A place for the TTCs.. (Trying To Conceive)

<font color="0000ff">oreo</font>
jia you again this month. Can even thk of me when u feel down cos ive been trying for 9months liao. Haiz..... if i kena when i first try, me bb already born liao lor!!

<font color="0000ff">classy and funny</font>
the 2 of u dun give up too! All the best for this round!

<font color="0000ff">wendypooh</font>
Gt a call from gynae that ive gt infection. Was ask to take antibiotics but i dun feel like taking leh. Cos im currently in my 2WW and im afraid taking the antibiotic will affect my 2WW. Maybe shall wait till my next menses come than go and collect my medicine.

<font color="0000ff">lbs</font>
if u did charting, u remember to brg ur chart along cos the doc can tell u if ur chart is a good one.

Hi lilac

Is it common for women to get infection? i remember wendypooh had it too during her forst check up with Dr Chan, right?

Do yourself spot anything visible or any itchiness huhh?

i dun see any diff in my discharge and theres no itchiness. Duno if panty liners is a cause of it? Cos im one who cant tahan without panty liner. But i do change frequently.

the doc told me its common for women to get infection. But i forget to ask her whats the cause of it. Anyway, im not going to that gynae anymore cos i dun feel comfortable with her. To me, i find that she gt attitude problem.

Anyway, u are going for ur chkup tml rite. So what test u going to do? I find that its best that u do the pap smear and at the same time ask for the culture test. If not, u have to go down twice if they detected infection in ur discharge.

Hi lilac

I am sure I will have papsmear but not sure if the gynae will schedule in the culture test for me or not. I am the last in her apptment tomorrow...

I will ask her though..thks for reminding me..

92688.gif

Hi lilac &amp; Ibs,
yup me too... the first time i went for PAP smear... the doc oso said i got infection.. She gav me antibiotics too... tat was 2 yrs ago n since then i hav not go for anymore check up... Intend to go after my AF..

Lilac,
normally how frequent u change ur pantyliner? heard tat panty liner is the main cause of it.. I change twice a day... dunno is it sufficient?? i oso cant live without panty liner...

Hi lilac

forgot to ask you..which gynae you went to? I hate pple with attitude problem also..

I think it is very important to get a good gynae especially doing for this type of checkups

I hope the gynae I am going to see tomorrow is good.

hi lilac,

u have culture test oso during your check up ? tat was the only test tat can tell whether u have infection. i heard tat most gynae will do tat test for first timer. i got infection and took the antibotic immediately during my 2WW. after tat then i relalise tat i pregnant, so Lilac u might have chance this cycle as gynae say pregnant woman very pro to infection. tink u better go and take the medicine and clear it fast dun drag , my gynae say the mediicne wont affect, pregnat woman are using oso.
i going for my check up tom and getting my gynae to check for me again , cos i have lot of discharges and itch better get him to check. heard tat panty liner affect fertility leh dun know how true.
u dont like your gynae? if u dun mind a guy gyane i would recommend u my gyane i very comfort with him.
since u have the samne problem as me keep my finger cross for u , hope got good news in a week time
Baby dust to u.

hi lbs,

think u should insist fro a culutre test, tat is very impt. cos read or heard soemwhere tat infection will affect fertility and affect bb if pregnant

long time didn't come in liao. can i check is there a best timing to bbd during the ovulation day?

lbs,
don't worry too much, usually gynaes are quite nice one, gps are the ones with attitude!

lilac,
hope you have good news

and to all those in their 2WW!

hi lilac,

it's true dat panty liner is the main cause of the infection.....
if u dun mind a male gynea, i can oso introduce mine to you....he's very good...me and hubby very comfortable wif him...so far i've introduced 4 of my gf to see him and all of them liked him too....

Hi lilac,
Sorry that I'm interrupting into your "conversations". I have read that you mentioned not going back to the Dr Chan gynae. Are you refering to Yvonne Chan at TMC? I have just made an appt to see her for the first time. Now I'm in my 5th week. This is my first so I'm quite worried. Pls let me know.

Thank you..

Hi Lilac,

I think you better go &amp; take the antibiotic ASAP, infection can become very serious and it may affect you bb if you r preggie already..

Panty liner make you under part warmer thus it is easier for bacteria to grow (&amp; grow faster as well), so try not to use it, cotton underwear is better. If you really cannot tahan not to use, try those with cotton surface one, coz some people are alergy to certain component of panty liner (like myself)..

If you have been TTCing for a while and u have irregular period, I think you can try BFW, maybe will help..

