Advise on SO-IUI vs IVF?

Hi Strawbearbi,

I love my new haircut! Short bob style. Very refreshing psychologically to have a haircut and see a huge pile of hair being cut away so confidently and relentlessly.

I saw your post saying can colour hair issit.. can i still colour my hair? I dunno if my Dh will allow and wheel me to my hair salon or not le.. i also wanna look pretty in delivery suite..haha.. also can do facial also since lying down right?

Ju,
I just read the other forum, your home econ teacher is also BFP on HPT, and her BT is on next Tuesday 8:)

Ruru,
since you're seeing Dr Nair tonight, you can check with him about this post on the other forum. I was trying to locate the exact post, but couldn't find it. Maybe it was shared during their gathering...

Posted on Thursday, April 16, 2009 - 11:40 am:
Antagonist information can be search thru' webpage.. but if u are thinking of KKIVF ,<font color="ff0000">Jas has tried to tell dr Loh
abt Antagonist cycle but get a big "NO" as they are not in favour of short cycle.. Dr Loh even tell Jas that it might
led to empty follicles...</font> If u are thinking of doing Antagonist , i think you have to find a gynae that is very positive
and experience on doing such cycle.. such as Dr Thong from Raffles or Dr Yu/Yong/Roland @ SGH or Prof. PC Wong @ NUH..
Hmm.. for KK, u can try your luck if you have enough information to convince them to do for you.. but i can only says, they
did not do much antagonist cycle.. as for the experience , i keep it open .. no comment lor .. :X

Hi juliana
U really can control and wait hor.. That time when test bfp, i come out fr toilet and hug and cry on my dh and tell him immediately liao.. Cant wait to share this long awaiting gd news with him..;) it will be the best bday present for him tomorrow.. Who knows u may be carrying twins then will be double present..;)

Hi sam
Maybe u shd cut short ur hair only and not color 1st.. Cut short hair is easier and not so hot when doing confinement.. Color after bb birth is to play safe.. Anyway, u r giving birth soon is maybe another two mth to wait..;)

Sam,

Do take note that if you plan to breast feed, better not to colour hair also.

Think facial should be ok, but don't do neck/shoulder massage.

Ruru,

Yes i totally agree!! I cut my hair short right after my wedding 3 years ago and never looked back! =)

Joanne,

Once i BFP, already cut new hairstyle already.. its already short but just wanna trim and maybe colour..

Haha .. give birth in 2 months.. overdue liaoz and think miracle of a miracle.. I think at most another 45 days max im glad already.

Strawbearbi,

Wah.. breastfeed cannot colour hair meh..sianz.. means i cannot rebond my hair and colour my hair liaoz for 1 yr plus ar.. cannot la.. i will die one.. hmmm.. must think of a way out..

Sam,

Best not to lah. If you die die have to then you do like what Ruru says,

"Can colour but must only use those colour treatment with 3% or lesser ammonia. These colour not lasting one, 2-3weeks no more already. And when u do colour, must tell the hair stylist don't touch the roots, just tell them you have sensitive scalp ok? "

Hi sam
Alamak.. U mistaken wht i mean liao.. 2mths mean give birth after one mth and confinement one mth so 2 mths in total lor.. Hee.. If i will u..like wht strawbearbi say for bb health, i will rather sacrifice me being ugly for one yr.. Anyway, time flies neh.. Who knows, u may be too busy with 3bb and no time to look into mirror too.. Guess u will grow slim very fast due to busy look after them and hv three bb to drink so much breastmilk, will slim dn very soon.. Wonder with 3 bb, will the milk volumn increase triplet compare with carrying only one bb? Hee..

Sam,

Juz engage those hair-lady to ur place to rebond n color for u @ home.

I ever saw another forum got such service, even facials, mani-pedi also have.

Juz likely mess up ur place only.

Ruru,

Likely not attend ur cheer up session if its May.
Also i got to watch what i eat since after that infection thingy.

I treat u dessert @ JP next weekend if u free okie?

On ?

Invite is open to those staying in west

Gathering to cheer RuRu up attendance:
1. Haze
2. Bambi
3. Vi4n
4. Ah-Kat
5. Strawbearbi
6. Juliana
7. Felixcat
8. Elle
9. Joanne (weekday night)
10. Devlina
11. Rinoa (free in April only)

I just had my 1st consultation with Dr Nair in the afternoon. It is the same diagnosis as Dr Yap. I asked Dr Nair to give me 5days to see if AF reports on its own (I stopped my medication today liao), if AF never comes, then I do my D&amp;C next wed.

