A place for the TTCs.. (Trying To Conceive)

Hi Yuki, still got me ... i was hanging around this thread long before Caitlyn even got preggy, just that i never post so i have been here as long as you gals have too.

Yuki, can you share with me if dont mind, when you discovered you had over-stimulated your ovary the other time, was it consecutive and one after another months of clomid use?

I think i have to continue to use clomid but have already taken for 2 cycles so not much more cycles left to be trying clomid already.

jadefeet thanks for detailed sharing..i wish i can have it natural too..i have been on clomid for sooo long..i lost count..since aug 05 at least 9 mths n still praying for a baby..

maybe if i give up this desire i might end up like u.. ha ha

I hv a few questions to ask -

Have anyone of you use the electical pot meant for brewing Chinese herbs?

How much did you pay for it?
Where to buy?

I thought of buying 1 to brew Chinese herbs.

Thank you all.

Hi apple,

I bought one for my hubby 2 years ago at one of the medical hall @ chinatown. Sorry, cant remember the name of medical hall. But as I know, many of the MH in chinatown selling this kind of pot, some with alarm when medicine ready, some w/o, etc. I believe you shud be able to find one at chinatown. Last time one of my fren got hers at a medical hall called "Beijing Tong Ren Tang" if I not wrong. The price is about $100+.

I highly recommend the electrical herb pot, is very convenient to use. No mess at all, it will stop automatically when simmering till one bowl and keep warm after that. Save a lot of trouble, especially for working couple. We usually use with a timer. We will set it to start bowl at ard 5am (the night b4), by the time we woke up at 730am, is already done and ready for drinking le. Very easy to clean it too!

Hi Maple,

actually, during my visit with Dr Du (remember?), i when i told her that my gynae disgnose me with pcos but my AF is regular. so, she deduce that I may have one ovary with pcos and another normal.. anyway, din ask my gynae about it lah.. only targeting to get myself preg.

gal, did u encounter any side effects when on metform? i actually ask my gynae about metform.. he says that last time when he uses this drug, some ladies complain about the side effets like giddyness and ???.. so, he seldom use it anymore leh.. sigh.. kinda worry.. cos i'm on my 4th cycle on clomid liao..

and gal, thought u went for HSG few months ago? so, is this the 2nd time u test? and is there anyway to unblock/clear the tube?

how come u decide to seek 2nd opinion? remember ur gynae is dr foong right? will u be going back to him? and hor can i say that the 2nd gynae diagnose wrongly? better dun go back to him ya..

gal, dun be discourage with all the test results.. think positive and always try to believe that sooner or later, u will strike one day.. its only a matter of time ya..

Hi jade,

so this cycle u try natural?

gal, u mention about Esativa, horny goat weeds, oyster extract and korean ginseng.. may i ask where did u brought them? and did ur DH consume them daily (for all supplment)? my DH is currently taking only vit E and zinc. and he always complain about stomach pain leh.. so, he stop zinc and now only taking vitE..

thanks maplebabies.

Toy, I would suggest that you take a break from clomid since its already more than 6 months, I found out that the clomid actually may have played a part in my multi-cystic ovary, not PCOS, many tiny follicles stimulated..
anyway, gals are born with limited no.of eggs, so dont waste them mah.. so take a break for about 6 mths before taking clomid again

Zenia, yup this cycle is complete natural, free and easy, no calculation

Esativa is from gynae, horny goat weed, oyster extract is frm GNC. As for korea ginseng is those tablets I bought from holiday in Korea...
tell DH to take the tablets after food, cos empty stomach may cos irritation.. have them take in the evening after dinner loh..shld be fine

Congrats Jadefeet! you give us more hope and encouragement that we will and CAN succeed!

roxyz...take care n watch ur diet, don't carry heavy thgs now. be positive & all will be alrite!

maple, did u do hsg before? r u still planning to go for ivf?

hi jade,

icic.. wow! think i should consider to throw away all my opk and thermometer liao.. hee hee..

okie, thanks! think i'll get the horny goat weed and oyster extract tomorrow..

Oh Zenia, Dr Du also said i am not typical PCOS looking at my blood test reports and my AF oso regular. Hmm, so there is such thing as one ovary with pcos and another normal ah ... hmm ...

No leh, i am ok with metform leh. So your gynae not going to give you metformin anymore? But i heard metformin is not controlled drug, dunno GP can give or not? Maybe can get from GP?