I never took BFW before until one of my gf recommended it to me. She had been TTCing for 18 months, got irregular period, went to see chinese sinseh and he asked her to try BFW (Eu Yan Seng), only three cycles later she was pregnant, and now her boy boy is about two years old lor, very cute one leh... she insisted that I should take BFW, so I bought two boxes and same to her, only three cycles after I took BFW, I am now in my 6wk+...

Actually I am not sure whether it's because of the BFW, but i think no harm trying lor, one box cost about S$40 only, worth give it a try lah...

I also used OPK, BBT, CM, calculation (everything that might help) methods, but gave up BBT coz too stressful, and for my last cycle, OPK always showed faint line only, but I didn't care, just BD every other day during my "possible fertility period", then I bingo..

I think the last one (BD every other day) really helps lor...:p

hi wendypooh,
yes i've seen him yest, check-up is alright, he asked me to try for 6 mths first, he said the trick is to bbd more often and of course relax.
how are u feeling nowadays? enjoy your visit with him tmr, i always feel much at ease after seeing him.

hi ribena,
good to hear u fine. ya now i beleive BD often will help cos tat wat i do the last cycle and bingo. last time i hate BD so much until no choice want bb then wok hearder haha.
i feeling excited and kind of anxious to seeing him tom cos excited to see my bb but worried how he getting on inside. really look forward the seesion to be over smoothly tom

<font color="0000ff">ribena</font>
I try for 2 months already.. so that means i have to try for another 4 mths if unsuccessful before seeing a gynae, right?
Getting kinda impatient already...

Hi wendypooh
yeap, i will ask fr the test tomorrow..Thks!

92781.gif

Hi oreo
Have you ever seen any gynae for body checkups before? If not,I think you can actually start seeing one now after your AF ler.

No, i have not seen any gynae for checkups.
Instead of imagining things, i thought of doing a checkup to ease my mind.
Which gynae r u seeing?
I haven't thought of any. By the way, how long do you have to book in advance?

hi tantan,
congrats on your pregnancy

wendypooh,
really, that means u increased your bbd frequency last cycle..hmm..i think this may be the solution.
your bb will be fine
mummy cannot be worried you know.

you know becos i just started ttc, so i asked abt BBT, CM, PCOS, felt so much anxiety. But after going to see him, i feel that he made it so simple, the formula is to RELAX, and BBD often. that's it, and also learnt that it may not be our fertile period that bingo, so don't just bbd often during near ovulation time, but bbd every other days.

oreo,
ya just keep on trying. i know how you feel, cos yesterday i also think wah still must wait for 6 mths, becos if 6 mths, still don't preggie, then will check your hubby's semen. my gynae said no point "point blank"
so funny hor.

hi ribena,

thank for the comfort, i keep telling myself too bb is fine since my ms is quite bad.
ya lor last cycle BD often and under the guidance of Lilac on the best time, CM etc, tehn bingo the first trial. last time keep blaming why cant conceive, main reason is i dun know when is fertile period, BD abt 4 time a mth. how to be peganant in this way. so last cycle start seriously.dr chan was also shock to see back again after 2week for the pregnancy check up and all her staff know after this make me so "pai seh" u know

hi ribena,

u are right, dr chan very easygoing my first appt for noraml checkup . i oso ask lot of this and he assure me nothing is wrong wif me.
after i pregant, i ask him whether this can do and wat cannot do he oso say can do everything in moderation dun put so much stress on limitation

hi oreo,
i agree with lbs, cos before i see gynae for check-up, i am worried abt this and that, scared got PCOS, and keep thinking that getting preggie needs a lot of prep and like vry difficult. which in fact i also haven't really started!! it will definately ease your mind.

hi wendypooh,
same here, i also bbd 4 times a mth, ard once a week only. that's why he told me yesterday must bbd like very often, and of course cannot stress. i also don't know my fertile period, but he aga aga taught me already.
Wow, you bingo your first trial!! hope i can be like you
don't need to pai seh, all the nurses there very nice one

<font color="0000ff">joice</font>
as for panty liners, i changed 3times daily. When i was working, i will changed it during lunch time and then i will change it again when im going home. But when im at home, than i dun use panty liner. Hmmm.... so panty liner really is the cause.

during my first appt, i did my pap smear. Then the doc ask me to do a blood test for hypeB, rubella and chicken pox. She didnt do any scan for me to chk for any cyst.
Then when my report is out, i was told that i have infection and was asked to do a culture test. N the culture test shows that ive gt infection and ned to take antibiotic lor.
thanks for offering ur gynae to me but my hubby and i feel uncomfortable for male gynae.
Ur gynae from GlenE har?
Hmmm... preggie woman very prone to infection??
But i dun thk im that lucky one!

yaya..... tml u shd ask for culture test to save ur trouble from booking appt with the gynae again.

normally after O day, there's no point in bding(but no harm bding cos who knows really able to kena cos i thk there's no fix rule in human body). Best to try BDing a week in advance to be kiasu! N on ovluation day itself.

