A place for the TTCs.. (Trying To Conceive)

giggler,

I also hope its positive... but the line is just too faint. I will try again tomorrow. I dun seems to have much pregnancy symptoms... so I am abit worried.. I told my hubby dun raise hope too high... else wait we will be so disappointed. We had been trying for more than 2 years already.

Hi poohy, when is your menses suppose to come? For my case, I tested 3-4 days before my AF so the line was very faint and I didn't have any pregnancy symptoms then too.

Giggler, i have irregular menses (PCOS) so not sure when it will come but then today is 11 dpo. So I think by 14dpo, it will be clear whether its positive or negative liao...

hi chihiro and tuffy...

hi urgent...
to ans ur qn, yes... i hv tested b4 my menses was due and it turned out negative... hehe... then when i tested few days after it was supposed to be due, positive liao. so when u test does play a part. maybe for u, u wan to try testin again end of tis wk?

hi poohy...
the line cld be faint cos ur HcG level still not high. if u wan assurance, u can try testing again abt 3 to 4 days later. the line shld come out clearer.

poohy

i tested supposedly 3-4 days before my scheduled blood test for pregnancy and it was also very very very faint positive. Tried to capture that little faint line on my digital camera but couldn't. It is very likely that your HCG is not high enuff. Try again on Thurs would be better and take the first urine on the day. That's what i did and it turn out positive though not very very clear but can see the line.

You are using the old clearblue?

hi poohy,

did u see gynae for yr PCOS?
i too oso hv PCOS and oso TTc now..but jus try only, so i'm not sure if medication helps.
my hubby oso dun place too much hope when AF din come.
but i'll cross fingers for u..do hope this time rd u lucky.

Hi Tuffy,

My mid-cycle spottings last for about 5 days throughout, like the last couple of days of menses that kind..

Evening primrose oil helps to balance hormones and alleviates menstrual symptoms as well as produce more fertile CM. But it's advised to stop taking it after O cos it can cause uterine contractions which is not good if you're indeed pregnant.

okea,

yup I been seeing gynae for abt 1.5 years. Took clomid and metformin. This cycle, I took clomid, metformin plus robittusin (cos clomid tends to dry up the CM) and EPO in the beginning of the cycle.

Giggler,

Thanks for the info.

Okea and Poohy,

May I know which gynae you are seeing for PCOS? What was the treatment like? How long were you all on clomid? Do you all suffer from any side effects from clomid?

I was quite surprised when I was tested postive for PCOS thru the ultrasound cos my menses were regular all the while, with each cycle lasting 29-33 days. Moreover, when I went for pap smear and ultrasound last year (with another gynae), she said that all was alright. Hehe, that's why I tell my frens, wnat to have kid, must have it fast, one year makes a lot of difference!

I used to be on EPO as well. After the diagnosis, I stopped taking it. I noticed that Poohy, you are taking EPO? It's alright to continue with it, I presume?

blanche,

I am seeing dr CT Yeong from KKH. He give me clomid and metformin. The side effect of clomid seems to be very dry or non-existent cervical mucus. The side effect of metformin is definitely diarrhae. I always get it when I was taking metformin.

As for the EPO, I just toook it to improve my cervical mucus. After ovulation, I dun take it ...cos I heard its not good in case we get preg.

which gynae are u seeing ?

Hi Blanche,

you mean the gynae didn't detect PCOS when you did you initial check (including blood test)? I went for a check up early last year at KKH and i asked if i need to do a scan and the gynae said no becos blood test and pap smear were quite normal. Now i am wondering if i should insist on a scan!

hi shuin,

So when's a good time to take EPO? The bottle at home says that I should take it a few days before M. And it also said that I can continue taking it throughout but that doesn't seem to be the case now.

Poohy,

I'm seeing Dr TC Cheng from TMC. From my reading of some internet website, they were saying that doctors usually don't prescride clomid for long, at most 6 cycles. So, I was wondering, locally, how many cycles of clomid is being practiced?

Yannie,

The first gynae visit that I had one year ago was for pap smear and she did ultrasound as well. She was saying that since I'll be getting married soon, might as well check that everything is alright. Then, she commented that uterus,ovaries and womb is fine. She did however commented that I have retroverted uterus but she said that it shouldn't cause a problem.

But this time round, I went to Dr Chang (from my colleague's recommendation) and from the ultarsound, he noticed strings of pearls around both ovaries. That was why he diagnosed me as mild PCOS but he didn't take any blood test. Unlike the first Gynae, Dr Chang gave us a copy of the scan and we did see some pearl-like thing on the ovaries. As we didn't have the film from the first ultrasound, we cannot verify if the ovaries are the same.

hey blanche,

soory for my ignorant and intrusion....

does that means that even with very regular menses, one can still be a PCOS?

now i am getting worried liow cos my menses have been super regular since day one but i have been ttc-ing for the past 3 months...and also taking folic acid for 3 months..but seems to find that i cant seem to detect my EWCM since taking folic acid and ttc-ing...very anxious now coz wanting a monkey baby...not much time left.

if i wan to see a gynae, can i tell him/her that i wan to check if i am PCOS?

