong boh boi? i'm attending now, just had the 2nd lesson today.. find her accent/slang a little difficult to understand leh. have to concentrate very hard. hehehe... today my hubby actually fell asleep in the class!! so angry with him.

hi tyann

I received ur PM! Thanks so much! So have u booked her?

Yup. I attended Mrs Wong's class too. I quite enjoy her lesson cos she can be rather funny at times, and cracking jokes.
Oh btw, she will sell some of Parentcraft stuff for eg. her books, bath towels, washcloths etc during her 2nd last lesson. There's one swaddle wrap cloth, which i heard raves abt it in the forum. U can buy that one @ $13 for a pack of 2 pcs. Apparently mrs wong said it doesn't becomes 'furry' even after a thousand washes. Maybe u can consider getting tat

vanilla,
no prob
i told her my edd is 15dec, she said if bb comes on time or later then she can do for me, cos she is only available in late dec. but if i'm early, then she can't do for me. but she has blocked end dec for me la... told me to standby another massage lady just in case i deliver early.

yah mrs wong quite humourous and always telling jokes. i heard abt the towels and cloth that we can buy too. will look out for that in the later classes..

luvudeepdeep, no didn't go, but mrs wong was the speaker right? she came late for our antenatal class cos rushed over from suntec. how was it?

tyann,

actually din really attend the talk except the baby massage portion which is quite good, the speaker was a lady with strong accent, doesn't sound like local, dunno it's mrs wong or not...

anyway i juz wan to find out if anyone went there & collect the friso goodies, wanted to know what is actually the thing that inside the tin? not sure if it is milk powder coz super light & no expiry date stated...

vanilla,
hm.. i'm not sure if she's fully booked all the way from now till dec, she may have some free slots in Oct.. can try.. but then Oct is Hari Raya, dunno if she wanna do. call her lah, she quite friendly.
cross fingers for you

hi tyann

Thanks! I've called Aunty Sadiah. She's fully booked till Dec 08. So I think I may have to look for other alternatives. The current one I have is rather ex...$600 for 7 sessions. So am looking for cheaper ones.

Anyway, thanks for sharing her contact

vanilla,
no prob at all
i also have to look for alternative just in case my baby comes early then Aunty Sadiah cannot do for me. If you happen to find another one, let me know k? I'll keep you informed too.

hi tyann,

no prob. i jus sharing coz i found the massage pretty gd, especially coz i c-sec. Heard too many stories about internal bleeding or infection for massage after c-sec.So scary.haha

oh ya, i forget, if u sign up for 10 sessions, u'll get 3 session of bb massage which u'll get to learn how to massage yr bb. So quite worth it for me coz my bb got lotsa wind in tummy n the massage help to get rid of it. Haha, save the doc money..

hi sam,
i'm okie.. lookin like a panda.. haha.but bb got wind in tummy so now everyday massage her..

if u leak milk its gd.. at least this tells u yr milk is in.. dun b like mi.. milk only came in on 4th day after they told mi to massage. So better massage early

So far my c-sec wound is very fine.Feels the same as before. no pain at all.But hubby n my parents dun allowe me to lift heavy stuff, squat n eat seafood. i think the most painful is vaginal examination n the moment i step down frm bed. Other den that, no pain..lucky sia.

remember to look for a gd masseur, coz c-sec cannot anyhow massage, if natural, den no prob..

Hi happie

Ur massage lady taught u bb massage for ur bb too? BB massage is good, can help bb sleep better.

I don't reali dare massage my breasts now, cos i oso scared wait stimulate my nipples, then end up in labour. LOL. I'm scheduled to go for c-sect in mid Oct. Haven fix the date wif gynae yet.

Ok...after what u have shared on ur c-sect, at least i can mentally prepare myself for what's gonna come.

Oh ya...how long after ur c-sect then u start ur massage?