So Rinoa, regarding desserts next Sat, if I have to do D&amp;C on wed, then I cannot eat liao. Will update u on wed ok? Thanks so much for the invitation, I will enjoy my red bean soup very much as it is treated by dear Rinoa

Hi ruru
Did he suggest u to do a bt? So that base on the result, u can aga aga estimate whether af will come soon.. That is wht happen to me last time. That time my hcg level only got thousand plus so dr foong say is oreadi quite low for a pregnancy at 7wk, hence he can predict af shd come in one wk time.. But i do another bt after few days to comfirm that level is no longer increase then safe to wait for natural af to come.. Else if level still increasing then got to do dnc.. Did ur doc advise wht happen? Better not to do dnc so not so bad for health and save more $$ too.. Take care.

ruru, so sorry to hear that.. my first pregnancy was the same case.. 7mm at week 7 which is also small.. u are a brave girl and many ppl will be behind u esp ur hubby ya

Sorry have not been posting as i didnt have good updates so didnt want to post and spoil the good aura here.

Ju, congrats!!! Pls take good care and have a smooth 9 mos ahead!

Ruru, i might be following your path soon. Am on another 2ww to see if things gets better but actually i am quite resigned to it that i will lose it. So now thinking whether by then, to stop supports and let AF come naturally or go for DnC. Ruru, which will you choose? I understand that let AF come is better cos DnC is still a surgery, may cause scarring or complications if not well done. But then DnC gives us the opportunity to send bb for testing to see if there are underlying problems like never matching chromosomes from both parents. I want to test the chromosomes leh, cos already transfered 10 embryos since my first IVF and since none made it and even this one, then i wonder is it a chromosomes mismatch that DH and i can never match thats why it will either never BFP or even BFP will not have a viable pregnancy.

Anyone has any thots on this? Is it possible that a couple may be genetically oppposed all the time such that their chromosomes can never match so no matter how, they will always not get BFP from embryos transferred or even BFP, the pregnancy wont be viable?

And only thru a DnC then can send for chromosomes testing right? Any experience on this?

hi sunflower
Glad to hear fr u again.. Pat pat.. Fr my own experience, actually first mc dr will say is very normal and no need to do any testing.. Thats wht my doc say..I think for ur case, u shd asks ur dr for advise..i try not to do any dnc due to below:
1) next af may take longer to come i.e. 4 to 12 wks..
2) lining will take longer to thicken again ~ 3mths. Thats why they say can only try ART again after 3mths if do dnc..
3) hurt urself emotionally and physically
4) spend thousand plus for nothing
Whereas natural af only has heavy cramp which u can sooth it using hot flask.. After the menses, can start art again the following month..;)
But if u like to do testing of the corosome, u can check with dr whether shd?
Btw, wht happen to ur bb? Can hear heartbeat? Wht did ur dr say? Take care and maybe can ask for 2nd opinion? If u need a listen ear, can pm me anytime, as i am 过来人two mths ago..;(

Hi Sunflower,

I stopped my medicine (progesterone) since yesterday and is praying very hard for AF to report soon as I don't want to go thru' D&amp;C unless necessary.

During my 1st scan at Dr Yap's clinic, my womb thickness lining is around 9mm, which is very thin for a pregnancy, thus this is one of the reason why I opt for natural AF as I think when AF comes, it will be quite normal flow but maybe with some blood clot.

Oh, regarding the chorosome testing issue, Dr Nair got ask me do D&amp;C and then test, but as mine is a blighted ovum (empty sac) and is so very small, 4mm, there is a real possibility that the lab cannot retrieve enough genetic material for a proper culture. Dr Nair got told me for natural AF, can also do test but the patient must be very sharp-eye to spot the clot and put it into a special container to sent to lab to test. I was like, nevermind lah.

I think you should not be too concerned about the d&amp;c and scarring as it will be done by Dr Loh right? If you want to put some of your worries to rest, then do the chromosome testing and rest for 3mths.

Dr Nair did advised some tests for me to see if he can discover what is wrong with me before I cont' the IVF journey with him.

