A place for the TTCs.. (Trying To Conceive)

Kylene - can get ur frenz to do another test just to be sure. If really preggy, the line will get darker cos the hormones are increasing.

hey ladies... i'm back on track for ttc again... tis time i'm not going to monitor my bbt, cm, cycle days or watsoever... i'm going to take it easy... hopefully will strike by aug... haha.. so ambitious...
anyway... haf u all heard abt taking soya product is not gd for ttc?? heard from my frens dat i'll make women more difficult to conceive if take for long term... but i find dat after drinking soya milk everyday, it sort of like regulate my period leh... last time my AF quite irregular 1...
any comments??

hi rainstone,
think i herad of it oso, soya product not good for ttc, but hor, its more affect the guy leh, reduce the quality or quantity of their spermie. doesn't affect us leh. not sure oso.

huh? soya product not gd for ttc??
hmm...maybe that why i didn't manage to conceive during my 2 years stay with my mil. It was only months after i shifted out that I finally conceive my son in 2002.
Mil used to cook it for 3-4 times a week including making soya milk drink.

hi Kylene,
at least she got a faint +ve, the chances are higher.
i left the strip there for the whole day, not even a faint +ve. hahaha.

ya, I've never seen a faint line positive either so when she showed me I was very excited as well! but after reading all the articles on the internet (we researched extensively haha), realised if more than 5-10 min, more likely to be something call 'evaporation line'. basically means negative

Is it true tt soya bean is not good for TTC-ing? I have been drinking quite often coz i dun dare to drink milk..So i use soya bean as replacement, if it really "hinders" TTC, i dont want to drink liao....
Ohohjazz,
I went to see the Jurong TCM..Actually i just started seeing in beginning Apr, hmm, after the first consultation n medication my CD is 50++ days, maybe it havent take effect bah...But i dunno y she keep emphasisng tt doing "big business" daily is very impt....i think she said something like it will help u to ovulate...Now im on the second time medication, still observing if this month CD will be normal....

Kylene,
Exactly..I was so confused but i didnt ask her lah...She just say must clear my bowels everyday, so on my first consultation she alreadi prescribed tablets tt can help me clear my bowels daily n is true enough...Haa but sometimes i busy no time to go toilet...So the second time i went, she changed medicine for me..
Babydust,
Yup actually im aware of it thanks, there are a lot of negative comments on her in her thread...Hmm, actually the first time i went i dunno about all these bad comments until i come back from my first consultation..But i feel comfortable with her n plus my friend got preggie with her help, so i got some confidence from her aso..

Hi Melody,

How to increase "businesses" if dun have meants dun have wat..cannot force right? Think I should also make it an habit. :p

Good that you are working fine with the TCM, i suppose different people have different experience. My collegue whole family also go there to queue early in the morning for consultation.

i got curious regarding the soya matter, so i juz did a search on the internet.

found this:

Men's fertility could be affected. The more soya a man eats, the more difficulty he will have in fertilising an egg, was the conclusion of Dr Lorraine Anderson who discovered sperm moved slower when the liquid surrounding it contained female-like hormones.

and tis:

Soy is an excellent source of plant-derived female hormones called phytoestrogens. The type of phytoestrogen in soy is known as isoflavones. They have a very weak effect on the body, compared to the natural hormone and have been used in helping people with menopausal symptoms.

A few studies suggest that high levels of isoflavones may decrease fertility by interfering the levels of pituitary hormones which stimulate growth of the egg and ovulation. However, these are taken in very large amount which most people normally do not consume.

As with any food, it is wise not to overconsume. If you have difficulty conceiving, it is a good idea to limit soy in your diet to rule out any possibilities of its effect on your fertility.

Oh issit? Not as to increase, at least one time per day...JE TCM is quite okie for me lah, cos of the pricing wise n is tablets n nt herbs, not troublesome at all mah...So did u ever go there for consultation before?

Thanks Jazz for your great info...Tt means is best that both man n woman take less soy....Duno tt is so harmful for TTC-ing...

hi sunnie, christine and alien
Thanks!! I lazy.. want to sleep, if wake up at 7 to take temperature, will not go back to sleep liao. Tmr will try ur method. Actually at 730, i oso take in bed, lazy to crawl out :p

babydust, this means it's a good time to BD liao. Good for u all, got the ECWM to tell u when O, I never had in my whole time, got to anyhow ham tan O

ceraine, sometimes if u leave the strip in air after 5 mins, the line will auto turn dark. I experience it a few times. Hence, best not to interpret results after 5min
Tink there are also pple who conceive healthy bb when sick, of course if can avoid, best avoid.

wow jazz... that's very informative... my husband is oso drinking soya milk everyday leh... better ask him to stop immediately... no wonder we try so long still never strike...
hey melody and ohohjazz, mayb u can try eating kiwi before meal... i always find tis method very effective especially when i'm constipated... hope tis helps...

melody,
doing big business is to clear the toxins in the body.
my masseasus told me for someone who dun regularly big business, means lots toxins in body, and liver/kidney function weaker.
So it will be tougher to conceive.