Hi ice-jelly,

no lah, it's not ignorance. I also only learn of this recently. Would be happy to share whatever little knowledge I know.

According to the gynae, it is possible. Seems that with a certain level of hormone, the lining will form but the level of hormones is still not enough for the complete maturation of the egg. I suppose, even if diagnosed with PCOS, it should be milder compared to others with irregular menses.

Actually, I didn't tell the doc that I wanted to test for PCOS. Rather, he said that as part of the annual check-up, I should have a pap smear and ultrsound done. This is as an ultrsound will tell if there are any growth in the uterus. That was how he found out about the tilted uterus and PCOS.

I learnt from the ladies here that must "relak". Sometimes, the more "kan-cheong" the more difficult . So be more relax, maybe can hit jackpot soon

Jus received an email from my fran regarding to tis particular brand of Bai Fong Wan:

Ladies, pls take note if u r consuming this pill after ur menstruation.. You may want to send to your friends who is using this pill. The MOH announced that this particular brand - Double Swan Brand Pai Fong Wan by Hua Tai Trading Co. contain excessive level of mercury.

Prolonged consumption of excessive amounts of mercury is harmful and can lead to complications such as abdominal pain, vomiting, bloody
diarrhoea and in serious cases, fatal convulsions. You may like to go to website
to read more about it.

http://www.moh.gov.sg/health/releases/JunCPMpr.html

Just to share. A true clinical diagnosis of PCOS cannot be made w/o blood test. But quite surprise that some gynae actually diagnose Pcos through ultrasound. The practice is US is quite different. Maybe try seraching the net for more infor the next time and then approach your gynae again.
Hi poohy,
Congrats!!! I also have a faint blue line before my predicted AF.
Hi ice-jelly,
Don't worry. See a doc after six months of trying. Woman don't ovulate every month and even if you do that month the chance is 30%

hi blanche and jamie..

thanks for the info and reassurance...

just have to keep my finger crossed and work doubly hard from now on!

hi poohy,

Really ah.. you saw a faint line..
We shall keep our fingers cross for you.. Test again in few days time huh..seems like you got high chance..

By the way, how long have you been on metformin?
And how much dosage are you in?
My pill they give me comes in 500mg/tablet so the nurse tell me to take 1/4 tablet twice a day.. and i feel so stupid to split the tablet into quater till i guess the dosage not accurate liao..

Elle,

me also keeping fingers crossed.

I had been taking abt 1000-1500mg, ie. 2-3 of the tablets u took. I read from Internet that most pp take very high dosage of metformin. some even 2000-2500mg. That's why it was a bit puzzling for me to see that your gynae has prescribed such low dosage (thought my eyes see wrongly). Maybe you can clarify with him/her next time you see him/her.

Research document that talks abt effect of metformin on PCOS pp also mention high dosage.. in fact I never see anyone take low dosage.

Hi Poohy,
Looks like you are preggie leh..
i will keep my fingers crossed for u!!!

i oso currently on metformin leh..mine doasge is 500 mg..but then my clomid dosage is oni 50mg..
wat abt u?

elle,
how much dosage of clomid u r taking now?

hi ice jelly,

Women with regular menses may also have PCOS. but situation may be better than those with irregular.(i guess so)
As what Jamie has said, PCOS has to be diagnose and confirm via blood test. Usually gyne will confirm that when your LH is higher than HSG level. Normal woman will have ratio 1:1 but for PCOS women will have 2:1 or sometimes 3:1.

Have u visited a gyne? No need to tell gyne you wanna check for PCOS. They shld do a blood test and opinions would be derived from the report.

Dun gan-cheong.. must relax.. and you will get it.
You mayb absolutely normal jus tat with a little tensed up may affect your ovulation process.

poohy,

i'm only given 50mg clomid to take..tat's all. other pills is to regulate AF n i duno wat's tat call. my gynae din explained to me either.
i'm diagnosed thru blood test by NUH gynae.

hi elle,

thanks for the encouragement...

actually have not visit any gynae b4..coz all this while i thot with regular menses, should be easy to hit jackpot (some grandmother tales i think)..but then hor, so disappointed since trying for 3 months liow. argh should have started ttc-ing earlier.

also hor, last time not tcc-ing seems to find EWCM every month but now cant seem to see any for the past 3 months...?? very puzzled and lost now.

<font color="ff6000">hi ice jelly</font>,
did you do temp charting ?
some of us here actually tried abt 6 mths before hitting the jackpot

hi chihiro...

err paiseh lah...basically i plain lazy lor.. somemore weekend usually sleep till sun high up in the sky..so reading will not be accurate right.

just began to read more abt BBT..but dun really understand leh...

6 months...hmm now i think not having high hopes of catching the boat for a monkey bb liow..