Ya, i did HSG previously and report was ok but this time round, scan show a suspected block. Dr say can use laprascopy to unblock it but it may just block back after that so i thot no point. Anyway if i am heading towards ICSI, by then also can use laprascopy mah or even no need to unblock since its IVF procedure.

I decided to see 3rd opinion cos i went to KKIVF to enquire for IVF and Dr SF Loh say i dont have PCOS but Dr Fong Yang say i have, so i was hoping the 3rd gynae can tell me who is right. End up becos i borderline case, so actually both gynaes are right to a certain extent.

Ya, me trying not to be discouraged but hor ... its haaaaard ah. Sigh ... but what to do? Ya, lets hope we all strike soon!

Maple,

as for the metform, think my gynae dun have the intention to prescribe to me leh.. he was actually suggesting that if this cycle i still fail, i'll then do the HSG lor.. then maybe followed by IUI or SO-IUI..

gal, sorry for my ignorance hor.. how come out tube is block jus within a few months? u have any idea what causes it to block?

emmm... u really intend to opt for IVF? do u wanna consider going back to clomid or maybe SO-IUI?

Hi Jadefeet, May i enquire how frequent you took the Bak Foong Yuan? Once a week or ? I'm afraid that the pills can be very heaty if too frequent. Thanks.

hi roxyz,

glad to hear dat baby is ok. baby is fighting hard, so mummy muz stay strong ya? keep on believing for a miracle! all of us are believing with u! have more rest & dun stress yrself out... stay positive!

jadefeet thanks..the flesh is willing to stop clomid cos of the cramps i get but the heart is not willing to even stop cos every mth is so precious... sigh...maybe i will stop after may n then see a gynae.... can take bak foong yuan with clomid?

Thanks Yuki...I got read about the side effects of clomid..Hmm, but i not yet know wat medicine the gynae gg to give me lei..He said i have weak ovulation, could it be due to weak body?? Would it be a good idea to see chinese physician?

Hi Melody

If u have a weak ovulation... it's better to see a chinese physician first... to "tiao" yr body... and when yr body is in better condition... if need be, then start taking clomid... that would probably have higher chance of success.. but all these are up to you...

Hi Maple_babies

Think our TTC route really "dou zhai dou nan".. but we juz have to be strong.. if u r having PCOS... dun take Bai Feng Wan... Dang Gui... coz I understand it will make the condition worst... Btw, have the gynae suggested anything for yr condition?

Hi Rest_and Relax

I have juz started my hormone jab yesterday... coz my gynae did a scan. This time round the blood nodule is small its about 2 cm, so my gynae advised me to take the hormone jabs to stop menses for 6 mths hopefully, the nodule will dissolve by itself and hopefully, that will changed my menses back-flow patterns Which I decided to take too I do not want to harm my health because of TTC I was too rushed the last time in taking clomid not thinking carefully of its side effects and ended up have to remove my ovary this time round, this nodule is next to my intestines, behind my womb I dun wanna take chances again I dun want it to develop into something worst coz if it gets bigger, it may be stuck to my intestines and even surgically removal may mean damage to my intestines

Though its kinda sad to have missed 6 mths of trying but I rather it be that way but dun worry during this 6 mths I will be giving you gals my moral support At the same time, I will also wanna build up my body hopefully, by the end of this 6 mths, my nodule will disappear and my womb is more clean to have bb

Actually, now, I'm more worried the hot flashes that my gynae told me about... coz she said that after taking the hormone jabs... I will have some hot flashes... anybody take it before, can advise?

Yuki,
Thanks for your advise!! I shall see what the gynae said for the cause of my weak ovulation...Still got to wait for next week, a bit "kan cheong" for my results..Gynea said i got a lot "bai dai" which is not very good right?

i'm very new to this thread and was previously from the Singapore Brides Forum.. hehe

currently i have been TTC for the past 4 months but still nothing.. been to see 2 doctors already and both told me that i should get pregnant pretty fast as i'm young and check up is alright..

however, i know the anxiety of praying and hoping for a bb but when my peiod comes on time every month.. i am really sad and disappointed...

been wanting to have a bb and didn't know it was so hard to get.. then think about all those unwanted pregnacies in the world and wonder why i can't have one.. guess its been driving me insane to want to have a bb..

hopefully we'll be able to encourage one another in this thread..

Melody

If u have alot of discharge (clear egg white) during yr O... then it's good... if it's all the while... it could be too cooling... perhaps, u wanna watch yr diet... not too have too cooling stuff like green tea, green bean soup, chin chow, watermelon, etc...