Hi sam,
its the boss who taught me bb massage coz the massage package comes with 3 free bb massage sessions.
So far bb seems to enjoy it. hehe

dun massage yr nipples, massage around yr boobs. The lactation consultant told me it will help with milk supply after bb is born.Only massage after 37wks.hmm mayb u can try when u r nearer to yr c-sec date. me still struggling with milk supply .. so sad sia.. I m a lousy cow..

dun worri, c-sec is not as scary as u think.. haha.. at least i think it pretty alright except i can't eat oysters now.. =(

i started my massage 3 wks after my c-sec. but heard frm the boss of my massage lady, it depends on how fast yr c-sec wound is healing before they can start massage.

hi happie

Ya i think bb massage is good for bb. Even us adults enjoy the massage, so i guessed bb should feel shiok too! :p

Ok, i mus remind myself to massage my boobs once i hit 37 wks. I read from my sept thread, some mummies suggested 'power pumping'..maybe u can try? I copy & paste for u to read. Hope it helps:

I found this power pump method/schedule:-

I was pumping 10-30ml every 3 hrs i felt so sad & patetic, very very depressed lor.

After i got on this power pumping my milk increased after 2 days to 180ml & on the 4th day onwards stablised to 80-120ml per session. most people i have told about this method -especially when they try during 1st few mths after delivering - works for them.

You just need to do this for 2 days - after that do 1-2 times a day on day 3 & 5 for maintenance & repeat the 2 days system again maybe before you go back to work.

4-5 times a day power pump

Pump 20 mins
rest 10 mins
Pump 10 mins
rest 10 mins
Pump 10 mins
rest 10 mins
Pump 10 mins
total 60 mins

this gives u 10 mins in between to tend to your baby change her or carry her/him. (roughly la - +/- few mins is ok for this system just do it 4-5 times a day.

For single pump users - its abit more tedious but i have come up with a system for you as well

Pump 15mins (Right)
Pump 15mins (Left)
Pump 7mins (Right)
Pump 7mins (Left)
Pump 7mins (Right)
Pump 7mins (Left)
total 58 mins (approx)

while u pump one side the other side is resting - single pump users really have to be tied down whole nearly 1 hr lor. But i developed this just for those who dont plan to buy another pump since they have already bot one.

just 2 days of this system - most will see significant milk supply increased - but still pump 15-20 mins every 2-3 hrs after that as usual - really up to your lifestyle & your urgency to upp your supply.

Hi sam,

haha, thanks thanks. i've oso read bout this. Mi just started tryin tis morning. Hopefully it help otherwise no choice, leave to fate liao..

hi happie

Dun worie la...sure can one...just keep on pumping like there's no tomorrow! :p

Actually me having tat kind of 'half past six' feeling when it comes to breastfeeding. Seems like a tough thing & such a hassle. Quite pessimistic of me rite?

hi sam,

not only u .. i was oso like that. nearly thought of givin up, especially when i kenna mastitis. i was super down, wondering y with my low supply still will kena mastitis.

lucky my mum is helpin mi with bb, otherwise i doubt i have time to pump especially when my bb can b pretty fussy at times.
so now i just pump watever i can for her but if theres any method of increasing, i'll still try hopin can increase.

i guess if u r a gd milkin cow, bf should b easy, but for a lousy cow like me, bf is really tough,,haha

Just had a gathering on fri with the other jan mtbs, realized I’m not that big after all!!

taslyn congrats! How u feeling?

happie & vanilla bf is never easy - many pple think it's a natural thing, dun need to learn, but I’ve heard / read a lot of real life accounts abt the difficulty. From wat I understand, it’s best to let bb suckle to up ur supply.. pumping helps only to a certain extent but apparently the stimulation is different from actual baby’s suckling action.

Blocked ducts can happen even with low supply, it’s cuz of milk not being cleared from the ducts, not cuz of supply reasons. My fren who pumped everyday also kenna.

Personally, I’m pro-bf and would like to bf exclusively for the 1st 6 months n then after that continue as long as possible. Will be going for the workshops by the Breastfeeding Mothers’ Support Group (BMSG) starting in oct. They also have trained counselors available, u dun need to be a member to get help / advice / listening ear, can call the Counselling Helpline: 6339-3558 or go to the website for email counselling (http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/)

Hang on in there!

hi happie/de_luxe

I hope I won't stress myself too much over bf. Me & huby knows the benefits on bf, but he wouldnt wan me to stress myself out on all the pumping and all. If have BM, then i'll be more than happy to bf, but if not enough, i will just stick to supplementing with FM. I don't wan bb to scream the house down :p

It's gonna be tough definitely, but like what de_luxe said, we are just gonna hang in there!

