(2013) ivf/icsi mummies Support group

Hi ladies, how's everyone doing with the bad haze days?

Znatasha, sorry to hear of your bb's medical condition too. Just do what you think is best. Some of my friends also treat me like sinner when I complained about my pregnancy and expanding boobs, saying I am so fortunate to have bb through ivf yet still complain. Like having bb through ivf makes me less of a human? It's true we need to be thankful but that doesn't penalize us on how we live our lives.

Hope, it's me. BB sudden drop of milk intake. Pd said it's normal and nothing to worry as long as bb gains weight. bb is back to regular intake and has increased too but I still feel it's not enough! Haha...

Koirc, how long does it last? How much is your baby taking for now and how many feeds a day? Yah I think as long as she's gaining weight is ok. Did your PD says why?

Znastasha, Sorry to hear about your baby condition too. Perhaps discuss with your hubby and find a solution? Ultimately you must do what you want else you won't be happy either even if you stay at home right?

Znatasha. Take care k. Ultimately is your life and your bb. Others can advise you but u make the final decision. Just go with your heart with no regrets.

Belbel wah i didn't know bb's stomach is only the size of a marble in first few days. Interesting. Learning to interpret his cues also quite challenging. Sometimes in middle of BFing he will push away but actually he wan more. Haha dunno y.

Hope, yah my boy is sleeping less in the day and wanting lots of attention. Last week i decided to set 9pm as his bedtime so routine him towards it. Then this week he decided to fix it at 8pm but that means he will wake twice at night @ 2 & 5am which is not what i wanted... sobz sobz....
Tonight managed to drag till 830pm..lets hope he just wakenonce at night for milk. Must your baby drink before she aleeps? My boy would want to latch on before sleep. He can have a bottle of milk at 630pm and 1.5-2h later cos he want sleep he wants a latch.
Pros n cons. Sleeping earli is good cos it means i have time to do my own things once he sleeeps. But that will means he will wake earli for night feed. Hmmm....

Egg Factory, congratulations and welcome to motherhood!! It's amazing and admirable that you delivered naturally without epidural. Enjoy bonding time with baby! It's good that your baby is latching well. Yes, just few drops of colostrum is enough for baby. Doctor said a small teaspoon of colostrum for baby is like a big glass of water to us. Colostrum will have the laxative effect that will push out your baby's first poo. Don't worry, with baby's suction, your milk will come in soon if not already

Znatasha, sorry to hear about baby's condition. All the other mummies have said what I wanted to say. Hugs and take care. I'm sure whatever decision that you make for yourself and baby, it is the right one

Mofmm, for Tommee I turn to max(3) put bottle in, wait for few minutes and thn switch off and leave bottle in there to keep warm until I need it. My CL taught me that but you are right, i read warmed milk can only keep for 1 hr but I've also read some articles that says 4 hrs is okay. Think the best is still to warm milk just before you need it but at night it's hard to make sure that my CL does this, especially when baby can't even wait for 10sec when he s hungry.

Egg factory, oops!! Aiya I'm blur already. Sorry!
Enjoy yourself while in hospital and take advantage of the lactation consultation there to get as much tips and guidance about bf. Take care!

Ladies, when do you set up the cot mobile? Also for the playmats for 0months+, when do you start using them? My twins just turned 1month and show in interest only in feeding n sleeping

Sade, yes, my dh also helps out with housework. He just finished vacuuming, mopping and clearing store room! In fact, he surprises me being so hands on wif bb
Nowadays I just managed to pump 80~120ml per session. On beta days, up to 170ml but hardly liao
Guess it's time for me to say tata to bf-ing. Come to thk of it, I cldn't wait to stop earlier but now, I am quite sad abt it..... Hiaz....

Ur supply is still going strong! Jiayou!

Hope, you too jia you! Not easy taking care of bb alone. It's good to have someone on standby so that you can have some me time

Koirc, we managed to get the novita air purifier so using it on bad days, with windows closed. Only on air-con at nite and using fan during daytime. Like today & yesterday which wasn't as bad, I will on the air revitaliser, add essence and hopefully it does the job of cleaning the air

Congats to PSP and Eggfactory.

Ladies, thanks for your concern
I'm still indecisive abt job, but will most likely be a part time SAHM.

Oh Hope and Koirc, my girl just went for checkup and 5-in-1+pneumo+Rota, her weight gain only 10%. She is still drinking 100ml at max and ard 7 feeds a day. Way below the rest of your bb. I don't know how to increase her intake.. Her weight is only 4.8kg now for a 3mth old bb, is that too low? She also has milk strike these days, always not able to finish her milk.

Doc said will check on her weight gain again next mth if not good see gastro or nutritionist...

Ladies, doc also mentioned that bb should be able to lift up the head and do "steps" on 3rd mth... that worries me b'cos my bb's neck is just getting stronger and she can only do "sit-up" when she refuse her milk. She kicks a lot but don't think that is the "step" that doctor mention. What are your experiences?