Hi Yuki,
Is not clear egg white lei..Is white in colour..I thought "bai dai" n the fertile mucus we have is different...When i went toliet just now, i have some clear white discharge..what does that mean? Is kind of slippery bah...

Apple,
Mine one w/o lay, but not much diff in price, about $10-$20 diff only la.

Jadefeet,
Congrat! Congrat! How are you now, any MS? Wish you a very smooth 9 months ahead, and take care!
I want your baby dust!

Roxyz,
How are you gal? Must rest well, jiayou for you and your baby!

Hi Melody

That means u r fertile during this period lor.. which CD are u in now? if it also correspond with other TTC tools like OPK or BBT... quickly go BD tonite.. tomorrow nite... till this clear white discharge disappear...

Yuki,
Im aso thinking likewise..Somehow i dun think so is fertile, i thought fertile mucus is stretchy de, mine not lei...I have irregular menses aso n late CD (varies btw 40-50 days)..So think i have late ovulation, today is CD14 only...

Hi Zenia, i also dont know why in just a matter of 3 mths, my tube can suddenly be blocked. Its puzzling. Either my earlier HSG was not done properly or i really developed block tube only recently. I also dont know how to tell. Maybe at next gynae visit, i bring the HSG film to gynae again and ask him to look carefully whether tube got block or not. If really not block in the HSG film, then that means really these few mths then i started to block my tube but not sure why leh. Sigh ...

So you havent do HSG ah? Good to do it cos at least it gives you peace of mind that the tubes are ok so you can continue clomid, IUI etc ... cos if tubes blocked then no point take clomid, do IUI etc since spermies will never reach egg.

For me, now that things are clearer, i have the option to either (1)unblock the tube, (2)stimulate the PCOS ovary to work or (3)straight to IVF/ICSI. Frankly i rather take the 2nd option. Think i will stimulate the PCOS ovary to ovulate and try naturally first. If still dont strike, then go straight to IVF/ICSI. I am not considering option 1 to unblock tubes as there is no guaranttee that the tubes wont block back. Also before IVF/ICSI, i can still schedule to remove the fluid inside the block tube so no need to specially unblock tube now. Dunno whether i am making sense like this, will consult gynae again next visit.

Hi Yuki, i have seen 3 gynaes, all specialised in infertility and all 3 advised differently. One say take clomid do IUI, another say dont take clomid and try naturally and the latest one say do IUI but dont take clomid. Sigh ... confusing hor?

But i have seen effects on clomid on me that seems to be good leh. Maybe i will still take clomid since i have half ovary that is PCOS but will take alternate mths so that the effects of clomid not so strong.

What you think? Better to take clomid on alternate mths? Than consecutively? But if take alternate mths, mean i have to try another 8mths before i can move on to IVF/ICSI etc since i have 4 more rounds of clomid to go.

Hi Maple Babies

It's really up to you... but juz be more careful... coz I'm very scare that u will ended up like me... i dun hv PCOS but the eggs in my ovary were over stimulated when i took clomid... and that was why i have to remove 1 ovary... coz it looks so bad that... my 2nd opinion gynae tot it was cancer...

It's really up to you...

Hi Maple,

I read somewhere stating that HSG procedure will cause the tubes to appear block (spasm). Maybe yours are not block but a a shock and appear block. Don't worry too much. I think I read in the 2ww that a doctor told a lady that both her tubes were block but in the following month after HSG, she gone pregnant.

Extract from article:
"Some cases where the tubes appear to be blocked where they join the uterus, may in fact be normal. Often blockage at this location may be due to spasm of the opening from the uterus into the tube or from accumulated debris and mucus blocking the opening."

Don't worry too much, stay happy.

I've been following this thread for a while and am very encouraged by many success stories here. Also very inspired by the many perservering efforts in TTC by all of you.

I have also been TTC-ing since Dec 06 though not actively. Recently was diagnosed of having PCOS and am also currently seeing Dr Du (TCM physician) for a month.

However, I'm getting disheartened after experiencing so much difficulty just to have a baby. Thus would like to seek your advice as well as hope to receive some encouragement from all of you.

As I have mentioned, just started seeing Dr Du in Feb and have been taking her med (the 'bitter'est' I've ever tasted) with metformin. Supposed to help to regulate my menses as it has become irregular since I got married. It did come this month but been having tummy pains quite often. Wonder if it's due to stress or side effects of the med.