Hi all SAHMTBs!! =)

Am new here,n my baby edd in nov08. I'm quite bored these days as hubby overseas, how are u gals doing?

hello ladies,

i'm so thankful that my placenta has moved up! went for 28thweek check yest and doc says now can aim for natural delivery. phew. but... apparently my bb is quite big leh... 300gm overweight now haha...

vanilla, thanks for the links! will go check out.

happie, wah.. nowadays bb also get massage.. good life leh.. hehe...

de_luxe, i also intend to bf for 6mths but everyone's been telling me i really need to be determined and to perservere. i had a friend who just delivered last week, she was all for bf before she delivered and also intended to bf for 4mths. then i just went to visit her today and she said she's given up cos her bb just refuses to latch on...

hi Mummy, you're now 30+ weeks? how's everything been so far? 1st preg?

hihi deluxe,
dats wat i want too.. still trying hard to bf to 6 mth, but guess i can onli supplement her with my bf coz my bm supply is pathetic.. haha.

i oso agree latchin on is the best but my flow is too little, each time she latch on, she will end up crying. so poor thing, suck so hard but so little milk..so i onli latch her on when she needs to suck for comfort..

Hi sam,
yup yup, i oso feeding FM, no choice.. guess i just have to give her watever i can..haha

hi tyann,

yaa.. bb nowaddays very lucky...soo many toys too..

i guess bf is not as easy as it seems unless u have lotsa milk, before birth i oso hope to bf as long as i can ..but now if i can bf for 6 mths, i happy liao...haha

Me went for my gynae checkup today. Me now at 35wk. Bb at 2.5kg. I confirm have to go for c-sect liao, cos placenta still low-lying. Gynae advised for c-sect, since chances of placenta moving up is slim. So gonna go for c-sect on 13 october.

hi tyann

Congrats! Can try for natural delivery! Tats really good news!

hi happie

Ok la..at least u still have BM...not totally 'kosong'. :p So at least ur gal is satisfied and happy. As mummies, we just do our best in hoping to provide the best for our precious bb.

hi mummy

Welcome!!
R u expecting a price or princess? Counting down to another 1 mth plus then can c ur little one liao!

Hi Tyann, Congrats! =) I'm also trying to go natural birth.. waiting for gyne to confirm status. hee, 1st bibi wk 33 @ 2.1kg. Very nervous now, cos only another mth+ or so to go!

Happie, i also intend to BF for 6 mths.. cross fingers for now and hope for supply! i hear eating funugeek or fish will increase supply, perhaps can try?

Wow Vanilla, u're wk 35! v v near already! so excited for u! Mine's a lil princess =) urs?

Btw, i'm living near CCK. if u gals meet for lunch, call me! SAHMs how do u occupy ur time?

hi sam,

haha.. not kosong but still pathetic.. hubby keep askin me too stop bf coz he see me soo tired frm pumping.. but i can't bear to stop.
dun worrie c-sec not as scary..but remember to try to walk at 2nd day n u will feel better..

hi mummy,
remember to massage yr breast when u reach 37 wk, its said to help with yr milk supply..
hehe.. i've tried motilium, papaya soup, fenugreek, eat lotsa fish oso no use.. only stuff that i haven tried are mother's love n goat rue yet.. but too bad hubby dun encourage me to take medication..

Hi Mummy

Mine's a prince!
Ya now counting down liao...3 more wks to go!

Oh i watch all kinds of dvds to occupy my time. HK, korean & taiwan dramas. Now nearer to my delivery date, I washed all baby clothes too.

Hi happie

Salute your determination! At least u tried. Just keep on going ya? Btw, wat pump are u using?
I ordered Mother's Milk Tea frm spree, c if it helps. Din get fenugreek