Advise on SO-IUI vs IVF?

ruru,
the food is not bad at grains.. been there once with my galfrens... food is quite tasty... like home cooked food...

elle,
thanks.. let's jia you together
... u are already in stage 2.... so soon u are going to do scanning for ur eggs...

eskimobaby,
going to stage 2. this coming thursday will start on Puregon.

For the outing, I can't join on that both date
. Hope can join on the next outing. Have fun ladies!

Hi ruru
Ya lor.. Me is a weekend parent but dp visit him at least 2wkday nite per week.. Thats why i will feel bad not to accompany him on weekend since we seldom hv time to be together.. Hope u all understand why i cant make it on weekend.. Since i cant be there, my heart still goes to u to cheer u up, k.;) hope next next gathering we will get to meetup with the rest of the gals too..

Btw, whts ur hcg level now? And u intend to start a fresh ivf cycle immediately??

Hi elle
Yes, i love milk so think i can take all plain milk without any flavour since i am a milk person.. But complan got strawberry flavour if u r afraid chocolate too heaty.. i ever try the strawberry before.. Very nice too..;) but complan not so easy to find compare to ensure.. U got to try ur luck at supermarket or guardian.. That day i buy lose pack at guardian, cost only $2 per pkt.. If buy one box at ntuc will cost ard $33.50 for 15 pack.. So to me, lose pack worth it since got promotion. The original price state there suppose to be $2.60 per pkt at guardian.. U can try the lose pack first before buying one whole box.. I love it..;)

went to kkh to collect my medication (dup.. (dunno how to spell) and folic acid... Will go back to kkh on 5th May 2009 for scanning...

Ruru,
I think I cant come on 9th May 2009, its Mothers Day.. Going to celebrate advance for my Mom... but on the 16th May CAN..
Btw I'm okay for the food as long there are fish or vegetables for me to eat...

Juliana,
just now went to guardian and watson to find. But can only find ensure and only vanilla flavour is available. I din buy as I only drink chocolate milk. As for Complan, i ty to ask ,seems they dun even know what it is. Din manage to find. Tomorrow will look for it at NTUC

4th outing attendance:
1. 9th May (sat) 2. 16th May (sat)
----------------------------------
1. RuRu Cat - both dates ok
2. Haze - both dates ok
3. Bambi - both dates ok
4. Strawbearbi - 9th may (16th may i got best fren wedding whole day)

Ju,

Guess you collected Duphaston, it's actually progesterone for pregnancy support.

4th outing attendance:
2. Haze - both dates ok
3. Bambi - both dates ok
5. Ah Kat - 16th May
6. Ju - 16th May

Ruru,

Bambi catching a ride w me, so shall we meet direct @ JP2 level 3 Kopitiam ?

Its located right next to Hagen Daze.

My treat for dessert so can excuse me for not attending e May outing, hehe

Hi Rinoa,

On lah! Btw, Ah-Kat is meeting me at toastbox for tea at 10.30am 1st b4 meeting you and Bambi at Kopititiam Level 3 where she will join us for a precious 30mins only before rushing off for her next appointment.

I don't think the dessert stall is ready for operation at 10.30am. You and Bambi wants to join in at Toastbox at 10.30am and we chit-chat with Ah-Kat until 11.30am and we proceed to desserts after that?

4th outing attendance:
2. Haze - both dates ok
3. Bambi - both dates ok
5. Ah Kat - 16th May
6. Ju - 16th May
7. Ah Kat - 16th May (have to leave early to ban mei mei for friend's wedding at night)

Unable to attend: Joanne, Elle, Rinoa

How har? Strawbearbi is free on 9th only leh! Hmm... Weekday evening??? Bambi how har?

8th May (fri) evening? Short gathering from 7-10pm but at least most of us can make it???

Poll on 8th May (fri) evening

Timing: 7-10pm
Venue: Central at Clark Quay, Grains Restaurant

If after dinner still very high, we can proceed to Clark Quay TCC for hot chocolate as this TCC branch doesn't close so early. What do u ladies think?

Ruru,
I'm ok with Saturday or evening after work 8:) So you run the poll to find out 8:)

I only have only 1 big boy to look after ( = DH, he look after me, I look after him...haha)
No babies, no kid YET, so I'm free for NOW, can follow you anytime (err, except working time...gotta earn money for IVF), anywhere 8;-)

Ruru,

oh i c, k lar, than might as well breakfast @ basement toast box 1030am.

Bambi,

How ? We meet 10am, i'll pick u up outside my gate roadside, u wont need to cross the road

Hi rinoa
I notice Most guardian dun sell complan.. So far only at northpoint guardian.. Got strawberri flavour one.. Dun hv chocolate flavour.

Ruru,

If u all can go for 16th then go ahead lah. I try to see if i can pop by. So paiseh to reschedule coz i can't attend lah. I can meet up with u gals another time.