I am thinking would u consider switching to SGH? Like Dr Nair, they like to do a battery of tests to make sure there is no underlying problem before proceeding onto IVF.

Hi Sunflower,

This is not just a happiness thread leh, the ladies here are not fair-weather friends although we are very pretty. Hah..hah... This is a thread to share both joy and sorrow.

Hi to just-preggie ladies,

Do not be freaked out by our unfortunate event. The whole event is a pure chance event, losing our bb has nothing to do with what the woman do or did not do, so don't be too worried ok?

Hi Sunflower,

I have checked with my friend and she told me that genetic testing is only viable if the sac is around 10mm long. Then there is the tricky part, sometimes waiting too long can take the decision out of your hands becos if initially the sac is big enough, another 2 weeks down the road, the next scan may reveal that the sac has collapse and shrink and thus not enough genetic material for testing liao.

Regarding whether u let AF comes naturally or do d&amp;c depends on the doctor's advice also leh. Sometimes if your womb lining thickness is very thick, letting AF comes naturally may lead to prolong bleeding and cause infection.

Hi ruru
Yes. I did two bt to estimate whether my natural af will come soon so that to decide soon whether to do dnc w/o much delay.. After af, my gynea didnt think is necessary to do any scan.. Jus do another bt to confirm hcg drop to negative or zero will be able to confirm everything is clean inside.. Yes u r rite.. Usually the test is done only when bb is already quite big..

My Sunflower,
let's cheer for each other and celebrate the happy moments together, but also pad pad each other and pull each other up in times of hardship. Today you are crying, I dry up your tears, knowing that when I'm in need you'll be there to give me support as well. That's the reason for joining this forum in the first place. So don't be afraid to share your experience with us regardless of good or bad news.

Still for now, I pray that your baby will grow well these 2ww, may there be good surprise waiting for you afterall 8:)

RuruCat,
you're one strong gal! Salute to you 8:)

Ju,
did you present your DH with the surprise today ? I guess he must have burst out in tears and gave you a good hug there and then 8:) Praying for high HCG for you on Monday 8:)

Haze,
how was your holiday in Bintan ? Weather is very hot outside huh. Guess you &amp; DH must be cuddling tight inside your aircon room in the days &amp; only come out for moon tanning at night...haha 8:)

Strawbearbi, FelixCat,
your babies must be practicing karate kick now huh...is it painful ? Ouch ouch 8;-)

Sam,
are you resting at home now ? Watch more TV, listen to music and enjoy 8:)

Hi haze
Hows ur bintan trip? Where u stay? Nirwana or angsana or bintan lagoon?? Hv fun?? I love to go to resort to laze myself.. Hearing the waves.. Woah.. So relax.. But i go bintan many time liao and very ex nowadays due to US rates.. Will go malaysia to xplore new places.. Cheaper and sea is cleaner too..;) U must be all tann up le as the weather is super duper hot for this 3days.. Today working so can hide in office but lunch time still need go out eat.. Hmm.. Zzzzzzzz..

I think something wrong with forum yesterday.. I am so afraid not able to connect again as i will feel very lost if not with u gals around..;(
Hi haze and bambi
Can do acc help in regulate our menses to 30 days each cycle?? Usually can do accu only after af is totally clear already izzit? Will start my cycle next mth..how abt u gals?

Ruru,

We will be behind you all the way! Jia you!

Sunflower,

Yes, ruru is right, we are here for each other no matter good times or bad times. Coz nobody understands what we are going through better than us right?

Will pray for you this 2WW. Miracles do happen, so have faith ok?

Bambi,

Yes, karate &amp; somersaults all over the place! Not painful but usually kick my bladder so always kena faked to go pee when there's no pee.

I went RH for my first consultation with Dr Lee there. Am very pleased with the gynae, she's very gentle, soft-spoken and detailed in her explanations. Service is generally good and waiting time is minimal.

So I have signed a package with them already. Will be cancelling my appts with KKH today.

Oh, Dr Lee said my princess' tummy is slightly big based on the head circumference and # of weeks. I think i must cut down on my fast food liao if not come out fat fat princess!! Keke =p

my af just reported.. but my 1st appointment with kkivf to collect the BCP and do all the test and consultation with the social worker is next week.. can i just go down to collect the BCP first? cos i know need to start BCP on CD2.