Hope, pd only said bbs are like us sometimes no appetite. It lasted 2-3 weeks.

Reikibaby, how many hours does your bb sleep per day? My bb still the same routine - feed, play sleep - every 3 hourly. He slept through the past few days. Last feed at 9 or 10pm and he woke up at around 6+am.

Znatasha, my son is drinking max 120ml and also around 7 feeds a day. He also didn't finish his milk previously but he has gained weight so pd didn't say anything.

Chevy, thanks.

Znatasha, yes I think bb should be able to lift up head. My bb couldn't when he went for the check-up. So now, we let him have tummy time every day. Some days he can and some days he can't. And when he can, he usually does it looking at one side. What is "steps" that your pd mean?

Chevy, u hv a lovely hubby! It's really important to hv a supportive hb. Yes I totally understand abt the feeling of stopping bm. Maybe u had been dragging the pumping interval hence ur supply is lowered. jia you, 80-120ml is still good too. As long it's enough to feed your bb then u should continue bah.

Mofmm, I set up the mobile cot when bb is abt 6weeks old bah.

Three cheers for PSP, well done, u r so brave to endure without epidural. Enjoy ur bonding time with bb now. Jia you on bf!

Egg factory, congrats, r u with TMC too?
Enjoy ur bonding time with bb now too. jia you on bf!

Znatasha, my bb is now 2.5 mths old. Today, when we hold him upright and support him under his two arms, he is actually able to step a step forward each time. He is like learning to walk even though he can't support his own wt. is this the steps that your pd mentioned? If you still unsure, maybe check with him/her? But every child the growing n learning progress is different, hence try not to be too worried?

Thanks sade no am not with tmv, am with nuh

I enjoy bonding but BFing is becoming unpleasant coz i m sore. Also coz of C sect wound i can only use one BF position which is not very effective i find. Aching all over, sigh.

Egg factory: for the start , try to let the bb latch . I also have sore nipples for the first few days cos the nurse always push the bb to me for latching. I also with Nuh .
You can try the lying down latching if u are still not well or football hold when u are better. Jia you ! Just check with lactation consultant while u are still in hosp .

egg factory oh I see. only wrong latch will hv sore nipples. do ask the lactation nurse to show u the correct latch. n also I used football hold n cradle hold even thou c sec too.
maybe u wan to try lying down. jia you.

Reiki, yah I dream feed my bb around 11. Now she sleeps until 5-6am. Has your baby flipped?

Znatasha, my baby drinking lesser than 700ml recently. Hmm not sure how to increase intake lei. Did u ask PD?

Koirc, I see. Ok I will monitor her Hee.

Hope, i never tried dreamfeeding. Cos when he doesnt want means doesnt want. Dreamfeed means you just feed him while he still in the midst of sleeping right? Last night gave him 180ml at 530pm and he was crying for milk at 7pm. I've decided to try 210ml and see how much he can consume. My boy seems to grow vertical imstead of horizontal. Maybe he has good metabolism rate... With diaper, 9m clothings fit nicely. Those 6m ones i need romper extension else cant snap on.
Not yet flip...yours?

Sade, when your girl starts to flip? Anyways to ''tempt" baby to flip?

Reiki, yah feed baby when she's sleeping. I don't have a choice lei if I don't dream feed her she will only be drinking 4 feeds a day haha! Plus I usually up the amount during dream feed and she finishes everything. Wow your bb is drinking alot! Good that he is drinking well!
I heard that not all babies flip? Now I'm trying to do more tummy time with her so that her neck is stronger.

Sade,

Now not enuff for bb liao. Need to supplement wif FEBM. I had to throw away a few packs as there's leakage after thaw!

reikibaby my girl flip few days before 3 month old. tummy time is important. Every sin she can flip, she will hv her own tummy time.
does ur bb boy sleeps a lot? 180ml is a lot. read that for bf babies, their milk intake doesnt inc a lot unlike fm. I just take it that bb has good n bad appetite. on days she might get hungry easily, n some days just dont feel like eating much.

sade , diantang : thanks. Yes at first bb bite my nipples coz too desperate. I will quickly unlatch n try again. But now even with correct latch is still a bit painful. N cant satisfy him sometimes, he will cry. CL just add formula.

Diantang : yes the nurses did that to me too. They also confused me about hot / cold compress. Coz one of my boobs is swollen n hard. Some told me use hot, some cold. Zzzz n they did hand express is horribly painful .

Egg factory: oh tmdid the lactation consultant come to help u? For me, the nurses have been helping me to latch the bb . The lactation con only come when I abt to discharge -_-
But she was quite good and patient . Taught me the proper way and also correct me when I am wrong

Whiteclover, ya....
we were both quite puzzled why got tear. Must be during moving or arrangement of the bags. Hiaz......