I don't know how true lah..but i am always feeling bloated and needs help from coffee to do big business.

not tat body dun have big business, is our system weaker..so cant produce the big business

rainstone,
yah..that wat i was told. for severe case of constipation, to take 2-4 kiwiw early in the morning to detox.
haha..but i dun practice tat, very troublesome lei..no time.

heehe...roxyz, yah..guess interpreted the data wrong again. today should be O day, quite dark color.
but very suay each month, nearing O day, either too tired, or falling sick..hahah...
i need sleep now, rather than BD..

Whar's EWCM huh?

I have qn on BBT...My BBT when sleeping in air con room was 36.3deg then one day I slept without aircon, BBT becomes 36.6deg. Just wonderfing when you all take BBT, does it matter whether aircon a not? sorry I know it sounds silly to ask but i really wonder if I'm doing the correct method.

Found this on another thread...hope it will clarify those like me...

AF ... Aunt Flo (menstruation)
BBT ... Basal Body Temperature
BD...Baby Dancing (Love Making)
BCP ... Birth Control Pills
BFN...Big Fat Negative (Pregnancy Test Negative)
BFP...Big Fat Positive (Pregnancy Test Positive)
BOB...Baby on the Brain
B/W, b/w ... Blood Work
CB ... Cycle Buddy
CD ... Cycle Day
CL...Community Leader
CM ... Cervical Mucus
D&C ... Dilation & Curettage
DH... Dear (or whatever other D word seems appropriate at the time) Husband
DI ... Donor Insemination
DPO ... Days Past Ovulation
DPIUI ... Days Past IUI
DTD ... Do The Deed or Did The Deed
ET ... Embryo Transfer
EW...Egg White Consistency (related to CM)
EWCM ... Egg White Cervical Mucous
FET ... Frozen Embryo Transfer
FSH ... Follicle Stimulating Hormone
GP ... General Practitioner
HPT ... Home Pregnancy Test
HSG ... Hysterosalpingogram
ICI ... Intra-cervical Insemination
IF ... Infertility
IUI ... Intra-uterine Insemination
IVF ... In Vitro Fertilization
KWIM...Know What I Mean
LAP ... Laparoscopy
LH ... Luteinizing Hormone
LMP ... Last Menstrual Period (start date)
LOL ... Laughing Out Loud or Lots Of Love
LPD ... Luteal Phase Defect
MC, m/c, misc. ... Miscarriage
NP ... Nurse Practitioner
O ... Ovulation
OB/GYN ... Obstetrician/Gynecologist
OMG ... Oh My Goodness!
OPK ... Ovulation Predictor Kit
OT or O/T...Off Topic
PCO, PCOD ... Polycystic Ovary Disease
PCOS ... Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome
PG ... Pregnant
PID ... Pelvic Inflammatory Disease
PMS ... Pre-menstrual Syndrome
POAS ... Pee On A Stick
RE ... Reproductive Endocrinologist
RI ... Reproductive Immunologist
ROTFLMAO ... Rolling on the floor laughing my a$$ off
SA ... Semen or Sperm Analysis
STD ... Sexually Transmitted Disease
TTC ... Trying to Conceive
US, u/s ... Ultrasound
UTI ... Urinary Tract Infection
*IL ... *(whatever) In Law
2WW ... 2 weeks waiting

Hi all TTC ladies,

Just like to share my experiences. I had 2 kids and am expecting 3rd one, currently 6wks pregnant. I use BBT charting as my cycle very hay wire. Can be as long as 4 month. But I managed to strike first try for my first 2 kids just using BBT monitoring. I suffered a miscarriage in 2005(my 3rd pregnancy) which I suspect due to the pot of chinese tea I drank during a family dinner.Feel very guilty though that time I am not aware that I'm pregnant. This 3rd pregnancy was an "accident" as we did not plan for it and also its one time strike jetpot and w/o BBT charting even. So all the while I thought I can have bb anytime I wanted using BBT monitoring. We even bought a new pram before I became pregnant.

But this current pregnancy proof me all wrong. We start ttc since sep2006. And only strike after 8months.I actually gave up during the last try as very tiring for both of us. I kept telling myself that maybe I'm not so young already or the last miscarriage could have did some demage on my womb. But thank God we striked.

So I guess the bottom line is don't be too stress. BB will come when you least expected it. BB dust to all of you.

hi babyling, how are u now? my AF supposed to due today, and really hope it wont come, temp still high, and hope i can see a bfp soon... when i test, i see a line, but that should be evaporate line coz it appear after the time frame

Gillian, test liao let us knw the result

me ah, stil the same....having backache, feel tired n nauseous......my AF shd be due on Mon...tempted to test ....but scare to see BFN...so better to wait till after mon then test...

try testing with first urine. I got my BFP with first urine, then test again in afternoon, no line. But 2 days later, test again, got line
So use the concentrate

Good luck to everyone! babydust to you all!

girls, thanks... i test one more time this time. there's still faint line. although it did not appear within 3-5mins, but it's appear faster than last night i test. Pray that in next few days, i will get a clearer result

hi Gillian,
like what Claire said, test with first urine in the morning.
the chances is high since u got the faint line twice, i tried the HPT so many tx, never once did i get a evaporate line.