<font color="0000ff">classy</font>
which gynae u go to??

<font color="0000ff">miao2</font>
no no.... i didnt say which gynae i went to. My gynae also from TMC but its not Dr Chan. Dun worry!

<font color="0000ff">tantan</font>
thanx for ur advise regarding the pantyliner. BTW, which brand are u all using?? Im using carefree since im schooling till now. Thats my fav brand.

hi ribena,

ya lor cos sad to say i hate BD. my hubby aslo dun believe BD during in fertile period can conceive, he say just BD when we like dun be stress then can oso conceive.
wow dr chan teach u so many thing so your concultation fee is very high yest? i evertime see him for ard 10min cost me ard $180
ya the nurse there all very good and resourful. dr chan keep teasing me say govt will give me a medal, until i feel so "pai seh" lor

huh?... you mean can have situations where you kena infection and no redness, no itchiness, no abnormal discharge, no pain, no signs whatsoever ar? So means anyone can be suffering from infection without knowing? Oh boy...

hi lilac,
your gyane sound funny. my gyane do pap smear and culture test togther. he say this is the basic for begineer. he say no need other test cos since we schooling SIN, we are protected during our schoool day jab. he do a virginal scan for me to scan my womb and found a tiny fibroid but he say this is common and wont affect pregnancy cos is outside the womb.
ya my gynae is from GlenE. my sis used to have female gyane for her 2 kid but now we seeing the same gyane cos she cant still her female gyane cos very rough and attitude problem.
some say frequency uraination during preganacy and bateria tend to grow so very pro to infection.
who know u will be the next one kanna bingo. have some fate in u okie since u so relax this cycle.

Hi Tan_tan,

Congrats on your pregnancy.
How often do you take BFW ? Do you take after you O ?
I bought BFW too from EYS. I only took once a month which is 3 days after menses cleared.
How long have you been trying ?

Hi oreo
I am seeing Dr Heng (a female gynae) at Eastern Specialist in Bedok. I think she delivers at Eastshore Hospital.

I didnt consider others because most apptmts need to be on weekdays (i cant take leave during this period). Also, I very lazy to travel so 'far', thus ,chose Dr Heng, whose clinic is nearer.

She seems to be a busy gynae as I tried to book her just after my AF but her schedule was very full.

I was lucky to be able to 'squeeze in' as her last apptment tomorrow lor.

hi lilac
nice to see you here
yah, i will try to increase my bbd frequency. hmm..maybe i more anxious loh, but thought of bbd even after doc's estimation of ovulation cos never know if ovulation will delay.
really hope you will strike this month!!

hi wendypooh,
my hubby also ask me don't stress him by telling him when is my fertile period. he prefers to do it without stress and hope will have good news loh. yah our consultation fees similar, he didn't teach me a lot of things lah, just tell me the necessary things i should do and briefly explain a bit on my cycle. maybe becos i've been seeing him for yrs liao so he explain loh.

lbs,
i think most impt thing is comfy with gynae, becos he/she is going thru the ttc and delivering process with you.

hi tan tan,
may i know how irregular is your menses?
If mine lapse as long as 6mths.. u think BFW can help?

How to take BFW? Weekly one bottle or ????
Thanks for sharing!

after I keyed in my temp today, the O date shifted from CD17 to CD19. Has this happened to you ladies before? I think FF not accurate leh... cos I have another cycle where my temp does down and goes up again but they don't record it as a later O.

<font color="0000ff">tuffy</font>
mine's the other way round.
FF did not detect my O day even though i knew i O.
If you're pretty sure you O on CD17, you can manually override the auto-detection and key in your O day.

Hi Funny,

I took two bottles per cycle, however, because I always can't tahan "heaty" chinese medicine, so I took half a bottle each time. First 1/2 bottle on the day after my AF cleared, then another 1/2 bottle three-four days later. Another bottle I took a week before my AF (estimated) come, also half bottle first then another half bottle few days later. That's what my friend taught me. My aunt told me not to take during menses because it will gone with AF (don't know true or not), kind of waste lor..

Actually I wrote to EYS and they replied said can take one bottle a week.

U mean how long I ttcing or how long I took BFW? TTCing for about seven cycles, took BFW for 3 cycles.

Hi Ibs,
I got some info on pantyliner from last year CLEO magazine.
CLEO magazine, July 2003 issue

<font color="0000ff">A lady questioned Dr Henry Cheng

I wear panty liners every single day, even i am not menstruating or during light days. But recently, my mum told me not to do so as she felt that it was very unhealthy to wear one all the time. I have also read articles where they said it was inadvisable to do so because of the chemicals in it, or something like that. So I have been quite doubtful and uncertain about wearing it all the time. Should I stop? Is it harming me?