Poll on 8th May (fri) evening
Timing: 7-10pm
Venue: Central at Clark Quay, Grains Restaurant

1. Ruru
2. Bambi
3. Haze

I'm ok to stay late, since nex day is a Sat n no work for me. If more can make it for the above date, then we settle for the abv lor. Cos I know we'd love to c most of us here around.

Hi Strawbearbi,

So 8th May ok for you? Do indicate intention. We see how is the response then we decide the date.

Hi Bambi and Rinoa,

On leh, see you at Toastbox at 10.30am on sat.

Hi Haze,

Yes, I think so leh, I have 2 weddings to attend in May in fact. Maybe everyone wait until Lunar 4th month over, so marry in Lunar 5th month!

Morning ladies. Sorry, early morning, i had to be a damper to this thread. I have decided to terminate this pregnancy. Want to miscarry naturally instead of DnC but body still not expelling. Can i check with you, if you know, whether is there any medication we can get from doctors to abort and expel? I heard of this medicine "methotexate" is it for this purpose?

my sunflower
My friend had hers expel aft taking a med.. I duno the name.. if u want, I can check for u n let u know later. She was in her 8th wk then.

She said she jus felt her tummy very pain n then go toilet n release. But mus keep 'content' n let gynae check...

U r a brave lady.. I'm sure God will bless u again with another child. Jiayou!

my sunflower
paisay.. she said she dun recall the name le.

Do check with ur gynae.. like I said, once reach certain wks, D&C is stil preferred. So better to check.

Morning Ladies,
Back to the reality of life... start working today.. OMG.. I'm still feeling tired....

Ruru,
Will let you know if I can attend 8th May 09 gathering...

Hi My Sunflower,

You see Dr Fong Yang for 2nd opinion already? Hmm... like what I tell u, if natural m/c, may have to wait around 1-2weeks for the HCG to drop. Yes, can take medicine to expel but need doc's permission. Some doc don't like to use medicine (eg Dr Nair) as they felt that if have to use intervention, then may as well do d&c as more controlled. But in UK, it is very normal for doc to give medicine to expel sac for pregnancy between 6-8weeks.

Have u decide to do the chromosome testing on the sac?

Thanks Haze. I already emailed Dr Loh but since still waiting so i thought see if any of you know. I should be entering week 10 now but sac was small and no contents so maybe i can still be treated as a week 7-8 and can still take the medicine. Hopefully so cos i dread a DnC. Hate to add that part of stress to my body and risk another infertility cause if its not done well.

Thanks for your encouragement. I am not sure about being brave leh. I am such a coward, DnC also dont dare. But i do hope, not just for myself, but for all who have ever 'lost', God will bless us double folds next-double viability and double healthier pregnancies next! Thats my wish for all of us!

Hi Juliana,

I can fully understand if you can't attend the outing on 8th May as by then u may be having M/S and feeling very tired etc. We KIV your attendance and you let us know nearer the date how you feel ok?

Ruru, yup i have seen him yesterday. I think i wont do chromosome testing on the sac. Its very small leh. Chances are cant pick up much loh. Actually i think i roughly know, likely egg quality. I just try to improve my egg quality for next try. If again like that then i do chromosome testing bah. Sigh. Dont know i am making wise decision or not.

I want natural MC and i think maybe dont have to wait 1-2 weeks cos i started spotting abit. But dont want a prolonged one risking infection thats why want take medicine to flush it out. Sigh. Dilemma.

Hi My Sunflower,

I think by the time Dr Loh reply u, your AF will have report liao. Don't worry, I also don't have the gut to do D&C, we same-same lah.

Hi My Sunflower,

Tell u something disgusting, thru'out my past 3days bleeding, there is only 1 big glop of bloody tissue (around 20cents big). I saw it on my pad on mon night around 8pm and was in a dilemma whether to keep it and send to lab for testing. I am not sure whether that its the sac + placenta/lining thingy. In the end, I just said my goodbye and flushed it down the toilet bowl.

Ruru, i am in such dilemma also, can already picture myself if see the tissue, also dont know what to do even though now i say i wont test chromosomes yet.

Chromosomes testing is good for us leh cos at least we know what went wrong and if its a genetic thing that can never be resolved then we can save our money and heartaches on trying and trying yet never succeeding in future. Might as well spend the money to adopt.

But yesterday Dr Fong told me blighted ovum rarely strikes twice and if this round already succeed till this stage, likely can conceive again de. I am just wondering if thats true or he just want to encourage me.

He went thru the process with me again.

Egg+Sperm >> Fertilisation >> Implantation >> Sac >> Yolk Sac >> Embryo grow >> Heartbeat

The whole process has to be error free for a viable pregnancy. Mine stopped at yolk sac stage. He say try again, hopefully next try, better and less or no error can breakthrough past yolk sac stage and progress further.