Best of luck.

Hi Jazz,

My gyne used to tell me 1st 3 months no coffee, tea and making love. But I never follow all these "rules". Usually I will drink 1 cup coffee per day. But the last miscarriage I actually drink 1 whole pot of chinese tea due to the food I ate was very oily. And chinese tea was known to be liang. That's why I suspect this may be the cause.

All these not drinking coffee or tea do not actually have direct medical proof. But I guess everything we consume got to be in moderation. I ever read a pregnancy book that says caffeine will slow down the oxygen intake for the foetus. Therefore even when we are ttcing, the best is to abstain from all caffeinated drinks if we can. There is a saying that we are what we eat. So hoped all of us can keep ourselves healthy for the sake of our bb.

Can I join in this thread? I got married about 1.5 yrs ago and this year 2007, we are planning for a bb. We ttc on and off from January 07 to today.. Sometimes, too tired and may miss out the fertilize period.. Sometimes, we tried on the fertilize period and get disappointment when menses came.. Haiz..

Hope to join the ladies here to share with each other....

I wan to buy some ovaluation strips/ cassettes.. not sure if they are good in helping to ttc.. Every month, I did keep track of different symptoms on an internet webby as well as on another software program on palmtop... just lazy to take temp. every morning .. haha!!

Hope baby dust will fall on us...

hello everyone, i'm going on a crazy track-my-ovulation period again after a disappointing BFN for continuous 1 week

as most of you know, i'm still breastfeeding so my period is not regular. will need to track my ovulation using OPKs everyday. will be ordering large quantity AGAIN (SIGH!!!). anyone wants to join? PM me directly for details.

Really wonder when is the earliest time to test
8DPO and BFN this morning...
Guess the symptoms of breast pain and nausea are signs of AF!

Need a little babydust here too..sob sob

Hi joy's mum
Shall pm you as this is the 1st time i wanna buy some OPKs to ttc.

1 week ago b4 AF, i had breast tenderness.. kind of disappointed although my friends told me this symptoms may not mean BFN.. some of them still had breast tenderness yet pregnant...

Good morning Ladies!

So sad my AF reported this morning liao. Was feeling quite hopeful last 2 days as AF was late and I had slight spotting for 2 days (which I never had before AF)....

morning yuuri
Dun be sad k, we can try again next cycle. At least your body is stable, mine is still abit haywire..but we are not going to give up!

hi gillian
You got high chance! If not positive, will not even get a faint line. Baby dust on you!!

hi jc
I tink aircon does matter. That nite I slept with aircon, my bbt dropped to all time low of 36.28. Normally it's at 36.40/50 range...

hi ceraine
You and hubby both recovered liao? Your O should be here already hor? Jia you!

Hi Yurri
Same same.. i can understand the disappointed.. Late for a few days and AF came, i became so xianz...had spottings for 2 days too..

May i know before TTC, did anyone goes for a proper check-up? My friend advise me to do so, so as to let us know if we O monthly and if the thalessmia, rubella, hep A n B are totally protected etc...last year i went for full body check up and asked them to check the status of thalessmia, rubella, Hep A n B.. i m all ok... just that i scare i dun O montly?

If we have AF monthly, does it mean we O monthly?

can I ask you all on the OPK strips?

I have been using the OPK strips for the past 7 days.... , but yesterday got a faint line (on the test line).... Wondering if what does it mean... cos suppose to reach O day liao... , even though my BBT increase tremendously from 36.3 (CD 20) to 36.8 (CD 21) to 36.7 on CD22. On CD22, but showed faint line on OPK strip. Seems so contradicting leh... Plus somemore today (CD 23) my BBT drops back to 36.2 again....

How ah?? I'm so confused..
Is the OPK strip accurate anot ? or BBT more accurate? Anyone experience this before?

hi yan,

thxs for the info.
i didn't noe, there's so many no no for tccing.
no tea, no coffee, no milo, no cold drink, no watermelon, no pineapple(i.e no hawaiian pizza
), no tofu, no soya drink, no herbal soup, wow... so many no no. hai.. had hard time ttcing.

hi wannababy,
i track ovulation using OPK, faint line is not consider +ve, the line had to be as dark as the control line. perhaps ur O is delayed?

Jazz>

Ah ?? delayed ? Then I dunno when will come liao leh.... cos from CD17 to CD22, I have been tracking my O with this OPK strip ah .... But there is no clear dark test line.....

Somemore, my BBT increase leh... so not sure how come the BBT is high....

hi jowinbaby,

i went for pre-preg test, my gynea did a blood test, pap smear n v.ultrasound for me. nothing wrong with me juz yeast infection which i took antibiotic. then she advise me to start taking folic acid. umm.. thats one n a half yr ago, n i wasn't too active in TTCing then.

now,i m TTCing diligently, keeping track of my ovualtion. i intend to go for HSG test to check for any blockage to my fallopain tube if i still didn't strike tis cycle. currently, waiting for my O day.