Today, I had a follow-up consultation with my gynae whom I have been seeing for my irregular menses and also to help me to put on weight. She advised me to take clomid in my next cycle if I wouldn't want to wait longer to conceive.

Actually, I'm in quite a dilemma now because I'm following Dr Du's prescription but it seems to be painful and slow. From what I've heard about clomid, it seems to be quite effective. So I don't know if I should stop the chinese prescription next month and start taking clomid. Would greatly appreciate if anyone of you could give me some advice here. Thanks.

May I know who knows how to calculate O period? if i am a 29 day cycle, & my first day of last period falls on 15 March, when is my O?

hear u all talk about this clomid thingy..

can i find out what is this drug all about?

as in what it does as well as the side effects?

would really appreciate your kind advice..

Hi Sheryl, i also seen Dr Du before. Ya, she is pro-metformin and anti-clomid. So she tends to advise her patients not to take clomid. But then clomid is a more direct way of stimulating ovulation. Whereas metformin and her herbs will take longer time.

So its up to you whether you want to wait a few months taking her herbs with metformin and see if the herbs worked for you to conceive. Or you might want to start 1-2 cycles of clomid and see if you respond well and if so, maybe can depend on clomid for a few cycles. And who knows, you may well just managed to conceive with 1-2 rounds of clomid?

Most gynae will recommend clomid for PCOS as it directly stimulate the PCOS Ovaries to ovulate. Whereas metformin works at sugar level by lowering it and hopefully cause PCOS oavries to in a way, heal and ovulate. So clomid is more direct whereas metformin is less direct.

Hi Melody, from layman explanation: PCOS is a ailment of the ovaries in which the ovaries are cramped with many follicles every month but none of the follicle mature to produce an egg.

In normal circumstance, the ovaries should have a few follicles every month but 1 follicle will grow to be bigger than the rest and mature to produce an egg.

If you have PCOS, you will see via transvaginal scan (best to scan on CD12), your ovary having alot of follicles, lined up in a circle as thou resembling pearl necklace.

Goodgal,
acording to the korean guide, the real korean ginseng is not heaty cos its a 6 yrs old root. So my DH find it ok when he take it, help in his daily energy. As for horny goat weed is to help with spermies' health

For bai feng yuan, I took once AF is cleared, so usually I take on CD 10 and 15 cos usually I dun O till CD 18 mah... tot just play it safe dont eat it esp if you suspect you may have striked..
I dun find it heaty at all, in fact it shld help to warm up our womb to make it a more healthy environment for the egg to implant...
I used the bai feng yuan from EYS, those 1 big tablet type which i double boil with a big drum stick, i think its good to take some tonic since I always dabao food... now that i am preggie.. kind of miss my fave tonic soups...
Btw, I took bai feng yuan even when I am on clomid, but with clomid, I take it on day 10 and 13 cos O is usually on CD 14/15

beetlebugs & cutepiggy,
thanks alot.. spread my baby dust to all of you..
MS has started already.. cannot keep any proper food down..

Oh gosh.. This thread is moving real fast.

Good Gal,
LMP = Last Mentrusal Period (aka CD1)
To "qualify" for a piggie means tat your egg needs to be fertilized by 18 May.

Berries,
O usually occurs 12-16 days b4 your next AF. If your AF came on 15 Mar, n u hv 29 days cycle, means your O shd be sometime in 28 Mar - 1 Apr. Check out ovulation calendars on the web.

Patrina,
Clomid is usually prescribe to stimulate ovary/ies to produce the right size follicle for fertilization. This can only be prescribe by a gynae and there are side effects.

Everyone - Keep trying and encouraging each other ok. I've been TTCg since Aug 2005 and I'm not giving up yet!!

Hi Maple,

Thanks for your advice. Greatly appreciate it.

Dr Du has gone to get her herbs right now so I still have my dosage of herbs to brew til my next menstrual cycle. As I'm underweight, my gynae was just concerned that my wt would reduce further with metformin.

Btw, do u know the diff b/w met & clomid? All along, I thought met is for regulating menses and clomid is to regulate ovulation. Seems that I'm wrong leh.

So r u still seeing Dr Du? Though I've only taken her med for a month, I'm ald 'tyre punkchek' liao, dono how long I can tahan her med. Hope that I would be able to conceive soon..

Thanks, Jadefeet, so take bak foong yuan only like twice a month... Do you know the mini-pill type is just as effective? Why cannot take if you suspect that u may have striked??