Dr Henry Cheng answered to the lady
It is quite true that you do not have to wear a panty liner every
day. They are meant to absorb water and blood. They are usually lined with a thin plastic membrane and this in fact causes the discharge and mucus to be retained closer to your body. This can result in external skin infection and also urinary tract infection. Some of the scented ones with perfumes can also create problems like skin allergies. Wearing cotton underwear which absorbs moisture better and changing it regularly are much healthier options for you.</font>

Hi Ribena,

Hi lbs,

Emm..it is not pantyliner that cause infection, but it make it a more favourable environment (warmer) for bacteria to grow..

Hi Lilac,

Preggie women are more prone to infection because after preggie, our vaginal become more alkaline rather than acidic, so the "power" to kill bacteria is weaken lor..this is also through when we enter our fertile period, when the CM turn alkaline so that sperms can survive longer..

Hi Elle,

Oh..mine is not that irregular, just that it can vary between 24 to 48 days only. Have you done any checkup yet? better do so first to find out the reason lor, I dun know whether BFW can help or not in you case...as for how I took BFW, pls see my reply to funny..

Good luck to all..

have been following this thread for 3 months since I start TTC 2 months ago...But felt disappointed and down whan AF visit me today...Feel like crying.....Dun dare to tell anyone my disappointed.really like children a lot..but...so sad..

hi oreo,
I think I O-ed on CD17 based on my previous cycles but then again I am not expert on this...
I guess I will bear this in mind when I look at my chart for the next few days loh. Only troublesome thing is I don't know when my next AF is coming since now the luteal phase is not clear.

I think it is not adviseable to use panty liner everyday... I once used it everyday during one cycle and I gotten Urinary Tract Infection (I change about 3 to 4 times a day). Eversince, I try to wear cotton panty more frequently...

<font color="0000ff">hi stupid</font>
Gosh! It sounds weird calling you by that name!
I've also been TTcing for 2 months.. so far no news too.
Don't worry. Some of us tried for 6 months then kenna.. some over a year.. some a couple of months.
We all have to keep trying and don't give up.
You're not alone!
Jia you!!!

<font color="0000ff">tuffy</font>
Some of us have our CD like clockwork, some don't.
Did you use OPK?
How's your temp?

thats y i dun like this gynae. I thgt during the first time, the gynae will do scan for us?? But this gynae just ask me to do a blood test and pap smear only. And to thk that i have to actually ask for a scan instead of she giving it to me! In the end, i din do the scan cos i thk she going to charge me for that!

hehe.... thks for ur wishing!

<font color="0000ff">classy</font>
Which clinic u went to in TMC? My gynae also from TMC. I dun want to post her name her.To me, i dun feel comfy with her but to others, she may be a good gynae.

<font color="0000ff">tantan</font>
i thgt we are not suppose to take BFW when we are in our 2WW? How come u still take it??

<font color="0000ff">joice</font>
Thanx for posting the article up. But it says that its best to wear cotton underwear and to change it regularly?? Haiyo..... that means we need to brg our undies ard with us everytime we go out??

can I join in dis encouraging thread as well.. been TTC-ing for the past 4 cycles but wif no good news... now I am in my agonizing 2WW as well!! arrrgghhh....

something veri interesting (or confusing??!!) i found out today... i went for a check-up at TWC (sengkang branch) &amp; saw dr. Adrian... i saw his name being mentioned a few times in dis forum &amp; decided to pay him a visit...

when i showed him my charts, he dint even bother to look at it &amp; told me charting is not accurate at all... then i asked him how accurate is OPK results... he oso told me the same thing.. NOT accurate... i was like huh????!!!! then how??

he told me getting preggie is hard work.. must consistently BD during the fertile period... told me &amp; hubby straight in the face dat we must BD every other days within a window period of 10 days around my ovulation day... &amp; the onie way to find out whether i am ovulating is via a blood test (done on CD 21 or 22)...

i am at CD 22 today... so i tot might as well do the test since i'm there orady... i oso requested for a scan to ensure dat i hv no cysts or fibroids.. the scan went well.. so right now, hv to wait for the blood test results.. &amp; my mind is running wild now... aiyoo...

so right now, i oso dunno whether i shd continue taking my BBT anot...

hi tubby

welcome to the thread! hmm.. that's v strange - I wonder if the other girls are told the same thing by their gynae. how would the doctor know when to do blood test? so you are supposed to BD 5 days before and 5 days after fertile period or 10 days before that?