Eskimobaby,

You can call up KKIVF to check with them. Usually no problem to go on BCP first. But today monday so morning should be very bz. U can try to call maybe about 3pm.

Thanks ladies!

I am waiting for a 2nd opinion from another gynae this week but am also preparing my heart and mind for DnC already. Just want to get this over. Its been very very tiring these few weeks, physically and mentally also. Really longing to break free.

Havent thought about trying again, abit tired to be trying again. All that roller coastal rides while trying and then even preggy also more roller coastal rides. I feel so drained. You gals are so much more stronger than me. I cant seem to have your same energy to want to press on even though i know i should press on cos time is still ticking and chances only get slimmer as time ticks away. Sigh.

Oh, about my case. Sac grew from last scan but still not big enough. Dr cant be sure if seen a fetal pole also. And definitely no heartbeat seen. Looks like a case of very very slow growth or blighted ovum. Even if its a case of very very slow growth, its probably not healthy too. So i am quite prepared will lose it.

My Sunflower,
if I'm in your situation, I don't think I can handle things as calm and clear minded as you. So you're still one strong gal.

Let's wait for the 2nd opinion first then see how. Whatever the outcome, you can be sure that we'll be here rooting for you all the way !

sunflower
dun give up yet ya ..i pray for u that it'll grow during ur 2ww.

ruru
u're a very strong lady. I admire u for that.

Strawbearbi,
you &amp; DH not the fatty type, so your princess will grow up to be pretty slim gal also lah 8:)

Ju,
praying for high HCG for your BT today 8:) Let us know your result in the afternoon huh 8:)

strawbearbi,
i tried calling but the line either engaged or no one pick up... think i will just go down later and pick up the BCP.. today already CD2.

My AF reports yesterday at midnight! Phew, what a relief as I am not keen on D&amp;C, but I must monitor my menses flow to make sure there is no excessive and/or prolong bleeding which indicate the body's inability to purge the sac out and may lead to infection. But so far so good, so normal D1 flow only.

Thank you all for the support and encouragement.

Hi Strawbearbi,

Oh, so cute!! U little princess got little tummy? Yah, I am sure she loves her McDonald's and KFC, yummy!

Talking about weight, I am going back to gym to lose the 2-3kgs I gain thru' lazing at home and indulgent eating. But once I stopped my crinone inserts, the hunger pangs stopped and my appetite is back to normal. Thank goodness!

Hi Sunflower,

Oh i c. Yes, getting a 2nd opinion definitely helps u in your final decision. Perhaps u want to see a private gynae for a 2nd opinion? So don't have to wait until 2 weeks later and you can ask about the chromosome test in detail also?

Thanks ladies

Devlina, i am seeing Dr Fong Yang for a 2nd opinion, read before you seen him too? Nice doc ya?

Sigh. I am hoping no need DnC. Up till now, i am on lowered dosage of supports but my 'balloon' in there is still hanging on so steadfast, not even spotting or cramping. Such an irony.

Ruru, good that your AF normal flow. Any pain? I also not keen on DnC but scared if let AF come, might be very painful. So after AF, need to go back scan to make sure everything is out ya? Yours is natural MC, can try again next cycle ya?

Hi Sunflower,

Oh sorry, never read properly. U are seeing another gynae this week for 2nd opinion!

Oh regarding the tiredness and sianz-ness in this whole baby-making project, I understand 100% ok? Sometimes the self-doubt creep in and we are so discouraged and feeling so mentally drained from the months/years of trying. But you need to ask yourself and your HB are you two ready to give up?

I also asked myself the same question and I got my answer when I went to see Dr Nair and his whole office was filled with at least 100+ baby photos!!! My eyes immediately filled with tears and it was at that moment that I knew I am not ready and will go on with IVF treatment. My HB is fine with whatever decision I make, so I am relieved I have no pressure from him whatsoever.

Ruru, you are right. Thats 1 qn i better make sure i can answer without having regrets years down the road.

Actually i know the answer. I know i will want to keep trying and it has to be these few years and not very much later cos ART gets best results the younger we try.

Just that i am totally discouraged now. Maybe i just need to kick my own butt to get on my feet soon. I am past the stage of feeling sad. Just very numb and tired. But i guess i will have to come back soon.

I pray that for some of us who had a loss, next round, heaven will bless us back double folds - double the viability and healthiness in our next pregnancies.