I hope so too. Looking at above process hoh, since fertilisation stage onwards, we have no control then the only thing we can do for ourselves at the very least is try to grow good quality eggs and sperms, hoping the perfect union can spur good progresses after that loh.

my sunflower
Ytday I did ask dr zou, she said if it happens more than 2x, then better to test for chromosomes.. else, dun hv to.. and since u did consider strike b4, chances of strike again if quite high. She said reasons might be many and most, unexplained.

my friend then did hv the same problem 2x.. but she had a bb boy aft that n now, her 2nd one.

So all is stil not lost.. that's wot she always tell me.

Hi My Sunflower,

Did Dr Fong tell you to go back to him for treatment soon becos it is easier to strike jackpot in the 1st 3 months after natural m/c?

I am seeing Dr Nair later, will ask him if got scientific basis that it is easier for woman to get preggie after the m/c. He did told Ah-Kat to start trying soon after her m/c.

Have you think thru' your plans? You want to go SGH or sticking to KKH?

Haze, talking about Dr Zou, i have to call her soon. So sad to disappoint her. I have been her patient since 2007 leh. Feel so let down to her.

I guess your friend is right. All is not lost unless like that happen many many times then it will become like what i suspected, permanent genetic problems. Scary!

I guess for now, i will just assume no chromosomes issues and try to improve my egg quality for next cycle else i cant say i have tried hard enough. I dont want to regret years down the road.

Ruru, he did say after 1-2 months can try again. I thinking to do IUI with him after 1 month. Since chances are already high after MC, i might as well dont waste and chiong for it. Cos i scared if leave to nature, my DH lazy sperms might not do their job. Then high chances after MC also become wasted chances.

If got any findings from Dr Nair, share with us hoh? Thanks in advance! My plans, if IVF again, ya, i might change hospital.

Joanne
I stay at Sengkang.

As for the gathering on 8th, sorry, I can't attend. It's still closing period for finance

Hi My Sunflower,

Don't wait too long ok? I am doing letrozole+IUI with Dr Nair this cycle straightaway. Yah, super-duper kaisu.

Yesterday I went to collect supplement for my HB, Dr Nair gave him Tribestan (3x daily) and this other supplement, Proxeed Plus, a satchet to pour into water to drink (2x daily). Maybe u want to buy from KKH for your HB? Or get a prescription from Dr Fong to buy from Mt E pharmacy?

I will ask Dr Nair later and let u know what he says.

Thanks Ruru. Heehee, so we are both thinking along the same line, IUI soon, dont waste the higher chance after MC, heehee.

Ya, i will see whether ask from Dr Loh or Dr Fong, whichever i see next to get supplements for DH. Currently, DH taking megaman i think and have to start him on cordyceps soon.

Eh, what about us gals ah? I have megawomen, wheatgrass and folic acid only. I am exploring see want to take royal jelly and this fertility 'Herbalsoul' Wonder if there is more we can take to improve our fertility.

Hi mysunflower,

For my case, i had a whole list of tests done after switching over to SGH. Shocking diagnosis with infected tubes n my DH's binding assay is lousy.

I can never try natural now, so good thing was i saved $ by not bother w IUI b4 IVF.

As I'm surprised u even considered to go back IUI, after all these rounds of IVF.

If u wanna save unnecessary money, its advisable to do the basic tests n not rely on trial n error anymore w KKHIVF?

i have no idea about which kind of abortion drug, but its definitely much advisable than D&C. Western docs often advise D&C, but the harm is great after e procedure.

So i believe u r on the right track of mindset.
Jiayou, u have our support!

Ruru
I shld be able to make it on 16th May. Provided my MS is over & then by then...hehe. Coz 2nd trimester is waving @ me liao.

Sunflower,
I think for you case, maybe you want to go for SGH as they have full of testing done...

Is this consider as trying for 1st child??

why not to try straight to IVF??

I did mine SO-IUI (1st attempt failed due to low sperm count) and the senior staff nurse told me better I straight go to ICSI... That when I decided to book for DR Loh and signed for ICSI...
Btw do you have any PCOS or endo??

ruru,

If u dun mind, i can pass u my DH's unfinished 20 tabs of Tribestan, i even got Exsativa (recommend by Dr Foong).
Expired 2010.

Based on SA testing b4 n after taking supplements, it's impossible to rely on these supplements, vit E alone to improve mortility.

Diet n lifestyle are most crucial.

So we gals just Waste $ only n make DH suffer by popping pills, yet not even proven to work.

Hi Rinoa, no lah, i am not going to do IUI with KKH. Anyway they dont do IUI. They do SO-IUI which i think will be too much to bear on my body to be taking jabs and all. I am going to do IUI with Dr Fong. Likely he will just give me clomid. At least thats less stressful on the body and somewhat semi natural bah. I dont want to be totally natural cos scared my egg and Dh sperm lazy.

I have done all my basic tests before i even went to KKH so they didnt trial and error with me. Just that they are not customised enough. So i might change a doc or protocol next try.