<font color="aa00aa">ice-jelly,</font>
dun give up hope so soon
maybe u'r those lucky ones

like 2 of my close frenz.. 1 kena at 1st unproctected sex, the other one kenna at 2nd try while me gotta try for 6 mths. if plus those non-serious tries, prob gotta add another 3 mths

Hi Poohy, if you want to be sure, why not test it 2 to 3 days later. I've no pregnancy symptoms when I tested positive except for the sensitive nipples.

Hi gals, I went for my detailed scan this morning. I'll be having a princess.

hee ... <font color="ff6000">ice jelly</font>
same here when i 1st started temping ... oso can't wake up in time during the wkends to take my temp
but now i quite auto to wake up before my alarm goes off .. tt include wkends too ..
kekekeke ...

congrats <font color="ff6000">sue</font> !

how r u and bb doing ??

<font color="ff6000">hi angelia</font>
did u enjoy ur trip?

okea,
yah u r rite .. we shld go to the other thread..
C u gals there..

Those who wish to discuss more abt PCOS kindly proceed to infertility+risk thread.

hi angelia,

thanks a lot for your encourgament too....

i will continue to work hard but then always feel so disappointed when see AF...really hope i can make it by these two months

life is so depressing..last time so scare kena so hope to see AF asap now wan to kena hope NOT to see AF...so conflicting hor...but guess thats life lor...

sorry complaining too much liow..

<font color="ff6000">ice jelly</font>
yalor .. but hv to keep our mind wiht positive thinking lah ... dun broad over it too much .. esp during ur 2WW (2 wk wait)

Hi Chihiro, I'm fine &amp; bb is dunno active or shy. When the sonographer tried to scan her, she'll turn. The sonographer said your bb so active, keeps moving around. Oh yah, I forgot that Angelia went Melbourne that's why so long never hear from her.

Hi Angelia, nice having you back. How's the trip?

Hey gals,
I found this email...

CHINESE PROPRIETARY MEDICINE FOUND TO CONTAIN HEAVY METAL EXCEEDING LEGAL PERMISSIBLE LIMIT.

The Ministry of Health would like to draw the attention of the public to a Chinese proprietary medicine, Pai Fong Wan, which was found to contain mercury exceeding the permissible limit of 0.5 ppm. The details of this product are as follows:

Product Name
Brand
Importer/Distributor
Use
Toxic

metal detected

Pai Fong Wan

Hua Tai Trading Co.
Health Tonic
mercury

Prolonged consumption of excessive amounts of mercury is harmful and can lead to complications such as abdominal pain, vomiting, bloody diarrhoea and in serious cases, fatal convulsions.

Those who have possession of the affected product are advised to either destroy the product or surrender the product to the Ministry of Healths Inspectorate Section at 2 Jalan Bukit Merah, Singapore 169547 for disposal.

It is an offence under the Medicines Act to sell Chinese proprietary medicines containing toxic heavy metals namely arsenic, copper, lead and mercury beyond the legal permissible limits. The penalty for an offence under the Medicines Act is a fine of $5,000 or 2 years imprisonment or both.

For further information, please call the Pharmaceutical Department at telephone No 3255412.

http://www.moh.gov.sg/health/releases/JunCPMpr.html

Soyabean and giggler,
thanks for answering my queries. I think I will test again only until end of this week if menses still not here yet. Meanwhile, I do feel some kinds of cramps coming.

50281.jpg

<font face="courier new"> <font color="0000ff">as @ 17 Mar 04
joice .......... CD 05
funny .......... CD 08
iloveoreo ...... CD 11
lilac .......... CD 12
maya ........... CD 12
Ms Blur ........ CD 13
Emma ........... CD 14
jigsaw ......... CD 14
Jen ............ CD 14
jojoba ......... CD 15
wendypooh ...... CD 21
tuffy .......... CD 21
catepillar ..... CD 23
chihiro ........ CD 25
ribena ......... CD 26
jov ............ CD 27
skinnyma ....... CD 32
amberlyn ....... CD 36
aa ............. CD 37
felene ......... CD 38
wizard ......... CD 48
shopper ........ CD 49
okeanosmao * ... CD 63
hopeful24 ...... CD 65
moonriver ...... CD 68
</font><font color="aa00aa">
Graduates - EDD
Giggler ........ 13/06/04
Disney ......... 18/07/04
sue ............ 05/08/04
new ............ 23/08/04
esprit ......... 26/08/04
apple .......... 26/09/04
pet ............ 03/10/04
angelia ........ 04/10/04
SLK ............ 08/10/04
Micky .......... 23/10/04
Wendyl ......... 24/10/04
YeeYee ......... ??/10/04
</font></font>
<font color="119911">CD = Cycle Day; AF = Aunt Flo = menses;</font>
<font color="119911">* = PCOS</font>

hi, lilac
pl update me as CD9 as at today. thanks so much. didn't have time to log in the last week. sigh...yet another unsuccessful month...