Help mummies. These 2 days I noticed my breasts become engorged after 3-4 hrs. I massaged while pumping already using medela Pisa. However, no milk or little milk gets pump out. I had to use hand. I Am scared. Is it me or the machine.

Usagi, could it be blocked ducts? Maybe can try applying warm compress before pumping, it will help to improve the milk flow. Or get baby to latch more if you can. But I also find that breast pump is quite inefficient, after pumping I always have to hand express.

Thanks bb. I just tried warm compress and it helps alot. My bb dun like to latch. However when he displays symptoms of licking I do try to tempt him latch. My last successful tempt was 3 days ago.

Indeed I think this pump so so only. My left breast is flat nipple so I use the largest size shield n lately the shield kept falling off. The day before, it came off again and I spilled quite a fair bit of my freshly expressed bm. Super heartpain lor n I was crying. Hubby comforted me n said dun cry over spilled milk.

Hi Usagi, what do u use as the warm compress? I fell asleep last night for 6 hours straight and breasts hard and pain. Pumped out but still feel lumps.

I feel u about spilled milk - when changing bottles, accidentally knocked over one bottle. Half of the milk was on the floor. The feeling is terrible.

Usagi, same here. I've spilled milk before while trying to pour into freezer bag and getting the air out to seal it. The funny thing was that my DH said the same to me, don't cry over spilled milk. He thought he was being so witty. I told him the milk is collected drop by drop and is so precious. And he said, "ya well, what can you do? It's spilled. Get over it" Men!

My baby who is 4 weeks old doesn't want to latch on me anymore. He screams whenever I tried it because he is so used to the bottle down. This is my one regret - introducing the bottle too early. So instead of prolonging the unpleasantness associated with breastfeeding for him, I've decided to give up trying to get him to latch and just bottle feed ebm. Now I'm just wondering about logistics when we go out in the future since I don't have the convenience of latching. How do I transport chilled ebm and warm it up whenever baby needs feeding?

Mofmm, for warm compress, I use a small face towel and a bowl of hot water. Soak the towel in the water, wring out the excess water and press on boobs. Or you try massaging during a hot shower.

Hope, Reikibaby and Znatasha, do your bbs go through a stage where (s)he doesn't feel like "talking" or smiling that much? Bb has been like that for past two days. He still smile and "talk" but not as much as he did previously.

MofMM, apparently hot shower is good. Or I use baby's plastic milk bottle filled with hot water n use that to massage n roll over the hard lumps.

Lil, I use an insulated bottle bag n put in the freezer packs to bring chilled ebm out. Used my cooler bag previously but found it too big n heavy. I use the tommee tippee travel bottle warmer to warm. Or a thermos with neck wide enough to fit bottle can also use.

Usagi, I'm using ameda but also find it so so. Ya, sometimes the milk will leak from underneath the shield. So wasted! Hmm, just wondering if using smaller size shield will help?

Ladies, any one keen to help do online survey on milk powder? Friend looking for expectant mothers and mothers with babies below 1yo. Must be first baby. Token $30.

Mofmm, warm compress by using towel to soak in hot water then squeezed dry n quick apply on breast just b4 pump. Coz after compress, the breast will leak milk.

Lil Ponyo, yah, men are the same. At least they tried to comfort us. Like Dian tang, bring fm more convenient. If within one to two hrs and I be in restaurant for meal, I will use cooler bag to put chilled bm.

Bb, u try lor, initially for my left flat nipple, I got the 2nd largest shield but it still feel tight. End up, I bought the largest size. Coz if wrong fit, it will hurt our breasts.

Hi koirc,

I'm interested in the online survey.. Expectant mums also eligible right? Can send me the details? Thank you!

Thanks, Dian Tang, BB and Usagi.
I haven't introduce fm yet. So seems like need to get a cooler bag and a hot water flask first. Man, going out seems like such an big operation!

Mummies, my baby doesn't want to sleep lately. Yesterday he was awake for almost 10 hours! Got me so worried

Also, think he is too spoilt. Will only sleep when carried. The moment we put him down, he screams. Now trying to break this habit but his cries are heart wrenching. Do you ever encounter this with your baby? I miss those early days when he just sleeps and sleeps!

Koirc, maybe your baby is abit tired lately so talk lesser? My baby ok so far talks and laughs alot haha. Btw, I am interested in the survey also.

Lil Ponyo I use FM outside. So I bought those 400g tin.... Coz always left alot and gotta throw away but no choice.

hi koirc,
my bb only talk to me if i placed her on my lap facing me. other times she will be watching tv or laughing at her lion toy fr the musical mobile or the lamaze toy. kind of boring life for bb. hahaha

ladies do you bring bb out to walk walk or shopping centre? My bb only goes to my mum or mil's place or to the clinic. My friend said don't bring bb out before 4 mths old cos their immunity still weak... is that so?